Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Porri Nook - Yorkshire Dales - 966595 - photo 1
close

Porri Nook

(Ref. 966595)

Skipton, Yorkshire Dales - South Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (23)
  • skipton (21)
  • location (21)
  • comfortable (17)
  • clean (16)
  • town (15)

46 Customer Reviews

  • "Confusion about providing towels , Settee not very comfortable but adequate otherwise very clean good area"

    Reviewed by Janet4.4Dec 2023

  • "Very clean and welcoming property in an excellent location close to the center of Skipton, with a variety of nice sort scenic walks into the town center."

    Very enjoyable stay thank you.

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Sep 2023

  • "A truly delightful cottage - well presented with the coordinating colours."

    The information given in the red folder was accurate and most helpful. The kitchen was well supplied for our needs - thanks for the quality pans etc..The bedroom was lovely with the nice big bed. It was a little firm for me even with the topper, but fine for my husband. We appreciated the position which is walking distance to the town yet was generally quiet. Despite no onsite parking we had no problem finding a nearby space for our car.

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Sep 2023

  • "In general a great place to stay."

    Well situated, very clean and comfortable. Only critisism is that the parking near to the property in Woodman Terrace isnt practicle. Found myself blocked in most of the week. Although not specifically mentioned you will need to bring your own towels.

    Reviewed by Wayne4.4Aug 2023

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage."

    Excellent location. The only thing that would have improved it for me was a dishwasher. We really did have a lovely time

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Aug 2023

  • "A fabulous cottage in a perfect spot to explore Skipton."

    Everything you need and the yard to sit in was great. The bed is so comfy we would certainly stay again. Everything was so clean. Thank you

    Reviewed by Eunice5.0Aug 2023

  • "This was our second visit to Porrie Nook and once again it did not disappoint."

    This is a cosy comfortable wee hoose that has a welcoming feel to it, we almost felt we were coming home. It was spotlessly clean well supplied with everything we required. If coming back to the area we would certainly stay here again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2023

  • "This is a lovely property and great location - we have stayed here before!"

    Great to see a black out blind had been fitted in the bedroom since our last visit! The only niggle was that there wasn't a chair in the bedroom that I could sit on to do my make-up ! The IKEA chair was too low to use at the chest of draws. We did put this in the visitor book.

    Reviewed by Martin4.1Jun 2023

  • "The accomodation was excellent and we would recommend it to other couples."

    Excellent location for the sights .

    Reviewed by George3.8Apr 2023

  • "Very pleasant cottage, well presented and well equipped."

    Convenient for the railway station.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Mar 2023

  • "Excellent property, ideal location to Skipton and surrounding areas."

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Dec 2022

  • "Porri Nook had everything we needed to enjoy our short stay in Skipton."

    It’s in a very quiet location tucked away behind a beauty salon, coffee shop and newsagent. We parked on Gainsborough Court, just a minute away. It’s only a 10 minute walk to the High Street and it was fun exploring the lovely old town. We hope we can return to Skipton soon.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "Terrific location."

    Lovely and clean. Nice and quiet. Sykes’ advice not to provide towels is ludicrous and not scientifically backed up. Surprised at lack of basics like vinegar, washing up liquid. Found sofa uncomfortable of an evening. Was able to park around the corner ok.

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Sep 2022

  • "Well maintained property, comfortable, cosy and clean within easy walking distance of Skipton town center."

    Had a great stay.

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Aug 2022

  • "Really stylish, but cosy cottage."

    Within easy walking to distance to park and Skipton town centre.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2022

  • "Porri Nook was a delightful little cottage."

    It was spotlessly clean and had everything required for a break in the Dales. The provision of cleaning materials was a welcome surprise. It was comfortable and quiet and a nice distance from the town centre. Liked the wi-fi and loved the large comfy bed. If we return to Skipton we would use Porri Nook again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2022

  • "Nice cottage, nice spot, will consider for another time"

    Reviewed by Ken4.1May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Porri Nook, Skipton, very much."

    It was well situated for the town and we were able to go out to see different places by car or bus. There are also trains to travel a bit further - all very convenient - a perfect base, and Skipton has its own attractions too. We parked in an adjacent road (Gainsborough Road) and found space on return each time our car was used. Outside the property is really only dropping off space though one or two others did park there a lot of the time. The Spa business at the front used the spaces too. However, this was not a major minus. Porri Nook would be well worth another booking. We were very comfortable. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is our second visit to Porri Nook, I think that says it all."

    We love the make over that has been completed since our last stay. Everything was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We love the location and the fact that there are some lovely walks from the doorstep. Skipton has so much to offer and I am sure we will be back. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Mar 2022

  • "Loved the cottage great location close to skipton, only slight issue is parking by cottage is very hit and miss be careful you don’t get boxed in !"

    We checked out car park just down the road where you can get a weekly pass for £15 which makes it easier or you can park around the corner in adjoining street but spaces are at a premium and once again hit and miss

    Reviewed by Jeremy Thomas5.0Feb 2022

  • "Had a lovely weekend break in this lovely little cottage, well within walking distance of the centre of Skipton."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great holiday at Porri Nook as usual."

    It's our 4th time. Very clean and comfortable. Just a couple of small things. There was only one wine glass and also the plastic tumblers we think should be replaced with glass ones. Ironing board cover also needs replacing as I think the current washing of it means it doesn't fit the board anymore. We loved the new features. Shower great and the new back door and fire are a plus. Thumbs up for that. All in all a very enjoyable week.

    Reviewed by Kathleen4.1Sep 2021

  • "Great cottage."

    Very clean and homely. Near to both train and bus stations. Definitely recommend. Michael Baker.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay at the cottage, and found it very comfortable, and it made a convenient base for travelling around."

    Shower was good and water was hot. Kitchen had most things needed when you're on holiday. Stairs might prove difficult for a more elderly couple.

    Reviewed by Paul4.4May 2021

  • "Great location especially if you don’t want to use your car all the time."

    The town centre is just a short walk away and has everything you need plus lots of cafes, pubs and restaurants and a wonderful market. The cottage is in a very quiet location and had everything we needed for our week away. The weather was a little chilly as you expect in October but the cottage soon warmed up once the heating was on. We had a few problems initially to get the ‘rainfall’ shower to work but once we worked it out it was wonderful. Parking is best around the corner less than 2 minutes walk away.

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Oct 2020

  • "We had a very enjoyable 3rd stay at Porri Nook and found it very comfortable."

    Only 1 thing. The kitchen bin had not been emptied but it wasnt really a problem. We were forewarned about renovations next door but as we were out most of the day it didnt bother us. We had to ring the owner at one point as we couldnt work the shower but found him very accommodating and helpful and was soon sorted. He also gave us news that they are making some new refurbishments shortly so we will look forward to going back next time. Weather was not too bad only got a soaking once. Not bad for october.

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Oct 2020

  • "In the present circumstances a DVD player would be good, also didn't have a bathmat or is that something we need to provide at present."

    The keypad was awkward as all in black so difficult to see numbers. Couldn't get gas fire to work, wouldn't light when using switch. Everything else was fine, thank you. A good location, easy access to town or elsewhere, close to park and short walk to 'farm shop'. We really loved Skipton and would return in the future.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Your comments have been passed on to the Property Owner. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Property Owner

    4.1Sep 2020

  • "Collection and deposit of keys was very difficult to get into and we didn’t ..."

    Collection and deposit of keys was very difficult to get into and we didn’t like having to go through the neighbours garden to get to the back of the property to get the keys,the parking says first come first served but don’t block anyone in my car was blocked in every day ,the carpets are very badly stained,the central heating was difficult to understand the radiators were only Luke warm so had to use gas fire

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the issues you have raised. The owner has been made aware that the neighbours have been doing some refurbishment work on their property so they are sorry if this has impacted your stay in any way. No one has queried the access being at the back before but sorry that you found this to be inconvenient. The owner is going to replace the carpets and upgrade the heating system but would have been happy to help with any of your queries had you called him as he said the heating is fairly easy to use and most people let him know if there are any issues. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Sep 2020

  • "On a pisitive note."

    . Location of cottage was perfect and it was spotlessly clean. However, it needed a fair bit of TLC. The carpet throughout was worn and tired. The large armchair was the same. The outside area was not private at all and we couldn't use it as next door were doing work and constantly in and out of the back. You had to walk through their yard to get to the key safe in arrival which was not clear. The lack of provision of towels was also an inconvenience. We stayed in a property in the PEAK District a few weeks earlier and towels were provided so not sure why Covid was given as a reason for this. Sykes website was easy to use and communication was excellent so I would book with this company again.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We have discussed your comments with the Property Owner who have advised that refurbishment works have been arranged for the property. We understand that towels were provided during your stay at Porri Nook, however due to Covid19 there is a possible risk when providing more than required. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your stay at Porri Nook. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beverley3.1Sep 2020

  • "We had a great time in this house, well equipped for a holiday let ( our first, so its had to compare with any other)."

    We haven't given top marks for comfort as we did not find the settee that comfortable, but that just us. The owners were very responsive in getting pest control to deal with a wasps nest ( the next day). We were only disappointed with noise from the neighbors next door who are renovating the house, they were inconsiderate with there start times ( 7am on one day and just after 8 am on Sunday) but this is beyond the control of the owners and Sykes, we were out and about most of the time so apart from their early starts ,did not bother us too much, but it might other guests.

    Reviewed by Keven4.7Aug 2020

  • "Lovely cozy cottage very near centre of Skipton, lovely holiday."

    Only note would be that you need to be clearer about the parking and situation of the cottage not being on the road, managed perfectly well but the description does not ecplain the courtyard and on arriving this meant several drives up and down in frustration looking for it. I would however certainly book again.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Jul 2020

  • "Porri Nook is a lovely comfortable cottage, a real home from home."

    A great location for the town centre. There is short term parking for dropping off, we had no problem parking in the road close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay cation, it was good to get out walking in the countryside, after weeks in lock down. We certainly plan to return in the future. Thank you

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jul 2020

  • "We really enjoyed ourselves in Skipton and this location was ideal for walking around town to see the sites."

    Also, a small corner grocery right nearby was convenient. The accommodations were excellent and we could not have wished for more. The owners were very helpful and accommodating and we appreciated their assistance. I have already recommended this location for friends & family that are interested in visiting this area of England.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jan 2020

  • "Very nice cottage central to town in a quiet location ."

    Reviewed by Archie5.0Nov 2019

  • "Comfortable cottage in an excellent location."

    No doubt lack of parking is a bit of an issue, but we managed!

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Oct 2019

  • "We loved the cottage itself and Skipton is a really lovely town."

    The whole area is just beautiful. We were however a little disappointed to find there were no cleaning materials sush as j-cloths , scouring pads , kitchen roll plus less than half a toilet roll ! No bath mat could be a problem. It is such a pity because the cottage is lovely and deserves better. I have say we still had a lovely time.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. I am sorry there were no cleaning materials. The cleaner will always provide these on changeover. We have a bath mat that is left outside the bath for use. We thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back in the future to Porri Nook. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick4.7Jun 2019

  • "Clean, comfortable well equipped cottage in a quiet location a few minutes walk from the centre of town."

    An ideal base for a holiday exploring Skipton and the local area.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Jun 2019

  • "The cottage was perfect, location was perfect and Skipton is a lovely place to visit everything was perfect even the weather."

    Reviewed by Deirdre5.0May 2019

  • "Location was convenient and quiet."

    We had come by rail and it was only a 10 minute walk to the station. Facilities were generally adequate but a radio and particularly toilet cleaner would have been welcome. Owners no doubt expect guests to keep the property clean so should provide the means to do so.

    Reviewed by Graham4.4May 2019

  • "Perfect location to walk into Skipton and to drive into the Dale's, Leeds, etc."

    Slightly irritating to have no parking as street parking could be few hundred metres (don't remember that in the listing, maybe I missed it) but still perfectly suited to our needs.

    Reviewed by Phil5.0May 2019

  • "This cottage was perfect."

    As describe with more loveliness. Very comfortable clean and with added extras. The skye team where super helpful. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Dec 2018

  • "No we were happy with everything"

    Reviewed by Meta5.0Nov 2018

  • "Porri Nook is a lovely little cottage and ideal for a couple."

    It was closer to the centre than we thought so that was great. We couldn't fault the cleanliness or comfort of the place that ticked all the boxes. As we came by train the parking was not a problem. As we are a couple in our sixties we thought that the bathroom could do with a non slip mat that could put in the bath when taking a shower and also a grab rail when getting out. These are not major things but we are used to having them on using other cottages. The central heating and fire were great and so easy to use. We would definately stay again and would also recommend Sykes to anyone.

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Nov 2018

  • "A lovely little cottage."

    Very comfortable and clean. It had everything I needed for a week's stay. It was also close to all amenities but in a quiet location. Skipton was great as a base to visit other places such as Bolton Abbey, Malham and Haworth. It was also ideal for walks along the canal and the castle woods and rides on steam trains at Embsay and Keighley. Also plenty of shopping opportunities. A very enjoyable holiday

    Reviewed by Deidre5.0Oct 2018

  • "Met basic requirements but in wet Yorkshire was surprised that there wasn't really anywhere to hang up damp clothes- disappointing, given it was a walking holiday."

    Also- no hairdryer- for the first time in many years of using a wide range of catered and self-catered accommodation. Otherwise ok. We would definitely revisit Skipton but not sure about Porri Nook.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. We have made the necessary changes as per your suggestion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Sep 2018

  • "I could not find fault with this holiday home, everything was of high quality and extremely well though out."

    Even the little things had been carefully chosen, sharp kitchen knives, matching pottery and plant pots at the front and the rear, as well as a pair of garden chairs and table for a quiet breakfast. Whilst there is not parking outside of the property, I had no trouble parking in an adjacent street a few yards away. Skipton Town Center is a short walk away and there is a local corner shop that does a great bacon or sausage bap for breekie.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One king-size double bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with gas fire.
  • Gas central heating with gas flame effect fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power incl in rent
  • Bed linen inc rent
  • Roadside parking
  • Lockable storage
  • Rear yard with garden furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 1 min walk, pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: The stairs are a little steep with a good handrail.

The property

A charming, stone-built terraced cottage, one of the oldest in the North Yorkshire market town of Skipton.

In a great central location and being renovated from Skipton's old coaching house, this lovely cottage is just perfect for couples looking for a romantic break.

The property is full of character and charm throughout with a delightful sitting room with its gas flame-effect fire, tasteful furnishings and a warming atmosphere.

The kitchen/diner is well laid out and the rear door from the kitchen gives access to a small yard area ideal for sitting out after a day out and enjoying a tipple or two.

The first floor boasts a spacious bedroom with a king-size bed and a modern bathroom, providing an ideal place to relax and unwind after a day exploring this wonderful area.

Skipton provides an excellent base to enjoy the many delights of the famous town, recently voted by the Sunday Times as 'the Best Place to Live in Great Britain'.

A short stroll takes guests to the medieval castle, one of the oldest in the country, the lively canal basin, the fabulous four-day market and lovely walks including the not-to-be-missed Skipton woodland walk.

‘Sheep Town’ as the locals often refer to it is a buoyant lived in town with something for everyone.

Further afield, enjoy moorland walks at Bolton Abbey, the local farmers' markets at Grassington or visit elegant Harrogate, all within easy reach of this Skipton cottage.

An ideal cottage to get away from it all and enjoy this superb location.

View on map

About the location

SKIPTON

Grassington 9 miles; Harrogate 20 miles.

Known as “The Gateway to the Dales”, Skipton is well placed for visiting all that the Dales has to offer, whilst York, the Lake District and the West Coast are also within easy motoring distance. This lovely market town has much to interest the enthusiastic visitor, boasting an ancient castle open to the public, a beautiful old parish church and a colourful market occupying the cobbled setts each side of the high street. In 2008 the Academy of Urbanism voted the High Street the best shopping spot in Britain, and The Copper Dragon/Greyhawk Brewery is highly rated in the CAMRA listings. Steam railways with regular excursions are available at Embsay and Bolton Abbey, and the Leeds to Liverpool Canal passes through Skipton with the 1 mile long Foulridge Tunnel and the 5-rise locks at Bingley within a short travel. Golf, swimming, squash, tennis and snooker are all available locally and the excellent public transport means the car can be left at home!

View more holiday cottages in Skipton

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas