-
"Accommodate is excellent, however the heating system was odd."
The radiator in the downstairs green bathroom was on through the night. On the morning we were leaving there was no hot water in the main house only the downstairs bathrooms. Contacted the emergency no. Left in book at 8am but never got a call back as per text received. Could do with another outside light in the drive.
There were a few other small suggestions which we left separately in the kitchen
Reviewed by Lynda5.0★Nov 2025
-
"We booked this house for our annual girls trip(10 of us) A lovely house to stay in and plenty room for 10 people."
Great location to walk in to Alnwick or the surrounding areas. We had a problem with the porch door but someone came out and fixed it quickly but we did have access to get out so wasnt too much of a problem. The kitchen could do with a few more dishes to cook with but overall a great house to stay at and we will possibly visit again one day. The sykes watsapp was great for queries before hand and all solved before arrival. If The arrival time of 4pm could have been a little earlier of 3pm but we found things to do to wait for the arrival time so not a problem really
Thank you for your review - we’re pleased you found the house and location ideal for your girls’ trip. It’s great to hear the maintenance team resolved the door issue promptly and that the app was helpful before your stay. We appreciate your suggestion and will look to add a few more cooking dishes for future guests.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Claire5.0★Nov 2025
-
"We can recommend St Aidan's highly!"
5 bedrooms, all immaculate. The house is large enough so we didn't feel on top of each other, lots of space. 10 minutes walk into Alnwick, little shop on the doorstep for urgent supplies. Will be back next year.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you had a great stay at St Aidan’s. We’ll look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Yvonne5.0★Oct 2025
-
"The property is in a great location has great potential and could be a superb stay with a bit more care and attention."
Unfortunately, our experience was let down by several maintenance and cleanliness issues that should be addressed.
On arrival, the expected starter pack (including logs, dishwasher tablets, and bin bags) was missing, and although ground coffee was provided, there was no cafetière to use it with. The lounge floor had drink splashes and food debris, particularly under the large table stool which hadn’t been properly cleaned. The space also felt dusty and in need of a deeper clean.
There were several maintenance issues throughout the house: a non-functional lamp in the downstairs back bedroom, a broken toilet roll holder, and a dirty toilet around base in the en-suite of that same room. The kitchen patio door was broken and had to be left open, which is far from ideal for security. Additionally, the patio heater lights didn’t work and the back gate didn’t feel secure.
While the bathrooms looked stylish, most of the showers unfortunately soaked the floor when used, suggesting poor drainage or design. The beds throughout the property although comfy felt too short, which affected comfort.
Overall, the finish of the house needs attention. With better upkeep and some basic fixes, it could be a fantastic place to stay but in its current state, it falls short of expectations for a 5 star property.
Thanks for your feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed the location of St Aidans & apologise for the maintenance and cleanliness issues you encountered.
We have spoken to the property management company to rectify the issues you have reported, and have replaced the missing cafetière.
The beds are standard length UK super king beds in four of the rooms and standard UK singles in the other room. Our housekeepers make the beds really neatly, so the sheets can sometimes be tucked in quite tightly which may make them seem a bit smaller. We’ll mention it to the housekeeping team.
Thanks again for your comments, hope to welcome you back again soon.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Jan4.0★Sep 2025
-
"Very well equipped house!"
There were ten of us and we loved it! All of us had comfortable and clean beds and bedrooms! We sat comfortably in the evening! Some games supplied! The hot tub was cold on arrival so we couldn’t use it until later the next day when it was lovely!
We’re delighted to hear that you found the house well-equipped, comfortable, and ideal for your party of ten. It’s great that you enjoyed the games too – we’ve aimed to provide something for everyone. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to welcome you all again soon.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Barbara5.0★Sep 2025
-
"We were really pleased with our stay."
There was a lovely welcome pack with treats and essentials. The beds were very comfortable and the house was well furnished and equipped. We would definitely book again
Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased you found the house comfortable and well equipped, and enjoyed your welcome goodies! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Lois5.0★Sep 2025
-
"The house was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and well equipped and in a great location for exploring Alnwick and surrounding areas."
The hot tub was a bonus, as were the two downstairs bedrooms for those with mobility issues. Some minor issues need addressing but despite this, we had a lovely week in a beautiful house. Just a few small improvements and it would have been perfect.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you had a great week in Alnwick and found the house comfortable, well equipped and suitable for those in your party with mobility issues. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Karen4.0★Sep 2025
-
"Excellent property, spacious clean and very well equipped."
Couldn’t think of anything we needed that wasn’t already there. The hot tub was well used and the patio area was well equipped with plenty of tables and chairs plus the barbecue.
The dog also enjoyed the garden.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at St. Aidans and found everything you needed to make your holiday enjoyable and were able make good use of the hot tub and patio area. Glad that your dog was able to enjoy the garden as well. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Ida5.0★Aug 2025
-
"Had an issue with the hot tub which was fitted after a message to the owner, ..."
Had an issue with the hot tub which was fitted after a message to the owner, brilliant house with so much room, lovely welcome package of coffee, tea etc loved it from ages 2 to 85 with dogs too
Glad you all enjoyed your stay & we could get further hot tub chemicals to you promptly. Thanks for your feedback.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Kim5.0★Jul 2025
-
"Such a beautiful house equipped to a high standard and such attention to detail."
A perfect holiday home for a group of people. The beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in and plenty of bathrooms as well. A lovely big garden with good outdoor furniture, the use of a BBQ and a lovely hot tub.
Reviewed by Wendy5.0★Jun 2025
-
"The house was lovely and as described."
Plenty of room in the house and garden. Lots of seating both inside and outside, plus BBQ and hot tub. Beds were comfortable. A great base for visiting other places in Nothumberland.
Entrance to the parking is narrow but we got 3 cars on the drive. There is lots of parking available on the road directly outside the property.
A property I am sure we will re-visit as there is still so much of the area to see.
Reviewed by Sue5.0★Jun 2025
-
"St Aiden's is a wonderful property, beautifully presented, spacious and very comfortable."
In so many ways it was ideal for our group of 9, as a base to walk the coastal path. It is very well positioned in the lovely town of Alnwick and close to the gorgeous coastline. However, we had to call three times as the toilet in the upstairs front bedroom was blocked. Also we needed to call as the hot water stopped in the main part of the house. This second issue was easily fixed but I see that a previous review has commented on this. One or two improvements and St Aiden's would be absolutely outstanding.
Reviewed by Guy4.0★May 2025
-
"Wow what a fabulous cottage one of the best we have ever stayed in (and we’ve stayed in hundreds!"
) Beautifully furnished, fabulous dog proof garden, so well equipped, quiet but just a short walk into Town. Can’t recommend highly enough.
Reviewed by Barbara5.0★May 2025
-
"The property is first class, the rooms are delightful clean & beautifully furnished,
there is every facility you could wish for, probably the nicest we have ever stayed at."
We were lucky with the weather but had a fantastic time it is a beautiful area
Reviewed by Chris5.0★Apr 2025
-
"We had a problem with the boiler loosing pressure the response to our call was quick and we were told where to find the key for the locked cupboard so we could fix it."
This had obviously happened before as there were some instructions inside so perhaps needs a check. Also both bins at the property were over full so had obviously not been collected. We put the recycling out when we saw others on the street so perhaps needs instructions to place outside the property for collection. These things were a nuisance but did not affect our enjoyment of the property and holiday.
Thank you for your feedback, we will certainly get the boiler looked at as it was serviced a few months ago and this shouldn’t be happening.
With regards to the rubbish, we can only apologise that this has happened. As you will have seen there is now a large Biffa commercial bin for general waste that will be emptied every Wednesday. This was supposed to be starting at the end of February but we have been badly let down by Biffa and their ability to commence the collections. We appreciate that this doesn’t help you, but going forward we have been assured that collections will commence this coming Wednesday. We hope this wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you.
As you will know from the condition of the house we take these things very seriously as we aim to have everything at an excellent standard so our guests can have a fantastic time away.
Property Owner
Reviewed by Susan5.0★Apr 2025
-
"Lovely clean and comfortable house in a convenient location, 10 minutes walk from the centre."
Ten of us enjoyed a great long weekend - so much to do in the area - eating, drinking, shopping, walking. Loads of lovely eating places in Alnwick including Leo's, Melvin's Cafe and Barter Books (a must anyway). We all recommend and hope to return.
Reviewed by Jennifer5.0★Mar 2025
-
"The property was perfect and felt so luxurious!"
We were celebrating our 30ths as a large group of 5 couples (with 3 dogs and a baby!) and we all had plenty of our own space. Having the pet shower and blankets downstairs really made it easier with our furry friends.
The only thing I would add is a few more cleaning products for the kitchen, some spray and cloths for the kitchen surfaces would be really handy. Other than that the kitchen was well equipped for a big group!
Reviewed by Sophie5.0★Feb 2025
-
"We all had a fantastic weekend at this beautiful house, only one recommendation, ..."
We all had a fantastic weekend at this beautiful house, only one recommendation, more toilet rolls please, would love to come back next year, thank you Sue Webster and family xx
Reviewed by Susan5.0★Jan 2025
-
"This is one of the nicest homes we have stayed in!"
Lots of space for 9 of us, amazing facilities. The home had everything we truly needed. We loved it and would definitely recommend. The location was great as well.
Reviewed by Ayesha5.0★Dec 2024
-
"We had a very enjoyable stay at St Aidans."
The house is extremely well equipped and in a super positioned for exploring Alnwick on foot and further afield by car. We can highly recommend the house for families and groups of friends alike - there's stacks of space both internally and externally and the bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. The only thing which could have improved the stay would have been another few days. We may well be back in the summer so we can take advantage of the super garden.
Reviewed by Helen5.0★Oct 2024
-
There are no reviews featuring this term
Show all reviews