Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 49 minutes ago

15 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Valley View - Cornwall - 1040471 - photo 1
close

Valley View

(Ref. 1040471)

Mevagissey, Cornwall Show on map

4.9

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (25)
  • our (21)
  • cottage (21)
  • stay (19)
  • garden (16)
  • beautiful (14)

49 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely warm cosy cottage with amazing views."

    Our first Christmas away and we managed to cook a full turkey roast dinner in the neat little kitchen. The cottage is ideal for exploring all the lovely towns and villages around that area. The dog friendly garden was perfect for our dogs to roam. Mark and Jo were friendly and helpful and on hand if needed. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2023

  • "A lovely stay, perfect for us."

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Nov 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay, first thing we saw on entering the living area, was a Cornish cream team, with wonderful scones clotted cream and jam, plus milk for a cuppa."

    The cottage is very tasteful and clean, well equipped and a great place to visit all the coastlines, quaint villages and towns and beaches, and the Lost gardens of Haligan in this area.

    Reviewed by Rosaline Margaret5.0Oct 2023

  • "Excellent cottage lovely views had a wonderful time nice outside area for our ..."

    Excellent cottage lovely views had a wonderful time nice outside area for our two dogs to play would definitely go back again

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2023

  • "Fantastically quiet location, big garden, beautiful views."

    A real treat. Great location for touring about South Cornwall, lovely.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2023

  • "Our German shepherd (gibbs) loved the freedom of the garden."

    He even liked the postman, even though postman was surprised he was there lol. (Sorry postman). This is a beautiful, relaxing and peaceful place to stay. The cream tea was a very nice touch, scones beautiful, thankyou.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2023

  • "We certainly loved our week at your apartment."

    It was tastefully decorated and very comfortable and everything was provided for. You had literally everything you required, down to all the cleaning equipment and entertainment. Only found out you had jigsaw puzzles and playing cards on our last day!, towels and poo bags for the dogs. Our dogs loved it and to have the freedom in the garden and your adjacent field. We certainly love to come back some day and would definitely recommend your holiday home to friends and family.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jul 2023

  • "Property and grounds were lovely, peaceful, relaxing and in a great area for lots to do during our stay."

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jun 2023

  • "An immaculate property in an outstanding location."

    Very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. A huge garden which our dog loved. It was so tranquil there. We had an amazing week.

    Reviewed by Graeme5.0Jun 2023

  • "Brilliant week for the two of us and our dog."

    We have already booked again for next year!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0May 2023

  • "We chose Valley View for our weeks stay as we wanted somewhere in the countryside where our two Cavaliers were welcome."

    The property was delightful, spotlessly clean and very well equipped and there was even a cream tea waiting for us on arrival. Our dogs were able to walk around the enclosed garden in safety and our hosts were very friendly and offered any extra help if needed. Thank you. We had a wonderful week in a perfect location for us. If you like being 'Off the beaten track', I would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had a brilliant week at valley view cottage in Cornwall, loved the whole experience lovely cottage best holiday we’ve had up to date."

    We will defiantly be booking again and also our dog Bella loved her first holiday away. Thanks Gwen & Steve

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a great location."

    The cottage was extremely clean and the hosts were very helpful and friendly. We felt really relaxed after our holiday and couldn’t fault a thing! We would highly recommend the cottage.

    Reviewed by Bryony5.0Apr 2023

  • "Well presented warm and friendly."

    Lovely situation. The owners very friendly and helpfull. Felt very at home . Very suitable for the dogs. Had the weather been kinder to us it would have been marvelous.

    Reviewed by Cindy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Beautiful, clean and well equipped property with fantastic views."

    We stayed with two dogs and there was plenty of secure outside space for them to run around. The hosts were very friendly and available if needed. We really enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Heidi5.0Mar 2023

  • "This is a beautiful cottage, very clean and comfortable, large garden ideal for dogs, owners are friendly and helpful and would definitely recommend staying here for a holiday."

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a great stay the dogs loved ii especially the bit of snow we had on the Monday."

    There were Scones clotted cream and jam waiting for us along with some eggs and milk. There was even a birthday card and some fiz for the wife. We will be going back later this year.

    Reviewed by Charlie5.0Jan 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    Clean warm and comfortable. Well equipped with everything of good quality. It is situated in a really quiet area within wasy walking distance to Mevagissey and the Coastal Path. Great secure sole use garden for dogs with a private field and woods adjoining. Jo and Mark.are fabulous hosts. Look forward to a return visit.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Dec 2022

  • "Getting rid of rubbish."

    Visitors do not know what goes in which dustbin bag as every borough is different. I would suggest this is written in the property instructions on arrival.At this property there was a black bin a red bag an orange bag and a black sack dustbin.

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Dec 2022

  • "We recently stayed at the property for 4 nights and we cannot recommend it enough."

    The property was clean, well stocked and exactly how it was described online. We’ll definitely be coming again in the future!

    Reviewed by Loui5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely clean apartment with gorgeous views Everything you need for a lovely ..."

    Lovely clean apartment with gorgeous views Everything you need for a lovely holiday Close to great dog friendly beaches and beautiful coastal villages Loads of land for the dogs to run around and a nice path through the fields We loved it there and so did the dogs

    Reviewed by Alice5.0Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely wonderful place to stay - wonderful hosts, very friendly and property was very clean with everything you need (would have been great to access Netflix for an evening movie when it's rainy) - BUT we were so busy we didn't really need it :) Our labrador loved it, lots of open spaces within the property to walk."

    Fresh eggs, cream tea and doggy basket upon arrival. Perfect thank you for a great stay!

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings."

    There were scones, jam, cream and half a dozen eggs there for us on our arrival but it would have been better if there was a pint of milk too so we could have a cuppa because, after a 7 hour car journey, I needed a coffee. The cottage was central for lots of exploring and lovely walks locally. Mevagissey was within walking distance, easy to get there as all downhill but it was a steep climb back up. The one thing I missed was a washing machine. We stayed for 2 weeks so would have been good to be able to get a few bits washed ready for week 2. I am not being negative, just giving feedback because we really did enjoy our stay. Lovely enclosed garden for the dogs too.

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had the most wonderful stay in Valley View."

    The accommodation was lovely and we were able to comfortably accommodate our 2 giant breed dogs for our 14 day stay. This was a fantastic base for exploring the miles of coastline and scenery. We felt so welcomed throughout our stay, especially with arriving to clotted cream scones and fresh eggs. It was also nice to have a few cupboard essentials as well such as the tea, coffee and sugar. Our 2 dogs had a large garden to bumble and chase about in and became fond of your resident dogs through the fence. We had a restful and peaceful break and will look forward to booking again in the future. Thank you

    Reviewed by Bridgette5.0Apr 2022

  • "Valley View is a lovely place to stay and call base for a week in a perfect location to explore Mevagissey and Cornwall in general."

    It is a clean, well presented apartment that was always comfortable to come back to each evening and peaceful. The short distances to Mevagissey and Portmellon make walking in to town and it's wonderful amenities a pleasure, although be prepared for the steep hills on the way back! The welcome pack of a homemade cream tea with local jams and eggs was very welcome.

    Reviewed by Marc5.0Apr 2022

  • "We were welcomed with eggs and a cream tea ."

    The cream tea was very welcome after our journey Our hosts

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2022

  • "This lovely cottage was perfect for my dog and myself."

    The bathroom has been beautifully refurbished removing the bath and replacing with a large walk in shower. So much human and pet consideration. More provided than I expected. The garden was large and secure, the paddocks and woodlands all clean and clear for the dog o run in. Once here you can walk into Mevagissey only 1 1/4 miles away. Thank you. X

    Reviewed by Judi5.0Mar 2022

  • "We had a wonderful time at Valley View in such a beautiful cottage."

    The hosts were really welcoming and made this a very enjoyable stay with many thoughtful, kind gestures (and delicious scones upon arrival!). The village of Mevagissey was also great to explore with other towns nearby - overall, perfect location, lovely cottage and would highly recommend to others for a wonderful time away.

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Dec 2021

  • "A lovely little cottage, we stayed over Christmas and had a beautiful lazy time."

    The dogs loved the garden and woodland especially the little pond. The eggs on arrival were lovely as the scones. The owners were very friendly and had a chat when we bumped into each other but apart from that completely left us to our own devices. Brilliant.

    Reviewed by Colin4.4Dec 2021

  • "Very comfortable and cosy."

    Was smaller than expected but had everything we needed, as per the listing.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Dec 2021

  • "Made most welcome couldn't be more helpful"

    Reviewed by Dennis4.4Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful hideaway place - booked again for next May!"

    !

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Oct 2021

  • "Excellent cottage."

    Everything you need for two. Beautiful area and views from cottage.

    Reviewed by June5.0Aug 2021

  • "Very nice little house in a superb location."

    Thanks for the fresh eggs and the cream tea.

    Reviewed by Glenn4.7Aug 2021

  • "A warm welcome board outside the cottage and lovely new laid eggs and scones inside."

    The cottage was absolutely lovely bright airy and fresh. Everything had been carefully thought out to make people’s stay a perfect holiday.The view from the cottage were stunning looking down over the valley. The family who own the cottage were so lovely. It was such a shame to leave such a beautiful location.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2021

  • "Lovely place to stay, Mark and Jo were very helpful and welcoming, everything in the apartment was lovely and it was a very quiet peaceful place."

    Stanley our Labrador pup loved it too, especially the enclosed garden.

    Reviewed by Charmian5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage is in a beautiful location and was equiped with everything we needed and more."

    The hosts were very welcoming. A perfect place we would happily use again

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Jul 2021

  • "Our stay at Valley View was amazing the cottage is simply beautiful location the ..."

    Our stay at Valley View was amazing the cottage is simply beautiful location the same the views every morning were stunning our hosts Mark and Jo were very friendly and accommodating we would highly recommend and would stay again

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Jul 2021

  • "A lovely cottage that was absolutely spotless and only a mile away from Mevagissey ."

    Location had an elevated position with lovely views across the valley. A cream tea and fresh farm eggs were provided on arrival which was very much appreciated. Lots of walking straight from the cottage suited us perfectly.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jun 2021

  • "Beautiful retreat in a lovely setting."

    Hosts were friendly and we’d definitely stay again and would recommend highly.

    Reviewed by Darren4.7May 2021

  • "The property was exactly as it appeared on the website and is a credit to the owners."

    Nice welcoming touches on our arrival and the owners were very pleasant and helpful. For a quiet stay in a lovely location, Valley View was just the ticket!

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Apr 2021

  • "This a lovely little cottage & base to tour this part of Cornwall."

    Location perfect & the views are stunning, very secure & lovely garden & the hosts were fabulous. A+++++ property, even just to stay at VV & relax in garden was lovely, we would definitely book Valley View again. Andrea, Gary, Snoop Dog & Milo.

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Apr 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage in a lovely setting, easy to travel to different locations."

    We received a lovely welcome of scones, jam and clotted cream, delicious! Only downside was we had to return home.

    Reviewed by Sidney5.0Oct 2020

  • "Was great place to stay, and in a great area"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2020

  • "Excellent, well equipped cottage in great setting."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2020

  • "This was our third visit to Valley View and once again we were not disappointed."

    The property was spotlessly clean upon arrival and the cream tea was very much appreciated. Our dog, Rosie, had her own treats of biscuits, towel, bowl and place mat which were so useful. Mark and Jo have recently taken ownership of the property and have worked hard to enhance the extended grounds which you are welcome to use in addition to the secure garden which you can enjoy with your dog. Although Mark and Jo live next door they are not intrusive in any way and totally respect your privacy, however, they are extremely kind and helpful. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

    Reviewed by Rhiannon5.0Sep 2020

  • "Had a really relaxing holiday at valley view the host were really welcoming when we arrived and the cottage was exactly what we expected."

    We visited over 10 different places while we stayed for a week, so the cottage is very well situated to get out and about. Once again had a lovely holiday and will recommend valley view to our friends. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Aug 2020

  • "Peaceful location and lots of lovely dog friendly beaches and lots of lovely walks"

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Mar 2020

  • "The new owners were very friendly and welcoming."

    The cottage was clean and very well maintained with new heating and bed/mattress/bedding which was extremely comfortable. Can not recommend highly enough and will definitely be booking again next year

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Mar 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • One double bedroom with king-size bed and en-suite, large double shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Motion-sensor electric heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with gravelled patio and lawned area with furniture
  • Shared access to 10 acres of grounds
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, not to be left their own, not on furniture or in the bedroom
  • There is a kennel in the barn if you wish to use
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.5 miles
  • Note: No children, only babe in arms, travel cot provided
  • Note: The bath is no longer at the property, new pictures are to be uploaded

The property

Perfect for the relaxing break the two of you keep promising yourselves, this beautifully furnished apartment, is located 1.5 miles from the lovely harbour and seaside town of Mevagissey and places such as Gorran Haven and Portmellon Cove on the South coast are nearby.

Arriving along the green country lanes you will relax the minute you open the gates to Valley View and pull up to your accommodation and enjoy the countryside views.

Enter into the beautifully-furnished open plan living area with kitchen, a comfortable dining area and cosy sitting area and then through to the delightful bedroom with its en-suite bathroom.

Outside a lawned area together with the patio offers a great spot for a morning coffee or a relaxing drink at the end of the day.

Dog owners will be delighted with the options for walking here with footpaths all around with a woodland area part of the 10 acres available to you.

Amongst the walks you must not miss is the stunning walk through the valley to Portmellon cove, a peaceful cove and a sandy beach which is tidal and completely covered at high water.

Here you will find the Rising Sun, a traditional Cornish pub with enviable views across the bay, a perfect place to sit, enjoy a drink and some lunch whilst waiting for the tide to go out again!

From here the famous and far busier village and fishing port of Mevagissey is only a 20 minute walk where you can enjoy the narrow winding streets without having to worry about parking.

The Lost Gardens of Heligan is another must visit and again an easy walk along footpaths across fields.

A wonderful apartment to relax and enjoy the outstanding natural surroundings whatever the time of year.

View on map

About the location

MEVAGISSEY

St. Austell 5.5 miles; Truro 16 miles.

The perfect Cornish fishing village, with winding cobbled streets and a picturesque harbour full of boats. Stunning walks lead along the coast in both directions, with sandy beaches, high cliffs and hidden coves to explore. The village has an excellent selection of pubs and restaurants, whilst just up the road are the Lost Gardens of Heligan. A ferry from Mevagissey to Fowey also runs daily between Easter and September. Spend some time at the Tall Ships harbour at Charlestown (7 miles) with its shipwreck museum, or among the tropical biomes of the world-famous Eden Project (11 miles). The stunning coastline, fabulous beaches and renowned gardens of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula are a short drive down the coast while Truro, with its shops, restaurants, theatre and cathedral can be reached by car in half an hour.

View more holiday cottages in Mevagissey

Note: The bath is no longer at the property, new pictures are to be uploaded

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas