Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

13 people have recently viewed this property

  • Brook House - (Ref. 932664)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 30 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Brook House - Cornwall - 932664 - photo 1

Brook House

Sennen Cove near St Just, Cornwall (Ref. 932664)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

27 Customer Reviews

  • "You definitely pay for the restricted view!"

    Photos and description needs updating as they do not reflect the current state of the property, The property although clean is very tired with maintenance issues throughout eg windows not opening screws falling out of chairs, shower leaking. Basic accommodation not even a welcome pack, you need to take everything with you including cleaning materials. This property is definitely not suitable for young children, elderly or disabled Really disappointed as have previously stayed in Sykes cottages at much lower rate and a much higher standard of presentation.

    Thank you for your feedback. We feel that the photos do clearly show that there is a property in front of ours, which is part of the view. The description and photos are clear for guests to make a decision as to whether they feel the property is suitable for them If they have young children, elderly or disabled guests. It is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay as we could have advised you were all the cleaning products are stored as we are on hand to assist any guests. The windows and the shower have been checked and found in working order however a screw in a chair had come loose but has now been tightened. Thank you again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SueMay 2022

  • "Great location and spacious property but."

    ......smell in kitchen unbearable. Smell was septic tank venting straight back to property. Fixed by Jason after two days but ruined two days of holiday. Very uncomfortable bed and areas of property awaiting painting. Needs closing and basics fixing.

    Many thanks for your feedback. Again we do apologise for the inconvenience and we are glad that you have accepted our gesture as an apology. The mattress on the bed is fairly new but we appreciate that bed comfort is personal preference. The touch up painting over the scuff marks has now been completed. Thank you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by BrianApr 2022

  • "The beds aren’t that comfy at all, They could all do with being replaced."

    it could do with a little bit of a makeover as it could be a beautiful cottage. The view is why I booked it and that didn’t disappoint

    Reviewed by TonyaApr 2022

  • "The property exceeded our expectations."

    Although the property has a somewhat utilitarian feel, some adverse comments in the past had obviously been addressed. With a few extra touches the property would be excellent - it was extremely clean but a bit more attention to detail would make it feel even better - no toilet roll upstairs, one bin bag in the waste bin but no bag for recycling, no J cloth to wipe surfaces after use. Overall a very enjoyable week.

    Reviewed by BrynMar 2022

  • "The property looks like it’s part way through renovations."

    The entrance hall looks very uninviting. Although we had what we needed there were no comfortable extras. The bedding was poor quality and appeared well used. The cushions on the sofas and chairs were well used and had no stuffing. The positive is the view of Sennen Cove.

    Reviewed by DeborahMar 2022

  • "Lovely clean property, on arrival, Very helpfull caretaker Jason."

    Beautiful sea views, and comfortable furniture. Bed very uncomfortable for this quality of property, we are both small,I can’t imagine how larger people find it, In need of a new thicker mattress. Would suggest leaving a few more cleaning products, and a washing up brush, to help keep property clean during stay, Great for access to the beach, which is stunning. Overall a very lovely holiday home thank you .

    Reviewed by TracyMar 2022

  • "Clean and had everything we needed even survived storm Eunice !"

    Reviewed by ValerieFeb 2022

  • "Only complaint the fridge needed cleaning nnd defrosting, overall good but could do woith a bit of TLC."

    The fridge could do with a clean and defrosting Overall good but could do with a bit of TLC. Lovely views from the lounge and plenty of super places to visit near by. s

    Reviewed by JuneSep 2021

  • "Views from house stunning however house itself in need of general updating as very tired and worn in places."

    Entrance area, plywood door and wall not painted, not a good first impression. Edges of carpet in hall very worn, lifted floor in bathroom, chipped laminate floor in kitchen. Bathroom door handle fitted showing big holes. Unable to close both bathroom doors. Fridge desperate for a defrost. Sykes advert stated enclosed garden. This garden is not attached to house, misleading. Left patio door in living room stiff, difficult to open. Several of these issues I questioned with Sykes after seeing recent reviews from other people. The owner assured these had been addressed. This is not the case! Very disappointed with this house. Would not recommend. Can't fault Jason the caretaker and cleaners however.

    Reviewed by TraceySep 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time at Brook Cottage, you can even hear the sea at high tide, which was an unexpected treat."

    Also the private path down to beautiful Gwenver beach was a huge bonus - it was always quieter in this crazy 2021 summer, when everyone holidayed in England (thanks to the small car park). The house was well decorated, and clean and fresh (very handy booster bathroom radiators for drying towels etc). It would be even better if there were more baking trays, enough plates for lunch and dinner, and the double mattress was renewed. Jason was always helpful and quick to answer any questions. We will definitely come and stay again.

    Reviewed by AndreaAug 2021

  • "Loved everything but the double bed is really in need of replacement mattress"

    Reviewed by HilaryJul 2021

  • "Brook House was lovely and clean."

    The beds however need changing as they were terrible. We couldn’t share the double bed because the mattress/bed was so bad that we both rolled into the middle of the bed, so I ended up sleeping downstairs in a single bed, still uncomfortable but better. Neither of us slept well the whole week. Also worth noting that the garden is not attached to the house. This isn’t made clear until you get there, so it’s not a case of letting the dog out the back door, you do have to get up and dressed and walk the short walk. The garden is lovely and secluded with a stunning view. The walk to the beach isn’t for the feint-hearted but is beautifully kept and a well placed bench to stop for a rest halfway is welcomed.

    Reviewed by FionaJun 2021

  • "An excellent location and view from a nice house."

    Overall it was as described and very nice, kitchen facilities were excellent and complete, a hair dryer is provided in the double bedroom. Some very minor niggles... Flooring downstairs in need of improvement, downstairs shower has weak pressure with no shelf to put products. Upstairs shower slow to drain. Washer-dryer has no rapid wash or dry feature. Heating system impossible to understand. Downstairs bedroom had a very poor set of drawers. Satellite map to beach impossible to follow, we were unaware of the easy path close to the house. Basins in both bathrooms had no mixer tap and extremely hot water. Although described as pet friendly it was hard to relax due to the sctrict rules on pets, with no cleaning facility for them outside or near the entrances. If driving, on the way to the property the first supermarket you encounter is Lidl, but it should be noted there are others a little closer, including a gigantic Sainsbury's with a cheap petrol station and a good Marks and Spencer.

    Reviewed by RobertJun 2021

  • "Absolutely stunning view from the kitchen and sitting room windows, however the main windows were so salt streaked when we arrived that we could barely see out of them."

    Appreciate that it gets salt spray but if these windows had been cleaned before we arrived the first impression would have been so much better. Generally well equipped but Inadequate pots and pans and no roasting tray. Also most of the main plates are cracked and the cutlery was very poor. Again appreciate it is a holiday let but we usually find kitchens better equipped. The secret garden was a bit disappointing. The grass could have been cut and the deck chairs were mouldy.

    Reviewed by RobertMay 2021

  • "Slightly disappointed to begin with but Brooke Cottage grew on us."

    Lack of flowers, pictures and welcome tray - because of CVID - left the house feeling a bit bleak but it was warm and comfortable. Jason was excellent in responding to the couple of issues we raised. ,

    Reviewed by StanDec 2020

  • "Lovely location and view is stunning."

    Accommodation is well equipped, warm and comfortable if a little tired in places. The walk to Senna cove beach was a delight.

    Reviewed by TimOct 2020

  • "The location of the property was perfect for the area we choose to visit places in Cornwall, inside the property it had its plus and minus points- was nice and warm and lovely view and furniture was good."

    the bedding/bed need to be renewed as was t very clean when asked to strip the bedding at the end I then saw the cleanliness of the bedding. with a little more improvements like the flooring is warped in places. it will be a perfect place to stay and I know it’s a dog friendly property but first impressions last so I’m only saying what we felt while staying at the property.

    Reviewed by JamesOct 2020

  • "Formal complaint submitted"

    Reviewed by VanessaOct 2020

  • "Yes we had a great time and it was a very nice house."

    Maybe put some grip on the stairs so the dogs don’t slip when they got wet paws. Apart from that ideal location and nice walks down to the beach.

    Reviewed by StuartDec 2019

  • "The cottage was warm and cosy with beautiful views towards Sennen."

    Only one gripe, beware of the wooden stairs, they can be perilous if wearing socks! Other than that, it was fabulous!

    Reviewed by HenriettaOct 2019

  • "Fabulous location above the beach"

    Reviewed by ClaireJun 2019

  • "Very nice bright property with lovely sea view."

    Reviewed by JulietJun 2019

  • "The house was great - stunning location and very light."

    It could do with a bit of refurbishment and the double bed was very uncomfortable. There were nice touches like biscuits and tea bags and milk left for us. The caretaker and cleaners were very friendly and welcoming.

    Reviewed by SarahSep 2018

  • "The descprition of the sea view led us to expect an uninterrupted view, and there was a very large house right in front of ours."

    However we did still have a good sea view to the side. Also the walk down to the beach was quite steep and difficult in places and not really safe for the very young or less able

    Reviewed by DeborahMar 2018

  • "Jason was very helpful and supportive."

    The location was good as was the cleanliness of the accommodation.

    Reviewed by SurinderMay 2017

  • "Never found "the direct private access to the beach"."

    Access to the beach was along a private road and then a public path to the beach. Properties on the complex were all rather shabby looking from the outside and in need of some renovation. Lovely location and partial view of the sea from Brook House but view was partially blocked by a large adjoining property, which due to its shabby appearance was depressing. Directions to the property could have been more clearly expressed.

    Reviewed by IrisOct 2016

  • "Fantastic holiday with fantastic accommodation ..."

    Fantastic holiday with fantastic accommodation Stunning view off the balcony , Internet connection for the younger visitors all went to make a great holiday

    Reviewed by RodAug 2016

Show more


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with Juliet balcony
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Lawned garden with furniture
  • Maximum two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles.

The property

Arrive down a private drive with stunning sea views and enter into the porch with ample room for storing surfboards, wetsuits, beach equipment and coats and boots out of season.

Go through to the hall and take a few steps down to the spacious kitchen and dining area.

The twin bedroom and shower room are also on the ground floor.

On the first floor are the double bedroom, the bathroom and the comfortable sitting room with Juliet balcony to appreciate the sea views.

With Gwenver beach right below you will find the walk down a joy to behold with spectacular views from the cliffs, on fine, clear days you can even see the Isles of Scilly.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref 932663, 932665 and 932657, together they sleep 22.

Gwenver Beach Collection

Sennen Cove 1.7 miles. Perfect for beach and coastal holidays and short breaks, these properties are set in a stunning location with private access to Gwenver beach close to Sennen Cove, 5 miles from Lands’ End and 9 miles from the ancient market town of Penzance. As soon as you arrive down the private drive you feel immediately relaxed with amazing sea views all the way. The properties are well-equipped and two have a balcony where you can sit out with your morning cup of tea and enjoy your surroundings. The nearby beach is sandy and around 150 yards long and with some of the best surfing conditions in Cornwall it is surprising that it never gets too crowded. For those who want to relax and watch the surfing action the beach is a real suntrap located at the base of steep granite cliffs. With superb coastal walks in either direction right from the door walkers will also be in their element here. Adjoining is Sennen Cove with Whitesands beach, one of the cleanest in Europe and named in the top 20 secret beaches in the British Isles. Sennen Cove still retains much of the atmosphere of an old fishing village, with a small number of local fishing boats plying their trade from the harbour. With Sennen having a great pub, a top class restaurant, a café, fish and chip shop as well as a village shop you will have all the ingredients for a great holiday whatever time of year.

View on map

About the location


St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The small fishing village of Sennen Cove is situated close to Land’s End in Cornwall. The village has a lifeboat station, church, a couple of shops, a café plus two popular gastropubs. The town of St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and has several monument and prehistoric antiquities, including a Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. The town also has a town hall, a church, shops and pubs, and Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times. Porthcorno, which has the outdoor Minack Theatre is situated 5 miles away. The village of Mousehole is within a short drive where stargazy pie can be sampled. Also within reach is the town of Penzance, which boasts winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and a harbour, from where day trips to the Scilly Isles can be enjoyed. A lovely base for your Cornwall adventure.

Region Information

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it