Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Beach Retreat in the last 24 hours

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Beach Retreat - Cornwall - 1073907 - photo 1
close

Beach Retreat

(Ref. 1073907)

Carbis Bay, Cornwall Show on map

4.6

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • beach (34)
  • retreat (28)
  • lovely (25)
  • stay (21)
  • apartment (21)
  • ives (21)

54 Customer Reviews

  • "We have stayed in this area many times before and this is one of our favourites now."

    The appartment was clean and comfortable with lovely furnishings and well equipped kitchen. So easy to get to St Ives or Penzance by the train within 5 minutes walk. This was alast minute break and we are so glad we booked here. Definitely hope to return soon.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0May 2024

  • "Ideally located for beach and train station, clean and very comfortable with ..."

    Ideally located for beach and train station, clean and very comfortable with everything you need a home from home would recommend and would book again thank you

    Reviewed by Dawn4.7May 2024

  • "As always with any 0f the properties we have stayed in managed by Sykes Just perfect"

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0May 2024

  • "We enjoyed our stay at this lovely apartment, very comfortable, home from home."

    Just a couple of disappointments, could not log onto wifi, plus electric tripped off once half way through cooking evening meal( this also happened to previous guest) possible fault on cooker. A small niggle kitchen bin not cleaned properly. Saying all this we would gladly stay again, and recommend to friends.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Beach Retreat and found it to be very comfortable, a home from home. We are sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay and can confirm we have passed your comments on. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Oct 2023

  • "Overall a very well presented and equipped apartment."

    It was clean with comfortable furniture and bed. Having Sky TV gives a good choice of viewing,the only downside was at times the satellite signal was lost or weak. The downloadable content though worked very well. Of course the TV itself has a separate Freesat tuner so still good choice. The apartment itself does not have a sea view,but a short walk down the steps leads to the shared terrace with wonderful views across the bay to St Ives, Godrevy,and on a clear day up along the north coast toward Newquay. The beach is only minutes away on foot,be prepared for the hill back though! I used the train and access the station is good and walkable with a reasonable size case. Good parking is also provided. I would certainly use this apartment again.

    Reviewed by Saul5.0Sep 2023

  • "A beautiful, well-equipped apartment with everything we needed for a lovely holiday!"

    The treats provided were much appreciated, and the location couldn't have been better.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Beach retreat, it was lovely and clean and is ideally located for the beach, train to St Ives and days out."

    It had everything we needed and the shared balcony was great for watching the sunset and enjoying the view. Thank you for a lovely stay and for the treats too!

    Thank you for your feedback we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Beach Retreat and we hope to welcome you back again the the future. Kind regards The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at the Beach Retreat."

    It was comfortable, very clean and cosy, especially when it was raining outside, it was like home from home. The location is brilliant, a very short walk to the train station to take you into st Ives, and a taxi back if you miss the last train is reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the property and your stay! Thank you so much again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Aug 2023

  • "The property is very well located with only minutes to walk to the beach and short drives to other places of interested or walking the coast."

    We have stayed in the area several times but our first stay here. The property has everything you need and more including local OS maps and information plus kitchen equipment etc. It is very comfortable and warm and a terrace if the weather is good. The toilet was broken for a few days but soon repaired whilst we were out after reporting it. As previous comments have said the noise from upstairs is very loud, people talking and walking across the lounge which js above the lounge and bedroom of beach retreat plus the scrapping of chairs on the floor is incredibly loud. Therefore it is not a place to stay if you want peace and quiet and a lay in. Apart from that we would of loved to have stayed again as it’s a quiet location and comfortable but would consider elsewhere first. The only other comment I could make to the owners is possibly replacing the soft furnishings in the bedroom as the throw has holes in it and the cushions are marked and looking tired. Otherwise there is everything there for a wonderful comfortable stay and a lovely welcome pack with treats. Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the welcome pack treats. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the guests above during your stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention regarding the soft furnishings we will be sure to pass this onto the owner for their consideration and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kinds regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bernice5.0Jul 2023

  • "The property is ideally located for the railway station and the beach."

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather4.7Jun 2023

  • "A lovely complex in georgous surroundings, the one major issue which is mentioned multiple times on other reviews is the noise that comes through the floor system, it was if there was a heard of elephants above us meaning you had to get up whenever the apartment above did, this did unfortunately put a little bit of a dampener on our stay."

    Thank you very much for your taking the time to leave your comment following your recent holiday at Beach Retreat, we are so pleased that you appreciated the property’s great location. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by noisy guests staying in the property above during your stay and we will forward this on for further attention. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben4.7Jun 2023

  • "We have recently returned from a lovely week staying in Beach Retreat, and what a 'Treat' it was."

    It had everything you could wish for, like home from home. Close to all local amenities. The bed was so comfortable, the best nights sleep ever! The property is located in a beautiful location and you also have the added bonus of using the shared sun terrace which has amazing views looking across to St Ives and Hayle Towans. We have many holidays in Cornwall, having family in Hayle and Carbis Bay, and Beach Retreat is by far the best, this property is an ideal location for exploring the local area and further afield, being so close to both rail and bus services, will definitely be back in the near future. We would highly recommend this property, you won't be disappointed

    Thank you for your fabulous feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the property, the areas and your stay! Thank you so much again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely apartment, and in a great position for the beach and train st into St Ives."

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you loved the property and your stay! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0May 2023

  • "The property was ideal for the week we stayed."

    This is not a criticism but observations during the stay. The kettle was leaking if left with water in, we just left it empty. The water draining in the shower unit is too slow, you ended up with a puddle of water while you was showering.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback and comments following your stay at Beach Retreat. We are happy to hear that the property suited you ideally for the time of your stay. We thank you for bringing the issues with the shower and the kettle to our attention and can assure you that we will look into this to rectify any problems going forward. The team are also always available to help deal with any issues during your stay on 01736 630015 Option 2. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kinds Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7Oct 2022

  • "Lovely property well maintained,the finish of the property is first class."

    Handy for the railway to St Ives just round the corner two pound return and ideal for traveling around the coast line.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are very pleased you have found the property well maintained and we are happy to hear that you appreciated the convenient location of the property. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay in this lovely apartment, however there is a problem, reading the comments of previous people there is a recurring complaint about noise."

    It wasn’t too bad for us, the people above were considerate but they cannot possibly know there is a big problem. The dining area of no 36 is directly above the bedroom of 35. It is fitted with hard flooring which I thought was a universally accepted no no in a flat with a neighbour below. CBH manage both apartments so are well positioned to do something about this problem. We only had the dining chairs being scraped across the floor in the morning to contend with but it is easy to see how the noise could be intolerable as previous people have said. All it would take is a couple of rugs on the floor in that dining area to solve the problem. Even cushion pads on the feet of the dining furniture would help a lot. It’s a simple fix to a big problem so please make sure you do something about it and not just ‘value my feedback’. I confirm that all previously reported faults remain, the bathroom light, outside lights and clock haven’t been fixed, the shower has, I fixed it, it was simple. Sorry to moan, it’s a lovely apartment but it could be improved and have it’s problems solved with a little care and attention to detail. I won’t take it again as is.

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Jun 2022

  • "Overall ok but , patio furniture was dirty and 2 outside lights on patio not working , I had to replace batteries in tv remote ."

    The wall clock wasn’t working . The smell from the dishwasher was awful so had to run a cleaning cycle twice . Led mirror in main shower room was flickering so couldn’t use . Iron was missing but a new one was delivered on the same day as reported . On departure day when removing bedding there were 2 large stains on the mattress . I wouldn’t book this property again because of these small but important issues .

    Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you had a few issues during your stay. Thank you for your constructive comments, these have been taken on board and reported to the necessary departments to try and ensure these things don’t happen again. If you have any issues like this during your stay please contact the local office on 01736 630015 option 2, and one of the local team will be able to assist you straight away. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, The Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham3.8Jun 2022

  • "We have been to numerous properties managed by Carbis Bay Holidays and all have been excellent."

    Beach Retreat fell short of the usual standard in as much as the sink in the en suite and the shower tray were blocked up and took a long time to empty. The shower tray outlet, in particular, didn’t look as if it had been cleaned very well.

    Dear Mr Stewart, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback to us. We would like to assure you that these points have been passed to the housekeeper for Beach Retreat and will be actioned. We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to inviting you back in the future. Kind Regards, Owner Relations, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert3.4Oct 2021

  • "The apartment is well equipped but the main shower was blocked and the plug is thick with mold which spills into the shower tray, which fills up in no time and makes the shower unusable."

    The apartment suffers from a serious noise problem from upstairs which caused us a particular problem due to renovations all week going on in the flat above, any noise upstairs is easily heard at the best of times so our stay was seriously hampered by the noise during our stay. Sykes were very unhelpful in resolving our issues.

    Dear Mr James, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Please be assured we will pass you comments to our property team. We are sorry that you feel that Sykes didn't assist you. During office hours, when our guests call through from the number you submitted on your booking, you will be put through to the local office, and we can help with your inquiry. We hope to invite you back in the future, Kind Regards, Owner Relations, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne3.1Oct 2021

  • "3rd visit to this property, still as good as the first time."

    Dear Mr Riddell, We are delighted to hear you have returned and found Beach Retreat as enjoyable. We hope to invite you back in the very near future. Kind Regards, Owner Relations, Carbis bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Oct 2021

  • "Overall a great location and comfortable accommodation."

    Dear Mr Elliott, Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback for your recent stay at Beach Retreat. Its lovely to hear you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to be able to invite you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Owner Relations Team, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel4.1Sep 2021

  • "We had stayed at this accommodation a couple of years earlier."

    The property is comfortable and well-appointed and, so, we knew what to expect! It continued to please us!

    Dear Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Lovely to hear you enjoyed another stay at Beach Retreat, its always nice to welcome guests back. We hope to invite you back in the near future, Kind Regards, Owner Relations Team, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Sep 2021

  • "Have previously holidayed with Carbis Bay Holidays in Compass Point and were very happy with the service."

    Was a little concerned after the merger with Sykes. No housekeeper contact this year and telephone number provided is for Sykes office in Chester! Had difficulty locating keysafe for the appartment. Instructions not clear. Took us some time to locate the correct bin store. Noticed from previous reviews other guests had also had problems. However apartment was lovely. Spotlessly clean. Comfy bed and well equipped. Location is excellent with train station next door. Would definitely stay again

    Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Its lovely to hear you were happy with the service and although we have joined the Sykes family, we are still the same team in the local office, along with the same wonderful housekeeping team. Our housekeepers no longer contact our guests, this is done only if you are staying for more than one week to arrange a linen change. We will take into consideration the point you have raised about the key collection. We hope to invite you back in the near future, Kind Regards, Owner Relations Team, Carbis Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2021

  • "The apartment was perfect and as described."

    Carbis Bay is the best beach and you are so close as well as the train station being the next road down. We made full use of our spa vouchers which was a lovely touch! I recommend you book all restaurants and activities in advance at least a few weeks before your stay as it is a nightmare finding anywhere to eat if you haven’t booked. Sadly we had an issue with keys on arrival which we spent 1 hour sorting and after a 9 hour drive it wasn’t really something we had the energy to do. Carbis Bay Holidays markets themselves as luxury but to be honest ensuring keys are ready for your next guest is imperative to make sure that their holiday gets off to a good start. It’s something very basic that I would have thought housekeeping would check. The complimentary amenities could be improved, usually we receive a welcome hamper when we have stayed with other Cornwall properties in the past (not through yourselves) . A lovely apartment, probably not worth the cost advertised but the location is brilliant . Not suitable for those with walking difficulties as the apartment sits on a very steep hill.

    Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. It is lovely to have access to the local Spa, a nice little treat after a journey down to Cornwall is the perfect way to start your holiday. We have just encountered a very busy summer, which you obviously witnessed, and making bookings is a great recommendation to save disappointment. Apologies that you experienced complications in regards to key collection, we always endeavor to resolve issues as soon as we can so they don't have an impact on the rest of your stay. Due to the pandemic, we had to make a few changes and the Cream Tea we used to offer is now in review; we stopped placing this is the properties to help prevent the spread of COVID_19 and we have purely had our guests safety as the focus. We are really lucky in the Carbis Bay to be able to offer so many properties with wonderful views, and we wouldn't have this without the terrain. We sincerely hoped you enjoyed your stay and hope to invite you back in the near future. Carbis Bay Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Aug 2021

  • "Having stayed in Compass Point Apartments on a number of previous occasions, having the number of a house keeper has always been good."

    It would appear you have stopped this. Upon arrival the instructions we had been sent were incorrect. It then took approx 30 mins to speak with someone (additional manning of phones during change over days would be good) and a further delay in resolving mix up, on your behalf, as to where key entry could be obtained. After a long and arduous journey, this was most unwelcome and took too long to resolve. Lack of house keeper feels like a step backwards. Disappointing start.

    Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We felt to keep everyone safe during the pandemic, it was necessary to stop the Meet & Greet service, our guest and housekeepers safety is paramount, but I'd like to reassure you we are all still the same team in the local office, supported by a large team of housekeepers as always. We are all adapting to the new normal in regards to the restrictions and we wish to keep everyone as safe as possible. In regards to your key collection; apologise that you experienced complications. Please be assured we are in the local office in Carbis Bay, and we are supported by our team in Customer Relations. When you are a guest in situ, your call is put through to us in the local office, in busy times, the calls may be diverted to our Customer Relations team which can assist also. We do apologise for the inconvenience and we always endeavor to resolve issues as soon as we can so they don't have an impact on your stay. Sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Carbis Bay Holidays Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jun 2021

  • ""A fabulous apartment clean and everything you need."

    Wonderful holiday company Carbis bay holidays and always greeted with a smile. Beach retreat is fabulous."
    Mandy Radford

    ReviewMay 2019

  • "It’s been an absolute pleasure staying here, just amazing."

    Hope to return, weather has been wonderful.

    TestimonialOct 2018

  • "Another great stay in Beach Retreat."

    Enjoyed Becks Fish and Chips and the Hub. Visited Barbara Hepworth museum, weather was very nice for September. Don’t want to go home, we love St Ives.

    TestimonialSep 2018

  • "Enjoyable stay in Beach Retreat."

    We love the proximity to the train station and the coastal walks too. We had two storms this week with horrendous winds to rain, but we were oblivious to them both in the well-situated Beach Retreat! St Ives is wonderful.

    TestimonialSep 2018

  • "Wonderful relaxing stay in Beach Retreat weather great ate in Harbour Fish and Chips, The Hub and Beer & Bird and wonderful pizza on night of arrival from St Ives pizza company returning in September, can’t wait."

    Thanks, Carbis Bay Holidays as ever great new sofa a great success.

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • "Lovely relaxing apartment for our 3rd visit to Carbis Bay."

    Lots to do and plenty of places to go. Great food especially at the Cornish Arms, Becks fish & chips and anywhere in St Ives. Can’t wait to return soon.

    TestimonialAug 2018

  • "Hayley arrived handed keys with guide of how everything worked in Beach Retreat, which was clean and comfortable as a holiday location it is very good with only one fault the hills can be difficult."

    We can’t understand the issue with the bed, we found it to be very comfortable with good quality cotton bedding either M&S or John Lewis so no issue with the magic bed, but the wardrobe well we met some strange people in there including a large male lion. Parked the car and used the train only £2.00 return to St Ives. Please give yourself a treat and try Digi Café very good food and the best cream teas. To all at Carbis Bay Holidays, thank you.

    TestimonialJul 2018

  • "We’ve had a wonderful time, and really apricated the friendly welcome and extra special starter pack with everything needed to make a cream tea and even a shopping bag."

    Also, how later in the week when we needed to contact you, you quickly responded to our message. The garden to sit out in, a suntrap and nice to look at. Good sized in-suite bathroom and shower room, in-suite having very good lighting and mirrored area for getting ready. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The apartment is attractively furnished even the floor tilling, love the way its been done in the in-suite. We just needed longer than a week to enjoy it all. Thank you very much.

    TestimonialJul 2018

  • "Come to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and couldn’t have asked for a better location, house to stay in and weather."

    The spa pass was a lovely treat and the house had everything and more I could have asked for.

    TestimonialJun 2018

  • "2nd Stay in Beach Retreat came as a birthday treat and enjoyed every minute beautiful apartment."

    St Ives is lovely and quite in January saw it from a different perspective and loved it. Ate at the Gannett and visited the cinema which was create can’t wait to return in July and September ‘Shower storage rack a welcome’ Thank you to Carbis Bay holiday for the lovely welcome.

    TestimonialJan 2018

  • ""Carbis Bay Holidays helped ensure we had a fantastic weeks holiday in Cornwall in another beautiful apartment - Beach Retreat, you even managed to throw in a week of sunshine (well almost) which for mid October proves your connections must be far reaching."

    See you next year! " C. Cartwright

    TestimonialOct 2015

  • "“We had a lovely stay at Beach Retreat and will defiantly recommend and return to your website and services in the future."

    Booking was easy and extremely efficient as was arriving at the property. The housekeeper was professional and very welcoming. The apartment was spotless and had everything we needed and more. We really appreciated the thought that has obviously gone into ensuring the apartment was equipped for anything a guest might need during a stay.” L.Sutcliffe

    TestimonialJul 2015

  • "“A few words about 'Beach Retreat' at Compass Point."

    -The best self catering accommodation we've ever stayed in. Quality furniture all round and everything you need in the kitchen. Position is superb for either a walk or coastal train into St Ives. The housekeeper met us on arrival and explained everything and the welcome pack was indeed most welcome. Booking arrangements - speedy and efficient. Carbis Bay holidays website is excellent. Will be back sometime soon.” T.Hirst

    TestimonialJun 2015

  • ""Beach Retreat was lovely."

    In the ideal position for us as a family - just a few minutes walk from Carbis Bay beach for our 18 month old son. The proximity to the train station was great too, it meant that we could leave our car behind when visiting St Ives, pretty much door to door service. Surprisingly, we'd never have guessed that the station was directly in front of Compass Point. Never once did we hear a train whilst at the apartment! The apartment was just as it appeared in the photos on your website. Spotless and well maintained. The kitchen was well equipped and I was able to cook as I would normally do at home. Beach Retreat was the perfect base for our holiday. " S.Walshaw

    TestimonialMay 2015

  • ""We had a wonderful holiday Beach Retreat was lovely and very homely."

    Beautifully presented. Thank you again for a great experience" C. & M. Dublin

    TestimonialApr 2015

  • ""We had a fantastic time in Carbis Bay, Beach Retreat was lovely and well and truly lived up to our expectations."

    We had a great time exploring St Ives and had some lovely meals at the Beach restaurant and hope to be back to stay soon." B. & S. Furbach

    TestimonialMar 2015

  • ""I can't fault the standard of accommodation or cleanliness,in fact I would say that Beach Retreat is the most thoughtfully equipped apartment that I have visited."

    " R. Bream

    TestimonialFeb 2015

  • ""Beach Retreat was just as we expected from the photographs, very high standard."

    Everything needed for a self catering holiday was available and probably more. Very well thought out. The position of the apartments makes very easy access to the tip of Cornwall to places such as Mousehole, Penzance, St Michaels Mount, Lands End and The Minack Theatre at Porthcurno to name but a few. I would suggest booking early if you want to watch a performance at the theatre. The fish and chips at Becks just up the road are well worth a try as is the takeaway pizza from La Casita. Very enjoyable holiday, would do it again." A. Guest

    TestimonialJan 2015

  • ""Our stay at Beach Retreat in Carbis Bay was really worthwhile."

    The standard of accommodation and the service was excellent and the sun came out. We ate extremely well in St Ives, particularly at the Seafood Cafe, Alba, Porthminster Cafe and had good crab sandwiches at the Tate." M. Abrahams

    TestimonialDec 2014

  • ""Beach Retreat was ideal for our purposes and for 2 people I thought it was quite spacious and it was to a very high standard."

    We visited St.Ives a couple of times and ate in the Porthminster Beach cafe (idyllic cream tea) and also spent a pleasant evening in the Firehouse Bar and Grill. Loved looking around the galleries and walking along the beach (glorious weather for that time of year). We took the little train down to Penzance one day (bit disappointed with that location) but walked to Marazion and to St.Michaels Mount (closed but we knew that) and that was a great day - we caught the bus back to Penzance and then back to Carbis Bay on the train. We also drove down to Sennen Cove and walked to Lands End. Sennon was lovely but Lands end is totally spoilt - the walk was exhilirating though and certainly made up for the disappointment of the venue." J. Vaughan

    TestimonialNov 2014

  • ""I had a fabulous holiday at Beach Retreat."

    It was the perfect holiday and the accommodation was wonderful. There was everything there I needed and the apartment was comfortable, clean and welcoming. I packed so much into my week and enjoyed the coastal walks and sometimes a train journey into St Ives. I enjoyed a lovely boat trip to the lighthouse and saw lots of seals which made my holiday. I had trips out to St Michael's Mount, Mousehole (which was the most beautiful peaceful fishing village) and Truro. I ate in lots of cafes and restaurants but my favourite was the Porthmeor Beach Restaurant where I loved the Organic Cornish Cider and Crab Sandwiches. I even bought a new wetsuit and went swimming in the sea, which was remarkably warm!!" Karen

    TestimonialSep 2014

  • ""We had a lovely time thanks and thought Beach Retreat was of a very high standard, the cleanliness of the apartment and quality/standard of the appliances was excellent and went a long way towards making our stay very enjoyable."

    " A. Royle

    TestimonialAug 2014

  • ""Our apartment, Beach Retreat, far exceeded our expectations in terms of furnishings, equipment, cleanliness, ideally located for the areas of Cornwall we wished to visit."

    The fact that the station was so close was a real bonus, particularly in the evenings so we didn't have to take the car into St. Ives. We can recommend visits to Trellisick near the King Harry ferry and Trengwainton near Penzance. We also took a helicopter flight from Penzance to the Isles of Scilly for the day to visit the Tresco Abbey gardens - this day return flight gave ample time to walk around the island and do justice to the gardens. We had a memorable meal at Porthminster Cafe - expensive but worth every penny - and can recommend the Seafood Cafe on Fore Street, Black Rock restaurant, Market Place and on the Wharf, the Cafe Pasta. If anyone is interested in history of art and artists of St. Ives - we can highly recommend the weekly walking art tour of St. Ives." S & G Thomas

    TestimonialJul 2014

  • ""Our second stay at Beach Retreat and we loved it as much this time as the first."

    It will definitely not be our last visit and I have just recommended a break here to my brother and his wife. We did the coast walk to St Ives and Lelant, which was lovely. We eat at Porthminster café for dinner (it’s our favourite), which was excellent as always. We also celebrated New Years eve in St Ives, which was great fun, especially to see so many people dressed up. Thanks again for a great visit." N Hudson

    TestimonialJun 2014

  • ""We had a fabulous stay and thought Beach Retreat was absolutely perfect and of very high quality."

    I would not hesitate in future to book this property for any further stays in Cornwall. I am also recommending the property to a friend who has a young baby as I think it would be ideal for them." N. Hudson

    TestimonialMay 2014

  • ""We are happily impressed with Carbis Bay Holidays as a whole and very pleased with the service we have received."

    All staff we have corresponded with have been very pleasant and helpful. Beach Retreat exceeded our expectations even though is was precisely depicted on the website. Our holiday was most definitely improved by the apartment, facilities and location." R. Deane

    TestimonialApr 2014

  • ""We thought that the accommodation was excellent, it was very comfortable and well equipped, great location and as a result we had a lovely holiday."

    " A. Khan

    TestimonialMar 2014

  • ""On entering Beach Retreat it met our expectations as the website was full of images and details of what to expect."

    And I was pleasantly surprised that I could actually see the sea from the terrace with me being only 5' 2"!" S. Curtlin

    TestimonialFeb 2014

  • ""Had lovely holiday in Beach Retreat & would definitely like return at some point in the future."

    Standard of accommodation was excellent just as shown on the website. Any queries before departure were quickly rectified so all in all full marks all round!" T. Orvis

    TestimonialJan 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Carbis Bay Holidays collection.
Escape to a luxury holiday cottage nudging the Cornish coast. Carbis Bay Holidays collection of stylish self-catering accommodation ranges from penthouse apartments overlooking the white-sand beaches of St Ives, to designer country homes a pebble’s throw from the coast.

Summary

  • Ground-floor apartment
  • One king-size bedroom with TV and en-suite bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with full Sky package including Sports & Movies in the living area, DVD player with selection of DVDs, CD, MP3 player and radio, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair provided; we request that guests provide their own cot bedding
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Side facing patio, shared seaward facing terrace, outside furniture including table and chairs
  • Sorry no pets, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.6 miles, beach 0.3 miles
  • Note: There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100
  • Note: Access for the property is via 25 steps; not suitable for those with limited mobility

The property

Set in a prime position on the seaward side of Carbis Bay this ground floor apartment is just a short walk from the award-winning, Blue Flag, Carbis Bay Beach.

Sleeping two, it’s perfect for couples with an infant, or for those who are looking for romantic break.

The sitting and dining area are part of the open plan living space and flooded with natural light through the large bay window.

Step though the French door to a private terrace with sea glimpses across St Ives Bay.

This sun trap is also accessible from the bedroom.

Inside relax on the large sofa or cream leather armchair with matching footstool and enjoy the entertainment package of Sky Movies and Sport.

The dining area is located within the spacious living area, there is a glass table provided with four aqua chairs.

A fully fitted and well-equipped rear kitchen ensures you have everything you need to create your culinary masterpieces.

The master en-suite bedroom has a sumptuously dressed king size bed to ensure a good night’s sleep.

Step out from the bedroom onto your private terrace for a romantic alfresco breakfast.

A delightful way to start the morning.

In the evening, take a glass of wine on to the shared terrace that fronts Compass Point and watch the sunset over St Ives.

Access to the dramatic SW Coast path is nearby along with a coastal railway.

Enjoy reaching the beautiful Cornish fishing village of St Ives and surrounding area via one of the country’s most scenic train lines.

Beach Retreat provides a romantic hideaway for both couples and young families.

Compass Point

Compass Point is a prestigious development of purpose-built luxury apartments, situated in a prime position on the seaward side of Carbis Bay, with the majority of properties offering stunning views of the sea and surrounding coastline.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

CARBIS BAY

St Ives 2 miles ; Hayle 3.5 miles ; Penzance 8.5 miles

Just a short drive from iconic St Ives, the seaside village of Carbis Bay is best-known for its beautiful stretch of pure white sand. With turquoise waters and sheltered conditions, the beach feels almost subtropical and is the perfect spot for a good old-fashioned day by the sea. The beach is also home to the Ocean Sports Centre, so if sunbathing is not really your thing, why not hire a kayak or SUP and get out on the water instead. Or why not treat yourself to a Spa day at the delightful hotel which overlooks the beach and has a fabulous terrace where cocktails can be enjoyed in the Cornish sunshine? Carbis Bay has a small range of local shops and restaurants as well as a fish & chip takeaway and railway branch line. The train journey from Carbis Bay into St Ives is perhaps one of the most beautiful in the country; St Ives additionally makes for a great day out, with plenty of galleries to explore. The quayside town of Hayle also isn't far and is home to activities for the all the family, including a golf and a wildlife sanctuary. The Godrevy Nature Reserve and Penwith Heritage Coast are also within easy reach from Carbis Bay, providing outdoors and watersports plans with even more activities to partake in, including coasteering and birdwatching. Carbis Bay is truly a wonderful holiday location for those wanting to experience Cornwall's breathtaking coastline.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property. Access to the apartment from the parking area is along a sloping path and then up 25 shallow steps. Additional parking is available in one of 3 visitor bays on a 'first come first served basis.

SKY TV: The owner is pleased to be able to provide this property with Sky TV, please check the description for the Sky package provided. Please note that the PIN to the Sky box cannot be provided. Therefore there may be viewing restrictions applied during the day as per Ofcom regulations e.g. Watershed limitations. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas