- Hot tub
- Off road parking
- Ground floor accommodation
- Ground floor bedroom
- Garden / Patio
- Cot available
- Highchair available
- Pub/shop < 1 mile
- Washing machine
- Sky TV
- Broadband / WiFi
Reviews & Ratings
19 Customer Reviews
"Thoroughly enjoyed our week at Woodlands view Everything was as described and property cleanliness and comfort were top drawer."
Scott and Ruth have put so much thought into every detail and after going on wonderful scenic Walks and drives it was a joy to return each day and relax in the garden and enjoy a meal or go to the great pubs restaurants etc. Perfectly dog friendly and will absolutely return. But keep it a secret . Once again well done Scott and Ruth.
"This is a beautiful high end apartment, the furnishings are beautiful and expensive looking, every room looks very elegant and its very in keeping with the property itself."
Yes there were niggles and a bit of maintenence needed here if I wanted to be particular, which I don't because I went away for a relaxing stress free weekend and that is exactly what we got. There is everything you need at the apartment right down to tin foil, washing up liquid etc more than enough cutlery, plates in fact the kitchen was equipped with pretty much everything you need. Stanhope itself is a lovely little market town, the people were lovely and friendly and the walks in and around the fields and the stream are beautiful. I emailed the owner as we couldn't work out how to use the spa bath and within 20 mins I had a call from the owner to talk us through what to do, you can't ask for more than that! Everywhere is dog friendly and we just had a lovely weekend all round
Very nice. Loved the living room. Facilities and apartment generally well above average. Lovely location in the middle of Weardale. Would definitely recommend a visit. Owner had a few properties at the Castle, some bigger than the four person one we had. Will definitely return to this part of the world and definitely will stay at Stanhope Castle. Well done to Scott the owner.
"Unusual decor, beds did not work for us and there were a lot of feather pillows and cushions, not good for allergies and difficult to detect due to quilted pillow covers."
Overall cleanliness OK but smears on mirrors. Enough dishes for 12 in a 4 person cottage but short on wine glasses, excellent bid fridge freezer. Good location
"A delightful property in a beautiful location, Facilities were excellent and I can’t think of anything that wasn’t provided."
We look forward to staying there again in the future.
"Amazing property, very well kept, exceptionally clean, stocked well with lots of good quality modern crockery etc."
V comfortable, loved everything about it, and the bathrooms are fantastic. The only thing missing compared to other properties we've stayed in is a welcome gift or note. Would love to return, great village location with a couple small local shops and pubs in v close walking distance. Majestic property!!
"Lovely quality and very clean."
Comfy beds. Spa bath a lovely treat and easy to use. Large smart TV with access to Netflix. The management team welcoming and responded straight away to an issue with the boiler not consistently heating water. In the village Che restaurant is a must but you need to book well in advance.
"Wow what a hidden gem."
We booked this last minute and so didn’t get time to do any homework on the area. When we arrived we were pleasantly met by ruth the manager as she showed us how to gain access and where to park. Once in the property we were blown away by the size and interior decor. The spa bath is amazing with different lighting radio and Bluetooth. Scott informed us of good days out and we chose beamish open air museum,the bowes museum in neighbouring barnard castle and a trip to high force water fall. The local village is fairly small but steeped with character. There are three pubs in the village.The Bonny moorhen hen serves good food and the grey bull pulls a great pint. Also roots of India was the best Indian takeaway we’ve had in a while. We noticed some previous reviews about the windows not opening and shower cubicle doors not shutting correctly. These maintenance issues must of been addressed by the owners as they were perfectly fine. There was also a review about the hot tub not heating up. There is no hot tub. There is a spa bath that’s fills with hot water like an ordinary bath. The windows all open bar one in the living room and one in the end bedroom. I understand the owner is trying his best to get the single glazing changed to double glazing. but unfortunately this isn’t in keeping with the grade two star listed castle. So it’s an uphill struggle. The property was clean and smelt fresh. Our dog Chad loved his morning walk across the castle lawn. Overall a 10 out of 10. We will definitely be back next year.
Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Woodlands View Property Owner
"We booked this property as a '3 bedrooms, sleeps 6' (a super king, a king and a double) back in February 2021, however by the time of our holiday in Sept 2021, the king size bedroom had been converted to a spa room."
Not a great addition and we feel we were misled. Whilst the overall appearance was very much in keeping with the castle theme, in reality the accommodation was sadly lacking in comfort. The sofas were uncomfortable (subjective, I know), and we failed to get the TV to work properly. The remote control was very unresponsive, and the poor internet meant we gave up on the one film we tried to watch as it kept dropping out. Also, there was one lamp in this room, making it very dim. In order to read, the overhead light needed to be on, and any cosiness was lost. The kitchen is very narrow, making it difficult for more than one person to be in there preparing food. And I have never been in a holiday let where we were unable to make a drink after our long journey. There was no milk, the coffee had solidified, and there was not even any salt or pepper. And as for the dining area, it was so cramped that we felt unable to linger over a meal. Regarding cleanliness, which during a pandemic I would expect to be tip top, there was mould growing on the blind above the bed in the double bedroom, and there was black mould in two of the showers. All three shower doors did not close properly, meaning there were puddles on the bathroom floors after use. The window frames in the smaller bedroom were rusty, and the windows wouldn't open, meaning poor ventilation, and windows running with condensation. The bathroom door in this room didn't close either. All in all that bedroom was very damp. I did take photographs of the issues, and incidentally, many of them had been mentioned in the visitors book. Such a shame they hadn't been addressed. But the piece de resistance was the day we returned from a trip out and as we opened the front door, two dogs belonging to two of the permanent residents appeared and ran into the apartment. We had to chase them out, and afterwards found that one of them had cocked its leg up on the bed in the double bedroom. Thankfully our clean-up job was good enough that we did get our housekeeping bond back, but it was something we could have done without. This property is marketed as 'spectacular' and 'a destination for royalty', however there wasn't much about it that I would class as such. Definitely style over substance.
Many thanks for your feedback and I am sure that you will appreciate that this is a 300 year old castle. Steal windows will be bent and twisted and unfortunately Durham County Council Conservation will not allow us to change the windows. They are single glazed and therefore heat from the radiators meets the cold air from outside and forms a considerable amount of condensation. I was sorry to hear that two dogs belonging to another guest ran into the property, and if I had been made aware at the time I could have spoken to the owner of the dogs you have mentioned. The tv runs off a free sat box which does work perfectly. Batteries are supplied in the property to change in the remote control should they run out. With regards to the spa room, Sykes do apologise that you were not notified of the change in the number of bedrooms. As you were a party of 4 rather than 6 this was missed, but this was not an error by the owner, however we do feel that the pictures of the kitchen online do clearly show that it is narrow. The shower doors and the blind have since been repaired and the windows have been adjusted allowing them to open. Property Owner
"Absolutely gorgeous property, exactly like the photos and if anything bigger than we thought it would be."
Really well equipped and comfortable for 4 of us plus our dog. Great location for visiting Durham and Northumbria, wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
"On arrival there was a big wet patch on the carpet in the hallway and the smaller bedroom smelled damp."
We were advised to mop up the wet patch with our towels and fresh ones would be provided on the following Monday (3 days later). Not a good start to the holiday. The window in the smaller bedroom and lounge would not open, so we were unable to freshen the rooms. Whilst we realise there had been some adverse weather conditions, it would have been helpful for the management to have mentioned this when we collected our keys and before we entered the property. Two of the toilet doors in the property would not shut and the door of the shower cubicle in the smaller room wasn't sealed properly and leaked over the floor. We never got to use the spa bath because, despite asking for assistance on how to use it correctly, the water never heated up and remained cold. Very disappointing. Having said all that, the property is well presented and very clean. Stanhope is a lovely village and the property is well placed to explore the region.
"This is a very comfortable property with everything that we needed and is an ideal base to explore the north Pennines which are beautiful."
There is a co-op, bakery, butchers and veg shops in the Main Street along with a few pubs all just a very short walk away.
"Lots of space, the kids loved it."
The outdoor garden space was also very useful and pleasant for breakfast outside.
"Cleanliness was my main issue."
..an even bigger issue given the times we are living under at the moment. Cooker knobs were greasy and felt like they hadn't been cleaned, also one of the frying pans in the cupboard felt greasy as well, we abandoned any thought of cooking for ourselves at this point as we then didn't trust anything else in the kitchen to be clean. The previous guests had noted about the toilets not stopping flushing but nothing had been done about it. I'm not sure where the 5 tick rating comes from, it definitely wasn't from our experience. So close to being a great venue but the things that let it down were major points in the current climate
"The entire stay was amazing, the property exceeds expectations for quality and comfort."
The location is excellent for local beauty spots and walks and the grounds of the castle make for a lovely walk after breakfast. Would definitely recommend this property and will most certainly stay here again.
"We very much enjoyed our stay; the venue is amazing and was exactly what we had hoped it would be."
The staff at Stanhope Castle were also incredibly welcoming.
"The site managers were very welcoming on our arrival and took us through the main things we needed to know in the apartment for our stay."
The property was very well appointed, very clean and perfect for a family of four with a couple of teenagers who want their own space. The rooms are decorated is very individual styles and give the property a special feel. The location is fantastic with great local amenities and access to great walking and cycling routes. High Force, Low Force, Ashgill Force, Cauldron Snout and a whole host of other beauty spots and parts of the Pennnine Way are all within easy striking distance. We would definitely recommend this property and would look visit again.
"Woodland view is a beautiful accommodation With lovely walks on your doorstep Located in a quiet village"
"Booked a last minute holiday staying in Woodlands View, Stanhope Castle (due to our Thomas Cook holiday aboard being cancelled)."
The apartment was stunning, so much attention to detail in the decor of every room. It had everything we needed, and more, for our week's stay. Thank you Scott for all the welcome goodies. In a great location, just a few minutes walk from the local Co-op, cafes, chippies and pubs. And a fantastic Indian takeaway. Lovely low level walks around the village and river, and stunning views on the higher level Ashes Quarry Geotrail. We travelled out and about quite a lot (the Lakes, Durham and local sites) so a lot of driving, made easy given the most beautiful scenery of the North Pennines (and very well maintained roads). So much more to explore, I hope we'll return soon; I would most recommend Woodlands View as a great place to stay.
- Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with en-suite bath, separate shower, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
- Spa room with Spa bath and en-suite shower, basin and WC
- Cloakroom with basin and WC
- Dining room
- Sitting room with electric fire
- Double oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
- TV, and WiFi
- Fuel and power inc. in rent
- Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
- One small, well-behaved dog welcome
- Private grounds parking for one
- Shared communal lawn area with woods and picnic tables, dogs may be walked in these areas on their leads
- Sorry, no smoking
- Shop and pub within 0.1 mile
Set in the heart of the market town of Stanhope, Woodlands View is close to a wide variety of shops, pubs and country walks.
All on the ground floor, this property is perfect for a group of any type to enjoy a getaway to the countryside, with two bedrooms boasting their own en-suites, each room is as spectacular as the next.
The master bedroom consists of a super king sized bed En-suite bathroom with copper roll top bath.
The second presents a regal theme with hints of gold running throughout.
In the evenings slip on the provided robes and head to the spa room to relax in the four person spa bath.
Relax in the plush sitting room with all the original features in front of the fire and watch tv.
The galley kitchen has all the modern appliances you could need.
Offering great access to the Durham Dales, North York Moors, the North Pennines, and the Lake District, you’ll never be short of a walking route, as well as the local area being on the C2C cycle route, perfect for the keen adventurer.
Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £100.
About the location
Durham 22 miles.
The ancient market town of Stanhope lies in the beautiful Wear Valley in the heart of superb walking country. Described as the "Capital of Weardale", it occupies a sheltered position on the north side of the Wear at the confluence of the river and the Stanhope burn. The town is home to a delightful high street, offering a wonderful selection of pubs, specialist food stores, coffee shops, art galleries, a heated outdoor swimming pool and pleasant riverside walks, plus the town is on the C2C cycle route. Beautiful Blanchland, the "perfect village", lies just 10 miles away. The city of Durham is just 22 miles away and is a World Heritage Site boasting a magnificent cathedral and castle, plus Hadrian's Wall is within easy touring distance. Close by are Hamsterley Forest, Killhope Lead Mining Museum and Barnard Castle - a short picturesque drive away. Further afield is the award winning Beamish Living Museum, along with the Metro Centre housing 300 shops and a 12-screen cinema, plus the Lake District National Park is 43 miles away.
This property offers the following short breaks:
- Last minute