Secure your Spring 2022 holiday today for just £50

Available on selected breaks taking place between 1st April - 31st May 2022

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in South Wales 34 minutes ago

  • Blacksmiths Cottage - (Ref. 955346)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Blacksmiths Cottage

Roch near Haverfordwest, South Wales & Pembrokeshire (Ref. 955346)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

25 Customer Reviews

  • "This place is like the TARDIS it's so much bigger than it looks."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our time here it was just what we needed! The kitchen is fully equipped which is good because I love to cook! It was lovely snuggling up in front of the log burner after a crisp walk on the beach or soaking in the tub. Thank you.

    Reviewed by SandraNov 2021

  • "Blacksmith's Cottage was a welcomed find as it had all the amenities we needed, including a lovely hot tub which was amazing to find in a property that also accept four paws!"

    Communication from the owner was brilliant, couldn't ask for anything more and very welcoming. Was great to have some little Welsh cakes on arrival and milk for tea in the morning. The cottage was perfectly situation, super close to nearby beaches and a pub (which we didn't make it to). We loved Pembroke Castle and our top beaches include Barafundle Bay which was a slightly longer drive (but well worth it!) and the closer Whitesands Bay, we managed to be fairly lucky with the weather having travelled in November! Only slight criticism is in relation to the mattress in the 'grey' room, really not for me, but as mentioned this is a slight criticism and what's not right for me might be perfect for someone else. The one in the 'beach' room felt fine and my son certainly had no complaints :) All in all a lovely stay and very much needed!

    Reviewed by RebeccaOct 2021

  • "Very comfortable, spacious and well presented cottage."

    Really good location for beaches, Solva and St Davids.

    Reviewed by NicolaOct 2021

  • "Unfortunately we wouldn’t stay at this cottage again."

    A few things lead to this: 1. No ability to put the heating on ourselves or adjust the temperature. We had to message Racheal (the owner?) to ask to have it on and what hours. And then we couldn’t adjust the temperature. I’ve never had to ask for the heating on when I’ve rented a cottage before. 2. The wardrobe in the third room wasn’t useable as full with an ironing board and hoover. The wardrobes in the other two rooms only had 6/7 hangers and the drawer in the grey room was full of baby stuff. 3. Unfortunately the property was not clean - cobwebs and dust around plug sockets and along the lower half of the walls where they meet the floor. 4. The tumble dryer wasn’t good - with this coupled with the limited heating we found it hard to get our towels dry - which isn’t great when you get out of the hot tub. 4. The frying pan wasn’t useable as dirty.

    Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us about our cottage. Sorry to hear you wouldn’t return. If you had told us during your stay, we would have done everything we could have to rectify it. Just to respond to a few points: Unfortunately, we tried letting previous guests control the heating, but it is a sophisticated system and it got broken quickly by people pressing the wrong buttons. This then requires a costly call out from the engineer and no heating whatsoever in the meantime. As stated in the welcome email, the guests only need to ask and we can turn it up as high as they like and for as long as they like. It is thermostatically controlled though and will switch off when it reaches temperature. We also provide logs for the log burner and an airer so that can also be used for drying the towels. There’s no built in storage due to the design of the property, so items for the guests’ convenience have to be stored in the wardrobes. Only an airer and a small vacuum cleaner are in the Beach Room wardrobe though, for the guests to use. Not sure why baby things are in drawers in The Grey Room - will check that. We do have children’s toys in the drawers in The Beach Room for children to enjoy when they visit. The washer/dryer is condensing, so not ideal for drying, but will get it checked when we have a break in bookings and replaced if necessary. Will speak to the cleaners about the cobwebs, but unfortunately they can appear overnight because of the country location. It is this time of year that spiders come to visit too. Had we known you were not happy, we would have called the cleaners back in to clean further, if we’d been informed during the stay. We have also now purchased a new frying pan. Apologies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JennySep 2021

  • "A beautiful comfortable cottage and pet friendly secure garden in a quiet secluded location."

    The super king bed meant we were home from home. The hot tub enhanced our experience and was a lovely relaxing way to end the day. The owners, Nick and Rachael, were contactable for any queries. We loved hearing the owls :) Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by ClareSep 2021

  • "Great cottage in a beautiful location within a short distance to the best beaches and other areas of interest."

    A great holiday!

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "Amazing accommodation."

    Friendly owners, nice and clean and beautiful location.

    Reviewed by UlrikaJul 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time in Blacksmiths Cottage and were able to entertain my daughter and her partner for meals as they stayed behind us in Cuffern Manor."

    The cottage was extremely comfortable, with more room within the living area than I had expected from the photographs, which don't really do it justice. The grandchildren were thrilled with their bedroom, I suspect a request for bunk beds won't be far off! The weather was kind to us allowing for 4 consecutive beach days on a selection of the great beaches nearby. All in all it really felt like a home from home, I would thoroughly recommend for a relaxing beach holiday. Hot tub and BBQ are an added bonus.

    Reviewed by ElizabethMay 2021

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage with everything you could possibly need in a great location."

    Reviewed by SharonMay 2021

  • "Gorgeous cottage!"

    Very well equipped. Hot tub was amazing (managed to catch the space station!) Our labrador absolutely loved the garden! We've had an amazing stay at the Blacksmiths Cottage and will most definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by ShannonMar 2021

  • "Lovely open plan cottage with everything you could need-well equipped, new clean hot tub, lovely decor."

    Friendly owners, very helpful. Really well placed for visiting all of Pembrokeshire.

    Reviewed by HelenSep 2020

  • "Great location to explore Pembrokeshire and the Accommodation was clean and comfortable and the hot tub was an added bonus."

    Reviewed by RichardFeb 2020

  • "Property was very clean and comfortable with superb log burner and hot tub."

    Reviewed by PhilipJan 2020

  • "Gorgeous cottage, lovely Woodburner and hot tub!"

    Rachel was very helpful, a bit cold until the Woodburner got going but plenty of wood to make up for it and very cosy once it was going. Quiet location and peaceful... thank you

    Reviewed by ElizabethNov 2019

  • "We had a great holiday with our dog in this beautiful cottage we enjoyed sitting in the hot tub in the pouring rain ."

    The cottage has everything you would need very clean and tidy. We also love having the fire lit in the evening made it very cosy.We took our dog on a few long walks on the sandy beaches a lot of ball catching along the way.

    Reviewed by DianeOct 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely and clean but very cold on arrival."

    I contacted the owners who said that the heating was controlled by them and would be on twice a day at set times but it didn’t come on once during our stay so we had to keep the burner on which made the area in front of it too hot but didn’t heat the other rooms .My 12 week old grandson has 1 or 2 night feeds and the living room was very cold at night which was not ideal. It also would have been nice to use the hot tub on the first evening however it was far too cold ,while I appreciate the water has to be changed between guests maybe it can be turned on to heat early so that it’s available for the first night as it was why we booked that particular cottage and the price reflects that . The write up also says the pub is within a mile but it is nearly 2 miles away and there is no safe path . The cottage is however really well equipped and we did enjoy our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you found the property cold on arrival. We do control the heating however, I do make it clear if you do want the heating on any longer then please just make us aware and we will do this for you. I appreciate the hot tub was not up to temperature on the first night, this is due to the hot tub water requiring a change before every booking and it does take time for water to heat up especially at this time of year. With regards to the pub we will amend the description to reflect that it is closer to 2 miles. I am glad you did enjoy your stay and it would be nice to have you back in future. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by LorraineOct 2019

  • "We spent a lovely week in Pembrokshire."

    Blacksmith cottage facilities are amazing we had everything what we needed to have a fantastic time. The log-burner is a special treat on the rainy days and you can feel so cosy to play boardgames or watch some films. Many thanks for the owners who were extremely helpful whatever we needed. We managed to visit the Blue Lagoon, St Davids, Solva, Skomer Island, the Church Door Cove , Tenby. Skomer Island is highly recommended (we have a dog so we could only go to the Skomer cruise trip but it was amazing).

    Reviewed by BoglarkaJun 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage which is really homely, set in a semi rural position but location is close to great beaches and lovely villages."

    Added bonus of a log burner and hit tub. Dog friendly and tucked all our expectations owner have gone above and beyond to make sure your holiday has everything it needs to be enjoyed. Lovely personal touches to make you feel at home. We will certainly be passing on recommendations to friends.

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2019

  • "Brilliant cottage everything we needed decorated lovely will definitely recommend booking this gem!"

    X

    Reviewed by MarionMay 2019

  • "The cottage was beautifully furnished, very comfortable and super clean."

    Everything was provided that we needed and the whole cottage had a homely feel. It didn't feel like a holiday cottage and we felt at home from the minute we walked in. The log burner was a lovely treat as was the hot tub which we used after a long days walking. The garden was safe for our little dog to have a run round without us worrying about him disappearing. Super place and hopefully we will return next year sometime.

    Reviewed by SueMay 2019

  • "Every aspect of our stay at Blacksmiths Cottage was perfect!"

    The owners were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was finished to an exceptional standard and we found ourselves short of nothing. I would highly recommend this cottage, we'll definitely be returning!

    Reviewed by SarahMar 2019

  • "It's hidden down a country lane, tranquil and remote, definitely need a car."

    It's an old stone coach house/barn that has been converted. The key lock was a bit sticky, but came undone eventually. Decor throughout is nice and homely, stone floors bring slippers! Kitchen nicely stocked with the basics. A bit cold on arrival, but soon warmed up when the heading was put on and the fire was lit, plenty of wood outside, we visited in the winter. They also have games and films. The hot tub was hot, took a while to get hot, so if your intend to use it start it up as soon as you arrive. Communication with the owner was amazing, he responded quickly and was super friendly and helpful. Would visit again and highly recommend.

    Reviewed by KarenJan 2019

  • "Definitely home from home."

    Had everything we needed. Facilities were good. Hot tub amazing. Lots to do in the local area Beaches. Shops and good good. Owners were contactable if needed. Just 1 thing. Because we have 2 boys . at night the WiFi was none existent. So no films or youtube. So a few moans from them. Would definitely stay again and use Sykes website.

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2018

  • "Blacksmiths Cottage is extremely comfortable and very well equipped."

    Reviewed by JeffMay 2018

  • "We were honoured to be the first guest to book this cottage."

    It is a lovely cottage with everything you could need; we love the hot tub. It’s was great base for exploring the region. Kids and the dog loved the local beaches. Thank you.

    Reviewed by KFeb 2018

Show more

The property

Roch 1.3 miles.

Blacksmiths Cottage forms part of beautiful converted stables in a peaceful countryside location, one mile from the village of Roch in Pembrokeshire.

With a spacious and tastefully decorated interior, this cottage comes close to the picturesque Pembrokeshire Coast, making it a homely base for friends and family to enjoy a memorable break.

Enter this stone bungalow and be enticed in by the charm-filled open-plan living area, featuring a fabulous woodburning stove and a TV with a PlayStation3, a warming spot to sit in on a rainy day.

The fresh wooden units in the kitchen area provide you with all of the necessary appliances, you can enjoy each mealtime at the pleasant dining table set for seven.

The three bedrooms here at Blacksmiths Cottage rest off of the living area, one featuring a triple bunk bed, perfect for bringing your little ones along.

All bedrooms are well-presented and one offers zip/link beds for convenience.

The interior of the property concludes with a sumptuous, tiled family bathroom allowing you to get ready for your day in style.

Outside, you can sit in your own private lawned garden with a feeling of seclusion, whilst relaxing in the warmth of the hot tub after a day’s exploring.

The village of Roch lies just one mile from the property, providing you with a well-stocked shop and a pub, it is also an excellent gateway to the nearby Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.

Outdoor lovers are in a wonderful spot, with an abundance of countryside walks, cycle routes, stunning coastline and charming towns and villages waiting to be discovered, all are easily accessible.

A splendid cottage in a fine Pembrokeshire location.

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x triple bunk, 1 x super king-size zip/link (can be twins on request), 1 x king-size double
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating, woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs, PlayStation3
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Ample off road parking
  • Enclosed lawn with hot tub
  • One well behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: this property has £200 Good Housekeeping Bond

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

ROCH

Haverfordwest 7 miles; St Davids 10 miles.

Situated on the boundary of the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park, the lovely village of Roch is home to a well-stocked local shop, Post Office, village pub and local church. The surrounding countryside boasts an abundance of picturesque walks, cycle paths and fantastic beaches, offering a fun day at the seaside. The nearby market town of Haverfordwest offers a wide choice of shops, pubs and restaurants and has a broad range of attractions, including walks along the River Cleddau, an array of fine churches and an historic castle. Alternatively, take a trip along the coast to the pretty harbour village of Solva or to Saint Davids, the smallest city in Britain renowned for its ancient cathedral and bishop's palace, exhilarating watersports and excellent boat excursions. Whatever you decide, this great location has plenty to offer at any time of year!

Note: this property has £200 Good Housekeeping Bond.
Should you require a start date to your holiday other than a Saturday please contact the office, thank you.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it