Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 10 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Sea Dream - Cornwall - 1073997 - photo 1
close

Sea Dream

(Ref. 1073997)

St Ives, Cornwall Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (14)
  • great (12)
  • our (12)
  • location (12)
  • sea (12)
  • property (10)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "The property was good as always, however we had no dishwasher and maintenance entered the property without our knowledge then left the property unlocked."

    We were most unhappy about this intrusion upon our privacy, Carbis bay holidays seemed to not appreciate our concern.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry to hear you were not happy with the trade attending during your stay, we did notify you via voicemail before your stay to advise the engineer was hoping to install new parts early next week to fix the dishwasher to which we received no response. We do apologies for the inconvenience caused and we are happy to see you accepted the good will gesture that was offered. Despite this we hope you had a lovely holiday, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Dec 2023

  • "The house is well situated, yes there are steep hills but that is to be expected in Cornwall, particularly if you want a house with parking."

    Please follow the directions given to the property as we followed our sat nav and were taken on a hairy route. Once we learnt the way it was very easy and it’s great to be so central with parking. The house is well equipped and I can’t think of anything missing that we would have expected - maybe salt and pepper! The kitchen is particularly well equipped with quality items. I loved laying in the bath on the top floor watching the sea and people come and go. Beautiful. It’s also great in the second room laying watching the sea and the bay. There were only two of us so the house suited us well but I think it would be a squeeze at capacity given there is only one bathroom and the seating arrangement in the lounge. I personally don’t think it’s suitable for 8. The house is however tired. It needs a deep clean and some maintenance. The houses around it are being decorated externally which makes you realise how tired sea dreams is externally. It needs a sweep at the very least and the fence is green, perhaps as we visited at the end of the season but I’d expect outside to be up kept the same as inside. Internally I’d say the same - basic cleaning was done but there were areas that aren’t done, and there were cushions and throws with marks and stains on and the sofa looked like it could do with a clean. The downsides didn’t detract from our holiday, we had a lovely time and took the house for what it was.

    We are very pleased you enjoyed the views from and location of Sea Dream and made use of all the equipment in the house. As there were only 2 of you staying in the house we were very surprised to hear that you didn’t think Sea Dream was suitable for 8 people. We have had many guests over the years comment on how spacious the house is and in particular we have had many parties of 8 staying at the house over the years and not one has complained that the house wasn’t suitable for them. However, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t think some other aspects of the house were always up to standard. We are grateful for the further clarifications you sent us to some of your comments. With regard to the outside of the house, this was repainted last year and the maintenance you refer to was actually a dirty front door and a sweep of the patio - these will be rectified by the housekeeper. The fence was repainted last year but unfortunately the proximity of the sea makes it inevitable that over time the fence will become green again. The small maintenance items you identified inside, which can appear at any time, will be addressed. But it should be noted that major maintenance works are performed every year, for instance earlier this year all the downstairs floors were sanded and varnished while in November the hallways and stairwells will be redecorated. We have recently changed housekeepers to ensure that the cleaning meets the high standards expected by the owner, Carbis Bay Holidays and of course guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine3.1Sep 2023

  • "Good place to stay in St Ives."

    5 min walk down to centre or Porthmeor Beach the other way. Be aware that it is Uphill walking back. Property itself excellent and as described. Parking is a real bonus there !

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Sep 2023

  • "We had a wonderful 10 days in stunning St Ives."

    A family holiday with three generations which we thoroughly enjoyed. Some issues with housekeeping, in particular cleanliness, and general maintenance of the house. Following our booking we noticed some new reviews about cleanliness which had us worried but were reassured by the owners replies that housekeeping would address the issues. We were therefore disappointed to arrive to dirty floors in the living area and crumbs, dust and dirt on and underneath furniture in plain view. Sykes/Carbis Bay did send out the housekeeper to address but she told us the furniture was too heavy to move and she cleaned around the sofas etc. The cupboard on the landing was emanating a fusty smell which spread into the joining bedrooms, again the housekeeper tried to freshen this up when informed which did mask the smell slightly. Great location, although hills to navigate which we seemed to acclimatise to and definitely came back fitter! Porthmeor easy 10 min downhill walk away, pace yourself on the return! Stunning sunsets from the top of the road near the house. Porthminster 15-20 mins walk, spent many a day here with the children. Short drive to Carbis Bay. Loved exploring routes from the house morning and night into gorgeous St Ives. Pros: Well equipped kitchen; the views from the bedrooms; the master bath was enjoyed everyday; close to the beach; furnished well. Small details thought of I.e. spare batteries, baby monitors, buckets and spades- didn’t use but nice touch. Lots of games for families and books stocked well. Cons: Parking very tight and a struggle for two small SUVs- the road was busy in September so after a 2 car day out positioning was always tricky; lack of toilet downstairs; upkeep, cleanliness and maintenance needs attention to obtain 5* review; children’s bedroom felt quite far away from other bedrooms- ok for older children but not for our younger ones.

    Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, it’s much appreciated. We are sorry to hear of the cleanliness issues you experienced, we can confirm the housekeeper has now been replaced at Sea Dream. We will be sure to pass on your comments. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful holiday in St Ives and enjoyed the views the property has to offer. Despite the issues you encountered during your stay we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna3.4Sep 2023

  • "Great house in a great location if you don’t mind walking up and down steep hills to get to the beach."

    Well equipped kitchen and spacious living area/bedrooms. Parking for 2 larger cars was a squeeze but manageable. Not particularly clean under sofa’s etc. Retrieving Childrens toys from under sofa’s/units was thick muck and dust, but won’t put us off rebooking…

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent holiday at Sea Dream and we do hope you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry to hear that the property was not to our usual high standard of cleanliness, we have brought this to the attention of the Housekeeper that looks after the property. We glad to hear you are planning to rebook to come and stay again and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. Best wishes, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chelsea4.1Aug 2023

  • "Comfortable property."

    Deceptively spacious. Good location very close to waterfront. Nicely presented with good facilities in the kitchen Very small main bathroom to serve guests Parking tricky. Very tight for two cars. Up a very steep hill which is problematic for those with walking difficulties. TV,s too small in rooms outside the main living room.

    Reviewed by Carol3.8Jul 2023

  • "Lovely home."

    Very comfortable and spacious. Well equipped and a great location.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2023

  • "The property is a great base but is a little tired in places."

    Bed linen and towels were spotless but the house needs a deep clean (the bathroom especially). It’s very dusty (top of lamps / staircase etc hadn’t been done. The fridge had a very offensive smell (sour milk) when we arrived so I cleaned it before filling with our food. The crockery and glasswear were dirty - these need to be checked before new guests arrive. We hand washed the items before using them as there was grainy residue on the glasses and so forth. It would be an idea to leave salt / pepper / washing up liquid for guests (thank you for biscuits and apple juice).

    Thank you very much for your comments following your recent holiday at Sea Dream. We are very sorry to hear the property did not reach our usual high standard of cleanliness and we have passed on your comments to the Housekeeper that looks after the property for their attention. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.1Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic property in a great location."

    Double drive was a real bonus. Property had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Great sea views from the main bedroom. Easy walk down to Porthmeor beach to enjoy body boarding in the surf. Terrace accessed by the back gate an added bonus to clean and dry the wet suits without having to enter the house. Harbour provided a great place to start and end our paddle board trip. A wonderful family trip and looking forward to coming back.

    Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Sea Dream. Good to hear you were able to make the most of some of the great selection of local water sports too. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Guy4.7Oct 2022

  • "SEA DREAM WAS FANTASTIC LOCATION HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED FOR A FAMILY OF 7 WE WILL RETURN"

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Wishes, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Troy5.0Aug 2022

  • "The house is beautiful and so much bigger than it looks online."

    Great location with stunning sea views. House was spotless when we arrived and had everything we needed. We will definitely book again!

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback, Sea Dream is a beautiful property. We are pleased you enjoyed the location and views! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Sea Dream (and were very lucky with the weather too!"

    ). The house was everything we were looking for - spacious, well-equipped, brilliantly located and exceptionally clean. The bath with a sea view was the icing on the cake. We hope to return again very soon.

    Reviewed by Rhea4.7Mar 2022

  • "Such a fantastic house!"

    So many spots to get cosy in with beautiful views. Lovely art work everywhere. Very comfortable beds. We loved sitting outside and having lunch too. Lovely walk down to the beach. Excellent Talay Thai takeaway not far away. Was such a great break. I always have a clean around but it was spotless already. Carbis Bay holidays were great, they came straight round when we couldn’t get something to work on the first day. The kids really enjoyed the house as did the adults, really lovely all round.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic holiday! We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Mar 2022

  • "Firstly, I have to say that we had a lovely stay at Sea Dream, good facilities and an exceedingly convenient position."

    Unfortunately there is a however, we arrived to find bags of uncollected laundry in the hall, (never removed), no toilet rolls and nothing resembling a ‘welcome pack’, disappointing start. Also I found the lounge cold and we were not provided with even a started pack of fuel. None of these things are more than irritating but should not occur.

    Dear Mr Brass, Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to submitting feedback for your recent stay at Sea Dream. We are disappointed to hear that you arrived to find laundry in the hall and that it remained there throughout your stay, we can only apologise for this. Had you made us aware of this shortly after your arrival or during your stay, we would have been sure to ask the housekeeper to collect it at the earliest convenience. In regard to the 'welcome pack', once again, had we been made aware of this, because our office is local to our properties, we would have been more than happy to get this too you, but once again we do apologies as this should have been installed before your arrival. We always endeavor to rectify and issues/reporting as soon as we can so that they don't impact your stay with us. Although, there is a log burner in the property, we do no state that we supply a starter pack, and we hope this didn't cause you inconvenience. Please be assured that the owner is looking in to your reporting of the lounge being cold and will action accordingly to resolve if necessary. We sincerely hope that you had a lovely week, and hope to be able to invite you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Owner Relations, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Dec 2021

  • "Amazing house in a brilliant location."

    Truly as good as it looks. This was our 9 month old’s first holiday and it did not disappoint. We will definitely be booking again.

    Reviewed by Kimberley5.0Oct 2021

  • "We had an amazing stay at Sea Dream."

    It was literally the dream house in a dream location in the centre of St.Ives - quiet enough to enjoy the peace but close enough to enjoy the liveliness too. All the facilities were high tech and spot on for family needs. There are two parking spaces but they are a little tight if you have big cars. Everything about our stay with Carbis Bay holidays was great as usual and we have been booking with them for 6 years.

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Jun 2021

  • ""We really enjoyed our relaxing week in Sea Dream!"

    The house is beautifully furnished throughout. The location is spot on, with views over St Ives and only a short walk to the harbour. Thanks to Lesley the welcoming housekeeper. "
    S Price

    ReviewNov 2019

  • ""We loved Sea dream."

    A comfortable property, really spacious, well equipped to a high standard and clean. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen as the weather was a bit mixed. Great location and lovely sea views. A few minutes’ walk into St Ives, quite a hill on the way back but we were happy to be able to park the car at the property and take advantage of the location. Our housekeeper was really welcoming and helpful. Would certainly recommend this place and hope to return again."
    Rebecca

    ReviewSep 2019

  • ""We were delighted to stay at this property, it would be easier to list what the house didn't have!"

    It was so well equipped! It made for an ideal base for a group that wanted to do as little driving as possible during our holiday as in previous years we have stayed further out of St Ives which meant driving in and parking up. Will definitely look at Sea Dream's availability in the future when booking for 2020!!!"
    Scott Guilliam

    ReviewAug 2019

  • ""We have just returned from a fantastic weeks holiday at Sea Dream, St Ives."

    The property is in a great location just a 10 minute walk to either Porthmeor beach and the town centre, and the hill on the way back helps to work off the cream teas and pasties! Sea Dream itself is presented to a high standard with the owners providing everything you need for a really comfortable stay; comfortable living areas, well equipped kitchen, WiFi throughout the house. Leslie was really friendly and took the time to show us around the house. Overall we would really recommend Sea Dream and Carbis Bay holidays, both five stars."
    Ade George

    ReviewMay 2019

  • ""We found the property excellent and really enjoyed our stay."

    Over the years we have been regular visitors to St Ives and it was the third time this year that we have stayed in St Ives but our first time at this property and our first booking with Carbis Bay Holidays, it all went so well and the staff were really helpful that we have already re booked the house again." Frances Keane

    TestimonialNov 2016

  • ""Sea Dream is a new addition to our portfolio."

    Guest comments will be added as soon as we receive them." Carbis Bay Holidays

    TestimonialSep 2016

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Carbis Bay Holidays collection.
Escape to a luxury holiday cottage nudging the Cornish coast. Carbis Bay Holidays collection of stylish self-catering accommodation ranges from penthouse apartments overlooking the white-sand beaches of St Ives, to designer country homes a pebble’s throw from the coast.

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size with freestanding bath, 1 x king-size (zip/ link, can be twin on request), 1 x double, 1 x bunk
  • Family bathroom with bath, enclosed shower, wash basin, heated towel rail, and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Double electric oven/grill, induction ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer dishwasher, 4K LED TV with BT Sport, kids channels and a full Sky Tv package including sports and movies to lounge, LG TV in Bedroom 1, LCD TV in Bedrooms 2, and 3, TV with Sony DVD player and selection of children’s DVDs in Bedroom 4, Blu Ray DVD player and selection of DVDs, Ruark DAB radio with Bluetooth connectivity to lounge, DAB radios in bedrooms and kitchen, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair, steriliser and baby bath provided; we request that guests provide their own cot bedding, Off-road parking for one large and one small car, side facing decked terrace, outside furniture including table and chairs and a hose
  • Sorry no pets, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles and beach 0.3 miles

The property

Centrally located in St Ives, on Windsor Hill, this four-bedroom, terrace house, enjoys elevated views of St Ives towards the sea, the town centre, harbour, beaches and St Ives scenic railway all within a short walk.

Sleeping eight, plus an infant, it offers a fabulous base for a family to discover St Ives.

A sitting area, and kitchen/diner make up the spacious ground floor living space of this delightful holiday home, natural light floods the space through a large window at the front and rear of the sitting area, lighting up the antique pine flooring, and providing a light and airy interior, styled with contemporary furnishing and original artwork, cosy up on the modular sofa, perfectly placed by the wood burner, and arranged to enjoy the 40” Panasonic 4K television with a full Sky TV package, including sports and movies alternatively relax with a glass of wine enjoying the distant sea views which offer a glimpse of Godrevy Lighthouse, from the front facing window, a door leads out to the side terrace for alfresco drinks. The contemporary kitchen/diner is ideal for socialising with those preparing meals, an oak breakfast table with five matching chairs and large bench is perfect for entertaining or gathering the whole family at mealtime, open the half glazed stable door, which leads out to the side terrace, let in the fresh sea air, the kitchen is fitted with matt grey units and spacious beech work surfaces, it is well-appointed with everything you need for your holiday, including a washer/dryer.

There is a choice of four comfortable bedrooms, the master king sized bedroom is located on the top floor to maximise the sea views, it offers the ultimate indulgence with a free-standing double ended bath, placed by a picture window with distant views across the bay to Godrevy lighthouse, the rest of the rooms are conveniently located next to the family bathroom, on the first floor, these include a king sized room with views across the town to Godrevy Lighthouse, through the triple window, and Gwithian Sands through a further window, a double with sea glimpses and a fourth with oak bunk beds, ideal for younger members of the family, the first floor king sized room has a zip and link bed, which can be arranged as a twin on request, each is well presented with sumptuously dressed beds in Egyptian cotton and offer plenty of storage space. The family bathroom with bath and enclosed shower, is conveniently located next to the first-floor bedrooms, a wonderful space to escape the group and relax amongst the bubbles, an additional cloakroom with WC can be found adjacent to the bathroom.

A side sheltered walled decked terrace, accessed from the living area or kitchen, offers a fabulous outside space to enjoy an alfresco drink, a wooden table and four chairs are provided for your comfort, a useful hose is available to wash off wet suits or sandy feet, there is a washing line for guest use, at the back of the patio there is a stone staircase leading to Windsor Hill. St Ives is blessed with glorious sandy beaches, the nearest is Porthmeor, one of the finest its crystal clear waters have been awarded a blue flag, it’s a family favourite with a surf school and beach café, it also benefits from a seasonal lifeguard service, if you fancy dining out you’ll be delighted with many of St Ives restaurants showcasing the local fresh sea food and produce, with award winning menus and pretty harbour or sea views as good as the food, another of St Ives larger beaches has the Michelin Plate Porthminster Beach Café, set right on its golden shores, cobbled streets lead off the harbour filled with boutiques and galleries, ideal for searching for a gift or local art, the largest gallery is the Tate St Ives and the Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden, here you can see how the town has inspired so many famous artists.

Houses In St Ives

These luxury cottages, villas and holiday homes have been carefully selected to meet the standards expected by our discerning guests.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

ST IVES

Penzance 6 miles.

One of Cornwall's prettiest harbour towns, St Ives offers narrow streets, tight-packed cottages nestling around the quayside, the Tate Gallery and Barbara Hepworth museum, fabulous beaches, superb shops, a thriving community of artists, great pubs and restaurants and much more. With its semi Bohemian lifestyle and romantic air, it's easy to see why this is the county's premier holiday resort. The surrounding area has much for the visitor to see and do with abundant wildlife, fabulous coastal walks, top quality surfing and the Celtic mysteries of the Land's End Peninsula are all within easy reach. A superb destination!

View more holiday cottages in St Ives

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property. Sea Dream has 2 steps from the parking area and a further two steps to the front door. There are 12 internal stairs to the first floor and a further 14 stairs to access the second floor.

Bedroom two is fitted with a king-sized zip and link bed as standard, which can be made up to two singles, on request.

SKY TV: The owner is pleased to be able to provide this property with Sky TV, please check the description for the Sky package provided. Please note that the PIN to the Sky box cannot be provided. Therefore there may be viewing restrictions applied during the day as per Ofcom regulations e.g. Watershed limitations. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas