Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Razorbill Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 927064 - photo 1
close

Razorbill Cottage

(Ref. 927064)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (27)
  • parking (20)
  • location (18)
  • whitby (17)
  • great (17)
  • lovely (17)

53 Customer Reviews

  • "As mentioned in many other reviews the parking is, err, snug (Citreon C3)."

    While the floor area is sufficient, the on-road parking opposite makes for very difficult manoeuvring. And bear in mind the parking area available is for two properties! I've deducted two points for minor comments. In keeping with many holiday rentals, the oven had seen a lot of action! This is not *really* the owners fault but is wasn't pleasant. The second point was for the overgrown bushes which, given the size of the parking, led to a lot of crab-like manoeuvres when entering / exiting the property! However, despite these points the location is excellent and we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by John4.4Nov 2023

  • "This is a really well-appointed cottage."

    Everything was to an excellent standard and the outdoor areas were a bonus too. It is close to everything, but just tucked away enough, as to not be too busy or noisy. The only slight drawback was that the parking space is tiny and, if you had a people-carrier or large estate car, it may not fit on it.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Oct 2023

  • "A great place, really enjoyed our stay."

    The only negative was that there were a few loose screws on the door handles and we couldn't find a screw driver to fix them. Will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Raymond4.7Oct 2023

  • "Lovely place."

    No problems at all.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great location bang in the heart of Whitby."

    The property was clean throughout. Slight hiccup on arrival with there being no key in the safelock but this was dealt with quickly by the owners. The bedrooms were all nice and comfortable as were the 3 shower/bathrooms. As a family though we were disappointed by the poorly equipped and rather small kitchen. This made making meals slightly arduous. The living space itself is quite small for 5-6 people. Otherwise nice property thank you.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property well located."

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Jun 2023

  • "WiFi isn't great for the amount of people staying at the property."

    Downstairs ensuite shower is broken and cracked. This was stated after our last stay last year

    Reviewed by Adelle3.4Mar 2023

  • "Perfect location all amenities close by."

    The accommodation was exactly as described and had parking which was an added bonus. Traveling as a group of 4 adults the was plenty of room for all

    Reviewed by Heidi5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great stay at the property might be worth mentioning in the listing the parking space can be a little difficult to get into and is slightly tight if the next door property has a car parked in their space (on occasion it took a couple of attempts with the cars being parked opposite the spot as well and the people staying in the property next door moved their car at one point into the roadside parking as they struggled to get in their spot) overall great holiday would happily book again if staying in the area!"

    Thank you for the information, it's really useful for potential guests to understand the space. We're so glad you had a great stay - hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.4Sep 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Razorbill cottage."

    We have stayed in lots of cottages in Whitby as it is our favourite place. The cottage is ideally located, right in the centre of the town. We loved the balcony, to be able to sit outside with a lovely view was a pleasure. The cottage had good facilities almost everything needed. The parking space was a great addition and the scratch cards as well. The space is small, also tricky to manoeuvre into, but apart from that, it is a relief to park outside your holiday let, bearing in mind the amount of luggage etc. Just one small thing the patio area was lovely, but full of weeds. We did a spot of weed pulling and tidying up outside. It did look a bit neglected. But apart from that small thing, Razorbill cottage is a great place to stay. Thank you

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jul 2022

  • "This is a lovely place within walking distance of Whitby centre and Pannett Park (which has a fabulous playground if you have kids)."

    The outside courtyard is only accessible through a bedroom but there is a small balcony from the kitchen area to relax on. The living area is small for 6 but manageable. Car parking is tight, we squeezed our large car in (SEAT Alhambra) and then came and went through the bedroom and courtyard (next door did manage to get their car in next to us too, but in their booking they're told room for small/med car only) The loss of top marks was due to running out of loo roll completely... no spares available, and being told by the owners to buy some as they didn't live locally! There were also no spare bin bags and no recycling facilities despite a leaflet all about it. These are easy to resolve for future users.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, not many people mention Pannett Park, but you are right, it's a beautiful place to walk around and the park is great, we spent hours there when our kids were little. We don't live local and so our cleaners do a fab job keeping the place sparkling for the next guests. When we visit every quarter we do buy a supply of toilet rolls, hand wash, dishwasher tablets etc and each changeover the cleaners put one loo roll in each bathroom (there are 3) and a small supply of everything else to keep guest going until they do a shop. I am gutted about the recycling actually, we did have 2 bins, one for normal waste and one for recycling, but not everyone is concerned and quite a few put non recycling into the recycling bin, because of this the council have removed our recycling bin and so everything has to go together. I will remove the leaflet when I next visit - thank you for highlighting this to us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ingrid4.4Jul 2022

  • "A great place for 2 couples and 2 kids to stay for a week in Whitby."

    Modern and comfortable, and very convenient for the pubs and restaurants etc. in Whitby centre. The ground floor yard and balcony off the kitchen were great for eating al fresco during the good weather we had. The only downside was the small parking spot getting blocked when large vehicles parked across the narrow road (8 point turn in my Honda Jazz with someone guiding me to get in/out!). Hint: If you have a big car then buy an on-road parking permit and park on the road yourself.

    Thank you for your positive feedback, we're so glad you had a lovely stay. Yes the car park is a little tight, especially when big vehicles are parked opposite. We have asked the council about this, but because parking is at a premium in Whitby, sadly there is nothing we/they can do. Great advice about the parking permit. We supply off-road parking for 1 car plus 2 scratch cards covering 4 days each for 1 car for roadside parking on first-come, first-serve basis approx. 5 mins walk Further paid parking is available at a number of sites nearby Please see the map on this link https://www.scarborough.gov.uk/home/parking/car-parks Thank you for visiting Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jul 2022

  • "Only enough room for 1 car in the half at the property unless you both have very small cars, if you have a big car it wont fit anyway unless you park across both spaces!"

    The chances of parking on the road are very few. It needs to be stated that the car park is £8 per day so that people can factor that cost into their holiday. Very handy being next door to property.

    Thank you for the positive rating, we really appreciate your feedback. The parking space is a little tight, but I find if I drive past and back in, it's a little easier. I have an Octavia Estate, I get the kids to jump out before I park up. This helps too :) I do think your idea about putting more parking information on the cottage advert is a good one, I am contacting Sykes now to amend the listing Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline4.4Jun 2022

  • "Fantastic position."

    Really liked the cottage - very comfortable . Would have liked more plates etc. only sufficient for one meal. Struggled parking my car on drive - very tight.

    We're so glad you were happy with the property and as we're always trying to improve the holiday experience, we will get some more plates :) The parking space is a bit tight, but it's sadly not something we can improve upon, we do provide parking scratch cards and hopefully it's a little bonus as most cottages in Whitby don't have parking spaces Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Jun 2022

  • "Excellent position, parking and scratch cards available (we took 2 cars) so this was great."

    We’ll equipped and comfortable cottage.

    Thank you for your positive feedback, so glad you had a lovely stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Apr 2022

  • "The accommodation is centrally located on a quiet street."

    Clean and practical. We particularly liked the fact there were two single rooms and plenty of bathrooms. We would definitely recommend Razorbill Cottage.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. You can never have enough bathrooms :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Apr 2022

  • "It was a beautiful and well appointed cottage that was very close to the centre and we would stay again."

    The fittings were of very good quality. The only very minor criticism was the shortage of some ordinary wine glasses. It was an enjoyable break.

    Thank you for your feedback - so glad you enjoyed your stay. My fault there are not enough wine glasses, I only thought about prosecco! I will buy some for your next visit :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Apr 2022

  • "Just two small things 2 keys would be better and a door bell."

    And I'm only saying that because we had 5 adult guests and sometimes we went and did are own thing plus been on 3 floors if you was upstairs you couldn't hear knocking at the door so a doorbell would of been great. The cottage is amazing we had a wonderful week and would definitely stay again. Perfect location too.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback - the bell is such a good idea - next time we are up for maintenance, we'll get one installed :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Mar 2022

  • "Fantastic property 5* Just had a lovely weeks stay in this property and delighted with our choice."

    The heating for the property is easy to control so we were never cold The beds are very comfy and showers,though small give plenty of hot water. WiFi works perfectly and Netflix tv is a bonus.There is plenty of space for 6 adults The parking space was a bonus for us and no problem for our guests parking on the street,though I would imagine harder in main season,but there is a carpark next door which is free from 6pm till 9am and £9 for 24 hour parking if no onstreet is available. Close to all that there is to visit in Whitby,but away from the noise of the town its a 5 minute walk to the bridge and will get you into the lovely town where there is plenty to do and see and also there are lovely places to visit within a half hour drive. We would highly recommend this cottage and thank Kelly for being helpful on the phone before our visit and for having such a lovely property that we could stay in.We hope to visit again

    Such great feedback - thank you. So glad you enjoyed staying at Razorbill, hopefully we will see you again soon :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Mar 2022

  • "I have family in Whitby so needed a place close to the town centre."

    It’s a lovely place to stay! Very spacious. Only downside is the parking space is so tight and there was no spaces in the W parking. The owners are so kind aswell. We had an issue with the key lock and they was straight there to resolve it. We will definitely be back.

    Thank you for the positive feedback - yes, the parking spaces are quite tight and W is always very busy, it is a bonus as many properties don't have spaces at all, but we understand the trickiness. Glad you had a good break and that you are happy with the cottage - hope to see you again :) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Feb 2022

  • "Razorbill Cottage is a lovely property for a Whitby holiday."

    It is in a great position being near to everything that Whitby has to offer but out of the way in a quiet side street. The accommodation is great for an extended family. The living/kitchen/dining area is compact but has everything needed. the beds are comfortable and having three bathrooms is a bonus!

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Oct 2021

  • "Love Razorbill Cottage, repeat visitors!"

    It's spacious and comfortable and clean. Great location. The car park space is very tight, but there is a pay and display next door and on road parking available with the scratchcards provided. Love it, thank you!

    Thankyou for your lovely feedback and repeat bookings - so glad you enjoy staying at Razorbill Cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Oct 2021

  • "The house was lovely and a great location, close to shops attractions and amenities."

    The only complaint I would have is that it wasn't as clean as it could have been, particularly the bathrooms. Considering the current situation with covid, I expected it to be spotless. Otherwise a fantastic holiday and I would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Stacey4.4Sep 2021

  • "Lovely place, near bars, shops an places to eat ."

    Just could do with a really good clean, carpets, walls, oven an the garden weeding

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Aug 2021

  • "Lovely property, convenient to town, parking space, nice and warm lovely hot showers."

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Apr 2021

  • "Really lovely cottage in a central location for Whitby, has parking but it’s very tight if you have a bigger car, there is a carpark next door though which we used a lot."

    We will definitely be back, thank you for a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2021

  • "Property was disgusting, the oven was so dirty it could not be used."

    Toaster tripped out half the electrics. When we stripped the bed the matress protector was covered in urine stains. Terrible property will never return.

    Reviewed by Stephen1.3Dec 2020

  • "We visited during Covid restrictions so the owners had removed as much of the soft furnishings etc as they could, which was exactly the right thing to do."

    The cottage was spotless, 2 double bedrooms with en-suite was def a bonus plus 2 very good singles.. Living area quite snug but you’re in town centre Whitby everywhere is snug. Outside terrace on 2 levels again a bonus. An allocated parking space on the premises a hugh bonus even if it is quite tight to get in but a massive plus. Really enjoyed our stay, the owners quickly responded to our queries by text when we enquired about check in. A lovely place to stay. Whitby very busy but all restaurants and pubs adhering to social distance rules meant we felt as safe as you can in these strange times.

    Reviewed by Dorinda5.0Sep 2020

  • "It was the third time at razorbillcottage for myself and three daughters ,it's ..."

    It was the third time at razorbillcottage for myself and three daughters ,it's a wonderful cottage to stay in Whitby , my late wife and I have stayed in lots of different cottages in Whitby older properties and new but Razorbill is by far the best ,well done to the owners ,we will be back , Mr Graham Dalley and girls

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Mar 2020

  • "A really great property, very close to town."

    Would definitely book again

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2019

  • "Perfectly situated for centre of Whitby with all amenities near by."

    excellent space and room in cottage more than comfortably fitted 5 people. clean, tidy and modern.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Nov 2019

  • "We stayed as family and friends plus one well-behaved dog."

    The cottage is close to the town and minutes away from the first drinking hole. The cottage itself was warm, clean and tidy. Everything you needed was in place

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Nov 2019

  • "Property location close to all the amenities of Whitby - which is great."

    Parking and outside spaces a real benefit. Dog friendly (good dogs!) very important to us, so this place was great. Lovely walks along beach for dog, but can’t take dogs onto all the beaches May - Sept which is fair enough.

    Reviewed by Justin5.0Oct 2019

  • "Warm, comfortlable cottage in the centre of Whitby, that provides an excellent base for exploring Whitby and the surrounding area."

    Would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Oct 2019

  • "We visit Whitby every year for a relaxing week, this was our first time at Razorbill Cottage cannot recommend it enough everything was brilliant from arriving to leaving very good location for everything Cliff Walks, Shops Pubs, most important to us Dog Friendly."

    Will definitely book this cottage again for next year. Thank you very much for a really good week.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2019

  • "Razorbill Cottage was an excellent holiday home ideally located in Whitby with all the towns attractions in easy walking distance."

    The layout of the cottage was ideal as we travelled with our daughter ,her husband and two small children.We took the top floor and the other took the three bedrooms on the ground floor with thr courtyard easily accessible. The lounge and kitchen area was in the middle so we did not feel we were cramped at any stage.Lots of extras like childrens toys, DVDs , books and games were provided as well as free WIFI. The owners were easily contactable and sorted a problem with the main TV (they provided a TV in every room) by sending someone out in two hours. We would all highly recommend this property and will return in the future. This was our first Sykes cottage and certainly won't be the last.

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Jul 2019

  • "Excellent short break at short notice, Razorbill cottage really is well placed for a gentle walk into Whitby ."

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Mar 2019

  • "We found the cottage comfortable and relaxing."

    We appreciated advice from the owners about parking. Being able to enter the cottage early as it had been empty the previous night was really helpful and got our weekend away off to a great start. After switching the thermostat up, it warmed up very quickly and remained like that all weekend. Much appreciated for a bright but pretty chilly weekend!

    Reviewed by Penny5.0Mar 2019

  • "We had a lovely time at Razorbill Cottage, it's in a great position and had ..."

    We had a lovely time at Razorbill Cottage, it's in a great position and had everything that we needed, It is very comfortable , the only thing I would suggest is an extra key inside the property as if one person goes out you would want the door locking, when they return if you have the tv you can't hear them when they return, or a bell perhaps, but this is really nitpicking and we are both hard of hearing, main thing is this place is great and we will recommend it to our friends, Thank you

    Reviewed by Ralph4.4Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was very cold when we arrived."

    We had to wear coats for the first couple of hours. We had to locate the boiler and turn it up as it was on tick over only. It would have been nice to enter a warm cottage after travelling over the moors in bad weather. The family bathroom was cold all weekend.

    Reviewed by Sheelagh5.0Nov 2018

  • "The cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable."

    It is in a brilliant location. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends. I will definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Anita5.0Nov 2018

  • "Property was in a fab location that is near to all local amenities."

    Unfortunately this property is let down due to its lack of cleanliness! Cooker hood thick with grease...It is in need of a serious deep clean and some TLC is needed. it's such a shame as house and garden area as the potential to be lovely. Next door looked lovely and plants and out side area given lots of TLC. I had to get the hoover out on arrival and whilst making one of the beds, the dust that was on the mattress and skirting boards behind was disgusting and I found myself giving it a good clean! Overall lovely stay after some cleaning.

    Reviewed by Helen2.8Sep 2018

  • "Lovely accommodation brilliant location."

    Usually need to use my car but didn't need it as so close to everything.

    Reviewed by Deborah3.8Jul 2018

  • "It really is a home away from home!"

    ! The whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and even the dog didn't want to come home. It has everything you need and more. We were lucky enough to get really good weather for the time we were there but even if the weather had have been rubbish it still would have been a perfect holiday. The cottage is located close to all of whitbys amenities, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle and the roads so that its peaceful and nice. Sitting out on the balcony or in the garden with breakfast was just perfect. It was truly amazing and the cottage is perfect.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0May 2018

  • "Fabulous cottage, only gripe middle settee bit tatty , could do with spare frying pan ,"

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Oct 2017

  • "The cottage was excellent and had the bonus of a car parking space - but it was at times very difficult to manoeuvre in and out because of other cars parked opposite the cottage."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2017

  • "Clean. Comfortable."

    Great location, and arrived at the start of a 3 day heatwave.

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Jun 2017

  • "The accomodation was perfect for us."

    Location and facilities were spot on. Booking was really easy. Looking forward to returning soon.

    Reviewed by Rachel4.8Apr 2017

  • "Love this cottage, it's our second visit."

    Location is perfect. Parking space a little tight for today's cars but once you're in, you can happily leave it all week & enjoy Whitby on foot! Couldn't find the recycling bins for the cottage although they're mentioned in the literature. Overall we love it, thank you.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Mar 2017

  • "The only downside to the holiday was the Friday to Friday booking."

    Please consider changing to Saturday to Saturday.

    Reviewed by John4.0Mar 2017

  • "Very good accommodation excellent location"

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Jan 2017

  • "The owners had made the house a home from home with xmas tree and decorations it ..."

    The owners had made the house a home from home with xmas tree and decorations it is in a ideal location quite but very close to shops and restaurants we would book this again

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2016

  • "Lovely home from home property in a central location."

    Very comfortable & clean, would love to stay again.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Oct 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms: 1 x second floor king-size double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor double with TV, en-suite shower, basin and WC and French doors to courtyard, 2 x ground floor singles (one with TV)
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • First floor open plan living area with kitchen, dining area, sitting area and French doors to balcony with seating.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 4 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, children's games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off-road parking for 1 car plus 2 scratch cards covering 4 days each for 1 car for roadside parking on first-come, first-serve basis approx 5 mins walk
  • Further paid parking is available at a number of sites nearby
  • Please see the map on this link https://www.scarborough.gov.uk/home/parking/car-parks
  • Enclosed, rear courtyard with furniture plus first floor balcony with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub and all amenities 5 mins walk
  • Beach 10 mins walk
  • Please Note: There has been an issue with the downstair en-suite shower and the flooring is visibly damaged, this is going to be fixed in Janusary 2024.

The property

An attractive, modern mews property, quietly tucked away in the heart of the historic port of Whitby.

Offering light and airy accommodation, the property is set over three floors, with the spacious open plan living area on the first floor.

Comfortably furnished in a contemporary style, there are leather sofas and chairs and a well-equipped kitchen, whilst patio doors open onto a large balcony, with seating and wonderful views stretching over the roof tops.

On the ground floor, there is the added benefit of two single bedrooms, one with TV and the other with a range of children's board games; both rooms afford a private space, and there is also a double bedroom with TV and an en-suite shower room, as well as the family bathroom.

With the king-size bedroom and shower room set on the second floor, there is excellent flexibility to suit all needs.

Outside, is an enclosed rear courtyard, whilst the balcony is above, enabling guests to sit and relax and take advantage of the sunshine throughout the day.

With off road parking for one car, a rare find in Whitby, this splendid property is ideally placed on the quieter side of Whitby, but with all amenities still only on the doorstep.

Explore the labyrinth of quirky narrow streets and ginnels, stroll down to the harbour and cobbled market place and climb the 199 steps up to the famous Abbey, with breathtaking views along the coastline.

You are spoilt for choice with numerous restaurants, pubs, wine bars and quaint tea rooms, whilst all visitors must sample the renowned fish and chips!

Enjoy the long sandy beaches, with brightly painted beach huts, donkey rides and seafood stalls, whilst the surrounding area offers a wealth of attractions, whether it's a trip on the steam train, exhilarating clifftop walks, or discovering the pretty fishing villages of Robin Hood's Bay and Staithes.

A superb base for a memorable family holiday.

View on map

About the location

WHITBY

Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas