Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in South Wales 18 minutes ago

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Brook Cottage - South Wales - 1000751 - photo 1
close

6 people have recently viewed this property

Brook Cottage

Abercraf near Ynyswen, South Wales & Pembrokeshire (Ref. 1000751)

4.1

(12 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Ground floor accommodation

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Could not have asked for a better place to stay, near perfection on all counts"

    Reviewed by SamJun 2022

  • "Comfortable and the place suited us well for the walks we wanted to do in the Brecon Beacon NP."

    The beds were comfortable and it was warm. The place has been neglected, it needs maintenance and a check over. Quite few little things add up, eg, iron doesn't work, bathroom socket doesn't work, boiler problems when we arrived, needs a service and possibly valves replaced, many of the doors don't shut properly.

    Reviewed by AndrewMar 2022

  • "A nice cottage, in a convenient location for visiting family in a nearby care home, so may book again."

    Only minor criticism is the TV is far too high up to really watch, unless doing so from the green chair room, where you're too far away to hear it. The kitchen is well equipped and the Welsh cakes were a nice touch. Our bed was a nice generous size with adequate bedroom storage for a week away. Cycle route 43 goes past the rear of the cottage, with easy access from the main road by the Ape & Monkey sanctuary.

    Reviewed by David JohnMar 2022

  • "Absolutely dreadful experience."

    Luckily we only booked this as locals to stay in while our house was getting rewired, but we ended up having no choice but to cancel and stay at our own building site rather than the Brook cottage building site. Arrived at check in to a wire hanging out of the living room ceiling, and Not fixed and ready due for occupants who’ve booked to check in. Tried the contact numbers sent by Sykes and no answer on either. Decided to stay at our own house that night and resolve in the morning. Someone called me that evening to ask if they could go and fix the light I agreed, we checked in Wednesday 5th January and by Saturday 8th the heating and hot water had gone off due to the boiler pressure. Tried all the contact numbers again no answer. Managed to find the number that called me and they came out at 10pm to fix the issue after only having a wood burner for heat, which doesn’t provide heat to the main bedroom and we ended up running out of wood the same night. On Monday the heating and hot water was back off again, all day from when I woke up and I work from home. I worked all day in the cold. Partner came in from work needing a wash informed him that there was no hot water so we both went to get a shower as I wanted one to warm up. We then found the shower had broke so there wasn’t an option for any hot water OR a hot shower, apparently though according to the owner the shower wasn’t broke it was just an issue with the pull cord switch, which still meant no water hot or cold was coming through the shower (so yeah broke!). Through all of this we had kept going back to our own house to use our shower and heating so ended spending most of our time at our own house for the 7 days we had the privilege of trying to “live” at Brook cottage, this was out of the 16 nights booked. We ended up cancelling the remaining days because of constant interruptions to us to fix their utilities, and the fact I couldn’t work and was losing money not being able to work effectively or uninterrupted. We booked this to escape our renovations and ended up paying for the privilege to stay in the middle of someone else’s building site, we don’t think it’s fair or right to have to put up with someone else’s poor building maintenance. We’ve sought resolution only for the owners to refuse to give us back more than 8 days when we had 9 remaining nights after I checked out Wednesday before 10am as advised by Sykes. We also had 4 days without heating/hot water or a shower. Add to this we also had to provide our own tea/coffee and washing up liquid as what was left was left on empty, we also provided our own heater for the Sunday and Monday nights. Please Beware this listing. There’s much better in the area. And also beware taking Sykes’ advice as they don’t seem to follow through with backing the customer up after seeming sympathetic to our initial complaints. We are only being offered a refund of less than the nights remaining minus all bookings fees which seems like Sykes is really the only ones profiting here. Lesson learnt you pay for what you get.

    We are the owners of Brook Cottage, we are sorry that you have not received a great experience whilst staying in our accommodation. I believe from the management company who looks after the premises for us that they did everything possible to resolve the heating/water issue and pull cord. Unfortunately like all properties things can go wrong which is out of our control and we did the best we could to resolve them. The shower did not work because the pull cord had broken inside due to wear and tear and regrettably this is not something that had been visually seen but has of course since has been replaced. The wire in the light fixture was curled up and taped with insulation tape. Our owner contact numbers were emailed to you along with email and text back ups. We also paid for a callout for a heating engineer Warmserve to test the heating and there was no issue found, the heating/hot water was working when tested by the engineer. Again we are sorry you had these issues, as we appreciate you were looking for some time away from home to relax whilst your house was being re-wired. Lastly, I would like to mention that this property accepts a maximum of two dogs as mentioned on the advert. You did not declare any pets when you made your booking and then on arrival you asked the property manager if you could bring four pets in. May we remind guests please that this is a maximum two pet property and the amount of pets need to be included when a booking is made. In light of the above, after you left, we as owners authorised a resolution which we felt was appropriate and fair considering all the points above. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LaurenJan 2022

  • "Accommodation was very well equipped with everything we needed."

    Surrounding area was superb- a very enjoyable holiday. Would definitely come back

    Thank you for staying with us, glad you had a great time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynnSep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay and were very impressed with the level of comfort and cleanliness."

    Only negative was that wrong number to key safe sent via email and wrong contact details. Luckily I was contacted by phone the night before by the agency so had the correct contact number to ring when we got there and could not get in. Good communication otherwise and would definitely go back again.

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2021

  • "The cottage was clean and comfortable and a good size for the 3 of us and our dog."

    The kitchen was well equipped and the instructions on parking and accessing the property were very clear. The Wi-Fi was available to use throughout our stay. We would stay here again.

    Reviewed by DorothyJul 2021

  • "You gave incorrect number for key access."

    Contact numbers were incorrect. Luckily neighbours were able to contact cleaning person who was able to help us with access or we could have been stranded. Suggest you contact the owner and correct the above!!!!

    Reviewed by SylviaJul 2021

  • "The perfect dog friendly cottage in a great location."

    Well kept and well equiped with everything needed for a comfortable stay in a superb setting close to the coast and yet set in the countryside. We have already recomended this cottage to our friends and we will book again in the future. Thank you.

    Reviewed by CarlJun 2021

  • "Difficult to realise how small this place really is."

    Would be really bad with 4 people in it. Slightly ridiculous write up about the property and what you can do in it. The seating in the living area is very uncomfortable, and having the tv high up on the wall means a cricked neck is a certainty. Terrible smell of air freshener, really overpowering. The kitchen equipment is OK, but a dishwasher instead of (or as well as) a washing machine would be great. The tap in the bathroom washbasin makes a noise like a banshee. Outside access not easy, even for someone only 5ft 2ins (me) as low roof dips over the path.

    Reviewed by CarolynJun 2021

  • "This is an well-placed cottage: on the doorsteps of the lovely nature that the Brecon Beacons offers, and not too far from the beautiful beaches of the Gower (throw in an evening meal in The Mumbles)."

    The cottage itself was very pleasant. It's a great place to cook and sleep, and since that's basically what we used it for what more could you ask for. Nice backyard, which includes some trails within a wooded area.

    Reviewed by ChristopherSep 2020

  • "The cottage was a little smaller than it looked on the pictures."

    The garden was great for sunny evenings and Abercraf is a perfect location for all things outdoors. The cottage is basic and not all of the cutlery and crockery were clean so I had to wash everything before using it. You use quirky to describe the property and this is exactly right but it also has a rustic charm. There's only three in our party and it was an adequate size.

    Reviewed by LizAug 2020

Show more

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 2 x double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available
  • Enclosed garden with lawn and patio furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop 1.7 miles, pub 1.2 miles

The property

Ynyswen 1.9 miles.

Brook Cottage is a quirky countryside cottage nestled in the village of Abercraf near Ynyswen, South Wales.

Ideally situated within reaching distance of the...

View on map

About the location

YNYSWEN

Swansea 17.8 miles; Port Talbot 22.1 miles; Brecon 22.6 miles

Nestled within the scenic county borough of Rhondda Cynon Taf in the South of Wales, you will find the charming village of Ynyswen. Surrounded by the luscious green valleys, this traditional Welsh village provides a fantastic base of which to explore the outstanding Brecon Beacons and has become a mecca for outdoor enthusiasts and avid ramblers alike. Home to a plethora of local stores, including its very own supermarket, stocked with all of the household essentials and the quirky pub known as Ancient Briton where you can enjoy a refreshing pint with the local, visitors are always within reaching distance of everything they could ever need for a smooth-sailing holiday in the area. Spend your days on action-packed days out to exciting attractions such as the nearby Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary and Henrhyd Falls, before losing yourself in the captivating history of landmarks such as Carreg Cennen Castle and Paxton's Tower. Ynyswen makes the perfect setting for an unforgettable holiday to South Wales.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas