Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Tannery Cottage - Cotswolds - 988619 - photo 1
  • Tannery Cottage - (Ref. 988619)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Tannery Cottage

(Ref. 988619)

Burford, Oxfordshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (27)
  • location (20)
  • lovely (17)
  • garden (15)
  • our (14)
  • bed (12)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "We have a Lively stay en nothing to be critical over"

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rene4.4May 2024

  • "We have sent a complaint due to various problems including mice and leaks and awaiting a call back."

    Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback. Unfortunately, there was a leak, since your stay, the leak has been fixed. Despite thorough searches and preventative measures taken, no further trace of any mice has been found in the house after that one incident. Best wishes. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly2.2Dec 2023

  • "Fantastic location, lovely property, and great enclosed garden for the dog."

    The stairs to the bedrooms are steep. Kitchen was well equipped but we couldn’t get the grill to work. All in all a fabulous stay.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Tannery Cottage. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we will check with our Maintenance Team that they have looked at the grill before the next guest's go into the cottage, so thank you for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Sep 2023

  • "The cottage is beautiful although the description in no way explains just how steep the stairs are."

    They’re actually quite dangerous and there’s no hand rail. We tried several times to get in touch with Manor Cottages to tell them there is a leak coming through the ceiling in the dining area, and also to say our holiday was cut short by 3 days due to illness, but nobody answered the phone or replied to my emails which I think is pretty poor. We would return to this cottage because the location is fabulous! The beds are extremely comfy also, and the garden was amazing for our dog. Such a shame we were too ill to enjoy it.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your holiday was cut short due to illness. We also do not have a record of any contact so we can only apologise for this. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philippa3.8Sep 2023

  • "Great holiday cottage Amazing location with the high street & amazing food close by."

    We didn’t cook there but it seemed to have everything you would need. Also nice private garden in the sunshibe

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time away and took full advantage of both the beautiful area of Burford and the property itself! We hope to welcome you again one day soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Aug 2023

  • "This was our second visit to Tannery Cottage."

    It’s a very pretty cottage in a wonderful location, and our dog loves the enclosed garden. It’s let down a bit by the quality of the kitchen equipment and facilities.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments onto the Property Management Team. We hope you and your dog enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8May 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage in beautiful Burford."

    Small but perfectly formed - easy access to the pubs and the countryside. Lovely wood burner (wood at the service station) and a safe garden for dogs. Just the thing for a long weekend!

    Reviewed by Susan4.4May 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in a fantastic location for short stays."

    We really enjoyed our stay, thank you.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had a great stay."

    Perfect location. On road parking available, short walk to High Street. Lots of good eating places, pubs, shops a short walk away. Fully enclosed garden a bonus for our dog. Everything we needed in the cottage. Log burner for those cosy nights in. We had a couple of long, countryside walks with the dog straight from the cottage and lots of places to visit in the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback. It's brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again one day in the future! Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian4.7Feb 2023

  • "Overall liked the property and garden, great quiet location in village."

    However, did find the property cold, even with log burner lit. The bedroom (above sitting room), was cold, and the mattress uncomfortable. Lights in kitchen flicked a lot. Did feel there was a damp smell when entering property. Without any radiators we didn’t manage to fully dry our towels.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We appreciate the issues you experienced being brought to our attention. These will be investigated, and we hope that they did not leave a lasting impact on your stay. We hope to welcome you again one day in the future. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.4Feb 2023

  • "Beautiful cosy cottage, superb location near shops & pubs."

    The house is well-equipped and the beds are so comfortable. Really lovely place - the service from Sky Cottages was brilliant.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Tannery Cottage and loved the location too. We hope to welcome you again. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely weekend in this beautiful cottage."

    The garden was great for the dog, safe and enclosed and sunny! Short walk to the town centre with a wealth of eateries and gorgeous things to buy. Would highly recommend

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you (and your dog!) enjoyed your stay, and also loved the great location. We would love to welcome you again. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Sep 2022

  • "We were a smaller party than anticipated (due to covid) and the cottage was absolutely luxurious for just two people."

    The cleaners were still there until just after 4pm, but it was a lovely day so we sat in the garden. They left the place spotlessly clean, so no complaints from us. The cottage was well equipped, except there was no loo roll to be found. The provided hot drinks facilities and a packet of biscuits were appreciated. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom, although tiny, was nicely fitted out. All in all, it felt like a real home away from home, much more relaxing than a hotel stay would have been.

    Thank you for this feedback which is much appreciated. We're delighted you found the cottage to be clean and luxurious and managed to enjoy such a relaxing stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Aug 2022

  • "Wonderful property in a fantastic location."

    We stayed for a long weekend and the cottage had everything we needed. The stairs to the upper floors are very steep but this is an old cottage and these types of features are to be expected and we loved the quirkiness. Large garden which is unusual for a cottage so centrally located. Would definitely return.

    Thank you for this lovely review and we're so glad you loved the property and the location. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philippa4.7Aug 2022

  • "Broken fridge, replaced by "freezer" which cans exploded in at 5 in the morning!"

    Replaced again by a tiny table top fridge so we couldn't buy fresh ingredients to cook with. Shower hose broken so waited 24 hours in heatwave for a shower until it was replaced. No lightbulbs in 2 lamps.

    Thank you for providing this feedback and we're so sorry that a freezer was brought in as a replacement by mistake. The problems you encountered and brought to our attention have all now been rectified and we apologise if they impacted on your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keely2.2Jul 2022

  • "A lovely place."

    Cozy lounge with logburner and lots of space in kitchen diner. Beds were very comfortable and rooms full of character. Manor cottages ( owners) proved to be very helpful too. Found the grill difficult to master. It needs some extra explaining as the manual is not clear.

    Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tannery Cottage. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will look at providing further instructions on the grill for future guests. Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback and we hope to welcome you to Tannery Cottage again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Feb 2022

  • "Considering we couldn’t enter the property until 6pm, due to deep clean we ..."

    Considering we couldn’t enter the property until 6pm, due to deep clean we were disappointed with the cleanliness, the bedroom was full of dust, an empty cardboard box had been left in the living room, our dog found a raggedy old dogs toy behind the chair and the worst thing for me was all the dog muck left on the lawn

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback, we are so sorry that you had issues with your stay, we will inform the owner of your feedback and will work on them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy4.4Dec 2021

  • "Overall we were satisfied with the cottage and location to Burford High Street."

    The Royal Oak Pub and Highway Inn were excellent and definitely worth a visit. Burford is a great place to stay and stroll around with many interesting shops. Our only criticism of the cottage is that the living room would benefit from updating with new furnishings.

    Reviewed by Marcello4.1Sep 2021

  • "Was really small and old fashioned needs updating."

    Stairs a nightmare. Location good but parking a problem. Bathroom so tiny could hardly move in it.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Tannery Cottage. We take all feedback seriously and note your comments. The cottage dates back to the 19th Century, so it is old throughout being a stone cottage of this age. The stairs are in keeping with the age of the cottage and are steep in places due to the age, but we do state this on the website. Also parking is on street as with most of Burford, but it's free parking everywhere. Again the bathroom is a standard size. We hope you still enjoyed the wonderful sites Burford and the surrounding areas have while you stayed with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Myra2.2Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage but not ideal for anyone with mobility problems as stairs are difficult to climb."

    Facilities and cleanliness very good and good location to visit other popular locations.

    Thank you for your feedback! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and your positive comments will be passed on to our housekeeping team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tatiana4.7Jul 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay in Burford, parking is an issue if you want to be close to the cottage."

    It could be a lovely place to stay but it is in real need of updating and money spending on it. The lounge especially really uncomfortable suite which has covers on it which are in dire need of washing. We had to wash all the cutlery, plates, mugs and most certainly the glasses which looked like they’d not been washed in ages. We did take some our own utensils and pots and pans. But overall we enjoyed our stay in Burford. With the previous lock down the cottage could have been decorated and deep cleaned it would have been an ideal opportunity. Would we stay in the Tannery again (NO is the answer). The weather was superb all week so that was a real bonus.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Tannery Cottage. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced issues in terms of cleanliness during your time spent there and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The housekeeping team will be informed of your comments and will improve their work accordingly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin3.1Jun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage and a very nice holiday."

    Great location just off the high street with 2 very good pubs within 400m.

    We are glad you had a very nice holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2020

  • "Really lovely cottage in a brilliant location."

    Happy to hear you had a lovely stay at Tannery Cottage. We hope to welcome you back one day. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Verity4.4Sep 2020

  • "The Cottage was lovely, it had everything that we wanted for our stay, would recommend it."

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Aug 2020

  • "You very kindly let us know that we could check in early which was much appreciated."

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage in the heart of Burford, not even 5 mins walk from the High St."

    It's very well equipped, garden is pleasant and enclosed and, extra important at this time with Covid 19, it was spotlessly clean! As the listing says the loft room is very small and the beds are under beams - my 8 year old twins were too big for this room so slept in the 2nd double room. Stairs are steep, I would not recommend for the elderly.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Tannery Cottage. It is in a lovely location to visit the Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cath4.7Jul 2020

  • "Fabulous cosy cottage in the perfect location."

    Our children loved it and so did we. Comfy beds, excellent kitchen and well appointed. Lovely snug living room. We enjoyed the proximity to the high street, cafes and pubs and access to roads to travel around. Lovely stay - will be back!

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Feb 2020

  • "Gorgeous cottage is wonderful location with very comfy beds."

    Unfortunately towards end of holiday we discovered oven did not work so this needs fixing. Despite emailing ahead of our visit after reading some bad reviews about cottage being dusty and in need of good clean we arrived to find very dusty - cobwebs all over beams and in shower and very dirty under beds etc - in need of thorough clean and airing. Also needs painting above sink in kitchen where it’s been plastered - generally needs refresh. Throws and sofas pretty old and stained. Despite this we loved location but cottage in dire need to deep clean and refresh.

    Thank you for your feedback on Tannery Cottage, many apologies that you did not find the cottage up to standard. We have taken measures to address the issues you have raised, to ensure future guests have an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine Jane2.5Aug 2019

  • "Parking car was a nightmare so busy ."

    Nice cottage and garden for our dog . But it states no dogs on furniture or upstairs which l wouldn't let my dog do anywhere but there was dog hair everywhere my husband was covered in it when he sat on sofa and bedroom carpet was also like this. But be fair to housekeeping the Hoover was awful.

    Reviewed by Susan2.5Jun 2019

  • "Beds very uncomfortable and not meeting standard Towels not up to ..."

    Beds very uncomfortable and not meeting standard Towels not up to standard Should have bath/shower toiletries Otherwise all good

    Reviewed by Julie3.4Nov 2018

  • "I would highly recommend a stay in this lovely wee cottage."

    A perfect home from home

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Oct 2018

  • "Location, size, layout and comfortable"


  • "Good location - close enough to the the centre of Burford to enjoy the services, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle."

    It also has a great garden. Mr Shaw, May 2017.


  • "Beautiful location and I liked the garden space attached to the cottage."

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. I felt Burford was a good base to travel from to get to the other villages.

    Mr Traidia

  • "Lovely relaxing place in a great location"

    Mr Layne

  • "Excellent cottage!"

    Mr Pocock

  • "It was our first visit to the Cotswolds and Tannery Cottage was a fantastic base."

    Ms Little

  • "Excellent!"


  • ": Lovely cottage, well equipped, great area and base to explore."

    Mrs Barrans

  • "We stayed in a very pleasant cottage in a very pleasant town with nice countryside around it."

    Mr Dagmar

  • "A very cosy comfortable cottage where you feel at home almost instantly."

    Mr Augustijn

  • "It was very well equipped, perfect secure enclosed garden for our dogs to chill out in."

    Very close to all shops and at the start of many excellent local walks.\ \


Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: all double, top room can be made up as twins on request. Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Living room with woodburner and tv.
  • Central heating, woodburner
  • Gas range, with 5 hobs, multiple ovens and a grill, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot
  • Enclosed garden with furniture
  • Roadside parking on quiet street
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 mile
  • Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep
  • Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only. Note: Though there are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people, Customers wont have used of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles. Please note this property has a Good House Keeping Bond of £100, this will be shadowed at the time of booking

The property

Tannery Cottage is a cosy, stone-built cottage nestled close to the centre of Burford.

Your family will be delighted with this home-away-from-home, offering a superb base for touring the wonders of the Cotswold.

Upon entering the property, you are immediately greeted into a characterful interior, boasting exposed beams, idyllic furnishings and a welcoming charm.

The designated chef will be delighted with the kitchen, where you will find a range cooker, a dishwasher, microwave and Nespresso machine, ideal for rustling up family tasty treats.

During the winter months, snuggle up with your loved ones within a cosy sitting room, where plush sofas that sit in front of a roaring woodburning fire.

For a good night’s sleep, retire of an evening within one of the three well-presented bedrooms, comprising of two elegant double bedrooms and a charming twin bedroom.

During the warmer months, make the most of an idyllic enclosed garden, which is perfect for letting the dog stretch his legs or simply relaxing with a cooling beverage after a busy day exploring.

Within a mere stone’s throw, you will find a number of pubs and shops to suit the needs of all staying guests.

The area also plays host to a number of attractions to keep you busy.

If you are visiting with younger guests, they will be delighted with attractions include visiting Cotswold Wildlife Park and Gardens, Crocodiles of the World and the Old New Inn Model Village.

Alternatively, take a leisurely stroll around the National Trust property, Bibury and take in the views at Wychwood Wild Garden.

Tannery Cottage is a delightful hideaway, within a thriving location.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

Note: The stairs to the twin room are steep and therefore not suitable for the less mobile or very young, the stairs up to the first floor are also steep.
Note: This cottage is suited to 4 adults only.
Note: There are 3 bedrooms as the cottage is only suitable for four people. Customers won’t have use of all 3 bedrooms, you can choose between either having two double beds, or one double and two singles
Please note this property has a Good House Keeping Bond of £100, this will be shadowed at the time of booking.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas