Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Hard Day's Night -  - 1080793 - photo 1

Hard Day's Night

(Ref. 1080793)

Tilton On The Hill, Rutland Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • well (19)
  • cottage (17)
  • no (16)
  • lovely (16)
  • pub (14)
  • door (13)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "A really lovely cottage in a pretty rural village."

    Plenty of space and well equipped for a very comfortable stay. It was a pleasure to come home to after a day of exploring. The cottage is well designed with all the comforts needed for a relaxing vacation with family and dogs. The cottage maintains its character, without compromising on practicality. The kitchen is big and well thought out, with all the right equipment for cooking. For days off, the pub next door serves delicious food and is very friendly. Good dog walks near by, the excellent Rutland Water is about 30 mins away and great for walking. The week went too quickly, the sign of a good holiday cottage, which is highly recommended.

    It's always very pleasing to receive positive feedback on the cottage and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, the surroundings and our friendly neighbours in the pub!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Nov 2023

  • "Cottage very well equipped & generally comfortable in a very pleasant area."

    The only thing I would say is the stool in the ground floor room is very wobbly & not the best & possibly dangerous. Unfortunately the pub did not cater for children. Plenty to see & do in surrounding area.

    Many thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback. Thanks too for pointing out the issue with the stool, it shall be replaced during our next maintenance visit this Christmas. I wasn't aware the pub didn't have a menu for children, not suggesting I can change things but the owners are lovely people and I'll have a chat!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Oct 2023

  • "Great location, nice walks for the dogs nearby and not far from Rutland water which is great for water sports."

    The pub next door is very nice too

    Thanks for taking time to provide such kind feedback, so glad you enjoyed the cottage and your stay... Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Sep 2023

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a brilliant location."

    Just a couple of things stopped it from being five stars all round. The bed we used needed a new mattress. I had to put a pillow underneath one side to stop me rolling out! Also, there was no welcome pack or item of any kind , which is the first time we’ve had that. No visitors book either for comments. Lastly , there are security lights around the house and the one in our room lit up every time we moved or turned over in bed! Very annoying! Having said that , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The pub next door is lovely and you don’t hear any noise from it. Very well stocked little shop over the road , too. Garden and seating was enjoyed with the brilliant weather we had! Would definitely return.

    Thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback, I will contact you via text to get details on the bedroom with a mattress issue. The nightlights are ideally to provide safe passage at night to bathrooms etc, they are battery operated and could be switched off if preferred but sorry they disturbed you. Otherwise, much appreciate the positive experience you had and hope to welcome you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.4Sep 2023

  • "This is a well maintained and beautiful cottage."

    We had everything we needed. We visited places like Uppingham, Oakham and Rutland Waters. The owners of the pub next door were friendly and food excellent. One suggestion we would make is that the one bedroom has another washing facility as for four adults one was not enough. We would definitely come back. Thank you.

    Thanks for your kind feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hard Days Night. Creating the compact but fully fitted en-suite shower room to the downstairs bedroom does mean the two first floor bedrooms share a full size bath/shower room. The conversion of a 300 year old Grade 2 listed building in a conservation area was 'challenging' with many restrictions (we could not change the small windows for example) but internal plumbing, routing water and waste and basically space meant a further bathroom was both impractical and not allowed. We do appreciate modern living is often one bedroom to one bathroom but for short breaks hope the facilities are sufficient within the restrictions faced creating the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2023

  • "Only problem we had was the shower trap in the downstairs bathroom, the tray got close to overflowing, and on inspection it was in need of a good clean,I'm sure it was just an oversite ,I find the need cleaning ever wk."

    Other than that it was very clean.

    Many thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback, I have alerted the cleaners to the issue and it will be taken care of and checked more regularly. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hard Days Night.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Monica4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely spacious holiday home with well-equipped kitchen."

    Plenty of room for 6 people with upstairs bedrooms separated by a spacious landing. Nice enclosed garden although I was concerned about the security cameras as my young grandchildren were playing out there. They may not be in use but I can’t find this on the cottage details and Sykes have not answered my question regarding these, despite contacting them on line.

    Firstly, please accept my apologies for taking so long to reply to your feedback, no excuses - I simply missed it coming in. In March this year looking ahead at the bookings for the cottage, our concerns were around the time when no guests are there (we live in France) and ensuring in conjunction with our friends, neighbours and contractors the security is robust. Having installed the Ring doorbell and garden camera after checking multiple sites to ensure placement was legal, we installed them and I twice emailed Sykes to inform them since I agree, the description should be updated to advise clients of their presence. I am again chasing this with them, but want to assure you during times of occupancy, the cameras are not recording and the motion sensors are off, so we receive no alerts of movement etc. I do set them to activate during periods when it is empty and hope you can appreciate why this is prudent. I hope this reassures you and in turn we really appreciate your kind feedback and taking time to highlight your concerns. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne4.7Jun 2023

  • "This was our second visit, the cottage was extremely well maintained as ..."

    This was our second visit, the cottage was extremely well maintained as previously, although the issue with full bins from previous guests had not yet been resolved

    Well obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay again but apologies for the bins issue, we do have a local solution that seems to have been working well, your comments will prompt me to investigate and try and finally resolve the issue. Thanks again for taking time to provide valuable feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0May 2023

  • "Perfect holiday location for dog owners."

    Enclosed garden. Several walk options straight from door. Love how the kitchen doors open up into the garden. Very well stocked kitchen. Owner easy to get hold of and very helpful. Love Tilton and would recommend to others.

    Thanks for the kind feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara4.1Apr 2023

  • "Absolutely stunning property with everything you could wish for."

    All appliances top of the range and extremely well equipped. Enclosed garden perfect for dogs and a dog friendly pub next door! Perfect stay !

    Thanks for the fantastic feedback, it’s really appreciated and we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2023

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The garden is secure. There is an enclosed park up the road that allows dogs off lead before 2pm. The pub next door is very friendly and does amazing food. We had a lovely holiday.

    Thanks for the kind feedback, happy that you enjoyed both the cottage and pub (which we enjoy too).. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Apr 2023

  • "Hard Day’s Night is a beautiful cottage."

    Everything you need. Lovely pub attached. Loved our stay.

    Thanks for taking time to send your very kind feedback, happy you enjoyed your visit.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Apr 2023

  • "The poperty is lovely and the location is superb, the cottage is really well equiped with everything you could want."

    However the cleanliness of the cottage was extremly poor, we spent the first few hours physically cleaning the propoerty before we felt comfortable to even unpack. The kitchen was the worst, a lot of the utensil were dirty there were crumbs all on the work surfaces, in the cutlery tray, on the floor and under the applicances, I appreciate that some of this may be caused by the previous renter, however its obvious that no one is quality checking prior to the next letting. Our dog also managed to find a bag of someone elses underware that was pushed into a drawer in the lounge!! Albeit not to our standard the cottage is still lovely but my advise to the owner is to change the cleaning company. The feel you get in the cottage is one of "that will do" a lot of the furtniture seemed of the cheaper grade and was'nt that comfortable, the mattress on our bed sank to the middle and two of the bedrooms didn't have wardrobes! Albeit well equiped the facilities were not good, for example each of the 2 and a half bathrooms only had half a toilet roll in each, no washing up liquid for the kitchen, no bin bags etc.!

    Firstly of course thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback, I am particularly concerned over the standard of cleanliness when you arrived. We have worked with the same contractor since our first guests just 14 months ago and whilst we have had in that period of over 30 guest visits a couple of negative observations, this is the first at this level. Suffice to say your comments have been shared with the team responsible and new check standards are being adopted to ensure this never happens again, but I do apologise your initial impressions of the house were not to either your or our standards. Regarding the comments on furnishings, I can only say that JLP from where 90% of the interior came from is obviously not to everyone’s taste but we hope the quality is suitable for a comfortable short break, the use to which the house is overwhelmingly put. Being a 300 year old Grade 2 listed cottage in a conservation area, two qualities that make the house what it is, interior planning was very restrictive and the bedrooms are not massive. Whilst full size wardrobes would be preferable of course, there simply would be no space to actually move in the two smaller bedrooms if they were installed, but there is a clothes hanging solution in those rooms which we hope is sufficient for the 3-7 day breaks typically taken. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.5Feb 2023

  • "Late November stay - 6 adults."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hard Days Night. We found it very clean and as described. It was cold on arrival but easily brought heating into action and for remainder of stay heating was efficient. Enjoyed lovely walks from the doorstep and around Rutland Water. We were made very welcome at Rose & Crown next door and enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch at Blue Ball Braunston. We are not dog owners but noted how well equipped the cottage was for those that are. A very small comment the vac when used smells V doggy! A perfect stay for our family get together. Thank you.

    Many thanks for taking time to provide feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of the pub next door! I'll see if we can get our cleaning team to do something about the Dyson 'doggy' odour, with so many guests having a couple of four legged friends staying it's a recurring issue.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela3.8Nov 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage in a quiet village - literally next door to a pub!"

    Small, enclosed garden for the dogs with loads of close fields/places to walk. The pub has amazing food too, lovely people and dog friendly, even with our 2 big GSD’s! Super comfy beds and sofas… we booked again for next year whilst we were there! Definitely recommend

    Thanks for your fantastic feedback, we’re delighted you enjoyed the house and area and will be welcoming you back again next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Nov 2022

  • "Outstanding property."

    Could not fault on any aspect.

    Thanks for the very kind feedback, delighted you enjoyed the house and your stay.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Oct 2022

  • "A well appointed house with easy access to having a good look round."

    We did think it had 3 bathrooms but it was just 2 and one separate toilet and bit smaller than we thought it was going to be. It was quite a dark house as there were shutters at the windows which we did open to try and let more light in. We should have been a party of 6 but ended up as 4 which due to the seating in the lounge worked well as it would have been a squeeze. The grass hadn't been cut and was very long which isn't great when you have dogs. Unfortunately when we arrived the heating wasn't on and it was cold on arrival and there was no welcome pack which is the first time we haven't been left anything. We're usually greeted with milk and a cake which is always very much appreciated. Most of the house was cleaned well but the floor hadn't been swept and the rug not hoovered. I swept myself and when trying to use the hoover it appeared the filter needed cleaning - hence no hoovering the rug I presume. Saying all of the above, we wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit. The kitchen was perfect with everything you could wish for. Once we worked out the heating it was lovely and warm. It was very good having a well enclosed garden especially as one of the dogs is a Houdini! It was great being next door to the pub which was lovely It was also a very quiet place to stay.

    Many thanks for taking time to provide feedback, it is always appreciated. Regarding the amount of natural light in the cottage, being 300 years old and Grade 2 listed there was no option to put any larger windows in due to planning restrictions. The shutters we believe provide a necessary level of privacy on the ground floor, but the 16 flush fitted LED ceiling lights do provide we hope a good alternative to natural light. It's true as remote owners some things are less easily sorted, the new batteries for example is a simple oversight but we now put fresh batteries in all remotes and the thermosat every 6 months and there are fresh spares which should now not be needed. The hoover you rightly point out was a simple filter clean completed in 5 minutes but should have been done by our contractors. We too hoped to provide a welcome pack but have no reliable mechanic to do so and consequently make no reference to one being available on Sykes website. Of course we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and we can use your detailed feedback to find solutions to those niggling issues that can take the edge off a great holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gaynor4.1Oct 2022

  • "Perfect cottage for 5 adults and 2 dogs, very well equipped and totally dog proof garden which was good."

    But as absent landlords there are a couple of issues to look at. We couldn't get the heating to work, even after consulting owners. It transpired, we discovered for ourselves, that the batteries in the thermostat were flat, we had to replace them. Lots of batteries in the cottage, but all defunct. We had one cold night. Bins, general waste full to the brim on our arrival which caused a problem.

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Sep 2022

  • "A lovely place plenty of room for all the family, kitchen was well equipped."

    Had a few little problems which owner was very helpful with even though they were out of the country The lawn was very long , which was a bit of a nuisance with having 2 dogs. The lawnmower was a remote robotic one, which was programmed to cut, BUT it has clogged up due to the grass being so long, we eventually managed to sort it after cleaning it , and reprogramming. The joys of technology, thankfully my son was with us. Also the basics, Salt, pepper, tea bags, coffee were non existant. The only sykes cottage i have stayed in that didn,t have a welcome pack of basics. This said this did not ruin our stay and would recommend this place. A shop across the road, pub next door, chip shop van twice a week and a pizza van once a week.

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback, regarding the lawnmower, we are looking for someone local we can bring on board to support any technical issues like this that arise from time to time. Basic condiments were in the house but between guests had not been refilled, an oversight, but we make no commitment to a welcome pack since as you say our living in France, we have no mechanic to ensure a fresh pack could be made available. Suffice to say we are glad that overall you enjoyed the house and the area Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely lovely property."

    We enjoyed a very comfortable week at Hard Days Night. It is very well appointed with all mod-cons and everything we needed to make this a perfect home-from-home for a week. There are some nice walks along the lanes and across the fields around Tilton and it is also a good location for exploring Rutland and East Leicestershire - some of the villages in the area are absolute gems and we had two wonderful meals out (Stag and Hounds & Hitchens Barn, Oakham). Owners responded promptly to a query we had when we arrived and resolved issue quickly. Thanks for a great stay.

    Thank you for the very kind feedback, so glad you had an enjoyable stay - Stag & Hounds one of our favourites too! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Aug 2022

  • "Arrived to find downstairs tv not working contacted sykes hoover half full ..."

    Arrived to find downstairs tv not working contacted sykes hoover half full with dust bins smelling and full because of dates of recycling generally clean but not of high standard saying that nice place to stay beds very comfortable

    Thanks for your feedback, Sykes did not contact me regarding the television, the guest after you contacted me directly and a new set is being installed today. We are working with our cleaning contractor on a waste solution, alternate weeks are rubbish and recycling on a Thursday which does not match a natural changeover pattern for the house but sorry you had less than excellent experience due to these issues Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon3.8Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely family stay in the quiet village of TILTON ON THE HILL."

    Residents were welcoming and friendly. Beautiful, well equipped house suited for all ages- Playground and PlayStation was a big hit for the kids and the pub nextdoor for parents and dogs- excellent food, would recommend Wednesday steak night. Lots of places to visit- Rutland Lakes was a good activity day out for all- boat cruise(dog friendly), aqua park, beach., mini golf, bug zoo and dog walks. A few issues with unwelcome flies and cleanliness. Dyson hoover full of dust not been emptied on arrival. Clean on the surface but needs some TLC- dirty oven trays and serving dishes ( all sorted after an hour of Nana cleaning), chewed coasters, used tissues down the side of the sofa and dog hair on blankets. Recommend a new stair gate, present net gate is ripped and pointless. We had a relaxing family stay and despite the few issues on arrival, which can be rectified, it hasn’t stopped us looking to book for next year.

    Thank you for your detailed feedback, whilst glad of course you enjoyed your stay I`m sorry some elements of the changeover cleaning had been overlooked and this has been passed to our contractors. A new gate will be sorted when we carry out a maintenance visit in October. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.1Jul 2022

  • "We absolutely loved this house."

    Beautifully presented. They had more utensils in the kitchen than you could think of! Being next door to the pub was very helpful - we had 3 meals that were all delicious. The village was very quiet, there was a nice little shop and everyone was very friendly. We were about 20 mins from Rutland Water which was brilliant with plenty to do. We would definitely recommend this house.

    Thanks so much for your kind feedback, so happy you enjoyed the cottage and your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jul 2022

  • "Idyllic cottage in tranquil rural setting."

    The stunning kitchen and outdoor space was fabulous for alfresco living and the interior was comfy, clean and spacious with great smart TV/ play station for down time. Bedrooms were cosy too.

    Thanks so much for the kind feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Jul 2022

  • "We rented this place and made contact with the owner regarding cleanliness as we were taking my my mum and she has cancer and a weakened immune system."

    The place was dirty in several areas with previous dog wee stains and cobwebs on the ceilings. In addition the dishwasher was fully of pots so we had to empty and the bin was totally full so we had no where to put any rubbish. Not a good relaxing break and hygiene standards were not very good. You don’t expect to have a hard earned break and empty bins and the dishwasher.

    I am so sorry you had a disappointing break at our cottage, after we spoke prior to your visit I passed on the need for a deep clean due to a member of your party being vulnerable and had hoped this would be the case. We have had no issues with our cleaning contractors since we started using them last year, but accept it was clearly not to either your expectations or our desired standards. It's true on some fast changeovers as is often the case in peak season, we struggle with managing bin clearance but no guests should have no provision for waste and this was unacceptable. It is only through honest feedback such as yours that we as remote owners can take action to improve and we have already agreed a new process of feedback from our contractors on every changeover as we strive to return to our previous high standards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dina3.1Jul 2022

  • "Great location, well equipped, perfect for our two families."

    Big bonus was the number of bathrooms and the outside space was perfect. We'll stay again!

    Thanks for the great feedback, delighted you enjoyed the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dharmesh5.0Jul 2022

  • "A comfortable cottage equipped with everything to make you feel at home."

    Thank you for your kind feedback, great you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Jun 2022

  • "Everything about the property is perfect."

    Enough cooking utensils for a feast. Fantastic garden furniture. Lots of plates and cutlery. Chip van can that comes round to the pub car park is a particular cherry on top. Pizza van too sadly didn't get chance to try it. Our pooch loved it. The nearby church is a fab place to ramble about. Would recommend to take your own towels. They are provided but not the biggest size. Would recommend as a property.

    Many thanks for the kind feedback James, point about the towels noted too and appreciate this, glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Jun 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful barn conversion."

    Every detail was perfect, so much so that we wanted to live there and not leave. Ideal space for 6 adults and 2 dogs without being on top of each other and perfect location to explore the area. Highly recommend this property - perfect

    Anna and I really appreciate your kind feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Apr 2022

  • "The property was very well presented and had a welcoming feel."

    The layout was prefect for our purposes plus a secure garden for the dog. The kitchen is very well equipped and the bathroom fittings easy to operate. A couple of things to mention - the oven door doesn't shut properly and the toaster only toasts one side. Otherwise all good.

    Reviewed by Penny4.1Mar 2022

  • "Lovely, comfortable, well equipped property."

    Handy location for exploring Rutland.

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, beautiful kitchen the owner has thought of everything only thing I’d say would make it even better is a hot tub :) really was a lovely weekend away and the owner had great communication we will be returning and have recommended already."

    Reviewed by Fay5.0Dec 2021

  • "A lovely cottage where everything is catered for."

    The facilities were really good, from the amount of kitchen equipment to crockery and cutlery. Would recommend this cottage to stay in.

    Many thanks for the kind feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Dec 2021

  • "Fabul"

    Thanks for the kind and positive feedback, it is much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay... Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Nov 2021

  • "Lovely house in a pretty village."

    The house is cozy, clean and very well equipped: everything and more was provided. Very dog friendly. Highly recommend.

    Thanks for your kind feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Nov 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x double with TV, 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Double electric oven, induction hob, microwave, American-style fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, wine cooler, coffee machine
  • 2 x Smart TVs, WiFi, DVD player, PlayStation
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed garden with lawn, patio, barbecue and furniture
  • Please note, there is external CCTV
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 50 meters, pub next door
  • Note: Strictly no Stag/ Hen parties or similar
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £350.

The property

Resting in the pretty village of Tilton on the Hill, Hard Day’s Night is a 300 year-old former skittle alley, which has recently been converted into a delightful home.

This stone-built, semi-detached cottage is Grade II listed and with exposed beams throughout, Hard Day’s Night is a charming honey-coloured base from which to explore the beauty of the Leicestershire countryside.

Its location close to the county border makes it ideally situated to explore all that England’s smallest county, Rutland has to offer and yet the City of Leicester is less than half an hour’s drive. You are greeted to the property by off-road parking for two cars, before you step into the open-plan living space where you can grab a spot on the sofa and take advantage of the Smart TV or the DVD player, cook up a storm in the stylish and well-equipped kitchen for guests to enjoy around the dining table or head out of the bi-fold patio doors and enjoy the south-facing garden with a barbecue and furniture so you can indulge in some al fresco dining.

The ground-floor also boasts a cloakroom with WC, handy laundry facilities and a double bedroom with its own en-suite shower room, making ground-floor living possible for those who need it.

Climbing upstairs there is a spacious landing with a dressing table so guests can get ready in style and a double bedroom with a TV for a bit of wind down time in the evening.

Flowing through, there is a second landing also with a dressing table, so each bedroom has their own spacious spot to get ready for an evening out, as well as another double bedroom and a bathroom with both bath and Rainfall shower.

Hard Day’s Night is just a stone's throw away from the village shop which is perfect for grabbing any essentials and even more conveniently, the delightful cottage is adjoining the Rose and Crown pub so it’s just a short walk to enjoy this charming little pub’s range of excellent value traditional pub grub.

In one direction, you can take a short drive into the town of Oakham where children can enjoy feeding the animals at Rutland Farm Park, and there is also a train station, a museum, playgrounds and a 12th century castle.

Also in this direction is the Rutland Water Nature Reserve which is home to a thrilling aqua park, a golf course, Rutland Falconry and Rutland Zoo.

There is cycle hire, boat rental and other water sports and 26 miles of paths to explore around the reservoir.

In the opposite direction, you can explore the thriving city of Leicester which has a captivating cathedral, plenty of interesting museums and galleries including the National Space Centre, a go-kart track and the Flip Out indoor trampoline park, as well as shops, bars and eateries to spoil you for choice.

The lovely market towns of Uppingham, Market Harborough and Melton Mowbray, famous for the Pork Pie, are all around 20 minutes away from your base in Tilton on the Hill.

There are also many attractive villages nearby and a host of farm shops and cafes offering outstanding local produce.

Hard Day’s Night is a stunning, comfortable home with all modern conveniences, which has been created from a quirky old building in the heart of this friendly village.

Please note property can only accept short breaks for the following periods:

Weekend Break - Friday to Monday
Midweek Break - Monday to Friday

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Melton Mowbray 10.5 miles; Leicester 11.5 miles.

Historically founded in Saxon times, Tilton on the Hill was at the crossroads of old paths between Leicester, Oakham, Market Harborough and Melton Mowbray, offering great access to markets and towns. Nowadays the village is a pretty English settlement with a mix of original cottages and modern houses built in a classic style. Home to a village general store, a pub called the Rose and Crown, and a village hall hosting community events and clubs, its a delightful environment to enjoy a peaceful break. There's lots to do in the surrounding area, little ones will love Rutland Farm Park where they can feed the animals, Twinlakes Outdoor Waterpark and Theme Park will be a hit in summer, and on rainy days go to Flip Out Leicester for some indoor bouncing fun! Thanks to its central location Tilton on the Hill ensures easy access to several major towns, while being a peaceful place to return to each day of your self-catered stay.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas