Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Appletree Cottage - South Wales - 977964 - photo 1

Appletree Cottage

(Ref. 977964)

Haverfordwest, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Facilities and Maintenance
Accuracy of the listing
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • again (8)
  • stay (8)
  • lovely (8)
  • well (7)
  • shower (7)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed at Apple tree cottage for a week in October."

    Pros: Good location for exploring the local area. Cottage is quiet and feels quite private. Cottage has lots of kitchen utensils etc and has been made to feel homely with games, books etc. Log burner is a nice touch although doesn't give out lots of heat. Central heating is very effective. Beds are comfortable. The rookery that is mentioned in other reviews was noticeable but did not affect us at this time of year. If you were wanting to sit outside in the summer, it may be more annoying. Cons: There was a distinct smell of wet dog in the cottage on arrival that lingered all week. The carpets throughout could maybe do with a good clean. The owners are obviously aware of the smell and had put in an automatic air freshener to try and mask it. Cottage was clean on the surface - tables polished, beds made up nicely etc however on closer inspection there were cobwebs and spiders everywhere. This may add to the rustic feel of the cottage but it doesn't take much to dust them away. There were also lots of crumbs etc between the sofa cushions which we hoovered up - but really you'd expect this to have been done and for a more thorough clean between guests. The shower and bathroom could also have been better cleaned with short dark hairs on the floor and around the bath on arrival. Only supplied with one extra toilet roll so make sure you buy/take your own.

    Hi Ella, many thanks for your feedback and I trust Pembrokeshire and the surrounding harbours and villages lived up to their name. Apologies about the ' wet dog' smell but we are first and foremost a dog friendly accomodation but we also do our utmost to accomodate those of us with a sensitive nose. We shampoo the carpets 3 time a year, more if the bookings allow and yes, we do have an automatic air freshener to hide any eventuality.....We try to please everyone but it's not always possible. Re the cobwebs, one of the downsides of being in the country but I will mention that and the other issues to our house keeper along with the supply of toilet rolls. Again, many thanks for your imput and we will act upon it. Regards Ian Chatburn. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ella4.1Oct 2023

  • "Charming well appointed cottage on two levels with just three shallow steps to the bedrooms and bathroom."

    The central heating is brilliant, with the boiler in the porch, making it an excellent little room for drying damp dogs, boots and jackets. Conversely, we imagine it would be a cool and shady retreat in summer. Lovely track next to the cottage which was great for early morning walks.Pub, cafe and gift shop 5 minutes walk away, and a very well stocked garage supermarket shop a short drive away. Log fire makes for a cosy evening with all you need at the garage including extra long matches! High, apex ceiling gives a feeling of space without taking away from the charm of beams and stone walls. Finally, no problem with rooks or the shower! Great stay.

    Reviewed by Colin4.7Oct 2023

  • "The cottage had everything we needed and ideally located to access a good network of footpaths."

    The bottle of wine and chocolate cake were really appreciated after a long journey and the provision of a dog towel and poo bags were a thoughtful touch. The only negative was the lack of recycling facilities.

    Reviewed by Tim4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely cottage situated near beaches ."

    Has a rookery but didn't really bother us Cottage was clean and welcoming.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Sep 2023

  • "A little TLC would up grade our 4 stars to 5 stars, otherwise our time was well chilled out."

    Hi, Many thanks for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. As a matter of interest and to try and make improvements where possible, where abouts do you feel we could make improvements. Kind regards Ian Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Sep 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay at apple tree cottage."

    Will definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Jodie4.4Aug 2023

  • "I wasn't happy about not being told that there was a rookery by cottage very ..."

    I wasn't happy about not being told that there was a rookery by cottage very noisy also the cleanliness was not good shower unable to use due to lack of water flow

    Hi Robert, Please accept my apologies for not telling you about the rooks, we value customer feedback and use it to work to improve our accomodation where ever we can. As the cottage is situated on the edge of the village, right next to the woods and on to the coastal path, it is surrounded by nature which unfortunately we have no control over. Debbie has been maintaining the cottage for 14 years and as far as I know in that time we've had no complaints, I will mention your problem however. The power shower has a control on the panel which alters the water pressure, this may have been your problem but again I will mention it and adjust accordingly. Regards Ian. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert2.5May 2023

  • "Lovey cottage in a beautiful area , the path at the side is great for dog walking as it goes straight down the the small beach , the shower isnt brilliant but didnt cause any major probs, would definitely stop again , throughly enjoyed our stay , Will."

    Reviewed by William4.7Apr 2023

  • "We loved the property."

    It was well appointed and very comfortable. Everything we needed was there! The reason we gave a 4 for facilities and maintenance was the shower did not work. It was either hot or cold with no inbetween! We are old school so used the tub or the kitchen sink! We would definitely use your services again as we will be coming to the St David's area to visit our relatives.

    Reviewed by Judy4.7Dec 2022

  • "The cottages is lovely and we did not mind the rookery."

    Loved hearing them and the owl. Sadly the cottage was not as clean as we would have liked. We had to clean the bath and shower before using and I swept the carpet and lots of dogs hairs and sand.had to buy a dish cloth so we could wipe the kitchen side down first and after we had cooked. Cleanliness let the place down so would not stay again .

    Reviewed by Julie3.1Oct 2022

  • "Apple Tree Cottage is a very nice place to stay."

    It is in easy walking distance for the pub and coffee shop. It is adjacent to a footpath from which you can access the coastal path within a few minutes. The cottage is comfortable with everything you would expect to be provided. The only issue was with the shower, not being easy to find a decent temperature, either scalding or freezing! There's many places to visit within a short drive. It's an are well worth investigating and Apple Tree Cottage is an ideal base for touring.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Oct 2022

  • "Nice cottage in excellent rural location."

    Ideally situated to visit anywhere on the Pembroke peninsula Fantastic scenery on the Coastal path Will definitely visit Pembrokeshire again

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Sep 2022

  • "An amazing cottage, so relaxing and peaceful ."

    You feel like you are miles away from anyone . We have been visiting the area for the past 20 years as we have family who live in saint David’s . This is the best cottage we have rented during this time . There is no smell from the river, you hear the birds for 10 minutes at dawn and dusk but does not bother you at all . I would highly recommend this cottage . The WiFi worked very well . There is no garden just the fenced area at the front but ideal for the dogs . We will stay again for sure . Thank you a great find .

    Hi, Glad you enjoyed yourselves and the property, being on the edge of the village and surrounded by nature certainly helps....Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Everything we needed, apart from the rookery!

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Jun 2022

  • "The cottage itself was very enjoyable and was well appointed but it was let down by the 'external environment'."

    Firstly there is a large rookery close to the rear of the cottage which is very noisy - quite difficult to quietly read a book or paper outside on a warm day. Luckily we enjoy watching birdlife but the rookery can destroy any chance of having a quiet hour in the garden. Worst than the rookery however was the sewage smell coming from the stream which passes to the side and rear of the cottage on a warm day. The stream is being polluted by a local drainage discharge, where the cottage track joins the road (white pipe inlet). Difficult to tell it's source but there was visible pollution into the stream at that point, which in turn supports clouds of gnats on a warm day, when there isn't any rain to dilute it. This needs investigation and remedial action as it spoils any enjoyment of the garden & patio behind the cottage..

    Reviewed by John3.8May 2022

  • "We could not recycle because the owner recommended site in st David's told us we could not recycle because we were not residents in Pembrokeshire, so we had to bring all our recycling back home."

    We reported in visitors book that the bath was very slippery and we felt it needed a bath mat.

    Reviewed by Colin3.8May 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location for easy access to St Davids and the surrounding coast."

    Reviewed by John4.4Feb 2022

  • "Comfort scored slightly lower as double bed needs a comfy mattress topper."

    Cottage was clean , well equipped. Very dog friendly. Lots of walks. Would book again.

    Reviewed by Josie4.7Feb 2022

  • "Lovely property."

    Location was beautiful. Only down side was that heating and hot water wasn't working when we arrived late on the Monday evening and although we had been told that logs would be left by the house keeper, we couldn't find them, so the first evening and following morning we were cold and without hot water. We contacted the out of hours emergency number and it went to voicemail (8.30). When we still hadn't heard anything at 11.30 we rang again and it appeared that no one had picked our message up. The owner sent a plumber out and the problem was quickly dealt with. Would stay again as loved the cottage and it was ideally situated for nice walks in the countryside.

    Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Appletree Cottage. We are sorry there was an issue with the heating at the beginning of your stay, and we are glad we were able to resolve this swiftly for you so you could enjoy the rest of your holiday. To prevent further issues we have now replaced the heating system at Appletree Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Oct 2021

  • "The cottage is in a Lovely location and we enjoyed visiting Pembrokeshire The cottage itself is fine but it desperately needs some more crockery and pans and serving dishes."

    It was almost impossible to cook a family meal due to how poorly the kitchen was stocked and the dishwasher becomes redundant as you have to wash things up as you go . The beds were not very comfortable either , mattresses were too hard.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed this beautiful part of Wales. During the height of the covid pandemic we were advised to remove all non essential items by Sykes, to try to cut down on cross contamination and for our guests safety, I am sorry if there were some items not available during your stay if you had made us aware there were issues whilst you were on holiday we would have endeavored to rectify this for you. We are sorry the beds were not to your taste, we have not received any other feedback regarding the beds, we will monitor this going forward. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon3.1Jul 2021

  • "Had a great time"

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Jun 2021

  • "With covid 19 we realize that the accommodation was going to be a little different than usual but we had a loverly stay and Holliday at the cottage."

    The only thing I would suggest is adirection sign to Apple tree cottage at the end of the track leading to it if I hadn't of ask the postman in the village I wouldn't of found it I'd driven past the opening four times.

    Reviewed by Frederick4.7Sep 2020

  • "Plenty of space."

    We had an issue with the heating which the owner dealt with immediately. Not 100% sure the plumber came to fix it but We were given instructions how to reset it which seemed to work. One thing was that it did smell a bit ‘doggy’. We knew pets were allowed but hadn’t really thought about the consequences. It was fine but I think it made us reconsider whether we would rent a place that allowed dogs in future. We had a wonderful time there though.

    Reviewed by Katharine4.7Aug 2020

  • "We had an amazing time in the wonderful Appletree Cottage, thank you!"

    Reviewed by Viktoria4.7Mar 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double and 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove.
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hobs, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with DVD player, a selection of books and games, and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stair gate and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 1 miles and pub within 0.5 miles

The property

In the pretty village of Trefin near the coast in south-west Wales, is this quaint property, Appletree Cottage, close to the edge of the village, next to the woods and coastal path.

A perfect place for a family holiday or a couple's break, hosting two bedrooms and benefiting from a fenced outside area for your four-legged friends, this is a lovely cottage you'll want to return to.

Upon entering the property, be welcomed into the spacious front porch with a tumble dryer, shoe rack to kick off your boots and plenty of space to hang up your coats after a walk in the countryside. Carry on into the kitchen, compact but filled with everything you need for a wonderful self-catered experience, including a washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave oven, electric oven and hob.

The kitchen has a large, open serving hatch overlooking the open-plan sitting and dining room, so you can keep up with the conversation when it's your turn to be the designated chef for the evening.

A wood-burning stove features in the sitting area against a large exposed stone brick wall, boasting character and rustic style, with a lovely sofa arrangement with TV and Wi-Fi connection, so you can relax and have a movie night after a tiring day.

When it's time to head to bed, up the three steps to the next level within the property takes you to two pretty bedrooms; a double or a twin, both hosting some beautiful antique wooden furniture to store your personal items, the decor is light and bright with windows giving views to the garden.

The family bathroom offers a great place to steal a bit of peace and quiet, why not enjoy a long soak in the tub, or have a refreshing shower, the choice is yours. Outside, the patio is fenced so you don't need to worry about your furry friends or your little ones wandering off, with a large lawned area beyond this a great place to spend a sunny summer afternoon with a picnic under the shade of one of the fruit trees.

Trefin is a charming historic village, unspoilt and perfect for those who like a quiet break, situated within the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park with the coastal path and cycling routes on your doorstep not to mention the stunning beaches of Whitesands and Newgale.

A short drive takes you to Porthgain, a small but quaint village harbour, have a coffee or evening meal at the pub or restaurant or enjoy a locally made ice cream on the harbour wall.Slightly further afield is Solva, one of the jewels of Pembrokeshire.

For an adventure further afield, head over to Fishguard, situated at the mouth of the Gwaun River, you can enjoy a boat ride, or head up the hill to the site of the old fort for panoramic views of the harbour.

Appletree Cottage will be just the accommodation you are looking for, with its peaceful base, and great opportunities for exploring.

View on map

About the location


Broad Haven 7 miles; Narberth 7 miles; Pembroke 11 miles; St. Davids 16 ;Saundersfoot 19 miles; Tenby 20 miles.

Haverfordwest (Welsh spelling: Hwlffordd) is the county town of Pembrokeshire with quaint little gift shops, pubs, restaurants, tea rooms and a vibrant night life. Haverfordwest sits at the mouth of the River Cleddau and with its castle, museum and large leisure complex it is a great day out for all the family. The whole of Pembrokeshire beckons from this perfect holiday base to explore castles, relax on beautiful sandy beaches, take walks along parts of the complete coastal footpath, and enjoy Folly Farm, the nearby trampoline park, the Dinosaur Experience and the thrills and spills of Oakwood Theme Park and Bluestone Water Park. There is so much to see and do in this wonderful part of Wales you'll want to revisit again and again.

View more holiday cottages in Haverfordwest

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas