Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • The Coach House - Holmwood - Scottish Lowlands - 1060681 - photo 1

The Coach House - Holmwood

(Ref. 1060681)

Glasgow, Scottish Borders Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (20)
  • glasgow (16)
  • property (14)
  • location (13)
  • bed (13)
  • great (12)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "This property is fabulous - an oasis in the of the heart of Glasgow where you can hear owls at night right next to the historic House."

    I have stayed at numerous Sykes rentals and never needed to publish a negative comeback however -

    Reviewed by Patricia4.4May 2024

  • "What a beautiful period property in the grounds of NT Holmwood -so peaceful."

    Amazing for scenic walks along the banks of the White Cart River ..but also convenient for enjoying all the sights in Glasgow city centre. Perfect for a family break .

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Mar 2024

  • "Unusual, but very comfortable property."

    Might not suit people with limited mobility. Ideal for a city break with very good public transport links. Good butcher's nearby - " best steak pie in Scotland", which we would not contest!

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a very comfortable stay, with everything we needed in a characterful property."

    A great location, with walks literally from the doorstep and easy access to Glasgow’s attractions further afield. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

    Reviewed by Diana4.4Feb 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, The facilities were great and it was an ideal location for visiting Glasgow's other facilities, would love to come back."

    Just one small thing. The bed in main bedroom was a little small and a bit hard.

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.7Jan 2024

  • "We were very pleased with the Coach House."

    It was very comfortable, warm and well fitted out. The Coach House (though only a few miles from the centre of Glasgow) was extremely peaceful and in a lovely location in the grounds of Holmwood House. Every holiday letting has some faults and the Coach House was no exception, but those faults were very minor and were totally outweighed by the positives. Incidentally many of the issues raised in other reviews we did not recognise from our experience of the Coach House. This is certainly a place we want to stay in again. It's worth noting that the staff we came across were very attentive and helpful as well. Finally we felt the Coach House was very good value for a 7 night stay. Thoroughly recommended.

    Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back to the NTS. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Oct 2023

  • "We have enjoyed many holidays in The Coach House,and many other NTS properties."

    This is the first time, we have booked with Sykes holidays. We were very excited….new kitchen,furniture etc………but,there it ended! Walked in and house was cold, checked the boiler it said room thermostat or boiler was off, tried turning the timer all on then all off, no change, could not find a room thermostat, or instructions for the timer, eventually found tiny switch in certre of timer that was the boiler control! Kitchen, toaster full of crumbs, bins dirty, with bags that didn’t fit, dirty dustpan, crumbs in the cutlery drawer, cooker hood, covered with grease, and dirty oven tray in the oven that made the oven smell, rusty microwave. I would love to be able to attach photo's. Sitting room, dodgy lamp shade, kept falling off, because of incorrect/ lack of fittings fittings. Sofa and chairs, cushions have never been removed, dust and crumbs under all. Main bedroom, squeaky bed, it’s become a joke! Twin room, new mattress on top of old, no mattress cover. Later found it on the floor in the cupboard. Single room, old mattress under the bed. Cupboard with vacuum cleaner etc, a shambles. The duvet covers didn’t fit the duvets, neither did the sheets fit the beds. One towel per person for a week, and only two hand towels for 5 people including WC, bathroom and Kitchen! Pity the stand for airing/ drying towel's in the bathroom had been removed. Guests are asked not to arrive before 17:00 and leave before 10:00, your cleaners turned up at 9:20 for access, they did ask if we needed help to carry the bags down, we said no and they waited in their vehicle until we left. We also had emails from Sykes Cottages asking to leave the Coach House as we found it, but after taking the trouble to clean the property to a reasonable standard we did not feel we should put all the filth back All in all,disappointing.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry that you didn't find the cottage in the condition that both you and ourselves expect. We have taken this up with the cleaners and re-iterated the standards we expect when servicing a cottage for the next customers. Property Owner

    Reviewed by A1.9Sep 2023

  • "From the moment we drove down the tree lined drive we knew it would be special."

    This is a period property that has been sympathetically modernized but retaining many of the original features and fixtures. It is warm and comfortable. Kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. For the evening there are a selection of games, puzzles or books. The TV works off a Roku box giving you access to all the Freeview channels. Easy dog walk (2 miles) from the back gate along the river and Linn Park. Great base for exploring Glasgow and beyond. Use the train to get into Glasgow - quick and easy! Definitely will book again if we are in Glasgow. Did read a few negative reviews - think they must have been for a different property!

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Sep 2023

  • "The double bed was very noisy getting in and out on both sides."

    Requires maintenance or replacement. Bathroom decor is dismal and ill-lit. TV was difficult to use with overcomplicated hand book. Couldn't find BBC Scotland channel anywhere. External stair required weeding and sweeping. Microwave old, and needed upgrading. But despite these drawbacks we enjoyed a very good holiday - Holmwood House itself is most interesting and attractive.

    Reviewed by Robert4.1Sep 2023

  • "The coach house was perfect for our holiday."

    It was very close to Glasgow but we felt like we were in a country estate. The space was great and the staff at Holmwood House were really friendly and helpful.

    Thank you very much for the kind words, it is in a great location to see Glasgow but also have the grounds to walk around. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah3.8Aug 2023

  • "We have had a fantastic stay."

    A beautiful and unique property, and Glasgow has so much to offer. The staff both at the property and when I phoned up about a faulty light were very friendly and helpful and responded quickly. One or two things would improve our stay. Please provide more info about the bins, eg that black is recycling and green rubbish, and where to put them out for collection on a Monday. A teapot and some more teaspoons would be helpful in the kitchen.

    Thank you for your lovely comments , lovely to read that you appreciate the building that we look after at the NTS. The team at Holmwood will check the kitchen inventory. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy4.1Aug 2023

  • "This was our 2nd stay as our 1st visit had been great."

    The house and location were still fantastic for us, however, the level of cleaning and upkeep of the property has dropped significantly. There was thick dust and dog hairs everywhere and it looked like the property hadn’t been hoovered (among other issues). I communicated this to the property manager and received the reply “I am so sorry to hear that the cleaning wasn’t to your standards on this occasion”. I was disappointed by this response as it just put it back on me, rather than acknowledging that this is completely unacceptable for a holiday rental. I spent the 1st 2hrs of our holiday cleaning! I would like to think that the problem will be resolved as it is a great property and it would be very sad to see it neglected like this. I am currently unsure if we’d stay again which is a shame.

    Thank you very much for your feedback and we appreciate the time taken to let us know about your experience. We have spoken to the Property Manager about the issues you found and that is not to the usual level of cleanliness we expect. We understand the property manager did offer to send more cleaners to the cottage to address the issues but we understand that you declined. We presume that you had already sorted out the issues yourself and we are sorry that you had to do this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth2.8Aug 2023

  • "More comfortable beds"

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Jun 2023

  • "As a family we had a lovely stay at Holmwood coach house, the kids didn’t mind the bedrooms downstairs and loved the grounds."

    The location was perfect for us within walking distance to Linn park waterfall, and walks around Linn park. Amenities were 15 minute walk to a bakery, butchers and supermarket. As well as short drive/taxi journey (train station/on a bus route locally but we didn’t explore these routes) to the tourist attractions of Glasgow. The accommodation had every thing we needed, plenty of space to cook, relax and it was very peaceful.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0May 2023

  • "This period cottage is a surprising gem in leafy surroundings yet within easy reach of Glasgow centre, The Burrell Collection and lots more."

    The Scottish National Trust have restored the house to a high standard, and the Linn park is adjacent for leafy walks and bird spotting. Any snags? - there are 25 steps up to the front door and another staircase down to the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms.

    Reviewed by Neil4.4May 2023

  • "A beautiful NT period property in a fantastic location for walks and transport links to all highlights in Glasgow City"

    Reviewed by Robert3.8Apr 2023

  • "The coach House was a little oasis in the city."

    Surrounded by trees and the house grounds it was so quiet except for birdsong. Amenities were a walk away and the Riverside walk we did each day. We liked the layout of the coach house with a bedroom and living areas on one floor and then other bedrooms downstairs. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to have a very relaxing stay. Thank you NTS.

    Reviewed by Anna4.7Mar 2023

  • "No welcome tray – this is a first."

    We had to make a special journey to the shops for milk on arrival. No local nformation. No Teapot, practically no toilet paper, no kitchen wipes for work surfaces. Noisy heating system. Dangerous stairwell – an unguarded stairwell with another door opening within inches and light switches on the stairwell side. One person fell down the stairs looking for the light switch at night. Badly bruised ribs and very painful. Good points – warm and quiet area.

    Reviewed by Margaret3.1Mar 2023

  • "The property was well described and was indeed only suitable for the able bodied due to the steep stairs at the front of the property."

    The property itself was comfortable and had all we needed in terms of crockery and utensils. The TV was all run from a Roku streaming stick which we found easy to use and actually quite liked it, the non-IT savvy may well find it difficult if not used to how these things operate. WIFI was strong and fast. Loved the setting and as the main house was not open it was lovely and quiet in what is a relatively central and busy area of the City of Glasgow.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Mar 2023

  • "We were very comfortable at The Coach House, home from home on the edge of Glasgow."

    Loved the views over trees and gardens, so peaceful with lovely walks for the dog on the doorstep. Kitchen was very well equipped, appreciated the lovely white cotton bedlinen and soft towels. Cleanliness was excellent. Would definitely recommend and hope to return when the house and cafe are open.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jan 2023

  • "Very happy with the property, lovely and warm when we arrived, just perfect for our Christmas break, cosy and comfortable."

    Grounds were lovely for walking. Especially by the dogs and it was so peaceful.

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Dec 2022

  • "The beds were a nightmare we felt crippled every morning."

    The main double bed was really tiny so your feet kept touching the foot board and the mattress was awful. The other single beds were no better we felt exhausted at the end of the stay and couldn't wait to get home for a good nights sleep!!

    Thank you for your feedback about the Coach House at Holmwood. We are very sorry that you didn't have a comfortable sleep. This cottage was refurbished earlier in 2022 and the beds were new. so we are unsure why they were uncomfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter2.2Nov 2022

  • "Great accommodation in its own grounds no disturbances and on the edge of vast park for walks although disappointed that Holmwood House was closed for the winter."

    House very warm and central heating worked great. Second toilet and sink down stairs very useful. Only problem we had was working the TV it was quite complicated for us oldies ! We had to get someone to show us and that took a while. Other than that everything fine.

    Reviewed by Nickola4.7Nov 2022

  • "Newly refurbished and good location but: - no local contact to deal with problems."

    The only contact was for emergencies. - absolutely no local information provided - TV did not work. It repeatedly froze so that we were completely unable to watch it throughout week - Bathroom basin hot water only available on cold setting! Took 3 days to discover this - No hot water when we arrived - turned off

    Thank you for your feedback. We have checked with our property manager and the folder which is left on the dining table does have the local contact details in it. We also leave a card with the Property Manager contact details. The facilities manager has checked the tap on the wash hand basin in the bathroom and all seems alright with it. We are sorry that there was no hot water on arrival and we can only assume that the housekeeper turned it off by mistake as it is normally left on. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy3.4Sep 2022

  • "Gorgeous and unusual location on trust land."

    Gardens and fruit trees abound. 15 mins walk to high street. Beautiful cottage . Simply but efficiently appointed. Had everything we needed.

    Thank you very much for your very positive feedback. Lovely to read that you appreciated the location, gives you the beautiful gardens but not too far from the city centre if you want the shops and museums. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jordana4.7Aug 2022

  • "This was a truly lovely stay."

    It is near everything one would want to visit in Glasgow and not at all far from Sterling Castle and from the Falkirk Wheel.

    Thank you , it is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky at the National Trust to have cottages in such great locations including amazing gardens, historic houses and castles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jul 2022

  • "A lovely cottage in large grounds, well located for exploring the West of Scotland and especially for the Burrell Collection in Pollok Park (and neighbouring Holmwood House)."

    Provision for drying wet clothes and footwear could be improved. A boot / shoe rack opposite the door would be good. There is a lot of poorly utilised space in the lower lobby (on the level below the entrance and under the stairs) which could be re-configured to accommodate a drying frame.

    Thank you very much for the excellent scores. We have passed on your comments re drying rack to the team at Holmwood. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alistair5.0Jun 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful place was like home from home will definitely be staying here again"

    Thank you very much, great location for visiting Glasgow without being in the centre of the city. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Macauley5.0Jun 2022

  • "What a beautiful house in a magnificent setting!"

    We chose the property because of its geographical location (close to family in Cathcart) but would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Glasgow. The setting is second-to-none and the house is delightful. It was lovely to see considered references to Holmwood House in the interior design. There was a problem with water pressure (the shower kept switching off), and more crockery (that fits in the dishwasher) would have been handy; otherwise great, really appreciated the games and Wi-Fi, and provision of plenty of linen/towels. We would definitely return. Thank you.

    Many thanks for your comments and great to see that you appreciated the recent upgrade we carried out. We have reported the water pressure problem and the crockery sizes to the team at Holmwood and thank you for letting us know. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jil5.0May 2022

  • "We stayed at the Coach House three years ago and had a very pleasant and comfortable stay - so were surprised to see some of the more recent negative comments."

    Happy to report that it has recently had a lick of paint and then some - more a factory reset. The accommodation is fresh, clean and comfortable, and on a great site. The on-site National Trust for Scotland staff are friendly and approachable and it's a great base for exploring Glasgow and its environs - the Burrell Collection and Pollock House are only a few minutes drive away and its easy (and cheap) to get the train into the city centre.

    Thank you very much for your comments and the appreciation of the work carried out on The Coach House. Yes it is in a great location for visiting all the NTS and all the free museums that Glasgow has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0May 2022

  • "We loved our stay in the Coach House - so comfortable and peaceful, with the added fascination of a tour of the main Holmwood House."

    It was easy to get into the city centre when needed, either by public transport or car, and attractions like the Burrell Collection were within easy reach. We were sorry to find no CD player (advertised in the details online), since we'd taken a batch of CDs to listen to! And we had a problem with the microwave, which cut out after some minutes and seemed rather hot on the top. Otherwise everything was great, and we hope to return!

    Thank you very much for your kind words. We have reported the Microwave to the team at Holmwood to investigate. We are sorry that we have recently removed the CD player and this was not updated sooner. We have added to the kitchen a dishwasher, washer/drier and an induction hob. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Apr 2022

  • "This cottage has recently been refurbished and we loved it."

    Clean, tidy, quirky and quiet. The location was perfect for us, and we felt like we were on a serene little island on the edge of the city due to the 5 acres of garden surrounding the main house. Lots of space to park, great connections into town. We used the train from Muirend to get to the city Center. When going further afield we would be on the motorway in about 10 minutes and off to wherever we wanted. The only minor issue we had was that the water pressure is quite low, so just don’t run a tap when someone is having a shower as the power shower will stop when the pressure drops. It’s easy to start again though.

    Many thanks for your feedback and the acknowledgment that we have recently made some investment in the cottage. As you note a great location for the city with the added bonus of the gardens and parking. We have noted the issue about the shower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Apr 2022

  • "The property is very tired and contains a collection of mismatched furniture."

    The beds were clean and the kitchen sufficient for our needs. However we arrived to find no workable TV ,a toilet seat that was not securely fixed and only two wine glasses . It took over 24 hours to contact the “emergency” number. Once Stevie the property manager arrived he competently and cheerfully addressed our concerns . It is such a shame that this property is not better presented as it is in a lovely location and well placed to explore Glasgow

    Thank you very much for your feedback and we are sorry that you had to contact a member of staff about a few issues. We have highlighted the loose toilet seat to the team at Holmwood and also asked for extra wine glasses to be provided. We are going to review the furniture and decoration in this apartment in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pat3.1Dec 2021

  • "It's grubby."

    I read the previous reviews but I thought; this is National Trust for Scotland, it can't be that bad - but it is, the reviews are accurate and the problems highlighted have not been addressed. Effectively no TV, sofas are dirty and have no cushions, toilets require several flushes to clear, toilet door doesn't lock, etc., etc. This house requires a thorough clean and paintwork updated.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you have had to report some problems with your stay. Following on from feedback we have received we made the decision to change the cleaning team for the property. We are planning to refresh the property over the winter. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen2.2Sep 2021

  • "A nice property in a quiet location and great for exploring Glasgow and surroundings."

    Sadly the cleanliness was poor, little evidence of cleaning on arrival let alone a COVID clean/preparation for guests (I note that bed sheets and towels were fine!), all surfaces were dirty and fridge/microwave/oven all poor. Resolved with a pack of Dettol wipes, though the cleaners were called back to the property during our stay to clean. TV lacking terrestrial channels and Virgin media box not working (was provided with a Roku box after a couple of days to get basic channels). No COVID cleaning/sanitiser and check in info as advised in Sykes emails running up to our arrival. Regarding the property… Sadly there is no private lawn with patio furniture as described, though we were offered access to the NTS Holmwood House walled garden/patio with picnic tables including whilst the house was closed. Parking at rear is on the NTS house car park (we were told we could park at the front of house as the house was closed during the week). Feels like with a ‘between guest’ inspection of the property would resolve many of the basic issues. Also, the description on the web site would benefit from a review for accuracy including the above points, plus the description… upstairs (where you enter the property from the external staircase) is the master bedroom (with very creaky bed as as commented on by previous reviewer!), family bathroom, kitchen and lounge diner, downstairs is the twin and single bedrooms and further toilet. Property would also benefit from a welcome pack advising on facilities and property. I. It’s we did reach out to the NTS house manager and volunteer staff who were friendly and helpful in resolving some of the issues, and I left an email with the manager with a couple of items that need resolving for future guests comfort.

    "Many thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you have had to report some problems with your stay. Following on from your feedback we made the decision to change the cleaning team for the property. We have amended the description of the property, it is possible to park at the front of the house. We are currently in the process of planning the winter maintenance to refresh the decor and some of the soft furnishings. We value your comments and hope that you will stay in NTS cottages in the future. " Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin2.2Aug 2021

  • "Great house and location, little bit disappointed with cleanliness and lack of response."

    Re cleanliness, facility should have received COVID appropriate cleaning but appeared no more than normal cleaning from surfaces and the inside of the fridge was not thoroughly cleaned. Bed in the main bedroom upstairs made some worrying clanging noises every time when rolling over. Were asked to reach out to provided contact on day of arrival but call was never answered. No COVID confirmation forms for guests for some time, previous guests left post-it notes to confirm absence of COVID symptoms. Left two messages about broken lamp in downstairs toilet which were equally not responded to. On the whole, got the feeling that the house received a standard clean with little or no other attention from the owner. On the upside, internet (Virgin) was fast and reliable.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you have had to report some problems with your stay. Following on from feedback we have received we made the decision to change the cleaning team for the property. The Covid contact sheet should have been left for each new guest and we apologise for this, and the new cleaning company will be instructed about the up to date Covid Guidance. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Johannes3.4Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Duplex cottage
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with electric fire
  • Gas central heating and electric fire
  • Electric oven and induction hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer and dishwasher, TV and Wifi and board games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking is available at the rear
  • Five acres of landscaped grounds and a small kitchen garden
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: Entry to the property is on the first floor via an external stairway
  • Note : Access to the courtyard is primarily from the outside of the property, however, in case of an emergency, access can also be gained through the emergency exit located in the twin ground floor bedroom
  • Note: Cot bedding is not provided
  • Note: Dogs are not allowed on beds or any of the furniture, you may like to bring an old towel to wipe muddy paws
  • Note: The opening times, visitor facilities and entry prices of all National Trust for Scotland properties and attractions can be viewed on their website here

The property

A historic holiday cottage resting on the outskirts of the vibrant city of Glasgow, The Coach House can be found within the grounds of the National Trust for Scotland’s impressive Holmwood, designed by architect Alexander ‘Greek’ Thomson in 1858.

Originally used as a stable, with accommodation for the coachman and his family, The Coach House now offers a family of five memorable holiday accommodation from which to discover Scotland, along with five acres of mature gardens to explore.

Park outside the property, before venturing up the staircase to the first floor, where you will find the lovely living spaces with the living/dining room inviting you to unwind in front of the electric fire while being surrounded by a charming, traditional interior, and the dining table making the perfect space for a board game or a homemade meal, with the modest but amply-equipped kitchen providing all you could need for a week-long stay, you will also find a beautifully presented double bedroom, boasting calming neutral hues and a splendid view.

The first floor is also home to the family bathroom, hosting a bath and a shower over, so you can choose how best to unwind after a day of adventure.

While down on the ground floor you can find a convenient cloakroom, a twin bedroom and single bedroom.

Begin your mornings exploring the grounds to discover a charming vegetable garden, where you can purchase fresh vegetables for all of your homemade meals.

Holmwood is considered an architectural marvel, described as Alexander ‘Greek’ Thomson’s domestic masterpiece, and offers plenty for guests to see and do at any time of year.

Just a stone's throw from the cottage, you can find a host of wonderful amenities, including shops and eateries for all of your culinary needs, while the bustling city centre of Glasgow will present you with a further array of amenities and attractions.

A spectacular port city best known for its Victorian and art nouveau architecture, as well as being home to the Scottish Opera, Scottish Ballet and National Theatre of Scotland, Glasgow boasts a vibrant cultural scene.

The name Glasgow derives from the Brythonic Celtic word 'Cleschi', meaning 'dear green place', and you can expect to find plenty of scenic spots, with over 90 parks and formal gardens to choose from.

For an educational day out, explore the variety of museums scattered around the city, including the Glasgow Science Centre, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and Hunterian Zoology Museum, or enjoy a day outdoors amidst the scenic splendour of the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park, with plenty of opportunities for walking, cycling, climbing, sailing, horse riding and so much more, it's a must see to experience its awe-inspiring views.

The National Trust for Scotland’s Greenbank Garden can be found within driving distance, with magical woodland walks and a plethora of flora and fauna to discover, including a National Collection of Bergenia, as well as daffodils and bluebells in spring.

The Coach House is a marvellous base for an escape to Scotland with your loved ones.

EPC Rating: Band D

Short-term Holiday Let Licence No: GL-00077-F

National Trust For Scotland

Whether searching for your next city to explore, or seeking a homely dwelling to relax in with your loved ones in rural surroundings, the wonderful collection of properties from National Trust for Scotland is sure to have something perfect for you. Discover the beauty of Scotland's two national parks and stunning countryside, with lots of properties catering to a wealth of outdoor pursuits to enjoy on your doorstep, with some featuring additional facilities for angling, field sports and cycling, making it easy to enjoy your stay to the fullest. Alternatively, immerse yourself in the lively city scenes of Scotland, with properties in and around Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Inverness and Glasgow, all teeming with historic sites, beautiful architecture and plenty of entertainment. Being Scotland's largest conservation charity, National Trust for Scotland has been able to beautifully preserve and renovate many historic buildings to offer unique holiday locations. With over two-million visitors each year across twenty-seven castles and great houses, forty-six munros, thirty-five major gardens and designed landscapes, and seven national nature reserves, National Trust for Scotland has something for everyone. Each property is equipped with all you need for a self-catered stay, with kitchens complete with essential appliances and more, dining areas to come together for hearty meals, and many sitting rooms boasting open fires or woodburning stoves to settle down in front of, not to mention elegant bedrooms and sparkling bathrooms where you can feel refreshed. Bring your canine companion along with you to some of the properties, and keep up to date with the world via the WiFi connections offered in most cottages. With more and more people discovering the beauty and allure of Scotland every year, ensure your stay is special with a National Trust for Scotland cottage.

View on map

About the location


East Kilbride 12 miles; Falkirk 24 miles.

Glasgow, or the ‘dear green place’ in Gaelic, was also known as the Second City of the Empire due to its industrial and shipbuilding power. From its early beginnings as a rural port on the River Clyde, Glasgow grew to become one of the world’s major sea ports. The University of Glasgow is one of the oldest universities in the world, dating from 1451, its tower dominates the Glasgow skyline; Glasgow became a major centre of the Scottish Enlightenment in the 18th century with Adam Smith, Lord Kelvin and James Watt among those who have worked or taught at the university. As a main transatlantic trade hub, Glasgow grew wealthy from the 18th century and there are many grand buildings and houses around the city as proof. The city more than lives up to its Gaelic title as the dear green place, as it has over 90 parks and formal gardens, while the bustling city centre is renowned for its shopping, theatres and nightlife. The ideal location for a vibrant city break, Glasgow is also within a short drive of some breathtaking scenery such as that found at Loch Lomond.

2 Storey entry is on the first floor via an external stairway