Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • Harbour Heights - Devon - 994388 - photo 1
close

Harbour Heights

(Ref. 994388)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (23)
  • views (19)
  • no (16)
  • steps (15)
  • house (13)
  • great (12)

44 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a really wonderful week staying at Harbour Heights."

    The property is very well equipped, perfectly matches the photographs online and the views are truly spectacular. Walking upstairs each morning to see the boats bobbing on the estuary and see (and hear!) the steam train whistling just couldn’t ever get old. The beds were very comfortable, heating was easy to control and we found everything we needed was to hand - even down to a torch, which came in very handy for the evening dog walk. We would stay again in a heartbeat - 3 happy grown ups, a delighted toddler and 2 content and tired doggies. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Jerry4.7Mar 2024

  • "Photograph of property was rather misleading."

    Also it took us over 40 minutes to find the property. I think it should be explained more thoroughly that the property was totally unsuitable for people of age or disability and the narrow perpendicular roads should have been pointed out at time of booking so that drivers who were not confident could avoid this booking. Very high standard of bedding and towels. Unfortunately there was a very nasty odour upstairs, we think coming from the conservatory but not sure and we could not open the upstairs windows. Certainly needs looking into.

    Reviewed by Teresa2.8Mar 2024

  • "After a difficult cross country journey to Dartmouth, trying to find the office, house and car park, we then couldn’t get any heat on."

    I had mentioned it to someone at the office, by phone as we were late arriving, because heating issues had already been stated in a review. She assured me that it had been resolved, but clearly it hadn’t. After eventually locating the boiler, we had to phone for assistance as there was no pressure. It took a very long time to speak to someone, but a man then quickly arrived, fixed the problem and showed us how to control the heating.The noisy plumbing also needs to be addressed. There were stacks of cushions which some people might appreciate, but were a nuisance to us. My husband and I slept in the front bedroom the first couple of nights, but we moved to the back bedroom due to the smell of the bed and outside lights waking up the birds during the night. Unfortunately, there was no improvement with the smell and the bed was too hard for our liking. Otherwise, everything we needed was there, plus outside facilities which we didn’t use and pretty Christmas decorations. We had a lovely stay overall, but we would not come again due to hiking up and down hills and steps. It would be beautiful in summer, but no doubt packed with visitors too!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you had a lovely holiday. We can only apologies that you had any issue with the heating, however we are pleased we were able to rectify this quickly for you. The tap cartridge was the cause of the noise, which has now been replaced, please know if you had made us aware of the issue during your stay, we would have come and rectified this immediately. We were surprised to read your comments regarding the beds as we have not had these in the past, as I’m sure you will appreciate bed comfort is very much down to personal taste. As Dartmouth lies on the western bank of the Estuary of the river Dart, the area naturally inclines, which is why Harbour Heights have the most incredible views across the Port of Dartmouth and out to sea. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda2.8Dec 2023

  • "It was a lovely cottage with stunning views."

    It was lovely and clean except for the 3 frying pans had been put back in the cupboard without being washed and they were thick with grease but that was the only fault. We came in two cars with only one permit and I was given misinformation to say parking was free after October 1st. Luckily we managed to get a place for second car otherwise it would have been expensive, and the steep steps are not good for people with health issues. Although theses were hard for us we had a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by Christine4.1Oct 2023

  • "Lovely place, comfortable, clean and very well appointed."

    Stunning views and a great location to walk into town. Please sort out all the instruction booklets - we gave up on the DVD & central heating (although the agents were very willing to come over and sort them out for us)! Parking worked well for us - drop off and pick up near the house, leave the car in town with the free parking permit the rest of the time and we could charge our EV in the town car park.

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Oct 2023

  • "Whilst the property was lovely, there were a few things that had not been checked before our arrival."

    The LED light above the bath was very dim and needed replacing whilst the main light in the en-suite did not work at all and should have been replaced. There was also no washing-up liquid in the kitchen (unless the hand-soap dispenser contained the washing up liquid!) The biggest issue was the deep pile rug in the lounge, which on closer inspection was covered in dog hair and looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time. A deep pile rug is inevitably very hard to clean so I would strongly recommend you don't have one in a pet-friendly property and replace it with a rug that can be easily hoovered. Finally, whilst the direction isntructions were ok, it would have been more reasuring if you had provided the What3Words location for the property, which is "radiating.delay.flitting" (see https://w3w.co/radiating.delay.flitting), enabling me to clearly see where the property is before arrival.

    Reviewed by Marcus3.1May 2022

  • "Harbour Heights was a lovely cottage with great views and had everything you need."

    Very well equipped. Heating was great so was lovely and warm and cosy. Very central for everything Dartmouth has to offer and even though the walk back to the cottage is hard work - we didn’t mind at all as it’s such a lovely place. We will be back for another visit!

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Nov 2021

  • "Really lovely and spacious accommodation with everything provided that you could need - the kitchen is particularly well stocked and everything was clean."

    Fabulous views in a great location, the hills and steps are not for the faint hearted though - but you feel great once you reach the top and catch your breath. My only suggestion would be that although the bedding and towels were spotless, when I stripped the beds as instructed the mattress covers were stained and the pillows had seen better days - but neither spoiled my stay! The area is lovely and quiet both during the day and at night, so you can relax in peace and get a good night's sleep.

    Reviewed by Nichola3.8Sep 2021

  • "House was lovely and views amazing, nice to be able to park up the car for a few days and explore the area by boat, train, bus and walking, everything is in yiur doorstep."

    House had everything we needed for a really enjoyable stay, loved the garden views especially, we will be back

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had to leave the property on the Thursday evening (rather than Friday Morning) when all the localised building work had ceased."

    Access re loading and unloading was a nightmare property is accessed by a very narrow road often blocked for long periods by builders vans or delivery vehicles. Also extensive renovations on the next door property started at 8am and work terracing the garden of this property spoiled the use of Harbour Heights terrace. On leaving we were asked to put bed linen in a black bag in doing so we noticed that the duvet in the front bedroom which we had been using was badly stained, disappointing when trying to follow safe procedures. Thank goodness we took our own pillows

    Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Harbour Heights in Dartmouth. Regarding your comment about the road, being narrow, whilst the road is not suitable heavy goods vehicles, cars and vans use this road all the time without any issues. We were surprised you decided to leave the property one day early because we haven’t received any other feedback in respect to the road being blocked. There has been building works next door, but as far as we are aware it has not affected our customers, had we known we would have instructed C&CC to speak to the builders directly. Please accept our apologies about the stained duvet, it has since been replaced. Despite these issues we hope you had a nice holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dartmouth in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven3.1Jun 2021

  • "When we arrived could not get main TV to work."

    Instructions were for a Sony TV and handset but it was a Samsung TV. When reported Coast and Country Staff came out and fixed immediately plus explained how to deal with frozen Freesat box. Problem caused by wrong instructions plus frozen Freesat box. Instructions in book need updating for Samsung V remote and also explain how to deal with frozen Freesat box as it froze several more times during our stay. Light over mirror in on suite did not work. Coast and Country Staff in Dartmouth were excellent.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that we were able to rectify your issue so quickly. We do hope you enjoyed all that Dartmouth has to offer and hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely holiday cottage, great view and very clean."

    We had a lovely time here, even all the steps are not so bad after a couple of days.

    Mr CrowfootJun 2021

  • "Lovely part of the country, the view from the terrace was wonderful and well worth the climb to the top."

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback, we are thrilled you had a good holiday and hope to welcome you back to Dartmouth soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Digby4.7May 2021

  • "We enjoyed our week parking for dropping off bags is very limited three small spaces that are predominantly full the road is extremely narrow and gets worse as you go up the hill do not attempt unless you are a very confident driver just after the drop off there is a small pull in I would advise to turn around and go back down the hill Bedrooms on ground floor one at the back very dark room and ground floor bathroom also very dark and flooring is laminate and starting to warp front bedroom has a window."

    Beds are comfortable pillows are not. Living room really nice light and airy nice view spoilt by two pains of glass that need changing as they are old and deformed. Kitchen is fantastic with conservatory just off it with dining table. Lots of steps up to a very nice decking area fantastic views. Even better views if you go up the public footpath by the side of house and go to top of the hill. Lots of really great walking around the coast walk to greenway take the ferry back £7 one way each

    Reviewed by Wes3.1May 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our time at this lovely cottage."

    Views are spectacular especially from the top terrace. This property is not for the elderly or infirm. The walk to town involves 60-80 steep steps downwards and same on your return. The road up to the cottage is extremely narrow and not suitable for larger vehicles. We were informed on arrival it was 6’6” wide! Parking is in a car park around 10-15 mins walk away. I don’t think these points are made sufficiently clear in the cottage info before booking. The climb to the roof terrace is 3 flights of steep outside stairs. That aside this is a lovely cottage, ideal for 2, and Dartmouth is idyllic with wonderful scenery, lots of interesting shops, bakeries, cafes and restaurants. We would definitely come back

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.7May 2021

  • "We were disappointed that there was no welcome pack of tea coffee etc as described in the listing."

    We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this property but feel that the difficulties with vehicular access ( extremely narrow access road) were not made clear enough and the steepness of the steps down to the town were not mentioned. This property would not be suitable for anyone with any degree of motability. Having said that, we would happily stay there again.

    Reviewed by James4.4May 2021

  • "Super accommodation, great location, loved every minute regardless of the weather !"

    it has re-charged our batteries, thank you.

    Mr MannersMay 2021

  • "Wonderful river and sea views from the terrace and an attractive, characterful cottage."

    However, the place badly needs a deep clean. The oven and grill were dirty and greasy and the kitchen units covered with dust.

    Reviewed by Teresa3.4Apr 2021

  • "Harbour Heights had everything we needed for a wonderful, relaxing stay."

    It was immaculately clean but homely. & even had a cocktail shaker, which was a bonus as we had left ours at home! We loved having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the harbour - a fantastic viewpoint. Staying here has made us want to come back & enjoy another stay. Great coastal walking from the doorstep if you don’t want to get in the car on some days.

    Reviewed by Judi5.0Apr 2021

  • "Harbour Heights is a delightful property with everything that you need and more."

    The main living space in particular is lovely and spacious with a great view over The Dart. It is a steep climb up to the property from town but remember this is a costal location built into the the bank of an estuary - the town is so pretty and interesting to walk around but you need to be prepared for a few climbs. The restaurants are excellent. I would highly recommend The Angel and Taylor’s in particular. The Seahorse Restaurant is pleasant too.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Dec 2020

  • "Positives - the house was in a great location with amazing views of the river and out to sea."

    Best equipped holiday home we have ever visited. Couldn’t have wished for more in the kitchen - the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. Lovely to have the decked seating area at the back of the house with the fabulous views. Would be even better if the house had a good spring clean. The conservatory would benefit from being cleaned and a little more attention paid around the edges but this didn’t spoil our break. Lots of steps to walk down (and back up) to get to town but this was a positive for us as it meant we didn’t put weight on and could make the most of the lovely restaurants in Dartmouth (dog friendly too). Thank you for a lovely week - we look forward to staying with you again

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Sep 2020

  • "All in all a positive experience during our stay."

    The views offered are lovely and we would like to stay in that area of Dartmouth again.

    Reviewed by David4.1Feb 2020

  • "Amazing house, so well equipped a real home from home (better kitchen than we have got!"

    !) really comfortable bed and to have a tv in the bedroom as well was amazing. The views were spectacular from the top terrace although the steps were a bit slippery due to the amount of rain. This was our first visit to Dartmouth and absolutely loved it, so dog friendly which helped. Only problem was we brought the big car instead of the mini!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Nov 2019

  • "Our first visit to Dartmouth and we have been so impressed, everyone is so friendly and the dog was allowed nearly everywhere."

    Was lovely sitting by the open fire at The Royal Castle Hotel. Sampled quite a few of the local gins, even in the rain the place is amazing. Fantastic house with everything you need, home from home. Have had a really great little break and hope to come back some time.

    Mrs LowrieNov 2019

  • "A lovely home from home!"

    ! Everything there that could possibly be needed. A fabulous view from the upstairs lounge and top seating area. As a family of four we had a brilliant time at harbour heights and would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage very well equipped amazing views over the river Dart would highly recommend"

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jul 2019

  • ""

    May 2019

  • "Location. Suitable only for people under 30ish."

    No parking, 4 available bays ALWAYS filled by the same cars, (I presumed locals). 44 steps upto the back garden view, 77 steps from town via Chapel Lane, and 113 OR 115 steps up past the Cherub pub. Did have a rest in there once or twice. Could not fault the accommodation.

    Thank you for feedback, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the accommodation at Harbour Heights. As on street parking is often not available in Dartmouth, a parking permit is provided by the owner for the nearby Mayors Avenue car park. Due to the nature of the town, with steep hills in some parts, there are several steps to access some areas. To make sure this accommodation is suitable for our guests before booking, we have highlighted this in the property description and warning notes. Our team are always on hand to offer advice to customers when booking, if you have any queries regarding the suitability of the location for your party. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis4.4Apr 2019

  • "Clean, well equipped, comfortable, lovely decor."

    Jul 2018

  • "Lovely cottages in great locations"

    Mr C WebsterJul 2017

  • "The house was perfect with fantastic views but the downside was we couldn't park there and it was up a very steep hill."

    We couldn't take advantage of the patio either because of the amount of steps leading up to it!

    Mrs Sue StewartMay 2017

  • "Lovely cosy house with great facilities ."

    View to die for and the walk home will keep you fit.

    Ms J RussellApr 2017

  • "Excellent, very well presented accommodation."

    Mr John BeardMar 2017

  • "Excellent"

    Mr C WebsterOct 2016

  • "Gorgeous house tastefully decorated and we loved the red kitchen."

    Beds very comfortable - best sleep we have had in ages. Dog friendly. Amazing views from the garden at the back of the house.

    Kate ThouldJun 2016

  • "Overall very good however someone needs to review the heating ( it being on when the outside temperature is quite high does make the property like a hot house."

    Jun 2016

  • "Lovely, but be prepared for the steps"

    May 2016

  • "What a beautiful little cottage in a near perfect location."

    Mr WharamOct 2015

  • "Lovely cottage with amazing views (worth the steps)"

    Sep 2015

  • "Spitze"

    Jens & BiancaAug 2015

  • "100 Above Town in Dartmouth, was even more than what we expected."

    Fantastic place, home from home. Lovely house.

    Feb 2015

  • "Amazing cottage, stunning views, suited to visiting any time of the year - the owners had thought of every essential, it was so cosy and welcoming, we were a short stay but would love to visit again."

    Nov 2014

  • "Was not made aware of the amount of steps required to walk which may be a problem for a less fitter person, otherwise it was a fantastic location."

    the views from the top terrace was fantastic, I did not want to leave.

    Aug 2014

  • "Lovely house but more emphasis required in initial description about location."

    A good 10 minute walk steeply downwards into town and a 20+ minute haul back - the town steps are very slippery / hazardous in the rain - my brother slipped and really hurt his leg. Some of the taxis would not attempt to go up to the house. And offloading the luggage proved very difficult. Tenants need to be prepared for this. The tiered garden would probably be inaccessible for anyone slightly infirm. Aside from this - very nice, terrific views for those who can climb the garden.

    Apr 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms, both on the ground floor: 1 x King-size , 1 x King-size bed (with en suite shower room) which can be split into two 2'6" single beds on request
  • Family bathroom with over bath shower
  • Open plan sitting room and well equipped modern kitchen including denby crockery set, four-ring gas hob, electric oven, fridge, slimline dishwasher, microwave
  • Utility room with washer/dryer machine, third toilet and additional fridge/ freezer
  • Conservatory / Dining room with contemporary oak dining table and chairs, from which there is access to the garden Smart 4K 43inch TV (new for 2023) with Freesat and all streaming apps and a blueray player
  • Bluetooth portable speakers.
  • Gas fired central heating and instant hot water
  • Superfast EE Full Fibre Max 100 broadband WiFi
  • New for 2022 – Garden studio room – for use as lounge, office space or even a place to eat to enjoy the panoramic river and sea views
  • Wonderful outside decking area with panoramic views across the river Dart, harbour and out to sea
  • New for 2023 - high quality rattan garden lounge set with sofa, two chairs, bench and coffee table
  • Two rattan sunloungers provide additional options for relaxation outside
  • Two small/medium dogs permitted
  • An annual parking permit, for one car, is provided for the Mayors Avenue public car park (subject to available spaces)
  • Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Golf and Spa discounts of 25% included at Dartmouth Hotel, Golf and Spa (vouchers) on request

The property

Harbour Heights is a tastefully presented, very well equipped terraced house in Dartmouth, with delightful panoramic views across the river and out to sea from the lounge and garden/decking to the rear.

New for 2023 is an extensively enhanced garden with a wonderful new garden studio room now providing additional space to relax and enjoy the panoramic views or as a quiet office space, fully replaced new garden decking and lovely new luxury rattan garden furniture to enjoy the views and socialise together.

The two-storey reverse level accommodation offers a very comfortable retreat for couples or families within just five minutes’ walk of the Dartmouth town centre.

A flight of steps leads up from Above Town to a row of terraced cottages - the front door leads into a hallway off which are two bedrooms and a family bathroom, as well as stairs up to the living accommodation at first floor level.

Bedroom one has a king-size bed and bedroom two has a king-size bed (which can be split into two 2'6" single beds on request) and en suite shower room.

In addition there is a separate bathroom with over bath shower.

On the first floor is a bright and sunny opern plan sitting room/kitchen with lovely river and sea views, and two comfortable sofas.

There is also a very well equipped modern kitchen with lovely denby crockery, gas hob, electric oven, fridge and dishwasher.

The utility room includes a washer/dryer, an additional fridge freezer and toilet.

Located off the kitchen, there is a lovely bright conservatory/dining room with contemporary oak table and chairs, from which there is access to the garden.

To the rear of the cottage is a three-tiered garden area, accessed via wooden steps at each level.

The upper-most level of decking has superb panoramic views across the town, the river and out to sea.

Choose to lie on the rattan sun loungers, sit comfortably on the rattan sofa, chairs with coffee table or sit up on the rattan barstools – this really is a special place to sit and relax.

The garden has a new garden studio with electricity and internet access containing a sofa and a folding table and two chairs.

It is an ideal home office or place to relax.

This room is a lovely location to enjoy the views, especially after dark when the town and harbour are beautifully lit up.

The garden includes a charcoal BBQ.

Starting 2022 the following charity donations for each guest stay completed will be as follows: One tree planted for each individual guest through “Just One Tree” Minimum £10 donation for each completed booking will be made to JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation) Donations will be made by the end of the year in question.

The cottage is just a few minutes walk from the town centre, where there are a fantastic array of local amenities, high street shops and independents nestled in the heart of Dartmouth.

The very wide choice of over 20 restaurants are all walkable and include gourmet seafood at The Seahorse, the historic Royal Castle Hotel or Cherub Inn for pub food or the award winning Bayards Cove Inn as well as the new modern restaurants/bars at The Sail Loft, Rosa (French/Italian) or Andrea.

There is something for everyone.

A short walk from the cottage to the mouth of the River Dart will find the lovely Castle Cove and Sugary Cove small beaches offering a tranquil setting to enjoy the sound of the sea or a swim, whilst Dartmouth Castle has unrivalled views across the glistening waters of the river and sea.

Continue onto the coastal path for more walks – why not walk to the award winning blue flag beach at Blackpool sands and catch the bus back to Dartmouth afterwards.

Board the passenger ferry and visit the nearby village of Kingswear, where you can ride on a steam train to visit the town of Paignton or walk the glorious South West Coast Path to the idyllic harbour town of Brixham.

Further inland, the vibrant grounds of Fast Rabbit Farm Gardens provide an enchanting place to enjoy an afternoon stroll, local National Trust houses and gardens provide something for all the family, whilst those looking for a spot of adventure may prefer a visit to Woodlands Family Theme Park.

With all of this and more, choose Harbour Heights as a base that you'll be delighted to return to.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

DARTMOUTH

Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Please note the house is situated in Above Town (Steep and narrow access road & steps to town centre).

NOTE - No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 10-15 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week.

Several steps to reach the decking area with the views over the river.

The property allows up to 2 small/medium dogs.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas