Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • The Malthouse - Peak District - 17888 - photo 1

The Malthouse

(Ref. 17888)

Cromford, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 18 Guests

  • 9 Bedrooms

  • 6 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (25)
  • house (25)
  • kitchen (24)
  • all (22)
  • great (21)
  • well (19)

59 Customer Reviews

  • "As a group of friends we found the property ideal, though the parking at rear was mostly not available as a large van belonging to the garage was parked there."

    Because there are 3 kitchens it did involve a bit of looking round for specific items, but not a problem (except we never found a sieve). The house being old was interesting especially with the mill workings within it. I think the listing should mention that even within each floor there are several steps up & down, trip hazards for the unwary! Also bedroom 6 has an ensuite which has steps down to it & a low ceiling to avoid. The house was set out well with the owner contacting us in advance to check our requirements for double or twin rooms, towels, tea-towels & oven cloths all provided. The only potential disappointment for summer guests may be that the garden is at some distance from the door.. The front door lock is tricky & the doorbell doesn't work, so be prepared to knock loud to get your fellow guests to let you in (or ring them) We enjoyed our week & especially enjoyed having a spacious house to spread out & relax in.

    Reviewed by David Paul4.7Mar 2024

  • "I stayed at the property with friends for my 50th birthday."

    We have had a great time. The house is beautiful with everything you could possibly need. So much character and little nooks and crannies to explore. We spent most of our time in the first floor sitting room, as it has a kitchen for drinks and snacks. The kitchen on the lower ground floor was perfect for all of us to sit around and eat, the mill wheel window is stunning. Cromford itself is so pretty. I just didn't want to leave, we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a fantastic stay with the wider family."

    There was lots of room and we lost the kids a few times! There was a problem with the kitchen door but this was quickly resolved when we reported it. It would be a good idea to have a few plastic beakers for the kids to drink out of.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.4Jan 2024

  • "Beautiful property, kitchens well equipped, a few utensils I had to search all 3 kitchens to find but no hardship."

    The bedrooms were all lovely the ensuites were beautiful We couldn't figure out the heating system to turn it up as it was very cold nor alter on leaving but perhaps we should have read the booklet The lounges were all comfy , and well used We would definitely return for a stay , thank you

    Thanks for your lovely review! We’re really happy you thought the property was beautiful! The heating can be controlled at all times by using the thermostats on the corridor walls on each floor. We look forward to seeing you at the property again soon! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Jan 2024

  • "Fantastic 4 night family break at the Malthouse for Christmas."

    The house is spacious and the layout over three floors with different kitchens and lounges allows plenty of flexibility, but it still retains a cosy feel. The owners had kindly put a Christmas tree up for us in the main lounge which was a lovely touch. We used the ground floor kitchen for breakfasts, the first floor kitchen as a bar for drinks in the evenings when we were gathered in the lounge next door, and saved the lower ground floor kitchen for our Christmas Day meal when we all sat down together at the long table. The house is very clean throughout and the kitchens are really well stocked. We found everything we needed across the three kitchens; glasses, plates, cutlery, baking trays, saucepans etc. The bathrooms were all clean and modern and no issues at all with hot water, even when several showers were running at the same time. There is a central heating thermostat on each floor which you are able to change yourself so there were no issues at all with cold which you sometimes get with properties of this age and nature. Cromford is a fabulous village and the property is only a couple of minutes stroll to the Boat Inn (traditional, very friendly, decent pub grub) and the amazing Scarthin Books. I would highly recommend this property. Two bits of constructive feedback - 1) The wooden parts of the kitchen worktops get very tacky/sticky, possibly from the varnish used, even after cleaning, and 2) We would have loved to read about the history of the property in the otherwise very helpful property guide.

    Thank you for your nice review! We’re glad you had a fantastic time! We hope to welcome you to the property again in the future! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Dec 2023

  • "An excellent property for a family celebration."

    Spacious and well equipped. Very good for a game of hid and seek with the grandchildren! Good local facilities and walks.

    Thank you for your lovely review! We’re glad you had a great time! We hope to welcome you to the property again in the future! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin3.8Dec 2023

  • "Fabulous property!"

    Plenty of space, very well equipped, comfortable and warm. Christmas decorations up which was lovely. Would recommend.

    Thank you for your lovely review! We’re glad you had a great time! We hope to welcome you to the property again in the future! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Dec 2023

  • "Had a great weekend at the Malthouse for a party of thirteen people, plenty of space for people to have their own time alone."

    Will definitely book again.

    Thanks for your lovely review! We’re really happy that you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you at the property again soon! Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Nov 2023

  • "A party of 18 people of all ages met at the Malthouse for a 60th Birthday Party."

    The House was amazing for large groups with multiple kitchen and seating areas which meant that groups could break away to have some space, yet the main areas were large enough for every-one. What we hadn't realised (but was a huge bonus) before we went was that there is a village within a few minutes walk away with at least one decent pub, and there is a great little pub just a few minutes stroll away which looked like it did great food. Matlock bath was only a 30 minute walk too which was perfect. All the rooms were lovely, the bathrooms stylish and plentiful. All in all, we had a really lovely stay and would not hesitate to recommend.

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Nov 2023

  • "Lovely, unusual property."

    Great to stay somewhere that has historical relevance and original mill workings on lower ground were a treat to see. Big plus were the amount of en-suites…all bathrooms were clean, modern and well maintained. Bedrooms were comfy too, although a couple of my guests were a little chilly (middle floor) Great social lounge area on top floor. A kettle fused the middle floor sockets while we were there but Karen the manager was quick to respond & forward the issue to the owner. Maybe a more visible notice to where the fuse boxes are kept would be useful for future guests if this was to happen again. A replacement kettle was delivered the next day

    Reviewed by Jo3.1Oct 2023

  • "A querky, interesting house with lots of original features Being a rather dark ..."

    A querky, interesting house with lots of original features Being a rather dark interior the lower floor needed better lighting We were unable to separate our waste into recycling/ bottles and general waste which was disappointing

    To put your mind at rest, all the waste gets sorted at the recycling centre once picked up. This method works better for us, as when separate bins were provided it wasn’t always done correctly, and sometimes not collected as a result. It does mention this in the welcome folder, however we do get this query occasionally so we will look into providing a sticker on the bin to highlight this fact. Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather4.1Aug 2023

  • "We booked the malthouse to stay with a group of friends."

    The property is excellent, laid out over 3 floors with a very well equipped kitchen on every floor. There is a great garden area with bbq facilities at the rear. We have an excellent week and would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2023

  • "The house was beautiful however not at all toddler and small child friendly."

    The kitchen worktops were sticky and some of the pots and pans were not very clean. There were cobwebs in rooms and a few spiders were spotted. The massage showers didn't function very well either. Overall needs better cleanliness and maintenance.

    Reviewed by Samira3.8May 2023

  • "Had a short weekend stay but an amazing time!"

    The property is outstanding. The 3 kitchens were all utilised- lower ground for meals, ground floor hot beverages and the top floor party kitchen. The bedrooms were all comfortable and we all slept well. Had some issues with the heating on the top floor however the owner came straight back to us and we had it working within minutes. No smell of damp or any other issues. Building very quirky and someone with mobility issues may struggle but all in all fabulous!! Would recommend and hope to stay again at some point!! Many thanks

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Mar 2023

  • "The Malthouse in Cromford was just a perfect property for 18 of us to celebrate my 50th!"

    The original features, especially the grinding wheel in the lower ground kitchen were fabulous (this kitchen was perfect for a meal on our first night). All bathrooms had top spec fittings and the house was a hide and seek delight for the younger members of our group. We loved the layout with a kitchen and lounge on each floor - using the ground floor for breakfast and the top floor as our party space with a drinks and nibbles kitchen! Cromford village is also ideal for a wander and browse in the quirky shops, with the mill and famous train station (yes we had to recreate that Oasis record cover!). We ate in the Boathouse on the second evening and danced the night away to an amazing live band. All in all, a perfect weekend was had by all and we would highly recommend this property for big gatherings

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Feb 2023

  • "Wonderful place, amazing facilities and great location!"

    Reviewed by Sally4.4Jan 2023

  • "Absolutely fantastic, this property was above and beyond what we expected."

    It has made our family weekend so special. Very comfortable and homely with plenty to do in the area. The children loved the Christmas tree. Even the leaves and ice outside never stopped the children checking out the trampoline. Equipped with everything we needed for our stay and with several families together we still had our own spaces as well as enough room to all get together. I would highly recommend this property and Sykes. The process of booking, bed selection, key collection has all been so smooth. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Dec 2022

  • "Had a wonderful week with family celebrating my 50th , loads of room as to not be on top of each other !"

    Reviewed by Iain5.0Aug 2022

  • "Was a lovely place to stay as a family of 3 generations - we enjoyed a good game of hide and seek!"

    The house was well equipped and the bathroom and shower facilities really good. It would have been nice to know beforehand that the outdoor space was not attached to the house and the picnic tables could do with some maintenance. The trampoline was also a real hit with the children.

    Reviewed by Rhoda3.8Aug 2022

  • "We booked the Malthouse for a long awaited family gathering as it seemed to tick most of our boxes."

    The property is generally well appointed and matches the listing. However, in reality it was a huge disappointment. The lower ground floor was damp. The starter pack was nothing more than a couple of tea towels and a handful of dishwasher tablets - a far cry from the generous welcome pack we have enjoyed at other Sykes properties. There was insufficient cutlery e.g. only one teaspoon in the lower ground kitchen. No oven gloves. A brush and dustpan would have been useful. One of the freezers was overheating when we arrived so had to be turned off. We tolerated these issues until on the penultimate morning a rat visited the second floor kitchen. Perhaps we shouldn't have been surprised by this given the type of building. We contacted the owner and someone did arrive within a few hours to deal with the problem. If this had happened at the beginning of the holiday, I think we would have abandoned the holiday and asked for a refund. Our experience with Sykes Cottages has always been excellent - until now! I would suggest that an unannounced inspection of this property is undertaken as soon as possible.

    Thank you for leaving a review on your stay, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We leave enough cutlery for the maximum occupancy and extra. There are oven gloves in the property. You did alert us to the freezer the day before you were due to check out, however we explained there were 2 other freezers with enough space to spare. We arrived at the property following your report of seeing a rat, we did not find any evidence other than food crumbs on the floor. We have been in the property since your departure and can still not find evidence. We can only apologise that your stay was not as expected. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn2.5Jul 2022

  • "The Malthouse is a great space and worked well for it residential activities."

    I was grateful that no one has to share rooms as this was likely to be an issue with the other properties I had viewed. It was conveniently located. Really good value and I’d definitely recommend this property and consider using this again in future years.

    Reviewed by Colina5.0Jul 2022

  • "We stayed here for our engagement party with a large group of friends."

    The house was beautiful and full of character. On the first night we had a bbq in the gardens, there is a large picnic area and an outdoor barbeque to use. The kitchens (there are 3!) were all very well equipped with everything we needed to make meals, and thankfully there was a french press for coffee. The only thing missing was a tea pot. The living spaces were great for entertaining. The wifi worked throughout the property. The village itself was lovely and we went to a nice pub for lunch on one of the days. We also did a hunted experience in nearby black rocks which was great fun. Just a few improvements I would suggest. Behind the beds, particularly room 7 have a lot of cobwebs and may have been missed when cleaning. There was no recycling bin so we had to take all our recycling with us. Overall we had a really excellent stay and the host let us extend our booking for an extra night. I would definitely book this property again.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Jun 2022

  • "The Malthouse is great."

    Nicely renovated and well equipped. Very clean and comfortable beds. Perhaps you could consider allowing guests to use the small courtyard outside the bottom kitchen? Also the outside area could do with a refresh, e.g. the picnic tables are not clean. Also could the info book include a history of the property? We had a great stay though.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0May 2022

  • "The Malthouse is a beautiful house with plenty of space."

    There was 17 of us stayed there for 3 nights & we cooked, ate & sat together in the large lounge upstairs. The only thing I would suggest is leaving more than 1 toilet roll per bathroom as this isn’t enough for the amount of people the house sleeps. Overall we enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Annette4.1Mar 2022

  • "This was a nice property in a good location for our group who are walkers."

    4 of the group could not come because of covid and we felt that we would have struggled to seat everyone around the table downstairs.Similarly the large lounge. The bedrooms were nice and everywhere was warms.We missed a caffetier in the kitchens. Overall a nice house and we would consider a rebooking if we can think around seating.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.1Jan 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at the malthouse."

    The bedrooms were clean and comfy and all a good size which was a nice surprise. A couple of bulbs in bedside lamps were not working. It would be helpful if these were checked. Only one loo roll per en suite felt a bit mean given the cost of the house. An extra pack would have been nice and not that costly for the owners. It would also have been good to know that it is located on quite a busy main road although it is quieter at the weekend. But other than this it was a great house for a large group of people. We had a lovely time.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.4Sep 2021

  • "Wi fi did not work only one key bath plug did not work very interesting house"

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Aug 2021

  • "Really great holiday home loved it"

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Oct 2020

  • "It was perfect for a large family getaway for only a short time!"

    The only downside was the oven on the top floor only had one working hob.

    Reviewed by Katie4.7Dec 2019

  • "The house was lovely very quirky ."

    We were a party of 9 .. lots of room and not far from Great pub serving lovely food .

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Dec 2019

  • "Absolutely beautiful place, was cold during the night time but I would say that was the time of year we visited, and the beautiful stone walls."

    Would be a beautiful place to be with friends/family at Xmas or new year. Would highly recommend this stunning house to anyone

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Nov 2019

  • "We all appreciated the general comfort of the property although the layout at first was confusing."

    It is in a good location. There were one or two minor niggles. One of two main lights in one of the lounges was not working, showers in a couple of the rooms were a little tricky to operate and there was a broken window in one bedroom. Overall a nice property and worth the money.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Nov 2019

  • "It made an excellent base for a good family holiday."

    There were a few minor maintenance issues, but those we mentioned were sorted.

    Reviewed by Su5.0Jul 2019

  • "The only feedback I would like to give is that it is a long way round to the barbecue area from the front door."

    It would be useful if the external door in the downstairs kitchen could be opened.

    Reviewed by Heather4.7Jul 2019

  • "The cottage was very clean and comfortable."

    It had a very cosy cottage feel with modern facilities. Beautiful location. Would definitely recommend for large groups.

    Reviewed by Siobhan5.0May 2019

  • "Excellent house and a straightforward booking process."

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a wonderful time at the Malthouse."

    It was a perfect place for us to get together with extended family and we had a really good time. It was a great place to explore the surrounding area from, and the children loved Gulliver's Kingdom, the Heights of Abraham and the trampoline in the garden. We loved being close enough to walk in the Peaks and the lovely pub and bookshop down the road. It was great having so much space in the house to spread out and it was really well equipped.

    Reviewed by Clare4.4Apr 2019

  • "Plenty of things you need for self catering holiday(cups/plates, saucepans, washing up liquid, soap etc), however some of the guests informed me the kettle in the lower ground kitchen was temperamental, other than that minor thing (as here is on on ground floor and top floor) there was no issues and everyone enjoyed the accommodation and views from the property."

    The car-parking at the front is a bit difficult to get on and off with the stone drive and a lip up on to the pavement but not drastic and still manageable, just more difficult with 5 cars parked on it. The beds we're extremely comfortable and a nice large lounge where all the guests could sit together and large kitchen where we all enjoyed breakfast together with a view of the mill

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Feb 2019

  • "Absolutely fabulous place would highly recommended just takes a couple of hours to get your bearings but in a good way."

    Only concern was with having 3 kitchens we didn’t put everything back in the correct place

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2019

  • "Myself, my now husband, and our close family and friends stayed at the Malthouse the week surrounding our wedding in Derby."

    As soon as we arrived at the Malthouse, it exceeded all of our expectations. The house is beautiful and plenty big enough for all of our friends and family. The beams and old features just add to the beauty, and the old mill workings. With 3 kitchens..including one which could just about fit us all round the table, and 2 living areas, it was just perfect. The 9 bedrooms are all good sizes, and the ensuites gorgeous. The pictures for the house do not do it justice. We had all the rooms set up as doubles when asked prior to our visit, and there was plenty of room in all of these.the house was also flawlessly clean. We had an amazing week, and all of our guests loved the place. The location is perfect, a 2min walk into Cromford Town and a longer but pleasant walk into matlock bath. The house is slightly less rural than it looks on the photos, located next to a garage on the edge of Cromford Town. But this was perfect for us. You can hear the water from the upper level, which is very relaxing. We got ready for the wedding on the morning of in the house, with plenty of space and it made for some beautiful pictures. We used the kitchens to cook for all of the friends and family in the house, and there were sufficient cooking equipment for this! Including for cooking a roast for 20 people!! The only negatives with the kitchens would be a lack of space for food but this is because of all the equipment which is provided, and the fact we kept losing things as we couldn't remember which kitchen we'd put things in!! There was a lot of running between floors! You could easily get lost in this house, and several of our family did on multiple occasions! The house is much bigger than it looks from the outside. Thank you very much for an amazing week away. It just added to the whole wedding experience and we wouldn't have changed anything. We hope to return!! Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Holly4.7Jan 2019

  • "What a fabulous time we had - this place was amazing!"

    Highly recommend it

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Jan 2019

  • "We were all very happy with the cottage and the facilities."

    The three kitchens were very well equipped although finding things was not always easy as we had to search all three. This did add to the fun but I guess some people may find it annoying. However we did not reduce the confusion so I don't think that we put things away in any particular order. The teens were thrilled to bits with the large beds and teles in their room - not allowed at home! It was easy for them to do the teen thing and hid away but also great for our family gatherings and all eating together. The oven in the top (I think) kitchen has a problem with the door in that muck has got under the glass - it was like it when we came. We enjoyed a circular walk up the steps behind the garden of about 5 miles, be warned it has a very steep climb near the beginning. Shop very friendly and book shop delightfully eccentric It was my 80th birthday party with family and we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend it Thank you,

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Dec 2018

  • "Excellent it was a brilliant çottage"

    Reviewed by Anita5.0Nov 2018

  • "Booked it for a 60th birthday celebration for 13 - 15 people."

    Lovely accommodation with loads of space for large/mixed groups. All the bedrooms were excellent and allowed for a variety of sleeping arrangements - can sometimes be a problem when you have a large group to accommodate but the Malthouse had lots of options. The descriptions of the rooms were really useful for planning sleeping arrangements. Everyone loved the showers and slipper bath. Moving between three floors and three kitchens was an adventure and entertainment in its self. The lower ground floor dinning area had a very interesting addition- but won't give too much away as it created a wow factor as people arrived. My only minor issue was the size of the kitchen/dining area - with everyone sitting down at meal times it was a little crowded and proved to be noisy with sound bouncing off the stone walls. Thought the house was very well presented with comfortable sofas and chairs, lots of TVs - not that we spent very much time watching TV. Decoration was very stylish and appropriate and some lovely pictures throughout. Very central to Cromford for walks, gentle strolls or more challenging walk as well as a choice of coffee shops, pubs and shops. The area around the Cromford canal was a delight and easy walking one of our group had a recent hip replacement but could easily manage the canal towpath walk. It is a busy village with the main A6 but quiet enough at weekend and evenings. We were only there for the weekend but if we had stayed longer there were many more places to enjoy. Back to the domestics, as a large group we created a lots of rubbish and a little confused about recycling bins. With people coming from different parts of the country with every authority having its own rules on waste disposal some easier instructions and labelling on bins inside and out would have been useful. But in summary a really lovely house that was a joy to stay in.

    Reviewed by Lyn4.7Nov 2018

  • "We were a group of 6 adults and 6 kids, we all had an absolutely amazing time at The Malt House and would recommend it to anyone."

    We tried to book for the same time next year but unfortunately someone beat us to it! (We never usually book the same place twice!) Thr location is excellent with lots of things to do around the local area. The house was amazing and suited everyones needs. We will most certainly be back in the future.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2018

  • "Great house with plenty of room for everyone."

    Plenty of hot water for showers. Comfortable furniture and beds. Warm and cosy. Great location and short walking distance to pub and Cromford village. Walking distance to Matlock Bath. Everyone in our group loved the house!

    Reviewed by Arash5.0Sep 2018

  • "Had a fantastic stay , loved it."

    Feel that there isn't a need for 3 kitchens ,maybe the top kitchen by the communal sitting room could be made larger to accommodate everyone being able to sit together. Also there aren't any extraction fans when cooking, gets very steamy , hot and a little uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by Sue3.8Sep 2018

  • "The website photographs are very misleading and portray the property in a rural location, which is inaccurate as the property is on a main road leading to a quarry with aggregate lorries running past the property all day."

    Furthermore 2 of the 3 ovens did not work properly, which has been highlighted by previous guests but no corrective action has being taken

    Reviewed by Keith3.1Aug 2018

  • "The Malthouse was a wonderfully large and obviously brilliantly refurbished property which offered plenty of good accommodation for a multi-generational family holiday."

    The number of bedrooms and bathrooms offering flexible arrangements and the kitchens giving scope for small and larger gatherings. However, there were 3 overriding problems. Firstly, the position of the house beside a very busy noisy road with 24 hour large aggregate and heavy transport lorries passing by on way to A6. This was not specified on any of the holiday details and not obvious in any photos. It should be declared in the holiday spec as one would not necessarily expect major traffic on 'Water Lane' in Cromford Secondly, catering with 13-15 in the house required for better cooking equipment. The main oven in the mid kitchen did not work and rendered us rushing up and down stairs to find an oven that did. Two of the freezer boxes were completely frosted and doors did not shut. Better maintenance is of equipment and facilities are in need. A number of the general basic cooking equipment such as potato peelers, a sharp veg knives were far from adequate. We had to buy new ones. To help holiday makers keep the house clean, a weeks supply of plastic bags, bin liners, cleaning agents for kitchen and bathrooms, together with dishwasher tabs would have been expected and helpful. Thirdly, some of our group found the mattresses uncomfortable and used those duvets not being used as 'toppers' for their mattresses. It would also have helped if the TV's had all been simple to turn on, without having to look through a folder. We had a good holiday but the house requires better maintenance and comfort and we will not returning to the Malthouse for another holiday.

    Reviewed by Rebecca2.5Jul 2018

  • "The house was very well fitted out, but it would have been helpful to know that the ground floor was not all on one level, as one member of our party had mobility problems."

    One of the ground floor bedrooms is actually up a flight of stairs and the lounge on the ground floor is down two stone steps.

    Reviewed by Frances4.7Jul 2018

  • "The house overall was lovely but some of the beds were uncomfortable so could do with replacing the mattresses."

    Some confusion over the gardens ans what actually belonged to the Malthouse. One of the bedrooms on the lower ground were a bit damp. However the house was big, beautiful and quirky perfect for a large group and we had a great time there.

    Reviewed by Farah4.1Jul 2018

  • "Nice holiday great accommodation but NEVER booking with Sykes again after they discounted other similar weeks by almost a thousand pounds."

    Beware of their booking early scams and never do !

    Reviewed by Kevin4.4Jun 2018

  • "We had a wonderful weekend with all the family."

    The Malthouse was a quirky house on three floors with three kitchens and two sitting rooms so there were plenty of areas for people to either be separate and do different activities or all get together. It is situated in the village so it was easy to walk to shops, restaurants and the pub, but there were also some lovely walks.

    Reviewed by Leanda4.1Mar 2018

  • "The only criticism we have about the malthouse was we found the cooking facilities a little tired and some were quite dirty, frying pans and baking trays were old, tired and very worn, so we had to use tin foil on everything, as we couldn’t find a scourer to clean the trays before we used them."

    Otherwise a fantastic place to stay, our family thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Reviewed by Jade4.4Nov 2017

  • "Fantastic property and great walks from the doorstep, just what we wanted!"

    Reviewed by Ian4.8May 2017

  • "If anything the listing downplays how exceptional the property is."

    The on-site waterfall and the mill workings visible in the downstairs kitchen were both beautiful and the whole place has a great atmosphere.

    Reviewed by Dominic4.6Apr 2017

  • "This is a fantastic property and definitely one to be recommended."

    Reviewed by Peter & Mairi4.8Jan 2017

  • "Amazing property, great weekend had by all!"


    Reviewed by Michael5.0Nov 2016

  • "Amazing property which has been beautifully renovated."

    Great location with plenty of things within walking distance. Would highly recommend it

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Nov 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Nine bedrooms with TV: 1 x lower ground floor super king-size double with en-suite massage jet shower, basin and WC, 2 x lower ground floor twin (zip/link, can be king-size double on request), 2 x ground floor king-size double with en-suite massage jet shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor twin (zip/link, can be king-size double on request) with en-suite massage jet shower, basin and WC, 1 x first floor super king-size double, 2 x first floor twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request)
  • Lower ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • First floor bathroom with slipper bath, walk-in rainfall shower, basin and WC
  • Lower ground floor kitchen with dining area (seats 18)
  • Ground floor kitchen with dining area (seats 12)
  • First floor kitchen with dining area (seats 6)
  • Ground floor sitting room (seats 6)
  • First floor sitting room (seats 12).
  • Gas central heating
  • Three range gas ovens and hobs, microwaves, fridges, freezers, fridge/freezer with ice maker, washer/dryers, dishwashers, 11 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, iPod dock, CD, Nintendo Wii with games, WiFi, selection of books, games, toys and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair
  • Off road parking for 4 cars at the front and 4 at the rear
  • Front patio with furniture
  • Large rear lawned garden with patio, furniture and BBQ
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops and pubs 4 mins walk
  • Note: Property is next to the mill pond, children to be supervised
  • Note: Low beam in one twin room
  • Note: This property has a £350 Good House Keeping Bond.

The property

This is an outstanding conversion of Arkwright’s Grade II listed former corn mill, superbly located in the historic village of Cromford in Derbyshire.

Luxuriously appointed throughout, with beautiful wooden floors, beams and exposed stonework, this detached Cromford Mill cottage has been wonderfully converted to retain its original features, but also has a contemporary feel with its designer decor.

This Cromford holiday home makes a wonderful base for large families or groups of friends wishing to explore this beautiful part of the Peak District.

This historic property is approached through a gated entrance, from where you will find a slate and shrub garden with a seating area, which overlooks the cascading waterfall from the mill pond.

Enter through the original ledge and brace door into the porch area, which leads to the large entrance hall with its characterful beams and dual aspect original windows.

On the ground floor of this Cromford cottage is a high-specification kitchen with a gas range oven and an American fridge/freezer, as well as a dining area seating 12.

The mill’s former kiln room is now a cosy sitting room with stunning exposed brickwork, and the three bedrooms on this floor all have their own TV and en-suite shower rooms with massage jets.

Take in the delightful views of the mill pond and waterfall as you make your way up the bespoke wrought iron staircase to the first floor.

Here you will be met with even more character with impressive roof height beams and a stunning master bedroom with a super king-size bed and stylish soft furnishings, plus there are two further charming bedrooms, and the lavish bathroom comes equipped with a luxury slipper bath and walk-in shower with a rainfall drencher head and temperature controlled LED.

Also on the first floor at this Cromford holiday home is another kitchen with dining area, which has been finished to a high specification, and the sociable sitting room can comfortably seat 12 and from where you can admire the stunning views of the mill pond with its resident heron and kingfisher.

The lower ground floor comprises of a large, high-quality kitchen with a dining area seating 18 with views out over the dramatically lit original mill workings.

There are three large bedrooms on this floor, all with TVs, including one which has its own en-suite, and there's a further luxury bathroom to accommodate the other bedrooms.

This converted mill is great for large groups looking for heaps of space and freedom to do their own thing, before exploring the Peak District together.

Outside, spend lazy afternoons lounging by the mill pond and enjoy alfresco dining on warm summer nights.

There is so much space with another two seating areas to choose from, so take your pick where you’d like to enjoy your morning cup of tea!

The village of Cromford offers guests a wonderful variety of shops, including the famous Scarthin bookshop, and friendly pubs, not to mention the stunning walks and cycle routes woven across this picturesque area.

Take time to visit the World Heritage Arkwright Mills and treasured Chatsworth House to uncover this area’s captivating history.

Gulliver’s Kingdom is well worth a visit for a fun family day out, whilst for those looking for a thrill can take a trip in a cable car over the Heights of Abraham and experience the incredible views of the area.

This outstanding property is the perfect place for a family break exploring the Peak District.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Matlock Bath 1.2 mile; Matlock 2.6 miles; Bakewell 12.5 miles.

Set in the beautiful wooded gorge of the River Derwent and surrounded by wooded hills and cliffs, the village of Cromford lies just one mile from the vibrant spa town of Matlock Bath and three miles from Matlock. Famous for its connections with Sir Richard Arkwright and the cotton trade, and often referred to as the cradle of the Industrial Revolution. Today, Cromford offers a selection of quality pubs, shops and cafés, as well as Arkwright’s Cromford Mill and canal, a world heritage site. The area boasts an abundance of attractions such as Gulliver's Kingdom, the nearby Peak District Mining Museum and splendid Chatsworth House. Visitors can take a ride on the Heights of Abraham cable car and take in the views in style, whilst the more active are catered for with plentiful walking around the Derwent Valley and the White Peak, as well as rock climbing and also with cycling opportunities at Carsington Water and the High Peak, Monsal and Tissington Cycle Trails.

View more holiday cottages in Cromford

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas