Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

19 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Treetops - South Wales - 927130 - photo 1


(Ref. 927130)

Govilon near Abergavenny, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 17 Guests

  • 7 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Hot tub
  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • pool (23)
  • tub (19)
  • hot tub (19)
  • hot (19)
  • house (18)
  • treetops (14)

38 Customer Reviews

  • "Another thoroughly enjoyable stay at Treetops."

    The kids and the adults made use of the pool and hot tub every day, we had a lovely bbq on one of the evenings and the kids loved how much space they had to run around and explore! They even had a mini sports day on the lawn at the bottom

    Reviewed by Danielle4.7May 2024

  • "A very spacious house, perfect for our family of 17."

    Naturally the children loved the pool and hot tub as did the adults. The house was warm and well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Treetops.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback John - we are delighted you loved your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Mar 2024

  • "Just back from our annual family holiday."

    The house was a great base for us all to explore the local amenities. Pool was good for the kids and warm too. Hot tub was enjoyed by all. TV were older models and difficult to operate with multiple boxes and remotes but we didn't use them too much. Visits to the National showcaves, Royal Mint, Hereford Races and a walk up Sugar Loaf. A fab holiday had by all, good value for money.

    Thanks so much for your positive feedback Michelle - we are delighted you had a great family holiday at Treetops. We appreciate your feedback on the TV so we have now installed a new 50" smart TV in the main living room. Hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy it! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Mar 2024

  • "I was very dissapointed with the cleanisness of the kitchen my daughters had to ..."

    I was very dissapointed with the cleanisness of the kitchen my daughters had to clean most of the items before use,also it was very difficult to contact owners over certain issues that arose over the rubbish and we had a problem opening the garage doors,eventually we were told by the owner to remove the remote device from the wall and move closer to the garage,eventually we had to change battery to gain access to rubbish bin in garage,heating was not sufficient in house,it was cold and on a timer,for this time of year should have been a lot better,when we informed owner we were told she was on holiday,not good enough,we rent property’s every xmas for a family get together and wev’e never had these issues before,very dissapointed,we believed the rubbish was going to be picked up on Wednesday but was still there when we left,we bagged everything up but bin wwas overflowing we informed owner

    We were very upset to get this feedback from your stay as we work very hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful time at Treetops. We were as responsive as possible across the Christmas period and resolved all issues as soon as informed. We employ a professional cleaning team and sent them back as soon as you reported the issues with cleanliness. We increased the heating at the property to be on over 13 hours a day. There were issues with things broken upon departure and an incredible amount of rubbish that caused significant issues for the changeover team. We resolved this without contacting you and returned your bond in full. We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with your experience at Treetops. We were as responsive as possible over the Christmas holiday period and always respond to guests issues quickly. We have many very positive reviews to that effect and take our guests enjoyment very seriously. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.2Dec 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Treetops It is a large house with plenty of room for ..."

    We had a lovely stay at Treetops It is a large house with plenty of room for all the grandchildren to play The pool was great as was the hot tub , great fun in a rather rainy weekend Well supplied with kitchen equipment

    Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are delighted you had a wonderful stay at Treetops and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosie5.0Oct 2023

  • "Great property, spacious, well maintained and the swimming pool was a great touch!"

    Everyone in our party commented what a great find this was! Fantastic weekend had by all Would definitely recommend to others and book again!

    Thank you for your review and delighted you had a wonderful time! Hope we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Sep 2023

  • "Wish the WiFi went as so far as the summer house ."

    Sorry to say out side could do with a clean . Place is looking tired. Still had a great time.

    We are glad you had a great time and sorry the WIFI doesn't quite make it out to the Summer House. We do have fast broadband but it doesn't quite reach to the very back there! We fed back your thoughts on outside to the teams responsible to ensure it is of the highest standard. Property Owner

    Reviewed by R J3.8Sep 2023

  • "Had a fantastic time at treetop’s again."

    This is are second stay. The property is well maintained and sits in the beautiful Welsh countryside. I would highly recommend treetops to all.

    It was so good to welcome you back. Glad you had a fantastic stay and hope to welcome you back again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Sep 2023

  • "Excellent property for a family vacation."

    A wide variety of activities in the area and excellent pubs for family dining

    Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time at Treetops and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Aug 2023

  • "The listing does not state that the heating is controlled remotely by the owner."

    The property was musty and cold and also damp and mouldy in the lower floor, with plaster /paint blowing off the wall - photographic evidence supplied to owner, who after 3 days sent in cleaners who of course couldn't deal with it due to the nature of the problem. Previous tenants had written dusty in lampshade, again photographic evidence supplied. Bed and sheets marked - stained under bed protector. Floor not clean under sofa's. reclining sofas very uncomfortable and broken. Kettle broken - replaced after exchange of email, washing machine broken - fixed after exchange of e-mail. Awful smell in kitchen drawers which cleaners after three days found was due to smelly wooden chopping boards. Lots of cracked bowls. In our opinion paintwork throughout premises certainly needs refreshing inside and out. This could be such a splendid property with a heated pool, jacuzzi and load of space, but it is in our opinion tired an unloved in its present condition

    Reviewed by Adam1.9Jul 2023

  • "A really nice house lots of space for every one."

    The pool and jacuzzi was a big hit with everyone especially the children. A lovely peaceful location. Will definitely be booking again.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Mar 2023

  • "Absolutely beautiful place, location is peaceful and set in beautiful surroundings."

    Oweners are friendly and very helpful. The property has everything you need. Highly recommended this place. Thank you for a lovely stay

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2023

  • "We loved our stay at treetop and would definitely go back but maybe in the summer so we could enjoy the garden more."

    The area of govilon was absolutely beautiful and we wished we had seen more of it. The house was spacious and very well equipped. The kitchen was a lovely social space we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Sara4.4Dec 2022

  • "Had a great stay, pool and the hot tub was a perfect addition."

    Home is located in a ideal location with nice views. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Thanuja5.0Apr 2022

  • "This house is absolutely amazing!"

    ! Myself and 10 friends stayed at Treetops for 5 nights over March and had the best time. The location is perfect (secluded but 10 mins drive from the life and soul of Abergavenny). The house is huge and done up to a great spec with comfy beds, all the appliances you need and a fantastic pool and hot tub. Anthony the host was a dream to communicate with and was so helpful before and during our stay. I can't wait to come back to Treetops and cannot recommend it highly enough to everyone! Thank you for letting us stay in this amazing house!!!

    Reviewed by Verity5.0Mar 2022

  • "We had a great time at The tree tops place."

    The communication was super easy and quick with the host and the place looks exactly like it does on the pictures. The hot tub and pool was definitely an added bonus The neighbourhood is very quiet and there are so many beautiful places to see near by. I Would absolutely recommend to stay there!

    Reviewed by Marina4.4Aug 2021

  • "Had a fantastic time at Treetops."

    Beautiful property and location. The children loved the swimming pool

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jul 2021

  • "The house is beautiful and has everything you need the views are lush and we will definitely be recommending this property to family and friends."

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Feb 2020

  • "Treetops is the perfect layout for a big get together, whether that be friends or family."

    It is a great a space to allow for people to all be together or to spread out and have their own space when needed inside and outside! There is ample parking for multiple vehicles. The bedrooms were all a good size and a mixture of non ensuite and ensuite which. We found that all of them were suitably quiet so that those who went to bed a little earlier weren't disturbed by the group who had stayed up. There are doors on all of the communal areas which really helps to reduce the noise carried throughout the house this is something I have found lacking in other large accommodation and although a small detail, it makes a big difference! The living room was perfect for us to sit together, with large comfortable sofas and lovely big windows which opened out onto a balcony area with a wonderful view. The TV has an HDMI port which we attached our Amazon Fire Stick to and were able to have our music on whilst playing games and catching up with each other. The outside area is absolutely perfect. The heated pool and hot tub are wonderful and there is plenty of space to sit outside and enjoy the weather. The sides of the pool can be raised so you can have it fully enclosed or let some air in and be able to chat to those sitting on the picnic tables if you want to. We didn't use the BBQ but it looked in great condition. There are power points in the man cave so we were able to plug in speakers and play music from our phones outside. The kitchen is a good size, the oven is PERFECT for cooking for a large group and the fridge is very large with ample space for food and drink. The hosts were swift and friendly in their responses before and throughout the stay and we couldn't have really asked for anything more. Check in and out was easy and well instructed and we had the luxury of a late check out on the Sunday which allowed us a last dip in the pool which was a lovely end to our trip. TIPS for future visitors; BRING WITH YOU: toilet roll, dishwasher tablets and charcoal if you wish to use the BBQ (check with the host before, but we needed to top up on these things whilst we were there). The living room and kitchen table are perfect spaces for games so if you love family games bring some with you! NON DRIVERS: If you don't drive and you need to get a taxi from the station, pre book! We arrived and quickly realised that the taxi firms in Abergavenny are small and were all booked up leaving us with a 2 hour wait for the taxi. I would recommend just booking a few days in advance for both your arrival and departure. POOL COVERING: we struggled to close the covering after we opened it but then realised there is a knack to it, if you try and mimic the curvature by pulling the bottom of the panels inwards (if you are inside the pool area) whilst pulling down this makes it a lot easier (watch your fingers!). OVERALL: I would definitely recommend this location to large groups, I actually can't wait to go back again and will definitely be doing another trip to Treetops, it is idyllic with everything you could hope for.

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0May 2019

  • "This cottage was stunning."

    It met and even exceeded our expectations. Clean and well equipped. Amazing outdoor space with a lush hot tub and pool.

    Reviewed by Charul5.0Apr 2019

  • "Wonderful place in a beaitifil location."

    So relaxing and spacious. Will definitely be visiting again soon.

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Feb 2019

  • "We had a fantastic break with friends and family, lovely spacious house with everything you need."

    Beautiful views to look put over. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi was a lovely extra too!!!! Good walks all around which we really enjoyed! Thank you for our stay!!!!

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Jan 2019

  • "Was a great house!"

    With all the amenities you could need! Great pool and hot tub

    Reviewed by Sian4.4Jan 2019

  • "I felt completely unsupported with the bond process (that is not provided before booking Treetops), which the owner failed to follow after the stay."

    Also, though the house pool and hot tub are lovely, the excessive signage in the house doesn't make one feel welcome and sound carried across the house to an unpleasant level.

    Many thanks for your feedback, we have fed your comments back to the owner in order to maintain our property standards. Your views are as valued as your initial booking so that we can keep providing the best UK holiday experience. I am sorry to hear that you have had problems obtaining a refund of the Good Housekeeping Bond. I have tried to call you to discuss this further. Please feel free to contact the Sykes office on the details below, quoting your booking reference number and any other information that may assist us in providing the best possible outcome and customer service. Lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah2.5Nov 2018

  • "Location ws great, most of all ,the cottage was fantastic, child friendly, & fully equipped for all your needs."

    10 out 10.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Oct 2018

  • "We had a brilliant family holiday at Treetops, with the pool enormously popular with the Grandchildren and the hot tub just as popular with the grown ups."

    Super location and stunning views across to Sugar loaf mountain.

    Reviewed by Mike4.1Sep 2018

  • "Treetops is a great place for a large group."

    You have facilities to party together, and plenty of places for a bit of guilt time. We all loved it.

    Reviewed by Trevor4.4Aug 2018

  • "The whole booking process was straight forward and easy to sort."

    The house was perfect and exactly as described. We would definately recommend the website and use you again Thanks

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Aug 2018

  • "The beautiful setting the space for large family group to spread out ."

    Pool and hot tub with man cave . Plenty of towels for pool .lots to do in local area .

    Reviewed by D4.7May 2018

  • "Several of the adults found the mattresses uncomfortable, the duvets either too small or too heavy."

    The chemicals in the hot tub led to bad skin reactions. Only 2 small teaclothes were provided, no scissors. That apart, an excellent property for our party of 14, age range 3 to 76. Lots to do in the area. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Josephine4.4Mar 2018

  • "It was a very spacious house with all the facilities you needed only drawback was the late entry to the accommodation."

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Aug 2017

  • "Wonderful long weekend at Treetops."

    Super cottage and location. Everyone but especially the children loved the pool. Nice to have the hot tub. Owners very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Jun 2017

  • "Marvellous holiday at TreeTops."

    Beautiful surroundings, very large cottage - plenty of space for all of us. Kids spent all day in the pool and adults in the hot tub

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2017

  • "Treetops is a fabulous house in a stunning location."

    It's comfortable and spacious. Would highly recommend it whatever the size and makeup of the party.

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Apr 2017

  • "The property exceeded our expectations and was extremely comfortable, well appointed and was in a wonderful location."

    The facilities were very good and our stay there was a very pleasant experience.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Mar 2017

  • "Fabulous House, great pool & hot tub which were well used!"

    Facilities are amazing, all you need for a lovely stay. Beautiful views! Enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.6Sep 2016

  • "Everything we needed was there and the pool and hot tub meant the weather really didn't matter"

    Reviewed by Margaret4.8Sep 2016

  • "We have had the great privilege of enjoying a family holiday each year for a long while."

    Your sublime house, Treetops, has redefined our expectations of what makes a holiday. Many places make you feel as if your needs are met – you have achieved the insurmountable task of making us feel that we have no needs. Your pool, your hot tub, your ‘man cave’ sanctuary are the additions to an already beautiful setting that truly make this jewel shine. You have left us to our own peaceful devices, while always being the friendly hosts that are often so rare. Thank you for making our summer – the memories we have made at Treetops will not be soon forgotten.

    Reviewed by Trevor4.8Jul 2016

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Seven bedrooms: 1 x first floor family room with 1 double and 1 single with en-suite shower, double basin and WC, 1 x ground floor double with en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor twin, 2 x ground floor family room with 1 king-size double (zip/link, can be 2’6” twin on request) and 1 single, 1 x lower ground floor double, 1 x lower ground floor twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Lower ground floor bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, electric shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with two dining areas (one seats 10 and one seats 6) connected through open archway
  • Utility with basin and WC
  • Sitting room with wrap around balcony with furniture
  • Snug with woodburner
  • Second snug
  • Conservatory
  • Lower ground floor conservatory.
  • Gas central heating with woodburner
  • Electric range oven and 5-ring gas hob, microwave, American-style fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 4 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • One travel cot and one highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 8 cars
  • Access to secure double garage for bike storage on request
  • Large enclosed lawned garden with different levels and patios with furniture, Masonry BBQ and garden room on lower lawn
  • Hot tub and fully undercover heated swimming pool (available all year round)
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk downhill
  • Note: Property has gated security access
  • Note: There are 2 steps up to walk-in wardrobe with en-suite in the first floor bedroom and sloping ceilings, care should be taken
  • Note: Check-in 4:30pm

The property

A fabulous, elevated property, nestled into the hillside, with far reaching views, on the edge of the popular village of Govilon in the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park (Brecon Beacons) and close to the bustling market town of Abergavenny.

An ideal venue, with plenty of space allowing large groups to spend quality time together, yet providing additional spaces to retreat to and take time out.

Set over three floors, there are seven spacious and comfortable bedrooms, evenly spread over all floors to ensure everyone has a space they can retreat to and the two family bathrooms and two en-suites, again evenly spread, assist in the feeling of space.

A large well-equipped kitchen in the heart of the property, with dining area, provides a focal point for fabulous dinners or luxurious breakfasts.

There is a sun-drenched conservatory or a large lounge, with wrap-around balcony and fantastic views through the tree tops.

A real gem where friends and family can spend a fabulous holiday together with plenty of space for the children to play and different zones to make the most of time together.

Outside, you have lots of space to enjoy in the enclosed gated gardens, you can sit on the balcony, relax on the sun terrace with garden room, in the hot tub whilst watching TV, which can be viewed through the garden room opening, or in the luxury of the fully undercover swimming pool.

Relax in a further garden room on the lower lawns whilst the children make the most of the play area.

Whilst the gardens are terraced, there are gently sloping paths linking all the areas, so this fabulous space has so many ways of adding to the enjoyment of this luxurious property.

The Wales cycle route and the canal and tow path are situated just below the garden so are easily accessible for those who want to explore the area.

The quaint Welsh village of Govilon is in the pretty valley of the meandering Usk River, is surrounded by National Parkland and also sits alongside the Blaenafon World Heritage Site, with its industrial history, beautiful landscapes and great days out, such as The Big Pit, offering a chance to step back in time and actually go down ‘the pit’.

The Abergavenny and Brecon canal runs through the village offering a lovely walk or cycle trail.

You are ideally placed to explore the Brecon Beacons National Park and Black Mountains with the Blorenge literally rising behind the village and the Skirrid Mountains less than 10 miles away.

The Bannau Brycheiniog National Park (Brecon Beacons) opens up a host of activities from waterfall walks and walking or cycling around the fabulous mountain ranges.

Abergavenny is less than four miles away and is a bustling rural market town with local producers and even a local vineyard.

The area also boasts award-winning and Michelin Star restaurants and more intimate rural inns, with all tastes catered for.

The area offers numerous outdoor activities such as walking, cycling, boat trips on the canal, horse riding, golf and fishing or perhaps try out paragliding or kayaking.

There is certainly an incredible amount of activities to engage larger groups.

Slightly further afield, why not take a trip to the stunning Wye Valley, adjacent to the Royal Forest of Dean, two completely diverse environments but both equally alluring.

Monmouth is less than 20 miles away, a lovely market town, well worth a visit and opens up great days out along the River Wye, with the majestic Tintern Abbey or a little further into the almost mystical areas of the forest that rises above the valley, with Puzzle Wood being within a 45 minute drive and fantastic tree top adventures less than an hour’s drive.

You are also within an hour’s drive of the fabulous Cardiff city, for those of you that perhaps need a dose of city life or why not take a trip to Dan yr Ogof and explore the caves and meet the dinosaurs?

A perfect property surrounded by fantastic countryside, popular market towns and award-winning restaurants.

An idyllic venue for larger groups and families to spend real quality time together with fabulous days and evenings out on the doorstep or simply relax in the spacious property that boasts undulating gardens, a hot tub, garden rooms and a fully undercover swimming pool.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location


Abergavenny 3 miles; Newport 20 miles.

Govilon is a small, pretty, scattered village with a shop, a pub and a pub/restaurant just 3 miles from Abergavenny. The area offers a wealth of natural beauty, with lovely walks through the Wye Valley, along the Brecon Canal or through the breathtaking Brecon Beacons. The picturesque market town of Abergavenny nestles between seven mountains, and the River Usk flows through it, resulting in beautiful views in every direction. The town boasts a castle with its own museum, churches, an indoor market hall, good shops and a multitude of pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes. With abbeys, castles, mining museums and a Roman amphitheatre and baths at nearby Caerleon, there is something different to discover every day of your holiday.