Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 41 View Image Gallery
  • Tennyson House - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1000749 - photo 1






Tennyson House

(Ref. 1000749)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 16 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • all (20)
  • location (19)
  • house (19)
  • great (18)
  • well (18)
  • our (17)

43 Customer Reviews

  • "The family get together went really well."

    Thank you Jacqueline. Be proud of your super house. It is ideal for groups to use. The hot tub went down well too.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2024

  • "Was a lovely, spacious house."

    Thoughtfully laid out and in good location.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review's much appreciated. The Retreat really is home from home and with being near the shops, restaurant's, bars and beach it's the prefect location too. Best Wishes Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Dec 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at this property, the house was very homely and had plenty of kitchen equipment, cutlery and crockery etc for the 15 of us."

    We loved the hot tub and the fact that the property was close to all the amenities. The property was lovely and clean except the downstairs carpet which had quite a few marks on, I guess it's hard to keep clean with the number of different guests that stay at the property. The parking permits were also really useful. The only other negative was that it was difficult to be ready and out for 10am on the day of departure but we would definately consider staying again.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review's much appreciated. We really try and make all of our holiday lets feel 'home from home' so I'm delighted that you had everything you need. The carpet is regularly cleaned but as you can imaging with the amount of guests we have staying... we have a lot of traffic. The parking permits work really well and enables you to park free of charge at the property and the surrounding streets. I do understand about the 10am check out but the cleaning teams needs to be in then to get the property ready for the next guests as it's such a large property but I do appreciate your feedback. Best Wishes Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracy4.7Oct 2023

  • "We were promised a stair safety gate for the bottom of the stairs for a two year old."

    It was not delivered. An animal appeared to have done his business near the hot tub.

    Thank you for your feedback. I did speak with a female member of your party when she asked about a stairgate and told her that we don't supply one and she said it wasn't a problem you could buy one for your stay. I said I would try and locate one which unfortunately I couldn't so called back and left a voice mail on the number the lady had called me on so I'm sorry if that message wasn't received. There is a local cat who took a liking to The Retreat and you will be pleased to hear that we have put measures in place which prevents any cat from getting into the garden. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope these issues didn't effect your holiday. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Aug 2023

  • "The house fitted very nicely our needs."

    Nothing major to complain about. Small things which could be inproved.:- Wifi only on the Ground floor No instructions for the dishwasher. A cat that sh** outside the back door every day. Availability of extra bed linen. We feel a checkout at 10:00 am is too early. 7 adults and 7 kids to get out of the hose by 10:00 was. Stressful. Checkout time will affect my next choice of house.

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It's really helpful to get feedback from guests so that improvements can be made to ensure that future guests have the best experience possible. I'm sure we can improve the WIFI with boosters and I know this is an important part of all our lives so needs to be suitable. I can download the dishwasher manual and make sure it's available to guests. You will have noticed that we do have ultrasonic cat deterrents in the garden but we have now added additional measures to keep the neighbourhood feline friend out! I am pleased to say that this problem seems to be now eliminated. The check out time is due to the fact that the property is very popular and usually as 1 guest checks out the next guest checks in and same day turnaround's happen often. The cleaning team do need this time to get the property up to our high standards so I am sorry that you felt a little rushed on your departure day. Thanks aging for the review. Kindest Regard's Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike3.8Jul 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at the retreat everything was well presented and modern and comfortable."

    We would definitely come back again. We praised you to all how friends and family…. Thank you for the experience.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review's much appreciated. The Retreat really is home from home and with being near the shops, restaurant's, bars and beach it's the prefect location too. We are very proud that guests do return as they have enjoyed it so much and we hope yo see you again soon . Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart4.4Jun 2023

  • "There was a minor problem with a leaking shower seal but I texted this through to the contact provided who thanked me for letting them know and said they'd deal with it."

    The communication was good in general and really welcoming

    Thank you for your review after your recent stay at The Retreat. From time to time there are maintenance issues that crop up and it's really useful that you told us about the leaking shower as it meant that we could get it fixed before the next guest arrived. I hope you all had a great time here in Scarborough. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian4.7May 2023

  • "Excellent communications from the owner prior to arrival."

    The house was clean and tidy, lovely warm hot tub. Overall feedback from our group was that the house is a great place for large groups to stay. Good location close to shops and bars but in a quiet area. Felt like a home from home. The bedrooms were all comfy and shower facilities excellent.

    Thank you so much for the outstanding review. The Retreat is just in the most perfect location and you could literally park the car when you arrive and not have to use it again throughout your stay until it's time for home. We try very hard to make our holiday properties feel home from home and you shouldn't want for anything and the beds there are super comfy which is just want you need after a day at the beach! I'm so pleased that you all had a good time and once again thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Kindest Regards Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2023

  • "Had a lovely girls weekend at the house, perfect for our needs and close enough to walk to the see front"

    Hi Briony and thanks for much for taking the time so leave feedback - much appreciated. So pleased to hear that you and the girls had a lovely time... you even had a weekend of Sunshine! Due to the position of The Retreat you can walk to many of the local amenities including the beautiful sandy beach of North Bay where you can walk round to South Bay which is the more traditional seaside experience with donkey rides, amusement arcades and fun fair and of course many ice-cream parlours and candy floss. Once again thank you for the feedback! Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Briony4.7Apr 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at the retreat!"

    ! The owner was so lovely and obliging. We were informed of an issue with the dishwasher which we don't use but it was sorted regardless the next day with a lovely handyman. The rooms were so comfortable especially the sofas!! The hot tub was amazing and the fake grass an added bonus no sludgy dog paws!! Only draw back we found was no downstairs loo. The stairs were on the steep side but it was all good. The location was perfect and the chippy round the corner well worth a visit!! Thanks for having us it was just what we needed!! X

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat. When issues do crop up which happens from time-to time, we always try and fix things quickly and with minimum fuss to out guests so I really do appreciate you mentioning our handyman and I'll be sure to pass the message on. The sofas are super comfy and just what you need after a day at the beach which is only a few minutes walk away making The Retreat the prefect location. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and once again thank you for the feedback! Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Mar 2023

  • "We stayed a few weeks back for our first family get away."

    The house was spotless and had everything you needed to accommodate a 3 year to 82 year old. There’s plenty or room so you don’t feel your all on top of each other. Julie was fantastic and contacted me several times before our stay with all the information we needed to access the property and to check everything was ok. The location is great, 2 mins walk down road and you’re in the park have shop, chip shop and cafe. There’s a pub 10 minutes walk away with a pool table. Keep going down the hill and you’re at the beach. Fantastic house in a great location!!

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Retreat. It's great to hear that the whole party were accommodated for and it sounds like you have all had a wonderful time. Location wise, The Retreat is perfect! Close to all local amenities and attractions and those fish and chips from North Bay Fisheries are some of the best in Scarborough I should know... I've tried most of them. Once again thank you for the 100/100 feedback! Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Mar 2023

  • "Excellent communication prior to arrival Excellent position near to local shops/eateries (amazing fish n chips on row of shops 2 mins away) Christmas tree’s really nice touch Kitchen very well stocked for large group of 14 adults Hot tub was amazing and in excellent position near to back door Beds extremely comfortable (though some elderly members of group thought bedrooms were a little chilly and ‘could have done with thicker duvet’s), though to be fair it was a very cold weekend, with ice on ground Perhaps things to consider: There were no locks on any of the communal bathrooms/toilets; this would have improved privacy and comfort."

    Mirrors absent in some of the bedrooms. A little tight sitting around dining table for 14 adults (potentially 16 if all adults in party) Overall, I would recommend ‘The Retreat’ for a large group!

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Dec 2022

  • "Lovely stay, had everything you need and very helpful information provided before your stay."

    Perfect location. Will be back again.

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated! So pleased you had a lovely stay! The location is central to everything making it ideal for all ages! Dont hesitate book again now!!! Thankyou for your custom. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lily5.0Nov 2022

  • "Superb family house on a great location!"

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated! The Retreat is a beautiful house superb for a get together for family or friends! The location is close to Peasolm Park, the beach and the town centre so an ideal location to meet everyone's needs. Thankyou for your custom it is appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Oct 2022

  • "Just come back from The Retreat we’ve had a fabulous 5 days."

    Close to Scarborough we walked it in 15/20 mins,lots to do nearby we had a lovely walk in Peasholm Park with the dogs

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated! Peasolm Park is the perfect place for a walk with dogs and there is so much near to The Retreat, close to the beach and the town centre also. I hope you book again soon! Thankyou for your custom! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel4.4Oct 2022

  • "Great stay for a group of 16."

    Well equipped kitchen. Superb hot tub, All rooms are spacious and comfortable. All essentials are provided. Easily accessible to beach and a beautiful park. Above all, Samantha is great in dealing with customers and have ensured we are briefed appropriately. One note, be careful with the parking disc, ensure you turned the clock in disc as we got a parking ticket. Nothing to do with the accomadation though. All other aspects 100 percent happy

    Thankyou for your feedback! The Retreat is very central to the beach, town and Peasholm park. Lovely to hear you had a great stay! I look forward to you booking again and thankyou for your custom it is very appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Manu5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a great weekend."

    The house was lovely and well situated.

    Thankyou for your great feedback it is appreciated. The Retreat is a lovely house and the location very central to everything! I hope you book again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0May 2022

  • "Amazing house with plenty of space."

    Perfect for the weekend away we wanted. It was great to have outdoor space as well as the large communal rooms inside. Great location so close to the beach and great cafes and fish and chip shop nearby. Only slight drawback was parking as could only park for a few hours on the road during the day with a disc so a few of us who weren’t parked in the garage had to pay for 24hrs at a carpark down the road. We didn’t mind having to do this but it would have been good to know beforehand.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat location is so central its close to the beach and the Town centre! Sorry to hear you struggled with parking there is normally plenty of parking close by. I hope you book again soon and recommend us to others. Thankyou for your custom! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2022

  • "We had a great stay at the retreat stunning house with everything you could possibly need for a fabulous coastal holiday."

    Location was excellent 2 minutes from the beach and peasholm park,plenty of cafes,bars and shops nearby,loads of communication from owner before our trip welcoming us to retreat and informative info pack when we got there.we were all gutted to leave.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat is a beautiful house and the location is so central, also only 5 minutes to the town centre. Please recommend us to others and I hope you book again really soon!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a great week in the Retreat."

    The house was over and above what we expected, well furnished, comfortable and lots of space. Parking was never a problem, always close to the house. Local amenities were brilliant with local shops, cafes and a chip shop a couple of minutes away. Peasholm Park was less than 5 minutes away which is a great place to walk or the kids to play. Communication with Sykes was amazing. Everything explained in well timed emails and texts and even a “take care on your way home” text and phone call on the last day. Thank you Samantha.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat location is fantastic with everything close by from the beach to the town centre! Communication with my guests is very important to me. I'm so pleased you had the best weather too! I will look forward to you booking again Thankyou for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nev5.0Apr 2022

  • "We stayed at the property as a group of 15 from 8th April 2022 for a week."

    We were really impressed with the property on arrival. There was plenty of space downstairs which was great for our large group. The dining room seated us all so that we could have meals together. The kitchen had plenty of crockery, cutlery, plans, dishes, trays etc. There was a dishwasher which was useful for a large group. The washing machine and dryer are really handy for washing and drying clothes after using the hot tub or going to the beach. The plastic glasses / tumblers are useful for the children's drinks, but a lot of them were cracked so leaked. You can walk to Peasholm Park in a minute which was really handy. We also walked into Scarborough around the coast one day, and used the bus the other days. We all enjoyed using the hot tub during our stay. We travelled in four cars and parked two of them in the car port. The space is quite tight so we parked the two smaller cars in there. The other two cars used a parking permit. These are visitor permits so they only allow a three hour stay, with no return within one hour. As we didn't travel much from Scarborough we were concerned about receiving parking tickets. Fortunately we didn't see any traffic wardens sniffing around. Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed going to the beach, arcades, speed boat, crabbing and haunted house! We would recommend the house to any larger groups looking to stay in Scarborough.

    Thankyou for your feedback. We also provide parking permits for guest stays so you don't need to worry about parking! There is so much surrounding The Retreat you can access most locations on foot. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you booking again. Thankyou for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carla5.0Apr 2022

  • "A lovely property in a great location."

    Our party of fifteen really enjoyed our break at The Retreat, they was plenty of space to accommodate everyone and the property was very clean with plenty of amenities. The kitchen had everything you would need and bedrooms, ensuites and bathrooms were a lovely size and very clean. The communication from the owner was excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat is a great location, close to Peasholm, the beach and the town centre. I appreciate your recommendation and hope you come back to stay again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Apr 2022

  • "We stayed at the property at the end of February 2022, we were a party of 14 and found the property to be very clean, comfortable and plenty big enough to accommodate us all."

    The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and the bedrooms were all spacious and comfortable. The only down side was the family bathroom on the first floor did not have a working shower so that meant 2 couples had to jump in others en-suites however didn’t cause a big problem. It is in a great position close to peasholm park and the sea front. The owner was lovely and gave us all the information we needed. Highly recommended!

    I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay the location is fantastic! I can now confirm the shower hose is fixed. Really hope you come stay again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Feb 2022

  • "Great place stayed there twice with 15 family members ,great space, hot tub ,plenty of permits for street parking ,great location."

    Very handy for outdoor theatre

    Thank you for your feedback. The Retreat really is a great location, close by to everything from the beach to the town centre Looking forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Nov 2021

  • "Wow what a beautiful house."

    The photos we felt does not do the house justice. Immaculately clean, lovely decorating and furnishings. 8 large size bedrooms, kitchen with everything you could need, brilliant for large parties, 2 kettles and toasters, large fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Could not say there was one single fault. Owner could not be more helpful, so lovely and very caring. House is less than 5 minutes from Peasehome Park and Scarborough Cricket Ground. Hot tub brilliant and yard made lovely to sit out. For a house with 8 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms is more than sufficient and lovely bathrooms beautifully tiled. Towels and bedding included. I am sure members of our party will definitely return

    Thank you for your fantastic feedback. The Retreat really is a Treat, such a beautiful house. I look forward to you staying again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Oct 2021

  • "Very clean, modern, and comfortable."

    Well equipped kitchen for 16 people. Great having the separate living rooms if some wanted to just chill and watch TV. Great jacuzzi. Location great, everything you would want in walking distance. Only thing that the property would benefit from is a downstairs toilet but didn't effect our enjoyment. Everyone was very satisfied with their stay and would definitely recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback. The Retreat is a fantastic location with a great jacuzzi! Thankyou for recommending us and I hope you stay again soon. Samantha Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.7Sep 2021

  • "The property was everything we could have wanted, it was spotless, spacious, comfortable and well located."

    The property manager was extremely helpful and quick to respond when needed. All in all we had a fabulous stay for a special occasion and would love to stay again.

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated. Lovely to hear how much you enjoyed staying at The Retreat and I look forward to you staying again. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Aug 2021

  • "We appreciate that our booking in the last week of August prior to the Bank Holiday, was always going to be the most expensive week to book."

    So bearing in mind that we paid "top dollar" for the week, you may believe that some of our issues are nit picking or over stated, but for over £6000 for the week, we expected more and better facilities.... However, in the spirit of "Continuous Improvement", we submit the following suggestions and additions, which would improve the experience of future guests, and encourage us to consider another stay in future: In the Kitchen. A small frying pan A butter dish Egg cups Prosecco glasses Non metal spatulas, (as the pans were quite scratched). Mat by the back door Bedrooms Not all had bedside lamps or mirrors Hair dryers made available. Maintenance. The tap in the kitchen continually drips. Double bedroom on the first floor window did not open. Shower tray with hairline crack meaning wet and damp in the shower room. In the shared bathroom on the first floor the shower door has a gap so the carpet got wet, there was also a crack in the base of the shower tray. Also the taps were plumbed the wrong way in the sink (hot tap cold water and vice versa) We also noticed a stain on the ceiling of the bedroom underneath it, which may be connected to the leaking shower. Ultimately, because we are a family who "get on with it", no matter what the issues, we had a ball. We loved the location, the large open family spaces, kitchen, hot tub, nice beds in good sizes bedrooms, and generally very clean, just not worth the money. The photos of the outside garden gave the impression of small but usable outside space, not so, and no downstairs loo was not a "convenience". If all these things could be addressed, we'll be back, Scarborough always delivers, we love it!

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. I would like to let you know that everything you have mentioned has been rectified, replaced or fixed! So glad to hear you will be back. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil3.1Aug 2021

  • "We loved the location of The Retreat, the north bay in Scarborough is great, beach and Peasholm park are lovely and lots to do locally in walking distance."

    The bedrooms and beds were super comfy. However the house is tatty, no curtains or blind on many windows, showers overflowing and taps dripping, feels very unloved and cheaply converted. Quite dark and dingy inside and back yard isn’t great. We had a great holiday but wouldn’t go back to this house in a hurry, not worth the money and much lower quality than we usually get from Sykes.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. The location really is amazing with so much to do close by. The lighting has been improved and the shower and tap problems are now fixed. I hope this encourages you to stay at The Retreat again in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare3.4Aug 2021

  • "Location excellent central to all amenities."

    Quite a few minor problems that mounted up during our stay. Showers not working, windows that didn't open, bins not collected so rubbish mounted up, one bathroom had a bubbling shower drain when toilet flushed. It advertises parking for two cars which was a struggle very tight. When we phoned sykes they informed us they couldn't help and we had to phone owners direct they were extremely helpful and rectified some of the issues. Although some of our issues were minor considering what we paid we did not feel it was up to the standards it should've been.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. I am pleased we were able to rectify any issues you had while you were staying at The Retreat. Everything you have mentioned has now been resolved. I hope you will chose our property to stay again the location really is excellent! Thank you The issue with the windows has been booked in for September 2021, so will be resolved shortly. The rubbish collection is booked for every Friday after guests leave and before new ones arrive. The parking for 2 cars is definitely tight but it does work. Thank you again for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.1Jul 2021

  • "The accommodation and location was more than we expected, the rooms were superb for our needs."

    The kitchen was well equipped and again met all out needs, the hot tub, lounge areas, we loved. I would certainly recommend the retreat to my friends and family.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Fantastic location, all the rooms en suite which helps large familys"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jul 2021

  • "The house is in a fabulous location walking distance to Peasholm Park which is a massive family area with lots of walks and a lake with pedaloes to hire."

    The beach is also just a short walk away that allows dogs on there in certain sections. When the tide is out it’s a beautiful beach and the dogs loved running on the sand! Along the beach front there’s a few shops, eateries and ice cream shop. Further along there’s the sea life centre, crazy golf everywhere and another pub. From the house, there’s a convenience store just at the bottom of the road plus a chip shop, cafe and pub. Larger stores like Aldi are a good 20 minute walk away but easy to get to. The road and area the house sits in was very quiet and pleasant. The house was very clean and exceeded our expectations with the size of the bedrooms. Very comfy beds and all rooms having TVs (one remote missing though). The facilities were fabulous, the house had everything we could want inside. The toaster did keep tripping the electric off. There were some plumbing issues in the house that meant one en-suite couldn’t be used but the owners had tried to rectify this while we were there. We were extremely disappointed with the ‘back yard’ that could only be described as a concrete box. This really let it down for us. This house is definitely not dog friendly! The hot tub was a winner with the kids but some money needs spending on flooring around it as have to step in and out on to concrete, leaving muck in the tub and back in the house. The WiFi barely worked which wasn’t great with kids but was not an issue. Parking was advertised as two off street parking spaces and one on the road but a permit was needed to park on the road so couldn’t do this? If a garden is not an issue then this house is definitely worth a visit!!! Unfortunately we are all outside and garden lovers so would not come back based on that alone.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8May 2021

  • "An excellent place to stay."

    Very clean and well furnished. Excellent access to the park and beaches. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2020

  • "Plus points."

    .... Very comfortable beds and lounges (settees etc.) Lots of TV's in every room with the bonus of Netflix and Amazon prime in the lounges. Kitchen well equipped with plenty of the essentials. Every where very clean and tidy. Hot tub great. Contact with the owners, friendly and helpful. Negative points..... Broken washing machine (reported, but not fixed whilst we were there) Several local cats use the yard area for their toilet which isn't good with children playing there. Needs better quality door mats at front and back entrances..think children coming back from day at the beach ! Also we would suggest that the main hallway would be better served with a hard floor covering rather than carpeting. But.... overall we had a great time and we would return

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Aug 2020

  • "Fantastic property in amazing location."

    All amenities just as advertised, was spotlessly clean, well equipped and with the comfiest beds ever.

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0Jul 2020

  • "Great location, spacious property very clean and well presented."

    Great place to get the family together would highly recommend we will be back...

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Jul 2020

  • "My family and I spent three nights at The Retreat to celebrate my fathers 80th birthday."

    The house is well equipped, clean and spacious. We had a problem with the boiler on the Sunday which resulted in the owners son coming out and fixing within 20 minutes! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Retreat, it’s the perfect house for a family celebration.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2020

  • "What an amazing house."

    It had everything we needed for our family holiday. Beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with plenty of room and space. The house was very clean and all 10 of us enjoyed our week there , with plenty to do and lovely walks close by. We will definitely be booking again. Thanks you

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Dec 2019

  • "The Retreat is a beautiful, clean home a short walk from the north beach."

    There is plenty of space in the communal areas, the hot tub is insane and there are more than enough bathrooms/ensuites. Perfect for big groups, I couldnt have been happier with the place and we got a great deal out of season. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Amelia5.0Dec 2019

  • "This place is out of this world."

    A beautiful clean huge home. That’s what we all loved about it. It felt like home! We were relaxed and comfortable and sharing this experience with close family was special indeed. We will 10000% be back and have already looked at a few dates to return. Thank you , thank you , thank you!

    Reviewed by Kirstie5.0Nov 2019

  • "We had a fantastic weekend at the Retreat, it went way beyond our expectations."

    The beds were very comfortable + the 5 bathrooms in the property were a definite bonus for a large group. The kitchen was really well equipped and the property was furnished to a very high standard and felt really homely. The hot tub was a fab addition, as well as the information booklet provided about the property and local area. We would definitely consider returning to The Retreat in future!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Nov 2019

  • "A wonderful large family home, with excellent facilities and plenty of room for us all, as in our party we had eight adults, three teenagers and three babies."

    The position of the house was perfect for us as it was round the corner from Peasholm Park and only a short walk to the beach. There were various shops nearby too, a couple of restaurants, fish and chip shop, sandwich shop and a one stop shop all excellent. The house itself has just been refurbished so everything was brand new and spotless and comfortable. We have had a lovely family holiday in a beautiful house, Thank you.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Eight bedrooms
  • 3 x super king doubles (2 with en-suite bathrooms with bath, shower over, basin and WC), 1 super king double (zip/link, can be twin on request), 3 x king size double (1 with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC), 1 x twin
  • Two bathrooms including bath, separate shower, WC and basins
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, Range cooker, washing machine, dishwasher, books, games, DVDs, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Two travel cots and two highchairs available permanently
  • Off-road parking for two cars on driveway
  • Garden with hot tub
  • Two small pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Pub within 0.1 mile, shop within 0.2 miles, beach 0.3 miles
  • Note: No stag, hen, or similar parties.

The property

This beautiful, modern property enjoys the perfect central position within the bustling seaside town of Scarborough with Peasholm Park being 2 minutes away, the beach 4 minutes away and the town centre 5 minutes away.

The spacious accommodation enjoys three floors of contemporary styling, carefully selected furnishings and everything you could possibly need and more to enjoy a relaxing break to this part of Yorkshire.

Be spoilt for choice by the sleeping accommodation that awaits you with eight elegantly-styled bedrooms to choose from as the evening draws to close.

Here, you will find eight bedrooms including super king-size, king size and twin bedrooms with en-suites and family bathrooms as well as ample space and storage to house all of your personal belongings.

After an action-packed afternoon, look forward to making the most of the well-equipped kitchen, where the Range cooker takes centre stage before all of the other appliances required to rustle up a delicious home-cooked meal that can be enjoyed within the formal dining room.

During a balmy afternoon, look forward to soaking up the sun and the coastal soundtrack within the rear garden before dipping into a bubbling hot tub as the evening draws to a close.

For those special occasions, a short walk will bring you to a superb selection of bars and restaurants to cater to every occasion and taste, as well as a number of shops for picking up the essentials.

To keep you busy whilst staying here, head to either North Bay and South Bay to be welcomed by two stretches of golden sands with opportunities for watersports and walking, a guaranteed excellent family day out.

Within walking distance you will find Peasholm Park, with its boating lake as well as a cinema, open air thatre and the sea life centre.

If you are feeling active, look forward to exploring miles of walking and cycling routes on the North York Moors or the picturesque Cleveland Way.

94 Tennyson Avenue is an outstanding base for a family gathering to this part of the coast.

Note: No stag, hen, or similar parties.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £500.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

Note: No stag, hen, or similar parties.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas