Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 30 View Larger Image
  • Park View - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 26149 - photo 1
close

Park View

Filey, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 26149)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

49 Customer Reviews

  • "We were a bit disappointed that there was no milk, tea or coffee upon our arrival to the cottage for us to make a drink after our journey to Filey."

    There was only one toilet roll to last us for the 10 days plus one black bin liner. The dvd was not in working order and neither was the PlayStation. We ended up buying our own DVD player but we appreciate this was our choice. There was an issue with the tv aerial over the first couple of days but Sue was extremely helpful and got this sorted out for us as soon as she could get somebody out to look at it. Other than these minor issues, the bungalow is beautiful and is in an ideal location for Filey town and the beach. It’s in a very quiet area which we loved and the walks to the country gardens each morning and evening with the dog were perfect. The enclosed garden was ideal for the dog and we could rest knowing he was secure and safe. There was everything we needed in the bungalow and it felt like home. We would certainly stay at Park View again in the future and we would highly recommend it to family and friends.

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2022

  • "We had a lovely break at park view and will must likely return in the future."

    There where a few little niggles bathroom blind and shower and couldn't get the TV working in the living room. However as I said just minor niggles which would not put us off from returning. Clean close to all amenities and some wonderful dog walks nearby for Nancy our staffie

    Reviewed by JamesJul 2022

  • "Just gorgeous we would move to this property if we could!"

    ! Has everything you need and the owners are so helpful ❤️

    Reviewed by MaureenJun 2022

  • "Lovely bungalow in a good location for coast or countryside would stay again"

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2022

  • "The property was spotlessly clean and tidy and the location was perfect."

    Enclosed garden for our dogs was a great advantage. One small negative was they could do with changing the steps outside

    Reviewed by JanetJun 2022

  • "This was our first time at Park View and really happy at where it is."

    The Cottage is on a really beautiful and peaceful estate and only minutes away from the town centre and beach. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything that you needed and the cottage was cosy and warm. The shower was really powerful and the bed comfortable. The only downside for us was that the main bedroom was very small, the bed would have been better in the larger room for us. We spent everyday finding new places to walk and exploring the place. Although Filey is a busy place it has such a tranquillity about it. Can't wait to go back to Filey.

    Reviewed by GaryMay 2022

  • "Park View is a lovely clean bungalow in a wonderful location with a lovely garden."

    I don't like marking it so low because had everything been in good order it would have been a smiley face for all. Unfortunately, the central heating didn't work, I reported it to Sykes and the caretaker both were very concerned. Also reported that the shower didn't work properly, it was mixer taps to the bath as well and they ran at the same time so it was a trickle. Reported the door on the wardrobe not closing properly. Reported the radiator in the bathroom was slowly dripping from the top right hand corner down the radiator. As for the heating, the owner kindly arranged for 2 oil heaters to be delivered. When they arrived we tried to assemble them, but 1 wheel on each was too wide to fit easily into the holes, at that point we didn't think we could force them, we informed the caretaker The gas men were supposed to come Tues, they didn't turn up. I informed the caretaker, she enquired and they had gone 3hrs in the opposite direction! The caretaker had mentioned me leaving the key, I didn't feel comfortable doing that and had explained that my husband could be there in the mornings whilst I walked the dog. The gas men were now supposed to come on the Wednesday, plus a plumber to repair the shower. The plumber did arrive at about 1.00ish He was very nice and apologetic, told us that it needed a new tap and he didn't carry them, he told us that he wasn't allowed to do the job without someone being in the property. He had tried to contact the caretaker a few times. I rang the caretaker explaining the situation and passed the phone to the plumber who also informed her of the situation. The plumber left, the gas men still hadn't arrived. We went out around 1.20ish rather fed up with the situation at this point. We don't like complaining but do expect to be warm, take a shower and time to explore the beautiful coast and countryside without worry of repair work needing to be done whilst there. On the Thursday we tried to assemble the heaters again and managed at last to get the wheels to fit in the holes, warmth of some sort at last. Such a shame this dragged on so long, had everything been in good order it would have all been wonderful. Thankyou, Regards Joy

    We addressed this promptly and did everything we could - it is not our fault British Gas Homecare who we pay extra to, so they can do urgent call outs, made major mistakes by sending the heating engineer to our home address which they admitted was a major error. We ordered the heaters on Amazon prime so they were with the guests the following day. Not our fault that BG didn't repair the tap promptly or even take a tap. I have complained to them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoyApr 2022

  • "Loved every minute of our stay at Park View."

    (We did have fantastic weather for January which was an added bonus) Comfortable accommodation, warm, well equipped & in a great location. Parking & a gated garden also a bonus. Our dog enjoyed her walks in the nearby country park & along the beach. Town an easy walk away with a Tesco for essential needs. Lots of walking trails from doorstep. Recommend

    Reviewed by LesleyJan 2022

  • "Regarding the leak in the bathroom which had been fixed but had caused the laminate floor to swell making it impossible to close kitchen or bathroom door, which we had been informed about before we arrived."

    The property smelt very damp and musty despite having window's and doors open while we're in the smell was still bad when we left. The smell transferred onto coats hung it hallway. Which spoilt our holiday somewhat!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry about the leak causing issues with the flooring which we advised you of pre arrival. Our maintenance team have now rectified the leak. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MargaretOct 2021

  • "We have stayed at park view before but we think it is looking very tired now."

    Plus that there was a leak from the bathroom and water was coming through the flooring . Fortunately I took a few doggy towels and I had to put those down to dry the floor. By the way the flooring had started to lift away we think that this had been happening for a while so therefore should have been reported before our stay. We did inform the Housekeeper and she organised a plumber. Also a walk in shower would be appropriate. Other than that we always love our holidays in Filey.

    Thank you for your feedback for Park View. We are sorry that you felt the property was very tired, when we queried this you advised that you thought the property should have a walk in shower. Unfortunately, during your stay there was leak in the bathroom which had not been reported previously, as soon as we were aware of this we had arranged for a plumber to resolve the issue the next day. We are happy to hear that you still overall enjoyed your stay with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MSep 2021

  • "There was an issue with the bathroom sink leaking,but once reported,was dealt with more or less immediately,even though it was a Sunday."

    On the down-side,there was no spare toilet roll and couldn,t get any of the t.v,s working,but that didn,t spoil our break.

    Reviewed by LindaJun 2021

  • "Lovely bungalow near to everything, I will be recommending it to friends, the position is perfect and it was spot on for the five of us."

    On the down side, the lawn could have been cut, it was far too long and the garden is full of weeds. It didn't feel like cleaners had been in that morning and given it a good clean, maybe we were the first in. A teapot would be a nice touch for five people, but overall I would go back because of where it is situated. We saved our glass and took it to Tesco at the end of the week as per the instructions, but two Tesco men didn't know where the recycle glass bin was so we had to take it home.

    Thank you for your feedback in regards to Park View. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our bunglaow. Regarding the garden, we do have a gardener that does attend to the lawn, however, due to the teribble rain we have been having recently, he is currently catching up on his rounds. We will bring this to his attention and ensure the lawn does get mowed and the weeds taken care off. We hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineJun 2021

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely bungalow."

    Very peaceful location and only ten minutes walk to the beach and town centre. Would definitely recommend Park View .

    Reviewed by FrancesMay 2021

  • "No warning that there was a huge building site at the bottom of the garden!"

    !! Thank goodness we didnt go in the summer

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner has confirmed that, whilst the building work is nothing to do with her property, it is thankfully now coming to an end as of May 2021. We are very sorry for any disruption but do hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ValerieOct 2020

  • "The property was very good, but with a long term building site right behind the ..."

    The property was very good, but with a long term building site right behind the property was a bit of a disappointment, but that being said we would like to stay again next summer

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner has confirmed that, whilst the building work is nothing to do with her property, it is thankfully now coming to an end as of May 2021. We are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and look forward to you booking again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GordonOct 2020

  • "Nice week away in Filey house nice and spacious just building work behind house ..."

    Nice week away in Filey house nice and spacious just building work behind house drove dog crazy because he could not see them lovely and peaceful very quiet area

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner has confirmed that, whilst the building work is nothing to do with her property, it is thankfully now coming to an end as of May 2021. We are very sorry for any disruption but so pleased you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RolandSep 2020

  • "I have been to this cottage 3 times now and its home from home."

    Ideal for families with children and just a short walk to the beach.

    Reviewed by DawnAug 2020

  • "Great location for dog walking and just a short walk into the centre of filey so didn’t have to use the car much."

    Definitely want to come back next year

    Reviewed by ChristineMar 2020

  • "After many previous visits it was very sad to see the once high standards at Park View had dropped really badly."

    Mould in the bathroom, bedrooms used as dumping grounds, badly stained t-towels, locks hanging off of cupboards, the key safe was broken and difficult to use, a garage door that blew open with every gust of wind, cracks in the walls, countless remote controls none of which had any instructions for them and some, 2 x SKY didn't even appear to have anything to control. The worst thing at all for me was the daily droning from the noisy construction site a few meters away at the bottom of the garden. This really ought to be mentioned in the Sykes listing for Park View. Anyone hoping for a nice quiet break has no chance at all. Very disappointing.

    Reviewed by MikeOct 2019

  • "A well located bungalow suitable for children."

    The bath and shower are amazing and french doors leading out to an enclosed garden make it ideal for the kids. Ive just booked for ths 3rd time as I dont think I could find better. It is abit dated so maybe it would benefit from a spruce up and a bit of a sort out. Filey sea front is just down the hill and tescos a short walk away, we all love coming to this little bungalow.

    Reviewed by DawnAug 2019

  • "Nice house and good location and would visit again but could do with a little decluttering, felt like the single room is used as a bit of a dumping area but on the whole enjoyed our stay."

    Reviewed by LindaJul 2019

  • "WE ALL HAD A GREAT TIME STAYING AT PARK VIEW AND WILL DEFO BE BACK AGAIN."

    GREAT LOCATION!!

    Reviewed by CaraJul 2019

  • "Very comfortable place to stay like a second home we go every year and always enjoy our stay"

    Reviewed by JasonJun 2019

  • "Great holiday cottage,we have been twice before & booked it again for next year."

    The cottage is just 10mins walk to the country park and the same to the town. Perfect for dog walking the Cleveland Way or just watching the world go by on the Prom:

    Reviewed by RogerMay 2019

  • "Bungalow could have been cleaner."

    had to move cupboard next to double bed so we could move bed to use both sides to get in the bed. bedroom to small for a double bedroom. had to use spare bedroom to put suitcase ect. don't know how people manage if all bedrooms are used. however bed was comfortable and sofas were. wifi was good though had to go searching for password. location is the best thing till they build at the back which will ruin the view .

    Reviewed by LindaApr 2019

  • "The bungalow is near the sea also not far to shops and near by to get to ..."

    The bungalow is near the sea also not far to shops and near by to get to Bridlington or Scarborough you could do with making more recycle bins for collection like we have in derbyshire

    Reviewed by LindaApr 2019

  • "Location was excellent, lovely rear enclosed private garden."

    Parking for 3 cars, nice large t.v and good facilities..Ideal walking from the door. Pet friendly. We didn’t get a good nights sleep all week ( very uncomfortable bed,bedding, pillows etc ) poor shower,lacked cleanliness in bathroom. Needs decorating throughout, which was a shame!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the location. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness was lacking; I can see we raised this with the owner and since your stay, the cleanliness has improved so thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments, this is always very helpful for our owner's to maintain their high standards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardMar 2019

  • "The remote control for the dvd was missing."

    Contacted the manager, who knew nothing about it, and wasn't particulary helpful either. She talked through using unit manually so there was limited functionality, but this looses a lot of the functions of a dvd, not to mention difficult with limited mobility, not a big issue people might think but as this was our evening entertainment spoilt it , and IT SHOULDN'T HAPPEN.......not at these prices equipment should always be checked. The appeal of this bungalow, is certainly it's location which is fantastic, is it about to be spolit with the huge building programme at the rear?

    Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to locate the DVD remote. Equipment is checked before every guests arrival and this has since been located. We are unsure why you were unable to find this during your stay but are very sorry it impacted your experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetMar 2019

  • "The cottage is perfectly situated for both the country park (5 min walk) and the beach (10 min walk) which are both dog friendly."

    The town is a little further away. The cottage is clean and has comfortable beds, the kitchen has everything you need for holiday cooking. The country park has a cafe that opens early so great for breakfast.

    Reviewed by BarbaraMar 2019

  • "The property is ideally located and clean and welcoming we stay every year always looking forward to our stay"

    Reviewed by JasonMar 2019

  • "All arrangements went well."

    The property is in an ideal location.

    Reviewed by ChristopherDec 2018

  • "Great bungalow in excellent location."

    Well equipped had a brill time will be returning.

    Reviewed by RichardNov 2018

  • "Our 4th visit to Park View."

    Dining table in living room a massive benefit - excellent move! Communication with agent, very good. An issue we had during holiday was sorted within a couple of hours. Very efficient. All round home from home.

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2018

  • "My second visit to Park View in a few short months and this stay was just as enjoyable as all my other visits there."

    A really quiet location and so close to Filey Brigg, the town centre and the beach. Looking forward to booking again soon.

    Reviewed by MikeOct 2018

  • "This was the best cottage location we have been in,good dog walking and only 10 mins from the town."

    We enjoyed it so much we booked it again for next year.Now for the not so good, it could have been cleaner and as other people commented the broken bit bin should have been replaced and the cooker knob repired .

    Reviewed by RogerSep 2018

  • "Perfect location near the country park and north beach but not the best equipped ..."

    Perfect location near the country park and north beach but not the best equipped or most comfortable property we have stayed in

    Reviewed by JacquelineJul 2018

  • "Bungalow is in a lovely quiet location close to the town and Country Park."

    Unfortunately there were a few niggles in that the lid of the peddle bin was broken so every time we put things in it we had to take off the bin lid instead of it being hands free by using the peddle. Some of the crockery was cracked and chipped which is unhygienic. Although there was a DVD player in the lounge the two plugs available were used so no where to plug the DVD player in it needed an extension lead. Would have liked details on eating places in Filey i.e takeaways etc. Apart from that it was ideal. This comment is not specific to this accommodation but it would be helpful when listing any accommodation to advise what is in the welcome pack and what will be supplied as in tea towel, dish cloth wash-up liquid, dishwasher tablets, toilet roll etc

    Reviewed by SteveJun 2018

  • "As always, Park View in Filey makes a great base for holidays on the East Coast of Yorkshire."

    Situated in a quiet area and within easy walking distance of the picturesque Filey Brigg and the town itself.

    Reviewed by MikeJun 2018

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed my time at Park View."

    All you required for a perfect holiday. Plus the good weather on the bank holiday made it. Very good property for dog with secure garden and lots of walks on your doorstep.

    Reviewed by MargaretMay 2018

  • "Bungalow layout was fine with excellent fully enclosed safe garden for our dog spot on."

    5 mins walk to the country park & beach 10 mins to the town centre if you are able bodied. Be aware parking is a nightmare in the town centre & not much better along the beach so well worth walking if you are able! Table in the kitchen was useless to sit round for even 2 people & got in the way of using the kitchen would rather have not had it at all too big, lounge furniture was too bulky for the room and too much of it. Suite is old saggy and uncomfortable really does need changing. Toilet was a problem flushing with 5 adults using it. However the single beds were full size and comfortable as was the double. The heating system heats up very quickly. Shower was much more powerful than I expected. Sea front is beautiful and bungalow in quiet neighbourhood. Some changes of furniture & layout of the lounge would allow a usable table & chairs would make this bungalow perfect location is ideal.

    Reviewed by JuneApr 2018

  • "Lovely bungalow in a fantastic location."

    Wasn't as clean as last time we visited and disappointed that some things in the property didn't work (Bottom oven on cooker) On a whole a lovely property and hopefully will return again.

    Reviewed by RachaelMar 2018

  • "The only thing that was a problem was that whilst the house is for 5 people, it is impossible for 5 people to sit down at the table to eat."

    Our suggestion would be to change the table in the kitchen to a drop leaf table, which could be easily moved into the lounge and opened to allow 5 people to eat around it. This was an issue for us as we wanted to eat dinner in on new years eve. Otherwise perfect.

    Reviewed by DianeDec 2017

  • "This was our 2nd visit to Park View and we love the location being so close to ..."

    This was our 2nd visit to Park View and we love the location being so close to Country park and town centre,it was clean and warm which was very much appreciated as it was bitterly cold outside and snowing,being dog friendly too was also a bonus would definitely stay there again

    Reviewed by BarbaraNov 2017

  • "We really enjoyed the accommodation, however the only table in the property was in the kitchen and to put 3 chairs around it (in order to eat) was very difficult and very cramped."

    This might put us off booking again,which is a shame as everything else was superb.

    Reviewed by JackieNov 2017

  • "The location of the property was ideal and was comfortable and cosy really enjoyed it have rebooked for next year"

    Reviewed by JasonJun 2017

  • "Not wanting to go home"

    Reviewed by JJun 2017

  • "All of it ."

    In fact we did not move the car all week we walk all over Riley.

    Reviewed by JMar 2017

  • "Lovely cottage location was also very good."

    The cleanliness wasn't up to standard we found some chewing gum down the back of the settee and a dogs chew under the settee. Although the cottage was very warm and cosy it could do with updating and decorating I had the twin bedded room I would also suggest that new mattresses would be a good idea.

    Reviewed by RosamondMar 2017

  • "Home from home."

    Everything we needed.

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2016

Show more

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area (seats 4)
  • Sitting room with electric fire.
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, PlayStation 2 with games, Wii with games, WiFi, selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden with furniture and BBQ
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome, additional pets by request only at time of booking
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk, beach 10 mins walk.
  • Please note: We are unable to accept a booking from the 8th April, we can accept a booking from the 11th April, this is due to staff shortages.

The property

A lovely, detached modern bungalow, in a quiet residential area close to the town centre and beach in the charming, historic resort of Filey.

Offering light and airy accommodation, this Filey cottage is perfectly situated for families wanting to enjoy a traditional seaside holiday in this delightfully quaint seaside town.

Finished to a high standard, this Filey cottage has a bright and modern kitchen, with granite worktops and a small dining area, whilst the sitting room is traditionally furnished and has patio doors opening onto the secure rear garden.

With three tasteful bedrooms and a contemporary bathroom, this Filey cottage makes a very comfortable holiday home.

A five minute walk brings you to the town centre, where there is a variety of tea rooms, pubs and independent shops, whilst a ten minute walk brings you to the seafront.

Enjoy a stroll along the promenade with its brightly coloured beach huts, ornamental gardens and cafes or build sandcastles on the wonderful, long sandy beach, where you can walk for miles.

Close to this Filey cottage lies a country park and an animal sanctuary, whilst nearby Flamborough is well worth a visit with its high chalk cliffs, packed with nesting sea birds.

With the larger, vibrant town of Scarborough a short drive and the Yorkshire Wolds and Moors to explore, this Filey cottage is well placed for an enjoyable break.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

FILEY

Scarborough 7.5 miles; Bridlington 11 miles.

Filey is a traditional English seaside resort with a friendly atmosphere, offering a restful holiday, making an ideal place to stay for walkers and wildlife watchers at any time of the year. A real gem on the Yorkshire coast. A fishing town on the North East Coast, Filey has enjoyed a reputation of being a resort since Victorian times, set beside the magnificent Filey Bay, a long stretch of beautiful sand, with Filey Brigg and its shallow rockpools to the north. Filey Brigg is a low headland that protects Filey Bay and provides good bird watching and seawatching opportunities all year round. The 400 ft high Bempton Cliffs (RSPB Reserve) to the south of Filey Bay are home to over 250,000 seabirds in the summer. Gannets, kittiwakes, puffins, guillimots and razorbills all nest there. Gannets are regularly seen diving for fish in Filey Bay. The Brigg area is an ideal place to watch for common and rarer waders, seabirds and migrating warblers,finches and thrushes. As well as seabirds, seals and other marine life, such as porpoises dolphins and minke whales can be seen in the sea around the Brigg. The town itself seems almost caught in a time warp, retaining much of its character with individual shops, narrow paths and ginnels. There is a small coble landing, a slipway where local fishermen keep their boats, plus delightful beach chalets that can be hired through the summer months. The bay is edged with two promenades and there are various gardens, where brass bands play on a Sunday afternoon. This small town is family orientated, crazy golf and candy floss. Also in Filey there is the Filey Dams Nature Reserve, a wetland reserve where common and rare waders and wildfowl can be seen as well as autumn gatherings of swallows, sand martins and house martins. Also there is Parish Wood (just off Sycamore Avenue) an unexpected gem that offers a wealth of wildlife. Willow warbler, chiffchaff, blackcap and tree sparrows breed there and a wide variety of other species are regularly seen such as great spotted woodpeckers and sparrow hawks. Parish Wood also provides shelter and food for a wide range of migrant bird species such as goldcrests, pied and spotted flycatchers, warblers, finches, thrushes and woodcocks. A short drive brings you to the busier town of Scarborough where for family fun you can visit the Alpamare Waterpark, a waterpark unlike anything the UK has ever seen before, as well as plenty to explore and discover in this lovely area.

View more holiday cottages in Filey

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas