Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 14 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Cove Cottage - Devon - 1033921 - photo 1
close

Cove Cottage

(Ref. 1033921)

Torquay, Devon Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (13)
  • no (13)
  • property (9)
  • our (8)
  • location (8)
  • cove (8)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "From the pictures & description it seemed promising, apart from a few things thats ruined our anniversary - original ad said two cars but we was greeted by the upstairs neighbour who shouted at us aggressively & told us to move both cars from the drive so we had to relocate the one elsewhere."

    - the drive was covered in dogshit & smelled - every room had a damp smell of mould that would cause us to leave the doors open when it wasn't raining - the entire bathroom was covered in mould from the dampness (having a shower would cause a bad smell & more dampness) (also have pictures) - the salt , pepper & other pots was growing green mould from how long they haven’t been changed.(have pictures) - the neighbour would park his car across from the gates soo it would make it very difficult to leave the property as it’s on a hill sand a very tight left or right turn - non of the contact numbers will work either

    Reviewed by Gabriel2.2Sep 2023

  • "Upon arrival at Cove cottage, we were pleasantly surprised."

    It is all one level, which was great. There was everything you could need for your stay. There were four of us, and plenty of room.The whole place was immaculately clean and tidy. It was the nicest place we have been to this year. Suzanne, the owner was easy to contact. We had a query and she answered it straight away. She also asked our opinions on any improvements that could be made to the property, which was nice. We believe that it is perfect for a small family and will definitely return. It is in an ideal location to visit the local beautiful towns and villages that South Devon had to offer. It has been a great find for us as a family, as we visit Devon 4 or 5 times a year. The only negative was pulling out of the double gates st the rear of the property with some inconsiderate people parking opposite the gates making it hard to turn onto the road outside as it was a bit tight turning with cars parked there. The steps down to the property at the back are a little steep, so it's best to walk round to the front door. That said we will definitely return, oh and thank you for the biscuits.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Jul 2023

  • "Cove Cottage was delightful, welcoming, with fun decoration and well equipped."

    I enjoyed a great week! There are a few small, inexpensive recommendations that I think would make things even better: 1. The clothes airer was broken on arrival, l left a note on it for the cleaner. 2. No rack in the shower cubicle to put soap or bottles in, which makes showering problematic! 3. No waste baskets in the living room or bedrooms. I don’t wish these recommendations to be published, as they decry from a fabulous stay but just thought the owner may wish to know. You may publish the first 2 sentences ONLY!

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Oct 2022

  • "...."

    Enjoyed our stay at Cove Cottage we used the convenient road parking at front of property, the owner was very proactive in ensuring our stay was up to expectations of previous customer ratings. The accommodation suited us a small group of 3, A washing machine and clothes airier kept our towels fresh, a perfect location to enjoy the "English Riviera". The No 22 bus is a bit 'hit and miss' at present with stagecoach having many issues, however still managed a visit to Torquay, Teignmouth and Dawlish. The nearby coastal path walk to Oddicombe Beach is a testing return leg..!! , but enjoyable. Overall we all enjoyed our break and the accommodation.

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.7Sep 2022

  • "This cottage is located in a quiet part of Torquay close to Babbacombe and it's attractions: i."

    E. the model village Kent's Caverns, Oddicombe beach. A decent old pub, The Crown and Spectre is a 5 mins walk away and on the walk back, you could hear the sound of silence. .Bliss! The cottage itself is spotlessly clean, comfortable with a very private patio area round the back. We enjoyed our stay so much that we tried to extend our stay by another 4 days but, sadly had been booked out. My wife and I will be back

    Reviewed by Angus5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely week with five of us staying at Cove Cottage, all our needs were catered for including small but useful things, a first aid box to tend to a grazed toe and needle and thread should it be needed."

    Comfortable beds, hot showers and a comfy living room. The kitchen was well stocked with everything needed if one chose to do much cooking. Off street parking was good and the location of the cottage couldn’t have been better, five minutes walk to the pretty village of St. Mary Church and another five or so to the cliff train at the top of Oddicombe beach. Located within the village is the wonderful museum BYGONES which is a must to visit. We used the bus service to Torquay, which ran past the cottage with the stops being conveniently, very close, either up or down the road. There were further bus services from the village offering more destinations. All in all a comfortable home from home and a good base for exploring this beautiful part of England.

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are so glad you had a lovely time at Cove Cottage. Very useful information for other guests regarding the location of the cottage too. Thanks again. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sylvia5.0Jul 2022

  • "Having read some of the petty feedback i am amazed."

    As a family we rent cottages as a cheaper option to hotels and caravans and this cottage was one of the best we have ever stayed at.If you do read the feed back first then most of it can be ignored only an idiot complains about no egg cups which are now there. This cottage is idearly placed for the bus service which is very good in all excelant place clean tidy and more than adequte even got a toy box under the bed for a toddler brillant

    Hi, thank you so much for your positive feedback. I's really good to hear that you had a positive experience at Cove Cottage. We really value customer feedback and always do whatever we can to improve the property so guests are happy. We are so happy that you had a lovely break and enjoyed yourselves. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mervyn5.0Jun 2022

  • "Cottage was in a great location and convenient to visit local area."

    There was however a significant amount of damp in the master bedroom by the wardrobe and in the living room. This seemed to occur in the main bedroom when the shower was in use. It would be good if there was an easy way to switch the under floor heating off in the bathroom as this made the accommodation very hot. A specific bin for general waste should also be provided as there clearly wasn’t one.

    Thank you for your feedback. We found out after your visit that there was a leak under the floor of the bathroom which explained the floor feeling very warm and the excess moisture in the air causing the damp spots in the bedroom. There are recycling boxes but take in board your comments regarding the outside bin. Leak was fixed thankfully. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam3.8Sep 2021

  • "The property was well-equipped and had an easy to use kitchen, modern lounge and TV and good bedroom spaces."

    The location was good, at 15 minutes walking from oddicombe beach cliff railway. However the sofa and beds were very dusty. The sheets had been washed but all were re-covered with dusty throw pillows and throws, which was not good for me as a dust-mite allergy sufferer. Washing sheets and duvets at 60 degrees would fix this problem and avoid throw pillows, or wash them as well in between each use if they will be put onto the beds each time, otherwise it makes the whole bed and sofa very dusty. The floor towel in the bathroom is not adequate for a family of 4, it was the size of a tea towel and did not keep the floor dry. We slipped more than a few times as a result. The hand towels were the size of a dish cloth, again not really adequate. Investing in some larger towels overall I think would help. The property also had mould in the children's bedroom on the seat, and inside the wardrobe on the wall and the whole flat smelt quite mildewy. It was cold so we attempted to put the heating on, also to dry some washed clothing which would not otherwise dry. But it was not clear how to put it on intermittently, it was all or nothing. A guide to using the boiler would have been useful as the property got very cold at night and even during the day on windy cloud covered days in July.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the cleaning and laundry was not as you would have expected. Your feedback was conveyed to the cleaning team at the time of you leaving this post to rectify this issue. Since you left this post we have provided larger bath mats and hand towels. The property did have some issues with condensation due to lack of ventilation and the fact the property is ground floor and very well insulated. These issues have now been rectified by assisting air flow within the property to prevent condensation when guests are not ventilating the property. The manual for the heating is located in the kitchen cupboard in a folder which is detailed in the information pack for guests. Many thanks, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lena3.4Jul 2021

  • "The accommodation on 1st entering was just as described, however there was an extremely strong smell of damp."

    The wardrobe in the bunk room had mould on the walls inside making it impossible to hang clothes. I member of the party is a severe asthmatic so this was naturally a huge concern. Had we not of been there on the hottest week of the year I seriously believe we would have sought alternative accommodation. The other major issue we had was the dog excrement all over the area we were supposed to park our car. Having a relatively new car the off road parking was a bonus however sadly this wasn’t to be due to the fear of walking in the copious amounts of poo left all over by the people occupying the house next door. We had to find alternative parking which wasn’t ideal. Due to these 2 issues we would not elect to stay at this property again.

    Thank you for your feedback. The property is a ground floor cottage which is very well insulated and requires ventilation to assist air flow in the property. We have since had a specialist out to the property who has confirmed was an issue with condensation at the proeeprty, we have had the work done to remove the issue with condensation and as you can see from subsquenent reviews this has been successfully resolved. We have since had a humidistat fan installed in the kitchen which is very quiet and works when humidity levels reach above 60%. The walls in the kitchen have also been thermally insulated. This should solve the issues you experienced. The driveway at the rear of the property does sometimes get visited by a local cat, but any sign of cat poo is removed by the cleaners prior to guest arrivals. Unfortunately we cannot completely eliminate this issue. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by J3.8Jul 2021

  • "We had a lovely week at Cove cottage in Torquay."

    Cove cottage is a clean, modern property ideally situated in Babbacombe for the shops, pubs and restaurants nearby. We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

    Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Cove Cottage. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jul 2021

  • "Recently returned from a weeks stay at Cove cottage ."

    Cottage was in an excellent location, St Mary Church down the road was really lovely, easy access to get to Torquay and other places nearby. Cottage was comfortable, clean, loved the decor! Well equipped - rated a 4 just because the shower didn’t drain well!! Very spacious inside, well equipped with kitchen equipment, bedding, books etc! Toddler loved the fact there were boxes of toys as well, handy as we couldn’t bring down much as car was so jam packed!! Car Parking at the back was a challenge, mainly due to other people parking right opposite outside so making it difficult to manoeuvre in! We would highly recommend staying here and enjoy your stay as much as we did.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm glad you had a lovely time at Cove Cottage and your toddler enjoyed playing with the toys. The shower was attended to by a plumber shortly after your visit and there was a build up of sand in the waste system which slowed the flow of water. This was fixed and all working again as it should do. I understand your issue with cars parking opposite the gates, we have had a sign put up since your visit to deter people parking there. There is unrestricted on street parking to the front, side and rear of the property which guests find really useful. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7Jun 2021

  • "When we arrived at Cove Cottage I couldn't have been happier, really lovely cottage, modern, well decorated, lovely furniture and lovely kitchen with anything you need, proper home from home."

    Cottage is located in a lovely area and shops, pubs, cafes, restaurants are about a five minute walk. Cottage has parking around the back of the property which is really handy as on road parking looks like it could be a nightmare. Really enjoyed my stay at Cove Cottage and the area, had a great holiday, I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are always very happy to receive such positive feedback. Thank you again. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2021

  • "A cute place in the lovely Torquay."

    Clean, tidy and pleasantly designed. The 2 main setbacks were the noise from the neighbours and continuous issues with water pressure and draining.

    Thank you for your feedback. The issue with the draining was due to sand build up in the waste of the shower. This problem was identified and resolved. I was not aware there was any problem with the neighbours, it may have been a one off situation. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna4.4Apr 2021

  • "Tv.very poor reception could not get normal channels."

    Could do with small tea spoons and some egg cups .ideal for getting to different places .lovely place to spend a holiday.we realy enjoyed it .Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback. The TV reception was resolved and I'm sorry that this was an issue for you at the time. We have since purchased some egg cups and more tea spoons. Thank you for the useful feedback. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.8Oct 2020

  • "Accommodation was really welcoming and comfortable, very clean and extremely well equipped."

    (Only thing we couldn't find was a microwaveable measuring jug and we were intrigued by the inclusion of dishwasher tablets when there is no dishwasher!). Whilst it was great to have a dedicated parking space at the rear of the property, we would point out that this is pretty tight and better suited to a smaller car (we have a Kadjar). We found the visitor info in the cottage useful and would suggest including some details on buses, for example which number goes where and where to catch them. TV reception was hit & miss so we tended to use iPlayer. The location of the property is excellent. The local shops are a 5-10 minute walk and another 5 mins saw us on the front at Babbacombe. We thoroughly enjoyed walking the coastal path from Babbacombe to Torquay. The views are spectacular. A visit to the model village is highly recommended and a trip on the cliff railway to Oddicombe beach is a must. Sitting in the sunshine by the sea at Three Degrees West with a beer and glass of prosecco was a real Shirley Valentine moment! During our stay we had a trip to Paignton on the No. 22 bus from the stop just past Bygones and when the weather clamped in explored the area by car taking in Dartmoor, Tavistock (if you're a fan of flapjack you'll love Flapjackery) and Totnes. We enjoyed excellent fish & chips from Hanbury's which we ate on a bench overlooking the sea and had a lovely meal in Cappellos next to Bygones. We were disappointed not to be able to book Memories Bistro as it has very good reviews. However, it is only open on Friday and Saturday evenings and was booked several weeks ahead. We thoroughly enjoyed our week's break and were luckily enough to have lovely weather at least at the start of our holiday. We were apprehensive about going away during the pandemic especially as we're in our late 60's but Cove Cottage was a home from home. We kept to the rules when we were out and about and really enjoyed the change of scene. We'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

    Wow thank you for your lovely feedback and providing really helpful information for future guests. We have since provided measuring jugs and the TV reception was also resolved. The property description was changed after reading your review at the time to reflect your parking experience. We are so glad you had a great time at Cove Cottage. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage in a good location but a vegetable peeler would be a good addition to a kitchen with otherwise good facilities."

    Parking area was shared with another property which was incredibly tight for both vehicles to park at the same time and on street parking was busy. The cottage offered good space for the 4 of us, offering a good base for our holiday.

    Thank you for your feedback, a vegetable peeler set was added to the property after reading your review at the time. The driveway is shared with the property above, the left side when entering the gates belongs to Cove Cottage. Sorry to hear you had some parking issues. There is unrestricted parking to the front, side and rear of the property. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Genevieve4.4Aug 2020

  • "A great cottage with so many home comforts and added extras."

    Would definitely recommend!

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at Cove Cottage. Suzanne Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe4.7Aug 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • 2 bedrooms: 1 x Triple bunk, 1 x Double Bed,
  • 1 x Bathroom with: Wc, Shower, Hand Basin, Towel Rail.
  • 1 x Kitchen
  • 1 x Living Dining
  • Note: If you have any other booking inquiries for shorter breaks then please contact us in the office
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric fan assisted oven, grill, gas hob, extractor fan, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer, washing machine, Smart TV (including Netflix and Prime Video apps) and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair provided
  • Off-road parking for one car, bigger cars may have difficulty parking
  • Enclosed courtyard with outdoor shabby chic seating
  • Shop 0.2 miles, Pub 0.1 miles
  • Please note: Sorry, no pets or smoking inside the property
  • Please note the property can accept any change over day

The property

If you love stunning beaches, coastal path walks, golf, climbing, quaint independent shops and boutiques, great choice of restaurants and plenty of activities to entertain your little ones then you are going to love the location of this stylish two bedroom ground floor cottage with patio and off-road parking for one car.

Cove Cottage is an ideal choice for a small family looking for a coastal trip filled with fun activities.

This lovely cottage is located in the popular area of St Marychurch, Torquay a charming historic village close to the delights of Babbacombe Bay, and the amazing South West Coast Path, where you can enjoy spectacular views across Ansteys Cove, Lyme Bay to Maidencombe Beach, Labrador Bay and beyond.

Torquay Golf Course is only a short walk away and has fantastic views of Lyme Bay and Portland Bill.

Torquay harbourside is only a short drive away, where Living Coasts and Torquays Dinosaur world are awaiting your visit.

Open the door and hang up your coats as you enter the newly renovated cottage, taking in the chic decor, complimented by the oak wood flooring.

Relax in the open-plan sitting/dining room, sifting through the collection of books, or sink into the plush corner sofa as you browse through the Smart TV watching your favourite series on Netflix or Amazon Prime!

The kitchen area has a sophisticated marble decor and is filled with all the amenities you could need to cook up a glorious family meal or to make a picnic for a day at the beach.

The kitchen also has a handy breakfast bar with two stools, great for getting the kids fed quickly in the morning.

With a door leading to the private patio you can enjoy a glass of wine and a family meal on the patio on a warm summer evening.

Both bedrooms are styled with classic neutral decor, lamps for reading and plenty of storage space within the large mirrored wardrobes, the rooms have views of the outdoor courtyard, whilst the triple bunk room has door access to the courtyard.

Wake yourself up the right way in the morning as you step into the body jet shower in the mirrored, marble floor shower room which has drawers for storage under the sink.

Outside there are steep steps leading up from the patio to the driveway which is accessed via wooden gates at the rear of the property via Havelock Road.

As soon as you step outside of the property you'll find pubs, bakeries and restaurants, with a selection of shops close by too.

Take your pick from several stunning nearby beaches such as Oddicombe Beach, Meadfoot Beach, Crab Beach, Watcombe Beach, Anstey's Cove.

Spend time exploring the beautiful Berry Head National Nature Reserve as you begin your quest along the South West Coastal Path, or take a trip into nearby towns Brixham and Paignton, which have attractions including beaches, zoos, parks, cruises and museums.

So if you are looking for a coastal break away with the family, Cove Cottage is a wonderful base to start your holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

TORQUAY

Paignton 3.6 miles; Brixham 8.5 miles; Dartmoor 17 miles.

Famous for its sandy beaches, promenades, palm trees and plentiful attractions, the popular seaside town of Torquay in South Devon has been welcoming visitors for the best part of 200 years. Torquay holds many delights for both families and couples, from an abundance of children’s activities whatever the weather, to coastal walks, restaurants and nightlife. Local attractions await at Cockington village and craft centre, Torre Abbey, Kents Cavern. Enjoy the wealth of sea life on a boat trip across the Bay to Paignton, Brixham or Dartmouth – and even more exotic animals can be found at Paignton Zoo. Torquay is at the heart of the English Riviera, a UNESCO Global Geopark. Take the Dartmouth Steam Railway and enjoy a boat ride up the River Dart. Explore Greenway the home of Torquay’s world famous crime writer - Agatha Christie. A stay in Torquay can be as relaxed or as active as you choose and is certain to inspire you to visit again.

View more holiday cottages in Torquay

Note: If you have any other booking inquiries for shorter breaks then please contact us in the office

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas