Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 7 minutes ago

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • Wheal Kendall - Cornwall - 1076128 - photo 1

Wheal Kendall

(Ref. 1076128)

Mevagissey, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (8)
  • property (6)
  • views (5)
  • house (5)
  • well (5)
  • been (4)

9 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a truly enjoyable stay with 8 adults and a toddler."

    The morning views from the bedroom were fantastic. Top location, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is more than sufficiently equipped: hats off! The wheelie bin had not been emptied on arrival, the seagulls found their way to the bin and our cars…… Problem was solved the same day. It would be very nice if it were possible to recharge electric cars, the installation is now not available to guests. Recharging in Cornwall is a bit of a problem. We hope to be back one day, thank you!

    Reviewed by Kees5.0Apr 2023

  • "Fantastic property, very well equipped."

    A couple of light bulbs gone on the lounge other than this everything was perfect.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Mar 2023

  • "Excellent stay for 2 families of 4 for a week at October half term."

    House had everything we needed (we wished we’d purchased a lettuce so that we could have put the spinner to use!) and was well prepared for when we arrived. Rooms are spacious and easily accommodated us. We had no problem finding the house and were fine with the walk into town. The views over the town were great and were well worth the walk up the hill. Really good communication from Truan before we got there was appreciated. We enjoyed a good day on a gorgeous beach at Gorran Haven, visited the Eden Project, played foot golf and enjoyed the jukebox at the cellar bar.

    We thank you so much for your nice feedback, it is really appreciated. We are delighted you had a great holiday and we hope you can visit again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "The most important issue is that THE ADDRESS IS WRONG."

    The property IS NOT 10 Polkirt Heights, Mevagissey. It is not even on Polkirit Heights, which is a terrible, busy, single track road on which to stop to look for a property. The correct address is 10 Lower Well Park, Mevagissey. We stayed in a 'Sykes' property in Lower Well Park in April which also did not use the correct road name. Apart from this issue and a wifi issue we thought the property was fantastic. The wifi issue is that the rooter on the middle landing kept dropping out and only worked after rebooting on about half the days we were there.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted that you found our property fantastic. Please accept our apologies for the wifi dropping out during your stay. We have gone back to BT and the issue has already been fixed. As for the address, I can assure you that the address we use is the correct one and has been for many years. We would however suggest guests locate the house on a map before travelling to us as Mevagissey, a typical Cornish harbour with quaint narrow streets, can be difficult to navigate, especially in the summer. We agree with you that our house can be easily accessed via Lower Well Park and we recommend that guests wishing to avoid driving through Mevagissey, arrive from Portmellon instead. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven3.8Sep 2022

  • "The property is at a magnificent position overlooking Mevagissey Harbour."

    Each room has unparalleled views and the outside space, made mostly of decking, allowed us to see the sunrise and the sunset. The house is very well equipped, with plenty of entertainment centred around the TV. Lots of indoor space spread over 3 levels. We self catered on several days and although the kitchen has plenty of storage cupboards the fridge freezer requires some planning especially as the freezer is not self thawing and was solid with ice, but this small point did not detract from a great experience. Will definitely keep in mind for future holidays.

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely house which has great views over Mevagissey bay and harbour."

    The house is on 3 floors, it’s well equipped, clean and comfortable but there are some small items that need attention. As a previous reviewer stated some of the showers need new door seals as they leak especially when the shower is on full power. The BBQ grill was dirty - unfortunately we didn’t have the weather to use the BBQ otherwise I would have cleaned it and left it clean, maybe this is a request to be made of future customers - please clean BBQ after use. It could really do with a lettuce spinner in the kitchen for when you want a salad and need to wash lettuce. I understand the property has just changed ownership so this may be the reason for some of the lack of attention to smaller details ?? Overall a very nice house in a lovely setting and we had a good time which would have been great if not for typical British weather.

    We are glad you had a lovely stay in our house and enjoyed the great views it offers on the harbour and the sea beyond. We'll do our best to address the small issues highlighted in your comments over the winter period. As the new owners of the house since June 2021, we only recently managed to stay there for the 1st time and as you suggested, we added a much-needed lettuce spinner. Thank you for your feedback comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Sep 2021

  • "The property has a magnificent view of Megavissy harbour, so location is ideal if your party is able bodied as the walk back from the town is very steep, and the public footpath would not suit the disabled."

    The cleanliness was not the standard expected, the BBQ had been used and not cleaned and some pots and pans were marked. Reliance on previous occupiers is expected but these things need to be checked, and Sykes Cottages should randomly audit these things. There were one or two maintenance issues, but by far the most significant is the shower drainage on the top bathroom and the middle en-suite. The showers fill up quite quickly meaning showers are interrupted and multiple showers needing time between drainage. I note this was mentioned in a review in Sept 2019, and I texted the housekeeper but she didn't respond or acknowledge which implies to me it's a known problem. Because of the above I would not book with Sykes Cottages again, standards poor for a premium price?

    We are sorry that your stay in our house was not up to your expectations. To address the problem you had with the barbecue, we have asked our housekeeper to check after each stay, that it is left in a satisfactory and re-usable state, ready to be enjoyed by the next guests. We also note your comment on shower trays not draining quickly enough and will therefore refer the matter to a plumber for advice and solutions. Finally, we have asked Sykes Cottages to make it clear that our house is not recommended for anyone with limited mobility and we agree with you that the path down to Mevagissey and up again is indeed very steep and that the views are fantastic! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.8Aug 2021

  • "Wheal Kendall is a stunning property in a stunning location."

    The views that you see on the listing are even more spectacular in real life. We would sit on the balcony and watch all the fishing boats leave and then return again to unload their catch. There is no better way to spend the day! The house itself is well-equipped and very spacious for our party of 9. With a Wii and Xbox One there is plenty to entertain young ones if the weather isn't great. If you want to cook in the house, you'll find everything you need including a good array of utensils. The beds are comfortable. Showers are ridiculously powerful - I'm not sure I've ever been so clean. It is a pleasant amble down to the village. However it is very steep on the way back up. It's a small price to pay for the views though! My advice is take it easy, have plenty of stops to admire the view, and enjoy how firm your calves become after a couple of days! The convenience store in the village is great for stocking up the shelves. However, because we didn't fancy dragging too much food up that hill we ordered a delivery from the St Austell Asda the day after we arrived. We would return to Wheal Kendall and Mevagissey in a heartbeat. It was a most enjoyable holiday and one that we'll remember for a long time to come! We would definitely recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Aug 2021

  • "We are a family of 5 and all had a wonderful holiday."

    Location is brilliant although uphill in the way back lo But fantastic for visiting all Cornwall has to offer with glorious beaches and attractions nearby. The owners were incredibly helpful and sorted out a minor issue with our internet the same day. Would totally recommend for a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by H5.0Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Five bedrooms, all with sea views: 1x king-size with balcony and en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1x king-size with balcony, 1x family room with a double-bed and a single bed, 1x single room and 1 bunk-bed room suitable for adults and children
  • Family bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC on middle floor
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC on top floor
  • Open-plan living space with separate kitchen, sitting area and dining area with gas log-effect fire
  • Gas central heating with gas log-effect fire
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, Nintendo Wii and PS3 with games, selection of books, selection of board games and DVDs, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • WIFI throughout the house
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Decked area and balconies
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.7 miles
  • 5pm check in, 9am check out
  • Property over 3 floors so not suitable for those with limited mobility
  • Note: No stag/hen parties or similar

The property

Boasting breath-taking views across the traditional fishing harbour of Mevagissey and the sea beyond is Wheal Kendall, an exceptional holiday home enjoying an elevated position. The property offers 5 well-presented bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and also a substantial open plan sitting room and dining room with a separate kitchen.

It has a large furnished decking area and balconies and also provides convenient off-road parking for three cars next to the entrance on the top floor of the house.

It is perfect for bringing together groups of families, friends, beachcombers, walkers and those alike. The top floor boasts a beautifully furnished double bedroom with a king-size bed and a private balcony overlooking the harbour.

Also on this floor is another bedroom with bunk beds suitable for both adults and children and a separate bathroom with a shower, washbasin and WC. The middle floor has a family bathroom and another 3 well-appointed bedrooms, all designed to ensure flexible sleeping arrangements to suit all party types and sizes.

The double bedroom features again a king-size bed, a private balcony overlooking the harbour and a private en-suite shower room; the large family room accommodates a double bed and a single bed and there is also a comfortable single bedroom. The ground floor offers a substantial well-equipped kitchen, a separate comfortable sitting room with a large dining area.

From both the kitchen and the dining area, patio doors lead to a decked balcony which runs alongside the whole of the property, enabling you to take full advantage of this fantastic location.

From there, you can also access a large decking area complete with garden furniture to enjoy.

Weather permitting you can dine alfresco overlooking the magnificent views of Mevagissey harbour and the bay beyond. A short walk from the property will take you down into this famous, most popular old fishing village where a selection of pubs, restaurants specialising in fish, bistros and takeaways that will cater for all tastes. Time must be spent appreciating the narrow higgledy-piggledy streets looking over the galleries, craft workshops and gift shops. Fishing trips can be arranged from the harbour itself and a ferry trip is also advised to the beautiful, historic harbour town of Fowey, a wonderful day out. A short drive away is one of the Cornwall's finest tourist attractions, the Lost Gardens of Heligan and along the coast you will find numerous nearby coves and sandy beaches. The unspoilt coastal village of Gorran Haven nestling around a secluded cove is also recommended; be sure to explore the gothic Caerhays Castle, before enjoying a delightful meal at The Barley Sheaf. With so much to see, do and enjoy, Wheal Kendall offers superb accommodation to be enjoyed all year round.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £550.

View on map

About the location


St. Austell 5.5 miles; Truro 16 miles.

The perfect Cornish fishing village, with winding cobbled streets and a picturesque harbour full of boats. Stunning walks lead along the coast in both directions, with sandy beaches, high cliffs and hidden coves to explore. The village has an excellent selection of pubs and restaurants, whilst just up the road are the Lost Gardens of Heligan. A ferry from Mevagissey to Fowey also runs daily between Easter and September. Spend some time at the Tall Ships harbour at Charlestown (7 miles) with its shipwreck museum, or among the tropical biomes of the world-famous Eden Project (11 miles). The stunning coastline, fabulous beaches and renowned gardens of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula are a short drive down the coast while Truro, with its shops, restaurants, theatre and cathedral can be reached by car in half an hour.

View more holiday cottages in Mevagissey

Note: Property not suitable for those with limited mobility
Note: No stag/hen parties or similar
Note: No parties