Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Maesoland Farm

Laugharne, South Wales & Pembrokeshire (Ref. 997703)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "When I saw the previous reviews I was nervous I’d made a mistake, but I was blown away by the property."

    The house was spotlessly clean, with not a cobweb in sight (and I looked because I hate spiders). The dining room as you enter was homely and a great place to eat and chat at the end of the day. The kitchen was beautiful, very well resourced, and though it took me a moment to figure out the range cooker, I fell in love with it by the end of the two weeks. The two living rooms are warm and inviting with oversized sofas, and the addition of electric stoves in the fireplace means no dirt or cleaning. For us it was warm, so we never needed them. The bedrooms were lovely, and in the winter would feel cosy, but my only issue was, it would be good to have lighter quilts and bedding for summer. The gardens were really nice, with a large dining table for eating out in the sun, and the covered over seating area, was lovely when sitting in the evening, or when the Welsh weather wasn’t playing ball. We don’t have children with us, but wow they are catered for with a full sized table tennis table in the garden, a pool table in the outhouse, and a game of table football as you do the laundry. The facilities were great, with access to the washing machine and tumble dryer as well as a rotary dryer if you prefer. The kitchen has a dishwasher too, so no manual labour required in this farmhouse. And of course David, the owner is wonderful and so knowledgeable about the area, and things that suit each guest. He was available whenever we needed help or advice. And he has ensured that there is lots of information, maps, and literature for you to find things to do. We will definitely be back, and can’t thank David enough for letting us use his beautiful farmhouse.

    Reviewed by JulieJun 2022

  • "This could be a lovely holiday cottage, but is let down by it's cleanliness and features that are described / pictured but missing."

    When we arrived, the first thing we did was visit the local co-op to buy bleach and cleaning cloths as the sink was brown with dirty stains. As the weather was lovely, we decided to have a BBQ - again needed to visit co-op to buy matches as it wouldn't light and there weren't any matches or lighter provided. The BBQ was also filthy, so had to clean that too. The chiminea and wood burner pictured have been removed. The laundry room is dirty, dusty and filled with junk so there's no place to sort clean washing - no laundry basket either. The windows and doors haven't been cleaned for ages - cobwebs, bird poo, dirt and fingerprints all over them. There's a hose point in the garden, but no hose, so impossible to clean muddy dogs after their walk. The mattresses are cheap, hard and uncomfortable and the bedding is old and un-ironed. The mop and bucket were rancid, I can't believe it had been used in the days prior to our stay! When I accidentally burnt the toast, and the kitchen filled with smoke, the smoke alarm did not go off. The tap in the bathroom is either full on or off, there's no halfway. There's a lot more I could say, but basically the place needs a full, professional clean and much more attention to detail. A basic welcome pack, even just tea, coffee and milk would have been appreciated. We've stayed in many cottages over the past few years, this one is well below the standard of others on the market.

    Reviewed by JaneMay 2022

  • "We stayed here for 5 nights with our 3 dogs and had a great time."

    The farmhouse is spacious, cosy and made you feel like you were in a home from home. The farmhouse is well situated and is a short 20 min drive from a beach and is a great base for exploring both Pembrokeshie and Carmarthanshire. I read some of the negative comments regarding the cleanliness of the property before we arrived but would have to disagree with them. It’s a well lived in farmhouse and doesn’t try to be anything it’s not. The important things i.e kitchen, bathroom, toilets were all spotless. I would highly recommend and will definitely look to stay here again.

    Reviewed by TravisNov 2021

  • "The cottage was dirty!"

    Cobwebs everywhere skirting boards were filthy as was the window sills! I could go on and on! I have photos which will back this up and hopefully can add to this review!

    Reviewed by PaulaOct 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maesoland Farm."

    It was clean, comfortable and cosily warm which was particularly appreciated as we got rained on most days but at least we could dry our kit and clothes. There were five adults, a baby and a dog and space was never an issue. There were plenty of places to sit, the kitchen was well equipped, the lounges and bedrooms were comfortable and although the weather didn't allow us to enjoy the garden we did make use of the indoor games area. We would definitely consider returning.

    Reviewed by AdrienneOct 2021

  • "Disappointed."

    - Kitchen and bathrooms fine . 2 lounges but neither big enough for us all to sit comfortably together - No socket to plug in fire ,to have a cosy glow in the evening. Large bedroom has plenty of room but no wardrobe! We knew that the play areas were in outside buildings -however the equipment was all very old and shabby - we had to mend the pool table , only one dart to play darts . A good sweep and de-cobwebbing would have been appreciated,. The table tennis table was outside, the leg was broken -we managed to prop it up. only one ball , 5 bats- of which 3 were broken. Outside there was no chiminair - which we would have used , as one of the evenings was chilly , this was shown on the photographs. Distance to local shops- was further than stated. Nearest pub is closed.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2021

  • "The Farmhouse is perfectly situated for beaches and places of interest to visit."

    The owner was most helpful and responsive. It was well equipped, but I found the cooker a bit challenging. It is a lovely house with plenty of room for several guests, although one bathroom is a bit inadequate for the size of the house. We used the bbq and it was clean. No issues at all, and we had a good week. Nothing to do with the owner, but I am baffled as to why Sykes charge £30 per dog when I suspect the cleaning regime doesn’t change? Other than that all positive. Thanks David

    Reviewed by DebJul 2021

  • "What an amazing cottage."

    Full of character, lovely and cosy and absolutely stunning gardens. We stayed there as 2 adults and 2 children and it was perfect. The location is excellent with easy access east to Carmarthen and west to Tenby or St David's. Would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by MartinJun 2021

  • "Advertised as dog friendly but on arrival greeted with note insisting dogs confined to hard floor areas only ( the kitchen is at the opposite end of house to the two carpeted living rooms)."

    Either dog friendly or not! Would have been nice to have a basic welcome pack. I.e. tea, coffee, milk. Only the remains of previous guests loo rolls which was just as well after a 9 hour journey! Poorly equipped in kitchen. No butter dish, milk jug, sugar bowl etc. Electric range did not work properly. Thermostat not working correctly on ovens. No laundry basket when emptying washing machine. Only bath towels provided ( one hand towel in property). Not practical for when washing long hair. Curtains in bedrooms need linings to block light. Broken fences in garden which although mown was surrounded by weeds and nettles all round the borders. The gas BBQ was filthy and unusable. The garden table had a broken piece of wood on top. Overall the cottage and its garden was looking tired and slightly neglected. Having owned a holiday cottage ourselves which was dog friendly you have to accept there will be accidents and trust in the fact that most owners will be responsible and deal with the ones that are not. The final insult was to receive a call after we left asking where 2 plates were, which he then found in the cupboard where they should be!

    Reviewed by TrevorJun 2021

  • "We all loved it and cant wait to go back!"

    Met the owner and he was lovely and helpful.

    Reviewed by LucyMay 2021

  • "The farmhouse was beautiful, lots of space both inside and outside."

    Really clean and well equipped.

    Reviewed by JanieSep 2020

  • "We felt that the cottage gave us everything we needed from the holiday - ample car parking; excellent facilities which despite good weather, we still used (particularly the table tennis and pool tables and croquet set) The building had a lovely homely feel and the grounds were really good, especially the orchard where we could exercise the dogs."

    Plenty of outdoor and indoor seating - great to have two sitting rooms - we all slept well too. Liked the child safety gate from the dining area to the sitting areas which we used to keep the dogs in the kitchen/dining area. Good local walking and found a pub serving good food. Close to beaches. We had a really lovely time and have already recommended your company and this particular cottage to family and friends. l was concerned about Covid 19 and how any owner would prepare their property but this cottage was really clean -- l could smell the cleaning materials when l went in, which l very much appreciated.

    Reviewed by SueJul 2020

  • "We had a cosy, comfortable stay."

    Very spacious, well laid out accommodation. A great base to visit both Carmarthenshire and Pembrokshire. Having the lovely village of Laugharne on the doorstep was an added bonus.

    Reviewed by AngelaOct 2019

  • "Lovely house with everything you need."

    Good location. Would return and recommend.

    Reviewed by ClaudiaAug 2019

  • "Fantastic location, lots of exploring to do around the local area, whatever the weather."

    Reviewed by TobyAug 2019

  • "Beautiful big house with plenty of room for the 8 of us."

    The garden was amazing for the kids to run around in. We all had a nice relaxing stay here :-)

    Reviewed by SuzanneMay 2019

  • "We booked the property for a surpise 60th Birthday family weekend away and the owner went ablvoe and beyond to make it the best stay possible."

    We had a great time and we would book this property again.

    Reviewed by DarylMay 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 3 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Utility/games room.
  • Oil central heating Electric AGA cooker and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stairgate, travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking
  • Lawn area to the front, side and rear with patio furniture, table tennis, BBQ
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Note: Table football and pool table situated in outdoor utility rooms.

The property

This old farmhouse is situated outside the village of St Clears, set inland between Carmarthen and the coastal resorts of the Pembrokeshire coast.

Designed with families or friends in mind, this characterful cottage is a home away from home, somewhere of quality to return to every day of your holiday.

Excellent features of Maesoland Farm include table football, a pool table, and table tennis which you can all spend a fun hour or two playing.

Wandering inside, the ground floor presents a kitchen/diner, centred by a table for eight people, and an electric AGA cooker to introduce an authentic original feel to the accommodation.

A choice of two sitting rooms are available,one is elevated by exposed stonework.

Upstairs, four bedrooms await, three doubles, and a twin, all wrapped in an abundance of charm with a travel cot provided should you wish to bring a little one along.

There is also a stairgate and highchair provided too.

The family bathroom completes the cottage with a shower above, and a cloakroom is located on the ground floor.

When you are not relaxing indoors, or challenging each other to the game of your choice, enjoy the well-maintained garden, comprising of a lawned area, a patio, barbecue and chiminea.

The perfect opportunity to host a social evening.

Out and about, St. Clears hosts a variety of festivals and carnivals throughout the year, and has a number of shops, pubs and eateries, and the mound of the 12th century St. Clears Castle can still be seen.

Within a short drive of St. Clears are Folly Farm, Oakwood Theme Park and the Heron's Brook Golfing and Fishing Centre.

Visit Tenby, Laugharne Castle, the Dylan Thomas Boathouse and the renowned Botanic and Aberglasney Gardens.

In all directions there is easy access to scenery including the Preselli Mountains.

A lovely setting for a family get-together.

View on map

About the location

LAUGHARNE

Tenby 16 miles.

Laugharne, with its majestic castle standing on a low ridge overlooking the wide Taf River Estuary, is famous for its associations with the poet Dylan Thomas, and a visit to his Boat House and the writing shed where he wrote most of his works is a wonderful experience. Beautiful walks in and around the castle, with breathtaking views of the estuary, can be followed by cream teas in quaint little tea rooms, a drink in the local pub or shopping in the gift shops and mini market. The nearby sandy beach at Pendine is where many land speed records have been famously set on its seven mile stretch of beautiful flat sand, and a little further afield are the seaside resorts of Tenby and Saundersfoot. With walks in all directions, great days out at castles, mills and craft centres galore, this is a perfect base for all the family, at any time of the year. With walks in all directions, great days out at castles, mills and craft centres galore, this is a perfect base for all the family, at any time of the year.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it