Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 50 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • The Dolphins - Devon - 975895 - photo 1


1st FloorGround Floor

Kitchen Hall Balcony Dining Area Lounge Snug WC



The Dolphins

(Ref. 975895)

Shaldon, Devon Show on map


  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (20)
  • great (19)
  • dolphins (17)
  • views (16)
  • our (15)
  • property (15)

47 Customer Reviews

  • "A really spacious property with breathtaking and inspirational views over the estuary…."

    The high tides ebbing and flowing beneath our balconies … We felt as if we were out at sea ! The Dolphins however , could really do with some tender loving care . We would suggest ( and request ) that a nice comfortable upright armchair would be a perfect addition to the kitchen/dining room , so that your older / elderly visitors can sit in comfort near your fabulous panoramic windows . The existing sofas and settee are fine for younger people and children , but are not comfortable for the older generation with mobility issues . The kitchen chairs are unstable and one was already broken . Apart from these issues , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay , and we have already booked the ‘ Dolphins’ again for next year.

    Reviewed by CarlaAug 2023

  • "The best week ever."

    We have stayed in The Dolphins before and we are going again for Christmas. Its position is wonderful and Shaldon is so friendly. The house is well equipped and comfortable. The only issue for us was not being able to arrive until so late and having to be out so early. Would highly recommend a stay here.

    Reviewed by SallyAug 2023

  • "We stayed here is 2020 and hoped that the “tired” elements might have improved."

    Disappointingly there was no change or things had got worse. There is a leak making a damp patch in the ceiling downstairs. We had to tighten the legs in the dining room chairs more than once in the week. The sofas in the lounge are overdue being replaced. Uncomfortable and smelly. The bins had not been emptied in weeks, if not a month. We put them out, and then rinsed them out, as the smell was beyond disgusting. We love Shaldon, the location, the view and the accommodation at the Dolphins should be 5star but it needs just a bit of investment and TLC. A larger TV in the lounge would also be a bonus. At the moment the Dolphins feels, smells and looks a bit unloved, and the leak should be looked at urgently. Hope to return when improvements have been made, but until then we will look elsewhere.

    Reviewed by ClaireJun 2023

  • "The location of The Dolphins is exceptional ."

    The view across the estuary is breath taking. There is a short stroll to the safe sandy beach an easy walk for our little grand daughter and a fabulous pub even closer. Shaldon itself is a charming village. The Dolphins has a lovely kitchen- well thought out and equipped. The bedrooms are spacious . Perhaps the owner might like to think about adding some storage where the vacuum cleaner and brushes could be stored. Parking in Shaldon is difficult and it is not easy with a family car to drop off outside the property. However the enjoyment of the resulting stay outweighs the slightly challenging parking

    Reviewed by Anne-marieJun 2023

  • "We love staying at The Dolphins."

    It is ideally positioned for all that Shaldon has to offer. This is our second visit and notice a few issues with maintenance. The door to access balcony from dining room wasn’t working and several windows difficult to open and shut. The only shower room had a constant drip. Several little maintenance of the property jobs that should be sorted would improve the general experience although overall we had a great time. We along with several other previous visitors do not understand the very late access time of 5pm and early departure time of 9 am very difficult to manage when you have children and dogs to organise. Perhaps it is time to review this practice.

    Thank you so much for taking your time to submit your review of The Dolphins. We are very pleased that the issues you encountered whilst at the property were rectified for you during your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaMay 2023

  • "We have stayed in the Shaldon/Teignmouth area for nearly 40 years and the property was by far the best location wise."

    It was so interesting watching what was happening on the estuary, especially the ships being loaded and unloaded. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. A few niggles with the property which didn't stop us rating it highly. Found it really difficult to open the patio door, a couple of the dining chairs had dodgy legs and there could have been some smaller baking trays; the two in the drawer did not fit in the oven! Otherwise, the property was well equipped. It was great being able to walk to the excellent shops, cafes and pubs and while away the time sitting on a bench looking over to Teignmouth eating an ice cream.

    Reviewed by ElaineMay 2023

  • "We could not locate key to garage and all the bins were full when we arrived."

    We put the boxes and bins out but the refuse men only emptied the black bin left the rest outside front door ! We used the Henry hoover it was extremely smelly

    Reviewed by BrianMay 2023

  • "We had another delightful stay at Dolphins a few minor problems which were mostly sorted out."

    However we find it very difficult to understand why we are unable to access the property before5 pm especially with very young children who need to be Bathed fed and put to bed whilst we unpack and sort out an evening meal And to have to be out by 9 am on leaving day it is almost impossible. We lose a day of our holiday

    Reviewed by LyndaDec 2022

  • "The house is just wonderful the estuary views kept the whole family entranced it ..."

    The house is just wonderful the estuary views kept the whole family entranced it was a joy to be in Shaldon again in such a lovely location

    Reviewed by LyndaNov 2022

  • "Dolphins is a lovely property, very well-equpped, and a beautiful location right on the water."

    However, in the write-up, there is a symbol for garden or patio, neither of which we had. A balcony is not a garden or a patio. Also, we couldn't fit our car in the garage and I think it should be made clear that it's a smaller than average garage.

    Reviewed by SueSep 2022

  • "Lovely, relaxing holiday, spent in a stylish, comfortable property with super views, enjoyed by all 3 generations of family."

    Our first visit to Shaldon and, hopefully, not our last (if we can stay here again!}.

    Reviewed by LindaAug 2022

  • "Our second stay at Dolphins and just as good."

    A brilliant location and the house was so clean and clearly well maintained. Would definitely recommend (An aside to whoever responsible but we only had one tea towel and a pair of oven gloves would have been handy!)

    Reviewed by SallyJul 2022

  • "A wonderful place to stay in a small but lively Devon village."

    Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by RuthJul 2022

  • "I loved it and want to come back next year."

    Have been going to Shaldon for 60 years since I was a small child. This is a great house, fab location but parking a bit limited. :-D

    Reviewed by KarenJun 2022

  • "Our stay at Dolphins was perfect- beautiful house, great location and everything we needed and more."

    We had a great time on the beach nearby and out the front of the house at low tide, visiting all the local cafes and pubs and relaxing in the house. The garage was a little difficult to get a car into (possibly due to other cars being parked nearby making it difficult to manoeuvre) but there were other options for parking not too far away. Overall a fantastic place to stay and we enjoyed it very much.

    Reviewed by LindaMay 2022

  • "Freezing cold bedrooms bathrooms duvets poor quality thin radiators cold no ..."

    Freezing cold bedrooms bathrooms duvets poor quality thin radiators cold no central heating no electric fires as stated on details lounge and kitchen the only warm room in house snug not useable to cold to use we were there 29th April to 5/May left a day early this date to early to cut heating and facilities one day we had NO HOT WATER £1000 99 pounds I paid to stay here saved all year for this NOT FAIR XX

    Thank you for your feedback, we can confirm that the heating was on a timer, and that when we were contacted, the issue was resolved on the very same day. The hot water was sorted due to low water pressure to the boiler. We were sorry to hear you left a day early, but were advised that you left with no complaints. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GloriaApr 2022

  • "This is a beautiful property, it is spacious and comfortable with lovely views across the estuary."

    Only drawback is the access - the roads in Shaldon are extremely narrow and negotiating junctions difficult. We have a Golf and that was fine but bigger SUVs may struggle.

    Reviewed by MargaretMar 2022

  • "It was great to be back at The Dolphins after 2 difficult years and it didn't disappoint."

    Has what you need for a lovely Devon break. Perfect for dogs, comfy beds, lots of seating and a well equipped kitchen. Host was really helpful - chocolates and prosecco are always welcome! The view cannot be beaten. Only suggestions would be Smart TVs to get iPlayer, All4 etc and a bigger sink in the shower room.

    Reviewed by HannahMar 2022

  • "We were at Dolphins for Christmas."

    Age range from 85 to 20. Perfect for all of them. Amazing views, great position and so well equipped. Arrived to find a Christmas tree up, a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates. We are looking to go again in the summer and next Christmas.

    Reviewed by SallyDec 2021

  • "Lovely property in great location - beautiful views of the water from most rooms and a lovely friendly village with all the amenities needed for a great holiday."

    We were also very lucky and had incredible weather.

    Reviewed by KayOct 2021

  • "Location is fantastic and the views stunning."

    The children loved that the beach was so close. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by MelJul 2021

  • "A fivestar stay."

    The view from the huge bay window is absolutely stunning and ever changing which is why this was our third stay. Bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are all superbly appointed. One or two of the chairs are litterally on their last legs but we didn't need to use all of them so not fussed. The downstairs toilet door handle needs attention. The boiler failed twice but we followed the instructions and re-set it with immediate hot water so that didn't spoil our stay.

    Reviewed by DavidJun 2021

  • "I would add to travel advice that getting a car of any size to the front door is pretty challenging."

    Also a couple of the dining chairs have wobbly legs. Otherwise this is a fab house with very patient and kind owners who steered us through initial difficulties with the key box system with great patience. Well done all!

    Reviewed by WilliamJun 2021

  • "Amazing property in a fantastic location."

    Decorated and furnished to a high standard, with quality appliances and fittings. You even have your own beach (at some states of the tide!). Wi-F was very good too. Walking is the answer, as pubs, cafes, shops are all within reach and driving/parking is not easy. The only negatives were that the balconies and seats could have been cleaned as they were covered in bird's mess and the garage would be easier to use if "stuff" was cleared out. Overall a great property for us and we will likely come again.

    Reviewed by MarkMay 2021

  • "This accommodation is all about location ."

    .... absolutely stunning! We were lucky with the weather but, even on a dull day, the huge windows overlooking the estuary would still provide fabulous views over to Teignmouth. You really don’t need a car so, make use of the garage and walk (if you can) over to Teignmouth or around Shaldon or to Ness Cove. Yes; parking is really difficult but if you have a medium sized car then the garage is great and it’s a 5 minute walk back to the house. We drive a Suzuki SX4 S-Cross and we got this in the garage, no problem. You’re a 5 minute walk, on the flat, from everything you need in Shaldon; the gorgeous bakery, butcher and village shop plus post office and pharmacy. We also ate at the Clipper Cafe twice; great breakfasts and, again, that beautiful view! Ness Cove is lovely but, yes, it is an uphill walk and then down some steps steps to the beach. It’s worth it though as you go through the ‘smugglers tunnel’ The house is lovely and has everything you need for a really comfortable stay. Large fridge and freezer and a dishwasher. You’ll sleep well in the comfy beds after a day out in the sunshine, exploring. Liz (the caretaker) was really helpful when we rang to sort out our arrival time and keys. I would highly recommend this place and we’ll definitely be back.

    Reviewed by KirstinApr 2021

  • "This is a lovely seaside cottage in a very charming village."

    And there's lots to visit and see in the surrounding area. The house is comfortable, well modernised and in a great location. Because of that, it's at the top of its price range which is completely fine, except that the kitchen could be better equipped......no serving plates or dishes, poor quality pans, extractor lighting didn't work, no scales. The biggest problem was no internet all week, and that was a big problem (it affects the tv channels too). We had a great week though, just couldn't do the work we needed to!

    Reviewed by SimonOct 2020

  • "Second visit to this property nice to see it had had a makeover however for the ..."

    Second visit to this property nice to see it had had a makeover however for the price uncomfortable beds and get some decent pans

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2020

  • "Beautiful property in a stunning location."

    Comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Modern, with sufficient space for 5 of us, the snug was perfect for our girls to relax and watch TV. Excellent service from Nicki the caretaker, good contact from Sykes about instructions, etc. My only minor criticism is the lack of proper wardrobes and drawers in the master bedroom, they are very flimsy and not really in keeping with the quality of furnishings in the rest of the house. Yes, parking is a challenge - however the property is worth it. It's a lovely walk on the front to the public car park, but quite a hill. We managed to park around the steeets sometimes, which was better. Perfect village setting, 50 steps away from London Inn, with its fab food and Prosecco on the village green opposite! Fab staycation, loved it - we'll be back!

    Reviewed by DeborahJul 2020

  • "In comparison to similar with similar views it was overpriced."

    Reviewed by SarahJul 2020

  • "Everything was great, house + location was fantastic."

    Would recommend. The only slight negatives were that we were initially told we could enter at 3pm on the arrival day and leave at 10am on the departure day. This was reduced to 5pm and 9am respectively, due to the pandemic, which was a minor inconvenience, and parking provided is only suitable for a small or medium-sized car (and parking elsewhere was tricky in Shaldon).

    Reviewed by AliciaJul 2020

  • "Amazing view across the estuary, everything you need in the property, ..."

    Amazing view across the estuary, everything you need in the property, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, central village location

    Reviewed by HannahMar 2020

  • "Some sort of welcome pack would be appreciated, as it is an expensive property."

    Parking is a nightmare.

    Reviewed by AnneNov 2019

  • "It may appear harsh to say 'met expectations' but we have previously stayed at The Dolphins and therefore knew of the excellent facilities, the high levels of cleanliness and the comfort of the property - and it delivered on all fronts."

    However for this visit the property was put to it's full use because of the dramatic weather conditions including worryingly high tides that exerted its full force on the road to The Ness. Therefore the property became a safe sanctuary against the elements for our family and friends and delivered with ease with some support from the excellent London Inn! As always the village delivered through some local quality shops (butchers,bakers) and in addition to the London Inn excellent eating options - Clipper Cafe, Cafe ODE and of course the local fish and chip shop. Just need to work out when we can re-visit this excellent property and the village of Shaldon.

    Reviewed by ClaireOct 2019

  • "Great Location, though the approach roads are VERY narrow, but worth it for the great view from the cottage over the estuary."

    Open and Airy accommodation, very comfortable and clean. Plan to book again. - We bought a weeks parking permit on the Ness car park to save driving through the narrow lanes and trying to find a parking space as availability was limited in the village, though this was no problem as it was a lovely 10 minute walk along the beach front from car park to cottage

    Reviewed by MichaelAug 2019

  • "Lovely location nice and modern with fantastic views"

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2019

  • "We have enjoyed Dolphins before but this time there were a few minor defects."

    The en-suite bathroom floor tile nearest the door was broken. The cistern in the guest toilet upstairs didn't flush properly and we got in a muddle over how to hand over the keys on departure. Other than those minor problems we had a great time and the facilities were as good as ever. And the view from the riverside windows was as a good as ever, too! The main reason for our return.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2019

  • "We have been to Dolphins a few times now and have enjoyed every stay"

    Reviewed by AndrewJun 2019

  • "Third visit, so it feels like home now, and family members loved it too."

    Hopefully will return next year! Christine PS cleaners do a wonderful job, wish we could have them at our home!

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2019

  • "Highlight the closeness to the wonderful London Inn and the village green with bowls to watch."

    Lovely village with lots of little pubs and local shops. Superb views and very dog friendly with good walks on and off the beach.

    Reviewed by StephenMay 2019

  • "Parking was a nightmare."

    The garage offered was very small and had no light. You had to stand on a chair to turn bathroom lights on and off also fans. Beds had cheap mattresses. Cutlery was very cheap. Knifes for cooking hopeless. No dishes with lids for using in the oven. Only one fron door key we spoke to owner who said he would look into but did not. Light over cooker did not work. Key missing to one of the balconies. Would not stay there again.

    Reviewed by AnneJan 2019

  • "The Dolphins is the best holiday cottage I've ever stayed in, immaculately clean and comfortable with the most outstanding views."

    So many wows it exceeded our expectations, perfectly situated for breath taking walks, great local pubs, cafes and local shops. Five star accommodation and delightful owners who ensure you have everything you could possibly need. Would have no hesitation to recommend and will definitely return, the village itself is super dog friendly and welcoming. Throughly relaxing luxiourious holiday.

    Reviewed by EmmaOct 2018

  • "Fantastic location."

    Parking not on site, but no real hardship to park a short distance away. The village is great, award wining butchers, bakers and pubs. Brilliant little ferry to Teignmouth, only 60p for a child! Plenty of places to walk and socialise with a dog. Beaches are great, some good spots for pier jumping, crabing and kyacking. Lots of people collecting mussels at low tide. The cottage was modern, clean and cosy..... the view is outstanding. Thank you.

    Reviewed by KarenJul 2018

  • "Superb accommodation furnished to a high standard with great facilities - dishwasher / washing machine / fridge freezer / WiFi / SKY."

    Local caretaker should you need any help (we didn't). The balcony overhangs the sea / river at high tide and the main room windows provide excellent views day and night. 2 living rooms allows space for kids who want to watch their own TV. Will definitely be returning.

    Reviewed by JustinJul 2018

  • "Third visit, speaks for itself!"

    we all had a lovely time again, even had good weather! we enjoy the house, its outstanding views, the high quality of everything, the wonderfull location, not just the water views and the village, but also the coffee and eating places, especially the London Inn on the doorstep, great food and atmosphere. The automatic lighting is a bit annoying, and seems wasteful, and we never really quite got the hang of it, again - not a big deal, just thought would mention it! will probably be back next year...... many thanks Christine

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2018

  • "The Dolphins is the perfect Shaldon experience."

    Estuary views to whilst the days away rain and shine. Close to the beach for morning and evening doggy fun and stones throw from some delicious food at the London Inn or Clipper. The house itself has everything you need, as well as style and comfort to make your hikiday one to remember! The

    Reviewed by AimeeMay 2018

  • "Beautiful home excellent views."

    The house was perfect and well equipped. We would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by TraceyMay 2018

  • "Had a great time at the Dolphins,brilliant outlook over the estuary,was like ..."

    Had a great time at the Dolphins,brilliant outlook over the estuary,was like home from home well recommended regards James

    Reviewed by JamesMar 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double (one with en suite bathroom with corner bath, hand shower, WC, basin, and a balcony), 1 x twin
  • Shower room with shower, WC, basin
  • Downstairs open plan living space with seating area, dining area and kitchen area, plus balcony
  • Snug
  • Hall
  • Downstairs WC with basin.
  • Central heating, electric fires with underfloor heating
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Sky DVD, Wii Console, WiFi, Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for one car in garage, alternative parking is available in a public car park nearby
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Pub less than 1 mile from property
  • Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 6 people, including babies.

The property

This wonderful house sits in a row right on the beach in Shaldon with fabulous views from the back.

This waterside house is an excellent beachside location for families and friends.

From the little lane, enter into the hall, off which is the lovely open plan living space which will take your breath away with its contemporary style, travertine floor and balcony looking over the interesting beach with its little boats, swans and great sunsets over The Ness.

The well equipped kitchen area comes with granite work surfaces and a breakfast bar.

Seating for four in a separate snug makes another cosy room for relaxing, watching TV or playing on the Wii.

Head up the stairs to three spacious bedrooms, with sea views from the doubles, and the bonus of an en suite and balcony with one.

Wander along the beach or around the village shops and green, or try cockle picking in the River Teign estuary.

Just across the bridge, enjoy the traditional seaside resort attractions of Teignmouth with its big beach and promenade.

You can hire boats, take a fishing trip, visit the little zoo or chill out in little pubs, or if you're feeling energetic, walk the South West Coast Path to Torquay.

The Dolphins is a smashing base for soothing water views or admiring this coastal spot with its range of attractions.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Torquay 4 miles; Paignton 9 miles.

Shaldon is a pretty Regency village on the opposite bank to the historic, seaside town of Teignmouth in South Devon, situated on the mouth of the Teign estuary and boasts a selection of pubs, shops, tea rooms for your amenities. Boasting a number of tourist attractions, including a small zoo, something your little ones will delight in, whilst you can explore the popular Shaldon Approach Golf Club and Shaldon Botanical Gardens. Due to its coastal location, you will have opportunities for those interested in watersporting activities, such as fishing and sailing. A popular village less than four miles away from the thriving seaside town of Torquay.

Note: This property sleeps a maximum of 6 people, including babies.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas