Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Chance Inn Lodge in the last 24 hours

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Chance Inn Lodge - Scottish Lowlands - 952068 - photo 1
  • Chance Inn Lodge - (Ref. 952068)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Chance Inn Lodge

(Ref. 952068)

Balmedie, Moray, Aberdeenshire & The Coastal Trail Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (20)
  • all (19)
  • lovely (19)
  • our (18)
  • bed (18)
  • house (16)

50 Customer Reviews

  • "Hi we loved the house but there was a big problem with the cleanliness of the kitchen area."

    the house was very clean toilets and bed rooms.the oven was absolutely filthy trays covered in grease and the fridge was also dirty with dried in spillages on the shelves We spent the first hour and a half of our holiday cleaning. I am not in the habit of complaining but I feel it was that bad I could not let it go. Its pity but I wont be going back. I think we should be compensated for cleaning job.

    Reviewed by Michael2.8Jun 2024

  • "Spectacular house."

    First class accomodation, great area close to beach & shops but in a quite location. Clean & tidy, comfy beds, plenty of room. Everything worked well apart from shower door which need a slight adjustment. Magnificent views from all windows. One of the best things, there is a new M & S Food Hall 10 mins drive away.

    Reviewed by Patrick4.7Apr 2024

  • "First impression was lovely."

    However during our stay Wi-fi was extremely intermittent and there were a few maintenance issues from the start .Heating was impossible to control , kitchen sink had leak , first bedroom door did not shut properly and neither did the shower doors in that bedroom. Also front door outside light wasn’t working. Curtain pole upstairs wasn’t fixed. Bins were full on arrival and were not emptied all week.

    We're sorry to hear of the issues you encountered whilst you stayed with us. You made us aware of the issue with the Broadband and unfortunately it required a BT engineer to fix the line which we give you as much information as we got from BT. The heating is underfloor heating and has controls in every room but if you are not used to it or the weather changes it can be tricky. Thanks for letting us know about the leak, doors and light not working in your review, now that we are aware we'll get our maintenance company to look into these. Bin collections are done by the council fortnightly but we've raised this with them to see if we've been missed or if it's just previous guests rubbish. We hope that these issues did not impact your stay too much. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William4.4Mar 2024

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chance Inn Lodge."

    Very spacious, clean and comfortable.Enjoyed having the log burner and using the mezzanine area during the evening. The views were lovely to wake up to. We visited the two pubs in Balmedie and were welcome in both. The COOP was very useful for supplies. The nature reserve was delightful and the walk along the beach. (Don't forget to pick up three pieces of litter each from the beach.) Glamis Castle was a delight and well worth a visit. The helicopters didn't bother us, and we didn't hear them at all during the night. A house sign would be useful at the entrance as it was very difficult to find in the dark. A chest of drawers or dressing table with a mirror would be useful in each bedroom for storage and for ladies to have somewhere to apply our makeup. And a few more coffee tables would be useful. All very minor observations which didn't detract from our wonderful time at the property. I would very highly recommend a stay at Chance Inn Lodge.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Nov 2023

  • "Lovely house in a lovely location."

    House has all the mod cons to make your stay comfortable. Underfloor heating is a nice touch and gives the house a very cosy feeling when it is horrible weather outside. Upstairs is a comfy area to watch films and play computer games. Downstairs equally comfortable with the log burner. Only marginal negative, depending on how you look at it, is the house sits under the flight path for most of the offshore helicopters. They fly virtually all day weather permitting.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.1Oct 2023

  • "The property is very bright spacious and well furnished for a holiday home."

    Lots of space if you want to get together as a group and lost of places to chill if you need some down time. The mezzanine floor was our favourite for just hanging out and watching the world go by. The only challenge we had was keeping the rooms cool enough. With so much glass it almost heats itself. Nice and secluded but really easy access to shops and beaches.

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2023

  • "AT LAST! A holiday cottage with an abundance of heating and hot water."

    This made our stay a very comfortable experience. We were however disappointed to find the DVD player was unusable because there was no remote controller for it. The bed was very comfortable, but we had to go and buy some soft pillows at Tesco because the ones supplied were far too firm for us, but that is our preference. Overall though, we had a very enjoyable stay at Chance Inn.

    Reviewed by Carole4.4Sep 2023

  • "The property was clean (except the oven) and comfortable."

    The views are exceptional. The facillities are excellent; ground floor, ensuites, plenty of seats, the upstairs "wee" haven. However as a group of 4 adults I found there was limited eqipment for cooking and the garden furniture is in serious need of attention. The play equipment is not as shown on the photos. I'm glad in the end that my grandchildren did not come to visit. They would have been very disappointed. The wifi is frequently not available. Overall I would return and definitely recommend, you do need a car.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Sep 2023

  • "Overall, the property was clearly built to a high standard and it’s in an absolutely fantastic area to explore Aberdeenshire."

    The cathedral windows give lovely farmland views. Despite a previous review, the property was very clean and smelt of bleach on arrival. What’s disappointing is that the owners seem to have given up a bit on the maintenance of the property by not responding to previous feedback. It’s all the more frustrating in such a lovely property. I hope they’ll get the issues sorted as it’s not going to cost a fortune to return the property to a very high standard. The owners did come out to clean the oven which was smoking of grease when we used it, but the blind in the kitchen clearly broke some time ago and has never been repaired, the children’s play area remains dangerous and unusable, the washing line has been broken for some time, the half sized dishwasher doesn’t fit the supplied plates and the downstairs sofas are stained, dirty and the leather colour is no longer on them. We didn’t need the heating in August when the property is very hot due to the glass, but the thermostats don’t appear to work. The broadband drops out so frequently it’s unusable. I hope the owners fix these issues because it would be a shame for such a beautiful place to become neglected. It’s definitely an area I’d love to return to.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.4Aug 2023

  • "On Arrival had to wash all bedding as the sheets had blood and dirty marks on them."

    I have pictures. Had to clean the property as there was dust and grime on every surface. The suite in the kitchen diner was a disgrace and utterly covered in stains, grime and marks. Again I have pictures. The sink was leaking, light bulb missing from main light in upstairs living area. Rubbish left to front of property. Shower door in first bedroom was off the runners. Bedroom door did not shut. Chocolate and food all over upstairs suite so also had to clean it. The oven had never been cleaned. Kids play area in the garden was damaged beyond use and should be considered a health and safety risk. The plumbing backed up every morning. I could go on. Ultimately would not go back.

    We're horrified to read this response but it doesn't seem accurate to us and is certainly not to the standard we always offer our guests. If the property was as bad as you suggest then a phone call or e-mail whilst you were there would have allowed us to take immediate action but no contact was attempted which is disappointing when such a bad review is posted. The cleaning is managed for us by a maintenance company and it’s usually outstanding and we’ve had good reviews in the past on how clean the property is so I’m not sure what has happened prior to your stay. I have requested copies of the pictures over a week ago but nothing has been sent so it's difficult to see what the issues were. I was at the property this weekend to personally inspect the issues highlighted and also the cleanliness to make sure no other guests have the experience that you did. The suite in the kitchen diner does have coffee and water marks on it but it's not dirty and these will not come out. We've ordered a new suite but it's difficult to stop these stains as guests sometime have accidents. The missing light bulb has been replaced by us but there are spare bulbs left in the utility room so it could have been easily replaced by anyone. Thank you for letting us know about he shower door, it's been put back on its lower runners now. I don't know what you mean about the bedroom door not shutting as all of the doors were shutting at the weekend. There has been feedback in the comments book by the guests who stayed after you about how much their children enjoyed the play area so it must have fixed itself after you left. We've had a plumber come in and check the sink and look for plumbing backing up but no issue was found. We're really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our property but it's disappointing that you didn't make contact directly to allow us to resolve things whilst you were there as you may have had a much better time if you had. Thank you for providing this feedback to us as it helps us to improve and I can assure you that we are taking this very seriously. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeffrey1.9Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic property."

    .... Will definitely be back again.

    Reviewed by William5.0Jul 2023

  • "Although I am going to make some criticisms I will say at the outset that this is a very nice house, well designed, spacious, comfortable and mostly well equipped."

    The general cleanliness of the house was good. It is also a good base for exploration of the attractive coastline and many gardens and castles. I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area. The criticisms are: Lack of communication. The directions on Sykes to the house are well out of date, the access road suggested was blocked off over a year ago. Futhermore we had no notice of the major roadworks and road closures which started two weeks before we arrived, making access very difficult and which then very noisily progressed, passing the house, continuing to make access problematic. Lack of attention to detail. For example although the house was generally clean many of the cooking utensils were not, they were thick with grease. The attractive lights hanging down in the large downstairs room were thick with dust and cobwebs and the leather furniture in the same room, whilst being comfortable and good quality, was very dirty. The freezer urgently needed defrosting. There was ample crockery and glass-ware but the cutlery was cheap and nasty and there were no sharp knives. There is a shortage of coat-hangers and those we had were cheap and flimsy. These and similar minor faults were certainly not fundamental to the enjoyment of our holiday but to be a truly "five star" house they should be addressed.

    Reviewed by Roger4.7Jun 2023

  • "The property was lovely and quite just the sheep, lambs and helicopters going back and forth from the rigs."

    It didn't bother us my young grandson enjoyed them. Plenty of garden for him to run around, which he loved. There was everything you could think of equipment wise, the only thing missing from the kitchen was a frying pan (for the breakfast fryup) but we understood it might be a fire issue so no big deal. Beds were very comfortable, bed linen and towels were lovely. The master bedroom shower had no hot water (we let the water run for a good 10 mins). The other hot water outlets were all working except maybe too hot. The kitchen tap got extremely hot to touch we had to be careful when moving the spout or touch accidentally. Some constructive criticism, which wouldn't make us not visit again: Oven not great took a while to cook and could do with new trays. The sun loungers were great, but for just sitting out having a morning coffee the garden furniture could to with updating. We understand that there might be yearly maintenance carried out inside and out. The main lights in the living room (high ceiling) could do with a clean. As said we all agreed it was a very peaceful timeout which we all needed. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Audrey4.4Jun 2023

  • "A very spacious and relaxing property which is very well positioned for exploring both the city of Aberdeen and the surrounding coast and countryside."

    We enjoyed the ample the en-suite facilities as that meant no waiting for your turn and the beds were very comfortable. The teenagers thoroughly enjoyed taking over the upper lounge as their own space! Great views from the enormous windows over the surrounding fields and gentle sunsets. As numerous previous guests have mentioned, blackout curtains in the east-facing bedroom especially would be most welcome to aid a good night's sleep and we found just five mugs in a house that sleeps 6 was totally insufficient (although there were more than enough glasses and ramekin dishes!). The tiny bathroom sinks were also totally inadequate for a good wash but the showers were powerful and well sized.

    Reviewed by Laura4.4Apr 2023

  • "Really a lovely property !"

    Spacious and well use of space at a lovely location too ! Lovely to have plenty of shower room facilities and a utility room However a little tweaking would make this place even more exceptional!!!! Cleanliness was great in most places however in the kitchen , fridge wasn’t wipe down properly and oven was left very grimy including a dirty pan left in the oven ! Starter pack for the log burner was no where ri be seen which meant after arriving from a long drive we had to go hunting for a supermarket to try and get a fire lighter! Only three logs were left in basket , in my opinion charge extra and leave a decent amount of logs out would be better especially when guest can see a storage full of logs but they have no access too and got to go hunting for somewhere to buy logs ! A blind was missing and an upstairs curtain tie was torn away from the curtain ! Personally I would swap the large smart tv to upstairs especially with all that cost reclining chairs in the upstairs sitting room ! Last thing was amazing water pressure from all taps but hardly any pressure in any of the shower and shower head in the first bedroom just wouldn’t stay up combine with weak pressure I ended up having shampoo in my eyes multiple time ! But will definitely stay again and really would love to build or buy somewhere just like this place ! Who ever did the floor plan in this property was super intelligent

    Reviewed by Narissa4.4Dec 2022

  • "Superb property, first holiday with our newborn and in laws to visit family in Aberdeen, and what a property, beautiful location, big spacious property, had a little issue with heating first night but got in touch and rectified immediately, the oven is slightly unconventional but instructions are left and once you use it once you understand it completely, kitchen is extremely well stocked with utensils, pots and pans which is great , especially when there was five of us."

    We will definitely stay here again when we have such a big holiday, some incredible views at night the upstairs living area was certainly my favourite spot

    Reviewed by Callum5.0Oct 2022

  • "Gorgeous property in beautiful surroundings."

    My husband daughter and I stayed at Chance In Lodge last week and couldn't fault it. It is stunning, very cosy, modern and clean. It really felt like home ! Also Perfectly located for visiting the Aberdeenshire and Moray Firth area. We really enjoyed our stay and were gutted to be leaving after a week.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2022

  • "This was a wonderful house, clean and spacious."

    The best was all bedrooms were en suite. We just had a had time getting the oven to work, which turned us off cooking. I guess we are not used to European appliances. First day saw lots of heavy rain/thunder and lighting. It knocked out TV reception. They did work hard to get it fixed but it was our last night when we were able to watch TV again. Not the end of the world I guess as we were on vacation had lots of other things to keep us entertained.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Sep 2022

  • "Chance Inn Lodge was perfect for us due to the fact that it’s not perfect."

    There’s the odd loose toilet roll holder, wonky cupboard door, dated outdoor seating and although we would always respect others property we relaxed more easily in the home from home familiarity. The location is fantastic for exploring Aberdeenshire. The house is super for family members with mobility problems and I found the upstairs seating area fantastic for escaping from said family member for a peaceful few minutes. It’s definitely a 9 out of 10, we loved it.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Aug 2022

  • "The house was very modern with immaculate and bathrooms."

    The scenery from the house was amazing with beautiful countryside and sea views too. Very quiet yet few minutes drive to a great coop, restaurant and the stunning Balmedie Beach. Only 10 minutes to Aberdeen with lots to do . The children enjoyed the big grass space to run about and the grandparents like to either sit outside or upstairs loving the views. Would definitely come back and highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Olive5.0Jul 2022

  • "This our 3rd visit to this property and unfortunately the property is starting to show signs of wear and tear, there are marks on the wall, the tv’s did not work and it was day three before the signal was sorted."

    The dishwasher was broken (did not heat up) which was reported to the owner’s but was not sorted before we left. The Roman blinds were broken in the kitchen which I spent the time to sort out so they pulled up correctly. The curtains in the back bedroom were hanging off the rail and once again I spent the time sorting them out. There was also food left in the fridge and a chipped beaker in the cupboard. Outside weeds were growing in abundance on the area where the car was parked. Overall we were disappointed this visit but hope this feedback will reap rewards for others in the future.

    Reviewed by Alison3.4Jun 2022

  • "Chance Inn Lodge is one of the nicest and most comfortable self-catering properties we have stayed in."

    The rural location is so attractive and peaceful, and yet very convenient for exploring Aberdeenshire and beyond on excellent, new and quiet roads. The house is spacious and light, with huge "picture" windows facing both east and west. It was a treat to have such high quality bed mattresses and bedding, which is not the case in many self-catering properties. We had a wonderful holiday!

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7May 2022

  • "A fridge freezer would be beneficial."

    Crumbs down side of cushions on settees. Otherwise a very nice holiday let.

    Reviewed by Morag4.7Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage, beautiful fixtures and fittings, lovely setting, no complaints about this at all…."

    . Stunning! Was not cleaned properly on our arrival so my wife cleaned all cupboards and plates as they were filthy. Bedding however was immaculate and very expensive quality sheets etc, very comfy. Plates and glasses were all random so family meal served on random sized plates and different glasses. Our main concern was the Holiday was spoiled by the CCTV looking into every window, even our bedrooms. My autistic Son wouldn’t even open his curtains, we also had to close them to get changed. Completely weird to have cameras looking in & im not sure it’s even legal with data protection etc. Honestly can not stress how intrusive these cameras were. I would definitely have returned as it was very nice once we cleaned it but the CCTV is just the strangest thing I’ve ever seen on a holiday home.

    Reviewed by Nick2.8Oct 2021

  • "This is our second visit and it was as excellent as previously."

    Love the peace and quiet. The facilities are just what you need to relax. The mezzanine is especially a wonderful place to sit of an evening

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Sep 2021

  • "Great accommodation with excellent facilities."

    Great space for the kids to play outside. Close to lots of places to visit despite a peaceful rural location. Looking forward to visiting again in the future.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jun 2021

  • "We loved Chance Inn Lodge."

    The booking experience (I used the phone line for confidence) was great and the location of the house was perfect (apart from the sea fret! Which might be worth warning the guests!). We had some great weather and lovely days on a remote beach. We’d definitely recommend. Be aware there’s no real freezer space (we did a large shop and should have asked that in advance) and could do with one large mixing bowl, but all other facilities were great. The eco heating works very well for hot water, but was very hot with the heating. We left lots of doors and windows open, which gave us great fresh air! All in all a fab family location for a perfect remote get away. Although only 10 mins into Aberdeen! We saw the harbour dolphins!

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0May 2021

  • "Fantastic property close to Aberdeen."


    Reviewed by William5.0May 2021

  • "We went there just before second lockdown and the Cottage was so peaceful and quiet."

    The views from every window were great. We could see the ferry lights in the sea. the space outside was lovely, children enjoyed the swings. They loved watching sun emerging from the earth and setting. Two nights the sky was clear and they enjoyed star gazing. We enjoyed the coffee machine. Quite a lot of space inside the cottage and we went to the sand bothy every day cause it was the best place for kids in lockdown. Big and quiet play area, the sand dunes & beautiful beach!

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Oct 2020

  • "We had a great break, the cottage is in a lovely rural location with views to the sea and very quiet."

    Lots to see and do in the area. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Sep 2020

  • "This is a beautiful house in a fantastic location."

    It is out where nature meets you on the doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed watching the birds, sheep and cattle all around us. It is so quiet (except when helicopters come over) and relaxing.just what we needed. If you want to get away from the rag race and just recharge then this is the place for you. If you sit upstairs in the sitting room there, you can see for miles, take binocular with you to enjoy the wildlife.

    Reviewed by Laura4.7Sep 2020

  • "Loved our stay in this lovely holiday home."

    Beautiful views, only downside were the constant helicopters flying over during week days which is not mentioned in the cottage description. But other than that it was great. Follow directions sent to you by owner is a must as sat nav will plonk you in the middle of a field!!!! I’m sure anyone visiting this cottage will love it.

    Reviewed by Marie4.4Aug 2020

  • "The cottage is beautiful with views of countryside but within 10 minutes of Aberdeen."

    There are plenty of tourist attractions nearby. Make sure you go to see the seals on the beach at Newburgh and Glamis Castle is one of the best stately homes we have ever visited. There are theatres in Aberdeen if you wish to go and see a show. The cottage itself is very comfortable with all bedrooms ensuite. If you use an electric razor make sure to take an adapter as the ensuite had no shaver point. The heating is not the easiest to adjust but the wood burning stove is excellent. Only downside was there was no kindling left for us to start the fire, had to go and buy some next day. The owners could possibly create a folder with tourist attraction leaflets in which would have been useful. Overall an excellent week away, really enjoyed it. Make sure follow instructions of how to get there from the housekeeper as there are new roads and some sat navs do not recognise them yet.

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.4Oct 2019

  • "A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a lovely house."

    Views spoiled a little by an ugly container opposite the huge windows on the mezzanine floor. But, in the middle of fields and farming, I suppose it isn’t out of the ordinary. Would recommend Chance Inn Lodge for a quiet, relaxing and comfortable break. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Sep 2019

  • "Lovely house in peaceful surroundings."

    Choice of spaces to relax and ensuite bathrooms made for a relaxing break that suited everyone.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jul 2019

  • "Stunning lodge very homely with huge garden for kids to play."

    Loved having own patio area and doors from bedroom all en suite. Fantastic range of games and books to use and everything in it that you would need highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Jun 2019

  • "A fantastic location with everything you could want."

    Little touches like the welcome items were very thoughtful. A wonderful place to relax with beautiful scenery. The location is ideal for exploring or just chilling.

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Jun 2019

  • "This property is stunning and the owners gave a lovely welcome pack and beautiful flowers."

    I loved staying here and it was spotless with a very private location with views of the North Sea. It is perfect if you want a relaxing holiday and don't mind helicopters (flight path to airport) we liked it. It is very handy for Aberdeen City centre and the beach at Balmedie is amazing. I would love to come back.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and we were made to feel particularly welcome by the ..."

    We really enjoyed our stay and we were made to feel particularly welcome by the gifts left for us on arrival- Prosecco, chocolates, shortbread and milk

    Reviewed by Janie5.0May 2019

  • "Excellent property for three couples."

    Standard was as advertised. Facilities were great.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Apr 2019

  • "It would have helped to have basic instructions on hob etc."

    Heating was difficult to control on the lower level. Location was good for touring local area but you needed a car to get to local facilities.

    Reviewed by Sue4.1Mar 2019

  • "A really lovely house."

    For occupancy of up to 6 it really needs a freezer - perhaps in the utility room? The compartment in the fridge is inadequate. SATNAV in the area is awful because of all the new roads. Suggest the owner's directions - which were good - include a warning not to try to find the place by SATNAV.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Feb 2019

  • "The accommodation was well thought out."

    It was superb and filled all our expectipns and more. I would definitely book again. The advertisement of the property was spot on, the caretakers were just at the end of a phone. Thank you for a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Jan 2019

  • "For anyone wanting a relaxing holiday,surrounded by nature, hills,glenn and the sea, this is an excellent location."

    Whether you visit Scotland for the highland games, distilleries, fishing, walks, or the local history with castles or standing stones, this is a good place to stay. You will need a car to get around but there is so much to see and experience here. Chance Inn Lodge is beautiful, the owner has put a lot of thought into the design and decor, we all kept saying just how beautiful it was. I must admit I personally would love to live there. There are three bedrooms each with own en-suite. Large open-planned lounge,dinner,kitchen. Separate room with washer etc. Second sitting room upstairs and a shower room. And another toilet downstairs. Plenty of room for everyone. I highly recommend this lodge for a holiday.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Aug 2018

  • "Fabulous property, perfect for our family, lovely touches left in welcome pack by owners, would thoroughly recommend"

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Aug 2018

  • "The accommodation was to a very high standard with every facility we required."

    It is in a beautiful location with a sea view. The owners provided a a lovely welcome pack and booking and key collection was straight forward. I would recommend this property to others.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2018

  • "The cottage was beautiful, and very well equipped."

    It would be perfect for a family. There was a swing set int he yard. There were some games and books if there hard been rain or unpleasant weather. We were only a short distance from the beach. The only criticism ( if that is the right term) was that it lacked a frying pan for breakfast. The owners were very helpful in getting us to the outage when we were a bit lost in the town, and were wonderful in guiding us in.

    Reviewed by William5.0Jun 2018

  • "The Chance Inn Lodge is a fantastic place to stay."

    We stayed with our 3 young children and were delighted to have a high hair, stair gates, travel cot, cot bedding and some children’s toys and books all supplied, as well as ample garden space and a swing set. The house sits in a field on it’s own, so it is peaceful and has lovely views. All the rooms are spacious and the whole house in beautifully done out and is spotless from top to bottom. The owner was very helpful with a couple of requests we had and always responded promptly. We spent the week doing family activities in both the city and shire and found this was a great place to base ourselves. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the house to anyone, not just families.

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Jun 2018

  • "It is ideal for a three-generation family get-together."

    Very difficult to find, as the satnav was confused by the roadworks on the A90, which seemed to change daily. Well equipped, with good toiletries and towels. Nice welcome pack in fridge: prosecco, biscuits, chocolate and butter. Cot and high chair were supplied and a lovely baby towel. Kitchen well equipped, but lacked a small pan. We would have appreciated a weeks supply of dishwasher and washing machine tablets, and we had to buy a bottle of rinse-aid, which we left as we were flying home. Some bedside lamps had blown, and there were not enough bulbs to replace them all. It would be useful to have details of local shops, as we only found the Co-op in Balmedie on our last day!

    Reviewed by John4.7Apr 2018

  • "Chance inn lodge was a beautiful, modern, clean property."

    It was warm and comfortable and a pleasure to spend the week in. We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all


  • Mostly ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with en-suite bath, separate shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request) with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Basin and WC
  • First floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Utility
  • First floor mezzanine sitting room.
  • Oil central heating with underfloor heating on ground floor and woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 5 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, CD/iPod dock, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate on request
  • Ample off road parking
  • Gravelled garden with lawned area, private patios for each bedroom with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop, pub and coast 2 miles
  • Please NOTE: No Stag/Hens or similar parties.

The property

Balmedie 2 miles.

The minute guests see Chance Inn Lodge they will be immediately impressed.

It is a modern stylish house with exceptional kerb appeal and character.

Designed with great attention to detail this house has a definite 'wow' factor.

With the carefully planned and spacious accommodation set out mainly over the ground floor with a mezzanine seating area and ground floor bedrooms.

All bedrooms benefit from smart en-suites, TV/DVDs and double doors leading out onto individual patios and guests will enjoy the privacy that this affords.

Also at ground floor level is the sociable open plan living space with a well-equipped kitchen, dining area and sitting area all benefitting from a cosy woodburning stove.

The big gable end windows provide fabulous countryside and sea views from both the ground floor and mezzanine levels.

On the upper floor is the sitting room where the views are enhanced by the double aspect and this space is undoubtedly where guests will be able to relax after an active day.

A large garden area surrounds the lodge and guests will appreciate sitting outside on pleasant days soaking up the lovely views and perhaps sipping a pre-dinner glass of wine.

The area is bursting with places to visit and things to do and one of the newest and most famous of all visitor attractions in this area is the Trump International Golf Links, just a mile away from the lodge, where visitors can enjoy the driving range, one of the largest in the country or perhaps try your hand on the putting green.

Whether its golf, fishing, whisky tasting or simply enjoying the beach and countryside this lodge will ensure a fabulous and unforgettable holiday for all.

EPC Rating: Band C

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Bridge of Don 6 miles; Aberdeen 8.5 miles.

This friendly Aberdeenshire village is situated to the north of the Granite city of Aberdeen and hugs the shoreline of the North Sea. With its long wide beach and pretty sand dunes the area is very popular with visitors and also wildlife spotters. The village itself has good local facilities with a small supermarket and selelction of shops and also a very popular fish and chip shop! There are a couple of local Inns where good food is served using fresh local produce along with an extensive wine list and local beers. The Balmedie Beach & Country Park is open all the year round and provides a childrens play area and picnic areas along with the wide and very clean beach, ideal for sunbathing and swimmers.

Please NOTE: No Stag/Hens or similar parties.