Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Hook's House - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1017253 - photo 1
close

Hook's House

(Ref. 1017253)

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (22)
  • location (22)
  • lovely (20)
  • great (18)
  • stay (15)
  • everything (15)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely cottage with plenty of room."

    2 Plush sofa's ❤ Great facilities and so close to everything! The house has soul and beautiful features, I would recommend to couples or families.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Jul 2024

  • "Had a fantastic week staying at Hook’s house."

    The property is situated in a great position, just back from the harbour. This makes it an ideal location to explore the old town, and new. Being situated in the old town, it is surrounded by the history of Scarborough. Anne Brontës last resting place is a 10 minute walk up the old steps, to the church overlooking the harbour. The castle is a 15 minute walk, with truly breathtaking views over the bay. Alternatively heading down the cobbles and away from the property, takes you to the sea front. Here you will find all the sights and smells of a typical English seaside town. The interior of the property is very spacious being over 4 floors, and the top floor bedroom has a great sea view. The amenities provided ensure a very comfortable and hassle free stay. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2024

  • "A lovely cottage in a great location, with everything you could whish for included, for a pleasant stay."

    We will return very soon!

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely old fisherman's cottage in a great location near the harbour and South Bay."

    Owners were very helpful and quickly fixed a problem we had with the TV. The house is comfortable and a good size for a small family.

    Reviewed by Carla5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had a lovely holiday."

    Hooks House is well placed and a fantastic old building and very quirky. There are lots of nice bars nearby - especially the Leeds Arms up the hill round the corner and Marisco Lounge cafe bar on the front. For some pub grub - try the Scarborough Arms. The beds and sofa were super comfy which was just as well as we must have walked the whole of Scarborough. We visited Filey, Robin Hood’s Bay and Whitby and would recommend. Thank you

    Reviewed by Lauretta4.7Mar 2024

  • "We had a lovely holiday at Hooks house ."

    Very comfortable ,lovely comfy beds and everything you need in the kitchen . Harbour and beach just a couple of minutes walk away. 2nd time we've stayed at Hooks house ,hope to stay again. Thankyou Simon and family .

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Feb 2024

  • "Lovely cottage perfect location."

    Will love to comeback again

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2024

  • "Excellent property in perfect location, everything you need, although we never used cooking facilities as we always eat out, would have given 5 stars but the amount of walking we did it would have been nice to have a nice relaxing bath, unfortunately only a shower, other than that couldn't fault the place, and apologies to Simon, i forgot to leave feedback in the book."

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Feb 2024

  • "This house would be lovely with a deep clean and some tlc."

    It's in a great position near to sea, castle and town centre. The owners were helpful. However, the house was very dirty when we arrived - food spills in both fridge and microwave, one shelf of food cupboard covered in bread crumbs and the whole house needed vacuuming. My bedding was dirty - make up stains and hairs - there was no spares so I had to sleep in it the first night (owner sent someone to change it the next day). There is a bad slug problem in the house and we had to clean up trails in living room, kitchen and up the stairs each morning. If anything was left on floor overnight in those rooms (like slippers or shoes) they would have trails on the next morning. The owner did offer to move us but we couldn't face repacking and the other house had mixed reviews. Slugs can be cured with the right treatment. Oven trays are battered and rusty but OK if you buy some greaseproof paper, and cutlery mismatched ( some bent and one knife with paint on). We felt like we should have been offered some money back after having to do so much cleaning but nothing offered.

    Thanks for the feedback, however I’m not sure that all of it is fair. I was only at the house a few days before this guest checked in doing maintenance and cleaned the house after, as well as cleaners going in after me. Any issues I feel are a true representation of the property I will of course do my best to rectify. At the time any issues were reported we offered support, for example an additional clean to address any issues. With 4 houses in the old town we have unfortunately learnt that some guests do look for the littlest things to complain about in the hopes to get a refund. However, we offered to move the guests to one of our other houses just a minute away but the offer was declined. This is a business and we are so proud of what we offer to our customers in all our houses. I also appreciate that this could be the only holiday some families get and we want to make sure it’s memorable for all the right reasons, unfortunately we were not able to achieve this on this occasion. We understand that negative feedback will be received every now and again, but if you look at the other reviews you will see this is not the opinion of most guests. Hope this does not put you off booking as again, we feel it’s not a fair reflection of the property. Just to add we have had a professional company around to treat the house to deal with any issues slug related. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia1.9Nov 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay at this charming cottage the stairs were a bit of an issue with both my 87 year old mother and myself but we were aware of this when booking."

    This did not spoil our stay apart from the odd cup of tea and toast we did not use the kitchen (ate out on our travels not returning to the cottage until late at night). The location is excellent for the sea front and local bus service which we used on a daily basis to get into the town and also visit the rest off the coast and villages.

    Reviewed by Rosa5.0Oct 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage really quirky over four floors, beautiful views from the bedrooms."

    Perfectly situated 1min from beach ,pubs and amusements. Really enjoyed our stay and will return to Hook House next year .

    Reviewed by Steven4.7Sep 2023

  • "Great for location can’t be faulted."

    If you have any mobility issues stairs could be tricky. My husband is 6ft 2 and he was walking hunched over in the kitchen not high enough kitchen smelt very damp we’ve got to bare in mind the age of the building and awful weather we’ve had . We were going to eat in a few days but ended up going out for everything to eat due to trails of slugs on the carpet in the living room we had actually stood on one luckily with our shoes on. We contacted the owner who was very prompt even offered to try and take afternoon off to address the issue we told him to leave it nothing much he could do with us still living in it we just ate out. The couch behind cushions full of dog hair. Beds very comfy we will not be back unfortunately but we still enjoyed our holiday.

    Thank you for your feedback, as always we will do our best to act upon it and can only apologise for the issues you have reported, I’m just glad that you still enjoyed your stay overall. The house is over 300 years old and the head high in the kitchen is low, as well as there being some damp which we do our best to stay on top of. We have had professionals around to see if it can be sorted but they offered advise that we follow but unfortunately no solution, however it’s never been noticeable or reported by guests before. So sorry about the issues with the slugs again we were unaware and will address. The house is dog friendly but that’s not an excuse for the dog hairs found, and we will try to do better moving forward. As you can see from the recent and overall feedback Hook's house does very well and I'm very disappointed with the scores that it has received for your stay, but understand. Thanks again for your custom and sorry to hear that you will not be returning. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith1.6Sep 2023

  • "Had a great stay at Hooks House, would definitely recommend this property for a stay in Scarborough."

    Great location, 10 seconds from the front and one of the best Fish and Chips in Scarborough right outside the front door. Plenty of space for a family of four, and a touch of old Scarborough to enjoy your stay in. Really enjoyed our stay here.

    Reviewed by David5.0Aug 2023

  • "Quirky house in a great location."

    Thanks for a lovely holiday!

    Reviewed by Lucy4.1Aug 2023

  • "We loved staying at this property and will definitely book it again."

    The facilities were fab , the location is amazing. The house is beautiful, the rooms and beds were so comfy, everything you need is there. Hubby was happy at the pub a couple of doors away, We took our dog and it was lovely that most places are dog friendly in Scarborough. There were no downsides for us but if you are elderly and struggle with stairs this is maybe not the place for you but that is not a negative. The owners were available if we needed them and I felt I needed to call Simon just to let him know how happy we were with the accommodation.

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jul 2023

  • "The house itself is quite nice and in a wonderful location overlooking the sea from the second row of houses."

    However, the kitchen (in the cellar) has just one very small window and is damp and therefore the floor and parts of the walls seem to be moldy, at least that is what it smelled like and my asthma reacted quite quickly. Therefore we just used the kitchen to prepare the food and then went upstairs to the lounge... The other quite irritating aspect of this property is that - as it being the last in a row of terraced houses - it shares the beams with the neighboring property and somehow the cigarette smoke from the lady next door seeps through the walls and the roof into this house and we had to leave all windows open as much as possible to cope. This was an aspect that we did not expect and the owner should definitely address this problem. Otherwise the house itself and the rooms are quite lovely and very quirky. Without these two (for us) very negative aspects the stay was very enjoyable.

    FOR INFORMATION THIS REVIEW IS FROM A STAY IN JULY 2023. Thanks for the feedback we are glad that overall you were pleased with the house. To address your issues, the neighbours have moved so the smell of smoke is no longer an issue for any guests. As for the kitchen it is in the cellar and the house is over 350 years old. There is a slight issue with damp that we do our upmost to stay on top of, sorry if on this occasion we did not manage to do so. If we would have been made aware of any issues at the time we would have done our upmost to address them, so again sorry for any issues you experienced. Since your stay in July 2023 we have had an overwhelmingly positive response to the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas3.1Jul 2023

  • "Lovely, slightly quirky, house over four floors in a really great location."

    All the rooms nicely decorated and the bedrooms are both a good size, top floor particularly. Sofa and beds really comfy and a nice shower. Bonus sink in top floor bedroom. Communications really good throughout. Just a shame about the next door neighbour who smokes constantly - being a hot weekend and needing the windows open, you noticed the smell, though I appreciate not a lot the owner can do about it!

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Jul 2023

  • "Hooks House is the perfect seaside retreat."

    Right in the middle of everything wonderful Scarborough has to offer it offers comfortable rest while you decide what to do next. Some excellent eateries nearby, walks from the doorstep and the beach and castle very close by. Also a great base for exploring this wonderful heritage coastline with its breathtaking views and wonderful wildlife. Every time we leave we make sure we are booked in to come back to Hooks again .

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, very clean and well equipped."

    In a very good position, perfect for access to beach and town. Very handy for local restaurants and pubs. Loved it, we had a great time, even the weather was good to us !

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jun 2023

  • "Hooks House is the quintessential seaside cottage."

    Steeped in the heritage of Scarborough that you can sense in the walls but with the modern comforts and all you need for a fabulous stay by the sea. The cottage is warm and cosy so great in all seasons. The location takes some beating with sea views from three floors and two minutes from the beach ,harbour and colourful seafront but tucked away enough to be a peaceful retreat from the 9-5. Scarborough is the most amazing resort with wildlife, walking ,historical sites, fantastic eateries and so much more. Park up the car and immerse yourself in all this beautiful resort has to offer with Hooks House as your cosy base or trip off around the unrivalled coast and moors of God’s own county . This was our fourth stay at Hook’s and we are already looking forward to our next .

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a great xmas & new year in Hooks house,the location being just why we booked Hooks house it being a few meter's walk from the harbour and seafront."

    The house itself was amazingly quaint and we loved the layout of the house with the kitchen in the basement and the views from the bedroom windows were stunning. Loved walking down to the harbour and strolling to the Spa and back then catching the number 8 bus which takes you up the hills to the town centre.Really is so close to everything. Beds were so comfy but could really do with new pillows as the ones in use are flat and lumpy. Would have no hesitation in staying in hooks house again.

    Reviewed by Glyn4.7Dec 2022

  • "Had a great time in Hooks House."

    In a fantastic location overlooking the south bay beach. Simon & Jess were welcoming and made a real effort to ensure our stay was pleasurable. I only have one suggestion, that being the pillows on the bed may be due for replacing, as lumpy/unsupportive.. Thanks again though for a great stay. Richard.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Oct 2022

  • "Well situated and a beautiful historical building."

    Lovely inside and well equipped, we will return and the owners check in text was appreciated.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic house to stay in rare little gem in great location 1 minute ..."

    Absolutely fantastic house to stay in rare little gem in great location 1 minute walk to beach beautiful views from bedrooms loved our stay here everything you need well equipped comfy beds and bonus tvs in both rooms beautifully decorated and clean great little pub practically next door a must to visit lots to do we will definitely be back to hooks house happy holiday the stevens family

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Jun 2022

  • "Another stay for us at Hook’s House."

    Perfectly located cottage that is full of quirky charm. Warm and comfortable with sea views and in easy reach of everything lovely Scarborough has to offer. Owner is helpful and accommodating.

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Apr 2022

  • "Had a wonderful stay."

    Picked for it's perfect location and views of the sea. Ideal for walks around both North and South bay

    Reviewed by Clare4.4Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful accommodation great location"

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Dec 2021

  • "Excellent property that has that special feel to it."

    You can feel the history of it when on the ground floor. Scarborough is always on our list of "go to" UK breaks and this cottage has now become first choice for any future stays we plan. Outstanding communication from the host pre, during and post stay. Location is just perfect for a memorable stay. Eateries and hostelries are all within walking distance , as is the beach and seafront arcades etc. Everything you could need for a home from home is provided in every room of the cottage. Heating system is fantastic and keeps the whole property very comfortable indeed. In short-if you are planning a Scarborough holiday make this property top of your list. It is that good.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cottage is lovely, with everything you could possibly need."

    It's in a very central location with everything within walking distance. Can't wait to go back again.

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Aug 2021

  • "Hooks House did not disappoint lovely and quirky located just right close to all amenities and well equipped with everything you need."

    The views from the bedroom windows are amazing. Would highly recommend both Hooks House and Scarborough for chilled out stay or some family fun. Would definitely book to stay again.

    Reviewed by Julie4.7May 2021

  • "Great location with nice sea views from bedroom."

    Reviewed by Karen4.1May 2021

  • "This is our second recent stay in Hooks House ."

    It’s a quirky little bolt hole with a sense of Scarborough’s history in its walls. Modern touches, warm and comfortable and perfectly positioned for all the delights Scarborough offers. Lovely sea views and watching the sun rise over the bay every morning restores the soul.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Apr 2021

  • "A really cosy, spotlessly clean little cottage in the heart of Scarborough."

    Comfiest beds ever! Couldn't have asked for better. Will hopefully be back soon.

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely , cosy cottage in beautiful Scarborough, close to the harbour, castle and beach and seafront."

    Quirky but with comfortable modern touches , splendid views across the sea as far as Bempton Cliffs and sight of the sunrise over the sea. Parking nearby with permits provided, park up and no need to move the car as everything in easy walking distance.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Oct 2020

  • "The property is immaculately decorated and furnished."

    We found everything to be perfectly clean and the beds were really comfortable, so a good night's sleep was assured! The views across the harbour from the top floor bedroom were lovely. Scarborough has plenty to do and Hooks house is ideally situated to enjoy the features of both the splendid seafronts and the town centre, most of which are an easy walk away. Accessing the A2 zone parking provided was difficult (we stayed in high season), sometimes needing a 5 minute walk or so from the property, but there is so much to do in Scarborough without the car it wasn't an issue for us. We visited York, using their excellent Park and Ride service, Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and Pickering, all of which made very enjoyable days out. More locally, the "Stumble Inn" was well worth the 1.2km climb up the hill to just past the station on the right. A small extremely friendly pub, out of the centre, with an excellent range of beer and cider. Don't expect a vista or armchairs. The bonus is that it's downhill going home;0) stumbleinnmicropub.weebly.com/home.html The pub right next door, Wilson's, has just been redecorated and is comfortable. A good range of real ales but not so many ciders. Great for right next door.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2020

  • "Hook's house was cosy, clean, well equipped and in a fantastic location."

    When we weren't out enjoying what Scarborough had to offer, we were very happy to spend time in the house relaxing as it really felt like a 'home from home'.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over-four-floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x Kingsize, 1 x second-floor king size
  • Shower room with basin and WC
  • Basement kitchen/dining room
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, a selection of books and games, TV and WiFi, Both bedrooms contain a Smart TV, one being a TV bed
  • Travel cot and highchair available upon request
  • Parking scratch cards available for the local area
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Seafront less than 0.1 miles; Shop 0.2 miles; pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: This property does not include a garden
  • Note: Steep internal staircase, be cautious
  • Note
  • Dogs not to go upstairs or to be left alone in the property.

The property

Resting at the heart of the vibrant town of Scarborough, you will find the charismatic dwelling of Hook's House.

Situated over four floors, this quirky yet traditional cottage makes a fantastic base for couples or groups of four who seek a relaxing retreat to the seaside.

Climb the three external steps up to the bright blue front door and step into to the warmth of the sitting room from the attractive cobbled streets.

Take a seat on the stylish grey bench as you remove your coat and shoes, before making yourself at home on the plush corner sofa whilst catching up on your favourite box set on the Smart TV.

Feel the character of the exposed beams that line the ceilings as you begin to make your way into the basement, where you will be greeted by a striking original fireplace and welcomed into a lovely and well-equipped kitchen housing all of the essentials needed for a long break by the seaside.

Prepare a hearty home-cooked dinner on the electric hob for the whole family to feast upon as they gather at the sociable dining space, mapping out plans for the fun-filled days that lie ahead.

Venture back up to the ground-floor and discover a traditional steep and winding staircase leading on to the first floor, home to both an airy shower room and a delightfully decorated king size bedroom boasting views of the nearby sea.

Take your time to get ready for an entertaining evening out on the town as you indulge in a rejuvenating cleanse in the shower, before heading up to second floor to select an outfit from the storage provided within the spacious second king size bedroom, where guests can take a seat at the charming little table and gaze out of the pretty window admiring the unrivalled views of the sea.

Make the most of this idyllic location, just a minutes walk from the seafront, with an evening spent wining and dining in some of the finest restaurants and bars in the area.

A trip to Scarborough would not be complete without a relaxing stroll along South Bay Beach whilst tucking into a mouth-watering portion of fish and chips from the local take out, before heading off to explore the medieval ruins of Scarborough Castle.

See some of your favourite artists and bands at the imposing Scarborough Open Air Theatre or dare to face the horrors that lie within the famous Terror Tower.

Book Hook's House for a memorable stay by the seaside.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

SCARBOROUGH

Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas