Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Yorkshire Dales 1 minutes ago

1 of 19 View Larger Image
  • Turners' Retreat - Yorkshire Dales - 999015 - photo 1
close

11 people have recently viewed this property

Turners' Retreat

Haworth, Yorkshire Dales - South (Ref. 999015)

4.5

(29 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Cot available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

29 Customer Reviews

  • "I had a wonderful stay at Turners Retreat!"

    Ideally situated on the main street, but never noisy, it was lovely and clean with everything you need provided. The bed was really comfy and the wifi worked well. Parking was easy on the museum carpark and you can pay via ringo app for days at a time so you don't need to keep checking. I had intended to leave the car there until I discovered that the Spar and Co-op are situated somewhere near the Earth's core and carrying shopping back was no fun! Louise is the perfect host, friendly and happy to help but only if you need her to. Haworth itself is tourist orientated with quirky independent shops and plenty of places to eat and drink from breakfast time onwards, it has a really laid back feel. Loved it, thank-you Louise

    Reviewed by DebbieJun 2022

  • "Everything you need clean and comfortable really needed outside space with dog ..."

    Everything you need clean and comfortable really needed outside space with dog but we knew this before we booked and heating would better be controlled by holiday let rather than owner … owner very efficient sorting problem with heating I have to add … all in all a very pleasant stay

    Reviewed by JackieMay 2022

  • "Excellent dog friendly property in an ideal location, with direct access to all the local amenities and local walks."

    With no control over the heating, it did get a little cold in the property on an evening, but this didn’t detract from the stay and we would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

    The heating is set to come on from 6.30pm till 11pm and set at 18.5 degrees. We are more than happy to turn it up should we be asked. We are in the shop every day except Monday and Tuesday, but can be contacted on the phone number provided. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanApr 2022

  • "Had a lovely time but its not suitable for disabled people , not sure if it'st in the description of the property but Louise is a lovely lady thank you for a comfortable stay ."

    Reviewed by PaulineMar 2022

  • "This is a nice little flat right in the middle of Haworth."

    I had a long weekend that was all too short. There is so much to do in the area that a week would have been more appropriate. I didn't want for anything, but if I did the owner was easy to communicate with, friendly and accommodating. You can't park right by the property other than for unloading, so you'll probably have to use the nearby carparks at £8/day. I would come again, possibly on the train to Keighley and get the steam train down to Haworth from there (weekends only).

    Reviewed by DaveMar 2022

  • "The property was very well maintained, spotlessly clean, spacious and ideally situated for everything that Haworth and the surrounding area has to offer."

    We would certainly consider staying here again.

    Reviewed by PhilipMar 2022

  • "Lovely quirky apartment right on the old street in Haworth."

    Even decorated for Christmas! Owner has the shop underneath. 10/10!

    Reviewed by GrahamDec 2021

  • "In heart of the town, looking down the main street one-side, facing beautiful trees another side."

    Louise was a helpful hostess, with a nice welcome basket (a bottle of wine, cookies, chocolate, etc) in the kitchen, we also picked up cakes from her tea shop downstairs. Lots of space and bright - the bathroom was huge. Depending on the seasons and weather outside, the bedroom might feel bit moldy which would go away if you keep door open for some hours. The bedroom window is like a picture frame, beautiful tree/hills outside.

    Reviewed by KeikoNov 2021

  • "Louise was extremely friendly and helpful."

    Very enjoyable two week stay - Louise could not have done any more for us.

    Reviewed by TraceyAug 2021

  • "Definitely not for the old or anyone with any walking disabilities."

    Very dark outside of property once the sensor light goes off. Only one set of keys. Wee notes left on door saying door not locked!! But if one of us went out with the dog the other would be locked inside property!! No parking so have to park in car park costing over £7.00 a day and not the £4.00 we where told !! In the bathroom the bath feels if it is actually sinking into the floor on one side. Floors very uneven. Bed is definitely not a double. Very small. Howorth is definitely a lovely place. Will not book this apartment (it’s not a cottage) again but would use Sykes cottages again very pleasant lady who dealt with us.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2021

  • "This is a wonderful cottage/apartment with a perfect location on Main Street - right in the middle of all the cafes and tourist shops."

    Unbeatable location but still very quiet esp after 5pm. The only thing people should be aware of are the steep stairs inside and out and the very slow internet. But aside from these things the apartment has everything and more for a comfortable and well supported stay.

    Reviewed by AllanJul 2021

  • "Thank you so much for making our stay extra special and the facilities are fantastic."

    We slept really well and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by ColinJul 2021

  • "Description of the property was very accurate, ..."

    Description of the property was very accurate, Yes the stairs were steep,and no car parking alongside the property,but that was clearly stated, If you want to stay in the hub of a beautiful town,then Turners Retreat is as good as it gets, So many choice's to eat or have a drink, Enjoy

    Reviewed by MichaelJun 2021

  • "Shower not too good for anyone 6ft or over but ok if you sit in the bath and then shower."

    Great position, everything on your doorstep. Yes, steep steps outside and steep stairs but we are very late 60's - myself with sciatica - and and had no difficulties. Further to someone else's remark on wifi, we found it worked just fine. Overall lovely relaxed stay.

    Reviewed by MargaretJun 2021

  • "Highly recommended."

    The host went above and beyond in ensuring that all went well. The property is lovely, as is the location.

    Reviewed by JustinMay 2021

  • "There is a daily charge for parking at the Bronte museum."

    Reviewed by AmyApr 2021

  • "Perfect base for visiting Haworth, right on the Main Street."

    The apartment is over the owner’s shop, and they are very friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable well equipped accommodation.

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2020

  • "We found the bed very noisy (the mattress squeaks!"

    ) and rather uncomfortable. We were very grateful for the wine and milk and biscuits and loved the location. The dog towels and dog biscuits were a lovely touch as well. The bathroom needs attention and the radiator was full of dust (not very reassuring that it had been cleaned in the recent past).

    Reviewed by LisaJul 2020

  • "We had a fabulous break at Turners Retreat."

    The location is perfect for exploring Haworth and the beautiful surrounding area. It was great to have the entrance hall downstairs to leave coats and muddy boots. Louise even provided doggy towels! The apartment was very comfortable and well equipped. Louise's extra touches were an unexpected surprise. Thank you so much

    Reviewed by JillJan 2020

  • "The cottage is difficult to access: it’s outside stairs are slippery, very uneven and poorly lit and the key safe is so high on the wall that I had to find bricks to stand on to see to operate it-it too needs better lighting."

    Both keys once obtained are difficult to use and there is no number”52A” displayed anywhere. Inside the cottage is warm and pleasant enough and quite well equipped. But there is no lock on the bathroom door and the oven doors need a clean. White goods worked well and pods to use with them were provided-unusual on my experience but the overall ambiance was a little dated. Finally-there is a real issue with parking which I feel needs to be addressed even though I do not personally have a car.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It may be helpful to point out that the stone steps outside the property are in character with the period of the property. However, this information is given in the advertisement on our website, in addition to which there is also a handrail. We are sorry for any mix-up regarding the address of the property. We have reviewed the information we have on file and updated this accordingly, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. It should be noted that we do not advertise parking at the property, but alternative parking can be found nearby. We have updated our directions with further details for guests going forward. Kind Regards, The Customer Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolDec 2019

  • "The description of the accomodation was not accurate."

    The picture to find the property is incorrect. No mention of the extremely steep stairs which for both humans and dogs are hard to negotiate. Getting your items in was a struggle. Not good for six month old pup who should not be going upstairs. Parking was a nightmare. Trying to negotiate the parking meters to ensure not getting a ticket for the weekend was nearly impossible. The accomodation itself was quirky and clean. Louise was lovely and sorted our heating issues immediately. Nice welcome mince pies and treats for the dogs.

    Reviewed by DianeDec 2019

  • "Turners Retreat is a really comfortable home from home and made an excellent base for exploring West Yorkshire."

    We visited Hebden Bridge, Skipton and Saltaire Village, all dog friendly destinations, and all within easy reach by car. The area is also well served by the local Bronte Bus and we could have travelled to Hebden Bridge by bus except for the fact that the main road to Hebden Bridge was closed for repairs between 9am and 4:30 pm. the week we were there. That was just a bit of bad luck however. Haworth itself is a brilliant village for dog owners since so many shops, cafes and restaurants are dog friendly and this apartment is, of course, also dog friendly. Louise, the owner of the property, was very friendly and helpful and we much appreciated the pint of milk, biscuits and fresh flowers which she left for us. There were also lots of other little thoughtful extras in the cupboards, such as washing up liquid, coffee, toilet rolls, and gravy powder. This property is accessed via an exterior set of stone steps and a further steep set of stairs inside. It wasn’t a problem for us, but it could be if someone had mobility issues. There are also a couple of steps up to the bedroom. We really enjoyed our stay here in September and very much appreciated the central heating which had been set to come on in the morning and evening. We were blessed with lovely warm weather during the day but, even so, it can get a little chilly in the evenings in autumn and I’m sure, whatever the weather outside, this apartment would be cosy and warm.

    Reviewed by RogerSep 2019

  • "Louise who was running the air b and b was extremely friendly."

    I popped downstairs for a bottle of fresh milk every other day which cost 50p. Very clean and cozy accommodation and was situated right in the middle of Haworth Main street and all the eateries, bars and walks. What more would you want!

    Reviewed by VanessaJul 2019

  • "I wouldn't class the property as a 4* listing."

    One further shortcoming with the premises is that you have to go up initial steps and then through three doors (2 with locks) and up a steep narrow stairway to access it. Also inside the property are two further steep steps into the bedroom.

    Reviewed by AndrewJun 2019

  • "The hosts Louise Joseph and Alex were fantastic The welcome gifts were very much appreciated."

    The best welcome were the coffees on arrival served on a tray up to our flat by Alex such a lovely gesture. Location couldn't wish for better right in the heart of Haworth.We will be back!

    Reviewed by LesleyMay 2019

  • "The steps and the paving slabs when entering and exiting can get very slippy, I was unfortunate when leaving on the last day to slip and fall down, I think a sign outside just to remind us that the exit can be slippy, just as there are reminders like "mind your head" it should be common sense but we do forget!"

    Other than that.. our holiday was fantastic and couldn't want for more, warm, clean. Very helpful, Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by JanetApr 2019

  • "Very pleasant accommodation, brilliant host, very welcoming and extremely caring."

    Reviewed by HelenApr 2019

  • "This was the most amazing place the owner was lovely friendly and welcoming the apartment was spotless and comfortable with everything to make self catering easy."

    comfortable sofas and bed ideal location for pubs cafes restaraunts and shops. I didn't want to leave this spacious property in a beautiful village with friendly local people and amazing scenery.

    Reviewed by SimonApr 2019

  • "Overall fantastic place to stay!"

    just could do with more heating in the bedroom :) thank you! had a fab time!

    Reviewed by RachelMar 2019

Show more

Summary

  • All first floor
  • One double bedroom
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Ground floor access to rear of cafe/ shop with staircase.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Parking at local car park within 0.1 mile (chargeable at approx £6 a day)
  • Car can be loaded and unloaded around back of property on Croft Street if required
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 1 min walk.There are also 2 internal steps between the lounge and bedroom
  • Note - No candles are to be lit in this property
  • Note: Due to the age of this property and its period features such as a low doorway in the hall entrance to the bottom of the stairs, 3 stone steps into the property and a steep flight of stairs internally so we advise to take care, as you can imagine these features add to the beauty and character of the building
  • Although there is a handrail, the property may not be suitable for people with limited mobility, for further advise please do not hesitate to contact us and speak with one of our friendly agents

The property

A characterful apartment dwelling, resting within a prominent position within the endearing village of Howarth, Turners' Retreat is an ideal base for a couple looking to escape to the rugged moorland that inspired the classic novels of the Brontë sisters.

Sitting on the steep street of Haworth Main, surrounded by other pre-Victorian abodes with their feature low ceilings and imposing stairs, the location of this property is a true delight for exploring the charming ambiance and rich history of the area.

Upon entering the welcoming property, you will...

View on map

About the location

HAWORTH

Skipton 13 miles; Hebden Bridge 8 miles.

The small village of Haworth was home to the famous Bronte sisters, who were inspired by the surrounding moorland to pen their novels, which have become classics of English Literature. Haworth is a village that time almost forgot, with its myriad of curiosity and antique shops, alleyways and cobbled streets creating a wonderful period atmosphere, all set against a framing backdrop of countryside famously described in the novel Wuthering Heights as wild, rugged and barren. Nearby, the famous Keighley and Worth Valley Railway, an authentic steam railway brought to prominence in the film The Railway Children, provides a lovely day out with a regular service to the old village of Oxenhope. The area abounds with popular places to visit, including the Bronte Parsonage Museum, East Riddlesden Hall, and the National Railway Museum in York. The market town of Skipton, often fondly regarded as the Gateway to the Yorkshire Dales, is just a short drive away, and also within reach are elegant Harrogate and vibrant Leeds and Manchester.

View more holiday cottages in Haworth

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas