Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • The Fisherman's Rest - Kent & Sussex - 943185 - photo 1
close

The Fisherman's Rest

(Ref. 943185)

Hastings, Sussex Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (32)
  • old (18)
  • town (17)
  • location (17)
  • stay (15)
  • great (15)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "Authentic old cottage that has been tastefully decorated and well equipped."

    The welcome goods were a nice touch. Highly recommended, but would echo the owner's comments concerning narrow and steep staircases. So for anybody with mobility problems this may cause difficulties, particularly as there are 10 steps from Tackleway down to the cottage. Otherwise a great and cosy place to stay in a central old town location where the owners have taken great care to ensure a comfortable stay for their guests.

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2024

  • "Delightful quant fisherman’s cottage ,smaller than we anticipated but adequate for two people, although sleeps four the very top bedroom very warm and with only one bathroom could make it slightly challenging ."

    The cottage was in a great position to visit and walk around the old town however beware a steep narrow road to drive but not an issue you can unload outside the property quite comfortably . The cottage had all the facilities you need excluding a dishwasher if washing upsets your routine !! Parking was a slight issue for us the two car parks which are very close a 5 min walk two car parks the Rock -a-nore on the sea front or the Bourne car park a bit cheaper but smaller ,,our issue we could not pay for a weekly car park ticket the car park machines only allow 24 hour ,the Hastings council site impossible to navigate and purchase a ticket !! The info on the cottage book states you can purchase a week pass from tourist info centre the Hastings tourist info centre does not exist it closed down even though the town signs show it on all there info but definitely closed so we gave up my advice would be ring Hastings council help line but that was not good for us as we were there over a bank holiday weekend the phone line was closed until the Tuesday so good for us. We did enjoy our visit the accommodation was very good and clean tidy but be prepared its quirky quaint full of character small uneven floor boards and wood panel walls very narrow stairs but delightful if you like character , great location but anyone with mobility issues not ideal as up steep hill lots of steps but that’s it’s atmospheric and magic if you like that feel .

    Reviewed by Dean4.7May 2024

  • "Lovely property in the old town."

    It was very quiet at night and the beds comfortable. The property has been well thought out for the amount of available space. The kids appreciated the TV in the attic bedroom to plug in their console. There was a generous supply of basics like loo roll and kitchen essentials. The stairs are steep and narrow and may not suit elderly guests or those with mobility issues. Top marks to the owners for sorting out a minor issue almost immediately.

    Reviewed by James4.4Apr 2024

  • "This place is in desperate need of TLC!"

    Upon arrival the house looks nice from the outside, when you open the frontdoor you bump into the couch and it won't open far, so getting in the luggage is difficult. The place was even smaller than I imagined from the pictures. There was no starterspakket in the woodburner. We had to get it ourselves. The kitchen was ok, just 1 kitcheltowel, not enough for a week. The space where the fridge and washingmachine are has no light, and was full of spiderwebs. Of course its an old house, but these were not recent. The fridge had mould on the outside. To my opinion, the house was not so clean. The worst was the mould on the wood of the windows, in the bedroom and bedrooms. There was even some moss! How can you rent a place like this? All the woodwork had flaking paint. The beds on the topfloor: you could feel the springs. Really bad to sleep on. And, the owners can't do anything about this: but the neighbours are smoking weed -a lot-! And the smell is very much present in the house. Just a heads up for future renters. Parking is difficult too. All day free parking 6-8 minutes away? For 4 hours only! You have to walk min. 15 minutes up north hill to get free parking. Really disappointed in this place, I had it on my short-list for a while. Sorry I rented it.

    Hi Barbara, whilst we appreciate your feedback, we are extremely disappointed that you did not contact us during your stay as we are only a few minutes away and we could have resolved most of your issues there and then. The vast majority of our feedback is extremely positive and people tend to like the quaintness and charm of this cosy cottage. In response to your specific comments: 1) The property is an 19th century fisherman’s cottage and is, as described in the advert, small with steep stairs and uneven floors. 2) Whilst we have no obligation to do so, we normally supply logs for guests to use for a small donation. There is normally kindling available but in this case, we apologise for the omission. However, we could have supplied you some if you had contacted us. 3) The area with the washing machine and fridge is effectively an outdoor lean to. We have utilised this space as best we can to provide more space in the kitchen. We will ensure our housekeepers pay special attention to the cobwebs. 4) Again, if the house was not cleaned to your standards you could have contacted us there and then and we could have addressed you issues. 5) We have had issues with condensation on the internal windows. As a Grade 2 listed building we have to maintain the single glazed windows. We have these on a decoration schedule for the spring. 6) We tend to get good feedback for the comfort of the beds, so we will have a look at the two upstairs beds to see if there are any specific issues arising. 7) Parking is as described on the advert. It should be noted that there is free on-road parking at the bottom of Harold Road which is 6 mins walk for me if you come up to Tackleway through the churchyard. I hope this explains everything and that you find what you want with your next rental. With very best wishes Simon and Lin Greenfield Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara1.6Dec 2023

  • "Very comfortable, well equipped holiday cottage."

    Clean. Well heated . Open fireplace easy to use. Highly recommended. Steep stairs so unsuitable for people with mobility issues.

    Reviewed by Alta5.0Dec 2023

  • "The Fisherman's Rest was a great cottage."

    I treated a friend on her first visit to UK and she just couldn't stop mentioning this is how she pictured a perfect seaside cottage. It was in a very convenient location to shops, restaurants and take aways and a very doable walk to the train station. We could have done with another week to explore Hastings and all the surrounding areas but we still did loads in our one week stay. I would definitely stay at The Fisherman's Rest cottage again if ever I have the opportunity to revisit Hastings. Thanks so much,

    Reviewed by Barb5.0Nov 2023

  • "Nice cottage but difficult to find in the dark and parking was expensive."

    There was a nasty smell inside when we arrived but I got a scented candle and it helped. I also bought some matches to light the fire which was fabulous. Overall we had a lovely stay and Hastings was wonderful. Thank you

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Nov 2023

  • "Really lovely holiday cottage in a great location."

    Lots to do and see nearby. The Fisherman's Rest is cosy and comfortable and has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Given that there is no parking outside the property, we purchased a weekly, season ticket, parking permit from the council online in advance of our visit, which enabled us to park 5 mins away in Rock-a-Nore car park all week. This was definitely more cost effective than paying for parking day by day.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Sep 2023

  • "It was great!"

    Such a nice house! If you like old houses and short ways to Old Town Hastings and to sea - this is a really cool place. There are really steep stairs in the house, just as described in the other reviews. It is a small house but so cozy! Note for German visitors: the double bed in the bedroom is quite small and has only one common blanket; this is common there, but was unusual for us

    Reviewed by David4.7Jul 2023

  • "Garden was smaller than anticipated , but thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the cottage"

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7May 2023

  • "Old fashioned charm blended well with modern day facilities."

    The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. The location was great (as long as steep hills are not a problem), being less than 5 minutes walk to the Old Town shops, pubs and restaurants as well as the coastal cliffs and the seafront.

    Reviewed by Nicholas James5.0May 2023

  • "What an absolute joy to have stayed here."

    Such a lot of history in the property, and every facility we required. Would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

    Thank you very much . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeremy5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very good, really enjoyed the cottage."

    Location was spot on, just as it said on the tin. Communication from the owners and wine and crisps a very nice touch. Milk in the fridge and tea bags. Could not have wished for more. Thank you. John and Wendy.

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely warm cosy cottage."

    The ideal place to come back to after a day out. Great situation in old town on edge of country park. No parking except to unload. But we didn’t find it a problem. We obtained a virtual weekly parking ticket online from the council which allowed parking in ant of their car parks. Really good pub - The Crown about 3 mins walk! Have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Feb 2023

  • "Firstly, there was a feeling of great warmth and welcome as soon as we arrived and it was apparent that a lot of care had been put into put making the cottage feel homely."

    All the little details and touches made us smile. It was lovely that plenty of toilet paper and toiletries were provided in the bathroom, should they be required. The towels and linen were luxurious. The cottage was so cleverly decorated, and we loved the carefully chosen décor, mixing the traditional with the modern. The bedrooms and lounge were very comfortable and made additionally cosy with the books, games, candles and blankets. We also enjoyed the little patio at the back, with the nice table and comfortable chairs. The location was great, where we could easily get to the town, beach, pubs, and restaurants as well as galleries and museums. We will definitely recommend your holiday cottage to our friends and family. We also found the information sheet you attached very helpful. Hopefully, we’ll be coming to Hastings again soon and will definitely consider renting your cottage again.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great cottage, great location and a great holiday."

    Parking information: 24 hour Parking is now £9.50 Maximum stay in the Bourne car park is 2 hours (?) however with a permit you can stay longer. Weekly permit is now £35. Not obtainable form Tourist Information near the Hastings Station. Only Council Offices on seafront. I parked my car in Rock a Nore car park and this was fine with a permit. Almost impossible to park unrestricted else where.

    We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the feedback. Re the parking, we will ensure those details are updated ASAP. Simon and Lin. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Apr 2022

  • "Brilliant cottage, furnished with thought and flair."

    Great welcome pack ie wine! Good to be in touch with you AND the owners. We were fine with the parking but some people might not want the extra hassle of unloading/taking cases down steps to cottage. Maybe the 2 flights of steep stairs inside the cottage should be stressed a bit more. We're 69 and 73 and managed fine but some people might not. We just enjoyed the sense of history in the house and the brilliant location.

    Reviewed by Pamela4.7Mar 2022

  • "We had a lovely week and totally fell for the many charms of Hastings Old Town."

    The cottage is extremely cosy and warm. Our teen daughters loved the mini arm chair nook in their room. It was a joy to wake up every morning to the sound of sea birds and walk to Judges Bakery for croissants. We joined in Park Run (actually in St Leonards), took part in a Valentines event at the Electric Palace and dined at Boulevard Books and Maggie's (all highly recommended). We also did a long hike to Winchelsea and a shorter one to Alexandra Park. Also loved the Old Town shops, especially the vintage clothes. We came by train and certainly had no need of a car - the little shop at the bottom of the hill kept us in basic groceries along with M&S by the train station. Recommend booking ahead for The Crown which looks lovely but was fully booked for our stay.

    Reviewed by Leonie4.7Feb 2022

  • "A wonderful cosy warm cottage in a perfect location."

    It was very clean, had everything you would need for a weeks holiday, the double bed was very comfortable. The log burner made for a perfect end to the day during our November stay. Would recommend for a family (2 adults 2 children) rather than 2 adult couples as it is cosy. Definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Oct 2021

  • "All description and directions very clear and accurate."

    Clean cottage and welcoming touches. Good contact with the owner.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2021

  • "Parking is about the only thing we found a little awkward."

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jun 2021

  • "Door height to main bedroom very low which we were aware of when booking."

    As hubby is 6ft3 it took 4 bumps of the head before he learned to duck down. It would be ideal if the bedroom door could be changed to be like the bathroom door. This would not take from the quaintness and homely feeling of the property. We loved our stay and appreciated the gift and starter pack when we arrived.

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0Jun 2021

  • "The cottage was excellent; quirky, cosy and old fashioned, but with excellent modern facilities."

    Just a short walk up the (steep!) hill from the old town and the beaches. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Tristan5.0Aug 2020

  • "Absolutely glorious week at The Fisherman’s Rest."

    Couldn’t wish for more in a cottage - regarding style, comfort, facilities and location. From the Dawn Chorus of seagulls to walking back up the hill after cocktails at The Crown, this was a truly memorable break. Bought scallops at the Net Huts, and ate them on the patio with a cold glass of white. And felt perfectly safe and relaxed as we ease out of Lockdown. The English staycation at its best. Thank you Simon and Lin, thank you Hastings! I’ll be back. X

    Reviewed by Hayley4.7Jul 2020

  • "We loved our stay at Fishermans Rest in Hastings."

    Its location in the heart of the old town is perfect and the views from the third floor were great. Our two children loved it. The court yard is ideal to sit out and is very quiet and private. The cottage had everything we needed and we hope to return again in the future.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jul 2020

  • "Owners were very friendly and accommodating - all via email and text."

    Four page info sheet sent before arrival and it was very informative. Happy to recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Ian G5.0Oct 2019

  • "The fisherman's rest was a lovely place to have as a base in Hastings."

    Tastefully fitted out and cosy it was very well equipped in terms of both furnishings and equipment. The owners made contact before we went with a comprehensive information pack about the cottage as well as other practicalities such as parking. The fisherman's rest is ideally located for exploring the old town and buying fresh fish from the numerous stalls by the harbour.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Apr 2019

  • "Fisherman's Rest is a wonderful cottage, well kitted out with lots of thoughtful touches."

    It is quiet, warm and cosy with a lovely wood burning stove, perfect for winter evenings! The location is excellent, nestled on the east hill side of the old town, a short distance from excellent pubs, cafes and restaurants. Just down the road are steps leading down to the beach or up to the coastal cliff-top walk. The owners were really responsive to our requests and on hand for any help or information. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Daren5.0Dec 2018

  • "A problem I have had with lettings via Sykes Cottages in the past consists with the owner being based hundreds of miles from the property and not having a local agent available to help with queries."

    None of this applies to The Fisherman's Rest. Simon Greenfield, the owner, lives locally and made himself available to my wife and myself in order to explain the idiosyncracies of the local television reception and, more importantly, to sort out problems we were having with the heating. Our arrival coincided with the coldest weekend for many months. One of the most abiding memories of the stay consists of being able to walk back, up the hill, from the local pub, The Crown, with vision largely unencumbered by street lighting and thus able to see the stars in a pitch black sky.

    Reviewed by Glenn5.0Oct 2018

  • "Fishermans cottage is a lovely holiday home, very comfortable for 2 people, good location, but if you struggle with steps and hilly streets it might not be for you."

    We really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2018

  • "A very charmoimg character cottage which makes on feel at home immediately."

    Beautifully furnished with many creative and quirky details to boot, and all the appliances and practical facilities in perfect working order. To top it all, a superb view of the West Hill with the sunrise lighting it up very morning. Cottage in perfect location for walks in the olld town, along the fishing harbour, up the East Hill to the country park. A quiet and beautiful part of the old town. I don't think we have ever stayed in a holiday place so beautiful and inviting. The owners had thoughtfully provided a trug with bread, wine, crisps, and butter and milk in the fridge. What a welcoming place!

    Reviewed by Ulrike5.0May 2018

  • "The good cheer of my hosts and the generosity, beauty and precision of all that ..."

    The good cheer of my hosts and the generosity, beauty and precision of all that was provided made Fisherman's Rest an exceptional place to stay,

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Apr 2018

  • "The cottage is lovely- really cosy with everything you need, including an open fire and just a short walk to the sea."

    We will definitely be back ☺☺☺

    Reviewed by Vivien5.0Apr 2018

  • "This is a wonderful cottage."

    Beautifully sited on the very edge of town with a great walk behind and old Hastings before. Generously appointed and well maintained. Loved it. Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Mar 2018

  • "We had a great break at this cottage."

    Lovely place very cosy and perfect for a visit to Hastings. Owners had made sure we had everything to make our stay very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Feb 2018

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at The Fishermans Rest."

    Very beautiful little cottage and well equipped. We loved the cosy feel of it. And the location is perfect for exploring Hastings Old Town. We'll be back for sure!!

    Reviewed by Uffe4.8Jul 2017

  • "The Fishers Rest was enchanting, Full of old worlde charm and just about the right amount of mod."

    cons. The welcome pack was much appreciated. Very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere.

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Jun 2017

  • "Brilliant cottage in a fantastic location."

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Emma4.8Apr 2017

  • "Fisherman's Rest is ideally situated in the old town of Hastings , a short stroll to everywhere you want to be."

    Very well equipped, lovely cottage, quirky and rustic character. Beautifully clean. Nature reserve just out back- in fact spotted a bushy-tailed fox having a stroll on a night. Seagulls are well- behaved too. After a long days travel, Simon picked us up from the station. Thoroughly felt at home. Highly recommended. Will certainly return, good memories. Hastings is well worth the visit

    Reviewed by Christian5.0Mar 2017

  • "This cottage was perfectly situated right in the heart of the old town of Hastings."

    It was cosy and just great for my mother and her friend last week. They both loved it's charming quirky layout ( mum had to be a little careful with the stairs - she's 77!) but overall had a wonderful time. I would thoroughly recommend it in a heartbeat.

    Reviewed by D5.0Feb 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms with TV: 1 x double, 1 x second floor twin
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburner.
  • Gas central heating with woodburner
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, 3 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, radio, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stairgate on request
  • Load/unload outside cottage only
  • Free roadside parking available outside property from 8pm to 9am (not available 9am to 8pm), plus free roadside parking all day between 6 to 8 minutes? walk away
  • Parking in council owned car park approx 4 mins walk away, prices are Ł9.50 for 24 hours * Weekly season tickets for the council car parks are available for Ł35 and can be purchased from the council offices at Muriel Matters House, Breeds Place,TN34 3UY Courtyard patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 mins walk
  • Note: Due to age and period of the property there are some uneven floors, low doorways, sloping ceilings and steep, narrow stairs in the cottage, may not be suitable for those with limited mobility
  • Note: The cottage is accessed from the front or rear via several stone steps
  • Note: Access to the patio is via 6 stone steps.

The property

This fabulous Grade ll listed cottage sits in a prime position right in the heart of Hastings Old Town.

Oozing character both inside and out, this beautiful cottage is one of just a few that has the Hastings Country Park to one side and steps and twittens leading to fishing huts and welcoming pubs serving excellent meals on the other.

Access to this lovely cottage is down stone steps, and is well worth the descent.

Open the door and you will fall in love with The Fisherman's Rest as soon as you step inside.

Warm and welcoming the cosy sitting room has a woodburner and ample comfy seating for everyone to enjoy time together, whatever time of year you holiday on this part of the Sussex coast.

The kitchen is the heart of the home, and here you can prepare fish caught daily and sold from huts on the beach, just a few minutes’ walk from the cottage door.

Gather around the table and enjoy scrumptious meals accompanied with a bottle or two of wine from one of the three wineries that this part of the county can boast of.

On a summer evening why not dine alfresco in the courtyard garden, lit by soft lighting to enhance the air of romance?

After a day exploring this historic and amazing part of Sussex you can climb the stairs and settle down for a well-earned sleep in one of the two charming bedrooms, after a long hot shower.

The quaint, quirky cottage is perfect for a romantic weekend with somebody special in your life, but also has so much to offer a family looking for somewhere central where they can have a traditional, seaside holiday with funfairs and crazy golf just moments away.

Alternatively, perhaps you are someone who's idea of the perfect holiday is eating out in a different restaurant every night of the week, with so many varied cuisines to sample you may have to stay for longer!

Ideally placed, comfortably furnished, with stunning views, this is a holiday home that comes top of the list.

View on map

About the location

HASTINGS

Battle 6 miles; Rye 12 miles.

The large historic town of Hastings offers a great mix of interesting places to visit, and is comprised of three parts, joined by the promenade. On one side is the Old Town, with narrow streets or 'twittens', attractive houses, Shipwreck and Fisherman's museums, wonderful tall black net huts, a fresh fish market, seafood restaurants and cafés. In the middle there is a contemporary shopping centre and on the other side is St Leonards on Sea with its fashionable Norman Road with antique and vintage shops, art galleries, examples of Burton's architecture (of Kew Gardens and London Zoo fame), Marine Court Art Deco flats designed in the shape of the HMS Queen Mary, and the remains of the Amsterdam, which is visible at low tide at Bulverhythe. West Hill in Hastings is home to the Smugglers Adventure and Pelham Beach, and East Hill offers the Hastings Country Park, 660 acres of ancient woodlands, grasslands and heathlands crossing five miles over cliffs and rugged terrain, plus East Hill can also be reached by taking the 'lift', the steepest funicular railway in Britain. Whilst exploring Hastings, visit The Stade and watch fishermen land their catch, plus why not take a trip to Blue Reef Aquarium and the remains of Hastings Castle? Pevensey Castle, dating from the 4th century, and the first Norman Church are twelve miles away. Further afield enjoy the NT properties of Bodiam Castle, Sissinghurst and Scotney Castle, the cinque port of Rye, the abbey at Battle or the beach and dunes at Camber Sands.

View more holiday cottages in Hastings

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas