Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 21 minutes ago

1 of 56 View Image Gallery
  • Westhayes - Cornwall - 959871 - photo 1


(Ref. 959871)

Camelford, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Four poster bed
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • pool (23)
  • dogs (21)
  • our (20)
  • lovely (17)
  • great (14)
  • property (13)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "We throughly enjoyed our week at Westhayes, it was amazing."

    The property, grounds and pool were absolutely wonderful. We booked the holiday and my brother and his family rented Marhayes next door, it was lovely to wake up and go for a walk with everyone and between us we brought our six dogs. The pool and sauna were a delight, we used it every day. We have been holidaying in Cornwall for more than 18 years and this property was definitely in our top five we have stayed at. We have already booked to come back next summer.

    Reviewed by TanyaOct 2023

  • "Westhayes provided the perfect gateway."

    Incredible accommodation with everything there that you could need. Facilities were fantastic with a swimming pool, small gym ( used and loved by our son in law) and sauna. There were many lovely walks, by the river or in the woods, with well kept grass paths. The dogs had a fantastic holiday too. Only problem we encountered were the low sofas as both my husband and I have knee problems.

    Reviewed by AlisonOct 2023

  • "I have been coming to Helsbury Park with my children since my eldest dog was 1 & she is 14 now."

    All 4 dogs love it - it’s home from home. We’ve probably stayed 15/16 times over the years in all of the properties. Now we need both cottages to accommodate a growing family & the 4 grandchildren love it just as much as us & the dogs. We’ve even had our daughters wedding here. It truly is a unique & special place. The properties are always maintained to a high standard with improvements each year. It’s worth every penny with the swimming pool & land. I only wish it wasn’t as popular as now we are restricted to school holiday bookings!!! Thank you for an amazing week again.

    Reviewed by SarahOct 2023

  • "Fantastic property, have rebooked for next year!"

    Reviewed by DarrenSep 2023

  • "Amazing property in a beautiful setting with great facilities."

    The pool was fantastic and really made our stay. It was lovely and warm and we used it at least once a day. The kids loved it. All the facilities in the pool area were great and well kept. The house was inviting, clean, warm and comfortable. Couple of small points which would be easily fixed - the lighting is very poor in the kitchen and dining area making it very difficult to see what youre doing in the eve if cooking. We found the bed very comfortable but the bedding too thick and hot for us but all down to personal preference I suppose. Would still go back in a heartbeat though as we had a great stay and was such a lovely place to stay. Thanks for a great week.

    Reviewed by CAug 2023

  • "Very limited heated towel rails."

    Not hot enough or on long enough. The suite in the lounge was very awkward and uncomfortable for my wife and I and our Son, 70 and 40 respectively. My son did your Triathlon in a canter,. Super fit guy. Times posted I believe. Biggest complaint was having a 13 tog quilt. No alternative. We use a 4.5 Tog all year and occatinally add a single blanket. Finally Why is fishing not available to quests.

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. Had you made us aware during your stay, we could easily have adjusted the length of time the towel rail stayed on, and we could also have supplied a lower tog duvet for you to use during your stay. That is the first time anyone has said that the duvet was too thick but we do appreciate that there was a heat wave at the time of your stay. We are glad that your son took part in our Triathalon, we do hope that this will prove popular with all of our guests. We are sorry that your wife and son found the lounge furniture uncomfortable, we've not had any comments regarding this from previous guests. There aren’t any fish in our pond, but the river although not easy, is okay. We do have to contact the local angling association so our guests can fish. We manage our site to benefit wildlife, but we do not prohibit fishing. We don’t provide fishing equipment because there’s nobody on site to look after it but if guests want to bring their own rod and have a license, they’re welcome to have a go. Had you enquired about fishing during your stay we would happily have explained this to yourselves. Aside from this we hope that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GregJun 2023

  • "Absolutely fantastic, the property and surroundings were immaculate."

    What a beautiful setting, we had the best family time ever. Look forward to visiting again

    Reviewed by MarkJun 2023

  • "Once again had an amazing stay at Westhayes can’t wait to return."

    Reviewed by JasonMar 2023

  • "Great to be back here at Helsbury."

    Our two Airedales love it here and we’re all looking forward to being back here next year.

    Reviewed by HiteshMar 2023

  • "This is our forth stay at Westhayes and we have booked again."

    Lots of re-investment each time we go, the property is beautiful and comfortable, great walks for the dogs and the pool is lovely.

    Reviewed by ElaineDec 2022

  • "We loved our stay at westhayes this was our second year running ."

    Only a couple of pointers The snooker/pool table had been removed from property which were looking forward to using and an outside light would of been helpful wen we arrived in the dark to unload and also this would of helped wen getting wood for fire from wood stack . The washing machine and dryer combined washed fine but drying was never achieved even after three hours !! Be useful to be a separate tumble dryer . Finally tje slope into the Complex very raised and has caused my car a major issue by cracking the fuel line as my car is an estate and not a four by four this has been very costly to have it repaired

    Reviewed by ShirleyDec 2022

  • "Our second stay at Westhayse this year and we've already booked for next year."

    Great property in a stunning setting and absolutely brilliant for dogs. Our Airedales have loved coming here over the years.

    Reviewed by HiteshSep 2022

  • "Difficult to fault such a lovely property."

    Being able to enjoy 100 acres of beautiful Cornish countryside with the dogs literally outside your door. Very thoughtfully maintained by mowing pathways all over. The dogs loved it especially the streams and river running through the valley in the hot weather. If we had to be critical we would suggest a gas bbq rather than charcoal, which would be much more convenient. The property is furnished to a high standard and the cleaners must work so hard to maintain this in between so many visits with canine friends.

    Reviewed by AndrewJul 2022

  • "The barn was beautiful and just as described."

    Very clean and had everything that we needed. The beds were very comfortable and all 5 of us had great nights sleeps. The location was outstanding- set in beautiful countryside which we spent many hours exploring with the dog. The streams, woods, pond and fields were a joy and were beautifully looked after. The swimming pool was a real highlight of the stay for us and our young children who would have spent all day in there if they could. Meticulously clean and invitingly warm. We didn’t make use of the gym or sauna but they too looked brilliant. The barns location was a tourists dream, although it felt remote and in the heart of the countryside, it was in fact only a short hop to a host of wonderful Cornish gems. Padstow via the ferry from Rock, port Isaac, Boscastle, Tintagel we’re just some of the places we enjoyed visiting, beautiful places to visit, shop and eat! The only down side of the barn for us was the garden. We found it to be not at all dog secure. We understand that dogs should not be left outside unattended, however there were several places where our inquisitive, medium sized dog was able to leave the garden with ease. With livestock and other dogs in close proximity this could have been an issue if our dog had decided to make use of the escape routes. This meant that we were unable to feel relaxed in the garden and enjoy the lovely weather that we had. We solved one of the escape routes by purchasing some wind breaks and blocking the large gap in the fencing. But the fencing at the top end of the garden needs some thinking about. Over all, we had a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the barn, the garden was a shame and maybe something to think about if you are considering staying there with a dog over the summer.

    We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for pointing out the weakness in the fencing, we have strengthened our defences in that area! See you next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulMay 2022

  • "We have stayed at the Cottage 3 times now and will be back next year."

    Such a lovely place to stay and well located as well. Beutiful place to stay and the swimming pool and grounds are wonderful.

    Reviewed by ShirleyMay 2022

  • "What a wonderful place Felt so relaxed and happy Ideal for family and dogs The grounds and pool are spectacular, could have spent every day happily staying put."

    But so many beach’s and site seeing to visit close by The house is homely super clean best night sleep on holiday Master bedroom was lick a honeymoon suit and my sons getting married next year and think of taking his honeymoon there Thank you for a wonderful holiday

    Reviewed by StephenMay 2022

  • "A beautiful property in a stunning location with the indoor pool being the jewel in the crown."

    The park that the property is situated in is absolutely beautiful with its own lake, stream and bluebell woods. The property itself has more or less everything you need, although some of the internal decor and furnishings are tired and could benefit from a bit of refurbishment (hence my comfort score). The kitchen is well equipped (I could have done with some scales and citrus squeezer but I'm being picky) and benefits from a new American fridge freezer. The owners were very prompt in dealing with a problem with the swimming pool cover so that we could continue to use the pool. The main bathroom and one of the bedrooms have been refurbished and all bedrooms have an ensuite. The property was extremely well heated (much to my surprise), probably from the electricity generated from the solar panels. Dogs are welcome and well catered for. This would be a lovely spot to enjoy a BBQ but the weather was not warm enough for us to do that. I would recommend this property.

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2022

  • "Lovely stay here at Helsbury again."

    Our Airedales have always loved it and it's great to be able to open the door and walk then to the river. Appreciate the new bathroom in Westhayes. Looking forward to our next stay.

    Reviewed by HiteshMar 2022

  • "This was our third trip to Westhayes and nothing disappoints."

    There has been evident investment in furnishings and white goods since we last visited (pre covid), and everything was spotlessly clean. Covid guidelines were clear and easy to follow, we look forward to booking again.

    Reviewed by ElaineDec 2021

  • "Beautiful accommodation met all our expectations, lovely walks , didn’t want to come home ."

    Have rebooked Shirley Charles elaine and Brian

    Reviewed by ShirleyDec 2021

  • "We had an amazing holiday."

    Westhayes was a beautiful barn conversion in a stunning lprivate location and the pool was exceptional. We all had a lovely holiday and the dogs thought they were in heaven

    Reviewed by Mike And NicolaDec 2021

  • "First time in Westhayes, as previously stayed in the Farmhouse!"

    Very well laid out property, comfortable and very, very clean as always. Thoroughly enjoyed our week.

    Reviewed by PaulNov 2021

  • "Our 10th trip to Helsbury Park and our 9th stay at Westhayes."

    We love the location and the facilities but we were disappointed that the shower and changing facilities were still closed at the pool due to Covid. This isn’t deemed necessary at other public facilities so we thought it an unnecessary precaution given the pool is used by so few people and generally is shared sensibly with other guests. We also noted a comment from a previous guest who mentioned that the oven and grill wasn’t working at Westhayes. You responded that, after checking, you couldn’t find a problem. We concur with the previous guest that they don’t work - the fan does, but neither the grill or the left oven heat up. Also the shower in the middle room doesn’t drain properly (hence we would have liked to use the pool showers), and the bedding is substandard - lumpy pillows and duvet covers. The 9 o’clock departure time is very early and it would be nice if this could be put back to 10 o’clock as it used to be pre-Covid. Other than these small issues that can easily be addressed, the holiday was great and we were lucky to have sunny weather.

    Thank you for your feedback. Cornwall's case rate is currently above the national and regional average and until very recently had been designated as an Enhanced Response Area. The advice from our local authority is to keep all measures in place to prevent the spread of the virus and to protect our guests, staff and the local community. The oven and grill have been checked again. We have been unable to replicate the fault you mention. An engineer has checked the oven and grill and concluded that the oven is functioning as expected and that there are no faults with the ovens, grill or hob. The shower will be checked, along with the pillows and duvets. Should we have been made aware of any issues during your stay, we would have done our best to try to rectify them at the time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TraceyOct 2021

  • "Cottage fixtures and fittings, furniture and flooring worn and dated."

    Oven did not heat up properly, grill part did not work. Washing machine not working properly. Bedding poor quality. Grounds and pool area lovely.

    Thank you for your feedback. The property will be undergoing some refurbishment work over the winter. However, in the meantime, the washing machine and the oven have both been checked and, no problems could be found with either appliance. We advise that should you experience any issues/difficulties during your stay, that you contact the owners who will be more than happy to assist you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoSep 2021

  • "Excellent cottage - loved it."

    For this cost I would expect there to be more in the kitchen - coffee machine, pasta bowls, wooden spoons, sharp knives, chopping board options. The washer dryer didn't seem to dry without washing which was a bit of a pain Information pack didn't exist - would have been great to have info about the facilities (we never found the games room!), the walks etc And lastly everything felt a little damp over the course of the week - it was a wet week but dry washing and bed linen did feel damp which makes me think a winter stay would not be viable Pool area and general ambience was fabulous, we would love to come back - thanks for having us! Im being very picky - it was an excellent cottage, fab facilities - the kids and dog loved it

    Reviewed by YvetteJul 2021

  • "This is an excellent property in a lovely location and we all had a great week here."

    The only thing that very slightly lets it down is the lack of some fairly basic kitchen equipment. And whilst it has a drinks fridge/chiller which was a nice surprise - it didn't work.

    Thank you for your feedback. There is a large, new fridge freezer in the property that is more than sufficient for the needs of six guests. We are sorry about this and are glad to hear you had a good stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JerryJun 2021

  • "Fantastic place to stay with family and dogs"

    Reviewed by JamesMay 2021

  • "An amazing property very spacious and clean."

    Our dogs thought they were in heaven lovely walks in the woods and swimming in the stream every day. Garden very secure.. The indoor Swimming pool is overlooking stunning views This was our second visit we are booked again next year.. love love love this place..

    Reviewed by SusanApr 2021

  • "Cottage had plenty of space, we were very comfortable."

    Surrounding area was breath taking. Enclosed garden was a asset. Would definitely stay again :)

    Reviewed by KarenOct 2020

  • "This was a perfect location for us and our dogs lovely walks straight from the cottage."

    The cottage is very spacious. We enjoyed a swim in the pool every day. We didn’t want to leave so we have booked to go back in March. This place has the Wow factor.

    Reviewed by SusanSep 2020

  • "The grounds were perfect for the dogs and we all loved going for walks."

    Although I didn’t use the pool, the rest of my family did and loved it. Only negative comment is that there should be TVs in all bedrooms and the bed room furniture could do with a little updating. That said these points are minor, we all loved our time here and would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by AnneSep 2020

  • "The facilities are superb, well thought out for dog owners."

    Very helpful staff if you have any problem, dealt with swiftly and efficiently.

    Reviewed by AllisonNov 2019

  • "We have been coming to Helsbury for the past 12 years and always return as we thoroughly enjoy every experience."

    What I would say, is that I do feel that the barn could do with some modernisation in places. Also, some of the kitchen resources are not of a great standard. Therefore cooking a meal can be A challenge and frustrating. The master bed was terribly uncomfortable and left us both aching each morning, to the point that we considered returning home on the Thursday. I think at the price you pay, I don’t think the extra charge to use the sauna is warranted. My little boy loved the pool and the dogs had an amazing time. Thank you for a lovely relaxing week away.

    Reviewed by JohannaOct 2019

  • "This cottage was amazing!"

    ! The grounds were perfect for both humans and dogs. We have reactive dogs so the quiet and peaceful area and grounds were perfect for them. The scenery was fantastic. The kids loved the swimming pool and pool table. The cottage was home from home and well equipped. Will be booking again and thank you to the owners for a wonderful holiday

    Reviewed by VickyAug 2019

  • "We settled right in at Westhayes."

    The house was lovely a really great place for a family holiday. Ample space inside and out and nicely set out. Kids struggled with no WI-FI in the house, but managed to adjust eventually!

    Reviewed by VictoriaJul 2019

  • "Two bathrooms of house were damp & smelled upon arrival we had to leave doors, windows open & fans on for 2 days to air out."

    The property does NOT have wifi as advertised on the website, you have to go to small shed like place in the next property's garden to get any signal and that room was mouldy, dirty & full of dead flies, it was so bad you could not sit in the room as it was like breathing in mould spores. To be balanced, the pool area & grounds were amazing, the best we have ever stayed in, but do not feel the property was worth £ 1648 for a week

    Thanks for taking the time to complete your feedback, we have now implemented a state of the art wireless connection to the internet we therefore now have uncontended connections of 30m/b+ in all of our cottages as well as by the pool. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StevenJul 2019

  • "Ideal haven for humans and dogs"

    Reviewed by LyndaJun 2019

  • "Helsbury Park really do go the extra mile to accommodate dogs."

    The facilities are excellent especially the pool which is way better than a number of good spa hotels I have stayed at. It is not a low cost holiday but they say you get what you pay for and in that Helsbury Park delivers great value especially as we were able to accommodate 5 adults and 4 dogs in what I consider to be a large very well equipped cottage. The WiFi is limited if you need it while on holiday but that is something the owners hope to remedy but they are limited by availability in that area. however there is really good 4G mobile signal there if you need internet access. Overall great holiday in excellent location. i would recommend to anyone who wnats to take their dog(s) on holiday with them.

    Reviewed by TrevorJun 2019

  • "Excellent location as a base to explore North Cornwall"

    Reviewed by JenniferMay 2019

  • "What a fabulous week we had here."

    The pool was great and we used it twice a day! The scenery and walks were amazing. Our 4 border collies felt right at home. The best cottage holiday in years! We're going back at the next opportunity.

    Reviewed by ClaireMay 2019

  • "Kennel not secure Enclosed area for dog not enclosed Some appliances didn’t ..."

    Kennel not secure Enclosed area for dog not enclosed Some appliances didn’t work Trouble opening some doors Access is difficult for the elderly More 3 star than 5

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback following your recent stay at Westhayes. We've spoken with the owner who has asked us to cover the points mentioned. It would appear the kennel may have been damaged by previous guests, this has now been fixed and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Following a visit from the housekeeper of Westhayes to check the electrical items, it transpires that they were all working correctly and once shown how to use them we believe you had no further issues. The extreme hot weather during your stay had caused 1 of the doors to swell and become sticky, we will of course look at this further in an attempt to stop this from potentially happening again. We are sorry to read that you did not feel Westhayes was a 5 tick property, all of our properties are tick rated by our experienced property managers and are rated on facilities, fixtures, fittings and a very substantial inventory for each room in the house. We feel Westhayes very much meets the 5 tick rating. The feedback we receive for Westhayes is overwhelmingly positive and we are confident that any issues highlighted are a one off. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClareApr 2019

  • "Westhayes cottage was perfect."

    The location was ideal, we didn't have to travel more than half an hour the entire week. There is so much to do within such a short distance. The cottage itself is gorgeous. Extremely clean throughout and has everything you could possibly need The swimming pool is amazing. Big windows looking out onto the picturesque hills and woods gives you a feeling of serenity. There are endless walks for you and your dogs which take you through these woods, hills, fields and rivers. I genuinely cannot speak highly enough of this cottage. Truly perfect!

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2018

  • "Excellent accommodation which is very dog friendly."

    Great base to explore North Cornwall from

    Reviewed by JenniferApr 2018

  • "Absolutely superb place to holiday with dogs but due to no longer offering the ..."

    Absolutely superb place to holiday with dogs but due to no longer offering the couple discount and the price having gone up we would not return

    Reviewed by RachelSep 2017

  • "We love it here, this was our second visit and we have just booked our 3rd visit."

    The location is beautiful and our dogs and children love it here!!

    Reviewed by MichelleNov 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size bed, en-suite shower room, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin beds or zip-linkable to a king size with ensuite shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x king size four poster with bathroom with bath, bidet, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with WC
  • Kitchen / dining room, sitting room with wood burner stove
  • Shared use of the heated indoor pool.
  • Oil underfloor heating, electric panels and wood burner stove
  • Range cooker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer
  • Wi-fi enabled smart TV
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for wood burner stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stairgate, cot and high chair available on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Lawned gardens, plus 100 acres of countryside, river, bridge, woods and pasture and coal barbeque
  • Unlimited pets welcome at £25 each per week
  • Dog Sitting Service available
  • Shared EV charging point - app required for payment
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Pub and shop 5 miles, beach 10 miles
  • Dedicated wireless internet solution providing 30mb/s access to the internet
  • Note: Friday changeovers only

The property

Westhayes is one of two 200 year old barn conversions which have been modernised to create spacious and luxurious holiday homes, within Helsbury Park just outside Camelford.

One of three luxury properties that is completely dog friendly and offers fantastic accommodation and amenities for the whole family to enjoy.

There is a shared heated indoor swimming pool plus 100 acres of countryside to explore.

Refurbished to maximise its charm and comfort using traditional materials such as slate and granite and luxuries such as a range cooker and wood burner for winter cosiness.

The living accommodation offers a generous kitchen/diner and separate sitting room with a stunning galleried staircase in between.

There are two super bedrooms both king-size, one with a four poster bed and one twin bedroom, with twin beds or zip-linkable to a king size.

The master bedroom has a stylish en-suite bathroom while the other two have en-suite shower rooms.

Built at right angles to Marhayes (which also sleeps 6), the two barns share a front lawn, with an enclosed private area to the rear where dogs can be exercised in a controlled space, along with an outdoor kennel.

Situated in the heart of North Cornwall this unique site is nestled in between three Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty: The Camel Valley, Bodmin Moor and the North Cornish Coast, this superb venue not only offers luxurious accommodation but is also totally dog friendly.

Stroll around the private grounds which include a river, bridge, woods and pasture - it will take you about an hour to loop the whole garden.

Take in spectacular vistas of Bodmin Moor and the Camel Valley with a view of Roughtor and Devil's Jump to the east and the river valley to the south.

Westhayes is a very tempting choice for a holiday for family and friends to explore the surrounding area or just to stay on the park. For larger groups we also let the adjoining property: Marhayes (959870).

View on map

About the location


  • Tintagel 5.7 miles
  • Bodmin 13.1 miles
  • Padstow 19 miles
  • Bude 17.2 miles
  • Newquay 26.8 miles
  • Truro 35.7 miles

The old market town of Camelford nearby is located close to Cornwall's north coast and is ideally situated for exploring the wild country of Bodmin Moor and the high cliffs, hidden coves, fishing villages and surfing beaches that populate this beautiful area. The shops in this old market town have delicious local produce. The South West Coastal Path is a year-round attraction and the surrounding villages and hamlets harbour a wealth of country inns and restaurants. With Wadebridge for a great day out shopping and the Camel Trail for biking and walking, Launceston the old capital of Cornwall with its 13th-century castle, Camelford with the best fish and chips you’ll ever taste, Padstow and Port Isaac for fine dining, Bossiney, Trebarwith and Tregardock beaches for surfing and the fascinating tiny worlds of the rock pools, along with Tintagel, Boscastle, Polzeath and the myriad of other coastal villages to enjoy. Be sure to check out Tintagel, where you will find a magnificent castle, Merlin’s Cave, the National Trust sites of Glebe Cliffs and Tintagel Old Post Office, and the King Arthur’s Arms Inn. You have a dazzling array of days out waiting for you all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Camelford

Note: Friday changeovers only.