- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Sky TV
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
39 Customer Reviews
"The apartment was beautiful and only 35 min drive from beamish."
Local pub was friendly and welcoming, especially to our pooch. Only downfall was no restaurants or pub food nearby. Takeaways also limited but local butchers was good.
Luxurious property with modern facilities. My wife was very impressed with my choice and loved it. We will be back again.
"This truly was a beautiful place to stay!"
The views, the facilities, the grounds are all so well done. We would definitely stay again.
"This was a beautiful property, the nicest cottage/ lodge we have stayed in over the last few years."
Loved the internal decor which was in keeping with the age and style of the building. Everything provided including kitchen basics such as bin liners, tea towels etc. The spa bath was an excellent addition . We would definitely recommend and stay here again.
"Fantastic stay in a beautiful olde world style (But all new!"
) apartment. Plenty space, comfortable bed, loads of bathrooms, spa bath is a wonderful addition. Stanhope is a lovely village couple of pubs, Indian take away, few small shops all with waking distance. Durham dales Visitor Centre just across the road too.
"The property was very good."
However, our party thought that the outdoor recreational facilities let it down, no decent relaxing chairs etc. The courtyard bench required painting and cleaning. The information stated that there was a "private courtyard", this was not entirely accurate, yes, there was a courtyard, but it was shared with 5 other properties. The tv was problematic, this is a recurring problem when you read the comments book in the appartment. The disabled access is not great, if anyone requires a wheelchair to get around there are 3-4 steps into the property. Once in Woodlands View there is ample space for a wheelchair. Overall the property was well furnished and ample cooking utensils [we never used them as we ate out every night] cutlery and crockery etc.
"This is truly a beautiful property and furnished to a top standard."
The main bed was the comfiest bed we’ve ever slept in. Huge TV, the copper bath was amazing! Everything you need in the kitchen and throughout. Would highly recommend!
"We very much enjoyed our weekend at Woodlands View in Stanhope Castle, absolutely beautiful accommodation."
The locals in the village are so friendly.
"Great property has good facilities and in a fantastic location."
Lots to do and see within walking distance. Fab pub serving great food and other local amenities include chippy, highly recommended and also the butcher. Had issues with the house keeping but hopefully these have been sorted. Would stay again. NB: for future guests, its down to you to contact Stanhope to pay the house keeping and chase on Mon to get it back. It still took 5 days to be reimbursed.
"This was a great place to stay."
The castle grounds are fantastic, the apartment is very comfortable and Stanhope is a cracking town set in beautiful countryside.
"A fantastic property that has everything going for it."
All the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. The location makes it an ideal place to explore the surrounding countryside.
"The accommodation is very attractive, with lots of space."
It's beautifully decorated, although not everything is to our taste. The bed was very comfy although it did dip on both sides around the hip area. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return. However, we did have some niggles: 1. No bread bin, butter dish or toast rack. 2. We've never stayed ANYWHERE (and we've stayed in many, many cottages) where there was NO welcome pack. A few biscuits and a pint of milk surely isn't asking for much. Especially when one of the previous guests mentioned bubbly! 3. The housekeeping bond comes across as rather threatening. We realise that not all guests are responsible but WE ARE and we thought the tone in the "Welcome" notes sounded quite harsh and abrupt. On our first night we discovered hair-line cracks in two wine glasses. How long had they been festering in the back of the cupboard, with guests too scared in case their cost was lopped of the bond we wondered? Anyway, we left a note explaining what we'd found. We've yet to receive our bond back. Time will tell if we end up paying for someone else's mistake.
"Amazing accomadation truly beautiful cannot praise enough will stay again as ..."
Amazing accomadation truly beautiful cannot praise enough will stay again as soon as possible Plenty of places to go and eat Surrounding area is beautiful Many many thanks Kevin and Jill Love
"Ok where to start with what should have been a special getaway break to a luxurious apartment."
Firstly we received a email day before arrival telling us in brief how to use the spa bath, it stated spa won't work until bath is full , first night after arriving we tried the bath, but no matter what level of water we put in it didn't work, then it started to leak out all over the bathroom floor, we tried the emergency number left if any problems, no answer , no reply call. There was no mop and bucket so had to use all the towels we were allocated to clean up the bathroom floor. Next day we found the isolator switch to the spa was switched off, so no matter how much water we had put in ,it never would of worked for us. message from owner, did we not read the manual ! No we followed the email directions.A few messages in quest book from other quests seemed they had, same issue. Now we know we stayed within a castle but the place was covered in cobwebs 2 of the 3 showers were disgusting not cleaned. stains on the living room carpet, crumbs on the kitchen worktop. After a day out sightseeing we came back to our dogs food bag, nibbled through and mouse droppings on the floor, after telling the owner he said we expect our guests to lock all there food away!! photos taken of how dirty the place was and sent to owner and the response we got was we've let that cleaner go. Stayed in one morning for the spa bath engineer, who arrived about 11, no communication from the owner to say you can go out, no need to stay in for him he can get in and lock up after himself, wasted morning for us. Owner agreed to a goodwill gesture of a partial refund once we came home, but since coming home has denied knowing anything about our issues. So all in all NO I definitely would not stay at one of Stanhope properties again and would say Avoid and stay somewhere else if you would like good customer service.
Thank you for your comments. Please let me respond. The spa bath in question has a large electrical display which if not illuminated would point in the direction of the main isolation switch which is clearly labelled at the side of the bath. You were emailed the day before and were politely asked to read the instructions for use within the welcome pack before usage of the bath. If the bath is overfilled above the markings highlighted within the users' guide. The extra weight of the water pushes the glass front out approx 1mm. As a result, the bath's glass seal is breached and the water leaks through the fibreglass and onto the tiled floor. When this happens, it causes damage to the bath and timber under the tiled floor. You called me at 11 pm and left a voicemail that the bath had floored the room. Your stay was in July 2022 and this is the peak season for us. We have 8 cottages to clean and maintain within a five-hour window. Our usual housekeeper who is fantastic was absent from work due to sickness. We had a stand-in who I will admit struggled to cope with the demands when you complained to my manager. The misuse of the bath on the first night caused large amounts of damage to my spa bath and floor. We did have an issue with some field mice entering the property, this has now been addressed. We as a team at Stanhope castle apologise that you feel your stay wasn't up to your satisfaction. We are learning all the time and will implement changes to provide a better service in the future Property Owner
"Woodlands view was an excellent place to stay."
I took items with me that you do not normally get provided but there was no need as everything was catered for. The property was very spacious and clean and set within castle grounds. The permanent residents within the castle grounds were very pleasant and chatty. The spa bath was the centerpiece of the house and excellent to relax in. Fantastic place for a relaxing holiday.
"Had a rodent problem 1st day in which was dealt with quickly,in need of some redecoration but apart from that fine."
Thank you for your feedback. The castle is 300 years old with cellars and tunnels and if a mouse has squeezed in somewhere then there is very little we can do about it we are afraid. As you are aware as soon as we were notified we immediately went to investigate and sealed any gaps and there have been no further sightings . Property Owner
"Apartment was amazing beautiful decor everything you could need was provided."
As this was ground floor was ideal for our elderly parent to get around. All the residents where friendly. Would recommend a visit to anyone wanting a relaxing time. We will be returning.
"Great place, all as described."
We were lucky and had great weather too...
"Spent a very enjoyable 5 nights and 5 ⭐️ stay here!"
The accommodation was lovely, furnished and maintained to a high standard. The castle itself is situated in the centre of Stanhope with lovely surrounding grounds and pleasant walks around the area. Stanhope is a really nice market town with good local amenities also. Woodlands View was very comfortable with everything you could need provided. Bedrooms were very plush and bed was super comfy. The kitchen was very well equipped and the spa room was just the “icing on the cake” Would definitely recommend a stay here - we will definitely return ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
"Woodlands view is a beautiful property that has been set up and furnished to a high standard."
The property is immaculately clean and has everything required for a comfortable stay and more. The owner has clearly sought to ensure that visitors have a great stay. We will be back and would recommend this property to anyone visiting this beautiful area
"Thoroughly enjoyed our week at Woodlands view Everything was as described and property cleanliness and comfort were top drawer."
Scott and Ruth have put so much thought into every detail and after going on wonderful scenic Walks and drives it was a joy to return each day and relax in the garden and enjoy a meal or go to the great pubs restaurants etc. Perfectly dog friendly and will absolutely return. But keep it a secret . Once again well done Scott and Ruth.
"This is a beautiful high end apartment, the furnishings are beautiful and expensive looking, every room looks very elegant and its very in keeping with the property itself."
Yes there were niggles and a bit of maintenence needed here if I wanted to be particular, which I don't because I went away for a relaxing stress free weekend and that is exactly what we got. There is everything you need at the apartment right down to tin foil, washing up liquid etc more than enough cutlery, plates in fact the kitchen was equipped with pretty much everything you need. Stanhope itself is a lovely little market town, the people were lovely and friendly and the walks in and around the fields and the stream are beautiful. I emailed the owner as we couldn't work out how to use the spa bath and within 20 mins I had a call from the owner to talk us through what to do, you can't ask for more than that! Everywhere is dog friendly and we just had a lovely weekend all round
"Unusual decor, beds did not work for us and there were a lot of feather pillows and cushions, not good for allergies and difficult to detect due to quilted pillow covers."
Overall cleanliness OK but smears on mirrors. Enough dishes for 12 in a 4 person cottage but short on wine glasses, excellent bid fridge freezer. Good location
Very nice. Loved the living room. Facilities and apartment generally well above average. Lovely location in the middle of Weardale. Would definitely recommend a visit. Owner had a few properties at the Castle, some bigger than the four person one we had. Will definitely return to this part of the world and definitely will stay at Stanhope Castle. Well done to Scott the owner.
"A delightful property in a beautiful location, Facilities were excellent and I can’t think of anything that wasn’t provided."
We look forward to staying there again in the future.
"Amazing property, very well kept, exceptionally clean, stocked well with lots of good quality modern crockery etc."
V comfortable, loved everything about it, and the bathrooms are fantastic. The only thing missing compared to other properties we've stayed in is a welcome gift or note. Would love to return, great village location with a couple small local shops and pubs in v close walking distance. Majestic property!!
"Lovely quality and very clean."
Comfy beds. Spa bath a lovely treat and easy to use. Large smart TV with access to Netflix. The management team welcoming and responded straight away to an issue with the boiler not consistently heating water. In the village Che restaurant is a must but you need to book well in advance.
"Wow what a hidden gem."
We booked this last minute and so didn’t get time to do any homework on the area. When we arrived we were pleasantly met by ruth the manager as she showed us how to gain access and where to park. Once in the property we were blown away by the size and interior decor. The spa bath is amazing with different lighting radio and Bluetooth. Scott informed us of good days out and we chose beamish open air museum,the bowes museum in neighbouring barnard castle and a trip to high force water fall. The local village is fairly small but steeped with character. There are three pubs in the village.The Bonny moorhen hen serves good food and the grey bull pulls a great pint. Also roots of India was the best Indian takeaway we’ve had in a while. We noticed some previous reviews about the windows not opening and shower cubicle doors not shutting correctly. These maintenance issues must of been addressed by the owners as they were perfectly fine. There was also a review about the hot tub not heating up. There is no hot tub. There is a spa bath that’s fills with hot water like an ordinary bath. The windows all open bar one in the living room and one in the end bedroom. I understand the owner is trying his best to get the single glazing changed to double glazing. but unfortunately this isn’t in keeping with the grade two star listed castle. So it’s an uphill struggle. The property was clean and smelt fresh. Our dog Chad loved his morning walk across the castle lawn. Overall a 10 out of 10. We will definitely be back next year.
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlands View Property Owner
"We booked this property as a '3 bedrooms, sleeps 6' (a super king, a king and a double) back in February 2021, however by the time of our holiday in Sept 2021, the king size bedroom had been converted to a spa room."
Not a great addition and we feel we were misled. Whilst the overall appearance was very much in keeping with the castle theme, in reality the accommodation was sadly lacking in comfort. The sofas were uncomfortable (subjective, I know), and we failed to get the TV to work properly. The remote control was very unresponsive, and the poor internet meant we gave up on the one film we tried to watch as it kept dropping out. Also, there was one lamp in this room, making it very dim. In order to read, the overhead light needed to be on, and any cosiness was lost. The kitchen is very narrow, making it difficult for more than one person to be in there preparing food. And I have never been in a holiday let where we were unable to make a drink after our long journey. There was no milk, the coffee had solidified, and there was not even any salt or pepper. And as for the dining area, it was so cramped that we felt unable to linger over a meal. Regarding cleanliness, which during a pandemic I would expect to be tip top, there was mould growing on the blind above the bed in the double bedroom, and there was black mould in two of the showers. All three shower doors did not close properly, meaning there were puddles on the bathroom floors after use. The window frames in the smaller bedroom were rusty, and the windows wouldn't open, meaning poor ventilation, and windows running with condensation. The bathroom door in this room didn't close either. All in all that bedroom was very damp. I did take photographs of the issues, and incidentally, many of them had been mentioned in the visitors book. Such a shame they hadn't been addressed. But the piece de resistance was the day we returned from a trip out and as we opened the front door, two dogs belonging to two of the permanent residents appeared and ran into the apartment. We had to chase them out, and afterwards found that one of them had cocked its leg up on the bed in the double bedroom. Thankfully our clean-up job was good enough that we did get our housekeeping bond back, but it was something we could have done without. This property is marketed as 'spectacular' and 'a destination for royalty', however there wasn't much about it that I would class as such. Definitely style over substance.
Many thanks for your feedback and I am sure that you will appreciate that this is a 300 year old castle. Steal windows will be bent and twisted and unfortunately Durham County Council Conservation will not allow us to change the windows. They are single glazed and therefore heat from the radiators meets the cold air from outside and forms a considerable amount of condensation. I was sorry to hear that two dogs belonging to another guest ran into the property, and if I had been made aware at the time I could have spoken to the owner of the dogs you have mentioned. The tv runs off a free sat box which does work perfectly. Batteries are supplied in the property to change in the remote control should they run out. With regards to the spa room, Sykes do apologise that you were not notified of the change in the number of bedrooms. As you were a party of 4 rather than 6 this was missed, but this was not an error by the owner, however we do feel that the pictures of the kitchen online do clearly show that it is narrow. The shower doors and the blind have since been repaired and the windows have been adjusted allowing them to open. Property Owner
"Absolutely gorgeous property, exactly like the photos and if anything bigger than we thought it would be."
Really well equipped and comfortable for 4 of us plus our dog. Great location for visiting Durham and Northumbria, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
"On arrival there was a big wet patch on the carpet in the hallway and the smaller bedroom smelled damp."
We were advised to mop up the wet patch with our towels and fresh ones would be provided on the following Monday (3 days later). Not a good start to the holiday. The window in the smaller bedroom and lounge would not open, so we were unable to freshen the rooms. Whilst we realise there had been some adverse weather conditions, it would have been helpful for the management to have mentioned this when we collected our keys and before we entered the property. Two of the toilet doors in the property would not shut and the door of the shower cubicle in the smaller room wasn't sealed properly and leaked over the floor. We never got to use the spa bath because, despite asking for assistance on how to use it correctly, the water never heated up and remained cold. Very disappointing. Having said all that, the property is well presented and very clean. Stanhope is a lovely village and the property is well placed to explore the region.
"This is a very comfortable property with everything that we needed and is an ideal base to explore the north Pennines which are beautiful."
There is a co-op, bakery, butchers and veg shops in the Main Street along with a few pubs all just a very short walk away.
"Lots of space, the kids loved it."
The outdoor garden space was also very useful and pleasant for breakfast outside.
"Cleanliness was my main issue."
..an even bigger issue given the times we are living under at the moment. Cooker knobs were greasy and felt like they hadn't been cleaned, also one of the frying pans in the cupboard felt greasy as well, we abandoned any thought of cooking for ourselves at this point as we then didn't trust anything else in the kitchen to be clean. The previous guests had noted about the toilets not stopping flushing but nothing had been done about it. I'm not sure where the 5 tick rating comes from, it definitely wasn't from our experience. So close to being a great venue but the things that let it down were major points in the current climate
"The entire stay was amazing, the property exceeds expectations for quality and comfort."
The location is excellent for local beauty spots and walks and the grounds of the castle make for a lovely walk after breakfast. Would definitely recommend this property and will most certainly stay here again.
"We very much enjoyed our stay; the venue is amazing and was exactly what we had hoped it would be."
The staff at Stanhope Castle were also incredibly welcoming.
"The site managers were very welcoming on our arrival and took us through the main things we needed to know in the apartment for our stay."
The property was very well appointed, very clean and perfect for a family of four with a couple of teenagers who want their own space. The rooms are decorated is very individual styles and give the property a special feel. The location is fantastic with great local amenities and access to great walking and cycling routes. High Force, Low Force, Ashgill Force, Cauldron Snout and a whole host of other beauty spots and parts of the Pennnine Way are all within easy striking distance. We would definitely recommend this property and would look visit again.
"Woodland view is a beautiful accommodation With lovely walks on your doorstep Located in a quiet village"
"Booked a last minute holiday staying in Woodlands View, Stanhope Castle (due to our Thomas Cook holiday aboard being cancelled)."
The apartment was stunning, so much attention to detail in the decor of every room. It had everything we needed, and more, for our week's stay. Thank you Scott for all the welcome goodies. In a great location, just a few minutes walk from the local Co-op, cafes, chippies and pubs. And a fantastic Indian takeaway. Lovely low level walks around the village and river, and stunning views on the higher level Ashes Quarry Geotrail. We travelled out and about quite a lot (the Lakes, Durham and local sites) so a lot of driving, made easy given the most beautiful scenery of the North Pennines (and very well maintained roads). So much more to explore, I hope we'll return soon; I would most recommend Woodlands View as a great place to stay.
There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews
- Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with en-suite bath, separate shower, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
- Spa room with Spa bath and en-suite shower, basin and WC
- Cloakroom with basin and WC
- Dining room
- Sitting room with electric fire
- Double oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
- TV, and WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- One small, well-behaved dog welcome
- Private grounds parking for one
- Shared communal lawn area with woods and picnic tables, dogs may be walked in these areas on their leads
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop and pub within 0.1 mile
Set in the heart of the market town of Stanhope, Woodlands View is close to a wide variety of shops, pubs and country walks.
All on the ground floor, this property is perfect for a group of any type to enjoy a getaway to the countryside, with two bedrooms boasting their own en-suites, each room is as spectacular as the next.
The master bedroom consists of a super king sized bed En-suite bathroom with copper roll top bath.
The second presents a regal theme with hints of gold running throughout.
In the evenings slip on the provided robes and head to the spa room to relax in the four person spa bath.
Relax in the plush sitting room with all the original features in front of the fire and watch tv.
The galley kitchen has all the modern appliances you could need.
Offering great access to the Durham Dales, North York Moors, the North Pennines, and the Lake District, you’ll never be short of a walking route, as well as the local area being on the C2C cycle route, perfect for the keen adventurer.
Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £100.
About the location
Durham 22 miles.
The ancient market town of Stanhope lies in the beautiful Wear Valley in the heart of superb walking country. Described as the "Capital of Weardale", it occupies a sheltered position on the north side of the Wear at the confluence of the river and the Stanhope burn. The town is home to a delightful high street, offering a wonderful selection of pubs, specialist food stores, coffee shops, art galleries, a heated outdoor swimming pool and pleasant riverside walks, plus the town is on the C2C cycle route. Beautiful Blanchland, the "perfect village", lies just 10 miles away. The city of Durham is just 22 miles away and is a World Heritage Site boasting a magnificent cathedral and castle, plus Hadrian's Wall is within easy touring distance. Close by are Hamsterley Forest, Killhope Lead Mining Museum and Barnard Castle - a short picturesque drive away. Further afield is the award winning Beamish Living Museum, along with the Metro Centre housing 300 shops and a 12-screen cinema, plus the Lake District National Park is 43 miles away.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute