Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 11 View Image Gallery
  • Little Beck Cottage - Norfolk - 980479 - photo 1
  • Little Beck Cottage - (Ref. 980479)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Little Beck Cottage

(Ref. 980479)

Harleston, Norfolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • little (12)
  • owners (11)
  • lovely (11)
  • stay (9)
  • friendly (9)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Cottage needs updating , some new furniture and some new bed linen and duvet sets, and all the rising damp needs to be done as it's very bad to the point of health problems , it could be a nice place if some money was spent on it , if you like a good shower it's not here , shower is very very weak and trickles Out and goes from hot to cold, price was cheap at 270."

    00 for week in November but in my opinion spend more money elsewhere for better comfort, we knocked a couple times on owners cottage next door to say hello but got no answer , when we finally met the owner she said it's nice to finally meet you as I like to know who is partying in my cottage, not sure what that was all about as I'm 61 and my mother 87 and we was away for a quite holiday , she was also telling us she was surprised cottage was booked by sykes to us as she though she closed it for the winter and that it don't pay to rent it in winter as people put the electric heating on , maybe this explained the cobwebs on the walls that had not been cleaned , the remarks also made us feel uncomfortable to put the heating on in the cold weather we was experiencing, could not watch a dvd as could not get dvd player on even changed batteries but still could not get it on , very poor mobile signal and Internet as it states in details , thank good for a bit of easy listening music on my phone before bed , got a few texts from owner before we met her while on holiday to see how we was and one about the leaves on path, we was out every day by 10am visiting different villages , coast and Market towns and got back to the cottage in evening about 8pm , had a great time in Norfolk but would not rent cottage again in it's present condition

    we are sorry you were so disappointed with your stay with us, the cottage is cleaned to COVID standards following each let I did find 1 cobweb on a bedroom window sill after your departure. Naturally the cottage heating is part of the rental and we always make sure of a warm welcome. Regarding the rising damp...there was certainly no sign of any problem prior to your arrival, we did see the paint that had lifted on the left hand side of the french window, which we discovered was caused by a crack in the outside rendering and water had permutated down from that for which we apologise as we had no prior knowledge of this problem. I finally bumped into you on the Thursday and we seemed to have a pleasent conversation, asking if you were comfortable and were there any problems to which you had none apparently.... if we had been informed that there was a problem with the dvd remote we would of course replaced it, the dvd could have been activated using the buttons on the side, there is also a DAB radio and a Amazon dot which both could be used for music. I did let you know that there had been a heavy fall of leaves overnight and that these would be cleared early as we were concerned that your mother may have difficulties walking on them and that we would try not to disturb you both. We have received no prior complaints regarding the shower, decorations or bedding sadly this property would just seemed to have not suited you and we hope you are happier in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.5Nov 2023

  • "We had a lovely time at Little Beck and really appreciated the welcome provisions provided."

    The cottage was clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed. Although we went out and about in the car to visit villages and towns, the cottage is equally ideal for walkers and cyclists. The grounds are pretty with seating provided to watch the garden birds! We came up from Kent, so the drive time was only just over two hours. We look forward to returning, many thanks!

    Thank you so much for your kind remarks Claire, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Sep 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay"

    Thank you so much, very kind of you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Aug 2023

  • "Nice quiet cottage, very clean with all basic requirements."

    Owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We would happily stay again.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage, very quiet location and brilliant hosts."

    Thank you so much for your very kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves. Kind regards Kathryn and Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Aug 2023

  • "We didn’t stay!"

    The welcome on arrival was very cold and it was although we wasn’t expected! All feedback has been given to the owner after we made a call to Sykes who also actually didn’t care! No refund has been offered and no response from the feedback given, which to be honest doesn’t surprise me!

    I sent this client a welcoming message thanking her for booking and asking if they would like some provisions supplied, to which she thanked us. On the day of arrival folk turned up and were unsure if they were at the right place (mistakes do happen) so we double checked and my husband took them to the cottage opened the door, explained a couple of things and left them to settle in. Within a couple of minutes they drove off, to get shopping we supposed and thought no more until we were contacted by Sykes advising the client had left saying that the cottage was unsuitable, I asked for further details and received none. Refunds are governed by Sykes not ourselves and unfortunately we have been in a poor reception area for WiFi and I have responded as soon as I have seen this review and would certainly not try to dodge the issue at all. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay1.3May 2023

  • "Excellent little place."

    Well equipped. No TV signal (it does say in the listing) but plenty of DVDs and good internet if you get desperate. Nice helpful hosts next door for any issues. Once you figure out the short cuts on the tiny roads, it's easy to get around and see all those sights. I'll be back at some stage.

    Thank you for your very kind feedback, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we'll be pleased to see you back anytime... enjoy the rest of your travels Kathryn Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Apr 2023

  • "A real home from home, if you are looking for a peaceful and restful break, then Little Beck Cottage is the place."

    Warm, clean, peaceful and well maintained. The owners Kath and Phil are close at hand for any queries and there communication is excellent, how ever they are very respectful and not intrusive. We are totally smitten by the cottage and will be returning and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful break. Many thanks Kath, Phil and Sykes.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we'll look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Kath and Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Mar 2023

  • "Really nice cottage."

    Owners next door but only”there” if needed….had an issue with bathroom light failing - sorted by the time we’d been out all day. Even offered to store some stuff we’d bought during the week. Everything in the cottage worked although I had intermittent Wi-Fi (my wife didn’t-& both on O2) Is quite remote from pub/shop etc which we didn’t mind as the positive of this is the quietness. Yes…we’d return

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely very clean cottage, with all facilities needed ."

    Great no TV .Wide range of DVDs. Enjoyed the deck chairs in the garden and watching the wild life . Comfy bed . Peaceful setting . Wonderful welcome food parcel.. Friendly owners . Good location. Will recommend to friends .

    Thank you so much for your feedback, it was a pleasure to have you both staying with us and leaving the cottage so lovely too. Hope to see you again Kathryn and Phil Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Jul 2022

  • "A cosy, self-contained cottage, with a comfortable bed, nice hot shower and well-equipped kitchen."

    It provided a peaceful location in a lovely part of Norfolk with good access to interesting towns, the seaside and lovely country walks. Phil and Kathryn are delightful hosts.

    Reviewed by Trina4.7Dec 2021

  • "The peace and quiet of this holiday home, the comfortable beds plus the warmth of the hosts really made our stay at Little Beck Cottage."

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time staying at Little Beck Cottage."

    Owners very friendly and helpful. Great location for a quiet holiday. We would highly recommend staying at the cottage and would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jul 2021

  • "We were looking for somewhere safe and comfortable in order to enjoy our first few days away for a long time, this was just right."

    There was a friendly welcome with a goodies pack including home made jam to have on artisan bread. We had a great time visiting the seaside and other attractions in the area and then we could return to this cottage and relax. A bolt hole to refresh for the following day.

    Reviewed by Charles5.0May 2021

  • "This cottage is situated in a lovely dark and quiet area of Norfolk with many area to explore, Owners were very kind very helpful."

    Thank you Kathryn and Phil.

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Oct 2020

  • "Disappointed with the property."

    Although fairly accurate description, it did not feel private - outside area is looked on by owners property and would not have felt comfortable sitting out on the gravel area. When we arrived it felt as though we weren't expected - very cold, fridge turned off - not even plugged in - and not even a welcome pint of milk that is usual with a Sykes cottage, if not a bit more! We were also surprised no Covid safeguards were in place - we have stayed in 2 other properties since lock down and both had taken certain steps - removing leaflets, providing hand sanitiser just inside the door, etc - which had not happened here.

    While there is a gravel area at the front, there is also dedicated garden space to the rear of the property for the sole use of guests and which is not overlooked The fridge was off and left open, so that guests could see that it had been cleaned and aired but we will consider it plugged in if this would suit guests better The welcome pack has currently been removed as due to the current situation we are regretfully not providing consumables We can also assure guests that hand sanitiser is placed in the bathroom and we’re sorry if you didn’t see it. As we do live near the property and we also provide our contact number pre arrival, we would of course have assisted with any concerns you had, if we had been made aware at the time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cheryl3.1Sep 2020

  • "Great base for exploring, must go to Harleston a great little village,Great coffee shops and pub"

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Aug 2020

  • "Had a lovely stay owners offered all kinds of assistance and advice if needed very friendly but did not intrude in any way they really want you to enjoy your stay which we did."

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Aug 2020

  • "The online photo of the cottage does not do it justice."

    It shows the side of the cottage looking dark and damp. It is neither of these.There are seating areas in the front and back garden carefully placed to catch the sun. The cottage is tastefully furnished and a lovely relaxing place. The owners are friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jul 2020

  • "I had a lovely stay at Little beck Cottage and Kathryn and Phil are lovely hosts Very friendly and helpful ."

    .Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Gerald5.0Feb 2020

  • "Brilliant thanks could not fault a single thing"

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Jan 2020

  • "Proprietors were very kind and accommodating."

    There was a long power outage for a couple of hours, which was through no fault of theirs that made things difficult as we arrived back late and wanted to cook dinner and were unable to. There was also an outage the evening before. It was a little difficult to find, but in the end a pleasant stay.

    Reviewed by Joann4.1Oct 2019

  • "Very friendly and welcoming hosts."

    Very kindly gave us some local knowledge of the area and provided some basic provisions in case we hadn't had the opportunity to go to a shop prior. Lovely people, and a very nice quiet cottage and village.

    Reviewed by David4.7Sep 2018

  • "Lack of phone signal or TV was a very slight inconvenience, but overall no problem."

    Reviewed by Leonard5.0Sep 2018

  • "The lovely little touches like having fresh bread milk butter tea and coffee ..."

    The lovely little touches like having fresh bread milk butter tea and coffee waiting for us on arrival the couple who owned the cottage were friendly and helpful we will hopefully be going back again soon

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Sep 2018

  • "The couple who own Little Beck Cottage were really nice and welcoming."

    The cottage was nice and cosy. Would highly recommended.

    Reviewed by adam5.0Aug 2018

  • "As we are Australian visitors we found Little Beck Cottage to be a wonderful English experience and central to many places of interest."

    Phil and Kath provided all the essentials to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Overall we were very happy with the location.

    Reviewed by Lynette5.0Aug 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, the provisions provided were a nice surprise!"

    Owners were very helpful, cottage exceeded expectations

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jul 2018

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Shower room with a basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, a dining area and a sitting area with an electric fire.
  • Electric central heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, DVD, DAB radio, WiFi, selection of DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Lockable storage
  • Patio and gravel with furniture and a BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Note: Brook running alongside property, children must be supervised when outside
  • Note: Even though the property is mainly on the ground floor, there are a few steps inside and outside the cottage, therefore may not be suitable for the less mobile
  • Note: The TV does not have freeview, it is for watching DVDs on only
  • Note: Mobile phone reception is provider dependent (as in many parts of the country) O2 and Vodafone both have good reception, with EE fluctuating. A wide selection of dvds are provided however you are welcome to watch TV programme's on your own Mobile devices

The property

Little Beck Cottage is a self-contained, ground floor getaway nestled in a beautiful rural location, four miles from the attractive Norfolk town of Harleston.

With welcoming open-plan living, this is a splendid return for avid walkers and cyclists to enjoy.

Based on the owner's grounds, step up towards this property and into a handy area to hang up your coats and kick off your muddy boots.

Step into the spacious open-plan living room and find the cosy sitting area benefiting from a stunning electric fire and a TV with a wide range of DVDs provided by the owner - the perfect night in after an exhausting day of adventure.

A modern dining table set for four sits at the side of the room whilst the kitchen area boasts rustic wooden units and the necessary appliances to make use of.

Adjacent to this room is the bright and complete the accomodation at The Annex.

When the sun comes out, rustle up a delicious BBQ on the patio with the refreshing country air to top it off.

Head to nearby Harleston where you will find a selection of wonderful amenities as well as a local museum which is worth a look on a rainy day.

The surrounding area offers something for everybody to enjoy, from glorious coastline and breath-taking countryside to the striking city of Norwich.

Little Beck Cottage boasts an excellent location for those wishing to explore all that this wondrous region can offer.

View on map

About the location


Pulham St Mary 3 miles; Bungay 8 miles; Beccles 13 miles; Norwich 19 miles; Southwold 18 miles.

Located on the Norfolk/Suffolk border, Harleston nestles in the beautiful Waveney Valley within easy reach of the Suffolk Heritage Coast and with endless beautiful towns and villages just a short drive away. This friendly town offers ancient inns, charming individual shops, good restaurants and cafes, an art gallery and local museum, and a weekly market. Enjoy antique auctions, country walks from your doorstep, angling and birdwatching. Endless day trips include the Aviation & Steam Train Museums, Castles, Cathedrals, Breweries, Vineyards, the famous Norfolk Broads, and the Sandringham Estate. Nearby Bungay boasts many historic attractions, the ruins of Bigod's Castle, Buttercross, a Spring Garden market, a Summer antiques fair and Christmas Market, attracting many people each year. A 30 minute drive to the fabulous Suffolk coast brings you to magical Southwold with its famous amber shop, and even nearer is the market town of Beccles at the head of the Broads.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas