Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

41 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Atlantic Watch 8 - Cornwall - 1073903 - photo 1
close

Atlantic Watch 8

Carbis Bay, Cornwall (Ref. 1073903)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Wonderful accommodation, with the most amazing sea views and the perfect location, being a stones throw from the beautiful Carbis Bay beach."

    Felt like such a home from home, especially with all the thoughtful touches throughout the villa. The hot tub was a bonus, which we loved. I can’t really rate the accommodation highly enough. We felt very sad to leave it and we will definitely be back. Thank you!

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the property and your stay! Thank you so much again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by VanessaJul 2022

  • "Such an amazing place."

    Had a fabulous stay. The views are just amazing.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by CatherineJul 2022

  • "Great location fantastic views"

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2022

  • "It was amazing!"

    We will definitely be back!!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by AbigailJun 2022

  • "The property was beyond all expectations."

    It was clean, very homely, well decorated throughout, facilities were great and the view.. wow I can’t even put into words. The apartment is in a great spot; a couple of minutes walk from the beach, minutes from local amenities and a thirty second walk from the train station for local trains to St Ives etc. We stayed here for our honeymoon and it did not let us down. We have already been looking at rebooking. We were left vouchers for Cornish pasties which we used and they were amazing! Definitely recommend this property!!

    Hi Nikki, congratulations on your wedding and thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely Feedback following you recent Honeymoon at Atlantic Watch 8 and we are so pleased to hear the property was beyond your expectations. Best wishes for the future and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Atlantic Watch 8. Kind regards, The Carbis bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by NikkiMay 2022

  • "We did enjoy our holiday at the apartment."

    It was very comfortable and I think freshly decorated as it was different to the photographs. The views were amazing with some beautiful sunsets. It was really close to the train station which was only a couple of pounds return into St ives and took about 3 mins. There were also really lovely coastal walks from the apartment. So there were a lot of positives. However we were really disappointed with a lot of aspects and felt the description of the apartment is misleading and the photographs really do need updating. The first major thing we noticed on walking into the apartment was that the living room is a lot smaller by a good 5ft than the photographs show. This appears to be because an extra room with bunkbeds has been added. I don't know if this room is just for the owners to use but the door was open and the beds had ,what appeared to be, used bedcovers just rolled back on the ends of the beds. (Which really isn't acceptable considering the cost of the apartment). The living room has not only shrunk but is decorated differently and has some furniture missing, probably because it no longer fits in. The second major thing was just how close to the road the apartment is. This isnt mentioned at all and the photographs showing the view of the outside from the apartment are cleverly taken so you aren't aware there is a road there at all. It states in the description there is a private balcony, well yes it is private in that it is for your use only but in no way do you have any privacy when you are on it. To begin with it is overlooked by the apartment next door. But the main issue we found is because the balcony is on the ground floor, when you sit at the table, anyone coming round the corner and walking past(and a lot do walking down to the beach) they are so close you could reach out and touch them and you do feel like you are in a bit of a goldfish bowl. We imagined having breakfast on the balcony each morning but after experiencing this the first morning, we never sat out there again as we might as well have been sitting outside a cafe in St ives. Now this was just an issue for us I'm sure this wouldn't bother a lot of people but you need to be aware of it before booking so that you've got the choice. Had we been aware of this we would probably not have chosen this apartment. Obviously the hot tub is also on the balcony so getting in and out of it you were on full view of anyone walking or driving past however once in the tub it was relatively private. And as a positive, the hot tub is checked by a very nice man 3 times a week who was really helpful. The balcony is definately not spacious as quoted in the description! Because of the proximity to the road, lying in the bed in the master bedroom, you can see inside the cab of any vans driving past. You could also see people walking past on the opposite side of the road so you couldn't walk around the bedroom in the nuddy, of course you could drawer the curtains but then that defeats the object of having the lovely views to look at(of the sea not of us in the nuddy). On a positive note, although the road is so close it is not a busy road and is especially quiet at night so doesn't disturb your sleep. I don't know if it would be busier at the height of summer. We stayed in May. The trains also run past quite close but that didn't really bother us but it might some people. The apartment appeared to be clean especially the kitchen and the bathroom. However I was quite surprised that the hand rail on the stairs leading to the bedrooms was so dirty that I had to buy some wipes and clean it. I also had to clean the bathroom door which looked grubby and had black marks on it. I wouldn't normally do this in a holiday place but felt because of the current times it should really have been cleaned as It was really noticeable. The windows in the main bedroom also had hand marks on them however I didn't clean these as I didnt want to spend my holiday doing housekeeping considering the amount of money we had paid for the apartment. There were a couple of other niggles. Outside the apartment there were a number of paint cans just left outside the kitchen window. There is a dishwasher and tablets were provided but there was no washing up liquid or tea towels. There are only 4 cups so if you don't want to put a dishwasher on to clean a couple of cups you may want to bring some washing up liquid and a tea towel or you will have to go out and buy some like we did! There are also no oven gloves provided so you couldn't get anything out of the hot oven. We ended up having to use one of the bathroom towels We had one day of quite heavy rain so decided to go back to the apartment to watch a film. However everything we tried to watch required a pin. We gave up on films in the end and decided to watch Agatha Raisin thinking surely that was relatively safe but even this was pin protected. We rang Sykes and spoke to a really lovely helpful lady who said she would ring someone to get the pin for us. However, she came back to us and said whoever she had spoken to wouldnt give the pin number out and we would have to wait until 9 oclock in the evening to watch anything other than children's films.!!!!!!! Even she thought it was ridiculous. Again for the amount of money we paid for this flat and the fact that sky TV and movies are mentioned in the description, this really isnt acceptable. Finally, if two couples are sharing this apartment, whoever gets the main bedroom is definately getting the best deal with the views and balcony. The second bedroom only has a small window which looks out onto a brick wall and next door's very tiny patio area. We didn't use this room so it didn't affect us but I feel people should be aware of it before booking. I have marked the ratings down only because of the above issues I dont really like to do this but I want other people to be aware of them so they have an informed choice and know exactly what they are booking as I feel this is an expensive apartment and had we been aware of some of the above we would not have booked it.

    Reviewed by JanMay 2022

  • "The only thing that was wrong was that the voucher left for discount on the ..."

    The only thing that was wrong was that the voucher left for discount on the Warrens pasties was out of date and so could not be used in the shop

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the voucher in the property was out of date! If you ever get any issues during your stay please call us on 01736 630015 option 2, as we would have been able to get these replaced for you very quickly! Thank you again for your comment. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by FionaApr 2022

  • "The property made my 50th birthday very special."

    The highlight was certainly the HOT Tub. The apartment was absolutely beautiful.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are so pleased you had a great time! Kind Regards and Happy Belated Birthday from all of The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by ParamjeetMar 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at 8 Atlantic Watch."

    The views from bedroom and lounge are beautiful, the place was clean and warm when we arrived. We had a job finding the cutlery at first, (under the chopping board) but Sean at Sykes gave us a clue where to find them (thank you Sean). The beds were really comfy, we all came back feeling really relaxed and would have no hesitation to recommend 8 Atlantic Watch to anyone wanting a luxurious break away.

    Reviewed by HelenFeb 2022

  • "Stunning property in a stunning location."

    Not faults, but there were a couple of things that we wanted to feed back on. We found the oversized sofa in the main room to be very low and difficult to settle into and get back up from. Also the double bed is very low and we found it quite uncomfortable - the mattress was too soft us. We were hoping that after a long drive from Essex we would be able to use the hot tub on the evening of arrival. The tub was a key reason for booking tnis apartment. We know that tubs can take hours to warm up after being refilled and the information in the property advises that it would be available for use on arrival. Unfortunately the 27 degree temperature at 5pm meant that we were unable to use the tub until the next day which was disappointing. Finally - we found it a bit odd that the apartment sleeps 6 but the table in the kitchen is only big enough for 4 and only 4 chairs are provided. This could be an issue if we were to re-booked with a larger group. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended the property to friends.

    Dear Andy, thank you very much for your Feedback following your recent stay at Atlantic Watch 8 and I am sorry you were not able to use the hot tub when you arrived at the property. We have passed your comments to the Owner for their attention. With regards to the dining table only sitting 4, I can confirm Atlantic Watch 8 only accepts a maximum of 4 guests. If you did wish to return in the future with a bigger party and need a larger property, I’m pleased to advise we have an excellent selection of bigger properties on our portfolio for you to choose from. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndyJan 2022

  • "The location of the house is beautiful and it is lovely and bright inside."

    We have looked forward to this break and spent a little more than normal on this property for a treat after all the lockdowns. The house is really lovely and comfortable but feel it needs a little TLC and a rewrite/update of the description on the booking site. The following points could be addressed for future guests: The living room has shrunk by more than 2 feet and the lovely rocking chair described in the listing isn’t there. I’d bought a new book to enjoy there! There is now a 3rd small bunk bed room in the space that has been taken which isn’t mentioned in the listing. The hot tub was set at 27 when we got in the first night so had to abandon immediately until it heated up the next day as it was tepid. We’d looked forward to that after travelling all day from Manchester. It was main feature of the property we wanted use of all holiday. Also the waterproof speaker mentioned in the house book was missing. The boiler timer control doesn’t work so the house was boiling for 2 days. The heating is either on full or off. Fortunately it was mild so we left it off after it cooled down. We have the same boiler and replaced the MT10 timer 3 times before overriding it with a Nest Thermostat for £70. Main bathroom - toilet seat not fixed after last review. Not ideal when recovering from a rib injury to have a wobbly seat. Hubby would have fixed it himself if he’d got a screwdriver with him! The lid on the pedal bin fell off on first use. Inexpensive to replace. Bathmat was falling to bits on the back. En-suite - plug in sink doesn’t work Wine cooler - repeatedly followed instructions to set but it kept defaulting to 27 and warming contents. Perhaps the housekeeper could set things up for arrivals? Laundry bags listed on Covid instructions non existent for dirty sheets and towels. Looked round the house twice and just left in separate piles. Don’t get me wrong - the house is amazing and we had a lovely holiday! Would we stay there again YES. Carbis Bay is beautiful and the views are to die for! The coast path is on the doorstep too! It’s nearly perfect

    Reviewed by GinaNov 2021

  • "We had hot water problem which was terrible had plumber out 2 times he was rubbish any way"

    Dear Charles, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback to us for your recent stay at Atlantic Watch 8. We do apologise for the issue you had with the hot water; we did contact the plumber as soon as we were made aware by the tradesman working next door as we understand you couldn't call us. We sincerely hope that this didn't effect the rest of your stay. Kind regards, Chaela Owner Relations, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlesOct 2021

  • "My husband and I stayed in the original property back in 2013 for our little minimoon."

    When I booked this property, I didn't realise it was next door to where we stayed originally so it was a fantastic surprise to return here! The property itself was absolutely stunning, with fab facilities! There were a couple of very minor maintenance issues...The toilet seat in the main bathroom was very wobbly, and the bathroom sink plug doesn't work (allowing water to drain). Like I said, very minor and didn't affect the stay! Can't wait to return!

    Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback, its always appreciated by us at Carbis Bay Holidays and the owner. Lovely yo hear you has a wonderful stay and I'm sure a fantastic surprise......... We will pass on the points you raised to the housekeeper and will action accordingly. We look forward to inviting you back in the near future, Kind Regards, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoOct 2021

  • "The property was situated in a wonderful location with magnificent views."

    It was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Downside - property information booklet needs updating - I drove 3 miles to the notified recycling centre to be told that it had been closed for a considerable time.

    Dear Chris, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Atlantic Watch 8, it really doesn't have the most beautiful views, and even more special when the sun is setting and you are sat comfortably in the hot tub. Thank you for raising the point about the out of date recycling information, we will update accordingly. We hope to invite you back in the near future, Kind Regards, Owner Relations Team, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisSep 2021

  • "The standard of the accommodation was first class and in a fantastic location with beautiful views across Carbis bay."

    It was beautifully decorated with lovely finishing touches. We will definitely be recommending Atlantic Watch 8 and Carbis Bay Holidays to friends and family and hope to return again soon.

    Dear Debbie, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are very glad you had such a good holiday and I am sure it is well deserved. Kind regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by DebbieAug 2021

  • ""Absolutely incredible property to stay in, not only does it boast some of the best views of Carbis Bay, it is also beautifully decorated, modern and makes you feel at home!"

    cannot recommend it enough, second time staying here and hopefully many more stays at Atlantic Watch 8 in the future!"
    Simone

    ReviewJul 2019

  • ""Atlantic Watch 8 is a new addition to our portfolio."

    Guest comments will be added as soon as we receive them." Carbis Bay Holidays

    TestimonialJul 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Carbis Bay Holidays collection.
Escape to a luxury holiday cottage nudging the Cornish coast. Carbis Bay Holidays collection of stylish self-catering accommodation ranges from penthouse apartments overlooking the white-sand beaches of St Ives, to designer country homes a pebble’s throw from the coast.

Summary

  • Reverse-level
  • Two ground-floor bedrooms: 1 x king-size with 32" LCD HD TV with Freeview and DVD player, 1 x twin with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, handheld shower, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • First-floor cloakroom with basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • First-floor open-plan living space with kitchen and dining area, sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Oven/grill, 4 burner gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine
  • TV with Sky Cinema, TV with Freeview, DVD player, Bluetooth sound system, WiFi and a selection of DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair provided
  • Off-road parking for one car, seaward facing terrace with hot tub, outside furniture including table, and chairs
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.8 miles, beach 0.2 miles
  • Note: Please bring your own linen for the cot
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am

The property

Overlooking St Ives Bay, on the seaward facing side of Carbis Bay, this lovely, two-bedroom, semi-detached, villa, enjoys stunning sea views from its living area, master bedroom and private hot tub, it’s only a short walk to the beach, scenic railway and for easy access to the South West coast path, which circles Cornwall’s dramatic coastline, making it the perfect base for a romantic retreat or young family looking to escape to the coast, the sitting area, located on the first floor, boasts panoramic sea views through a wall of glazed sliding doors, a glass balustrade allows you to open them up and let in the sea air, natural light floods in on the oak flooring and the beautiful ocean colours are reflected in the theme of the room, relax on the contemporary corner sofa with chair, seating six, and enjoy the breath-taking views, across the bay to St Ives and the Island, alternatively, enjoy the entertainment system provided, which includes a large television with Sky Cinema, a dining area, within the open-plan kitchen, is located on the same level as the sitting area but towards the rear, an Italian designer Eames dining table with four chairs are provided for your convenience, the spacious and stylish kitchen is well appointed with soft close units and granite quartz worktops, everything you need for a week’s holiday and more, both bedrooms are located on the ground floor, a king-size master bedroom enjoys access to a seaward facing balcony, with fabulous views and a hot tub, floor to ceiling sliding doors showcase the wonderful views of the bay and let natural light flood the room, a second twin room, is located at the rear, this comfortable space benefits from its own en-suite shower room, both rooms are furnished with plenty of storage space, the family bathroom, is conveniently located between the bedrooms, with a bath and shower, offering an idyllic space to relax after a day exploring, a separate WC is located on the first floor between the kitchen and lounge, a delightful private seaward facing terrace with glass balustrading, allowing you to enjoy the uninterrupted sea view, whilst maintaining your privacy, is accessed via the master bedroom, enjoy soaking in the bubbles, relaxing, watching the ever changing colours of the ocean, just fabulous, a cube table and four stools are provided for your comfort, a wonderful place to relax watching the sun set, a short walk brings you to the golden sands and crystal clear waters of Carbis Bay Beach, this secluded bay has Blue Flag status and is lifeguarded at peak times, so you can safely enjoy the water sports on offer, from here you can join the South West Coast Path towards Lelant and the Hayle Estuary in one direction and St Ives in the other, St Ives is a tourist hot spot, this fabulous traditional Cornish fishing village has inspired artists from all over the world and you can see why, it has a working harbour, cobbled streets filled with boutiques, cafes and restaurants, serving fresh seafood, it has a variety of galleries but the largest is the Tate and Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden, where one of its former famous residents work is celebrated, after all that walking you'll want a relaxing ride home, so hop aboard the scenic railway back to Carbis Bay, it connects the surrounding area and the views are breathtaking, further afield, Cornwall’s Eden Project is world famous for its glorious enclosed rainforest, Pendennis Castle in Falmouth is one of many of Cornwall’s historic landmarks, along with St Michael's Mount near Penzance, set on its own island it is magical, if you travel from Penzance to Lands’ End treat yourself to a night’s entertainment at the nearby Minack, set in the cliffs, it has one of the most dramatic settings for an open air theatre and is a stunning setting for a romantic night out.

If you're after the ultimate coastal setting, with the bonus of bubbles to sink into under the stars, then a holiday at this villa promises you some hot tub heaven.

Floorplans

Ground Floor

Houses In Carbis Bay

Carbis Bay cottages, self catering beach houses and villas that have been carefully designed, or renovated specifically to provide luxury holiday accommodation.

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location

CARBIS BAY

St Ives 2 miles ; Hayle 3.5 miles ; Penzance 8.5 miles

Just a short drive from iconic St Ives, the seaside village of Carbis Bay is best-known for its beautiful stretch of pure white sand. With turquoise waters and sheltered conditions, the beach feels almost subtropical and is the perfect spot for a good old-fashioned day by the sea. The beach is also home to the Ocean Sports Centre, so if sunbathing is not really your thing, why not hire a kayak or SUP and get out on the water instead. Or why not treat yourself to a Spa day at the delightful hotel which overlooks the beach and has a fabulous terrace where cocktails can be enjoyed in the Cornish sunshine? Carbis Bay has a small range of local shops and restaurants as well as a fish & chip takeaway and railway branch line. The train journey from Carbis Bay into St Ives is perhaps one of the most beautiful in the country; St Ives additionally makes for a great day out, with plenty of galleries to explore. The quayside town of Hayle also isn't far and is home to activities for the all the family, including a golf and a wildlife sanctuary. The Godrevy Nature Reserve and Penwith Heritage Coast are also within easy reach from Carbis Bay, providing outdoors and watersports plans with even more activities to partake in, including coasteering and birdwatching. Carbis Bay is truly a wonderful holiday location for those wanting to experience Cornwall's breathtaking coastline.

Region Information

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £200 for this property. There are 8 tiled steps leading from the parking area to the front door of Atlantic Watch 8. There are a 12 steps internally between the two floors. Parking for one car in an allocated tarmac space next to the steps leading to the front door.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute
  • Christmas