Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Trevena - Cornwall - 912382 - photo 1
  • Trevena - (Ref. 912382)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.






(Ref. 912382)

Crantock near Newquay, Cornwall Show on map


  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • lovely (12)
  • our (10)
  • track (9)
  • quiet (8)
  • farm (8)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Im not sure my review would be all that appropriate on here for the language I would want to use."

    I will say be very careful booking through this company, also be very careful when booking at Trevena the owner isn’t what she seems, no compassion just money oriented. This property DOES NOT have WIFI and the phone signal isn’t intermittent it’s NONE EXISTENT. The property is further from the main road then the map shows you, very small farm track, unmade roads. This property isn’t ideal for anyone with any medical needs. My advice would be to avoid SYKES HOLIDAY COTTAGES and certainly the property TREVENA , there are plenty of other website with beautiful properties available.

    We are sorry that Trevena was not suitable for your needs. When you arrived you said it was essential that you had WiFi and although we tried to help you, our own WiFi would not work in the cottage because of the stone walls. When you left after about an hour you acknowledged that it was your fault as you had not properly checked that the property had WiFi when you made the booking . We were extremely surprised to receive this review and wonder why you are so angry with us. We also offered through Sykes to refund your payment after deducting our cleaning and housekeeping costs, which we were not obligated to do. The listing does make it clear that the property is reached by a 1km unmade farm track which is one reason people find it to be a perfect getaway. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaOct 2023

  • "September 2023, the property is found at the bottom of a long unmade track which is quite rough in places."

    The positive being it was lovely and quiet, if a little tough on the car in places. However the cottage was lovely and clean, there was plenty of room for the three of us and it's located a short drive from Crantock, Cubert village and Newquay.

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Traverna despite the weather and appreciated the quiet and solitude of Colgrease Farm and the pigs."

    However, the on line information provided by Sykes about the property is misleading. We were not prepared of the 3/4 mile long, rutted, access road leading to the cottage. The second bedroom felt very cramped and damp and the on line statement that there were 2 bathrooms is an exaggeration; there was only one toilet for 4 people

    Thank you for your feedback. The access to the property is described in the listing as a 1km long unmade Farm track, which we do not own. We do our best to maintain it but the wet weather can make it worse. The detailed listing does say there’s a shower room and a separate wc. We will see if this can be made clearer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FrancesJul 2023

  • "We had a lovely week in Trevena."

    Thank you.

    Reviewed by AnneMay 2023

  • "Everything was perfect!"

    We love the cottage, it's so nice, quiet and peaceful. The owners are very friendly.

    Reviewed by ThorstenJul 2022

  • "We had a lovely peaceful stay here."

    A great base for exploring the area. Owners very helpful and friendly.

    Reviewed by AlexandraApr 2022

  • "We have been coming to stay in Trevena for many years and some of the furnishings are a bit tired now."

    The mattress in The double room is 20 years old and needs replacing and it would be very helpful to have WiFi in the cottage. Especially as so many places still require prebooking. Also the place mats stuck to the table in the kitchen! I’m not sure why, perhaps the cleaning products have changed as part of the COVID regulations. But Despite all this Cornwall remains one of our favourite places and we would love to come back one day.

    Thank you for your comments. All the mattresses in Trevena are new for 2022 and the sofa covers have also been replaced. We will check with our house keeping team about the cleaning products used on the table top. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanOct 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely it was our second stay, but this time the fridge was really loud even after it was closed it made a deafening droning noise for ages until opened again."

    We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the fridge noise. We will now get it checked, our housekeeping team are there to sort things out for you. We hope you will visit again and if you have any problems please let them know immediately. Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by JasonSep 2021

  • "It's a lovely little cottage that felt immediately homely as soon as we walked in the door."

    It had good size bedrooms and storage and a very usable kitchen. The main track leading to it is a bit rough at first but you soon get used to it. We found as a location it's perfect for visiting the whole of Cornwall. The local beach is a 5 minute car drive and very beautiful and peaceful . Newquays Fistral beach is 15 minutes away if you want a bit more liveliness. Only thing I would say is its not really got much for young children (ours are 6 and 7) as it is on a farm and you obviously can't let them run around unsupervised, but by the time you're back home they'll be knackered anyway. Peter and Carol were fantastic hosts and made us feel really welcome. We'll look forward to visiting again.

    Reviewed by ChristopherAug 2021

  • "Cosy cottage and a lovely stay thank you."

    Beautiful spot but difficult driving down the track to get there. Mattresses could do with updating

    Reviewed by CherryAug 2021

  • "We were really pleased with the cottage."

    Slightly smaller than anticipated but still clean, tidy and everything you could need. We would love to return next year to the cottage but fear we have been priced out as it has increased by £500+ for the same week in July. A real shame as this was perfect for us.

    Reviewed by LynseyJul 2021

  • "Our third time at this cottage!"

    Very well equipped, friendly helpful owners. We love how rural the setting is.

    Reviewed by AnnaJun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Very nice owners living on site.

    Reviewed by DJun 2021

  • "The road leading up to the cottage was a bit off putting to start with but please do not be put off as it really isn't that rough and certainly worth it as the cottage is very peaceful and quiet ."

    Made very welcome by the owners Peter and Carol. Thoroughly recommend

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2021

  • "A beautiful place with all necessities catered for."

    Very warm and welcoming. Will go again.

    Reviewed by HayleyOct 2020

  • "The long rough access quite rightly keeps the price lower"

    Reviewed by RogerSep 2020

  • "We had a problem finding the cottage, but Simon who manages the property quickly resolved this issue for us."

    ... This property is ideal for walkers and people who appreciate peace and quiet, no Internet here, but this caused us no problems at all.... Beds very comfortable, sofas not so comfortable, the cottage was clean and had all the basic requirements for an enjoyable holiday... All that said, it was good value for money and very relaxing... The only small gripe we wanted to hoover before we left, but the Henry hoover at the property did not work... However this didn't ruin our holiday and would gladly recommend..

    Reviewed by LorraineSep 2020

  • "Firstly thank you for all the hard work it took to open in time for our stay."

    The cottage was very clean and well presented but it would have been helpful to know that we should have taken our own bath mat as well as towels. In general the parking meters at the beaches and local attractions take only coins because they do not have internet connections. This was a surprise because during lockdown we have been encouraged to pay by using contactless methods so we have got out of the habit of carrying parking change. Most places needed to be booked in advance and we found this difficult because the cottage has no Wi-fi connection. Having easy access to Wi-fi would have made it much easier to plan our days out.

    Reviewed by IanJul 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely and secluded, but not as accessible to the beach as described, and the road to get to it was very narrow, rocky and potholed, could have caused damage to smaller/older cars."

    Reviewed by JasonSep 2019

  • "An excellent cottage and location for lovely walks directly from the door to the coast."

    Very isolated and peaceful and a warm welcome from the owners who live directly opposite. As stated in the description the track leading to the property is very bumpy and would not be suitable for some vehicles but can be negotiated with care.

    Reviewed by GailSep 2019

  • "A great place to unwind."

    A bit off the beaten track, which I liked, but within easy reach of great cliff top walks and a couple of local villages supplying basics and of course with the odd pub or two. If you’re dying to write that novel, this might just be the place to do it. The cottage is well equipped with good storage space and is very comfortable. It felt quite spacious for two adults. Exactly what I wanted. It couldn’t have been better. We loved it.

    Reviewed by JaneMay 2019

  • "As a family of 4 with 2 children we really enjoyed our stay at the Trevena, it was so peaceful and quiet and our son loved exploring the safe surroundings."

    Everything was as described and the fresh scones with jam and cream on arrival was a nice touch. The location was perfect for exploring Cornwall with all the places we wanted to visit within an hour’s drive. Would definitely consider booking this cottage again. Thank you.

    Reviewed by KimMay 2019

  • "A great little cottage in a very secluded location, no traffic noise; just bird song, well worth the mile drive down the bumpy farm track to get there."

    A couple of small maintenance issues were soon sorted quickly and cheerfully. A great location for touring the whole of Cornwall. We went in May and were blessed with good weather so were even able to enjoy the little sun trap that the cottage's courtyard was, a great place to enjoy a glass of wine after a day of exploring. Not somewhere to go if you are reliant on the internet or mobile phones, but that was clear in the cottage's info so we were well aware of it and enjoyed the escape from our frantic life at home.Good value for money and we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by PaulineMay 2019

  • "Fantastic cottage, very clean in a lovely quiet little place but also not far to drive to many other great locations, a lovely welcome with fresh scones cream and jam on arrival, the only negative was to mud track leading to the farm- but a great experience and a great get away for anyone wanting a peaceful holiday."

    Reviewed by MarcoMar 2019

  • "The cottage Trevana was my girlfriend and mys first holiday together - It was a wonderfully presented little home and was located in a very quiet little farm."

    Countryside inhabitants will feel completely at home, and city dwellers are going to love getting away from the bustle! The scones, cream and jam was a lovely little surprise and gives you a great taste of one of Cornwalls best treats. I really would recommend staying here, it was great to get away from the normal busy lives me and my partner lead. And even better to be completely alone on our holiday! There are a lot of great holiday parks/hotels/cottages you name it, in Cornwall - But the peace and location of Trevana really puts it above others. You'll really appricieate being alone on your holiday. Plus the owners are lovely!

    Reviewed by MarcFeb 2019

  • "We had a lovely stay at this cottage it was in a lovely setting within the farm grounds and had all the amenities to hand."

    The lovely scones were an added bonus. Thanks

    Reviewed by JenniferApr 2017

  • "The location of Trevena was excellent, being within walking distance of Holywell, Crantock and Polly Joke beaches."

    But, being down a long private track, meant we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. The access track was a proper farm track, and ground clearance was a bit of an issue with the car fully loaded, but as long as you steer clear of the large stones you'll be ok. Don't let this put you off, just be aware. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and for the most part left us a lone, but we knew they were nearby if we needed.

    Reviewed by PeterAug 2016

  • "Absolutely loved this cottage in a rural,scenic location but close to gorgeous villages,walks and beaches."

    Very well equipped,couldn't have asked for anything more.

    Reviewed by LucyAug 2016

Show more


  • All ground floor apart from 4 internal steps
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin Shower room with shower and basin
  • Basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Oil central heating in living area, electric panel heaters in bedrooms
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Shared use of Electirc Vehicle Charging point
  • Front enclosed patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles
  • Note: Four internal steps
  • Note: The property is accessed via approx 1km of unmade farm track; care to be taken
  • Note: May not be suitable for people with mobility issues
  • Note: Due to rural location, mobile phone signal can be intermittent
  • Note: Please be advised that this property is for Holiday rentals only and can not accept worker bookings
  • Note: No smoking anywhere on site due to fire risk

The property

This pretty, ground floor cottage is a short drive from the village of Crantock, with steps leading to two bedrooms, a shower room and a separate WC.

There is an open plan living area offering a kitchen, a dining area and a charming sitting area, where you can put your feet up after a long day taking in the wonders of Cornwall.

The secluded and enclosed patio provides a peaceful sitting area for soaking up the sunshine and breathing in that fresh Cornish, country air.

This cottage can be booked with Ref. 904729, together they sleep 9.

Colgrease Farm Cottages

Two charming, stone-built cottages, tucked away in a quiet valley off the beaten track, in the grounds of a beautiful 18th century farmhouse. A perfect getaway from the stresses of modern life, the cottages are at the end of a long unmade farm track, outside the popular village of Crantock. Converted from a traditional stone barn, these cottages make an excellent base for families or groups of friends wishing to explore the wonderful west coast of Cornwall, whilst enjoying a rural escape on a working smallholding. 1km from the nearest road with no WiFi and only intermittent mobile signal it is a great place to unwind. Each cottage has two pretty bedrooms, a bathroom, and boast a delightful living area with a well-equipped kitchen and a dining area, perfect for enjoying family meals and planning tomorrow's escapades. Relax in the comfortable sitting area after a day exploring Cornwall's rugged coastline. Outside each cottage you will find a small private, enclosed patio with furniture. Sit back and soak up the summer sunshine and the peace and quiet of this charming country location with a glass of wine or a good book. Despite the secluded setting, the popular sights of Cornwall can be found just a short drive away. The pretty village of Crantock, just two miles away, is peppered with stone cottages, tea rooms, a friendly pub and several village shops, where you can pick up your morning paper. Take a relaxing stroll along the mile of golden sand at Crantock Beach or visit the busier surfing beaches of Newquay, three miles away and a prime spot fo watersports, including surfing, body boarding and sailing. The town also plays host to horse riding stables, swimming pools, tennis and squash courts and three golf courses! Slightly further afield is the Goss Moor National Nature Reserve, wonderful for walking and a haven for wildlife enthusiasts with recordings of 29 species of butterfly and over 70 species of bird that breed on the site, and of course the amazing Eden Project. With all of this on your doorstep, these two cottages are a wonderfully peaceful base for a holiday spent exploring the beautiful Cornish coast.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Newquay 4.5 miles.

Crantock is a small Cornish village, just a short walk from the beach, close to the popular resort of Newquay. If you want to escape the crowds, yet still be close to the action, this is the place to be. There's stunning countryside all around and lots of pretty villages to explore; however, it is the coast that dominates. Enjoy superb walks along the coastal path over dramatic cliff-tops, or magnificent surfing on beaches stretching from Watergate Bay in the North to Fistral beach in the centre of Newquay and on down the coast. There are a number of golf courses in the area, as well as National Trust properties, traditional pubs and outstanding restaurants. Newquay itself is a visitor's paradise with a wide variety of shops, pubs and restaurants, plus attractions such as the Sea Life Centre, Newquay Zoo and nearby Dairyland and Eden Project.

View more holiday cottages in Crantock

Note: Please be advised that this property is for Holiday rentals only and can not accept worker bookings