Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 36 View Image Gallery
  • Ty Mawr - Anglesey - 1009087 - photo 1

Ty Mawr

(Ref. 1009087)

Llandegfan, Anglesey Show on map


  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (15)
  • garden (14)
  • cottage (12)
  • comfortable (11)
  • lovely (11)
  • location (10)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "It's a lovely house with stunning views."

    Very comfortable. A really well equipped home. Everything we needed. There were a few areas that we feel could be improved. All of the bedroom carpets were quite worn. The duvet cover in double bedroom had faded on the side nearest the window. The upstairs bathroom shower mats were clean but very marked on the surface and definitely need replacing as does the bath mat which is worn. The chandelier fitting at the top of the stairs has come away from the ceiling. There is quite a bit of grout that needs re doing in the bathrooms. We cleaned the fire door in the lounge because it was dirty and smoking. Parking was difficult because we had 2 cars. We tried to park the 2nd car in the garage but there was not enough room with stuff in there and we couldn't shut the garage door. I also think if you had a large 4 x 4 the lane would be inaccessible and this should be highlighted. I know there are a few negatives but we very much liked the house and views and would happily re visit if it was updated. It does look a wee bit tired decor wise. The downstairs loo had a lot of cobwebs. It's just constructive feedback that hopefully will enhance further stays for customers. It's the 3rd UK holiday with Sykes and we will continue to book with you. Thank you. Elaine Vincent

    Reviewed by ElaineNov 2023

  • "Excellent cottage with everything needed for a great week."

    Reviewed by PaulOct 2023

  • "Superb property with fantastic views,great location ( unless you prefer to be close to a town centre) , for visiting other parts of Anglesey ."

    Very well equipped, comfortable and quiet

    Reviewed by ChrisSep 2023

  • "Lovely stay."

    The cottage had everything you needed Extremly comfortable and tastefully furnished throughout. Outside area a little disappointing Some minor maintenance to the garden and patio area needed to complement the outstanding view,but fully appreciate the end of season problems However it wouldn’t take many hours for a gardener to bring it up to scratch.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. The owners have managed to find a gap in the bookings and have been across to do some work in the garden and attend to a few small maintenance issues, and they hope to be able to welcome you back to Ty Mawr in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by MabelSep 2023

  • "Ty Mawr is a quirky property, furnished to a high standard tastefully done."

    It has everything you need, extremely well equipped. The weather wasn’t kind to us during our week so was nice to have a holiday home we enjoyed being in. It is in an ideal location for exploring Anglesey and the mainland, it would have been nice to have spent more time in the garden but weather didn’t really allow. Would highly recommend Ty Mawr.

    Reviewed by LisaJul 2023

  • "Good base for exploring Anglesey, comfortable accommodation, good views from property."

    However, problem with boiler which Sykes cottages did respond to, perhaps could benefit from a service. Garden spacious & has lovely plants with a new decking at the base of garden, in the description it was described as ‘stunning’ , however, it could be if not so overgrown, needs a lot of attention, new decking not really accessible & the 2 seatings areas in garden require maintenance. Garden also not really private as it is in front of the attached property & not in front of Ty Mawr. The seating areas could be made a little more private? Garage step is rotten & dangerous, it needs urgently replacing. Recycling instructions for this area needs clarification as the garage was full of recycling, we put this out but it was not collected?

    Thank you for commenting on Ty Mawr, we do have the boiler serviced annually as is a legal requirement but occasionally there are little issues. Decking was replaced but due to house being fully booked we have not been able to go and sort the overgrown hedges, this has since been tackled. Agree the garden is exposed but we have never found that an issue as you rarely see anyone passing by and hedges are high enough to obscure passers by! We are sorting the central patio when we have a quiet spell. Garage step replaced. Regarding waste recycling, it needed to be placed outside of the set day of collection, but we only expect guests to use the red bin where recycling isn't required, it's at a cost but we felt only fair on paying guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristopherJul 2023

  • "Gorgeous cottage and garden."

    Facilities brilliant! Only minor issue - we couldn't work the TV, some idiot guide instructions would be helpful (although we only put it on once!)

    Reviewed by SarahJun 2023

  • "Wonderful house with stunning views and beautifully presented throughout."

    Reviewed by PaulMay 2023

  • "Great location, lovely big rooms."

    The narrow lane is a little tricky if you have a big car but just needs a bit of patience Definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by EmmaApr 2023

  • "Loved the cottage, wished we could have stayed longer."

    The little road wasn't as bad as previous reviews. I have a Tourag and managed ok. I didn't park in the garage (to lazy) and could quite easily park in the space.

    Reviewed by TinaFeb 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, in a very peaceful location."

    Loved a coffee in bed looking at the view. Only niggle, could have done with a companion set for the fire but it in no way spoiled anything. Would I go back, YES.

    Reviewed by GaryOct 2022

  • "Really lovely cottage."

    Very comfortable, clean, cosy, bright and extremely well equipped. Good situation with beautiful views and close to amenities. Our family car would only fit in the garage with the door left open. It might be useful to give the usable length of the garage in the listing. The parking space was fine opposite for one car, but it might be a problem for visitors with 2 cars if neither could fit in the garage as there is nowhere else to park in the vicinity. We had a great holiday here however and would recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by RosieSep 2022

  • "Pros…..Fabulous house, wonderful views, garden a little disjointed from the main property…so couldn’t let our dog off lead and the lower garden furniture unusable / broken"

    . Excellent base for exploring Anglesey. Well equipped, super comfortable beds and linen. However ?..Two cons from us ( age range 14-65)…..Access very poor for anything bigger than a very narrow car. Nothing in walking distance. Check in/out times …..9am checkout too early especially as you are requested to strip beds, clean up, including all appliances, leave dishwasher empty and remove all food products / waste from the property. I’m pretty sure the owners could consider 10 am. All that said, we had no issues during our stay and enjoyed our holiday in Anglesey.

    Hi Margaret, Thanks for leaving this feedback on our page. We are delighted that you found the house fabulous with wonderful views as we have spent many thousands of pounds opening up the house with the patio doors so that guests can enjoy the patio area - with the view over the Straits. We have also invested heavily in the equipment and beds etc for the comfort of our guests. We are not entirely sure why you found the lane to be narrow as bin lorries, delivery vans and builders trucks all seem to manage it without problem. It is maybe slightly overgrown and that would be a council issue and we will raise that with them on your behalf. We also walk to the shop at the top right of the lane and have walked into Menai Bridge to eat out on many an occasion. There is also Chateau Rhianfa at the bottom of the hill which is great for a glass of wine or meal out on that special occasion! Otherwise, as you say, its a great base for exploring Anglesey. Finally, the check out time is 10am and it may have said 9am in the literature which needs updating from the deep cleaning Covid era....apologies for any confusion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MargaretAug 2022

  • "A lovely spacious house, beautifully furnished and very comfortable."

    Reviewed by BeverleyAug 2022

  • "The house was absolutely lovely, a real retreat."

    However, Sykes Cottages terms that you cannot book in until 5pm - meaning you miss most of Day 1, and leaving by 9am on the last day - which meant we left the day before - are far too onerous. Normal terms are booking after 2pm and leaving by 11am. This would be far better for clients - goodness knows how people with children cope at such an early leaving hour!

    We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The reason behind the late arrival and early departure was due to the rigorous cleaning that was implemented due to covid, we still “fog” our house which kills any viruses etc., I’ll speak to Menai. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MaggieApr 2022

  • "The reason why it failed our expectations is not because this is a well appointed house with good facilities etc, but: There were no cleaning tools so we had to make several calls to Sykes to get a hover, mop and dust pan."

    The rep was very helpful though. The house photos need updating. The kitchen and bathrooms don’t reflect reality, and the garden is not connected to the house. The fittings need cleaning or updating, for example, the lamp shades have had it on the stairs, the rugs are filthy, just worn out and smelly, and full of dust. And the the front porch is filthy. I had to clear it of soggy leaves. Some light bus have gone and need replacing ( not the correct bulbs in the house) The bathroom shower screen has seen better days and needs replacing Holes in the walls where things have moved and the paint work in the lounge is awful! You really need to finish this. Holes around the plug sockets. It feels tired for what it is. It’s a great house and just needs some tlc.

    Reviewed by JakeOct 2021

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Ty Mawr and highly recommend this spacious and very comfortable cottage."

    The big living room, the amazing mountain views, the large pretty garden - all combined with a peaceful location on a stunning island. However the narrow lane where it is based is really only for estate cars or smaller - large SUVs might struggle.. Sykes were also very helpful in answering questions before the stay - great customer service all round.

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2021

  • "The property was sufficient, but didn't live up to our expectations."

    To say that COVID regulations are still very stringent in Wales, the property was not thoroughly cleaned. There was thick dust under the sofas (which could easily be moved to vac) and items left in drawers. This didn't give us a lot of confidence that the property had been cleaned to a sufficient level. The garden was uncared for and the grass needed mowing. Several tiles were loose on the patio The road to access the property is very narrow. We managed it, but if you have a big car you may struggle. The location is great though and the views and stunning. Plenty of space for 6 people. Could just do with a bit of TLC and a refresh

    Thank you for you feedback. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and views, but saddened to hear our lovely home did not live up to your expectations. Our housekeeper fogs the property before your arrival for your protection, which can sometimes leave a residue. We try to provide all the utensils you may need in the kitchen drawers for cooking and they will have been washed prior to your arrival. There should not be anything in any other drawers within the property, but we will ask our housekeeper to check. A gardener tends to the garden every 2 weeks, but due to lock down restraints during Covid, we are still trying to catch up, but it's still a beautiful usable garden, and the grass is cut when the weather has permitted it to be cut. Photos of the loose tiles would have been useful, along with photos of the dust under the couch sent to us on your arrival, as we would have instructed the housekeeper to call back and clean it for you. The access to the property is detailed in the literature, which should be read before arrival in preparation for your stay, along with other important information. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlexandraAug 2021

  • "Great place to holiday, lovely and clean, had everything we needed."

    Really great place. If I had to pick up on anything it would be the very small parking space. Says space for two car but we couldn’t understand where the other space was. The pillows are very thin.

    The parking space for 2 medium cars are just opposite the garage, while another can be parked in the garage with the door left open. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulAug 2021

  • "We have used Sykes numerous times, we are staying in a beautiful cottage at the moment."

    Unfortunately Ty Mawr cottage in Anglesey where we stayed last week was poor, dirty and smelt damp. The photon Sykes sight does nor resent the cottage. I complained about the accommodation last Monday but didn’t receive a reply until Thursday. I’ve sent photographs through and have had no response since. We will use Sykes again although it seems when there’s an issue all contact stops.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. TY Mawr is a much loved property and the owner would have been happy to rectify any issues had you raised them with her at the start of your stay. The property is 'Fogged' to ensure all surfaces are germ free which can leave a slight residue. It is of paramount importance to her that guests have an enjoyable stay and has taken your feedback on board, the electrical issues are in hand. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "Location Location Location - beautiful peaceful spot on Anglesey with the most stunning views, and it was easy to access anywhere on the island as well as the Mountains of Snowdonia."

    The cottage was well equipped and we made full use of the table on the patio to dine outside as the weather was absolutely gorgeous. A wonderful holiday had by all!

    Reviewed by JoanneJul 2021

  • "This beautiful cottage has everything that you could need, the views are ..."

    This beautiful cottage has everything that you could need, the views are fabulous, the road down to it is extremely narrow so take care, a wonderful few days and very relaxing

    Reviewed by SteveMay 2021

  • "We had an issue with the central heating."

    As our holiday was towards the end of September the nights were quite cold. There was only one small heater and a wood burner in the lounge which was not really enough to heat the house especially as we had a 4 month old baby. However the holiday company was very good and supplied us with 2 heaters and some kindling fire wood which sufficed for our last night. Hopefully the heating problem will be resolved for anyone taking late breaks at Ty Mawr. Also the car parking situation - it states off road car parking for 2 cars. It is not really off road as the parking is one car on each side of the road which is a very narrow lane. Fortunately not too much traffic passes. But it really is only adequate for 2 small - to medium (just about) cars. Bit of a squeeze anything larger and takes a lot of manoeuvring . Apart from that it is a beautiful house, well equipped, very clean and has a lovely enclosed garden. Best of all - the stunning views of the Menai Straights. We enjoyed it - thank you!

    Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ty Mawr. Although we have not had any issues with the heating previously, we have taken on board your comments and are looking into an extra radiator downstairs. We hope to welcome you back to Ty Mawr again to enjoy the stunning views very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MartinSep 2020

  • "The cottage was exactly how it was advertised."

    It was beautiful and Covid-safe. The views from the patio were absolutely breathtaking as it overlooked the Menai Strait with the mountains in the background. Awesome. The location was ideal for visiting all the places of interest. The parking was a bit tight, but that said we had a wonderful time and would definitely return

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2020

  • "The location was perfect for exploring the surrounding area."

    Great for walks, local pubs & restaurants. The accommodation had great facilities both inside & out with a large garden which was great for our dog. We had a fantastic holiday & would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by A NSep 2020

  • "The state of the toilets were not great as we arrived."

    ..not all flushed and not all cleaned. The outside path could do with a brush....its the first thing we see as we arrive and it is very dirty. The views are beyond expectation and the garden is lovely. The beds are very comfortable. a really lovely place and very conveniently positioned for local explorations

    Thank you for your feedback, we are living in unusual times at the moment and we are endeavoring to make the house as safe, clean and fresh for every guest. The property is 'Fogged' to ensure all surfaces are germ free which may have left a slight residue on the toilet seat. We have now employed a gardener to maintain the gardens and entrance and these should now be up their usual standard. We do hope we get to see you visit us again. " Property Owner

    Reviewed by AntonyAug 2020

  • "Had good contact with owners to clear up some questions before Holiday, cottage was really nice and very comfortable with amazing views, the public footpath between the cottage and garden was not an issue at all, would definitely use again ."

    Reviewed by BarrieJul 2020

  • "We were told the building in the photograph in front of the actual rental property, that is the one with the dormer windows in the roof and between the rental property and the garden, was actually part of the rental property itself."

    In the event this proved not to be the case, it was instead a completely separate building which intrudes between Ty Mawr and the garden. Furthermore, there is no warning of the very restricted access lane to Ty Mawr, probably impossible to negotiate for a slightly wider than usual vehicle such as a Range Rover and the impossibility of continuing past the house to the main road below. Aside from the foregoing, Ty Mawr itself is very comfortable and well equipped and everything works precisely as it should.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found Ty Mawr comfortable and well equipped. We work hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay. However, we were sorry to hear you were confused as to which house you were renting. The first photo on the website clearly shows the house as being the one with the patio and the sliding doors. There is a public footpath between the patio and the garden, but this has never caused any concern or intrusion into anyone's privacy. Regarding the road, you are easily able to get a transit van or large car down it with care. Granted, you can't get down the hill past the house, but there are road signs at both ends indicating it's inaccessible to vehicles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TerrySep 2019

  • "Good location and well equipped"

    Jul 2018

  • "Nice property, amazing garden and views"

    Jun 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size en suite, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Family bathroom, Bath with shower over, loo and basin
  • En suite shower with loo and basin
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with wood burning stove
  • Central heating (NEST heating control)
  • Wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave
  • Smart TV, Wifi, Sky TV facilities
  • TV in each bedroom
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • A large garden, with patio, outdoor furniture & wooden teepee!
  • One dog welcome
  • Parking for two cars -1 off road opposite the garage & 1 in the garage
  • Shops, pubs and restaurants 1.5 miles
  • Washing machine and tumble dryer in the garage
  • Note: The garden has a stream running through it, a pond, well and wooden teepee
  • Children should be supervised at all times when using the garden
  • Note: Access is via a narrow lane but is passable to large cars and vans with care
  • Note: £250 Good Housekeeping Bond

The property

Ty Mawr is a fabulous contemporary holiday cottage overlooking the stunning Menai Straits, with gorgeous views across the water to the mountains of Snowdonia beyond.

The garden is just as idyllic with its winding stream, naturalistic nature and a choice of seating areas to soak up the surroundings. Wind your way down the little single track lane which leads to Ty Mawr. Inside it’s decorated with flair and care and will make a great base for a family looking for a holiday cottage on Anglesey. The kitchen is modern and has an electric oven and hob, fridge freezer, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, and KRUPS coffee maker.

The washing machine and tumble drier are in the garage. The dining room has a table and chairs to seat up to six people. Heading into the sitting room, you’ll find comfy sofas and chairs and a Smart TV.

The owners have recently installed sliding glass doors opening on to the patio to make the most of the stunning views, as well as, a new wood burning stove for chillier evenings. Upstairs, there are three bedrooms, all with TVs.

One with a king size bed and en suite with a shower, loo and wash hand basin.

A double room and a twin room. The family bathroom has a bath with shower over, loo, wash hand basin and heated towel rail. The pretty garden has a patio area at the rear of this semi-detached cottage with steps that lead down into a beautiful, spacious meadow style garden that has small stream, well, an area laid to lawn, pathways, fruit trees and a variety of seating options to choose from so you can enjoy the views.

This is a garden that’s ideal for all ages and tastes There is also a courtyard at the back of the house with a bench seat, parking for two cars. Ty Mawr is located on the south eastern corner of Anglesey and a short drive will take you to shops, pubs and restaurants.

Menai Bridge is only a five minute drive along the coast, and Beaumaris is the same distance in the opposite direction.

There is a pub within walking distance, which is ideal for a meal out or drinks overlooking the Straits.

Walks, cycle routes, attractions and places to eat are all close by.

Why not make the most of your family holiday in North Wales and explore both Anglesey and Snowdonia?

This holiday cottage is ideally situated for experiencing both of these fabulous destinations.


Note: £250 Good Housekeeping Bond
Note: Please ensure waste disposal instructions are adhered to. Details are in your key collection email.
Note: The garden has a stream running through it, a pond, well and wooden teepee. Children should be supervised at all times when using the garden.
Note: Access is via a narrow lane but is passable to large cars and vans with care.
Note: Minimum 3 night booking only in off-peak season.
Note: There are 2 parking spaces, the one opposite the garage can fit 2 small/medium sized cars and one will fit in the garage, but please be advised the door can't be shut. The cul-de-sac opposite is a private road and there is a no parking sign.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Menai Bridge 1.5 miles; Beaumaris 3 miles.

Llandegfan is a small village built above the sloping banks of the beautiful Menai Straits with wonderful views of the mountains beyond. You are within 3 miles of wonderful Beaumaris, with it's moated castle, individual shops, cafes and bars. 3 miles in the other directions takes you to Menai Bridge with it's iconic suspension bridge, wonderful walks and a wide variety of places to eat, including a Michelin Star restaurant. The village has easy access to a wide network of footpaths and has it's own course fishing lake. A favourite is to walk down the steep hill to have a pint at the Gazelle hotel.

Note: £250 Good Housekeeping Bond
Note: Please ensure waste disposal instructions are adhered to. Details are in your key collection email.
Note: The garden has a stream running through it, a pond, well and wooden teepee. Children should be supervised at all times when using the garden.
Note: Access is via a narrow lane but is passable to large cars and vans with care.
Note: Minimum 3 night booking only in off-peak season.
Note: There are 2 parking spaces, the one opposite the garage can fit 2 small/medium sized cars and one will fit in the garage, but please be advised the door can't be shut. The cul-de-sac opposite is a private road and there is a no parking sign.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute