Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Forge Cottages - Suffolk & Essex - 1125986 - photo 1

1 Forge Cottages

(Ref. 1125986)

Snape, Suffolk, Suffolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (5)
  • cottage (4)
  • pub (4)
  • away (3)
  • aldeburgh (3)
  • owner (3)

8 Customer Reviews

  • "I had a really lovely relaxing stay for 4 nights from the 27th October."

    I loved the location, nice and near to Aldeburgh beach and a great pub opposite too. Good heating and plenty of hot water

    Reviewed by DebraOct 2023

  • "It's good value for money."

    Everything worked (tv, heating etc). It suited us - a couple, with 2 small dogs. The garden is fenced in and they couldn't run away. The door key being accessed by a 4 digit code was vital, as the owner couldn't be there because of flooding of roads. The pub just across the road was friendly and lively. We went to Dunwich heath, Aldeburgh, Thorpeness, Sutton Hoo, Snape maltings, and Orford castle and had a lovely time.

    Reviewed by NeilOct 2023

  • "Could do with a lot of updating."

    The floor boards upstairs were SO squeaky that moving around was painful! I fact as we are both of a certain age that we need to get up in the night, we manage to wake each other when we had to go to the toilet!! So my husband even recorded how noisy it was. Also bathroom bin not emptied, baby socks in draw in the bedroom, and dirty tea towels left on the kitchen worktop.

    Many thanks for your feedback and for bringing this to our attention. We always recommend that you contact us during your stay to give us the opportunity to rectify any issues for you. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please do not hesitate to contact us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanOct 2023

  • "Lovely cottage exactly as listed but unfortunately as both of us are tall we were unable to use the bath so we were only able to have washes all week due to the lack of height and space in the bathroom."

    Perhaps the toilet could be made into a shower room and the toilet out into the other room and take the bath out. Just a suggestion. Otherwise a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2023

  • "Very disappointed."

    A whole week with no hot water, despite electrician coming once and plumber twice. Both told us problems at the house are ongoing. The dishwasher did not work, plumber said the owner had already been told that and he was asked to disconnect it. Roof in main bedroom leaked water close to the bed when it rained heavily, owner told me this could not happen but I sent you a photo of the buckled paint on the ceiling. We were offered a full refund if we went home after 3 days but we live 7 hours away and were not going home from Suffolk. Also offered alternative accommodation in other places but none suitable. Downstairs in cottage dated but pleasant but much work needs doing before someone else stays here.

    Thank you for your comments. We can confirm there was hot water on your arrival, the plumber attended to this and fixed this for you and you had hot water at the end of your stay. A note was also left asking you to call the plumber if you had any further issues. None of the problems reported were present prior to the water company working in the area. We have tried to contact the water company several times by email following the work done to the lake. We also recall you reported to us that the plumber said there were major problems with the tank, so we contacted the plumber immediately, and they clarified that there was no problem with it whatsoever. We were told the dishwasher was in working order and is classed as safe; it may have stopped working temporarily due to the limited hot water supply whilst this was an issue. The roof leaked due to storm damage in the winter which may explain the staining on the ceiling, however everything has been replastered and is dry to the touch. We and Sykes did our very best to assist you, both with resolving the issues and with finding alternative accommodation at short notice, even offering a refund, however these offers were declined and you chose to stay at the property. We apologise that you were unhappy with your experience and thank you again for letting us know your thoughts. Property Owner

    Reviewed by YvonneJul 2023

  • "Cottage needs complete updating."

    Without hot water for two and a half days. The floor upstairs is extremely squeaky, and wakes others up when using the toilet at night. Need to keep refilling the upstairs sink as the plug doesn't work and the water drains away.

    Thank you for your comments. As I explained to you the Water company had done some major works in the area which when the supply was turned on again pressure and the air got into the pipes causing the water heater fault. Both the electrician and the plumber who worked very hard and turned out at short notice I consider this excellent service and you were offered other accommodation. Squeaky floor boards typical of an old property and various trades people have advised nothing can be done to correct it. The taps and plug on the sink are modern with the orginal plug remaining. Any other updating will done done with care as not to destory the character of the cottage which was not orginally built with human habitation in mind. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarbaraJul 2023

  • "A quaint old property in a very pretty village well located for Aldeburgh and the surrounding area."

    Pretty small garden lovely for meals.Literally opposite there was is the Friston Chequers pub which provides fantastic food and is the centre of village life well recommended Generally the location is quiet apart from farm traffic which unfortunately seemed to passing at all time of the day and night but this is probably due to the time of year The property is quirky and the bathroom and kitchen facilities are basic but well maintained. However access to the bath itself is very restricted due to the sloping ceiling and would not suit all folks Overall a lovely property in a great location

    Thank you for your kind comments You are correct thelocal farms are all very busy due to the time of year. I understand that the bath is not ideal but taken advise from traders who were unable to suggest any solution. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ThomasJun 2023

  • "Just returned home from our holiday at this perfect cottage, the surrounds are lovely, with gorgeous walks n lovely friendly locals n village pub."

    Would highly recommend, especially if you have fur babies with you. It was total peace n quiet, apart tractor. We may well return in the autumn/winter so we can light the gorgeous log burner. The owner was there to meet us, n very friendly indeed. Gave us tips on dog walks ect. Thankyou for a perfect holiday.

    It was nice to meet you I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay, your dogs are delightful. Hope you do manage a return visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolynJun 2023

Show more


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, basin, heated towel rail and separate cloakroom with WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Sunroom
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, kettle, toaster
  • TV, WiFi
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Enclosed rear gravelled courtyard with furniture and front enclosed garden with bench
  • Pet-friendly
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Sloping ceilings in bathroom and single bedroom make limited head space

The property

Snape 1.7 miles.

A charming little cottage settled into the hamlet of Friston, near Snape, The Forge was originally the village forge and is home to many historic features, making it a great hideaway for a couple or family of three on the edge of Suffolk Coast and Heaths Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Park off-road and unpack into a traditional cottage with historic features including roof beams and exposed brickwork throughout, adding character.

Within the property you will find an amply fitted kitchen ideal for cooking up a storm, and a dining area, as well as a sitting room with a TV, ideal for a film night, and a sunroom opening up onto the courtyard, great for alfresco dining, via patio doors and allowing in the countryside air.

Take a soak in the bath before settling down into either a single or a double bedroom.

Friston is a lovely little hamlet with its own local pub within walking distance of the property.

For more amenities and a selection of pubs, head over to the lovely village of Snape, where there is a convenience store and several pubs, as well as beautiful walks through Snape Maltings.

From here, visit the lovely seaside town of Aldeburgh, where there is a beautiful pebble beach, a golf club, and several eateries, or further from the property there are walks through Orfordness Beacon, the amazing Framlingham Castle and idyllic birdwatching spots at RSPB Minsmere.

Explore the coast and countryside of Suffolk with a stay at 1 Forge Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Tunstall 3 miles; Saxmundham 4 miles; Aldeburgh 5 miles; Woodbridge 10 miles.

The attractive village of Snape is located on the River Alde in the heart of the Suffolk Heritage Coast. Snape is home to a village store and three pubs, all of which offer excellent locally-sourced food. Just outside the village is Snape Maltings a popular destination on the Suffolk Coast and home to a selection of gift shops and independent stores offering a diverse selection of foods, art and crafts. It also boasts a cafe, tea room and pub and is home to The Snape Maltings Concert Hall, the base for Aldeburgh Music whose festival was founded by Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears in 1948. Just 10 miles from Snape is the market town of Woodbridge which has a wide selection of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. The area is a haven for wildlife and there are a number of popular footpaths from Snape including the Sailors’ Path which follows the line of the river to the popular coastal town of Aldeburgh through ancient woodland and heathland. A beautiful and peaceful area that will appeal to holidaymakers all year round.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas