Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Biskey Steps - Lake District - 1041015 - photo 1

Biskey Steps

(Ref. 1041015)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (11)
  • clean (9)
  • again (7)
  • stay (6)
  • lake (6)
  • parking (5)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "The insides of the kitchen cabinets were dirty, there was mold on a door, I had to clean everything (I have the photos)."

    The musty smell downstairs was very strong. The floor in front of the main door is very slippery and dangerous when it rains. The house is very nice and other than reported, it was clean. Kitchen well equipped, nice sofa and tv.

    Reviewed by Raffaella3.1Oct 2023

  • "Would have been 5 stars but the lack of parking (although aware of it beforehand)prevented this."

    As for the place itself? wonderful, spacious, clean, warm, ticked all the boxes. It’s close to everywhere and very well priced. We would definitely stay again Thank you

    Thanks for your review, very glad you had a good holiday at Biskey Steps and we look forward to your next visit! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gerard5.0Oct 2023

  • "We are pursuing a formal complaint, so in brief: dangerous steps to the property for anyone with any kind of mobility issue, inadequate security to the property/difficult to lock."

    Unlock front door, we could find no parking provision on nearby streets, general standard of the property is poor, poor outside space and inadequate customer response from Lakelovers on site when the issues were raised.

    There are about 6 wide stone steps to the front door, with a sturdy metal handrail; no previous guests have mentioned this as a problem. It appears you had problems with the front porch lock which we will investigate although we have no difficulties with our own key. The outside space (small front garden) is as pictured in the listing. Unrestricted parking is available in adjacent Biskey Howe Road. Guests staying recently have left very positive comments in our visitors' book. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane1.9Sep 2023

  • "We only have a couple of issue's 1st there was no timer set on heating seeing as we came in February and my thought were the heating should of been set in the morning for guests comfort."

    Next on the property description there was no mention that the property was split into two part's, we found the people upstairs with young children very noisy and will not be returning to your property again

    Response from owner: The property is not split into two parts. It is a duplex apartment, the lower two storeys of a four storey Victorian building. The property above is another holiday rental apartment not owned by us, I am sorry that you were troubled by noise on this occasion. The central heating is controlled by a Nest thermostat which is set to a comfortable temperature prior to our guests arriving, and can then be adjusted by them according to the full instructions provided. There is also a very efficient gas stove in the living room. The bedroom radiators have separate manual thermostats for guests to adjust for their own comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy3.4Feb 2023

  • "On arriving at the property,we had been given the incorrect code to open the key box, luckily had phone number and a gentleman was able to give us correct number and apologised for error."

    The property downstairs is extremely well equipped. The time of year we went was cold and obviously made a difference to the temperature in the cottage, luckily we were able to keep heating on whilst inside. The upstairs rooms and bathroom were very cold. It would have been extremely useful to have had television s in the bedrooms. Only 1 TV in the property wasn't enough for winter days and evenings. Everyone enjoyed their stay. I was chief Cook and bottle washer and found the kitchen extremely well equipped. Didn't use dishwasher etc. Parking was very awkward even for 1 car. Cottage was well situated for walking into Bowness. Thank you.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Biskey Steps. We apologise again, for the error with the key code. We hope to welcome you back again. Owner response: Thanks for your feedback. The bedroom radiators have manual thermostats which can be adjusted by guests for their own comfort. The central heating is efficient and is easily controlled by the Nest thermostat according to the instructions provided. The guest parking permit is for parking on Craig Walk, obviously at times there may not be a space available outside the property but luggage can be unloaded there and unrestricted parking is always available on Biskey Howe Road adjacent to Craig Walk. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brenda4.1Feb 2023

  • "Great comfy property."

    Very spacious - wide hallway and staircase, great seating space in the lounge. Really pleased. Also great to have a lockable porch so shoes could be left in there. Someone previously I think used the tumble dryer and closed the door afterwards, leaving it quite wet in the drum and loads of fluff was in there - which put us off using it. Lakelovers sorted this really quickly for us. When we first arrived, (and this is really picky.....) the toilet paper was quite thick and although this should be a positive, it didn't flush very easily for some reason - almost as if the toilet has a too narrow pipe. The toilet was blocked for us a few times but as soon as we started to use a thinner toilet paper it was fine. This property is the lower two floors of what was possibly a larger residence. The upper part is also rented out and it can be rather noisy when they move chairs or roll things along the floor above. Didn't seem to happen at crazy times though so not an issue - just a little annoying to hear in the morning when having a lie-in!! The shower hose was quite stiff which meant the shower sprayed quite a lot as it was hard to control it. I suggest using a metal hose would make it more flexible and therefore easier to control and less splash outside the shower area. This is a lovely property and I would happily stay again - I just hope my comments/suggestions would make it even better in the future.

    Owner: thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo4.7Oct 2022

  • "Loved it great location beautiful house very clean with everything we needed would definitely book again and recommended this property."

    The only thing I would mention was the musty smell when you first come in the front door, but it’s in the lakes with heavy rain so understand rheee might be issues and not really enough to mention lion this as you are probelbpy already aware. And it’s not enough to put us off and didn’t want t effect our holiday. Thanks for an amazing time

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Oct 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our second stay at biskey steps Booking again in a couple of months Thank you"

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Sep 2022

  • "Wonderful location,great property."

    Parking never an issue.Would recommend.

    thanks for taking the trouble to give us your positive feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning some time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2022

  • "The only problem was that you could hear the people upstairs moving around"

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Jun 2022

  • "The kitchen wasn't as clean as previous properties, especially the oven"

    Reviewed by Julia4.7Dec 2021

  • "Parking is not good as although a permit is provided there are not a lot of spaces."

    The property was not as clean as i would have expected with the current covid problems, dishwasher was left full, dust on bed headboard and cobwebs in bedroom. quite a lot of noise from the people upstairs .

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay. The permit provided works in any of the south lake district council car parks. These are based on a first come first served basis and they can be extremely busy at times. We are sorry to hear you struggled finding a space. We apologise for the cleaning deficiencies. We have struggled with the heavy occupancy of tourists to find cleaning staff as Lakelovers clean this property and we apologise that the standards were not met. We hope you otherwise had a wonderful week in the Lakes. postscript from the owner (above reply was provided by Lakelovers). Actually the parking permit is for street parking on Craig Walk only, it does not apply to council car parks. If a space isn't available when you arrive or leave, double park while you unload/load the car. Unrestricted parking is available in the next street, Biskey Howe Road just below/above Craig Walk. Sorry you found the parking awkward, it's like gold dust in this area and we find that the parking permit is generally adequate although obviously it's first come first served so the spaces may get taken, but it's not generally much of a problem for guests as you can always park a short distance away if not always outside the property. I hope this issue wouldn't put you off returning as I'm sure you'd agree the location is excellent. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith3.8Sep 2021

  • "The stay was fine."

    The house is in a great location, very close to all the amenities in Bowness-on-Windermere and a good base for exploring the Lake District. The house was spacious and reasonably well equipped. However, there needs to better cleaning and investment in the property. The house had a persistent damp smell, despite us regularly opening all the windows. There is extensive black mould on the kitchen wall, which needs dealing with urgently. The house generally felt not very clean, including the sofas and bedding etc. I dropped a book under the sofa, and was shocked how dirty it was. The house clearly hasn't been deep cleaned for years. My partner's asthma was badly triggered when we were in the house by the mould and dust. The inside of the washing machine was mouldy and our clothes came out smelling worse than when they went in. The house has the potential to be a great holiday cottage, but we would not return or recommend the property in its current state. Finally, there is an apartment above and there was quite a lot of noise whilst we were staying. Obviously nothing can be done about this, but it is worth being aware of it, if you want peace and quiet.

    hank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay. We apologise for the cleaning deficiencies. We have struggled with the heavy occupancy of tourists to find cleaning staff as Lakelovers clean this property and we apologise that the standards were not met. The property has since undergone a deep clean by the owners when they visited start of October and we will ensure standards are kept on top of. We hope you otherwise had a wonderful week in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate2.8Sep 2021

  • "Generally the property was extremely good, but with a few little niggles."

    I found it difficult to open the key safe in the rain on arrival. Toilet was not as clean as I would have liked. Bathroom sink drains very badly. Reported and quick response visit but not fixed so reported again. Unsure of a 2nd response visit but not fixed when we left. Shower screen needs to be bigger or different as very difficult to not spray water everywhere. Lovely shower though! Inconsistent message as to leaving time as we were told 10am but as we were leaving cleaner came and was put out that we were still there as she thought time should be 9am. Both fridge and freezer set VERY cold.

    Thank you for your feedback and reporting the problems during your stay. We appreciate the time taken to send your observations which we have now discussed with the owner. They have taken on board all the points you have raised and will action as soon as possible. The Lakelovers housekeeping team will address your comments re cleanliness Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim4.7Aug 2021

  • "This was our first holiday as a family post lockdown (paying a premium for the cottage), and upon arrival we found the property to be in a disgusting state of cleanliness."

    Considering the additional measures for cleaning and sanitising holiday properties in line with formal guidance, we were particularly shocked to find visible dirt, dust, hair, used tissues (I could go on) throughout the property. We immediately contacted Lakelovers who were very apologetic over the phone and did offer to send a cleaner to the property. However, given the lateness of the day due to the later entry time permitted, we declined as we have a 2 year old and quite simply what were we expected to do in the mean time waiting for the property to be cleaned, sanitised and left for the advised time before re-entry. We therefore tried to clean the property as best we could but still due to how filthy it was, we never felt comfortable there. We provided a series of photos to Lakelovers, but had to chase for a response. Eventually, we received a response and were told that as we had declined the offer of a cleaner on the Saturday evening, they would only offer a £50 gesture. Our original complaint was not seeking monetary return, more an acknowledgment that this was simply not acceptable under any circumstances, but particularly given the situation with the pandemic. The response almost implies that we were to blame for not accepting the offer a cleaner opposed to taking any responsibility for the state we found the cottage to be in. We and family members have used Lakelovers on a number of occasions previously, due to this experience and the response received we will not be booking with you again nor will we be recommending you to others.

    Thank you for your feedback Mrs Thompson We are very sorry to hear your comments regarding cleanliness at Biskey Steps as this falls well below our expected standards. Your comments have been passed onto the owner and the Housekeeping Manager and they will look into the issues you have raised and monitor this moving forward. We hope you understand we are working at full capacity with limited staff due to the Covid pandemic, but hopefully we will be back to normality as quickly as we possibly can. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bethany1.9Jun 2021

  • "Great location minutes from town and had everything you wanted and all good quality Enjoyed our stay"

    Reviewed by Adrian4.1Jun 2021

  • "We really enjoyed staying in Biskey Steps."

    It offers everything we need to have a relaxed holiday. Being so close to town, lake and nature allowed us to leave the car and explore without it. We absolutely loved that. The property itself was very clean and tidy. We felt welcomed and at home.

    Mr NeumannAug 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 king-size, 1 x double
  • Bathroom with bath with shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room
  • On-street parking available in adjacent street
  • Gas central heating with woodburning effect gas fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, mircowave oven and grill, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, DVD player, CD player, selection of games and DVDs, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Small private patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub and shop 6 min walk

The property

A welcoming, stylish and romantic cottage style apartment in a conservation area of Bowness, overlooking the village with views to Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. This property has been beautifully modernised yet retaining traditional charm.

Impressive entrance hall leading to elegant living room with polished floor, luxurious soft cushioned furnishings, feature fireplace and picture window.

Spacious kitchen / dining room is well-equipped and suitable for leisurely meals.

Two spacious double bedrooms, master with superb views over the village to the Lake.

Modern bathroom with bath and shower, also with views over the village.

Sunny patio area with elevated views.

Smart TV and a selection of DVDs provided.

On the eastern shore of Lake Windermere, Bowness is one of the most popular holiday destinations in the Lake District.

It's an excellent location for a self-catering break; in the village centre you'll find everything you need, from shops and supermarkets to pubs, restaurants and lively nights out.

Bowness Bay itself provides ample opportunities to get out on the water; rowing boats, power boats, & lake cruises.

The World of Beatrix Potter is a popular attraction as is the Old Laundry Theatre Handy too, for the scenic A591 and up to Ambleside, Hawkshead, Grasmere, Coniston and Langdale.

Walkers will find exploring easy, with plenty to come back to at the end of the day.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas