In association with
Sykes Cottages
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 36 View Image Gallery
  • Bay Cosy - Kent & Sussex - 1007578 - photo 1

Bay Cosy

(Ref. 1007578)

Pevensey Bay, Sussex Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cosy (12)
  • stay (11)
  • bay (11)
  • lovely (11)
  • property (10)
  • bed (10)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "When we walked into the property, we were surprised at how empty and sparse it looked."

    The considerably large conservatory lacked any comfortable chairs for the three of us and the living area had no table lamps or rugs to enhance the 'cosy' feel that was advertised. The kitchen light was so dim that we could hardly see to cook in the evenings and there was no wall fitting for the bathroom shower. The beading on the wall of the ensuite was falling off and needed repairing and there was no toilet roll holder in either ensuite or bathroom. On the plus side, we appreciated the complimentary bottle of wine, the throws and cushions and the condiments that had been left in the kitchen cupboard. The central heating was efficient and the beds were moderately comfortable but we would have preferred that the bedding had been ironed and not left creased after having been washed. The cost of our two night stay was far more expensive than the accomodation was worth which is why we would not readily recommend it.

    Reviewed by Gill3.1Apr 2024

  • "We stayed here for 16 nights and was ideal."

    The location is great, the beach just a few mins walk, a little convenience shop a few mins away too. The main Pevensey high street and Eastbourne town close by as well. The property was very clean and tidy throughout, everything was provided for a home from home. The bedroom sizes were great, nice quiet area. Parking for three normal sized cars too. The owners were great to respond to any questions, always on hand to help, but never intrusive. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Daniel5.0Feb 2024

  • "Another great week at Bay Cosy."

    Hope to see you next year..

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Oct 2023

  • "There are a few problems with Bay Cosy ( things we have never had before through Sykes holiday lets)."

    On arrival the place didn't feel fresh and clean, the kitchen was poorly equipped i.e. no scissors only one tea spoon and the cutlery left a lot to be desired so much so we went out and bought a set of cutlery some scissors and a baking tray. The sink waste seemed to empty into the washing machine and the smell was bad, Katy did call in and emptied the washing machine and afterwards we emptied daily ---- not really what you want on a holiday. All in all we won't be back at Cosy Bay Mervyn and Susan

    Reviewed by Susan1.9Sep 2023

  • "Negatives: only one teaspoon, no washing up mop or washing powder, only one key to the property, unable to use the conservatory due to lack of furniture, no information leaflets to the area, rather dusty."

    Positives: very unpretentious and laid back, good parking, very accessible to Eastbourne.

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Sep 2023

  • "It was generally OK."

    However we have threeI comments which are: 1.There was nowhere to hang coats which is a problem when it rained. 2.The en-suite shower was extremely difficult to operate.We were unable to regulate the temperature.Kate came to show us but my wife was still unable to turn the dial.It was too hot to stand under for more than a minute. 3.A small stepladder would have helped as the top shelves in 2 cupboards were to high to access.

    Reviewed by John3.4Jun 2023

  • "We had a great holiday in this very comfortable cottage which has a lovely feeling and is two minutes from the beach and within easy reach to all the attractions in Sussex."

    Reviewed by Sybil5.0Apr 2023

  • "When we arrived the place was the most untidiest in the road, when we went inside it was very cold and unwelcoming we called the manager as we could not work out how to use the WiFi control heating she arrived from the garage, showed us how to use it but it went off within two hours."

    the bed linen was not ironed and very untidy, and felt damp. There was no carpeting though out so draughty though gaps in boards.the whole place was very dark and gloomy due to high fencing just outside the conservatory outlook at all to any garden.we phoned the manager twice about the heating but she didn’t reply. there was no door to on suit so no privacy from the this could be why the bed felt damp. since we have been home we have both been suffering with coughs and colds.the best part of our stay at bay cosy was locking the front door getting into the car and going home on the Wednesday

    Reviewed by John2.8Apr 2023

  • "General appearance of building in need of attention /plus side on site parking ..."

    General appearance of building in need of attention /plus side on site parking and in a good location only 2 prs of curtains (supplied in the 2 bedrooms )no feeling of "cosiness" no curtain or blind in front facing shower room remainders of previous guests food left in freezer and cupboard no door on utility to keep warmth in skylight in bedroom badly cracked

    Reviewed by Wendy1.9Mar 2023

  • "Basic facilities not provided--- bin bags, broom, mop & bucket, washing up liquid , washing up brush/sponge/cloth, roasting dish, potato masher-- door at end of corridor leading from kitchen to conservatory missing allowing all heat to disappear (my wife spent most of her stay wearing an overcoat)-- Torch needed to see cooker settings as lighting inadequate-- property detail states fuel is provided."


    I am sorry that you did not have the stay you expected, these comments have not been brought to our attention before so we are shocked to hear of your experience. we provide the items you are referring to but perhaps you are referring to how many of each item are provided and should you have required more I wish you had contacted us to see what we can do, we operate a self-catering accommodation so many items we provide are over and above the normal expectation. I am confused at your comments in respect of the heating as we provide complimentary logs for the log burner but it is not the main source of heating and there is full working central heating in the property so had you been cold I wish again you would have contacted us. All evidence was provided with regards to the smoke in the property as I’m sure you’re aware there is a distinct difference between cigar smoke and smoke from the log burner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan1.3Jan 2023

  • "We had a lovely time at Bay Cosy."

    Really lovely feel and true to its name, super cosy with comfy beds, blankets to snuggle up in and fuel for the log burner. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating with great communication. A real home from home and we will definitely visit again.

    Thank you Claire for all your positive acknowledgments about the property. Katee and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to your return Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Dec 2022

  • "Like last year we enjoyed our stay at Bay Cosy The owners had made improvements which made our stay even more comfortable."

    The welcome pack was exceptional. Look forward to staying again next year.

    Katee and I was so thrilled you came back, with your family, and enjoyed your stay. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the improvements made in the year. Thank you kindly for your great review We both looking forward to your visit next year Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Oct 2022

  • "What a lovely place to stay in Pevensey Bay."

    Just a minutes walk to the beach. As a previous guest had said very unassuming from the outside but the inside was light, airy and spacious. Lovely wood burner (which we only used once as the weather was kind to us), lovely soft furnishings which made for a comfortable and cosy stay. We were visiting family and this place was ideal. Will definitely be back! Thank you Katee and Pauline

    Thank you so much for your review. Katee and I are thrilled you and your party had a comfortable stay, and are already looking forward to your return Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice4.7Oct 2022

  • "Hidden gem."

    So much nicer and bigger than the pictures. Welcome basket and thoughtful tea/coffee/milk etc was lovely. Beds were comfy. Could not believe amount of dvds available. Would recommend to anyone.

    Thank you Sandra for your outstanding review and feedback. Katee and I appreciate your acknowledgements of extras we leave our guests for their ease and comfort. We also appreciate you have recommended Bay Cosy to others. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Oct 2022

  • "The holiday let was clean, cosy and spacious but the outside appearance is disappointing."

    The exterior is quite tatty which does not give a good impression on arrival. The outside areas and driveway needed tidying.The big doors on the conservatory do not close properly, kitchen doors need realigning, tin opener did not work. No bedside lamp on one side of the double bed in the main bedroom. The owner had provided a lovely welcome pack and the courtesy items and toiletries were much appreciated as some owners do not even provide salt and pepper! Although we didn’t use them, it was nice to see the picnic items and beach chairs available. There were no instructions for use of the heating controls or TV … unless we missed them. There was a Google device and a speaker in the bedroom but we did not know how to connect. The location is good and it was lovely being so close to the sea for dog walks. The local kiosk is great for any essentials needed. Sovereign Marina is a short drive away with ASDA and more retail outlets nearby.

    Thank you for your review and feedback. At the time of your stay we had many maple leaves dropping and blowing around the property. Our gardener does their best to collect all the fall leaves on a weekly basis. We were sorry to hear you missed some of the instructions in the house folder. We advise guests to informed us of any broken faulty and missing items in the house, during their stay. This allows us the opportunity to swiftly resolve them. Thank you kindly, for acknowledging the property was clean, spacious, our welcome pack and the extras, we provide. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise4.4Oct 2022

  • "Bay Cosy had everything we needed for our week away in East Sussex."

    The welcome pack was very much appreciated. Bay Cosy is ideally located for exploring this historic part of the country.

    Thank you kindly for your review, katee and I very much appreciate it. We hope you will come back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Sep 2022

  • "The location is excellent for getting around or enjoying Pevensey beach which is a very short walk away."

    The welcome pack was the best we've ever had and we've had a few over many years of self catering holidays. The property was comfortable with plenty of nice homely touches. The only downside was that there is no way of shutting out the light in the bedroom with the skylight and with dawn being very early and the sun beating down this became a bit of a problem. The Conservatory was lovely but too hot during warm weather. The owners did offer us a fan if we had wanted it but we had taken our own. Overall a lovely place to stay.

    Thank you Linda for your review and feedback. We have taken on your points and had the bedroom sky light window tinted. We have a large fan that now lives in the conservatory to help with the heat. Katee and I very much appreciated your acknowledgement of a comfy homely feel about the property Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Aug 2022

  • "Had a good holiday."

    Not owners fault but conservatory end was very hot could not sit in that part of house because of the very unusual weather. Some sort of curtain or blind or maybe a fan would help.. Sink in bathroom is very slow to empty. All in all no other complaints. Good area for visits to Eastbourne , Bexhill , and gardens at Herstmonceux and Batemans Cottage .

    Thank you so much for your feedback and I am thrilled you had a great holiday. I appreciate the recent heatwave has made everything a bit warrmer than usual and I do have a fan available on request, but I'll make sure to leave this in the conservatory this summer for guest comfort. The sink has been checked and although a slow drainer, it is in working order. Thank you also for acknowledging the cleanliness and comfort with the great scores, much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George3.8Jul 2022

  • "This property is simply wonderful, the layout is fantastic, beautifully decorated for inspiration for 'yes we are on holiday', it basically ticked every box, we had everything we needed including, it being a wonderful art deco bungalow with a history of the Beachlands development, with a 2 minute walk to the beach and a very happy dog."

    This was a long overdue holiday and from morning to late night beach walks, the weather being perfect, we all had a well-deserved and relaxing holiday. Its location for access to Pevensey Castle, Beachy Head and Eastbourne Pier was perfect. The local shops as well as ASDA a 5 minute drive away. The hosts of this property really were welcoming, and we would recommend this property. It is a gem 10/10 and thank you.

    We are thrilled you had a lovely time. Thank you also for acknowledging the cleanliness, comfort and facilities in your top scores, much appreciated as we do take great pride in the property and doing everything we can for guest comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Bay Cosy."

    Would definitely go back and have recommended it to friends.

    Jennifer thank you kindly, for your review, the great cleanliness and comfort scores and for recommending us, we look forward to welcoming your friends as well. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer3.8Mar 2022

  • "It was a lovely place to stay with good space and great locations"

    Miles thank you for your review. We’re so happy you loved your experience here, and would love you to come to back to visit again soon. Thank you for the top scores for cleanliness, facilities, comfort etc, we do everything we can to make a guest's stay enjoyable. We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Miles4.7Feb 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay and would like to come again."

    Easy walk to the sea. It is around a mile from the village centre but there is a lovely local shop. The house is spacious and the wood burning stove made it live up to its name. Friendly hosts.

    Janet, thank you for the awesome review! We work hard to meet our guests expectations, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon. We would love to have you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.1Nov 2021

  • "The Hosts thought of everything, as we were arriving late, they put lights on in the bungalow."

    They left a bottle of wine and treats for the dog. There was also various coffees, and condiments left for us. Beautiful bungalow, very comfortable and cosy. Would definitely go back.

    Thank you for your booking and your positive feedback We loved having you and look forward to you visiting, Bay Cosy, again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joy5.0Nov 2021



    Thanks for your comments, all beds have been replaced since your stay. The property also has a TV aerial for Freeview channels and a Roku player with Netflix, iplayer and Sky apps, although guests do need to use their own account log in details for the apps. There is also a DVD player with a good selection of family friendly films. The lounge seating has now been changed and upgraded and there is an L shaped sofa with a pouffe and also a chaise lounge. The kitchen utensils have also been replaced and upgraded. Thank you for the suggestions. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte1.9Oct 2021

  • "The property was spacious and comfortable."

    The Welcome pack on arrival was very thoughtful. Good location for places to visit and very close to the beach. We had a lovely week and would happily stay at Bay Cosy again if visiting the same area.

    Thank you for your booking and positive feedback. Bay Cosy looks forward to you booking with us again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Aug 2021

  • "The property is very spacious and has all the facilities we required."

    The only few things were that 2 windows could not be opened and the glasses, cutlery, plates..didn't seem to have been very well cleaned. We had (as we always do) to clean everything again.But everything else was very good: proximity to the beach, quiet area, We would not hesitate to come back again.

    Thanks for your feedback. We have checked the windows and have provided the relevant keys now. The cutlery has also been checked again. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nathalie4.1Jul 2021

  • "Lovely space, owner couldn't be more helpful, very accommodating."

    Will definitely rebook. Loved Pevensey Bay, didn't want to come home.

    Many thanks for choosing us to book with. We are excited receiving your review and positive feedback. We have since upgraded much of the property. We think you will be amazed at what have achieved over this summer. We can’t wait to see you all again Thank you for being great guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Jul 2021

  • "Lovely location, the cottage was clean."

    There was a little welcome pack, we did notice a strange smell in the master bedroom at night. Could do with a fish slice and a pair of tongs.

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We have investigated the strange smell and removed it swiftly. We are really sorry we never knew at the time of your stay. Bay Cosy would love to see you again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vanessa4.1Jun 2021

  • "Fantastic location of the property, very close to the beach & a pleasant walk into the village."

    A few small points regarding the property, sleeps 5 but not enough furniture to seat 5 in the evening or on the patio, we used our beach chairs, could not find a bottle opener

    Reviewed by Richard3.4May 2021

  • "Getting to bay cozy was easy, under 2 hours from north Hertfordshire on Bank Holiday weekend!"

    Can't be bad. We had a nice welcome text message that let us in slightly early. 2 minutes walk to see the sea. Bay cozy is very spacious and has every you need for a break away.

    Bay Cosy enjoyed having such great guests to stay. We have made more upgrades in the season and look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Thank you for your booking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0May 2021

  • "We had the house for Christmas and it was perfect for this."

    The house was warm and cosy with lots of space. Owners were helpful and well accommodating. Would definitely recommend this property.

    Thank you for your excellent feedback. We were tickled pink to hear Bay Cosy played a roll in a perfect Christmas for you all. Thank you kindly for your booking, we hope to welcome you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2020

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, the en suite is separated from the bedroom by a shower curtain
  • 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, handheld shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Conservatory with dining seating
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer
  • Washing machine and clothes airer
  • WiFi and TV with Freeview channels and Roku box
  • Roku box also has Netflix, iplayer and Sky apps (guests need to use their own account to log in)
  • DVD player with a selection of family friendly films
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Enclosed back garden with patio featuring barbecue and outdoor dining area
  • One well-behaved dog welcome at a charge of £25; there is a dog towel and blanket plus dog treats at the property
  • Please note dogs cannot be left unattended at the property at any time during your stay
  • Sorry, the property cannot accommodate cats
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.9 miles
  • Note: The charging of electric cars is not permissible at the property
  • Note, the conservatory is at a slightly lower level than the lounge and pantry, please take care at the thresholds
  • Note:Property has central heating please do not bring own additional heaters

The property

Sitting at the centre of excitement within the picturesque village of Pevensey Bay, is this idyllic ground-floor cottage.

Perfectly perched on the South England coastline, just a stone's throw away from the sands of Pevensey Bay Beach, Bay Cosy offers a beautiful base from which to enjoy the true delights that East Sussex has to offer.

Be welcomed into this homely abode and discover a quaint yet well-equipped kitchen and a handy utility room, hosting all the necessary appliances to whip up some delicious home-cooked meals throughout your stay.

Cross the attractive wood floors as you retire to the snug with an enthralling novel, or snuggle close to your loved ones in the inviting sitting room as you flick on the television and watch flames flicker within the traditional woodburning stove.

Gather together in the bright and airy conservatory where you can delight in a fabulous feast at the spacious dining table, before heading outside to the enclosed back garden for drinks out on the patio.

Back inside, a well-appointed double bedroom can be found benefitting from an en-suite shower room, whilst a further double and a single are served by the tranquil and contemporary family bathroom.

When you can just about tear yourself away from this humble home-from-home, be sure to make the most of your seaside setting with afternoons spent basking in the sunshine on Pevensey Bay Beach before grabbing a tasty bite to eat in one of the many local cafés.

Learn of the local history at the exciting Pevensey Court House Museum and Goal and explore the Saxon ruins of Pevensey Castle, or catch the train over to Eastbourne where you will find a vibrant pier and an abundance of attractions such as the Eastbourne Redoubt and Shinewater Park.

Spot exotic creatures at Drusillas Park or take the children to the Eastbourne Miniature Steam Railway, providing fun for the whole family.

Uncover the underground tunnels of Smugglers Adventure in the bustling town of Hastings or take a breath-taking hike along the imposing clifftops of the National Trust owned Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters, for unrivalled views of the English Channel.

With so much adventure right on your doorstep, you're sure to make incredible memories on a holiday to Bay Cosy.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Pevensey 1 mile; Eastbourne 4.4 miles; Bexhill 7.7 miles; Hastings 12.6 miles

Pevensey Bay is a picture-perfect seaside resort, resting peacefully on the vast South England Coastline. Hosting a large selection of pubs and restaurants, as well as a well-stocked convenience store selling all the essentials, this idyllic community offers a fantastic base from which to explore Sussex. Lying just a stone's throw away from a beautiful shingle beach, there is so much for visitors to see and do whilst in the area. The nearby village of Pevensey is home to a handy train station, connecting you to some of the most popular destinations in the area such as Eastbourne and Hastings. The village is also filled with exciting local landmarks such as the 16th century ruins of Pevensey Castle and the Pevensey Court House Museum & Gaol. Embark on a breath-taking hike across the imposing clifftops of the South England along the South Downs Way and discover the awe-inspiring National trust owned Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters. Further inland, just a pleasant drive away, Robertsbridge and Tenterden offer exhilarating cycle routes along the off-beaten tracks of the High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. A magnificent setting for a fun-filled escape to the coast.

Please note this property cannot accept more than one well behaved dog. Regrettably cats cannot be accepted.
Please Note: The charging of electric cars is not permissible at the property.
Note, the conservatory is at a slightly lower level than the lounge and pantry, please take care at the thresholds.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas