Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Mountain Hare Apartment - Scottish Highlands - 1019354 - photo 1

Mountain Hare Apartment

(Ref. 1019354)

Aviemore, Northern Highlands & Cairngorms National Park Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (19)
  • location (18)
  • stay (17)
  • great (16)
  • washing (15)
  • all (15)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "This has been our sixth stay at the Mountain Hare since it was opened."

    And there is a reason we are coming back every time. It is clean and well maintained. And the location is simply great and tranquil. The forrest behind the lodges (not on the property grounds) has suffered a bit during last years storms with the paths being blocked by trees. But this seems to have been good for the wildlife, since we did have hares and pheasants come right to the lodges during our stay.

    Reviewed by Burkhard T.4.7Apr 2024

  • "We had a fantastic time, nice clean, and quiet place, Close to all the shops, ski slop and restaurants."

    Just one minus Netflix, did not work. Highly recommended

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have recently been able to upgrade our Internet connection across the whole site which now enables our guests to access streaming services during their stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karolina4.1Feb 2024

  • "Fire needs checking , fixed after reporting but unusable for the first 3 nights."

    Otherwise excellent.

    Thanks so much for your feedback and apologies for the issue with the fire at the start of your stay. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay in Mountain Hare Apartment! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Feb 2024

  • "The lodge needs a washing machine, otherwise very good internet is not great."

    Thanks so much for your feedback. We have recently been able to upgrade our Internet connection for all of our guests. We do note on the listing that the property does not have a washing machine and we are always happy to recommend local laundrettes for our guests to use if required. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Dec 2023

  • "My partner and I stayed a week in the Mountain hare lodge and we thought it was great overall."

    The place was modern, clean and perfectly spacious for 2 people. The living room setup was great in our opinion, The reviews about the living room being boring are absolute waffle. The wifi didn’t work for most of our stay but that was likely down to bad weather and we’ve been compensated for the lack of connection so we didn’t mind at all since there’s a lot to do nearby regardless. We only had 2 issues, the first being the lack of a washing machine. For an area that receives very active visitors for extended stays it seems a strange decision to have a dishwasher instead of a washing machine. The laundrette in town is an option but it’s not ideal, especially if it’s busy or you lack several pounds in loose change.The other is that there only seems to be very hard pillows in the lodge, despite swapping pillows many times my neck was left so sore it felt like I’d just been scooter spotting in Vietnam for the last week. These were both issues we didn’t really have much trouble overlooking with how good everything else was about our stay, i couldn’t think of anything else that was a downside whatsoever. Overall we did actually have a brilliant time for a good price and would come back again soon. Thanks!

    Reviewed by Arran4.7Oct 2023

  • "Nice area/property as expected but not as clean as expected on arrival."

    Dirty saucepans in cupboard. Lack of private garden space made it difficult opening doors etc with a dog due to other dogs running around off lead and children cycling all around the property. Access area used by Osprey tenants so felt on show at all times. No drying room made it awkward with wet clothes. No mop to clean floor.

    Reviewed by Tracy3.4Oct 2023

  • "Thought the cleanliness was adequate but not outstanding."

    Bottle top on gravel near door, rubbish bag left tied to the outside fire railing, flour inside kitchen cupboard. V dirty/ mouldy shower curtain and we felt the floors had been swept/hoovered but we didn't think they had been mopped after previous stay. Washing machine would be more helpful than dishwasher. Pull out bed wasn't comfortable, wouldn't think 2 could sleep on it (advertised as a 4 person, I think 3 person more accurate). Well equipped kitchen. Lovely location. Good comms from Sykes ahead of and after the stay. Friendly staff. Great location. Be wary of ticks though.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.1Aug 2023

  • "No bbq no washing maschine for the omount there should be one as i have a child ..."

    No bbq no washing maschine for the omount there should be one as i have a child and a dog bedroom carpets dirty and old but the rest was clean like the kitchen bathrooms sitting room was a boring place for us didnt enjoy also we had to pay for logs for the wood burner which wasnt nice spent alot verry deadly place we didnt enjoy the area but good for bike riders and water sports and people who are looking for a quite place to sit indoors alot of rats around the doors had to keep doors shut

    Thank you for your feedback, we are really surprised to hear the comments, please be assured we're looking into these. The property is advertised as a remote location and as you have said, it's brilliant for those wanting to relax and access the outdoors, sports and local activities. The property is also advertised as not having a washing machine, however we would have been more than happy to recommend some local laundrettes to use during your stay. We do state in our welcome email that as the site is situated within the Cairngorm National Park, and as the lodges are surrounded by woodland, BBQs are not permitted for the safety of the park and all our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Perihan2.8Jul 2023

  • "Loved our stay, peaceful location for us was perfect but i can imagine for some a bit far to Aviemore town (20 min drive) It had everything in the apartment that you need, we didnt realise an apartment was above us, however we were not aware of them."

    The outdoor shared fire was great we loved that, & we were only ones using it. We inly stayed 3 nights & will definitely be back…. With bikes Shame log burner inside wasnt working due to faulty handle , reported but not fixed while we were there, however this was minor. Dog friendly too

    Reviewed by Dawn4.7Jul 2023

  • "In 2022 we really missed the gardenfurniture!"

    So we dit wrote that in de comments! This vacation there where 2 gardenchairs! Really fantastic! The mountain hare is really fantastic! We like to come next year!! Thank you for all the services!! We had a great vacation!!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely lodge in a quiet location and we had a man enjoyable weeks stay."

    A Few things that could be improved are a mirror in bedroom would be good had to dry hair in hallway, hooks in bathroom would be helpful, sofa has seen better days was covered with blankets and dog hairs and sofa bed element didn’t shut properly, rug in living room also needs replacing. Kitchen is well equipped and although I knew there wasn’t a washing machine it would have been helpful due to outdoor activity element of area. Toilet seat was broken in one of the bathrooms which left us with only one useable toilet, shame this wasn’t sorted before our arrival! A outside table to go with the two chairs would also have been nice. All in all a lovely light and spacious lodge and apart from dog hairs was clean on arrival and would stay again.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7May 2023

  • "Absolutely loved the apartment and the location."

    Walks from the door with our springer was just perfect and we were blessed with decent weather too. Just 1 minor quibble was that the toilet seat in the larger bathroom was broken and had just been left dismantled on the floor. It wasn't a major thing as the second bathroom next to it but there was no note to apologise or info on whether it would be fixed during our wasn't. Would 100% stay here again though.

    Reviewed by Janine4.1May 2023

  • "This has been our fourth stay at Mountain Hare and it is starting to feel like coming home for us."

    Definitely planning our next holiday there.

    Reviewed by Burkhard T.4.4Mar 2023

  • "Beautiful location, good spacious property, good quality furniture, I wish there was a more in depth list of things inside, such as toaster, kettle, microwave, pots and pans, cutlery & etc Very important, there's no internet password in any paperwork in the property, and there was no mobile connection, had to go way out to the road to catch any connection to find email send weeks ago and password was in one of the attachments."

    Not something you want to do in the cold after driving all day. Washing machine would be a great plus, hard not to wash anything for a week! Also mirror in a bedroom, hooks in bathrooms, draining board and recycling bin in the kitchen would benefit this property. Only one bathroom had a toilet brush and there were no usable knifes, only 2 giant blunt ones, but plenty of other cutlery. Overall our stay was great, good TV, decent WiFi for streaming, easy to use heating, loved the log fire! We are looking to come back in the summer

    Reviewed by M4.1Feb 2023

  • "Great place, in the middle of nowhere, one of the Best holiday we had, nice and quiet surronding, with the sounds of nature all over the place."

    The Lodge itself was Well equiped, nice and tidy and very comfy. Definetly one of the places to recommend. Thanks a lot guys!

    Reviewed by Bartosz4.7Feb 2023

  • "The property was very comfortable, immaculately clean and in a beautiful location."

    The wifi was disappointing as not strong enough to enable streaming but when this was raised, an engineer came out within hours. Small irritation was there was no mirror with plug to dry hair etc other than in hallway. Plenty of room to put up mirror in bedroom. Also hooks in bathroom would have been useful. Great place though and I would absolutely rebook.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry about the issue with the WIFI. This is usually in perfect working order however we called an engineer to ask them to attend and help We will look into the other suggeations you had made. Thank you for your lovely comments. We will see you in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iona4.7Nov 2022

  • "This is the third time we have stayed here now and we are always happy."

    The next stay is booked already.

    Thank you for your feedback. We will see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Burkhard T.4.7Sep 2022

  • "Excellent for those who like outdoorsy stuff."

    Good apartment, only couple of issues for us - could have done with a washing machine and also a defective light bulb in the kitchen area, which we notified them of.

    Thank you for your feedback. We taken onboard your comments however we dont advertise the property as having a washing machine. We are on hand to help with all issues during your stay and had you contacted us our team would have tried to assist with the bulb Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Sep 2022

  • "Great location and generally a really well maintained and appointment property."

    We will stay again and I would recommend to family and friends A couple of minor improvements would have a disproportionate benefit. Despite the space the lack of a washing machine is disappointing especially given that most people come for the outdoor activity. The apartment was also not as clean as I would have expected, floors not vacuumed. Probably as the vacuum in the property was awful with little suction - need a new one.

    Reviewed by Dean4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely property in a fantastic location."

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Aug 2022

  • "Very comfortable apartment in stunning surroundings!"

    Lots of room for 2 and very handy having 2 shower rooms, but we hadn't realised that there would be no washing machine. It wasn't listed but had assumed as there was a dishwasher that it was a given there would be a washer, especiallyas this is an area where people come to take part in lots of outdoor activities, requiring kit to be washed between various activities. Didn't ruin the holiday but was a bit of a nuisance having to hand-wash clothes. Lots of lovely walks and cycle rides from the door, and lots of wildlife to see. Loved sitting out on the decked area each morning with our cup of coffee and enjoying the birds, and did have a Mountain Hare actually visit us on a couple of occasions! Will definitely be back :)

    Thanks for your comments. We dont advertise the property has having a washing machine. We are sorry you didnt feel the property was as clean as you would have liked, we are on hand to help with any issues like this during your stay if contacted. We have highlighted the concerns to our changeover team, thank you for letting us know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Jun 2022

  • "The apartement was very good!"

    !! We only missed some gardenfurniture to sit in the sun! The terras was only shadow! The rest was great, the weather was great! We hope till next year!! Stay all healthy!! Greatings from Tonny anf Maria van Duren Thank you for the good service by making and changing the booking in coronatime!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0May 2022

  • "The accommodation was lovely but one of the bathrooms smells awful."

    This improves after running the shower but then returns. There’s a problem with the drain and it needs sorting as its very unpleasant. I was expecting a kingsize bed but on checking the details it says kingsize room which is misleading. Very well equipped, very clean and a lovely place to stay.

    Reviewed by Belinda4.1May 2022

  • "Loved the location and the apartment."

    Equipped to a very high standard, with the interior design well done. Only niggle we had was that we had not realised we shared the outside fire and seating area with the Osprey apartment. It felt a bit weird sitting in our lounge with two strangers sitting outside and able to look directly in at us. It was so cold they didn’t stay long but it made me feel uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Mar 2022

  • "Perfect location for nature lovers, you are surrounded by forests, wonderful woodland walks on the door step."

    Our dog loved the nearby lakes. Close enough to shops. The cottage is very clean , comfortable and well equipped. Very good communication with the property owner. It was a perfect holiday. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Dorota5.0Mar 2022

  • "Excellent place to spend some time in the woods."

    Reviewed by David4.7Mar 2022

  • "The buildings had a general recycling facility but no bins or signage indoors to assist with this."

    There was no signage on where to put ash from the fire. The bed was somewhat smaller than desired. The facilities were advertised as outdoor activity friendly, but there was no way to dry off shoes or boots at the front door, meaning mud was easily tracked in.

    Reviewed by Nathaniel3.1Nov 2021

  • "We have now stayed at three properties."

    All brilliant with their facilities however a few problems if you are not used to the type of heating or induction hobs. Fortunately Mountain Hare had a standard electric oven and hob. The heating eventually came through and we left it on probably higher than was required. Not sure what it would be like in middle of winter however might find out as we hope to comeback in March. Did not use log burner although we have one at home due to a problem with the door not closing properly and sealing up. Despite these minor setbacks hoping to be back early next year.

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Nov 2021

  • "Overall very clean modern apartment in quiet location but still easily accessible to all the local attractions Spacious kitchen with bonus of dishwasher."

    Comfortable seating in living area with sofa bed Excellent responsive heating Plenty of paths to explore in walking distance from front door. Would say that they need to have table/reading lights in living space as very difficult to read with weak overhead lights. Need mirror in bedrom as well Overall would be happy to stay again

    Reviewed by Lesley4.4Oct 2021

  • "There is no bike storage - if you are cycling bring locks or be prepared to store bikes inside."

    As others have said, the appartment is kitted out to be host for lots of people - 2 people do not need a table to seat 16 or 22 wine glasses ...

    Reviewed by Martine4.4Sep 2021

  • "Lodge was beautiful."

    Immaculately clean, very well equipped, stylish decor and nice an cozy. I wish I was still there :-) The location of the lodge was great. Nice forest walks down to the River and beyond. Easy access to amenities at Aviemore too. Would highly recommend and will definitely rebook

    Reviewed by Chad5.0Sep 2021

  • "As usual we really liked the place and had a perfect stay."

    Reviewed by Burkhard T.5.0Sep 2021

  • "Fantastic facility which was immaculate in presentation and fully kitted out with everything you need, apart from a washing machine would would have been benificial."

    Delightful inside fireplace and external fire pit and this particular apartment would be ideal if booked with one or more of the other aparments available on this small site for a large group as the outside firepit area is ideal for larger gatherings along with the 10 person dining table inside. Surprisingly has 2 shower/WC rooms for a single bedroom apartment with a further sofa bed? Great location with Avimore just a few minutes away and lots of outdoor activites in the local area, but we also were able to walk out the front door and pick up walking trails immediately so ideal for us with the dog. Only real downside was the maintained grassed areas around the apartments has been left to overgrow and are in serious need of strimming back. Overall a great experience.

    Reviewed by Piers4.7Aug 2021

  • "The property would benefit from a laundry/drying room in line with the outdoors nature of its setting and proximity to Loch Insh and watersports."

    I would also like to have seen more information about the property in the folder. We could not locate the bike store as advertised and ended up having to keep bikes in the hallway of the property. There was no facility for recycling, just a single bin. The sewage pump failed, meaning that we could not use the toilets or showers for a full day, not ideal with two children. Once the electrician arrived it was fixed within a minute, but had I known it was a recurring problem and I simply needed to go to the fuse box, this could have been resolved much quicker. All in though, a beautiful property and a fantastic stay.

    Reviewed by James4.4Jul 2021

  • "We would be very unlikely to use these Lodges again due the absence of a washing machine/drier."

    These are important for a stay of more than a few days in an area where outdoor activities are the main attraction. Otherwise we would be very happy to book them again as they were excellent, modern, well appointed, very clean, very comfortable and ideally located.

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2021

  • "Very comfortable and clean apartment in a wonderful location."

    We stayed last summer in the upstairs apartment and decided to upgrade to the bigger downstairs one this time as we were bringing our dog. It had everything we could have needed (and more! A bit odd having a one-bed flat with a dining table for 10 and with 18 champagne flutes but better than not having enough!) Great to be able to walk from the front door through the woods down to the river. The dog had a great time exploring and we had a very enjoyable holiday.

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0May 2021

  • "A fantastic space, clean comfortable and in an excellent location."

    It’s set in beautiful pine woods and is remote enough to feel away from it all but close enough to amenities by car or bike. A short walk down the road to Kincraig there is the lovely Old Post Office Cafe and the Reviving Food bakery selling the most amazing sourdough goods from a horse box in their garden. There is a good bike wash area, the outdoor space and fire is great. The shower is powerful, nicely fitted out bathroom and kitchen anda comfy bed. The only downside for us is that there was no washing machine. A few months after booking Mountain Hare apartment, I received an email to state there was no longer a washing machine available. This was a bit of a sticking point as holidays for us means, running and MTB so a washing clothes is always handy.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Oct 2020

  • "A fantastic location for mountain biking and having the wash off area is a fanastic."

    It is the second time we have stayed in the complex and the quality is brilliant. This time we were in Mountain Hare. The shared outside space is a bit strange and the flat is set up for lot lots of people to use it .. assume it if you have friends / relatives in the other lodges but it leaves 2 of you dining at a board room sized table with a dozen chairs! Otherwise all was fab and we will definitely return!

    Reviewed by Martine5.0Oct 2020

  • "Really nice place in a lovely setting."

    Had everything we needed and was meticulously clean. The removal of the washing machine from the listing between booking and arrival was a bit of a bummer. I would advise you look up the place on Maps / Streetviw before you travel, as the directions given make you think it is far closer to Aviemore.

    Reviewed by Burkhard T.5.0Sep 2020

  • "They are in a nice seculded area, close to Aviemore , not too far from amenities, and close to lochs and rivers , with plenty to see and do , even in this current climate of covid ."

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2020

  • "We were delighted with Mountain Hare apartment."

    Spotlessly clean, modern, comfotable accommodation. The setting is perfect, surrounded by woodland with beautiful wild flower garden area and a fabulous outdoor area with fire pit. We were a family of 4 with a dog and the accommodation still felt spacious (as long as 2 are happy to share the sofa bed). The only thing we did miss was a washing machine. It is ideally situated close to the spectacular river and within easy cycing distance to all the local attractions. We hope to be back.

    Reviewed by Frances4.1Aug 2020

  • "The apartment was excellent, very clean and warm."

    Furnishings, crockery etc of a high standard. Great location with plenty of wildlife viewed from the window.In your features section on the website you listed a washing machine but there wasn’t one. It wasn’t a problem but it could be to someone else. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Feb 2020

  • "The apartment was very comfortable and clean."

    The snowy setting made it all the more charming. Excellent walks and drives around the area. Just fabulous. Suggestions (not complaints) WiFi password included in guest handbook Door on log burner is very difficult to open and close

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Feb 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Note: This property is part of a group and can be booked alongside Refs, 1036612, 1018174, 1024773, 1024774 and 1024775, together sleeping 28 guests, with flexible sleeping arrangements for up to 38 including sofa beds.One double bedroom
  • 2 x shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with sofa (sofa bed) and arm chair
  • Woodburning stove
  • Air source heating
  • Oven and Induction hob, microwave, fridge dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • No washing machine in property, local laundrettes available
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Logs for woodburner are not provided , but can be purchased locally
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available upon request
  • Off-road parking
  • Communal terrace with wood burning stove
  • Bike storage
  • Note: Mountain Hare Apartment has accessible ground floor accommodation
  • One well-behaved dog welcome, there is a charge of £25 per dog per holiday
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 1.6 miles, pub within 4.2 miles
  • Please note: The property is in a remote location

The property

Surrounded by the natural beauty of the Scottish Highlands, Mountain Hare Apartment makes a marvellous retreat at any time of the year.

The open-plan living space boasts contemporary delight, where you or your group can relax after a day of rambling in the Cairngorms National Park.

When you’re not making the most of the delicious eateries in the area, a large well-equipped kitchen and spacious dining area allows you to prepare and enjoy your own meals, whether that be a romantic meal for two or a larger party.

On fine evenings a communal terrace provides a great spot for a pre or post-dinner drink, with a wood burning stoves to provide welcoming warmth on cooler evenings.

There is a cosy double bedroom and the apartment can sleep up to four people by using the double sofa bed in the living area.

Two separate shower rooms complete this property.

EPC Rating: Band C

Note: This property is part of a group and can be booked alongside Refs. 1036612, 1018174, 1024773, 1024774 and 1024775, together sleeping 28 guests, with flexible sleeping arrangements for up to 38 including sofa beds.

EPC Rating: Band C

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: HI-70305-F

Feshiebridge Lodges

Exclusive holiday and activity accommodation in the heart of the breathtaking Scottish Highlands – these newly built lodges are the perfect escape for families, couples and groups all year round. Feshiebridge Lodges offer beautifully designed accommodation to be enjoyed by anyone who wants to unwind and explore the spectacular surroundings of the Cairngorm Mountains. Nestled in picturesque forest surroundings, we are pleased to offer four 3-bedroom lodges, a large studio apartment and a spacious 1-bedroom apartment which can double up as a large communal living and dining area for groups. Feshiebridge lies within the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands, the largest national park in the UK with spectacular mountain and forest scenery and a great variety of things to do, from castles and distilleries, to walking trails, family fun and endless outdoor activities all year round. Just a few miles from Feshiebridge is the scenic town of Aviemore, where you will find shops, cafés, bars and local attractions.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Inverness 30 miles.

Situated in the heart of the Scottish Highlands and in the Cairngorms National Park, Aviemore is an ideal holiday location. The area offers good fishing, superb walking in the surrounding hills and woodland, and golfing on the many fine courses in the area. There is also sailing, riding and birdwatching, with rare species to be found including Ospreys and Capercaillie. You will find Aviemore an ideal base for touring the Highlands and nearby Grampians. The landscape is dotted with historic castles and tempting distilleries, while the region is known to millions as the setting for the popular TV series 'Monarch of the Glen'. Enjoy fishing on the majestic River Spey all summer, and winter skiing on the Cairngorms and Lecht ski centres, appealing to thrill-seekers and novices alike. There's a swimming pool and championship golf course, and with a wide choice of restaurants, bars and hotels in the town, many with live entertainment throughout the season, you may find yourself having a "Highland Fling"!

View more holiday cottages in Aviemore

If you are a serving member of the RAF, please call Sykes for your discount to be applied to your booking.

Please email to obtain a discount code prior to calling.

One well-behaved dog welcome, there is a charge of £25 per dog per holiday.