Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 42 minutes ago

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Sunset Cottage - Lake District - 1042550 - photo 1

Sunset Cottage

(Ref. 1042550)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (8)
  • no (6)
  • parking (6)
  • kitchen (5)
  • location (5)
  • comfortable (5)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was very warm & cosy, the only area that wasn't was the kitchen which had no heating but as we only had breakfast it was not really a problem."

    The kitchen could do with being decorated & some refurbing of the units plus the dining table needed replacing or repainted. All in all it was what we were looking for & in the right location to get to the bus station & other areas of Ambleside ,

    Reviewed by Doreen4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely warm comfortable cottage in good location with very convenient parking"

    Thank you for your kind words we are so pleased you found the property warm and comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.8Mar 2023

  • "This was a lovely cosy cottage well equipped with all facilities."

    The parking was perfect and the cottage well stocked with dvds and games. The views were stupendous and the beds very comfortable. The kitchen is small but has everything you need. There were a few little problems for example the under floor heating did not work and the parking permit was out of date, although we did not need it on this occasion. One thing I would mention was the grimy state of the kitchen utensils such as cutlery and egg whisk etc. we had to wash everything, however this did not detract from our holiday and we would love to stay again! Thank you

    I have only just reviewed this and apologies for the challenges you met on your holiday. The underfloor heating needs to be switched on at the main switch and there is a booklet. You could have notified heart of the lakes-and they would have popped in and helped show you how to use this correctly. I will also check with maintenance if its broken, but housekeeping would have checked this was functioning well before your visit. I am very sad to hear about the cleanliness and as the owner we will ask our agents Heart of The Lake to double check all has been cleaned thoroughly for future. It is disappointing and unacceptable to us to hear that you found utensils grimy. I certainly would also be unhappy to find this. Do let us know when you visit again as we will ensure you have a welcome drink on us waiting for you! Best wishes the owners! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Dec 2022

  • "Really handy property for walks, supermarkets and food outlets."

    Great for hot weather in cool stone building, private garden with mountain views. Minor maintenance was dealt with promptly. Private parking a bonus in a busy town centre. John

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2022

  • "Pans not clean and need replacing."

    Keys difficult to get should be in security box at Cottage. Garden very overgrown and Cottage generally tired. Kitchen description of neat was misleading as it was extremely tiny couldn’t possibly cook a meal. Definitely not suitable for four people.

    Thanks for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that Sunset did not meet your expectations. We are always open to objective feedback which enables use to improve the experience for other guests. Would appreciate if you contact HoL directly and elaborate on the difficulty collecting keys. Keys are always available for collection on the day of arrival from the HoL offices in Ambleside. We are not aware of any difficulties in this process. With regards to the kitchen in our opinion Sunset Cottage is shown in an accurate representation on the website, the pictures do show the size of the kitchen and it is described as "neat fitting". It is disappointing that you felt unable to cook a meal in the kitchen. As a family we have enjoyed many meals prepared in this kitchen including Sunday roast. We will address the issue of the pans with HoL directly. Again, Thanks for your feedback. The Owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather1.9May 2022

  • "Kitchen was even smaller than imagined."

    Not enough room for two people. Barely enough room to make a sandwich in fact. Upstairs room had no door, no good for staying with friends, and i hit my head on the ceiling every time i went up there. Location was good. Comfortable place to be. Not accurately represented in the advert in my opinion. For some people this will be an ideal base for a holiday. We found it a bit wanting.

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree this cottage is in a good location and is a very comfortable property for guests to enjoy their stay however in our opinion Sunset Cottage is shown in an accurate representation on our website. We have never had complaints regarding the size of the kitchen and find most families are able to make a great meal together at this property. The pictures do show the size of the kitchen and it is described as "neat fitting". The bedroom upstairs is described as "open" and as a country cottage, ceiling heights can be quite low. We will investigate and ask guests to be careful in the future. All of this information can be seen by guests before booking and our customer services team are available to call if there are any queries. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.1Sep 2021

  • "The cottage was great and we liked it very much, so we decided to re-book, however the price had gone up 500 pounds, which i think is rather unfair."

    So we chose to go with a different supplier, who had far more reasonable prices.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to see you have a great stay at Sunset Cottage however saddened to see you have chosen to go with a different supplier for your next holiday. We do often see an increase in prices due to inflation year after year and as you were looking for 2 weeks, the price increase is shown as higher. Due to demand for luxury holiday cottages, pricing does need to be brought in line with demand and is shown across other brands also. We hope to welcome you back in the future. The Owners Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by J M4.7Sep 2021

  • "Cozy cottage in a fantastic location, loved being so close to the centre and walking distance to the lake."

    Perfectly comfortable accommodation for a week away.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to see you had a fantastic week and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The Owners Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Jul 2021

  • "Shower had an intermittent fault."

    This needs to be serviced. Pillows were very poor quality. There was a musty smell in the cottage. We believe that this came from the carpets and curtains and possibly the cushions. We bought a material freshener and this helped a little.

    Thank you for your feedback, we will investigate both matters urgently. We do offer a full call out service, but appreciate you may not have wanted to be disturbed. Kind regards, Owner team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexander2.8Jul 2021

  • "Excellent position for centre of Ambleside."

    Good car parking. Sunny rear garden. Clean , warm and cosy living room. Small kitchen. Well equipped. Bathroom could do with updating but plenty of hot water. Good sized bedrooms with comfortable beds. No hairdryer.Ideal base to explore The Lakes.

    Reviewed by Olive4.7May 2021

  • "Good outdoor space and parking."

    Will be re-booking.

    SinclairDec 2019

  • "Great location with a bonus of parking."

    The cottage had everything we needed.

    Mrs QueallyDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x second-floor twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Living/dining room with gas effect stove.
  • Gas central heating with underfloor heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Private parking for one car and resident on-street parking permit
  • Lockable bike storage in courtyard
  • Enclosed garden with patio furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles

The property

A charming stone property, Sunset Cottage enjoys a layout over three floors, resting within a short, level stroll to the centre of the popular Lakeland town of Ambleside.

With attractive fell views and a private sunny garden, Sunset Cottage is full of character with a homely, welcoming aura, ideal for a family of four or two couples.

Once you have parked in the courtyard directly outside the property, enter through the charming, country-style fitted kitchen, with underfloor heating in here to greet you after a brisk winter walk, you can find all you need to rustle up some home-cooked treats, and make those all-important hot drinks.

The homely sitting area is home to soft leather sofas to relax on, with a traditional and original slate fireplace home to a more contemporary gas stove adding further character, you can enjoy watching TV or listening to music in here before setting the dining table for tea.

Head outside with your drinks into the lovely garden, whether planning the next day’s activities or simply admiring the last of the evening sun, it’s an idyllic spot.

You will find a handy utility room on the ground floor too, perfect for storing your outdoor gear, whilst a lockable store in the courtyard for several bikes is available.

Following a busy day, head upstairs to the first floor to find the double bedroom, decorated with coordinated fabrics and enjoying pleasant views towards Loughrigg’s rolling hills.

Freshen up in the bathroom on this floor, with a choice bath and shower over so you have decide how best to prepare for the day.

Climb to the top floor to discover the pretty, twin bedroom and take in the lovely views over the rooftops to the western fells.

Stroll into Ambleside and browse the specialist shops for a souvenir, have a drink or a meal at one of the excellent restaurants, cafés or pubs.

Rainy days can be spent enjoying the latest film at the two cinemas here whilst sunnier days call for leisurely strolls to Rothay Park with a picnic by the lovely river along with a play area that children will surely enjoy.

If you are feeling more adventurous, continue through the park, walk over the charming stone bridge and make the steep, short walk to Todd Crag where you will experience wonderful views down the length of Lake Windermere.

The opposite direction can take you along the River Rothay to the amazing Stock Ghyll Force 70-foot waterfall, an amazing natural wonder with a great viewing bridge so you can soak up the scenery, before continuing up to Wansfell Pike for those seeking a more energetic ramble.

Delight in exploring some lovely places like Borrans Park and Stagshaw Garden, as well as the National Trust’s Wray Castle and its lovely grounds.

Waterhead is home to a ferry landing where you can catch a Lakes cruise to take in the vistas from the water for another spectacular perspective, or hire a boat to drift along at your own pace exploring the secluded bays along the way, as well as a host of watersports including kayaking, canoeing and windsurfing being available on the lake too!

Enjoy a unique break to the Lakes from Sunset Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


  • Grasmere 4.4 miles
  • Windermere 4.7 miles
  • Keswick 16.7 miles

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute