Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in South Wales 7 minutes ago

1 customer booked The Laurels in the last 24 hours

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • The Laurels - South Wales - 1039403 - photo 1

The Laurels

(Ref. 1039403)

Treffgarne near Haverfordwest, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • shower (6)
  • house (6)
  • water (6)
  • our (6)
  • location (5)
  • all (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "The location of The Laurels is ideal for the many attractions and services around the area."

    It’s a quiet and peaceful village. On arrival, the smoke detectors in the hall and landing were bleeping but the issue was dealt with the next day. For our family Christmas, the house layout was perfect. We were very appreciative of the seasonal decorations, including a Christmas tree with lights, that were thoughtfully provided throughout the house. Everyday items in the kitchen and dining room were abundant. The wood burning stove was both exceptionally warm and comforting in the lounge. On the upper floor, the bedrooms are a very good size adequately provided with pretty duvets which were all very clean and welcoming. There was plenty of hot water for showers etc. We have no complaints and the house was a very pleasant space to come back to each day.

    Reviewed by Ann4.7Dec 2023

  • "An amazing property well equipped , very clean , all the bedrooms and seating ..."

    An amazing property well equipped , very clean , all the bedrooms and seating areas very comfortable perfect for larger families ideally located for all local attractions with the peaceful location for down time for my family the only thing we’d have changed was for the water temperature for showers and baths but that’s it … will hopefully book this property again

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay."

    The shower in the on-suite was blocked and water wouldn't go down so we purchased some unblocking fluid and that seemed to solve the problem. The water is so hot i had to be careful that the children didn't put their hands straight under the taps. The dishwasher needs a good clean it is very smelly. They were the only faults. Everything else was great and we had a lovely family holiday here.

    Thank you for the comments. We had called in a plumber after the previous comments about hot water and believed the problem to be fixed. We will get him back in again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura4.1Jul 2023

  • "Hot water was dangerous scallding hot instantly, the condition of the property seems to be being ignored and I think this is due to the property being up for sale, the garden was over run with rats, no bins, one bin full of dog mess not emptied, patio was broken and uneven, the steps out and into the garden trough patio doors were to high, shower tray flooding in the on suite, bath moves, overflow cover on bath falls of all in all, the rating is not worth the mark, last inspected by Wales tourist board in 2017."

    Most of the issue I have raised were report in may of this year and still has not been rectified. Disappointing as I had taken friends on holiday and felt let down.

    We are sorry that you experienced problems but wish that you had raised them with us while you were there as we could have dealt with them straight away. It is the first time that several of the issues raised by you have been brought to our attention. Obviously we will now rectify them. This is the first time that anyone has ever mentioned rodents which is surprising considering that the house is in the countryside. However, on seeing your comments we immediately called in a pest control expert who has visited the house and action has been taken. We have also asked a local builder to look at the patio. The hot water setting has also been reduced. If you have any photographic evidence, please send it via Sykes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Warren2.5Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location and we really enjoyed our stay."

    The house was clean, well furnished and had plenty of room. The kitchen was well equipped. We wanted to make the owner aware that the house could do with some basic maintenance - for example, bathroom door lock not working, kitchen floor coming up, kitchen tap dripping, patio door hard to close, carpets coming up at door thresholds, patio slabs loose, hot water thermostat set too high so was scalding hot (set temp lower or fit TMV's to the taps). These are all minor on their own, but for a relatively new house there were a surprising number of defects and it needs some love and attention before it deteriorates further. For people that take pets, the garden is not enclosed despite it being requested in the visitors book by many guests over the years.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4May 2023

  • "We were so comfortable here and loved being able to spread out more for a few days in the middle of our vacation than in the other cottages we stayed at."

    We also loved the location and were able to explore so much of southern Wales. The instructions for recycling and trash didn’t make sense with what we saw in the house. Other than the trash bags we couldn’t find the other necessary bags to recycle.

    Reviewed by Tawnya5.0Jun 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, although due to having to supervise our dogs in the garden we could not relax our enjoy the patio area fully."

    As there was cats in neighbouring houses and painter nearby with dogs also. There were plenty of places we found to walk them near the cottage and it's locality to areas is great especially if you drive. We were able to visit many places nearby with just a short drive.

    Reviewed by Kirsty3.8Jun 2022

  • "There are a lot of things to do."

    I read a review from a year ago and nothing changed. Why? Problem with the drain, the trash, the shower head(we solved this problem). The rubber of the washing machine is full of mould. And is this really a "king size" bed? There were nothing like a starter kit for the fireplace. The rest was ok. Really big cottage. The neighbours are really friendly. They have kids, so if you want a quiet place without other people its nothing for you.

    Reviewed by Natascha3.4May 2022

  • "Lovely house not on a housing estate as previously review stated - its in a quiet cul-de-sac in a quite rural village ."

    Really high spec property and spotless but is quite a trek to get to places like Solva & St Davids. If you have a dog please be advised that there is no where to walk it other than the village lanes and the nearest pub is not walkable as it on the main A40. Not mentioned in the write up is that the garden is just a strip of grass but there is a fabulous ratan garden set and BBQ. We have been coming to St Davids for 40+ years fo for us this was to far from our usual haunts and there is no view - also I had to contact the owner as there are no outside bins to leave your rubbish in we were there for 2 weeks and owner advised us to leave all rubbish in the shed as they hadnt organised wheelie bins yet.

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Sep 2021

  • "The cottage was fabulous and the location perfect for exploring the area."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2021

  • "Fantastic house great base for exploring Pembrokeshire"

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Jun 2021

  • "We were very disappointed to find that the white stone cottage,turned out to be a modern white painted house on a modern estate,and so close to other houses we needed to draw curtains,to get some privacy in a lot of the rooms."

    The shower in the bathroom had moore water coming out of the hose than the head. Shower in on suite,the tray filled up with water so quickly, you had to turn it off and waite till it had gone down . As we had to pay extra for this house as our first cottage had become unavailable ,we expected better. On a good note it was furnished well.

    Reviewed by Pat2.8May 2021

  • "As we were taking the in-laws on holiday we were worried about the accommodation due present situation coronavirus etc."

    But as soon as we arrived at the Laurels we felt at ease as property was well prepared for the present situation we find ourselves In.

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Sep 2020

  • "The property is well located in the area to explore The region."

    . The property itself was well presented, offers ample space and it was very well cleaned.

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single with truckle bed
  • Bathroom with freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV, DVD and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Lawned garden and patio area with furniture
  • 2 well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 3.8 miles and pub 1.4 miles
  • Note: The garden is not enclosed so children and pets must be supervised

The property

Haverfordwest 6.3 miles.

Set in the village of Treffgarne, in the Pembrokeshire parish of Wales, is this detached white stone cottage, The Laurels.

This heart-warming retreat has been tastefully furnished to an immaculate standard, mixing contemporary touches with classic countryside features such as the woodburning stove in the sitting room.

Warm yourself up in the large sitting room with three large sofas set around the fireplace and TV where you can spend your evenings keeping up to date with all your favourite shows and enjoying quality family time together.

Walk through to the open-plan kitchen/diner which comes equipped with everything you could possibly need for a week in the countryside and a delightful breakfast table for planning the events of the day.

From here, the room curves into a large dining room with a sofa if you fancy getting some peace and quiet to indulge in a good book, or dine together as a family at the large dining table.

The ground floor also has a washing machine and tumble dryer in the utility area, so you don't have to bring your whole wardrobe with you!

Retire to one of the four well-presented bedrooms once you start to feel tired and get some much needed rest choosing from a king-size with its own en-suite shower room, a double, a twin and a single with a truckle bed beneath; each bedroom benefiting from a convenient selection of furniture for storing your personal belongings.

Relax and have a luxurious soak in the bath and indulge in a good book to wash off the tiring events of the day, or choose to enjoy a quick shower to start your day.

Externally, the property has access to a peaceful and secluded garden where your pets can stretch their legs as your soak up the sun rays by dining alfresco.

If you're looking for somewhere to eat out during your trip, take the short drive towards the bustling town of Haverfordwest and choose from a selection of traditional Welsh pubs and restaurants for that fine dining experience.

If it's a taste of history you're looking for, then make sure you take the time to explore the Haverfordwest Town Museum which dates back to the 12th century and even the Haverfordwest Priory.

Discover a number of picturesque sandy beaches dotted along the Pembrokeshire coast, where you can spend your afternoons bathing in the sun, or taking a long and relaxing swim in the shallow waters, before enjoying a delightful picnic spread across your beach towels.

While you're in the area, you will have access to a number of tourist attractions and the properties rural location makes it the prime spot for some scenic walking and cycling opportunities, particularly at the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park.

The Laurels is the perfect holiday home for making memories that will last with your loved ones.

View on map

About the location


Broad Haven 7 miles; Narberth 7 miles; Pembroke 11 miles; St. Davids 16 ;Saundersfoot 19 miles; Tenby 20 miles.

Haverfordwest (Welsh spelling: Hwlffordd) is the county town of Pembrokeshire with quaint little gift shops, pubs, restaurants, tea rooms and a vibrant night life. Haverfordwest sits at the mouth of the River Cleddau and with its castle, museum and large leisure complex it is a great day out for all the family. The whole of Pembrokeshire beckons from this perfect holiday base to explore castles, relax on beautiful sandy beaches, take walks along parts of the complete coastal footpath, and enjoy Folly Farm, the nearby trampoline park, the Dinosaur Experience and the thrills and spills of Oakwood Theme Park and Bluestone Water Park. There is so much to see and do in this wonderful part of Wales you'll want to revisit again and again.

View more holiday cottages in Haverfordwest