Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 1 minutes ago

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 53 View Image Gallery
  • Senna Rocks - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1073160 - photo 1

Senna Rocks

(Ref. 1073160)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 18 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 9 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot tub (8)
  • tub (8)
  • hot (8)
  • house (8)
  • great (7)
  • location (7)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property."

    Well equipped. We did have issues with the heating and hot water in the kitchen but we contacted the care taker and was resolved in a day or two. Hot tub great. Plenty of space for a large group. Ideal location close to the beach and town. Close parking too.

    Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad Adam managed to fix the hot water for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Babisch4.7Oct 2023

  • "Great property."

    We used the house for a big family gathering. The house fully accommodated 12 adults , 5 kids and 1 dog with lots of space. Every room had an en-suite which is great for larger groups - no fighting for showers. Easy to access the property with instructions provided and parking available with either permits or nearby. Thanks Kelly

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Kelly. I am really glad you had a great time. I hope we see you back at Senna Rocks in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly5.0Oct 2023

  • "We enjoyed a lovely weekend at Senna rocks the property was perfect for our short stay."

    Only niggle we had was the hot tub temperature was set too high when we arrived at 37.5’c so we couldn’t enjoy the use of the hot tub until our second day. Apart from that it was excellent we would definitely recommend

    Thank you for your feedback Simon. I am glad you had an excellent time at Senna Rocks. Apologies about the heat of the Hot Tub, this has now been rectified. All the best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Sep 2023

  • "We all really enjoyed our stay and we were a party of 16."

    Thank you

    Dear Jackie. Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie3.8Sep 2023

  • "On arrival we had to immediately call maintenance as there were bathroom doors hanging off and a safety gate hanging off with nails hanging out."

    Adam was prompt but it appeared that the issues were not resolved. We were constantly on edge when in the house as we didn't feel it was very safe especially for the children. The house itself was absolutely filthy. Clearly no carpets had been vaccumed, we did that ourselves on arrival, there was rubbish down the couches, the crockery was all dirty, the cupboards were full of old food and crumbs, there were cobwebs in corners and as stated above there were parts of the house that were unsafe. The fridge freezer was also dirty. We immediately went out to buy cleaning products. There were 2 toasters but only one side worked on each one, not ideal for 16 people. There was a small maiden, how is it possible to do washing for 16 people with no washing line or dryer. I'm deeply disappointed as we are regular sykes customers and we have never, ever in all our 15 years of holidaying in this country encountered an accommodation anything like this is terms of cleanliness and safety. The house is in a good position but other than that I have nothing else positive to say. Sykes will be hearing from me again regarding the issues we have had.

    Thank you for your review Angela. Yes, Adam did indeed visit the property promptly. He fixed the door and baby gate to your satisfaction and you were happy once the items was fixed. It is a little unfair of you to say that you felt un-save after he rectified the maintenance issues. You mentioned the fridge was dirty, you have provided no photographic evidence to Sykes supporting your claim. Our cleaning company has a date stamped photograph proving the fridge/freezer was cleaned. We also have photographic evidence that the carpets were cleaned. If it was not up to your standards then you had 3 ways of communicating your disapproval to us. The cleaning companies email and mobile number was in the welcome book, the cleaning company has no record of you contacting them to rectify the issues. The owners email address is in the welcome book, there is no record of an email sent regarding the issues. Sykes Cottages also provide a messaging app for the guests and owner to communicate, no communication from the guest was recorder. Sykes made contact with yourself on the 29th of August and left a message to check if you were satisfied with your stay, no return call was recorded. As owners of Senna Rocks we do our best to provide a safe and clean property for guests to enjoy, but it is really difficult to rectify issues if we are not aware of them. Our cleaning company is on standby to attend the property if guests are not happy with anything. If you made contact as you did with Adam I am certain we would have solved the issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela1.9Aug 2023

  • "The property is a beautiful Victorian house over 5 floors, it has been renovated to a nice standard and the location is spot on, only a short stroll to the sea front ."

    The thing that let it down was the cleanliness, the property needs a really good deep clean after each guest departs, I don't think the oven has been cleaned for a long time. The hot tub wasn't maintained whilst we were there either.

    Reviewed by Lyn3.4Aug 2023

  • "Fantastic extended family holiday at Senna Rocks which had everything we needed for a comfortable stay."

    So much space, huge dining area for family meals and playing board games together. 4 different living/games rooms meant that we could hang out in different areas when we wanted quiet time. Kids enjoyed the gaming console and the hot tub was a real treat at the end of each day. Few niggles on arrival, but owner and cleaning company very responsive. Kitchen well stocked with everything we needed for large group. Beds really comfy. No waiting for the bathroom with all the en-suite facilities. The location was superb - seafront at the end of the street, with the cliff lift for those who couldn’t or didn’t fancy the climb back up from the beach. Lovely hotel at the end of the block does great breakfast and lunch until 2pm with really good value menu. Short walk into town. Italian gardens and putting green nearby. We had a great day at Alpamare water park and enjoyed other attractions at north bay, aquarium and crazy golf. Stunning scenery nearby: we drove onto the moors and over to Whitby for great day out although it’s very busy there in peak summer. So many other things we didn’t have time to do, we’re now planning another visit back to Senna Rocks!

    Dear Nina. Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased you had a great time at Senna Rocks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nina5.0Jul 2023

  • "Hi just returned from a 7 night stay with the family all 11 plus dog great ..."

    Hi just returned from a 7 night stay with the family all 11 plus dog great location house is fantastic for a large party clean and tidy throughout hot tub is a great way to unwind an chill at the end of the day one suggestion install intercom to rooms or walkie-talkies cos it's hard to wake kids up on top floor from kitchen would recommend this house to everyone with a large party intercom just a joke

    Dear Penny. Thank you for your lovely comment. I am glad you had a fantastic stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penny5.0Jun 2023

  • "I and all my family had a most fabulous weekend at Senna Rocks."

    It was spacious, well maintained, very clean. We liked the the older features of the house, and appreciated some of the newer features (like a dishwasher etc) I would thoroughly recommend staying at this beautiful mansion, I cannot do it enough justice, it was stunning! Roll on my 80 birthday!! Susan Redcliffe xxx

    Dear Susan. Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a fabulous weekend staying at Senna Rocks. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2023

  • "This place could be so good, if the little things were taken care of."

    On arrival we discovered it had not been cleaned correctly, the grill pan was dirty, bins were still full, some of sanitary products! There was no excuse for this as we were told it was clean and ready to go at 12 rather than 4pm. The owners was contacted and someone came to clean the grill pan but no bins were emptied. There are little maintenance issues throughout the house that need seeing to, broken wardrobe, leaking toilet, showers that don’t work properly, shower doors that don’t close, just little things that need attention. The fridge in the kitchen doesn’t work, and the oven doesn’t get hot enough. If the owner put some cleaning products throughout the house, ie loo spray, kitchen spray it would be left cleaner to start off with. Could also do with a mop for the kitchen, we did try to keep it clean, but drew the line at buying a mop, and didn’t expect to have to bring one. The hot tub was great, but by day 3 was not clean and becoming a health hazard. Perhaps providing cleaning tablets and instructions on keeping it clean would help, and how to top it up, instead of using jugs of water! On the whole we did have a good time. The owner helped us out with extra parking permits which was great. The concept, location, space and decoration of the house is fantastic. It’s just let down by little things that could easily be solved, and it’s a pity.

    Dear Lisa. Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise that your experience was not all positive. I can assure you this was looked into and we have now parted ways with the cleaning company. All feedback has been taken on board and we are working on these issues so it does not happen again. Regardless of these problem, I am glad you had a good time. We do hope to see you back at Senna Rocks in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa3.1May 2023

  • "Very good property, enjoyed every minute of my stay"

    Thank you for your comment. I am really glad you had a lovely time at Senna Rocks. We hope to see you again in 2023 Property Owner

    Reviewed by E4.7Dec 2022

  • "Lovely house unfortunately the cleanliness was a real issue."

    Bathrooms cleaned to a very poor standard. Three towels short asked for more but didn’t get them. Also two towels had make up on them! Very disappointed that hot tub was also dirty so could not use on first night of stay. Glad to say this issue was addressed first thing the next morning, cleaned out at 9 am so was able to use on the two remaining days. Attention to detail, hand soap in bathrooms. Bins in each room. Yale locks for each room need to go on latch etc. once a new cleaner is appointed it will be a fab place for a holiday in a great location.

    Dear Linda. Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments about our Holiday Let. We really appreciate it. Regarding the hot tub. We empty and deep clean the hot tub after each check out. Re-fill the hot tub and add chemicals on the morning of check in and re-check chemicals before guests arrive. My Manager had a call really late on the evening of check-in and was told there was a little bit of grit/sand in the bottom of the hot tub which could easily happen when the lid gets removed or due to outside weather conditions. My Manager did indeed visit the property the next morning to empty and refill the hot tub. On this visit there was no mention of dirty bathrooms or a towel shortage otherwise this would have been addressed. We always do our best to clean the property to a very high standard and we are sorry you felt this was not the case on this occasion. We wish you all the best and do hope you re-visit Senna Rocks in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.1Nov 2022

  • "We had booked Senna Rocks for a celebration for a group of friends."

    The property had great facilities, with some useful extras such as the games room with playstation and hot tub - both of which were gratefully used. The house was a great size with a number of lounge/eating areas, giving the group space to socialise and also relax on their own when a quite space was needed. The location of the property a short 10/15 minute walk into town is ideal, located on a quiet street so you could make the most of the town and its amenities, but without being amongst the hubbub. The train station is also only a short walk away too, meaning we didn't need to worry about cars etc. Our contact for the property was extremely responsive and accommodating with our requests - such as a late checkout on the Sunday and providing us with some parking permit scratch cards for those driving. They were really helpful with any queries and arranging for the key collection. One point on the property description is a little confusing as there are 8 bedrooms, but in some places it is stated as 9. There are 9 labelled bedrooms but Bedroom 5 has a bath instead of a bed. A great property and would recommend for large groups.

    Thank you for your lovely comment, we are really glad you had a great time staying at Senna Rocks. Apologies for the confusion regarding the room numbers. The property does indeed have 9 bedrooms and can accommodate 19 guests. We recently made the decision to change the property to sleep 16 due to demand. Thanks again for the lovely comment and we hope to see you back at Senna Rocks in the future. All the best Property Owner

    Reviewed by Greig4.4Jun 2022

Show more


  • Eight Bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor double bedroom with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC - (down three steps), 1 x first-floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 2 x first-floor family rooms with double and single with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x first-floor Bathroom with freestanding bath, basin and separate WC, 1 x second-floor double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor single with walk-in shower and basin, 1 x second-floor family room with double and single with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC. 1x second-floor toilet. 1 x third-floor twin with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC. Bathroom with freestanding bath, basin and separate WC
  • Lower-ground-floor cloakroom
  • Second-floor cloakroom
  • Lower-ground-floor kitchen
  • Lower-ground-floor utility
  • Lower-ground-floor dining room
  • 3 x sitting rooms
  • 1 x games room
  • Central heating
  • Range, oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, and dishwasher
  • 2 x TVs, WiFi and a selection of books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Lower ground-floor courtyard with hot tub and furniture
  • Note: two small well behaved dogs welcome, must not be left unattended, not allowed in bedrooms, remain on hardwood areas only
  • There is on street parking and parking scratch cards are provided for up to four cars
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.8 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am
  • No stag / hen parties (or similar) allowed

The property

Settled in the heart of the bustling seaside resort of Scarborough, North Yorkshire is this magnificent five-storey, Victorian holiday home, Senna Rocks.

With contemporary artwork throughout and a babbling hot tub, perfect for unwinding in, while being within walking distance of local amenities, this superb home makes a fantastic base for a multi-generational family holiday at any time of year.

Arriving at the property, a large hallway welcomes you, leading off to two sitting rooms where you can spend quality time together after a day of exploring; one room decorated in blue, fitting with the coastal surroundings and finished with a TV and selection of books for your entertainment, the other a vibrant green, furnished with turquoise sofas, ideal for breaking off into more intimate groups.

Making your way downstairs, the lower-ground floor hosts a brilliant dining room with two tables with plenty of seating for the whole party, and just next door a well-equipped kitchen where the chef of the group can rustle up delicious breakfasts, lunches, and dinners.

Kids can take themselves away from the adults to a games room with TV and PlayStation.

The lower-ground floor also boosts a lovely sitting room where the lads or lasses can have a few drinks before they enter the courtyard where the Hot Tub is.

Completing the lower-ground floor is a utility so you can refresh your beach towels after a day at the beach, and a handy cloakroom.

Bedrooms in this property are split over the ground, first, second, and third floors and each has been decorated with the same stylish twist and their own en-suite facilities, providing plenty of space to freshen up.

Each room also has a TV.

The ground-floor bedroom is home to a double, while the first floor hosts a double and two family rooms both with a double bed and a single; climbing the stairs to the second floor you will find another double, a single, and a final family room, and finishing off the sleeping arrangement is a third-floor twin and a third-floor single.

Though each room has a walk-in shower, it will be hard to resist a soak in the freestanding bath after a day of walking along the coast, or you can head back down to the lower-ground floor and relax in the hot tub in the last of the day's light.

The bustling town of Scarborough provides plenty of activities and excursions for the whole family or even a group of friends; peaceful walks are in abundance with The Mere Country Park, The Valley Park, and the Italian Gardens within easy reach of the house.

Avid golfers can spend a morning at the Scarborough South Cliff Golf Club, while the water and animal lovers of your group can spend time playing games at Scarborough Beach or marvelling at the creatures in Scarborough Sea Life.

Away from the town, venture inland and visit the family-favourite Flamingo Land Resort, while the keen fishers of the group take a trip to Selley Bridge Lake. Plenty more countryside adventures can be found within a short drive, with the scenic Ellerburn Bank Nature Reserve to explore and the locally-known Blue Man-i'-th'-Moss to find on foot.

Choose Senna Rocks on Esplanade Gardens to make memories by the Yorkshire coast with your loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £1000.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

No stag / hen parties (or similar) allowed.
Please note: This property has a good housekeeping bond of £1000.00

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas