Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • Manadwyn - Anglesey - 1008914 - photo 1


(Ref. 1008914)

Menai Bridge, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (33)
  • location (31)
  • no (31)
  • property (26)
  • stay (21)
  • out (17)

78 Customer Reviews

  • "We loved staying in such an iconic property and learning about its history."

    Manadwyn is a very cosy homely place with amazing views along the Menai Straits. We were fascinated by the changing tides and the boats and kayaks navigating them. We walked to Church Island and into Menai Bridge and along the road to the beaches at Newborough. This a special house and was great for our family gathering.

    Reviewed by Marjorie4.7Apr 2024

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Manadwyn."

    What an experience to stay in such an amazing property with stunning views! The house was clean, cosy and warm. Had everything we needed. Manadwyn has a comfortable relaxed feel, perfect for our annual family get together in beautiful North Wales. Would love to come back again one day.

    Reviewed by Anwen5.0Feb 2024

  • "I am so sorry to say how disappointed I was with our stay."

    It was our 50 wedding anniversary and the first thing we did was wash all the wine glasses as they were gungy.The dust was everywhere like our arrival wasn't important and the television was not working, we did report this and it was sorted while we were out but after switching of that night it didn't work again.The outside furniture was wobbly and in need of repair,I did hate to day all these things and have thought long and hard about it but no for the money we did not feel it was good

    Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear you found the wine glasses grubby and some dust. I have passed this on to our cleaning company who I know will attend to this as they are, by a country mile, the best housekeepers on Anglesey. The TV issue is noted.  We replace tired garden furniture when the summer begins as it does indeed take a battering from the elements due to its beachfront position. With regards to value for money we price Manadwyn very competitively compared to similar properties. Demand is so high that we could easily charge more but we choose not to do so in order to maintain a fair price proposition.  Added to this in the  last 10 years of holiday letting we have consistently maintained one of the highest repeat visitor percentages in the Menai Holidays property portfolio. Best regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith2.5Feb 2024

  • "The whole property felt like it needed a little tlc."

    The towels were mismatched and very very small. The curtains were all a bit tatty. The outdoor area needed sprucing up. There was a bizarre leak in one of the downstairs bedrooms. The kitchen tablecloth was stained and tatty. TV very old …very difficult to work and in an unusual position. The fire kept going out despite having a wood burner ourselves we could not work out the issue. Does the chimney need cleaning perhaps? Beds were comfy. The whole place quirky and in an amazing location.

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry you’ve experienced a leak, we would have attended to this immediately had we been alerted during your stay. To confirm the chimney is in good working order if used correctly, it does occasionally go out if damp logs are used or if it is extremely windy outside. We use standard size towels and try to vary the colours slightly as guests share bathrooms so generally prefer this. We are glad you enjoyed the location and hope to welcome you again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria4.1Jan 2024

  • "Bit of a mixed bag."

    Can't fault the views and the location, but the property needs some attention and more explicit details in the listing of how many steps there are both inside and outside the property. The place to park your car is on a slope, and when it snows or is icy, getting your car off the car space, onto the road requires two people to push your car (as we found out when trying to leave to go home...) Pros- the settees are comfortable, kitchen well equipped. Cons - no teatowels or oven glove provided, which was rectified when I rang housekeeping. Upstairs toilet flush was broken, we reported this to Menai holidays rep when they did a courtesy call on the 2nd day, no one came to fix it. The place to park your car is a nightmare in winter weather. A supply of grit would be helpful. The downstairs double bed frame is rickety. It's metal and every movement makes it clang. Sliding door to outside decking is temperamental- you have to sort of push upwards while you slide to close it or it gets stuck. Downstairs bathroom is very very cramped. Getting in and out of the bath for a shower requires quite some balance! Something that shocked me, but nothing the owners can do about, is the amount of sewage in the menai straits. Everyday there was toilet paper and waste floating by. Steps, steps, steps - inside and out. I hate writing less than glowing reviews, but it was a very mixed bag. The views saved the week, but the trying to get onto the road experience to go home was horrendous.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had issues in the snow. We have added a note to the property description to advise that it is a steep driveway best note used in snow. We are very clear in the property description that there are many steps, it is unsuitable for mobility-challenged guests and that the downstairs shower room is very small. FYI housekeeping was alerted to the flush button but told that this was an ‘FYI’ and did not need fixed immediately. Not wishing to disturb you they returned on changeover day to rectify this. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful views and hope to welcome you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vicky3.4Jan 2024

  • "Fabulous location property a little tired"

    Reviewed by Mandy3.4Dec 2023

  • "An excellent property for a family get together, superb location on the Menai Straights, below Thomas Telfords suspension bridge."

    Comfortable and quirky at the same time, cant fault it.

    Reviewed by Martin4.1Nov 2023

  • "Absolutely loved our stay, views are to die for, had a fantastic week, thanks very much"

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Sep 2023

  • "Please thank the Housekeeper who was lovely ."

    The house is immaculate and we felt outside whilst inside with the breathtakingly beautiful views across the Straits .Manadwyn is a restful place and we felt at home instantly. It was a great base for beaches , Snowdonia and steam trains . We visited Treadurr Bay which was lovely for rock pools , and found starfish ,crabs on the beach below the house with our 10 year old son. ‘One of the comfiest beds I’ve slept in ‘ according to him . We would love to go back Diolch

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Sep 2023

  • "Wonderful house, unbeatable views."

    Two of our family even managed a few swims from the beach. We spent a very happy week in this idyllic setting . Watching the birds, fishermen and boats was brilliant entertainment along side observing the changes to land and sea with each tide.

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Sep 2023

  • "Manadwyn was a perfectly placed 4 bedroomed accommodation exactly as described."

    It was clean, comfortable, especially the beds. To help improve the experience I would replace the outdoor furniture on the upper deck which is warped and unsteady. The lower deck planking is showing small holes but still very safe and sturdy. We all enjoyed Manadwyn which is why we have rebooked in 2024. Great place to unwind and relax. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Sep 2023

  • "I think the position of the property was beautiful."

    The upstairs bedrooms are lovely. Not keen on the downstairs as there was a lot of mould spores on the floor which I was not impressed with. Especially when my children slept in there. It is a bit dicey with a the steps so not suitable for people with any disability. However I enjoyed the scenery.

    Thank you for your review. We agree, the property is definitely not suitable for guests with mobility issues as per our property description. I'm sorry that you found the lino stained- this was recently replaced and is disinfected thoroughly over each changeover. Perhaps it will need replacing again soon- thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm glad you enjoyed the stunning views that the unique location of the property offers. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ruth3.1Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay again."

    It’s a very special place.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Manadwyn and the property has not lost the magic of your previous visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Feb 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, and it lived up to our expectations."

    Although some reviews say that it is tired and needs a revamp, we found it to be fine. Yes, some furniture could do with being replaced in the near future(settee),but when it is in constant use, what do people expect. The kitchen was well equipped, and the beds were very comfortable, and the location was awesome. Only bad point was that no logs were left for the log burner & the garage up the road was out of stock on our first day. We would certainly have no qualms about visiting again. Thanks

    Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be accurate to it's description. It is a much loved and used home, however our housekeeping team strive to maintain the property to a high standard. Apologies that no logs were left out for your visit, we too had found it difficult to source any over the Christmas period and will make sure we stock up prior to the busy period in future. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Jan 2023

  • "AMAZING - didn’t want to leave."

    We loved everything about the property from the decor to the breathtaking views. The beds were all comfy and the house was lovely and warm. We would love to stay at your property in the summer and would recommend it to all. In fact you may have a few more visitors from down South after them seeing the photos we posted of the property.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed both our property and the unique location. We would love to welcome you back in the summer to experience the changing sea views and local environment, thank you for sharing! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Dec 2022

  • "Fabulous location Furnishings looking very tired"

    Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy3.8Dec 2022

  • "Lovely property with outstanding views."

    Improvements needed: Main settee has collapsed on one end - needs replacing asap. One of the ovens didn’t work, which we were informed of the day before we went, but I notice that other guests have mentioned oven issues in the past so disappointed this hadn’t been sorted. TV system, you need a PhD in electronics to work out how you get these to work. Got there eventually but never did manage to get the TV in the bedroom to work. Very complicated. Fence on the steps down to the front door was broken - one panel on the floor. So some general maintenance and TLC needed but as always the location and views make up for it.

    Thank you for your feedback from your visit. It is a shame that you did not contact us until the day before you left about the oven as we could have rectified this situation. We had already purchased a new oven but there was no window in between back-to-back bookings to fit it before you arrived. We did not want to inconvenience you by fitting it during your holiday and, as there was a second oven, we assumed that would be ok. Thank you for alerting us to the damaged arm of the sofa which was fixed after your stay (and we have a new one on order for the new year) and the fence post blown down by the storm has also been put back. There are clear instruction labels stuck onto both the remote controls, and also instructions in the file. I am glad you enjoyed the views and hope we can welcome you back to Anglesey again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeremy3.4Nov 2022

  • "Very comfortable accommodation for six adults in a beautiful setting."

    Maintenance issues were very quickly dealt with, thank you. Parking at the accommodation is somewhat limited. Very good restaurants and cafés within easy walking distance and a very well stocked supermarket is close by but you do need a torch at night!.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed the beauty of the area, and found the property comfortable. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.4Nov 2022

  • "Amazing position with stunning views of the Straits."

    Property is really unique and whilst it is showing some wear and tear it is still a great place to stay. Really cosy with the wood burner and the central heating did a great job on some very chilly days. Great location for walking, either to the two pubs 5 mins away, the centre of Menai or further afield to Beaumaris using the coastal path. Great few days away and would definitely recommend the property.

    Reviewed by Jon4.4Nov 2022

  • "After reading recent reviews - broken bottom oven, dodgy toaster and a corner sofa that has seen better days."

    Although I agree, to a certain degree, the positives totally out way this amazing place! It’s jaw dropping from the moment you enter it! This place is just beautiful, the views, the location, just perfect! Everything was clean. Lots of comfortable beds. Well equipped! I didn’t want to leave!! Hoping we will all be back to celebrate more family Birthdays in the future. Or maybe win the lottery and put an offer in on the place

    Reviewed by Nikki4.7Nov 2022

  • "The location and view are fantastic."

    The main living area is a great place to spend time and watch the sea. The bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and cosy but not luxurious. I liked the many stairs and multiple levels, but its something to be aware of if you have very young or very old with you. Kitchen was very well equipped. Whole party really enjoyed staying here.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.1Oct 2022

  • "Great location and views."

    However poor lighting outside. We arrived after dark and found it very difficult to work key box. Steps were covered in wet leaves proving a trip hazard. Outside areas not swept therefore disappointing and bins were overflowing from previous occupier. TV difficult to operate. Property was tired and overpriced.

    Thank you for your comments. With regard to the outside we do endeavour to keep the leaves cleared regularly however you arrived after a particularly stormy period and apologies if there had been a downfall that had not been cleared. For safety and convenience reasons we have sensor lighting installed by the key box and down the stairs to the front door, however we do acknowledge that this is not the easiest access which is why we clearly state that Manadwyn is not a suitable property for guests with any mobility restrictions . We have a private arrangement with a refuse company who empty a full wheelie bin every week, however sometimes this does not coincide with arrival day, particularly with short breaks. Thank you for your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by R3.8Oct 2022

  • "We had the most amazing time!"

    The house was perfect in every way. Couldn’t have asked for anything more, very well equipped cosy and warm. Very clean and very well presented throughout. We are already planning to book again.

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had to leave the cottage after two days due to pet hair and damp causing allergies."

    There was pet hair on the sofas and a general damp and dusty smell. We could not use the cottage as my mine and my daughters allergies were so reacting so severely. We had to run all cutlery, dishes and glasses through the dishwasher as they were not clean. The corner sofa was appalling and needs replacing. The damp smell hits you as soon as you descend to the lower bwdeooms. This is all such a shame as the views were outstanding.

    Reviewed by Debbie3.4Aug 2022

  • "Wonderful location and great facilities."

    Reviewed by Graham4.7Jun 2022

  • "Love the property but looking tired."

    Fridge and toaster broken quickly replaced by housekeeping. No batteries in TV remotes and main TV needs replacing as it's so old and not a smart TV.

    Thank you for visiting Manadwyn. We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the fridge & toaster. Fortunately we have an excellent housekeeping team who attended to this immediately. They would have replaced the remote control batteries had they been asked to (we do keep spare batteries on-site). Please note both TVs were purchased within the last 2 years and are both smart TVs. We hope we can welcome you to Manadwyn again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pamela2.8May 2022

  • "It’s a stunning location and the properties rooms are eclectic and comfy enough."

    Facilities in kitchen etc were fine, though food had been left in cupboards so we didn’t use it as thought that was meant to all be taken away? Possibly missed by cleaners as some places were dusty, or not hoovered. The downstairs rooms are cold at this time of year. Thermostat is upstairs on landing so top house gets warm and consequently the heat cuts out and downstairs radiators don’t get chance to heat up. Would book again, though wouldn’t use Sykes who treated us pretty shabbily during lockdown

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Mar 2022

  • "We had a fabulous stay here ."

    .the views are outstanding. The light streaming in to the house from all the windows is beautiful too. We can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Mar 2022

  • "Hi, we really enjoyed our stay."

    Our only feedback would be that some of the furnishings need updating such as the couch and curtains. Outside area could do with tidying up. The trees etc. the house is in an amazing spot and otherwise really comfortable and we had everything we needed.

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Mar 2022

  • "Our stay at Menadwyn was wonderful."

    The property was very well equipped and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed reading the info about the history of the building, and the photos displayed were lovely. We had lovely walks direct from the property, and even more to explore just a short drive away. It is ideally situated, with a supermarket and dog friendly pub within easy walking distance, so this made for a very relaxing holiday. It was a privilege to stay, and we would love to return. The following is just feedback for the owner and not for publication: the hot water is very hot, so perhaps it could be turned down a little. Also many apologies that we left our sack of dog food behind and you will have had to dispose of it - we did not realise we had forgotten it until we got home!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Feb 2022

  • "We couldn’t use the main oven and the door of the top oven seemed very loose."

    Not great with a house that sleeps 8. Not sure the house had been cleaned before we got there? there was a few sweet wrappers on the floor? and there were a pair of men’s underwear in the wardrobe downstairs upon arrival.

    Reviewed by Fiona4.1Feb 2022

  • "This was our 10 stay at the house, I did email when we stayed in November."

    So glad to see more plates, cups and a new dishwasher. We have booked again and my family who came with me will also book for next year. We had a fabulous weekend and once again the weather was kind to us. Thank you

    Thank you for visiting again and for your kind comments. We appreciated your feedback from your last visit and have been actioning many improvements, as you have noted. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keeley5.0Jan 2022

  • "Location was superb."

    The situation of the property on the waterfront is 2nd to none and the proximity to the coastal path and Menai town is excellent. The space in the property is also excellent, lots of places to sit and and lots of beds to accommodate a larger group than we had. What was disappointing was the fit and finish of the property. It was tired and in need of a refresh, certainly at the prices charged. Kitchen and appliances are old. Bathrooms are cheap. Cheap Lino floor in downstairs bedrooms and bathrooms. Bedroom chest of draws, cupboards are old. Outside space offers great views, but old benches, astro turf laid badly. Attention to detail also lacking. The handbook is very out of date. Log's for the woodburner not provided (says it is in the handbook). Dog poo left outside. The property needs some of the profits reinvesting to bring this back to a 5 star listing.

    Reviewed by Peter3.1Dec 2021

  • "This is a tough one."

    This is our second visit to MANADWYN. We were there two years back. As we all know it’s iconic, unique, scenic with a stunning position, etc. etc. But here’s the tough bit it’s getting (has got) tatty around the edges. Blinds that won’t go up, and are stained, curtain hooks missing and the TV that essentially does not work (it didn’t two years ago either) . There’s clearly NO encouragement to use the wood burning stove (no wood) and it was needed in November. We tried to light it two years back and failed. This feedback feels petty because we feel privileged to be staying at MANADWYN, but to be honest it’s BIG ££££ any time of the year so it should be immaculate and it’s not. PS The 7 feedback score is for SYKES.

    Thank you for revisiting Manadwyn and for your valued feedback. We have purchased more curtain hooks and the blinds are all working now. The TVs do work - they are new smart TVs (not the same ones as on your first visit) but occasionally guests the previous week adjust the settings. We do provide a housekeeping phone number on arrival so that any issues can be (very simply) remedied straight away. The wood-burning stove is laid from the beginning of December through the winter and a basket of logs is provided for your first night. King Regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cath3.8Nov 2021

  • "We have used this property 9 times and we have booked to come back again next year, once in January and again in November."

    We love the the property but we found that there is a few points that I need to share. The lack of cooking pans, plates, cup, champagne glasses& other sets of. Ice glasses. chipped plates,cups & cracked glasses. Toilet seat needs replacing in main toilet. Dishwasher doesn’t work and leaves marks on dishes even after we cleaned the bottom out of old food. Not enough serving bowls if you wanted to present food. Not enough t towels, not enough logs. Games to play most pieces were missing: maybe need to look and update. Maybe some cushions for outside benches. Tv : we struggled to get live tv on, should be a manual. Oven: again if we hadn’t been before struggle to get the oven on. Should have a manual. I also feel that a 9am checkout needs to be looked at. We have stayed in holiday homes this year and the checkin and check out have been as follows : check in 3pm and a 10am checkout.

    Thank you for your many visits to Manadwyn and for your feedback. We have now replaced all the crockery and a full complement of new glassware arrives this week. We have had the dishwasher serviced and, in light of its age, also ordered a new one and the loo seat has been fixed. One towel is provided per guest plus hand towels and a basket of logs for the first night (this is standard practice in holiday cottages). We have now changed the checkout to 10 am. Sadly we cannot change the 5pm check-in as we are often booked back to back so this 7 hour window is essential to address any issues that may have arisen the previous week. Thank you again for staying at Manadwyn. Best regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keeley3.8Nov 2021

  • "We had a fabulous stay at Manadwyn."

    We had everything we needed & the views are stunning. I can't think of anywhere better to chill out & relax with friends. It's so quiet & peaceful yet only a short walk to pubs & shop so perfect for eating out or cooking. Definitely recommend staying at Manadwyn.

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Sep 2021

  • "This property is special."

    The combination of the location (which is stunning and very peaceful) and the history, just make this such a special place to stay, its is after many years of hiring properties for holiday, my absolute favorite. I am sorry to say though, that whoever is managing the property on the owners behalf are letting them down. The L shaped sofa, and the mattresses in the lower ground floor bedroom are beyond their sell by date, one of the baths was not very clean (black sludge actually came out of the tap in the upstairs bathroom, went away quick enough) and there were no logs in the basket for the fire (it didn't get chilly until our 2nd to last night and only noticed then that there were no logs, it was outside of the time you could contact the housing keeping so we just went and got our own). This property is wonderful and it just needs that little bit of love and care to get it to excellent. I would of rebooked this property for next year, however, the price for the same time of year has gone up by over £600. Such a shame as no doubt myself and other people who have previously stayed here now can't afford it and with things just showing a bit of wear and tear it seems a little bit on the cheeky side but I guess after the pandemic profits are down. I have stayed at another property on the strait with awesome views and location and they are charging a similar amount but the property is exceptionally equipped with terrific beds, tv's in everyone rooms with Sky and Netflix. It feels that because of the properties location its felt that not too much attention needs to be paid to replacing things or offering more facilities because people will be swept away by the view. If you are reading this, it is a very special place to stay but don't expect 5 star facilities - this is more of a character property.

    Reviewed by Lisa3.1Jun 2021

  • "The accommodation was good with views out of every window, it did say about the stairs but we got by(had the in-laws with us o a p 's) but over all a very relaxing 4 days, the bins and recycling never got removed from the week before or why we was there but put that down to it being a bank holiday!"

    just wish the weather was better for May .

    Reviewed by Stuart4.7May 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday, both adults and children were entranced by its position, everything was very clean and in good order and we were fascinated to watch the tide come in and lap round the cottage."

    There was just one slight disadvantage that the bathroom on the lower floor was a bit small all round and entry in the relatively restricted area may be better facilitated by removing the water sky attached to the outer side of the door.

    Reviewed by Philip4.4Apr 2021

  • "Manadwyn is a fantastic property in a brilliant location and we thoroughly enjoyed our week staying there."

    The views from the property are superb and we spent lots of time sitting on the balcony, soaking up the sun and watching the world go by. There were only 5 of us staying in the property so we had everything we needed. However, it can accommodate up to 10 which would, I think, pose a problem with the small main bathroom and the tiny shower room downstairs. We did have a few small issues, for example there wasn't a key to open the patio doors in the master bedroom, the TV in the downstairs bedroom didn't work, and there were only 3 wine glasses! However, these were minor issues and didn't cause us any problems, just things that could easily be fixed for the future. Overall, I would say this is a fantastic place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Sep 2020

  • "Have already sent feedback on Manadwyn and you said you would forward my complaints to the owner Thankyou"

    Reviewed by Ann3.1Aug 2020

  • "The cottage is unique, it’s position, views and living area."

    The kitchen is well stocked and we enjoyed the family feel of the cottage. We were a little disappointed with the showers, not easy to “get right”we didn’t find a hairdryer. We enjoyed reading the history of the cottage , we felt lucky to be allowed to stay there.

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Mar 2020

  • "Lovely property with fab views and very big inside."

    Large kitchen but a tea towel would have been useful luckily I took one. A welcome pack would have been nice. The house would be lovely in the Summer as large decking to sit out with great views Good parking for one car. Heating worked great as it was cold weather. Take toilet trolls as we were only left 2 and we were there 3 nights. Plenty of soft towels and good bedding. We enjoyed our stay and would return again

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Feb 2020

  • "Wonderful Home, Fantastic Views, Idyllic."

    We were a party of 8, and all had a fabulous time, even though we were hit by Storm Ciara, nothing perturbed. All of the rooms were cosy, and the log fire was a welcome treat in the evening. Our grandchildren loved the bedroom in the basement and the kitchen had everything we needed. So close to some great restaurants, we visited Dylans to celebrate a 60th birthday and the food and service was second to non. We will definitely be back, and would recommend this home, 100%.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Feb 2020

  • "Beautiful holiday home in an incredible location."

    Would definitely recommend & will stay there again.

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Nov 2019

  • "I have stayed here twice before with friends so knew what to expect."

    Great property, great location, breath taking views all in all a wonderful place to chill out and relax with friends and family

    Reviewed by Cathy4.4Nov 2019

  • "Love Menai holidays."

    We use them every year. Never fail to impress

    Reviewed by Jayne4.7Oct 2019

  • "Let’s be clear."

    ..what an iconic property, absolutely unique with quite possibly one of the best views and outlook in the UK.... maybe in the World. A different ‘scene’ every time you looked out regardless of the weather. It was an absolute privilege to be able to stay for a week. Slight negatives, very iffy and temperamental Wi-Fi connectivity and no sight of recycle ♻️ boxes. Bins (outside on the road) full to overflowing.

    Reviewed by Dai4.4Oct 2019

  • "The most amazing holiday cottage thank you we will definitely stay again"

    Reviewed by Natalie4.1Aug 2019

  • "2nd time we’ve stayed at Manadwyn fantastic location and perfect place to enjoy our holiday."

    Also had excellent service from Sam at Menai Holidays.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2019

  • "The only real ' downside ' to this property is the ' bathroom ' on the lower level, but the location of Manadwyn makes up for it ."

    Reviewed by Lynn3.8May 2019

  • "This is a beautifully quirky property in a stunning location."

    We spent a very comforatble week here and would throughly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7May 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, location & views, however kitchen equipment random, no logs, exit tired in places"

    Elizabeth KnapperMar 2019

  • "This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Manadwyn and it was just as impressive."

    Very comfortable with all that you would need. The views are spectacular. The lounge has lots of room and a lovely log burner for cold evenings. Would highly recommend and we are hoping to book again next year.

    Jane PocockFeb 2019

  • "Wow..."

    .. Cannot explain in words how stunning this place is. Everything we imagined and more. Wish to go back. Perfect setting next to the Menai straight for a family break. Amazing!

    Lesley SlaterJan 2019

  • "Beautiful place, shabby chic, a bit lived in , felt homely , fabulous position and felt privileged to have spent time there."

    Views amazing!

    Dec 2018

  • "Excellent would go again !"

    Janet QuarmbyNov 2018

  • "Fabulous location, great property, just afew little niggles - bins put out late the week before so full when we arrived, need to change clock batteries!"


    Nov 2018

  • "The views, the location of the cottage on the Straits, the quirky structure and the interior décor were just "wow"."

    We loved this place and felt so at home that we really didn't want to leave. We were so fortunate to have stayed at such an iconic and historical cottage. Housekeeping was to an excellent standard. A few store cupboard essentials would have been useful such as tea bags, salt and pepper (mills if possible). Accepting that Waitrose is conveniently just up the road however for arrival it would have been helpful. Working clocks would also be useful.

    Sher KilgourNov 2018

  • "The cottage was unique it welcomes you and the sea views give it added interest"

    Andrew LewisNov 2018

  • "Fascinating property views to die for."

    Linda CareyOct 2018

  • "Excellent location and a quirky house."

    Very tired interior, setties and carpets very shabby and dirty. Outside furniture rotten and very little of it considering the house sleeps 12. Unfortunately the drain smell outside the front door is absolutely awful. The bins weren’t emptied so also the smell was terrible on the front drive. The house has a fantastic vista, but the owners need to spend some money on it as for the weekly rental it should be far better.

    Pamela GreenwoodSep 2018

  • "Manadwyn provides the perfect setting to relax and unwind."

    Liz SmallwoodAug 2018

  • "A lovely cottage in a spectacular location."

    Phil & Joanne BrownAug 2018

  • "First visited in the 60's when there was no electricity!"

    Lovely then. Situation will always be beautiful, facilities excellent.

    John MooreJun 2018

  • "Fantastic setting spent most of the holiday sitting on the decking overlooking Menai Straits plan to rebook next year"

    David WilliamsJun 2018

  • "The cottage’s location is outstanding but the quality of the furniture and fittings inside was very poor."

    The chairs are worn, dirty and have springs coming through. The garden benches on the terraces were broken, there was no bottle opener or whisk in the kitchen, no basket of logs as advised was included. As I said the views and the location will always keep people coming back but The fixtures/fittings do not match up.

    Jun 2018

  • "This is a good quality holiday home in a great location with stunning views."

    Sadly, it is not being well-maintained. The frying pans were so grubby we had to go out and buy one to use during our stay. Outside on the all-important decking with the stunning views, the patio furniture is in a very sorry state. One 2-person bench on the upper level has completely collapsed; another 2-person bench on the lower level is on its last legs and about to follow suit. There are no tables on the lower decking and no patio umbrellas to protect you from the sun. Two of the four TV remotes were not working when we arrived. One needed new batteries (which we had to purchase); the other was kaput and had to be replaced. Neither of the property's two clocks were working when we arrived. The one in the kitchen needed a new battery (which we had to purchase); the large, ornate one on the stairs remained "out of order" throughout our stay despite us mentioning it to the caretaker when he came to check the TV remotes. One of the lamps in the lounge is broken and its shade is being held together with Blutak. Several lights in the property (inside & out) are not working and need new bulbs. The paintwork in the lounge needs re-doing. It has been badly "patched up" to disguise scuff marks and looks very shoddy. The woodwork on the outside decking is beginning to rot in places, and is badly in need of either a thorough spruce up (re-varnishing) or completely replacing. Finally, the washing machine and tumble dryer both need a thorough clean.

    Phil GriffinMay 2018

  • "Great cottage right on the Menai river with fantastic views."

    Would definitely stay there again.

    Julia ForemanMay 2018

  • "Furniture old and uncomfortable."

    Geoffrey WilcockMar 2018

  • "Emailed photos to menai."

    the house is in need of deep clean.and things need replacing such as.. roasting/frying pans. all furniture in lounge is sunken, lumpy bumpy and very uncomfortable.

    Jennifer CalvertJan 2018

  • "Good house for a large group, in beautiful surroundings."

    Dec 2017

  • "Sunning house in a truly unique position."

    We would love to visit again but only if the property has been deep cleaned and some of the soft furnishings replaced. Rugs, sofa covers, cushions were all stained. Bathroom accessories not clean and had to be removed. Kitchen drawers had not been cleaned in a while. This property would benefit if brought up to the standard of Unique Home Stays. It deserves to be at this level.

    Dec 2017

  • "Unique..."

    Unique doesn't quite cut it however, but then.... that's Manadwyn for you!

    Nov 2017

  • "As always, the location is special but very minor issues mean it's not 5 stars"

    Hywel EvansOct 2017

  • "We loved the house - it was in an amazing situation."

    Sep 2017

  • "Beautiful cottage amazing views and perfect location"

    Anne WaltonAug 2017

  • "Great location."

    Limited parking only real disadvantage.

    Jul 2016

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Four bedrooms: 3 x double, 1 x twin with additional bunks suitable for children of 12 and under (Bunks are not made up)
  • Family bathroom with bath and shower over, WC and handwash basin
  • Compact shower room with microbath and shower over, WC and handwash basin
  • Kitchen is to the side of the sitting room with dining area and breakfast bar, fridge freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, double oven, microwave, toaster
  • Sitting room with sofas and chairs, log burner, freeview TV
  • Outside the sitting room and master bedroom is a balcony with bench seating
  • A staircase leads up to a roof terrace with table and chairs
  • Parking for one car.
  • Pub and amenities within a 5 minute walk
  • Sea views, off road parking, initial supply of kindling and fuel for fire, bed linen and towels provided, travel cot, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, off road parking
  • PLEASE NOTE: The bunk beds are not made up
  • There is parking for one car at the property
  • Additional parking can be found further along the lane that leads under the Menai Suspension Bridge
  • 1 well behaved dogs welcome
  • Note: The WiFi can be intermittent at this property due to the location

The property

Built into the cliffside, and overhanging the water at high tide, staying in Manadwyn holiday house feels like setting sail on a ship.

Virtually all the windows look out to sea.

You will be enchanted by the ever changing views of the moving tides, boats and wildlife throughout the day.

The hub of this open plan family space is the sitting room which is on the middle floor.

Here you can sink into the sofas, relax with the electric log burner, gaze out to the famous Menai Strait and keep tabs on the boats bobbing up and down on this unique waterway. The kitchen is to the side of the sitting room and has a super little dining area and breakfast bar with a big window. Above the sitting room are two double bedrooms with king size beds, one with sliding glass doors opening out onto the terrace.

Between the two double bedrooms there is a family bathroom with loo, hand basin and bath with shower over. On the bottom floor are two further bedrooms.

One twin with bunk beds suitable for children 12 years and under.

It is painted in bright colours, furnished with bean bags and a TV.

PLEASE NOTE: The bunk beds are not normally made up and need to be requested when booking.

The final room has a standard double bed.

The bed is placed so you can turn your head on your pillow and look out to the water. The lower floor has a compact shower room (restricted height) with a micro bath with a shower over, loo and corner wash basin. There is parking for one car at the property.

Additional parking can be found further along the lane that leads under the Menai Suspension Bridge. Outside the sitting room and master bedroom is a balcony with bench seating.

A staircase leads up to a roof terrace with table and chairs and spectacular views of the Menai Strait. There is no place I would rather be than sitting on the balcony or roof terrace with my coffee, watching the birds dip in and out of the glistening flecks of the sea against the backdrop of the spectacular Britannia Bridge. You could even arrange for Rib Ride to pick you up and run you and your guests down the Menai Strait to the Gazelle or Dylan's restaurant in Menai Bridge, before heading off to Puffin Island to watch the seals. This is an unusual multi-level house - you will arrive to a doorway on the roof!

It is designed to take full advantage of the magnificent surroundings.

The rooms have all been styled with an eclectic mix of vintage finds, shabby chic and contemporary furniture, complemented by a carefully selected combination of marine themed accessories, artwork and mementos - including original water skis from the 1950s.

Manadwyn's unrivalled character will ensure you have a truly memorable holiday here.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Llanfairpwllgwyngyll 2 miles; Bangor 2.5 miles; Beaumaris 4.5 miles; Caernarfon 8 miles

This delightful town sits right on the edge of the Isle of Anglesey and is home to one of two bridges to mainland Wales. It is an ideal base for a holiday and is great for exploring this beautiful island. It has a strong history which can be discovered in the Menai Bridge Heritage Museum, the well known Saint Tysilio lived on Church Island, just off of Anglesey in the 7th century, hence the name of the 15th century St. Tysilio's Church. Menai Bridge itself offers a good range of shops, pubs and restaurants to enjoy. In terms of entertainment, this is an ideal spot with something for everybody, there is the butterfly palace 'Pili Palas' which is incredibly popular with families, as well as the astounding Plas Cadnant Hidden Gardens well worth a walk around. The Snowdonia National Park is within driving distance for you outdoor enthusiasts, it has wonderful walking, cycling and opportunities to see some beautiful sights. Nearer to the town, there are some incredible places including the popular towns of Beaumaris and Caernarfon with their majestic castles and much more to do.

View more holiday cottages in Menai Bridge

Note: It is guests' responsibility to ensure that every care is taken to manage the risks and dangers associated with the location of the property and so protect themselves and those staying from loss, injury or death. Most particularly, the house has not been designed for ease of use or safety for parties with small children or persons with any mobility restrictions. Please be advised that the balcony for this property directly overhangs water and rocks, therefore, caution should be taken at all times and children should be supervised. Please use common sense at all times when at this property due to the risks associated.
Note: Due to the configuration of the downstairs area this property is only suitable 8 maximum and please be aware that the bunk beds in the twin room are only suitable for children of 12 years old and under and are not made up.
Note: No early check ins
Note: The WiFi can be intermittent at this property due to the location.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter