Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Suffolk & Essex 13 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Alde Lane - Suffolk & Essex - 1116959 - photo 1






1 Alde Lane

(Ref. 1116959)

Aldeburgh, Suffolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance

8 Customer Reviews

  • "On arrival we tried to connect to the internet for work purposes."

    All details in the information book were incorrect! Wrong supplier and wrong password. Megan the housekeeper very kindly sent me through the correct details. Being October the house was quite cold but we were unable to adjust the heating. It is set to come on at 10am- 11am and again at 6pm-8pm not a lot of good when you are sitting down in the evening or getting up in the morning to a cold house. We were told there was an over ride button but this only kept the heating on for 5mins (when it worked). Also for half of our stay the TV was not working,. This was eventually fixed with a new aerial! We would not recommend this property in the autumn or winter! We left the property one day early to get back home and warm up. A waste of a days rent!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry that you experienced trouble with the heating, as soon as you made us aware of the issues with the TV and the heating, maintenance attended to rectify. The heating was working however the TV required a new aerial which we informed you of and this was fitted as soon as possible for you. Had we been aware you experienced any further issues with the heating, we would have had someone attend for you, the system has been checked with no issues however we are sorry that you felt the need to depart early and do wish you had made contact with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol2.8Oct 2023

  • "Second bedroom only really suitable for storage Bathroom extremely small but nice shower Kitchen nice but all knives were blunt which made cooking a bit of a challenge!"

    Woken up at 1 o’clock in the morning by road workers digging up and relaying road surface after a water leak was fixed! We have reported this to Suffolk and Essex Water who are investigating.

    Reviewed by Nicola2.8Sep 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in good position for Suffolk coastline."

    Cottage well maintained and fresh looking. Thorpeness excellent little quiet beach. Hot water went off halfway through the stay it’s a shame as sort that one issue and you’re looking at an excellent property.

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jun 2023

  • "The cottage is lovely."

    Small but cosy and a great location, just 5 minutes walk from the beach.

    Many thanks for ypur feedback . We didn't receive your feedback in the hot water or the leak. The hot water situation has been sorted and the leak is being seen to so thank you for flagging Property Owner

    Reviewed by Holly4.4Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location for the beach and exploring further afield."

    Shame that the hot water saga is ongoing, barely enough to shower each morning and nothing for later on in the day. This could easily be dealt with if the water was heated more than once a day, something the owners should be prepared to do for their guests. The overall standard of cleanliness was good, however the shower cubicle could do with some attention; the shower head and hose was pretty disgusting.

    Reviewed by Glenda4.4May 2023

  • "No hot water for most of the stay."

    Rang Houskeeper to report but no answer or call back. Didn’t ring Best of Suffolk main number as it doesn’t say their lines are monitored out of hours and this was Easter weekend - suggest information pack is updated to include this. Owner not open to offering compensation for this issue on the basis I didn’t ring the Best of Suffolk office - I booked with Sykes. Nobody contacted me until I was back home. Was told hot water is on a timer and stored in a tank which may run out but will reheat in an hour - this didn’t happen for us as once hot water was gone in the morning we had nothing during the day - maybe owner or agent should use the property for a full 24 hrs to experience this not turn up when guests leave and say all is ok. Mould issue in bathroom. Bikes are unusable as they have flat tyres. On a good note Aldeburgh is a lovely place.

    Reviewed by Kevin1.6Apr 2023

  • "We had an enjoyable stay at 1 Alde Lane but there were issues with the heating and hot water unfortunately which did spoil things for us."

    A new system has been installed but the property instruction manual wasn't updated to reflect this. Basically the heating was set to 19 degrees which isn't particularly warm for this time of year, I could get it to go to 22.5 but no higher and even then it wouldn't last. It was always chilly in the morning as it always reverted back to 19 degrees. We also had a couple of occasions where we had no hot water once we had used the shower. Initially I contacted the Housekeeper but she advised me to contact the owner as she wasn't familiar with the system. To be fair the owner was very nice and came back to me very quickly explaining she was still getting her head around the new system and that she could control the heating at her end so she upped the temperature on the Friday for us and I assumed it would be ok for the rest of our stay but it wasn't. I decided not to keep contacting her as I didn't think it was fair especially over the New Year period. It was disappointing because heat and hot water are basics in my book. We paid a lot of money for 5 days - I accept that prices are always higher at certain times - but I would expect the facilities to work properly. I'm sorry to moan especially as the owner sounded so nice but I hope you take my comments on board so that the next guests don't have the same problems. The cottage itself is very cute and in a great spot, who doesn't love Aldeburgh? If you would like any further info please don't hesitate to contact me.

    Reviewed by Alison3.8Dec 2022

  • "A warm and cosy cottage."

    Many thanks for the welcome pack - gratefully received. The nearby church parking permit was of great convenience. We hope to return again next year.

    Reviewed by Ivan3.8Dec 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Best of Suffolk collection.
Best of Suffolk is an award-winning, local holiday cottage lettings agency, bringing the experience of a boutique hotel to self-catering cottages in Suffolk.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x day bed
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven, grill and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher.TV with FreeSat, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot available on request at time of booking
  • Parking at church opposite in return for suggested donation
  • Communal courtyard shared with two neighbouring cottages, patio furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome downstairs
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.2 miles Note: The owner kindly provides two retro Raleigh bikes so please request code for the bike lock at the time of booking if wanted
  • Note: Parking is permit parking in the church car park, permit will be in property for you

The property

Sitting at the front of 1 Alde Lane is a stylish living room, opening into a well equipped galley kitchen with space to dine at home if you wish, and a stable door to the communal courtyard.

The bedroom wouldn’t be out of place in an interior design magazine; decorated in pastel shades, beautifully furnished with a king size bed with a smaller room which can be used as an additional bedroom or dressing room with modern shower room next door. Guests can park in the church car park which is almost opposite and will be just a short walk from the fashionable high street and seafront. Ground Floor You're welcomed into a small hall with carpeted stairs rising ahead of you and the door to the living room, with kitchen beyond, to your right, all with hard floors.

A communal courtyard (shared with two neighbouring properties) is accessed through the kitchen. Kitchen/Breakfast Room A galley style kitchen has everything you need if you enjoy catering at home, with a bijou table with bench, chair and stool by the window.

Built-in units hold an electric oven with grill, four ring ceramic hob, microwave, slimline dishwasher and washing machine and there's a huge American style fridge/freezer with four drawers in the freezer section.

A stable door gives access to the communal courtyard. Living Room Beautifully furnished with a generous velvet sofa, an additional chair, occasional tables and a wall-mounted TV for your entertainment. First Floor Carpeted stairs rise from the hall to the first floor with a handrail to steady you.

The bedroom and dressing/single room, both with painted wooden floors and rugs, are off the landing; as well as the shower room. Master Bedroom This stylish double aspect room sits at the front of the cottage, decorated in calming pastel shades.

You’re sure to have a good nights sleep in the wonderfully comfortable king-size bed with padded bedhead, which sits between bedside drawers with a large chest of drawers for your clothes and chic chaise positioned by the shuttered window. Dressing/Single Room A dual purpose room with a quality day bed that can be made up for you if requested or, simply left as a comfortable place to sit and read.

There's a cleverly designed hanging rail with shelf and a console table if you prefer to use the room as a dressing room. Shower Room Perfectly designed to include everything you need into a compact room; this modern shower room has a large shower cubicle, wash basin set into a vanity unit, WC, heated towel rail and even a window so you have natural light. Outside 1 Alde Lane runs off Victoria Road, almost opposite the church where you can park for a suggested donation.

There's a communal courtyard at the back, shared with two neighbouring cottages, where you can sit at the bistro style table with two chairs for an aperitifs. Parking Parking is in the Church car park.

You must show the parking permits in your car.

There is a charge of £50 if the permit is lost or taken, so please return to the property and leave in the kitchen.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Thorpeness 2.1 miles; Saxmundham 7.2 miles.

The popular, vibrant seaside town of Aldeburgh is famous for its culture, traditional feel and one of the best fish and chip shops in the country! Aldeburgh and Snape Maltings are home to one of the world’s greatest music festivals and has been named as one of the top 50 places to live in Britain. Crag Path runs along the seafront dividing the beautiful pebbly beach from the unspoilt pastel-coloured seafront properties and the town. The beach is a popular place for groups and couples to enjoy the wonderful fish and chips throughout the summer months. The town is steeped in history and has become a wonderful town for shopping with a good mixture of independent and chain stores to enjoy. The town also offers a good selection of pubs and restaurants or why not buy some freshly caught fish from the huts on the seafront and cook up your own feast at home. For those wishing for a more action-packed holiday there is excellent walking, cycling, sailing and golf at Aldeburgh. Growing in popularity you will want to return to Aldeburgh again and again!

View more holiday cottages in Aldeburgh

Note: Parking is permit parking in the church car park, permit will be in property for you.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas