Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • East Lodge - Crathes Castle - Scottish Lowlands - 1060437 - photo 1

East Lodge - Crathes Castle

(Ref. 1060437)

Crathes Castle near Banchory, Moray, Aberdeenshire & The Coastal Trail Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (17)
  • lovely (14)
  • castle (13)
  • cottage (13)
  • stay (12)
  • walks (12)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Cottage was very comfortable and was very well equipped."

    Not far from Banchory and there was a lot of great walks round castle. Only negatives were rubbish bins outside were overflowing don't think they had been emptied for a while. Also a gate to enclose garden would have been good to keep dogs secure. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.8Apr 2024

  • "The accommodation was lovely."

    Comfortable and clean. I would say that it’s not really suitable for people with young children. The single bedroom is a long way from the main bedroom. You have to go past the front door are, through the lounge up a long hall, before you get there. That side of the house is also draughty and cold. The road up to the Castle that the house is on is busy day and night. Very busy and the cars fly up and down there. We even had lads racing up and down there one night at 11.30 for a good hour. If you had dogs or children, you wouldn’t want to let them go. It is pitch black outside at night. There was a torch provided but could have done with an outside light. Saying that, we had a lovely stay and the area was beautiful, fabulous places to visit and the locals were very friendly. The bins also weren’t collected, so they were all completely full when we got there. We had to take our rubbish to the local tip on several occasions.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We are awaiting an electrician to fit a motion sensor light for the Lodge to help our guests. The team have been made aware of the cars late at night and are looking into this. The council has recently changed the calendar for the bin uplift and it was causing some confusion. We are going to leave a copy of the accurate bin calendar in the kitchen for future reference. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Mar 2024

  • "The cottage is not really up to the standard that we would have expected for the cost."

    We've stayed at other National Trust cottages in Aberdeenshire and Angus which have been much better. We are familiar with living in rural Scotland in the winter having lived in Highland for years. The cottage was cold. There were instructions not to touch the heating dials offering us electric fires as an alternative , which we could not find. The shower had a very slow run off and had clearly not been attended to for a while. The dishwasher filter needed cleaning. The bedside light was faulty. We changed it round for the bedroom we weren't using. The lighting was terrible - in the kitchen with only a central ceiling light, we were always in our own shadows. The sitting room side lights were dim. There was no working outside light at the back door which, given the season, meant that we were juggling torches and keys after about 5 pm and before 7 am. The garden was not private and certainly not secure. The estate road beside which the cottage sits was very busy, so no secure garden meant additional hazards for the dog. The condensation in the cottage was noticeable with very wet windows. This gave the feel of damp which was thoroughly unpleasant. On the plus side, the grounds of Crathes Castle were, of course, quite beautiful and we enjoyed some delightful walks in the grounds. We came up to visit a variety of family and friends and would have left early had it not been for prior arrangements. We think you should readjust your descriptions of this cottage and its surroundings to reflect the reality of the situation. We wonder if anybody from Sykes has actually visited it. Although the national trust cottages are bound to be slightly quirky, charging as much as you do requires the quirks to be charming rather than annoying and likely to spoil the visit. In good faith. Harriet and Donald Mowat.

    Thank you for your comments which have also been sent to the team at Crathes. We do take all feedback seriously and we are going to look at the lighting, the heating system is being replaced and the shower drainage has been resolved. We have rechecked the entry on the website and it does not describe the garden as secure. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Harriet1.9Oct 2023

  • "1. Trouble gaining access initially as there was no mention that the front door was bolted on the inside!"

    2. A lingering smell of dogs all week - especially in our front bedroom - ventilation didn't help much 3. As instructed on Sunday we placed the black bin at the perimeter of the property to be collected by your staff and taken to the roadside for collection. Nor collected by your staff - despite two telephoned reminders to them - on Wednesday we moved the bin back as it was being used by opportunistic dog walkers to dispose of dog poo 4. An unnecessary visit by Open Reach to check the FTTP line as the problem is an incorrectly programmed - faulty - or incompatible router In spite of the above matters, we enjoyed our visit

    Thank you very much for your feedback which has been passed onto the property team at Crathes as well. Unfortunately the cleaners had bolted the front door and we have reiterated that it should not be bolted. We are going to update the welcome folder with amended details about the bin collection and we apologise for the inconvenience. Unfortunately Open Reach have been to the cottage 4 times trying to install Wifi for our guests, we have been told it is not the router. Update Feb 2024 – the new welcome folder has been updated and that we now offer Wi-Fi in East Lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael3.1Sep 2023

  • "We loved this property and its location is great."

    Our daughter loved the castle, grounds and the events that were on. The dog loved the walks around the estate. It is an old, historic property so we understand everything might not be perfect or immaculate but to us it was great. It felt more spacious inside than it looked on the outside.

    Many thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Crathes or one of the other National Trust for Scotland cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cameron4.4Jul 2023

  • "This was a comfortable lodge in a good situation for touring the area and lovely to be able to walk in the grounds of the Castle at any time."

    It would have been good to be told that a free visit to the Castle was included in the cost of the stay at the Lodge. The instructions for the key did not make it clear that the easiest lock to undo was the back door and not the front door after retrieving the key from the box by the front door! The air in the Lodge also felt stale as if windows had not been opened for a while and it took us a time to get a fresher feel to the place. It is a shame that we were not allowed to charge up our hybrid car from the mains. The electricity cost for this would have been minimal. The nearest charging place for us was in Banchory, too far for us to walk back to the Lodge, so consequently we had to use petrol .

    Many thanks for your feedback which has also been sent to the property team at Crathes. We do value all feedback as it helps us improve what we offer in our cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Naomi3.4Jul 2023

  • "The humans and dogs loved this cottage and the walks from the back door and huge garden to play in."

    A perfect base to tour Deeside from

    Reviewed by Trudi5.0Jun 2023

  • "The two persons bed is very small."

    Is this mentioned on the website?

    Thank you for your excellent scores. The bed is described as a double which is 4ft 6 in wide unfortunately the cottage is quite small and we cannot fit a king size bed in which is 5ft wide. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clara5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent stay at Crathes - the location was great for exploring the area - plenty to see."

    Lots of walks from the door. Good stay for our dogs too. Weather was chilly and so could have done with a bit more heating.

    Reviewed by Geoff4.4Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was lovely, and well presented."

    I think it could benefit with a log fire in the winter as the house has wo many draughts the radiators do struggle during a wet day if decided to stay in and saves money on the booster being put on as heating is on timer. I think the biggest problem is the hot water, again on timer but I never seemed to have any and the shower was next to useless I had a bit of hot to wash hair then it was barely warm, then getting out in a draughty cold bathroom even with heating on was not a great experience and I don't have heating at home so I should be used to this. It is very busy with dog walking but it nice to walk out the door on to many paths on the estate. I wouldn't stay in the winter again buy depending on the price may in summer.

    Thank you for your feedback which has been passed onto the property team at Crathes Castle. They are going to have the shower checked in case the heater element is failing, also ask a plumber to check all the heating. Thank you for your suggestion of adding a wood burner, we understand the chimney was blocked off years ago so that we will need to get advice about placement of a flue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline2.8Jan 2023

  • "The following are observations, not complaint’s."

    1) The front door is very draughty, making the small hallway very cold. The draught proofing is old and unfit for purpose. I would have thought a radiator ought to be fitted after draught proofing carried out, but well understand the upheaval that that would entail.Nevertheless coming in to warmth ought to make for better letting. 2) Heating stopping at 10pm on the coldest time of year, and at Hogmanay where our party stays up to see in the New Year is less than ideal.The sitting room door requires trimming to accommodate it’s new carpeting. 3) The bathroom would benefit from a glass with provision for toothbrushes. The shower doors do not close properly, and the shower itself is tepid - at best. Well appreciate scalding needs to be avoided, but I suggest NT of Scotland looks into this - there is no exaggeration for effect. 3) The bedroom with double bed does not latch, and it would make much more sense were the door swung the other way, opening against the wall ( right hand hung ) thus freeing up the whole room more efficiently. Would involve repositioning the light switch so your client may not want to, but I develop property and negotiating around the chest of drawers in a small room , in the dark, after a toilet visit would be altogether easier, in my opinion. The provision of wooden coat hangers c/w bar would be helpful, not the single type, the better to hang up male/ female trousers. There was one only wire hanger, and we are honest enough not to purloin !!

    Update - a new heating system is being installed in this cottage , guests are very welcome to adjust the thermostat or boost the heating if they so wish. Property Owner

    Reviewed by A5.0Dec 2022

  • "The cottage was nice and dating back to the mid 1800’s in a typical design."

    The main problem with our stay came was on arrival it was very cold; following the instructions for the heating, it appeared to be set for the summer months, which at the beginning of Nov was too frugal. The instructions for arrival showed the lodge to be on the right side of the drive, which is incorrect t, it is situated on the left immediately after the gate; this appears to be a common problem, of which we were informed on asking for directions from the n NTS staff. Overall the position is suitable for access to Aberdeen and travelling east into the Cairngorms National park.

    Many thanks for your feedback about the Lodge at Crathes Castle. We have checked all our directions that we have stored for the Lodge and we cannot find anything that says the cottage is on the right. We apologise that the Lodge wasn't pre-warmed for you, we assume that our cleaning staff forgot to amend the timer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.8Nov 2022

  • "We have had a really lovely holiday at East Lodge for the second year running and I can only say that the improvements made to the property since last year are very apparent."

    Everything was very clean and all appliances and the heating were very easy to use. Only two very small things:- the table lamp in the lounge STILL doesn’t work and that is 13 months on from our previous stay - it’s the switch that doesn’t work not the bulb. There is a distinct lack of shelf space in the bathroom and although it shows shelving on the website there isn’t any. We brought a small folding table with us this year as we found it so annoying to have no shelving. That said, these are very minor things and didn’t detract from our stay on this wonderful estate. Crathes has a very special place in our hearts and we are going home to book East Lodge again for next year.

    Many thanks for your feedback and great to read that you have noticed the changes we have made. We have reported the lamp to the team at Crathes and also asked if we can sort out some storage for toiletries. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Oct 2022

  • "East Lodge is a gorgeous quaint historic property on the Crathes Estate; it was marvellous staying on the estate surrounded by beautiful woods and the amazing castle with its lovely gardens."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our week and visited 2 other castles in the area, enjoyed local walks and took the bus to Aberdeen City. On the negative side, when we arrived at the property with lots of food for the week, we were dismayed to find there was no freezer just a tiny icebox which only partially froze the meat & frozen veg we had brought- customers need to be informed about this. Also the shower was partially blocked and water built up quickly in the shower tray, this need to be sorted. There was no information in the cottage about Crathes Castle, we bought a guidebook and left it in the cottage. Also a visitors book in which guests leave their comments on aspects of their holiday would be useful, all NT England properties have them.

    Many thanks for your feedback about East Lodge. We have asked a drain company come and look at the drainage for the cottage after your feedback. We have also asked the team at Crathes to look at the visitor information we provide in the cottage. Thank you so much for leaving the guide you bought. We are going to review how we present the visitor and cottage information in all our cottages over the winter. Feb 24 the fridge/freezer has been replaced and all our cottages have a new welcome folder. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Evert4.1Sep 2022

  • "It was lovely and where we wanted to be and a bonus that it was in the Crathes Castle grounds."

    It was comfortable and quiet and well-placed to get in and out of Aberdeen and to visit all that Deeside has to offer. A few minor negatives: We thought the decor was unnecessily dull, the kitchen especially. A bit of colour maybe? Less dark in the kitchen? We did also notice that the windows were in need of repair externally. The washing machine was too complicated. Internet would be good too. But we had a lovely stay and would heartily recommend it to others! Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback about East Lodge and the excellent scores you gave. The cottage has had some investment this year with a new kitchen with new appliances so it is unlikely we will have the budget to change the decor in the kitchen. It has also had a new suite, new carpet, decorated, new artwork. Work carried out on the exterior to improve the appearance of the Lodge and the immediate grounds. We are looking at offering wifi for all our cottages in the future. We have noted the comments about the windows and we will have them inspected. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2022

  • "The cottage looks lovely on the outside."

    The inside is a disappointment especialLy the bathroom is a sad place. It is very expensive for what you get! And it has NO internet plus phone signal is very poor aswell. I cannot recommend it as there are much mich nicer places in that price range. The only plus is the location with the beautiful woodland walks.

    Thank you for your feedback. The cottage has had some investment this year with a new kitchen with new appliances , new suite, new carpet, decorated, new artwork. Work carried out on the exterior to improve the appearance of the Lodge and the immediate grounds. Unfortunately we cannot do anything with the size of the bathroom as we cannot add an extension to a historic building. We do make it clear that there is no wifi at the property, we are going to look at the possibility of wifi in the future at all the National Trust for Scotland properties. update Feb 24 Wifi has now been installed, there is a good phone signal for Vodafone and EE. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katrin2.8Jul 2022

  • "This was a lovely little lodge."

    Whilst very expensive for what we got it was a lovely property in a gorgeous location. The lodge is small with only one small shower room. That said my hubby (& our two tiny dogs) found the living room comfy for chilling with our books of an evening. We did notice a few times the toilet didn’t stop running after flushing but a jiggle of the button stopped it. The bed was smaller than we are used to but comfy and so we slept well. I was pleased to find a hairdryer as you don’t always get one in cottages (though it would be nice to know in advance that it’s included to save bringing one). It’s a shame the garden area was not enclosed so we couldn’t let our dogs off lead but it was a lovely spot to sit out and have breakfast - picnic table most welcome for that. The best bit though was the location and the walks through the estate - the dogs loved it and even though we never managed to find our way back to the same path we started on we always found our way back to the lodge

    Many thanks for your feedback about East Lodge. The property was built as a Gate Lodge so not as spacious as a property built for the management of the estate back in the day. Thank you for bringing to our attention the toilet flush. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Jul 2022

  • "Lovely and historic cottage which has been modernised sympathetically, with brand new carpets and furniture."

    Very clean. Location was excellent for us with the kids and dog, we enjoyed the evening and early morning strolls around magnificent and historic grounds, close enough to the city and a lot of holiday attractions. Crathes Castle is well worth a visit, we also went up to the outdoor play park, and Castle visitor centre a few times for refreshments. Would love to come back.

    Many thanks for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crathes or one of the other NTS cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2022

  • "Directions to property where inaccurate and need correction asap."

    No information eg drs, dentist, pubs, restaurants, no WiFi patchy 4G so unable to look up details. No recycling bins or instructions to nearby facilities. No welcome note from housekeepers, few tea bags and milk. This is Scotland surely you could manage a pack of shortbread. No dirty linen bags so sheets towels had to be left piled on the floor.

    Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay at East Lodge. We have checked with the team and the information sheet had been removed for updating but had not been returned to the cottage. This has now been returned to the cottage. The welcome tray includes tea, coffee and milk in the fridge but we are going to review the welcome tray options in the next few months. Thank you for stripping the beds, the stripped linen could be left at the bottom of the bed and the used towels on the rail. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philippa3.8Jun 2022

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a beautiful setting at the entrance to Crathes Castle."

    We came with our dog and respected the rule about not allowing her on the furniture. The cottage was well equipped with basic items, such as milk, tea and coffee. The garden is not enclosed enough for a dog who likes to explore but it wasn’t a problem. Delightful to see a rabbit family early and late in the day. Great walks into the Crathes grounds after visitors had gone home. We would definitely recommend it!

    Thank you very much for the kind comments about East Lodge and Crathes castle. We would love to welcome you back at Crathes or any of the other NTS properties. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jun 2022

  • "Had a perfect 3 night stay."

    All fixtures and fittings in very good order throughout the property and the perfect place to stay to get away with the dog for a long weekend. Crathe estate walks all around and bus stop into town 50 meters away. We will come back.

    Many thanks for your kind comments re East Lodge. We have invested in the property over the past few months to improve the property. It is a great location for walks and for visiting all the other castles in the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rhyan4.1Apr 2022

  • "Lovely place to stay on the grounds of Crathes Castle."

    You can walk in the woods filled pines and towering trees, explore the manicured garden, stroll down to the Dee River, and enjoy marvelous meals at wonderful nearby eateries like The Falls of Feugh Restaurant. Just exquisite. But — no wifi. An unfortunate omission these days. Please update the place with internet access!

    Thank you for your feedback about your stay at East Lodge. Lovely to read that you appreciated the gardens. We have noted your comments about wifi and we are looking into it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gene4.7Mar 2022

  • "Outside of the property very slippy due to moss growing."

    Gutters leaking at the door so when raining you got very wet just getting into the cottage. Very cold in the living area, could do with another form of heating. Smelt damp but to be expected as it is an old property. Not an enclosed garden as there is no gate into the back garden and not enclosed area, fenced etc. No scissors, only 4 knives. Carpets look old and tired, sofas uncomfortable, I imagine just aged and support gone. Grounds are lovely, beautiful walks, our comments are a bit negative but with a little work, this could be a beautiful cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic some planned work has been delayed. We are currently putting a project together where improvements will be made to the property in the quieter months. Due to the popularity of East Lodge this year we have not had a suitable time to carry out the work. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are aware of the issues and are working towards improvement. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara2.8Oct 2021

  • "Good directions except the property is on the left as you drive through the gate."

    Lovely and warm on arrival. Well equipped kitchen with everything we needed. Bit of a damp smell but it is an old property and needs a bit Of general maintenance such as clearing the gutters. The sofas really need replacement as they weren’t very comfy. Excellent base to experience the walks around the estate. The hide is a must for viewing red squirrels and the castle and gardens are lovely.

    Reviewed by Caroline3.4Oct 2021

  • "Whilst we enjoyed our stay in Crathes we have to say that the lodge doesn’t quite look like the photos on the web site which must have been taken some time ago."

    It is looking a little tired and needs some TLC - paint flaking off above the window in the sitting room, carpet wrinkled, no cabinet in bathroom as in pics so just the windowsill to put things on. Outside needs a tidy up - window frames need painting, bushes outside lounge window need trimming as you can’t see out, outside light at back door not working etc. As other people have commented, there were no instructions for anything though everything was pretty straightforward. No welcoming touches - just a little welcome note would have been nice. As someone else commented, the directions are wrong - it is first on left, not first on right. Having said that the kitchen was very well-equipped and the lodge was clean and warm.

    Reviewed by Susan3.1Sep 2021

  • "Lovely place but do need opening windows!"

    Apart from that excellent thank you

    Reviewed by Lynda4.7Sep 2021

  • "We love Crathes, it is a fabulous location."

    We enjoyed staying at The Lodge which was basically comfortable but a few little improvements could be made, such as shelving or a unit in the bathroom (which actually shows in the photographs but isn’t there), there is nowhere but the floor to keep toiletries!! Many of the lights and lamps didn’t work and information on the appliances and heating would be useful although they were all easy enough to work. There was an ironing board but we couldn’t find an iron. Having said that we will definitely be booking to stay at The Lodge again, we had a great holiday there.

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Aug 2021

  • "Uncomfortable furniture, particularly sofas which are very soft, springs probably gone."

    Bathroom very small and nowhere to put anything. Carpets need replacing in lounge. Overpriced for standard.

    Thank you for your feedback. Just to update you we are looking at the budgets for the cottage and to refresh where necessary. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ray3.4Jul 2021

  • "Beautiful gatehouse cottage in the Crathes castle grounds."

    As previous comments there are no instructions on heating and Garden not enclosed .

    Thank you for your comments. We have noted that there needs to be heating instructions set out, we understand these were removed during close down/reopening so there were less items to clean and sanitise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Jul 2021

  • "This was our first experience with a puppy on holiday and it went exceptionally well, just one or two minor niggles."

    The garden was great for the dog but was not dog proof. consequently the dog could have run out onto the A93, The property was great and we had a really good break. highly recommend Sykes cottages very efficient at what they do.

    Great to read you enjoyed your holiday and we have noted the comment about the garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7May 2021

  • "Directions to the cottage, which were sent via email, were wrong."

    They stated that “The cottage is the first property on your right”. It’s actually the first property on the left.

    Thank you, directions now updated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1May 2021

  • "This was an excellent holiday for us for several reasons."

    The pictures and description of the cottage that Sykes provided proved to very accurately reflect the cottage and castle grounds. We found it cosy, full of atmosphere and looking pretty with all the surrounding spring flowers. Deeside is full of interest, we enjoyed exploring the valley, and took the opportunity to climb Lochnagar mountain, with it's covering of snow. The historic cottage proved to be well configured, and warm and cosy despite the early chilly spring weather. We would recommend that you make heating instructions available. We couldn't find any, but managed to figure the heating out on our first night. Would strongly recommend this cottage to walkers, golfers, families or couples, looking for a relaxing break in glorious surroundings.

    Thank you for your lovely comments, good to read that you found the cottage warm and cosy. The area is great for visiting castles, woodlands and walking. We have noted that the heating instructions need to be set out in the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all


  • All ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room
  • Oil-fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with picnic table
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.5 miles, pub 2.7 miles
  • Note: Access is via the front door which has a step, also at the rear door to the property
  • Note: The charging of electric vehicles is not permitted
  • Note: Dogs are not allowed on beds or any of the furniture, you may like to bring an old towel to wipe muddy paws
  • Note: The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here

The property

Banchory 3.6 miles.

Set against the dramatic backdrop of rugged hills and within historic grounds is East Lodge, a charming ground floor cottage found on the Crathes Castle estate.

Choose this impressive National Trust for Scotland lodge as your astounding base, entering the gothic estate through grand Victorian gates, amongst acres of the castle's extensive grounds.

Spend an evening of relaxation in the living/dining room, beautifully decorated with original arch latticed windows and neutral furnishings, before gathering at the dining table to enjoy a homemade meal.

Make use of the contemporary kitchen as a base to cook all your self-catered meals, equipped with all the necessary amenities, as well as a handy breakfast bar for more casual dining for two.

The beautiful bedrooms provide a tranquil place to rest your head; choose between a double and a twin, both with matching décor, bright and airy windows and ample storage.

Revel in a warming shower on a brisk autumn morning, the shower room preparing you for an action-packed day out with your loved ones.

Enjoy alfresco dining at the picnic table in the summer months.Spend a relaxing afternoon strolling around the Crathes Castle estate; dating back to 1323 when King Robert the Bruce yielded the lands of Leys to the Burnett family, there’s plenty of history to discover while meandering through the impressive gardens, home to yew hedges which were planted in 1702, and finding a unique range of wildlife around the 240 hectare estate via six marked trails, spotting buzzards, bats, roe deer and herons along the way.

See the wonder of Crathes Castle from its interior, with this extravagant property home to intricate mazes, tall towers, ancient turrets and antique paintings, being sure to watch out for the trip steps, made to confuse running attackers!

Thrill seekers will adore this corner of Scotland, where you can spend a day swinging through high ropes courses at Go Ape Aberdeen, found within the castle grounds, or take smaller children to the fun-filled Wild Wood Adventure Play.

Banchory town centre is just a car ride away, providing all the necessities you'll need, including a choice of shops, pubs, restaurants and takeaways, as well as a large golf course, parks and peaceful riverside walks.

Other attractions in the area range from steam train rides next to the River Dee at the Royal Deeside Railway, to coastal resorts found further afield at Cove Bay, Portlethen and Stonehaven.

Travel over to the city of Aberdeen for a vibrant day of cosmopolitan wonders, discovering the Aberdeen Maritime Museum, an Aberdeen Ghost Walk, plus vibrant bars and shopping experiences.

Further afield you can find the spectacular Craigievar Castle, also owned by the National Trust for Scotland, where you can find a wealth of history, armour and art immersed in the castle said to be the inspiration for Walt Disney’s Cinderella, while Leith Hall, Haddo House and Pitmedden Garden also lie just a short scenic drive away.

The royal holiday of your dreams awaits at the historic East Lodge.

EPC Rating: Band F

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: AS-00038-F

National Trust For Scotland

Whether searching for your next city to explore, or seeking a homely dwelling to relax in with your loved ones in rural surroundings, the wonderful collection of properties from National Trust for Scotland is sure to have something perfect for you. Discover the beauty of Scotland's two national parks and stunning countryside, with lots of properties catering to a wealth of outdoor pursuits to enjoy on your doorstep, with some featuring additional facilities for angling, field sports and cycling, making it easy to enjoy your stay to the fullest. Alternatively, immerse yourself in the lively city scenes of Scotland, with properties in and around Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Inverness and Glasgow, all teeming with historic sites, beautiful architecture and plenty of entertainment. Being Scotland's largest conservation charity, National Trust for Scotland has been able to beautifully preserve and renovate many historic buildings to offer unique holiday locations. With over two-million visitors each year across twenty-seven castles and great houses, forty-six munros, thirty-five major gardens and designed landscapes, and seven national nature reserves, National Trust for Scotland has something for everyone. Each property is equipped with all you need for a self-catered stay, with kitchens complete with essential appliances and more, dining areas to come together for hearty meals, and many sitting rooms boasting open fires or woodburning stoves to settle down in front of, not to mention elegant bedrooms and sparkling bathrooms where you can feel refreshed. Bring your canine companion along with you to some of the properties, and keep up to date with the world via the WiFi connections offered in most cottages. With more and more people discovering the beauty and allure of Scotland every year, ensure your stay is special with a National Trust for Scotland cottage.

View on map

About the location


Aberdeen 15 miles.

Banchory is an attractive Scottish town lying approximately 15 miles west of Aberdeen on the banks of the River Dee. It is a vibrant and well serviced town and nearby Crathes Castle is a popular tourist attraction and is considered to be one of the most superb castles in Scotland. The castle is open all year and owned by the National Trust for Scotland. Banchory boasts its own golf club with a driving range, mountain bike trails and a skatepark near the centre of the town. Of course, the River Dee offers excellent fishing opportunities and permits can be obtained locally. The pleasant high street has a supermarket and a fascinating mixture of shops where finding that special holiday souvenir will be easy.

Note: The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas