Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Yorkshire Dales 7 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Larger Image
  • 11 Tower Street - Yorkshire Dales - 999973 - photo 1
close

11 Tower Street

Richmond, Yorkshire Dales - North (Ref. 999973)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

15 Customer Reviews

  • "Towels and bedding etc were very good but we found that the night store heating system was inadequate in colder weather and the property was cold by evening."

    We were surprised that there was no hairdryer, and we couldn’t get the can opener to work, but other than that the facilities were adequate. The location is excellent and Richmond is a lovely market town. The use of the garage was a real bonus!

    Thank you for your feedback. The night storage heaters are an efficient way to heat the property and are fully adjustable, allowing for more heat to be emitted in the evenings & less during the day time. The coal fire provides significant additional background heat, when lit. We have replaced the missing hairdryer and have provided an additional can opener. I’m pleased to hear that the garage was useful and that you liked the location. Richmond is a lovely town with lots to see in the area and I hope you will return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ColinApr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage great location."

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and it’s location close to the centre of Richmond and next to the Castle. We hope you will return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JillJul 2021

  • "The two good things about the cottage are the position and the fact a BMW series 2 car fits in the garage The cottage was unsympathetically presented,the out dated storage heaters made it too hot on sunny days but cold during the evening."

    The kitchen was very poorly equipped

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you have been able to make use of the garage at the property and you enjoyed the location of the property. We are sorry you were unable to use the fully adjustable storage heating system within the property, there is a welcome pack within the property with instructions on how to use the system. The comments about the kitchen have been noted and will be addressed. We hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolynApr 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely and in a fabulous location."

    It was the perfect base to explore North Yorkshire and we would definitely look at booking the cottage again if we return.

    Reviewed by KellyAug 2020

  • "It was a very clean and comfortable cottage in a great location and very welcoming on arrival."

    We found the instructions in the cottage regarding departure arrangments a bit confusing (e.g., the bin was not at the front door, contrary to the instructions) and incomplete (e.g., what should be done with bedding and where the key should be left). However, we enjoyed staying there, would happily return and would recommend the property to others.

    Reviewed by ChristopherFeb 2020

  • "The heating system seems to be set wrong (night storage) it came on about 01."

    30 and went off around15.00hrs which meant it was very cool in the evening.The cottage itself was lovely and the location and parking was outstanding.

    Thank you for your feedback. The heaters do take in the electricity at night and are designed to emit the heat during the day. They can be adjusted to throw out more or less heat as required. We have now put some detailed instructions in the house Property Owner

    Reviewed by JaniceDec 2019

  • "What is not to like in the historic, old town of Richmond, North Yorkshire, built into the walls or forming part of the Norman Castle."

    Central location for Coast to Coast walkers, as well as gentle walks and stunning scenery alongside the River Swale to Easby Abbey ruins in one direction or through Billy Bank Woods in the other. Excellent bus services to the Dales, as well as to Darlington and beyond. Even though we stayed mid-November, the area seemed to have a fairly mild micro climate for the time of year. We opted for a 600 year old accommodation at the foot of the Castle, and couldn't have been more surprised and delighted at all the mod cons that had been installed in the property, as well as an open fire grate. This property does have a garage, although restricted if the vehicle is a 4x4 size. Really could not find any fault with this holiday property or its location.

    Reviewed by ChristineNov 2019

  • "Very nice cottage with everything you require."

    Lovely comfy beds & a cosy sitting room with a really nice coal fire. The most outstanding feature of this cottage is being less than a minute away from the Market Square & the use of a garage (unheard of in a quaint cottage). Views from the bedrooms absolutely breathtaking. Will be booking again for 2020.

    Reviewed by GlennSep 2019

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday break and the cottage exceeded out expectations ..."

    Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday break and the cottage exceeded out expectations and will certainly recommend this cottage to others

    Reviewed by DanielSep 2019

  • "Loved the location, the cottage was really nice everything that I expected and more."

    The owners left a nice wee welcome pack and the WiFi was a great wee bonus. Would book it again.

    Reviewed by RobertSep 2019

  • "Upstairs, beds and bedding clean, boiler made dripping sound through the night in kids room."

    kettle was dirty phoned the caretaker /owner, arranged to get new kettle but didn't get it until the evening before we left. All crockery and cups were dirty from last residents, dishwasher would be handy. No Freezer which was a miss and should be advertised as no freezer. Hoover was really bad and smelled bad and cupboard hoover was in, was filthy. Nice location though.

    Aug 2019

  • "Lovely clean and comfortable cottage in the perfect location to explore Richmond and surrounding area."

    Delicious fish and chips and tasty burgers @ The Kings Head Hotel. Thank you so much for the milk and yummy biscuits.

    Reviewed by JanetJul 2019

  • "The cottage on Tower Street, Richmond is centrally located in the market town of Richmond, with its associated shops and facilities."

    Potential users of the property need to be aware that the garage - in the words of the information contained in the information folder in the cottages - will take a "standard card". It is not clear what a standard car is? The garage itself has a relatively narrow entrance, and narrows further at its end. The garage was too small for our family car. The information on the website, or when booking through Sykes, makes no reference to the size of the garage. I would suggest that a more accurate description of the garage is that it would accommodate a "small car." The property itself is in fair, rather than good, condition. The appliances in the kitchen are basic. The oven does not have a fan option, the microwave is a minimum size, the fridge has no freezer compartment and the washing machine is approximately half the size of a standard machine. There are no cupboards to store food. There are no drying for facilities for wet clothes, or an iron and ironing board. There are no recycling boxes, or information about to recycle items. All matters that one can work round, but things that one might expect to be available, or information on the matter provided.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2019

  • "Fantastic location!"

    A great stay over Easter weekend. Everything just as we would expect when booking with Sykes cottages!

    Reviewed by JoanneApr 2019

  • "The cottage is very comfortable and positioned right in the centre of a lovely town."

    Reviewed by JudithApr 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double and 1 x twin with WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Electric night storage heating, open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge, washing machine, Smart TV with Freeview and Netflix and WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for open fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Garage to park at the top of the street suitable for a small car/bikes/canoes 1 pet is welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles and pub 0.01 miles
  • Please note that check-in is from 16:00
  • Please note this property has a Sykes managed good house keeping bond for £150.00 on all bookings taken after 30/10/2020
  • Please note the property does not accept children under two years of age.

The property

Nestled in the thriving market town of Richmond, situated on the edge of North Yorkshire, is this delightful stone cottage.

Accessed via a narrow pedestrianised street, 11 Tower Street offers a superb base for exploring all of North Yorkshire and easy access into the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

Step through the front door and kick off your boots and coats and walk through to the welcoming sitting room, offering two large sofas as a place to relax and unwind of an evening, with an open fire to keep you warm during those chilly evenings.

The open-plan kitchen is wonderfully appointed to the rear of the cottage, with all on-hand appliances for cooking up a delicious home-cooked meal for the whole family, to be enjoyed at the dining room table, with seating for four people.

Follow the steps up to the first floor, which offers two bedrooms; one double and one twin, with a WC, both served by a ground-floor shower room with high-quality fixtures and fittings.

Each bedroom has a range of furniture and lovely views across the town, with a splash of colour in the red tartan curtains.

Parking is available at the garage at the top of the street and is suitable for a small car.

Richmond is a delightful market town, boasting a variety of local attractions for you to visit during your holiday.

For a spot of history, venture towards Richmond Castle, which boasts breath-taking views across the Yorkshire Dales - learn all about the castle's rich history, with its live action events programme to enjoy.

Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, you will have easy access to its centre for an abundance of scenic pathways for walking and cycling.

Return to 11 Tower Street for a relaxing evening with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

RICHMOND

Barnard Castle 10 miles; Leyburn 12 miles.

Situated at the entrance to Swaledale, the ancient market town of Richmond stands on a prominent hilltop site to the north of the River Swale. Its cobbled streets and narrow alleys or 'wynds' enshrine over nine centuries of busy history and unique character. The town grew up around its castle, a Norman fortress dating back to 1071, famously situated high above the river - indeed the name Richmond is derived from 'Riche-mont' meaning 'strong hill'. Today there are wonderful walks to be enjoyed such as the Castle Walk - a dramatic terrace walk beneath the castle walls - or alternatively walk alongside the River Swale where there are parks, safe paddling areas and small waterfalls to enjoy. Within the town, narrow streets and alleys radiate from the cobbled Market Place (which has a weekly market and monthly farmers’ market) and there are numerous shops, pubs and restaurants to enjoy. The town flourished in the 18th and 19th centuries and the resulting elegant Georgian architecture lines many of the old streets. The Georgian Theatre is one of the oldest surviving theatres in the country with visitors enjoying its regular productions all year round.

Region Information

Please note this property has a Sykes managed good house keeping bond for £150.00 on all bookings taken after 30/10/2020.


Please note the property does not accept children under two years of age.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas