Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Carbis Bay View - Cornwall - 1073916 - photo 1
close

Carbis Bay View

Carbis Bay, Cornwall (Ref. 1073916)

3.9

Good

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

27 Customer Reviews

  • "We stayed at Gwel Marten last year so did know what we were getting."

    We opted for a downstairs apartment this time so that we had the outside patio which was much better. The apartment was lovely as was our last one but it just seemed a lot more tired and it wasn’t the cleanest. On the surface it was clean and the important areas like the bathroom and kitchen were clean so I can’t complain there but the cupboards, drawers and shelves where clothes go were so dusty that I couldn’t even put our stuff in some of the areas, I am definitely not cleaning when I’ve paid a fortune to go there so we just didn’t use the spaces, or moved clothes to the front which wasn’t as bad. I bought my own hair dryer so didn’t need the one in the apartment which is just as well as the box to the hair dryer was soaking wet. I picked it up to move it so I could put some things on the shelf and the box just fell apart. The toilet seat was broken as soon as we arrived, this was very obvious and I am so disappointed we had to even experience this as this would have been very apparent when cleaning the bathroom as an entire piece that holds the seat in place was missing. Although Carbis Bay responded immediately, no one could fix it until Monday at the earliest. We didn’t want anyone in with all our belongings so we had to leave the beach early Tuesday to enable it to be fixed. It’s just something that should have been rectified before we arrived and for the money we paid, we shouldn’t have had to deal with all the hassle or the the crashes in the middle of the night when the toilet seat came apart when people used it. On a whole it was lovely staying there and we do still like the building but just felt there were things not as good as last year. We have been back 2 weeks and still haven’t had our deposit back, last year we were contacted within days to arrange a transfer so again this is disappointing as £100 is a lot of money and we should really be given compensation for all the hassle. Another little side note and me being really picky is the cheese grater is rubbish, these flat ones with a tiny section for each type of grate options are just useless as there’s not enough space to do anything with the cheese. But this is just a little something which annoyed me, but complete personal preference. Another bin bag would have been appreciated too. Again we had a few last year and had none other than the one in the bin this time, I would have bought some with me if I had known we wouldn’t get any spare. I did go in a few shops and couldn’t get any to fit the bin, again something I shouldn’t have had to do on holiday. That just seems really silly to me when it’s in everyone’s best interest to keep the place clean and tidy.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you had a few issues during your stay. If you have any issues like this during your stay, please contact the local office on 01736 630015 option 2, open Monday to Saturday 9am-5:30pm, one of the local team would be more than happy to help and would like to rectify areas such as cleaning as quickly as possible. We apologise as these areas should have been picked up before check-in at 4pm, we would have liked the opportunity to be able to fix these once they had been noticed on your arrival. We are glad that we responded immediately, unfortunately Sunday is the only day we are closed, but when you contacted us on Sunday afternoon our out of hours emergency line assisted to sort this. Since June 2021 we have not held security deposits, so there was no £100 taken for us to return unfortunately, however if you would like us to go through this then please give us a call. Because the property is self catering, a starter pack is provided, but anything required after this is needing to be purchased by the guests. We apologise that there seems to have been some confusion, but we thank you for your comments, these have been reported to the housekeeper to ensure these things don’t happen again. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by AngelaJul 2022

  • "A great position to enjoy the beautiful setting of Carbis Bay, the views are fantastic."

    Overall the apartment was very clean, tidy & had most of what we needed for the week. The parking across the road was a bit of a pain when unloading but we knew this when we booked. The fact it was covered parking actually made it more difficult because we had a roof box so I had to take this off after unloading & then put it back on when we were ready to leave which was a bit of a pain. We loved our stay & the kids enjoyed being so close to the beach. We probably weren’t prepared for the steepness of some of the hills, especially with having younger children but they coped ok & unfortunately we learned after being there a few days that you pretty much have to book ahead to eat out as most places get full very quickly.

    Dear Mr Baker, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and comments following your stay at Carbis Bay View and we are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and enjoyed staying so close to the beach, despite the parking situation of the property which did not seem to be ideal for you and the steep hills of Carbis Bay which come with the unique, beautiful location of Carbis Bay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelMay 2022

  • "We asked before we came about the black mould issue as my daughter has asthma."

    In the back room where me and my daughter shared has black mould over the back of the curtains. We bad to go to tesco and get mould remover and try to scrub it off. The view out of the front window was really beautiful and was breathtaking. In the kitchen there is everything we needed. I wouldn't recommend this place to people who can't walk up and down steps as we couldn't find wheelchair access. The parking is really tight. We were in number 7, we have a large car and we found it really difficult to park in the small space. The parking area could have very easily scratched the sides of the car. But like I said the view is beautiful, it is a very comfortable place, the beds were very comfortable too, none of us had a bad night sleep. The arrival time of 5pm was a problem as we had to travel down through the night so the little one could sleep through the journey. We were stuck out in the rain just walking around St ives for hours.

    Dear Mr Lawrenson, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We have passed on the points you raised about the bedrooms to our property team. If we had been made aware of your findings we would have tried to rectify to the best of our ability. In regard to the access, we do give access details on the listing; we list the access from the parking area/communal areas to the property for guests. We also have detailed property access statements for each property that are available upon request. On the web we specify the parking and in many cases give the measurements; this can be found within the property listing on our website. We understand that properties with parking in the St Ives and Carbis Bay area is important when booking, therefore we attempt to give as much detail as possible for guest arrival and expectations. We hope to invite you back in the future. Kind Regards, Owner Relations, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewDec 2021

  • "Perfect base for a much needed holiday!"

    Fabulous views over Carbis Bay to St Ives. Would love to stay again. One issue during Storm Aurore which was immediately attended to.

    Reviewed by LisaOct 2021

  • "Flat in a splendid location, however strong smell of dampness eminating from the bedroom at the rear of the property throughout the flat."

    The give away we’re the unibond dehumidifiers in the rear bedroom and cupboards in the flat. The smell took over a week of heat and ventilation to subside but still lingered. The decor was tired with sand in between the sofa cushions. The walls were stained and the carpet needs a good clean as does the window frame in the front room. The tv is in need of upgrading (sustained corner on the screen)

    Dear Mr Palmer, Thank you for your feedback, we will take a look at the television, as well as the other points you have highlighted in terms of the décor and carpets. We are very sorry to hear that the cleaning did not meet your expectations. We are looking into this, however please always feel free to give us a call on 01736 630015 (option 2) during your stay and we would address anything which you are not happy with. Regarding damp, this can be an issue with properties so close to the sea, so we do use dehumidifiers to help address it. We are also looking into alternative ventilation systems to improve the air circulation in the flat. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidOct 2021

  • "Failed to meet expectations because of cleanliness ..."

    Failed to meet expectations because of cleanliness The water in the bathroom sink was not draining well , so lifted up plug to find it absolutely filthy black clearly not been cleaned in months to be in that state also around the the base and behind the toilet and bidet had not been cleaned in ages , very disappointed when cant get in til 5pm and have to leave by 9am because cleaners coming in I do have photos which i would like to send if you could tell me how i could do so i did take then into the Carbis bay office at the time kind regards Cheryl

    Dear Mrs Greaves-Fissenden, Thank you for raising the cleaning issues during your stay. We have spoken with the housekeeper to ensure that these things are rectified and addressed moving forward. We hope you enjoyed the property and had a lovely holiday whilst you were down in Carbis Bay. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by CherylSep 2021

  • "Such a beautiful apartment."

    We had a wonderful week thank you!

    Reviewed by KirstyJun 2021

  • "Back for the second time."

    Will be back again. That view is addictive.

    TestimonialSep 2019

  • "A wonderful week."

    A great apartment and great beaches. An excellent week of weather which meant we spent most of our time on the beaches and in the sea. Wow, what a wonderful view!!

    TestimonialAug 2019

  • "We’ve had a lovely holiday."

    A beautiful view, excellent facilities and very spacious. Plenty to do around Carbis Bay, from the gorgeous beach, go karting and trips to St Ives. We are hopefully coming back next year!

    TestimonialJul 2019

  • "Lovely apartment, fantastic view."

    Love it here.

    TestimonialJun 2019

  • "We were delighted by Carbis Bay View and found it well equipped, spacious and, of course, had that amazing view from inside and on the patio."

    Thanks for letting out this great place. Couldn’t be better appointed with the bonus of the train station a stone’s throw away.

    TestimonialJun 2019

  • "Agree wholeheartedly with previous guests’ comments – the first time we have rented an apartment that was better than we expected!"

    TestimonialJun 2019

  • "Our 19th year in St Ives area, many of which in Gwel Marten but first time in this apartment."

    Still finding new things to do – lots of strenuous walking plus pasties + cream teas!

    TestimonialMay 2019

  • "Our 3rd year of summer half terms in this building, our second in this apartment, which is perfect for us."

    The view never ceases to enthral. Thank you for sharing your lovely apartment with us.

    TestimonialMay 2019

  • "Great apartment and fantastic views."

    Blessed with wonderful weather for October. We loved the coastal path walking and running. Easy walk to St Ives and loved catching the train back. Such easy walking distance to so many placed, great location! We will be back, many thanks.

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • "What a delight this apartment is!"

    Congratulations to all concerned. We’ve had a lovely week in spite of our weather. Carbis Bay never loses its magic for us. We first came on our honeymoon 63 years ago and we come as often as we can. Thanks to everyone. Doreen and Stan Topliss

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • "Another wonderful week plenty of walks into St Ives."

    Would recommend the Hub, Pedn Olva, Porthminster Beach Café for food. The Yellow Canary does gluten free pasties. Penrose Estate offers lonely walking on the south coast and coastal path into Porth Leven, very huge waves.

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • ""Lovely apartment, had everything you could possibly need, lovely and clean."

    Fabulous views and good weather!" The Days

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • ""First time in Carbis Bay and St Ives."

    We loved it. Lots of great places visited. We’ll be back." Turnock Family

    TestimonialJun 2018

  • ""What a great week!"

    Apartment wonderful, very clean, roomy and relaxing. Spent time on Carbis beach, in St Ives looking for sea glass/pottery, visited the seal sanctuary at Gweek, looked round Porthleven and Godrevy beach. Can recommend it all." The Millingtons

    TestimonialJun 2018

  • ""We had a wonderful week."

    We have been to West Cornwall before and staying at Gwel Marten was perfect. We kayaked on the Helford, enjoyed breakfast at the Sunset Surf Cafe at Gwithian. Got to Porthcurno, The Minack Theatre and Sennen Cove. The highlight: stand up paddleboarding at Carbis Bay for the first time." Emma Holder, Ian and Libby

    TestimonialMay 2018

  • ""A lovely holiday in this gorgeous flat – our second visit to Gwel Marten but first stay here."

    Loved having the garden. Only two days of rain – not bad for half term! Thank you!" Nick, Kate, Freddie and Lucy

    TestimonialMay 2018

  • "Great family break, lush apartment and weather was lovely!"

    Thank you for a lovely stay!

    TestimonialMay 2018

  • "Thank you for a brilliant holiday, the house was as good as we wanted it to be."

    The location of the train was fabulous, we walked most days. The views from the house are superb. We wished we could have stayed for longer. It was most Definity worth the 7-hour drive! Thank you

    TestimonialMay 2018

  • ""Enjoyed staying here again and the week of stunning sunshine added to the experience" Pam & Frank Duxbury"

    TestimonialApr 2018

  • ""Lovely apartment with amazing views."

    Arrived to scones, milk and apple juice. Looking forward to coming here again. High recommended." The Perrys

    TestimonialApr 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Carbis Bay Holidays collection.
Escape to a luxury holiday cottage nudging the Cornish coast. Carbis Bay Holidays collection of stylish self-catering accommodation ranges from penthouse apartments overlooking the white-sand beaches of St Ives, to designer country homes a pebble’s throw from the coast.

Summary

  • Ground-floor apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with LCD TV with Freeview, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail, bidet and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Electric storage heaters
  • Double oven/grill, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview and DVD player, TV with Freeview, DAB Radio/CD with Bluetooth, Wifi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair provided
  • Off-road undercover parking for 1 car
  • Seaward facing terrace, rear enclosed courtyard, seaward facing communal gardens, outdoor furniture
  • Sorry no pets, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 1.1 miles, beach 0.3 miles
  • Note: There is a large step up into the shower cubicle, please take care
  • Note: Please bring your own bedding for use of the cot
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am

The property

As you would expect from its name, Cabris Bay View, this contemporary apartment enjoys views over the stunning Carbis Bay.

However, what you may not expect is how breath-taking they are.

Step on to the seaward facing patio from the living area and just wonder at the view across Carbis Bay Beach, across to St Ives and beyond.

Thanks to a clever open-plan design this wonderful Cornish vista flows throughout this ground floor apartments sitting and dining area.

Sleeping four in two well-presented bedrooms and perfect for exploring the beautiful coastline on the South West Coast Path or making the most of St Ives, it’s ideal for a family holiday.

Sit back in one of the reclining leather armchairs in the sitting area, gaze through the large bay window at the seaside scenes before you.

You may even spot a seal or dolphins at play or relax with a glass of wine enjoying the entertainment on the Freeview TV with DVD.

The dining area is adjacent to the sitting area and kitchen great for socialising with the chef.

An oak table with six cream leather dining chairs are positioned to let you enjoy the ocean views.

The kitchen is perfectly placed within the living area adjacent to the dining area with a breakfast bar.

It’s fully fitted and well-appointed with everything you need.

Both bedrooms are located overlooking the rear courtyard.

These quiet rooms ensure a peaceful night’s sleep.

The master bedroom has a sumptuous double bed, and the second room is a twin.

The family bathroom has a bath and separate shower enclosure.

A sea facing terrace exclusive for guests is accessed through a door in the sitting area.

There is a table with four chairs for you to enjoy dining alfresco watching the sunset over St Ives while relaxing to the sound of the waves.

The rear enclosed courtyard offers a peaceful retreat with a selection of potted plants, a great place to enjoy a book.

The beautiful communal gardens of Gwel Marten can be accessed from the terrace and are available for all guests to use.

From here you can access the SW coastal path with a scenic walk to St Ives in one direction and Porthkidney and Hayle in the other.

Or enjoy riding on one of the most scenic rail journeys in the country.

The nearby service stops at St Ives and surrounding area.

Our view is you will need to search hard to match the view found from Carbis Bay View.

Floorplans

Ground Floor

Gwel Marten

Gwel Marten Apartments occupy a superb position on Headland Road at Carbis Bay. With dramatic views along Carbis Bay beach across to St Ives and Godrevy Lighthouse in the other direction.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

CARBIS BAY

St Ives 2 miles ; Hayle 3.5 miles ; Penzance 8.5 miles

Just a short drive from iconic St Ives, the seaside village of Carbis Bay is best-known for its beautiful stretch of pure white sand. With turquoise waters and sheltered conditions, the beach feels almost subtropical and is the perfect spot for a good old-fashioned day by the sea. The beach is also home to the Ocean Sports Centre, so if sunbathing is not really your thing, why not hire a kayak or SUP and get out on the water instead. Or why not treat yourself to a Spa day at the delightful hotel which overlooks the beach and has a fabulous terrace where cocktails can be enjoyed in the Cornish sunshine? Carbis Bay has a small range of local shops and restaurants as well as a fish & chip takeaway and railway branch line. The train journey from Carbis Bay into St Ives is perhaps one of the most beautiful in the country; St Ives additionally makes for a great day out, with plenty of galleries to explore. The quayside town of Hayle also isn't far and is home to activities for the all the family, including a golf and a wildlife sanctuary. The Godrevy Nature Reserve and Penwith Heritage Coast are also within easy reach from Carbis Bay, providing outdoors and watersports plans with even more activities to partake in, including coasteering and birdwatching. Carbis Bay is truly a wonderful holiday location for those wanting to experience Cornwall's breathtaking coastline.

Region Information

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.
Car parking: 2.4m wide 6.2m length 1.9m high
Access from the parking area is down one level via 20 steps and then one step into the apartment.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas