Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 56 minutes ago

18 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Lakeside - Cornwall - 976428 - photo 1
close
  • Lakeside - (Ref. 976428)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen / Dining Hall Dining Room Living Room WC Utility

Photos

Video

Floorplans

Lakeside

(Ref. 976428)

Millbrook, Cornwall Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (17)
  • well (11)
  • comfortable (11)
  • our (11)
  • stay (11)
  • holiday (10)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "I know the area well from earlier years so the cottage location was exactly as expected!"

    It is very comfortable and was a real 'home from home' for me.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2023

  • "We booked this cottage not knowing too much about Millbrook."

    There isnt a great deal in Millbrook itself but there is a fair bit around it. Mount Edgcume is a nice place to visit and Maker Heights was recommended but really wasnt for us. The views over the lake from the property were lovely and it is possible to go crabbing here at high tide which was fun. The property itself is nice but has a severe damp issue - you could see the water in the walls! The utility room was incredibly damp and the owners leave a dehumidifier on 24/7 to try to combat it. The garden is nice and mostly enclosed - an intrepid explorer would find a way out at the bottom so we just blocked that off with garden furniture. The patio door is old and broke during our stay. The owner was helpful and quick at arranging a handyman but really it needs replacing completely. The cleanliness overall was good but could be better. We (4 adults, 1 older teenager and 2 dogs) had a good week here but, if you have dogs, be aware there doesnt seem to be many walks locally for them. Most seem a drive out. Overall we were happy here and had a good holiday, theres just some things that need some TLC.

    Reviewed by Emma2.5Aug 2023

  • "Perfect property for our extended family to holiday together."

    Spacious and comfortable cottage equipped with everything you could possibly think of. Peaceful and picturesque in a friendly village.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Aug 2023

  • "This was the best property we have stayed at, great location, a lot of thought had obviously been put into what was needed for a great relaxing holiday, all the rooms were comfortable, kitchen well stocked and much more spacious than advertised, the garden is such a great place when the sunshine’s, which it did all week, a real credit to the owners, we’ll be back and ideal for those with adult children who wish to jump on the ferry and explore the delights of Plymouth, well the bars."

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Lakeside much more then expected, its extremely quiet, comfortable and peaceful with a stunning view of the lake."

    The cottage is beautiful, everything you need is there, a real home from home. We are thinking of staying there for our next holiday!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely peaceful week and enjoyed the house, garden and the surrounding area."

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0May 2023

  • "This property exceeded expectations with the amount of domestic equipment available, especially in the kitchen."

    If the weather had been friendlier we could have use the extensive garden furniture more. Our energetic 3 year-old granddaughter enjoyed running around the garden and bug hunting on the clement days. The property is thoughtfully decorated throughout, although we had to put some items out of reach of our now crawling and investigating 10 month old g-d. She certainly kept us all on our toes. The mains multi-plugs with USB charging ports also came in very handy. Thank you for providing a first class destination.

    Reviewed by Ken5.0May 2023

  • "Happy for this to be public: Our stay was absolutely lovely - the house was clean, fresh flowers on the table and tea cups, pot and biscuits laid out was really welcoming."

    The fire was easy to light and the place was really well equipped. We were there to celebrate a birthday and a wedding: there are not many holiday cottages which have champagne flutes available! We didn't need to unpack the ones we had brought! Our host, when I spoke to her on the phone before arrival, was really helpful with local advice. All in all a wonderful stay For private feedback: The only thing I would feedback is that upstairs was quite chilly, which we like - we are hardy folk! But it would have been nice to have a few more blankets or duvets available.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Feb 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay over Christmas in this delightful property."

    There were a few ongoing maintenance issues which we were informed about and kept up to date about eg water, heating etc. The owner was prompt in dealing with any issues and that made us feel very welcome. We have previously stayed in Lakeside and knew that the accommodation suited our multi-generational family party including children and dogs. Everyone was very happy and loved the space offered. The only drawback is the doormat at the front door and lack thereof at the kitchen patio doors; we felt that washable dirt trapping mats would be better. Otherwise we had a brilliant holiday and thoroughly recommend a stay at Lakeside!!

    Reviewed by Sioux4.4Dec 2022

  • "This was a lovely cottage."

    Peaceful and warm, we were there in October chilly weather. Easy parking right outside and off road. Kitchen well equipped. Great bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Plenty of room and seating for 8 people.

    Reviewed by Olwen5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was one of the best holidays that we have ever had!"

    We travelled as three generations and our little dog visiting a part of Cornwall that we didn’t know well but the owner was generous with her time and shared with us a wealth of local knowledge. The cottage is spacious and comfortable but it is the location that provides the WOW factor, we could hardly take our eyes from the view across the lake and over the estuary to Plymouth. Lakeside is perfectly positioned for local exploring without having to drive too far and if you like walking then you won’t be disappointed. None of us wanted to leave at the end of our stay stay! Thank you for having us!

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Aug 2022

  • "Very enjoyable holiday, ideal location and extremely comfortable, spacious property."

    Fantastic garden and outdoor space with excellent view across the estuary.

    Reviewed by Glenn5.0Aug 2022

  • "Excellent property in a beautiful location."

    Situated just a few feet from the Tamar estuary with fantastic views from most rooms and the huge garden, this property is spacious with every amenity you need for a glorious stay. Close to Cawsand/Kingsland, Edgecumbe House and country park, Whitsand bay and Rame Head.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jul 2022

  • "The property was amazing, with wonderful views and was equipped with everything you could wish for and more!"

    It had great space for all three generations and was comfortable for us all. The only issue we found was the mattress in the double bedroom would recommend replacing or at least a mattress topper, we found it uncomfortable to sleep on, very hard/firm. All the other beds were great! The cottage is a great base to go and explore the local area. We all had an amazing time here! Such a wonderful peaceful place to stay.

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Apr 2022

  • "A beautiful property with stunning views over the sea."

    Really well appointed inside with more than enough essentials for a comfortable stay. We would happily book to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Dec 2021

  • "There is a huge noise made everytime water is used."

    Those sleeping in back room kept getting woken every time a toilet or tap was used. The back room is also pretty cold and damp, the heater doesn't work. Some of the doors kitchen and captains bedroom were really tricky to open, folk kept getting stuck in or out.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate you didn't raise any of these points with the owner during your stay as she would have been pleased to assist (she will investigate now). Hopefully you made good use of the two portable oil filled radiators which were at your disposal as these are provided to offer extra heating, if required. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie4.1Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage full of character and a view that’s lovely to wake up to every morning."

    Has everything you could wish for and the bed was probably more comfortable than my own!! Lots to do in the local area, highly recommend a visit and hope to return one day!!

    Reviewed by Cath5.0Jul 2021

  • "Gorgeous, spacious house in a beautiful, quiet location."

    If anything the pictures don't do it justice.

    Reviewed by Hugh5.0Jun 2021

  • "Exceptionally well equipped and comfortable cottage."

    Owner very responsive when we had a problem. Nice to explore a quieter and more forgotten area of Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Ms4.7Oct 2020

  • "The cottage is in a lovely position, beaches, park ,walks and village within easy travelling distance."

    The inside of the cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equiped and spacious. The mattress on the second kingsize bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and could do with replacing. Also the clothes line and swing have seen better days and again could do with replacing. The large metal garden table and chairs could do with a thorough cleaning, as even though we had very good weather, we did not fancy using them to eat outside.We also had to remove dog mess from the garden before allowing our six year old outside to play.This is the first time we have rented a holiday cottage and due to the cost for the week, we did expect both the garden and cottage to be pristine.The cottage lived up to our expectation, but not the garden We did have a plumbing issue, but this was dealt with immediately. Having said the above, we had a wonderful week and if the above issues were sorted it would have been absoutely perfect.

    Reviewed by Gillian4.1Aug 2020

  • "We arrived to a warm house with the Christmas trees lights twinkling in the window , beautiful roses on the kitchen table and local cookies, what a welcome !"

    The cottage is perfect, very well equipped, tasteful decor , fabulous views and feels homely. We could stay here forever, but sadly only managed to book another week.

    Reviewed by Mairead5.0Dec 2019

  • "Millbrook where we stayed was idyllic for peace and relaxation."

    The cottage is well-equipped better than my own home, the owner was very helpful when we needed to ask questions. It was a lovely break from the normal hustle and bustle of life. My only regret was that being a non-driver the village was a long walk for the more mature members of my family.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Aug 2019

  • "The garden furniture was disappointing, the cushions were old and dirty as was the barbecue, There was only one front door key, another one would have been handy."

    The kitchen tap was broken, it could be used, but was wobbly. Generally though the cottage was very comfortable and was much enjoyed.

    Reviewed by Marion4.1Jun 2019

  • "The house was in a beautiful area with very good facilities and equipment."

    We were very pleased.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2019

  • "We got off to a bumpy start but had a lovely time, cottage and facilities where excellent ."

    Could not fault the cottage and views were beautiful.

    Reviewed by Kimberley4.7Mar 2019

  • "Having booked and stayed at Lakeside often over the last ten years this stay will be our last."

    We are three ladies who have been friends for a long time and enjoy paper crafting together. Lakeside has been our crafting holiday get away for the last ten years. Sadly, since being taken over, Helpful Holidays prices have risen, in fact the cost of our long weekend in winter months (always November or January) has actually more than doubled. In addition to this a Christmas tree had been left out in the dining room; the bathroom & en suite were cold and without heating as the heated towel rails had not been switched on; the lock had come off the side gate and we were unable to secure; the vertical blind in the kitchen had broken and been mended with sellotape so came down when the blinds were moved; in previous years we had been left with sufficient kindling and logs for at least one fire but on this occasion there was kindling but no logs. Similarly, before there has always been pump hand cleanser/soap on the basins in the downstairs WC, en suite and bathroom but there was none in the WC or en suite; there was no toilet roll in the family bathroom or WC. It appears as though profits are the main focus of Sykes as they have both increased prices and cut costs. Very disappointed so have booked elsewhere and with a different company for January 2020. ***Owner Response*** Thank you for taking the time to complete feedback for Lakeside. As a valued customer of many years, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay this year. It’s a shame you did not let us know about the issues whilst you were at the property, if we had of known we would have done our utmost to help. We have spoken to the owners and they wish to apologise that the Christmas tree being left at the property and for the lack of kindling/logs and soap. Both incidents are being investigated by the owner with their housekeeper. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, these will be corrected and ready for the upcoming season. The heating at Lakeside is controlled by a thermostat and the rails have temperature gauges which allow for them to be adjusted to suit personal preferences. These will usually be on for your arrival, however, should they have been overlooked, they are very easy to turn on. Thank you for enjoying so many previous holidays at Lakeside. We are sorry that it was not perfect on this occasion, but we do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again in the future.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete feedback for Lakeside. As a valued customer of many years, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay this year. It’s a shame you did not let us know about the issues whilst you were at the property, if we had of known we would have done our utmost to help. We have spoken to the owners and they wish to apologise that the Christmas tree being left at the property and for the lack of kindling/logs and soap. Both incidents are being investigated by the owner with their housekeeper. Thank you for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, these will be corrected and ready for the upcoming season. The heating at Lakeside is controlled by a thermostat and the rails have temperature gauges which allow for them to be adjusted to suit personal preferences. These will usually be on for your arrival, however, should they have been overlooked, they are very easy to turn on. Thank you for enjoying so many previous holidays at Lakeside. We are sorry that it was not perfect on this occasion, but we do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cath4.4Jan 2019

  • "Our Christmas break at Lakeside was the best ever."

    The cottage easily accommodated 7 of us and two dogs. There was also plenty of parking on and off road. The cottage was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and with quality furnishings and fittings. It gets a 5 star rating from me and well deserved.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Dec 2018

  • "This is a great holiday cottage with everything you need."

    It is in a lovely peaceful setting and the views are fabulous. The garden is great when the weather is good. My one negative is the poor vacuum cleaner. I like to leave holiday lets as I find them but sadly there was virtually no vacuum coming from this cleaner so it made it impossible to give a thorough clean.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Aug 2018

  • "It was a perfect place to stay the cottage was very well equipped with all our needs"

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Aug 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Four bedrooms, all with lake views: 1 x king-size double with en suite bathroom, 1 x king size double, 1 x twin, 1 x adult sized bunk room
  • Bathroom with whirlpool bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Sitting room with wood burning stove
  • Kitchen with dining area and glazed doors to patio/garden
  • Dining room
  • Utility room and WC.
  • Electric fires, night storage heating with wood burning stove
  • Microwave, fridge, fridge-freezer, tumble dryer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Blu-ray, DVD, WiFi, Phone incoming calls only only, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.

The property

Lakeside is a mile from Millbrook towards Cremyll and Mount Edgcumbe, and is a pretty end-of-row cottage on the edge of Millbrook Lake.

It is spacious and comfortable with superb lake views from almost every window.

A lovely home from home for couples or families.

Step through the porch into a slate-tiled hall and on into the living room complete with wood-burning stove.

Meals in the dining room will be enhanced with those lakeside views; on into the light-filled kitchen/breakfast room with glass doors to the patio.

At this level there is a utility room and toilet.

Head up the stairs to the first floor and four bedrooms – two king-size doubles one with an en suite bathroom, a nautical-themed bunk room, and a twin - all with lovely lake views - and a family bathroom.

At the side, overlooking the lake and enclosed by a wall, a pretty garden with patio, garden furniture a chiminea and BBQ - ideal for late afternoon sun.

Whitsand Bay’s fantastic sandy beach is a mile away.

Or perhaps walking appeals to you more through nearby Mount Edgcumbe’s 800 acres, or a visit to Plymouth via Cremyll’s pedestrian ferry.

Whatever you decide, this is a great cottage to stay in.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

MILLBROOK

Whitsand Bay 1 mile; Plymouth 8 miles.

Set in a bowl of hills at the head of a tidal creek that leads to the Hamoaze, opposite the great naval city of Plymouth, Millbrook is located on the Rame Peninsula, "Cornwall's Forgotten Corner". Bounded by the Lynher and Tamar rivers, the Hamoaze and the sea, the area is deeply rural and designated as one of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The village has a good range of shops and pubs, while close by are the pretty coastal villages of Kingsand and Cawsand, from which a ferry will take you to Plymouth. Along the southern edges of the peninsula are miles of beautiful walks with glorious views of Rame Head. Just a mile south of Millbrook lies Whitsand Bay with its miles of uncrowded sandy RNLI patrolled beach and dramatic cliffs. A superb base for discovering the wild side of Cornwall.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas