Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Seascape (Dartmouth) - Devon - 1069021 - photo 1
close

Seascape (Dartmouth)

(Ref. 1069021)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (20)
  • property (18)
  • comfortable (14)
  • lovely (13)
  • well (12)
  • stay (11)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Very well equipped property everything you could need for your stay and a ..."

    Very well equipped property everything you could need for your stay and a wonderful view of the river from the property the and the bonus was the shrubs opposite the house were cut down to give an even better view

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Jan 2024

  • "Great property ."

    We’ve been several times before and it just gets better .

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Oct 2023

  • "The extractor hood above the hob had a cm of fluff across all of it which we presume was from the liner that was disintergating, and there were droplets of fat hanging down."

    Went to the Coast & Country office to complain they day after we arrived, they promised to send a cleaner the following day, we waited in but they didn't come, heard nothing, was there for two weeks and it was not picked up on the weekly clean. Spent more that wanted on takeaway meals as we did not want to use the hob. A bedside table was covered in dog hairs and a cig butt was on the bedroom floor when we arrived, again would have mentioned to cleaner had they come, both still there after the mid holiday clean. There was mould on the walls and ceiling in the bathroom probably because extractor fans in bathrooms did not come on and the velux window was difficult to open. Also mould on the wall in the front bedroom and on the wall behind the sofa downstairs. Radiator in front bedroom did not work. Trim and grouting on shower screen was black, easily cleaned with bleach or a piece of trim for less than £10. We have stayed in this property before but we will not return.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We can only apologise for the recent cleanliness concern raised during your stay, we understand the importance of maintaining a clean and comfortable environment for all guests, and we regret any inconvenience this may have caused. We are shocked to read that you had reported the issues to the local office, it is very unusual for the office not to carry out a reclean if it is offered, we will of course investigate as to what happened, we are surprised you did not pop back in to the office if you felt the matters were impacting on your stay. Please know that your feedback has been taken very seriously and the points you have mentioned have been investigated and addressed if needed. We do hope you still had a lovely holiday and enjoyed all that Dartmouth has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil1.9Sep 2023

  • "Enjoyed our stay but very disappointed with the state of the living room carpet."

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen one in so much need of replacement

    Thank you very much for the feedback on the state of the rug. Naturally we are disappointed to hear as we take pride in the level of cleanliness that our cleaners provide but we will let them know get this changed immediately. We hope it didn’t detract from your overall experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Greville3.8Jul 2023

  • "The cottage is in a stunning location, views are beautiful."

    If there was one thing to really enjoy the views on lovely sunny days it great to sit outside, but the front garden area needs some attention, bit of weeding maybe some plants, it looks very tired.

    Thank you very much for the feedback. We will get the gardener around ASAP to improve the front garden area so that the lovely views can be enjoyed even more. Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.4Jun 2023

  • "A lovely cottage that we've been to before."

    We would hope to go again but as we get older perhaps the steepness of the approach to it from the town might impact of our ability to return to it again & again which would be a great shame because it has such beautiful views & it is all so comfortable.

    We’re so glad that you came back to visit Seascape. One of the downsides to the beautiful views is certainly the steep roads and steps to and from town but we hope you can be tempted back for a third visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2023

  • "Seascape was exactly as described - very well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and everything we needed for a lovely holiday."

    We were able to park the car on the access ramp to unload and had no problem turning round to drive back to the car park, but we do have a medium sized car. It is a quiet location and yet easily accessible to the town (as long as you don’t mind steps!)

    Thank you very much for the positive feedback and we’re delighted that your holiday all went smoothly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Apr 2023

  • "Great property, nicely decorated and homely feel."

    Had everything we needed, only improvement would be a coffee table as mentioned by others. Outstanding views over the dart and town 2 minutes walk away. Would definitely like to return, thanks for a great week.

    Thank you so much for the feedback and glad you felt the property was homely. We’re planning on updating some of the furniture soon and so will certainly add a coffee table to the list. Hope to host you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Apr 2023

  • "We arrived late in the evening on our day of arrival and couldn’t have been more delighted when we woke up and saw the view from Seascape."

    The house is comfortable, really nicely fitted out and also a good size for our family of two adults, two teenage boys and a dog. We have stayed in a lot of self catering properties around the UK coast and this stands out as one of the best. We will definitely stay there again.

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback and we really look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Mar 2023

  • "We loved the property, enjoyed its situation high above the town with glorious views and found it comfortable."

    The only problem was the heating. We could not work out how to adjust it. It di not come on in the evening when we needed it, but in the middle of the night when it meant we woke up feeling too warm!

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear you had issues with the heating. The brand new boiler is controlled by a Hive Unit in the living room and the main bedroom has a thermostat on the radiator which should have kept it at a cosy temperature. Next time please do contact Coast & Country who would be more than willing to help. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine Erica5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at Seascape."

    Really comfortable, welcoming property with incredible views. They were not joking about the steep road, a bit of an adventure but no problem for those without mobility issues. Really sad to leave, would definitely recommend Seascape and Sykes (who contacted us during our stay to see if everything was ok) as an amazing place to stay in Dartmouth.

    Thank you so much for your nice comments. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Feb 2023

  • "Really lovely cottage, very comfy with great views, it’s a very narrow road to drop off luggage but we managed it in a transit van (just) it’s great to have the parking permit for the car park in town, if you use the steps to get back up and down much quicker I think it was 97 steps down and you are right in the heart of everything, so many lovely shops, restaurants and pubs, a lovely place to visit."

    Gas fire in the lounge was a bonus in November as made the lounge so cosy, beds really comfy, amazing views from main bedroom. Thank you

    Thank you so much for the feedback and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. The gas fire is lovely in the winter months, especially with a cup of tea and the view. Hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susie5.0Nov 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage with amazing views and comfy beds."

    Well-equipped kitchen and well furnished dog friendly house. Shower over bath luke-warm at best: taps ok but shower poor - reported to local agent. As this is a Gold Star award winning property, we were disappointed to see no welcome pack - would have been helpful to have had a j cloth and some washing up liquid! Absolutely no sign of any basic household stuff - a pint of milk would have been appreciated…otherwise a lovely stay..!!

    Thank you for the feedback and for reporting the luke warm shower to the agents. We have installed a new shower so pleased to say hot showers can now be enjoyed again. We’re also in discussions with some local suppliers to arrange a welcome pack and hope to have this sorted shortly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon3.4Oct 2022

  • "Absolutely loved the property."

    The views are fantastic and brilliant to wake up to. The kitchen was well stocked with cutlery/crockery and some basics that you need. Travel cot, highchair and stairgate were great to have (but more the banister struts are quite wide so our 10month old could almost get through, or at least we worried she might get her head stuck a little. But it’s a small landing so we just kept her in the rooms.)

    So glad that you loved the property. Thank you for choosing Seascape. Thank you also for the comments on the banister struts. Being parents ourselves we fully appreciate your concern and we’ll look to improve this immediately. We want all our guests to feel safe and worry free during their stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexander4.4Sep 2022

  • "Property was lovely , real home from home with amazing views ."

    We had a wonderful comfortable stay at Seascape which we would definitely recommend. Only slight criticism is it could do with a more thorough clean ie behind beds , rubber seal on shower screen and change of toilet brush .

    Thank you for the feedback and we are glad it felt like home at Seascape. Our cleaning company are usually fantastic and we’re sorry to hear some areas could have been improved. We will certainly let them know your comments immediately so that the property is kept at the high standards of cleanliness we would expect. We hope to host you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucy4.4Sep 2022

  • "Very comfortable house."

    Brilliant location all the amenities of Dartmouth only 7mins walk away .Very narrow lane and steep hill to the property but level walks for our dog from the doorstep to the castle .Chapel steps the easiest to go down into town….. Amazing views quiet area !!

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback. Hope you and your dog enjoyed the miles of footpaths! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.4Aug 2022

  • "We’ve been staying in holiday cottages for years and we agreed that Seascape is the best by far."

    The views are amazing (we thought daytime was good but wait until you see it at night!) the decor is absolutely lovely (in fact we liked one of the pictures so much we bought a copy in a gallery in town) and we were incredibly comfortable with everything provided. Other reviewers were right in all the positives they said and we recommend it highly. Lovely to be within a 5 minute walk of the town (we timed it coming up the steps!) and yet being higher up means you get to enjoy the gorgeous views outside the hustle and bustle of the town. Our one tip would be when you arrive and pick up the keys, go and take a look at the hill you have to drive up; it’s short but steep and helps to know where you’re going. We absolutely loved it all and highly recommend it.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We're thrilled you like the decor and the picture in particular - there are some excellent local artists in town and we love to showcase their work. We hope to host you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katy5.0Jul 2022

  • "Perfect home for our first trip to Devon."

    House was lovely; tasteful, really well equipped and very comfortable. The views are amazing and the location was exactly what we’d hoped for. The walk up and down the hill kept us fit and might be a problem for those with mobility issues but it’s only a short walk to the shops and restaurants which was perfect for us. Dartmouth was lovely and we explored the surrounding areas and found the places we liked. Only hesitation in recommending the property is that it might be booked up for when we return which we definitely will. Thanks for sharing your lovely house with us

    Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we’re so happy your experience of Seascape was so enjoyable. We absolutely love Dartmouth and glad you do too. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2022

  • "Dartmouth is a great location."

    The steep climb up to this comfortable cottage are worth it for the views over the Dart estuary and Kingswear.. All fixtures and fittings are good quality at Seascape including an extremely comfy bed after our days out. I had to mark Seascape slightly down for cleanliness.It may seem churlish as it was just a small thing but the velux windows on the landing and in the bathroom were full of cobwebs. Everywhere else is immaculately clean . Thank you for a wonderful stay. Hope to return to this area soon.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will make sure our cleaners get onto those cobwebs!! As you say, a comfy bed is an absolute must especially after taking on the scenic hills of Dartmouth. Hope to host you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derek4.7Jun 2022

  • "Brilliant holiday cottage"

    Thank you so much for the feedback. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2022

  • "Two words..."

    ..Book it!!! One of the best we have stayed in. Staggering views, nice outdoor furniture and very well equipped. Unlike many Dartmouth Cottages not too many steps and close to town.

    Thank you very much for the feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We completely agree with the views - absolutely stunning! We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2022

  • "Absolutely fabulous weekend break."

    The cottage was very well equipped, clean, comfortable and with the most wonderful views. Pre warning, the road is very, very narrow if you aren’t used to tight roads. Easier to leave the car at the car park and walk up. We will be back!! Fantastic cottage!

    Thank you so much for the feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Seascape. We look forward to hosting you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain5.0Feb 2022

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Seascape."

    The views are incredible, the property was very well equipped (everything looked new). It was very clean, great dishwasher! It is a great central local and it was so nice to wake in the morning a have a tea in bed looking over the river dart. Would recommend and we will definitely return to this beautiful property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and couldn't agree more on the morning tea with a view! We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Dec 2021

  • "There is a general damp feel and smell especially in the bathrooms."

    Damp patch also down the sitting room wall where the downpipe is. It would also have been nice if a better welcome pack was prepared. With AirBNB I would say that you generally have more facilities available in each property.

    Thank you for the feedback and for bringing the damp smell to our attention. Being a lovely Victorian property right by the sea, we are constantly undergoing improvements to ensure the property is warm and welcoming for all of our guests. As a result we have conducted a thorough damp survey and improved a number of areas including the control of the heating throughout the property and are addressing any small repairs to the roof to ensure complete waterproofing as possible. We also take on board your comments on the welcome pack and facilities and we will certainly think of ways in which we can make all our guests feel even more welcomed. We hope to host you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain3.4Oct 2021

  • "The house was lovely, very well equipped with great showers."

    The lounge was not the most comfortable with the TV and chair positioning (you'd have to twist your neck), but we hardly spent any time in there apart from late in the evening so it didn't bother us. The showers were a highlight as the water pressure was fantastic. There is a crack in the main bathroom door however which needs to be sealed as you can catch a glimpse of whomever is in the loo! It would have also been nice to have more than 1 toilet roll provided per couple for 7 nights to give more of a sense of being well accommodated as that felt a little bit of an oversight, especially given the price we'd paid - it would've been nice to have loo roll supplied for the week! Another tricky issue was the carpark. We had no issue finding a park when we arrived on Friday but we drove to Salcombe on Monday and when we returned the carpark was full. We had to circle it for a while and wait for someone to leave which was a bit stressful as there was nowhere else identified for us to park. Perhaps a backup option of another carpark, such as the park and ride, that could be used with the permit would help as we were put off driving anywhere else out of fear we'd not be able to park when we returned. Overall however it was a gorgeous property with the most picturesque view and we'd definitely recommend it. I think it's highly likely we would return for another holiday given we had such a wonderful stay.

    Thank you so much for your feedback which is really helpful. Firstly, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the property and found it well equipped. We take on board your comments around the lounge and we will certainly think of ways to make it more comfortable. Secondly, we agree with your comments on the toilet roll and we have increased the amount we provide each booking - we want all our guests to feel accommodated during their stay in all aspects. We also take on board the comments around parking. As you would have seen parking in a popular area such as Dartmouth can be hard to find and the permit is limited by the council as to where it is valid but we will certainly think of alternative back up options to mitigate the stress involved in finding a spot. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope that you do come back and enjoy another stay in wonderful Dartmouth. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Renae4.4Sep 2021

  • "The house was lovely."

    Very clean, comfortable, well equipped, spacious and with stunning views all around. Dartmouth was a perfect destination. We made the mistake of setting satnav for the address of the property which caused us half an hour of anxious driving along extremely narrow roads. It’s best to aim for the Agent’s address in the town and travel along the A roads. The car parking permit worked very well and for us was much better than any welcome pack. We had a wonderful week.

    We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time and we certainly would agree and encourage any guest to head for Coast and County office in Dartmouth as first stop so they can explain the best route to the property and hand over the keys and car park permit. We're glad you find the parking permit useful - we certainly do when we stay there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2021

  • "Excellent holiday and property- suggest just make people aware of steep steps ..."

    Excellent holiday and property- suggest just make people aware of steep steps and very inaccessible road to property to unload

    Thank you for the feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday in Dartmouth and staying in Seascape. Part of the charm of Dartmouth is the narrow and step roads which provide some of the amazing views but we will certainly ensure that the access is explained clearly to every guest. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.7Sep 2021

  • "Such a wonderful cottage, stunning views, well appointed with lovely well equipped kitchen."

    Very comfortable beds and the best part was having a morning coffee overlooking the River Dart! We loved our stay and will definitely be back. Thank you from The Whitfield’s and Alfie the spaniel.

    We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and Alfie again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Teresa4.7Aug 2021

  • "The views from the front windows of the property were really special."

    My son loved watching the car ferry move back and forth and looking at all the different boats coming and going, as well as the steam train puffing back and forth across at Kingswear. It was particularly lovely at dusk when all the lights were twinkling. Although it was a steep climb each time back to the cottage, we were only minutes from the centre of the town and we really loved being there. Hopefully the steps also helped us to burn off those extra calories we consumed while we were there! A lovely property and Dartmouth is a great place to be.

    Reviewed by Sian5.0Aug 2021

  • "Very enjoyable one week stay."

    The property was immaculately clean with fantastic views overlooking the river estuary and the smaller ferry. We could not have wished for or expected more. We would not hesitate to make a return visit to the property at some time in the future.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a lovely stay at Seascape in Dartmouth. We are very happy to hear that the property met all your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dartmouth in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1x King-size bed
  • 1x King with an en suite bathroom featuring a large shower unit, wash-hand basin, w.c
  • and heated towel rail
  • Family bathroom on the first floor with bath, shower (over), w.c., wash-hand basin and heated towel rail
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting / dining room.
  • Gas fired central heating and underfloor heating
  • Halogen hob, oven and grill, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave
  • Gas fire, Smart TV in lounge and bedroom. WiFi
  • Baby Friendly An annual parking permit, for one car, is provided for the Mayors Avenue public car park which is approximately 0.5 miles away from the property (subject to available spaces)
  • Spacious terrace to the front with table and chairs
  • All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring your own tea towels and beach towels. 1 well behaved dog accepted
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Seascape is a delightful Victorian terraced house.

The property has lovely views of the River Dart from the sitting room offering expansive views across and out to sea from the first floor bedroom.

Dartmouth's boutiques, restaurants and tea rooms are just five minutes walk away.

The house is accessed via the front terrace - the front door leads into a lobby/hallway with level access to the living accommodation.

The sitting room is a bright and comfortable area with a three-seater sofa a two-seater sofa and attractive cushioned bay window seat to take in the superb views.

The dining area has a table and six chairs.

The kitchen has cream units, granite worktops, four-ring halogen hob, eye-level oven and grill, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine, microwave. The elegantly dressed Master bedroom has a King-size bed with with lovely panoramic views and a wall mounted TV.

There is window seating in the bay and door to small balcony.

Bedroom two is an En suite double room with kingsize bed.

There is also a single bed that can be provided upon request.

En suite shower room, wash-hand basin, w.c and towel rail.

There is a additional family bathroom on the first floor with bath, shower (over), w.c., wash-hand basin and towel rail.

At the front of the house is a spacious terrace with table and chairs with lovely views.

The two-storey property is ideally suited to one or two couples or a family seeking high quality accommodation, within comfortable walking distance of the town.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

DARTMOUTH

Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Please note the house is situated in Above Town (Steep and narrow access road & steps to town centre).

NOTE - No parking at the property - parking permit supplied (car park is approximately 10-15 minute walk from the apartment). Please note that the Mayors Avenue car park is closed for the Regatta Week.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season