Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Yorkshire Dales 16 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

Across the Rooftops in Hebden Bridge

Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire Dales - South (Ref. 1059708)

4.1

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

8 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely little house, very clean and well placed for all amenities in Hebden Bridge."

    Wouldn't recommend for the elderly or anyone with mobility issues but this was made clear by owner. Sofas a bit uncomfortable but we managed. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by MaryMar 2022

  • "Meticulously clean."

    Great location. Just to be picky, the sofas weren't the comfiest and the refuse collection left our recycling box because we hadn't separated glass and cardboard which wasn't explained in the literature

    Reviewed by PeterOct 2021

  • "The downstairs heating didn't work even though we followed the given instructions."

    One of the towels had a large bleach stain on it and as the property is for 4 guests a 2 slice toaster is inadequate. Apart from that the property worked well for us and overall we enjoyed our short break.

    I'm sorry you had problems with the heating - we did subsequently check it and it was working fine, but thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your break. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LesSep 2021

  • "Accross the rooftops is a lovely cottage, situated in a great location, only 5 minutes from the town centre."

    The bedrooms are cosy and a good size. A few things to point out for other guests are, firstly the TV is rather complicated to use if you want normal TV on. The kitchen only has 3 very small pans, so very hard to cook, especially if more than 2 guests. And thirdly, the cottage was very cold! We reported the heating not working to Sykes at the start of our visit, but even a week later the problem was not fixed. Apart from that, a nice place to stay.

    Thanks for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed the cottage. I'm sorry that you found the TV a little complicated - 'live TV' comes through the satellite box which is often the case in the Calder Valley as reception can be affected by the hills - I've updated the info pack with a few more instructions (we've also put a larger pan in the property) Regarding the heating, I note that you raised the issue on the 20th, and we sent someone in on the 21st - unfortunately they couldn't fix it then, so we sent in a plumber who resolved the issue on the 22nd. I hope that if you had any more problems you would have contacted Sykes to resolve them. Thanks again for the feedback as it helps us to make guests stay as comfortable as possible Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlexandraSep 2021

  • "The house is very close to the centre of Hebden, but up a couple of very steep inclines that may not suit everyone."

    Once at the house, however, everything was clean and very welcoming and we really enjoyed our stay. The closeness to town is a real benefit in just popping out for something you need. Regular markets at the bottom of the hill add further variety to an already generous array of eating, drinking and shopping possibilities. I have a few observations that may better inform future guests. First, there is no garden, which makes for some difficulties in allowing a dog their early morning and late night toilet. We managed but it is just to be aware. Second I found the instructions to operate the TV to be too brief, and although that was mainly down to my lack of understanding of modern TVs it may also confuse others. But we were not massively inconvenienced as we were not there to watch TV. Hebden is an ideal place to eat and drink out so cooking equipment may not be important, but if there were 4 people staying there who wanted to eat in I think they might struggle to cook meals for all with three small pans. In all other respects the house is well provided and very well appointed. Would be more than happy to stay there again.

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2021

  • "The property had an awful smell and was not clean when we arrived."

    Cushions on sofas smelt awful and need washing. Luckily, we brought cleaning products and washed kitchen work tops ourselves. We found dead spiders and flies behind the tv and we removed a number of wood lice from the property over the week (kitchen and top floor bedroom carpet). Bins are directly outside the front window / front door and again, smelled awful. The property is not welcoming or homely and it was difficult to relax and enjoy it. Hebden Bridge itself is a beautiful place and we enjoyed lots of walks and the local amenities. Shame we can’t say that about our holiday cottage.

    We're really sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. The house is thoroughly cleaned to a high standard before all guest visits. We'll definitely investigate to see if there were any problems. We'll also investigate the smell and make arrangements to make sure the bins don't smell. Regarding the woodlice, it's not an issue which has been flagged up by other guests, but we'll look into it, although you will occasionally find them in an older property, such as this. I'm sorry that you didn't find the house welcoming, as we've had positive feedback otherwise, but we value your feedback as it enables us to make the necessary changes to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SheilaAug 2021

  • "Fabulous place to stay in such a beautiful location."

    The property had everything we needed and was very easy to settle into. Hebden Bridge is such a lovely place, offering great local food and drink. An ideal location for various walks amongst the Yorkshire hills. Other areas easily accessible from Hebden. A fab place to stay and hope to come back again soon.

    Reviewed by MalcolmAug 2021

  • "The cottage was nice and cosy, kids loved it, especially running up and down the stairs and the view from the top windows."

    It is just a several minutes of walking to the little town centre, but quiet. I'd like a hoover and a mop in there to clean after ourselves and our dog, but managed without these.

    Thanks for your feedback - I'm glad that your children enjoyed the house - and the lovely views. There was a mop in the property, we've now moved it to the cupboard under the stairs to the top bedroom, we've also put a vacuum cleaner in there. Thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarekJul 2021

Show more

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x second-floor king-size, 1 x small 4 foot double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Living/dining room with log burner
  • Gas central heating and log burner
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent and a starter pack for log burner
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-street parking
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: There are steep stairs in this property, may not be suitable for the infirm or people with limited mobility issues
  • Note: Low ceiling height leading up to the second-floor bedroom, please take care
  • Note: Low locked window in second-floor bedroom, please be careful

The property

Perched in the charming Pennine town of Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire, is this delightful terrace house, Across the Rooftops in Hebden Bridge.

Set over three floors and sleeping up to four guests, Across the Rooftops in Hebden Bridge certainly lives up to its name with impressive views overlooking the town and enjoying close proximity to Haworth and Halifax.

Step into the homely lounge, where you can cosy up on the plush sofa and enjoy your favourite film with a glass of wine or plan your days ahead at the dining table with your loved ones.

Rustle up delicious snacks in the fully functioning kitchen, with handy washing machine, to tuck into at the breakfast bar.

As the evening draws to a close, climb the stairs to the first floor where you will discover the first of two bedrooms, the first being a small double with light décor.

Completing the first floor is the bathroom, where you can enjoy a hot soak as your towel warms nearby on the heated towel rail.

Head up to the second floor where you will find the second bedroom, a spacious king-size with feature sloping ceilings and beams, perfect for catching your rest.

Explore your local surroundings with a trip into the village where you can enjoy a leisurely stroll along the Rochdale Canal, visit the delightful Victorian railway station, or take a tour of the magnificent National Trust site, Hardcastle Crags.

The Pennine way is nearby where you can follow the 268-mile trail with exceptional views and scenery awaiting you.

If you can tear yourself away, the village of Haworth is just a short drive away and home to the Bronte Parsonage Museum which celebrates the famous literary family of the Bronte’s.

Step back in time with a trip to the Keighley & Worth Valley Railway, where you can tour the onsite museum or take a ride on a vintage steam locomotive.

Make your way to the town of Halifax, where the children can take in the delights of the Eureka!

National Children’s Museum filled with interactive exhibits guaranteeing hours of fun!

Don’t forget to take in the history at Shibden Hall, a 600-year-old medieval manor with beautiful grounds including a boating lake, mini-railway and woodlands.

Choose Across the Rooftops in Hebden Bridge for an enjoyable stay in the heart of West Yorkshire.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

HEBDEN BRIDGE

Haworth 8 miles; Halifax 8.5 miles; Holmfirth 21 miles; Skipton 23 miles.

The attractive, little Pennine town of Hebden Bridge sits within the Calderdale area and provides home to the picturesque Rochdale Canal and a delightful Victorian railway station. Excellent walking country, with the National Trust owned Hardcastle Crags and the Pennine Way close by, this delightful location is also the first 'Walkers are Welcome' town in the UK, a scheme supported by the Ramblers’ Association. Alternatively, scenic drives and fabulous cycling, as featured on 2nd stage of the 2014 Tour de France, 2015 Tour de Yorkshire and 2018 Tour de Yorkshire, can be enjoyed from your doorstep. Journey to Haworth where the splendid Parsonage Museum commemorates the famous Bronte family who lived there. The area is also a must for steam railway enthusiasts who will enjoy the thriving Worth Valley Railway, whilst the highly acclaimed Eureka Museum is in Halifax, noted for its unique Piece Hall and its Victorian architecture. The stunning architecture of the Dean Clough complex should also be admired and is just seven miles away. Skipton, “Gateway to the Dales” and Holmfirth, recognised from Last of the Summer Wine, are both easy and scenic car rides away.

Region Information

Note: There are steep stairs in this property, may not be suitable for the infirm or people with limited mobility issues.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it