Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Spindrift - Cornwall - 1089265 - photo 1


(Ref. 1089265)

Polperro, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • polperro (8)
  • lovely (8)
  • property (8)
  • cottage (7)
  • stay (6)
  • our (6)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "We love Polperro and stay there every year for our coastal hikes."

    Spindrift cottage is in a lovely position but there were a few things that marred our experience on this occasion. The cottage is very damp. We started off in the larger double bedroom but our clothing stared to feel damp and smell musty so we relocated to the upper double bedroom which is very cramped. We aired the cottage with windows open whilst in situ, it didn’t make any difference. The lounge was lovely and really the only room pleasant to be in. When we left we stripped the bedding as requested and saw how badly stained the mattress protectors were which made us feel horrible. One of the protectors even had pubic hair stuck to it. Having holidayed with Sykes for many years this isn’t the standard I’d come to expect. Due to the moisture levels in the cottage black mould has started to grow in grouting around the kitchen sink and bathroom window. This will not prevent me booking with Sykes again as this was one bad experience but I feel it’s important to convey what we found. We had to contact the caretaker, Donna, on one occasion as an alarm started sounding and she was extremely helpful in resolving the issue promptly. Unfortunately we broke a glass water carafe whilst washing up. The neck of the carafe was thin and I knocked it on the tap which caused it to crack so will need to pay for a replacement if required. There was only one wine glass do we had to use champagne flutes instead. This was just a small thing but counts. Kind regards Kerry O’Prey

    Reviewed by Kerry2.5Sep 2023

  • "Located in a lovely area."

    We found the property to be poorly maintained, not very clean and certain aspects to be dangerous.

    Reviewed by Kerri1.9Sep 2023

  • "2nd year in a row now we have stayed there and it will not be our last."

    . many thanks again spindrift....

    Reviewed by Carl4.7Mar 2023

  • "Property was lovely."

    Great location for the village and has everything you could need. Had a really enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Nikki5.0Feb 2023

  • "My husband and i slept in the twin room, i ended up sleeping in the lounge, the floors sloping in the bedroom felt like i was constantly falling out of bed!"

    Other than this, it was fabulous to stay in such an old cottage, full of character.

    Reviewed by L4.1Dec 2022

  • "Really disappointed."

    The property it’s self is located great (just no car access but we knew this before booking), right in the heart of Polperro. The property had loads of character but was a little dangerous in places; stairs narrow with sharp edges, nails sticking out. We stayed for a week and there were only 4 adults (2 out for be 4 only stayed 3 nights) and one baby, and it just wasn’t enough. The rooms were fine, but living space is just not enough, especially for 6 people. The kitchen is also just not equipped for 6 people, you need more than 6 of everything to make it liveable, there were not even 6 bowls. The pans for the cooker were just a nightmare, and meant rather than eating in most nights, which was the plan, we had to eat out. As per previous comments, there was absolutely nothing for the fire, and I wasn’t willing to buy some and never be reimbursed! Another issue was the car park, although there is a parking space, it’s only one. So for a property for 6 people that’s doesn’t really help. We had two cars and meant the others had to pay for parking, £40 for the week. We had a few accidents, one person catching the piece of sharp wood going down the stairs, someone catching themselves on a screw sticking out going up the stairs. However my main issue was the cleanliness of the property, as long as it’s clean I don’t mind! I had seen this mentioned in previous reviews but we had already booked so too late. The coffee machine was dirty, washing machine was half full of dirty water, Cob webs in the cupboards (with the plates), wooden spoons with visible mould on. I do fully appreciate the age of the property, but if you are to rent the property out the standard of cleanliness needs to be at a certain level. It may be worth looking into a new cleaning company. Lastly and a rather big issue was the keys. We had a set of keys, one for the front door, the second lock on the door simply didn’t work; meaning if one of us went out, they would either have to lock us in, with no way of getting out, or we lock ourselves in but would have to let them back in. For example 2 of us went out one evening and the others in the property had to wait up to let us in, as there were no other ways. We had another key which we assumed to be for the back door in the bedroom (?) but that didn’t work. So location great, to be honest, property not so much. Real shame. I have given two stars purely for the location.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing that these points were not raised by you during your stay when something could have been done, as opposed to three weeks after your departure. We are glad to hear that you thought the property has loads of character. A lot of effort was made to maintain this during its refurbishment. We were very concerned to hear that you thought the stairs were dangerous with sharp edges and nails sticking out and so have had our maintenance team look at this to locate and fix any such issues (none of which were identified). It is disappointing to hear that you felt the living space was not enough. The property has a lounge that seats six people, a kitchen dining room that again seats six around a large table and the kitchen is very spacious. Additionally, the property also has a boot room to allow guests to store hats, boots and other items, so we found this feedback very surprising. We have just added further kitchen items. With regards to the pans, we can only conclude that you are not experienced in using an induction hob and the manner in which they heat and work. We have raised the point regarding a welcome pack of logs with our housekeeper, so this should be rectified for future guests. We are very happy to be able to provide a complimentary parking space for the property. Parking is at a premium in Polperro and many other cottages are unable to do so. It is clearly stated that there is just one space so it should not have come as a surprise that you would have to pay to park in the main car park if further vehicles were brought with you. We have raised your points regarding the cleanliness of the property with our housekeeper and have requested that they undertake a deep clean and maintain this standard for future guests. It is disappointing that you did not raise that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the property at the outset so that this could have been addressed for your stay. With regards to keys, there are spare keys for the doors in the cupboard next to the front door. We are pleased to hear that you liked the location of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Faye1.6Nov 2022

  • "Polperro is stunning and the cottage is lovely."

    Only 1 small criticism there were no logs for the fire provided as promised, shop was closed. Contacted owner and was told to buy some and he would reimburse the cost and provide more logs. By Wednesday we had to contact again and was finally given more logs but still waiting on the cost of the logs we initially had to buy 2 weeks later and owner hasn’t replied to any messages.

    Thanks for your feedback. We pleased to hear that you found the cottage lovely. With regards to firewood, we do not know who you contacted, but the owner or housekeeper were not contacted in respect of this matter. Had they been the matter would have been resolved promptly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.8Oct 2022

  • "Definitely needs a lot more attention to maintain the property, lack of kitchen equipment, plates , bowls , etc , a coffee machine that we couldn’t get to work still filled with coffee from whenever , a burnt plug & adaptor on the kitchen heater, making it unable to use and nobody came to fix it , although promised ."

    The kitchen window when opened was filthy on the out dropping dirt & cobwebs everywhere, Stained carpet at top of stairs , where a dog has peed Lack of pillows in main bedroom, Creeky bed so loud when the person moved so disturbed from underneath bedroom Sea veiw blocked by brick shed so a tiny glimpse of the sea , front door locking confusing , Left 3 items there which seem to have vanished!! Bathroom cold especially floor , could do with a mat Just glad we paid what we did out of season or we would of been very out of pocket Very disappointing, definitely needs a lot more attention than a new kitchen!!! Would not recommend to families with children as stairs dangerous or elderly , stairs were exhausting

    Thank you for your feedback. We have just added further kitchen equipment. Had the issue with the coffee machine been raised during your stay we could have rectified this. Now it has been brought to our attention it has been addressed. Unfortunately the heater in the kitchen required replacement which was done shortly after your departure. I have raised your points r.e. The cobwebs and carpet stains with our housekeeper so that these can be addressed and standards maintained. There is a heated towel rail in the bathroom which if you had turned it on it would have heated the bathroom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire2.2Sep 2022

  • "Great location."

    Cottage was lovely , dog friendly which was important for us

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Luisa5.0Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful. Modern without losing any of it's character."

    Would definitely stay here again.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Aug 2022

  • "Really lovely property full of character and charm."

    Great location on the coastal path and within Polperro itself. For larger families what would have made it even better, would have been to have had more crockery, so that plates, bowls, mugs didn't need to be washed each time or put in a half-filled dishwasher. Equally more tea towels and some larger pots, pans and serving dishes would have been great. We would highly recommend this property to anyone thinking about having a holiday in Polperro.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have addressed the points raised in your feedback for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Guy4.7Jul 2022

  • "On arrival to the property we couldn’t believe how quaint the cottage was!"

    The photos look fab but in person you realise just how lovely it is! It was spotless; cosy and very functional. I love the fact there was basic cleaning amenities because although we didn’t make a mess it’s nice to be able to give a quick tidy before we departed. The fact the cottage is dog friendly is a bonus- we walked the socks off our little dogs and they loved relaxing at night in front of the fire while we had copious amounts of wine! I cannot fault the smoothness of our stay from booking to departure. We will be returning to Polperro and if we can book via Sykes Cottages and specifically Spindrift. Thank you for a wonderful staycation this trip was a joint 60th for my mum & auntie and none of us left disappointed- just very sad because we had to leave!

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0May 2022

  • "We felt so lucky we managed get this property for our Easter Holidays."

    It was spacious, comfy, had everything we needed for rainy days. Being in the heart of Polperro we didn’t miss it having a garden either. We enjoyed the place that much we’ve booked it again for next Easter.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope you enjoy your stay next Easter just as much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pete5.0Apr 2022

  • "A great property well located in the heart of The Warren."

    We booked the quad bike luggage transport from the car park which is well worth doing and was really friendly but I would advise you book early. The walk from the car park to the cottage is a good 10 mins walk. The cottage was cosy and well fitted out with what looked like a lot of new furnishings. The rooms are split over 4 floors with the kitchen/dining room in the basement and the sitting room on the top floor. It got a little getting used to taking things with you to avoid having to constantly walk up and down the narrow staircase and it would be difficult for anyone with any sort of knee problem. Our bed on the floor above the kitchen was comfortable but our son had the room above us and the metal bed creaked every time he moved. Having the ‘boot room’ next to the front door and bathroom was invaluable with a dog after muddy, wet walks although we did have to get him across a bit of hall carpet to get him into the boot room (hard floors would have been more practical). We did not have a gull proof bin bag (as listed in instructions to put our rubbish) but a quick email and they arrived the next day. Polperro is a friendly, pretty village. Although a lot was closed as out of season, we had fantastic meals in The House on the Props and the bakers and village grocers shop were really friendly and convenient.

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.1Feb 2022

  • "Unfortunately a week or so before our holiday we’d had two emails to say there were changes to our accommodation."

    There was no out door space and the car parking was a 10 minute walk away from the cottage. We decided to not let this deter us and plan accordingly. When we arrived in the car park there was already someone in our allocated space so we were advised by the owner to put a note on our windscreen and park in another space which we did, we then had to move the car the following day. The walk to the cottage from the car park is just under 1 mile so be aware of that if you are booking Spindrift, there is a luggage taxi in the village but unfortunately he did not respond to my message so we soldiered on with our wheely cases and backpacks. First impressions of the cottage were good it’s very quirky, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The dishwasher hadn’t been emptied however it was clean. Unfortunately we had huge issues with the Wi-Fi which was not working, compounded with the fact there is no phone signal this meant we had no means of communicating with anyone and as the smart TVs and radio all requires Wi-Fi to work we had nothing until day 6 of our weeks stay. The owner tried his best to resolve the issue but unfortunately it required a BT engineer to come out to sort it. All of this did spoil our stay somewhat and we were given a £100 refund for the inconvenience however we would much rather just have had a the holiday without the hassle. Polperro is lovely, very quiet in January with most of the shops closed but that suits us and the cottage without the Wi-Fi and parking problems problems is a delight although the stairs are steep and there are lots of them which would definitely be a problem for anyone with mobility challenges or small children.

    It is regrettable that their were issues with the internet during your stay, which was unfortunately outside of our control due to an issue on the Openreach network. The car park is located half a mile from the property and is a 10 minute walk. Parking is at a premium in the village due to the narrow streets which create its picturesque charm and we are glad that we are able to provide parking to guests given its short supply. The luggage taxi is normally very responsive, however it is always best to pre-book this service to ensure they are available when you arrive. We are happy to hear that you thought the cottage was a delight, spotlessly clean and well furnished. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Jan 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Over four floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x lower-ground-floor king-size, 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with free-standing bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Basement kitchen/diner
  • First-floor sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric steam oven and induction hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher and coffee maker, Smart TV x 2, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Designated parking space
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles, beach 0.3 miles
  • Please note: Designated parking available approximately 10 mins walk away, as the property is located on the warren in the centre of the village, it is not accessible by car
  • For unloading and loading your vehicle at the beginning and end of your stay, we would recommend using Polperro Luggage Taxis, who will provide a luggage delivery service via quadbike to Spindrif.

The property

Spindrift is one of the oldest cottages in Polperro, Cornwall.

Having just been fully refurbished to a high standard mixing elements of this traditional Cornish fisherman's cottage with a contemporary style and modern luxuries.

It is set over four floors with unique, original features and sea and harbour views, making this dwelling ideal for a family or group of friends to explore this stunning part of the Cornish coast.

The cottage is located on the South West Coastal path with direct access from the front door of the property.

A designated parking space is available to guests, a rare treat in this bustling coastal village; park up with ease and get settled into your home-from-home with charming, cottage doors, wooden floors, exposed stone walls and feature fireplaces, making it a picturesque setting brimming with character.

After a day at the beach, or walking the south west coastal path which runs past the front door of the property, leave your shoes in the boot room, off the entrance hall and head down to the basement, spotting the original reclaimed church balustrade on your way, where a kitchen/diner is well-equipped for hosting family dinners and catching up with loved ones.

Set the dining table for six and make use of the fantastic facilities, such as a coffee maker to kick-start your day, a wine chiller for the evenings, and electric steam oven and induction hob.

There is even a Smart TV to entertain children whilst waiting for their meals.

With a plush corner sofa beckoning guests to curl up amongst the cushions, Spindrift houses the perfect sitting room on the first floor for a games night, peaceful evenings or a movie on the Smart TV, while the woodburning stove adds extra warmth when needed.

Sitting on the sofa you can look out to see and watch the waves crashing on the rocks at the entrance to the harbour. Each guest has a quaint space for resting weary heads ready for the next day's adventures; the lower-ground-floor king-size, ground-floor double and first floor twin are all bright and airy with glimpses of sea and harbour views and are equipped with storage space and beautiful, original cottage features.

Treat yourself to a relaxing soak in the fabulous free-standing rolltop bath, situated in the pretty ground-floor bathroom, or energise your day with a hot rinse in the walk-in shower.

With well-behaved dogs welcome, there is plenty of space to keep your pets' beds. Exploring the village of Polperro, you will find plenty of shops and eateries for your self-catering holiday, with a variety of pubs and restaurants within easy reach, alongside excellent attractions such as the Harbour Heritage Museum, set on a beautiful harbour scattered with whitewashed cottages to wander along and admire the spectacular coastline.

Be sure to visit Looe, Cornwall's second largest fishing port just a short journey away, whether by car or taking the coastal walk which passes a 6th century monastery; arriving in Looe, catch the river taxi between the East and West, scour the narrow cobbled streets for the perfect souvenir, and take to the popular beach for safe, shallow swimming and long stretches of sand to relax on.

Travel east to Fowey, a port town with plenty to discover, such as the ruins of St Catherine's Castle first built in the 1530s, perched above the sea for picture-perfect views, whilst the centre is home to seafood restaurants to taste the local cuisine, the family-friendly Fowey Aquarium, or head to Lantic Bay for rugged coastlines scattered with tiny coves waiting to be explored.

Boat trips to both Looe and Fowey can be booked from the harbour in Polperro, making it an exciting way to see this part of south Cornwall.

To discover the history and outstanding landscapes of the Cornish coast, Spindrift is the perfect setting to house you and your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Looe 4 miles.

Polperro and nearby Looe on the south coast of Cornwall’s coastline is a renowned tourist area giving visitors a unique holiday area to explore. Polperro is a historic fishing village nestling at the head of a long valley leading down to the sea. The sheltered fishing harbour with its surrounding jumble of quaint, whitewashed cottages, draws visitors from around the world. Walk the narrow streets, watch the fishermen land their catch, check the Smugglers Museum, take a leisurely lunch overlooking the harbour and then walk the clifftops for a taste of the spectacular coastal scenery. This is a magical area with much to see and do. The working fishing port of Looe is just 4 miles away and the delights of Cornwall's far west are easily accessible via the nearby Boddinnick ferry to Fowey and beyond with the local area well served with bus and ferry services. The perfect holiday location, a jewel in the Cornish coastline now denoted by Cornwall County Council as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, of historic interest and heritage importance, as well as a conservation area.

Please note: Designated parking available approximately 10 mins walk away, as the property is located on the warren in the centre of the village, it is not accessible by car. For unloading and loading your vehicle at the beginning and end of your stay, we would recommend using Polperro Luggage Taxis, who will provide a luggage delivery service via quadbike to Spindrif.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas