Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in South Wales 22 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

Seadrift Cabin

Llansteffan near Carmarthen, South Wales & Pembrokeshire (Ref. 915644)

4.1

(46 ratings)

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

46 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely cabin in wonderful surroundings."

    The cabin had everything we needed for a relaxing week. We will be back!

    Reviewed by JackieJun 2022

  • "Loved the location and stayed before but disappointed this time Fluffy towels lovely and lots of hot water."

    However the oven needs a deep clean the kitchen rug was dirty. Minimal equipment in kitchen, no oven glove , no placemats and no evidence of recent PAT testing Some blinds did not work. No firewood due to COVID is a money saving farce!

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay. If you had reported any of the issues you experienced to us (or Sykes) at the time, we would have done our best to get them resolved for you. We have ensured the oven has undergone a deep clean and these areas will be a focus on any further changeover cleans. There should have been oven gloves in the property and after you brought their absence to our attention we have replaced them. I have also taken on board your feedback about placemats and will be providing some in the near future. PAT testing is not a requirement for appliances within a rental, but I assure you that all required electrical testing is kept up to date and the property has never presented any issues on inspection. FInally, I do apologise that wood is not supplied for the woodburner, but we have made this clear in the property listing to minimise upset. Due to an issue in supplying these for every booking, we're no longer able to include them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristopherMay 2022

  • "Would suggest that the property requires a good cleaning b4 next occupants we had to clean various areas when we arrived dusty in several areas and still plenty of cobwebs brought some foodstuff for first night had to clean some plates and pans before use it is still greasy in pan draw ."

    Outside ( back ) previous guests have left several bags of dog poo and food waste bin overflowing

    Reviewed by DorothyMay 2022

  • "Seadrift Cabin is lovely, in a truly beautiful spot: quiet, teeming with wildlife, with the beach and fantastic views just yards away."

    We (my husband and I, our 12 yr old daughter and our dog) loved being there; we relaxed the moment we arrived and spent our stay exploring on foot and enjoying the comforts of the clean, cosy cabin itself. Wonderful!

    Reviewed by RachelApr 2022

  • "We enjoyed our holiday at Seadrift."

    It was lovely that we were able to leave the car for a couple of days and have beach/country walks on the doorstep. The village shop had any extras we needed and the local pubs provided excellent food. along with very friendly locals.We appreciated the peace and quiet and had undisturbed sleep at night.The only things we noticed was occasional hooting of the owl at night and birdsong in the mornings our general "Cabin in the woods experience " was very relaxing, and felt isolated , although it wasn't really.. It is also a good base to explore around the area and beyond, we saw lots of places we hadn't seen before, aware that we could return to a lovely cosy real fire in the evenings. Its a shame its not open all year. Thank you to the owners for their communication.

    Reviewed by KathleenOct 2021

  • "Lovely part of the world ."

    Cabin very secluded, beautiful beach .

    Reviewed by RoseSep 2021

  • "Two items would really make this 10 out 10 1) Small freezer 2) outside tap to help cleanup after water sports, this would be very useful to clean up without dragging sand into cabin."

    Great location, shopping is 5 miles away in Johnstown! Local shop is only open in AM to Lunch. Local pubs are good value with limited menu, we found the Farmers Arms (Llanybri) to be accommodating if we had failed to book for dinner.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. We have taken all of your comments onboard. The property does in fact, have an outside tap for your use, we have now updated the property description to make this clearer. Thanks again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AdrianAug 2021

  • "The most beautiful spot for nature lovers - wonderful area."

    Wooded backwater, with fabulous sandy estuary for brilliant dog walks. Quiet and peaceful with panoramic views almost from the doorstep. Wooden cabin which is far better inside than it looks from outside. Large and airy living room/kitchen. Well equipped, with thoughtful covers over furniture for us dog lovers. Dog treats left for us too. Large bedroom with very comfortable large bed. Bathroom with overbath shower and so many cleaning products available for us to use. Everything is provided for a simple, unfussy stay. LLansteffan is an undiscovered prize - long may it stay as such. Hope to return.

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2021

  • "Seadrift is a lovely location if you like peace and quiet."

    I have been coming to seadrift for a number of years now and have enjoyed every minute of it. The only thing that lets seadrift down now is the road leading up to seadrift is a dirt road and over the years has not been maintained there are a lot of pot holes and is very uneven and it has got worse over the years. Other than that you are not far from the beach and is great for dog walkers.

    Reviewed by SarahJun 2021

  • "The location was amazing, the approach Road was a challenge but worth the effort."

    Reviewed by GillianJun 2021

  • "I was really apprehensive prior to our stay."

    The reviews were pretty hit and miss. The cabin, itself, it's location, Llansteffan was amazing. So peaceful and we completely relaxed for the week. The cabin itself has recently been painted dark green. Really well equipped. The place was spotless, we took our own throws with us and covered the sofas as they smelt a little 'doggy' which I suppose is inevitable with a dog friendly accommodation. That was the only thing I could criticize really and didn't bother us at all. I can't wait to go back. Camarthen is only a few miles away but the shop and pub is in walking distance and sells all the essentials. A proper hidden retreat.

    Reviewed by LisaMay 2021

  • "Having read reviews we didn't really know what to expect but we were really happy with this little gem!"

    It met our requirements. A few small things, it could have been a bit cleaner (floors). The chairs don't fit well under the dining table, there were no prosecco glasses (flutes) which we like to have. We managed fine with the clear directions provided by the owner for our arrival. The keys worked fine in the doors, a little wiggle and they were fine. Log burner glass was filthy but we cleaned it so we could see the nice fire burning. The thermostat on the wall in the hallway is loud and ticking constantly, which is abit annoying at night. We would love to go back and stay again. Overall, we had a great 5 days away, it was a little retreat!

    Reviewed by BeverleyApr 2021

  • "The communication was excellent as were the directions and instructions."

    The place is just so lovely with the estuary and beach on the doorstep. Wild rabbits dotted around. Great walks, quiet and beautiful surroundings. The cabin is well equipped and laid out with everything you'd need for a family of four. The wood burner is perfect for the colder months to cosy on down and the enclosed decking perfect for enjoying those Summer evenings outside. Couldn't recommended it more.

    Reviewed by ThomasApr 2021

  • "The area is lovely and very quiet and we really looked forward to returning however the lodge is more than a little tired there are so many areas requiring attention the cold tap on the bath is not attached to the bath, the plug hole on the bath leaks, the kettle needs shaking to switch on, both the front and back door keys both need wiggling to work (a fire hazard?"

    ), the WiFi router is glowing in the main bedroom, the oven and pans have not been cleaned properly for sometime, the heating timer in the hall ticks really loud all night, there are a lot of cobwebs everywhere.

    Reviewed by RebeccaOct 2020

  • "I will be sending a further email regarding this property"

    Reviewed by MarySep 2020

  • "Location great, cabin getting a bit tired, pillows very stained doesn't cost ..."

    Location great, cabin getting a bit tired, pillows very stained doesn't cost much to replace £8 for two out of asda about 5 miles to shops overall OK

    Reviewed by RobertSep 2020

  • "Second time here, the setting is amazing."

    Cabin is warm, but it really is time for a little TLC. Some new crockery and utensils, deep clean of oven and revarnishing the floor would make the place amazing. Plus the outdoor furniture is rusty and splitting.

    Reviewed by SallyAug 2020

  • "This holiday cottage was unclean, poor standards,we could not use cooker as it was disgusting,floors filthy, damp & fustty in all rooms, we had to clean surfaces before we could use them."

    Decking covered in moss & leaves.guttering full of moss & because of it,it's coming thru the bed room ceiling around the edges. Very disappointed. We returned home Tuesday as We couldn't stay there any longer. We booked this holiday February. Nothing like the description or photos. Sorry I can't think of anything nice to say about the accomadation. If it was properly looked after,maintained it would be fantastic. L. Burrows.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2020

  • "Directions to cottage was little confusing but the owners were available to support."

    Toilet lock broken. More clear instructions needed on disposing the bins. We may have missed this amongst the long list of emails.

    Reviewed by ShawkatAug 2020

  • "The house was quite dusty and a few unclean cups."

    Reviewed by VictoriaJul 2020

  • "If you want peace, this is the place to go."

    Great place to bring the dogs, they have the run of the beach. Very tired, happy dogs and relaxed owners. Booked online, straight forward. Website is easy to navigate. Which makes the whole process stress free. Will be booking again with Skyecottages.

    Reviewed by AmandaFeb 2020

  • "Great cabin plenty of space dog very welcome good internet wonderful walks"

    Reviewed by SeanOct 2019

  • "Leaking bath very hard bed,"

    Reviewed by RussellSep 2019

  • "This is an absolutely delightful cabin set in a wonderful copse."

    Perfectly secure for our dog and comfy enough for us and him. The kitchen had everything we needed and was stocked up with condiments etc. Really idyllic place and so quiet and calming. They had quilts on the settees to accommodate your four legged friends which was a lovely personal touch that maintained our ‘home from home’ routine (spoilt dog ! ) the beach area was stunning and completely empty during our entire visit. I am registered disabled with walking difficulties but found the entire area viable and simply magical to be in. I must be honest that I sulked all the way home because I did not want to leave. We would definitely love to return soon. Thank you so much to Sykes and the owners of Seadrift for a much loved break away from civilisation x

    Reviewed by SueSep 2019

  • "Fantastic out of the way spot to get away from it all."

    Reviewed by MelanieSep 2019

  • "This was the second time we have been to seadrift."

    We enjoyed it just as much as the first time and we would consider going back for a third time.lovely area and very relaxing.

    Reviewed by JamesJul 2019

  • "After 3year gap , We where disappoint To found that the towels had holes in it."

    . and were so small that they don't even go round you.z No first aid box Not even a welcome pack that we had last time.. Cobwebs Decking needs a new coat of anti slip paint.

    Reviewed by YvonneJun 2019

  • "We enjoyed this holiday so much that we have already booked the same cottage for next year."

    The booking and method of paying all goes so smoothly, and if we have any problems the girls I have spoken to at Sykes are more than helpful.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2019

  • "Location perfect."

    Great for dogs too. Cabin good but in in need of a bit of sprucing up ie chipped glasses, lumpy mattress. Would return though as such a delightful spot.

    Reviewed by FionaApr 2019

  • "Lovely location."

    .comfy and cosy chalet with everything you need..would love to come back!

    Reviewed by SallyMar 2019

  • "Skye Cottages very helpful as I had to change the booking before we went - the cabin itself was surprisingly very warm even when heaters weren’t on and the bed was again surprisingly very comfortable."

    I think the only constructive comment I have to make is that perhaps the cabin should have had a covered area such as a porch because with the weather being so bad and several dogs we needed to dry them before going indoors

    Reviewed by TraceyMar 2019

  • "Our holiday was fantastic from start to finish cottage was in a idilic spot have never had a more relaxing holiday"

    Reviewed by ChrisOct 2018

  • "The cabin is in a fantastic location for peace and quiet."

    Village with shop and two pubs about 1 mile away.Back door lock very difficult to operate that apart very very pleased with everything else will definitely go back again.

    Reviewed by JamesSep 2018

  • "We had a great holiday."

    It was a perfect cottage for us and our dog.

    Reviewed by DAug 2018

  • "Fantastic little cabin, a real gem."

    This was our first family holiday, two adults, a baby and two dogs and it was just perfect. We had a great week weather wise which of course helped. Great location for dogs and they were well secured within the cabin, they loved the wildlife... A little too much. The cabin was comfortable and had everything we needed. It was lovely and quiet but just a walk away to the village. Great tea room and pubs, very friendly. We love Llansteffan and actually got engaged in the castle 3 years ago so it's a special place for us.

    Reviewed by LydiaJul 2018

  • "Llansteffan beach - no swimming allowed because of mud beds, etc."

    which is pity as my children love swimming. No hose pipe to wash down the sand off wetsuits, water shoes.

    Reviewed by PhilipJul 2018

  • "I have been going to seadrift for the last 3 years i would reccommend this ..."

    I have been going to seadrift for the last 3 years i would reccommend this tranquil setting for anyone who just wants to relax and unwind so much so that i would quite happily move down there just to watch the wild rabbits run around all day and walk on the beach dog loved it

    Reviewed by SarahJun 2018

  • "A lovely break ."

    So peaceful and the dog loved it. We were lucky with the weather to so perfect.

    Reviewed by JoyceMay 2018

  • "Very quiet cottage,great place to stay and walk the dog."

    Reviewed by JohnMar 2018

  • "Lovely quiet location, brilliant for families or couples a break away, digs ..."

    Lovely quiet location, brilliant for families or couples a break away, digs loved it, recommended to people and they have already booked it perfect for walks and to just get away from it all, will definitely be back

    Reviewed by ToniOct 2017

  • "Just loved everything about it"

    Reviewed by LorraineAug 2017

  • "Lovely location."

    Quirky. Very quiet location. Lots of wildlife.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2017

  • "We enjoyed our short break at seadrift cabin,perfect for lovely walks,excellent views across the sea,could not wish for a better location."

    Reviewed by JaniceMar 2017

  • "VERY CLEAN AND EVERY THING YOU NEED SUPPLIED IN THE CABIN,IF YOU WANT PEACE AND QUIET THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU, IT IS WELL OF THE BEATEN TRACK ."

    IF YOU HAVE A DOG THE CABIN IS IDEAL,TAKE A GOOD BOOK BUT WIFI WORKS WELL.WE HAD A GREAT WEEK AND VERY LUCKY WITH THE WEATHER...... MANY THANKS..

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2016

  • "Lovely cabin quiet and peaceful, dog friendly, which is what we wanted."

    Near the sea. Wi fi a big bonus. Ideal holiday for us and the dogs. Hidden in a little wooded area on the estuary. Lots wildlife and rabbits. Lovely big enclosed porch on the front with table and chairs to sit on. Small gravelled garden at rear, we didn't use this as it is enclosed but my dog is very small so she could still escape. But not from the porch. We walked along the beach, rocky in places to Llansteffan beach every day, it's not far 400 metres. Instead of taking the car, as the road is off road, ideal if you have 4x4 and if another car comes one of you needs to reverse a good 100 metres. In Llansteffan you have the castle and just a couple of shops, pubs! Sleepy little village. Lovely big sandy beach you can walk for miles. So quiet this time of year. Dogs only allowed on the end closest to you all year, not allowed on main beach April to sept. But the beaches were empty apart from dog walkers. So no one was following the rules and these were all the locals. In all we had a fabulous time and will def go back.

    Reviewed by LindseySep 2016

  • "Lovely location."

    Very quiet and comfortable. Would hv liked to be able to leave dog in property (didn't take her).

    Reviewed by SusannaAug 2016

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x adult bunks
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburner.
  • Electric panel heaters with woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Logs for wood burner are not provided
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent, please bring own beach towels
  • Outside tap for rinsing sand off. Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Front decked seating area with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Beach 2 mins walk
  • Note: Although all ground floor there are steps up onto the decked area entrance
  • Note: Road to the property is an unmade track, care to be taken
  • Note: Check-in 4pm.

The property

This wonderful holiday cabin is set in a sheltered wooded area in the village of Llansteffan; perfect for your seaside holiday.

Situated alongside other homes and holiday homes, but with only a few visible from the property itself, this Llansteffan cottage is set just two minutes’ walk from a sandy beach and yet is hidden away so no-one even knows it's there.

In fact many locals who enjoy the busier side of the beach have no idea these delightful cottages exist at the quieter end of the wonderful sandy beach.

Steps lead up onto the front decked veranda where you can while away the hours on hot summer days or cooler evenings in perfect peace, watching the wild birds and listening to the ebb and flow of the sea.

The open plan living space inside is welcoming and warming on cooler days with its woodburner to curl up in front of.

In such relaxing surroundings you may ignore the TV to read a book, chat with all the family or just sit and enjoy the quiet.

The two bedrooms offer comfortable nights’ sleep before the new day beckons you back to the beach or further afield.

The estuary brings with it sea birds to spot, or you can make sandcastles, fly kites, launch a small boat, canoe or kayak or stroll along the beach taking in the seaside air.

The village offers a shop, Post Office, pubs and at the other end of the beach you will find a café, gift shop and mobile diners.

Your whole holiday will be most enjoyable if you venture no further than the village but, if you do, you will be spoilt for choice on days out.

Shopping, restaurants, a cinema, steam railway ride and Merlin’s Walk Shopping Centre are all at nearby Carmarthen.

For literary enthusiasts a trip to Laugharne will be worthwhile, as you can see the spectacular views which inspired Dylan Thomas and see exactly where he penned many of his works in the boathouse, or you could just wander round the castle before relaxing with a cream tea in the superb café.

One of the most perfect seaside locations, this Llansteffan holiday cottage will give you a profusion of memories and beckon you back time after time

View on map

About the location

LLANSTEFFAN

Carmarthen 7 miles.

Llansteffan is a lovely seaside village with its own castle ruins, post office, general store and pub serving local food. Just a short journey takes you to the county town of Carmarthen with numerous shops, tea rooms, restaurants and pubs, and a daily market. This beautiful part of Wales has everything for a perfect holiday, from the peace of the vast sandy beaches to the noise and excitement of the motor racing track at Pembrey. A visit to Dylan Thomas' Boat House at Laugharne, a day exploring the castles, mills and craft centres dotted around the scenic countryside or a day enjoying the walks right from the doorstep of this perfect base make for a wonderful experience for all the family.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas