3.9★ Sykes rating 4 Guests 2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Pets Yes Features Off road parking Ground floor accommodation Ground floor bedroom Garden / Patio Washing machine Dishwasher Seaside Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews clean (21) location (20) beach (19) house (18) bed (18) view (17) 45 Customer Reviews "It was a lovely location and the house was ideal for us." The only downside was the shower screen over the bath had part of the seal missing/not in place at a couple of points although it was still functioning. Really enjoyed our stay, left feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. Thank you! Reviewed by Carolyn4.1★Nov 2023 "We didn't have any real interaction with any owner or manager other than an email telling us where to find the key." I did email the manager after we left to say thankyou and give some feedback but he never replied. This is what I wrote I found the cottage clean and warm on arrival with everything you may need for a self catering holiday. However there was a pungent smell outside the property's so strong we couldn't even open the window. While walking my dog around the outside space there were disguarded bits of carpet and other household items. There was definitely somthing scurrying around in the roof space. My partner and I spoke about the property's and thought it might just be that we were the last of the season and they had already started work on the other houses. It would have been nice to here from someone after I took the effort to give feedback Thank you for your feedback, and although my property manager is always on hand to assist any guest, he is aware most people like to be left to enjoy their holiday, but apologies if he did not get back to you regarding the feedback I am sorry about the smell that you mention , but I can only assume that it was coming from the sea as it is not anything to do with the property as we have checked I have discovered that a rug from another property had been left out to dry which is what you must have seen and we will of course check the roof space for any noises you heard. We take all feedback seriously and thank you again for your comments Property Owner Reviewed by Andrea3.8★Oct 2023 "The property was tired and needed a facelift ." Bed linen cheap and shabby ,pillows tired need replacing .Shower cubicle downstairs also needs an update grouting black and quite unhygenic looking .Why no mirror in downstairs bedroom ,iknow that there is one in the hall but no shelf for sundries.For the price we paid we felt that the property had been neglected inside and out and the so called secret garden was a joke !Clean to a degree but my sons holiday property in Bude is a palace compared to this house !Beach path almost inaccessible for anyone over 50. Reviewed by Sheila2.8★Oct 2023 "No welcome pack, travelled 6 1/2 hours and not even a pint of milk or t bag insight." Cant believe people would do that for the price they charge. Nice location with views. Bit of a walk to the beach and very steep. Make sure you take your own supplies food drinks etc as there is nothing in the place. Comfortable enough. Reviewed by Ian4.4★Sep 2023 "Me and my mum loved our stay for the week and definitely considering coming back next year for longer." The caretaker Jason was really helpful, couldn’t recommend enough. Really loved the location, great for dogs but if you prefer to be more central to shops etc then it is very secluded but I prefer that. However the only thing I could make a comment on would be the double mattress as it had wires sticking in my legs which kept waking me up so would maybe benefit from a new one or better quality. Also an outside light would be really useful because we took our dogs and had to toilet them before bed but was pitch black. Overall though we loved our stay thank you :) Reviewed by Megan4.4★Aug 2023 "Very pleased with Brook House ideal family sized accommodation." Location is idyllic Amazing to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. We look forward to seeing you back here. Property Owner Reviewed by Karen5.0★Jun 2023 "The cottage was clean and nicely decorated." The photos and description on the website are accurate. The view of the coast is marvellous from the upstairs lounge and bedroom. All in all ,we had a good holiday and nice rest at Brook House.There were no problems with the stay .Thanks to Jason the property manager for making the place nice for us. If anything ,one suggestion to make the stay more special ,would be to have a welcome pack of tea/ coffee / milk and biscuits upon arrival. Thank you. It is amazing to hear such positive feedback from yourselves and we really do appreciate every comment that you’ve relayed back to us. We will endeavour to go that extra mile and provide those services you feel would be beneficial and that would add to your stay with us. Hope to see you back with us again. Property Owner Reviewed by Kirsten4.7★May 2023 "'Could do better' in short." The location is great with lovely views onto the beach and down the coast. The cottage is fine in terms of room sizes and design. It was basically clean and tidy. However, it was let down by simple things. The garden was a mess with uncut grass, nettles and weeds. The paper lampshade in the sitting room was broken - really obviously broken to any cleaning team. The cutlery didn't match. When you sat on a dining room chair it would buckle slightly because a bolt was missing. There were no cooking trays, just an enormous roasting pan. There was no kitchen scourer when washing up that roaster after cooking in it. The Freeview didn't work. The double mattress needs changing. And - yes - I suppose this does all sound a little overfussy, until you combine them with the general tiredness of the decoration, marked carpets and a lack of any form of 'welcome pack'. In general terms, we enjoyed the location but don't feel encouraged to return to this accommodation, which is a shame because these are all simple things to get right. We tend to use Sykes Cottages because they achieve a certain quality of accommodation but this one doesn't reach that standard. A few practical points. The beach is lovely but the walk up and down isn't easy. The driveway down to the cottage is not the best for someone worried about their low-profile tyres. There needs to be some system in place for parking between the cottages on the site; there was no direction as to where to park which, although not an issue for us, could easily lead onto problems which might spoil someone's trip - tempers might get frayed! Thank you for your feedback, it is definitely valued, and we will work to fix all of these issues that led to your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you come back to us again. Property Owner Reviewed by Darren3.8★May 2023 "The property appeared clean and bright on arrival but there was a slight smell of damp that wasn’t quite masked by the cleaning products." When it rained there was a leaky window which caused a pool of water in the first floor living room. I reported this to the caretaker but nobody attended to view the problem. By the end of the week the smell of damp was quite strong. Fantastic location but in need of some TLC. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will endeavour to work and rectify those issues that arose during your stay, so they do not occur again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Property Owner Reviewed by John3.1★May 2023 "A hidden gem with outstanding sea views Having had to change dates due to a family bereavement, we found Sykes to be very accommodating and understanding." When we finally did go away, the cottage was everything we expected and more. The cottage was clean and tidy, and as described. The beds were absolutely fine (not sure if the mattresses have been changed looking at previous comments?) And of course the views are outstanding. Have already re-booked for next year. So lovely to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us, and very sorry to hear about the loss in your family. Glad to hear that Sykes worked with you on rearranging those dates. Look forward to seeing you back with us. Property Owner Reviewed by Katie4.1★Oct 2022 "House was very clean and contained everything which was described on web page." Stunning views (of course), great location for beaches and amazing walks…. and would love to come back. Reviewed by Peter5.0★Sep 2022 "Great location, although view was more blocked than expected, and one of the beds was in desperate need of replacing ." That said, the house was clean and well looked after, as were the grounds, and the beach was stunning. Would very much recommend. Reviewed by Matt4.4★Sep 2022 "Great location and everything you need for a weeks holiday." ...in general very clean although some of the decor was a bit tired but that's being really fussy....would book here again as very close to the beautiful beach,the views were fantastic but you definitely need a car to get around to places...all in all,very pleased... Reviewed by Louise3.8★Aug 2022 "Nicely kept property with comfortable and clean facilities." The location is stunning and the short walk to the beach made it a perfect place for us. Parking arrangements require a bit of cooperation with other properties and the walk to beach may be difficult for anyone with any mobility issues. Our stay was just fantastic, and some good surfing on days where conditions were favourable. Thank you so much for leaving this valuable feedback. We work to make sure that everything is in place for our guests, to ensure they have the best stay. Very pleased that you were able to enjoy the surrounding area with the favourable weather. Property Owner Reviewed by Andrew5.0★Aug 2022 "We had a lovely week at Brook House." It has everything you need as a base for a holiday in a great location. The house itself is abit rough around the edges but it was clean and spacious. The beds could do with an update as the mattress on the double is lower than the frame which is abit akward and one of the single beds was abit wonky but overall its fine for a week. Sennon Cove is beautiful and a great beach with lots of facilities. Reviewed by Jane3.8★Jul 2022 "Only really minor things for us: Light switch in downstairs bedroom broken - managed to get this to work on the last day only." Lamp in place which was sufficient. Bed nearest window in downstairs bedroom has a distinct lean! We like to cook whilst away but struggled to find any baking tray other than a roasting dish in the oven and pasta/oven dishes other than one round one. Would also benefit from more cutlery. We could not find DVD player, selection of books or DVD's as in description. Did find 3 games. Not a problems for us but may be for a family. Otherwise was a great place to stay. Helpful information about the place and access to the beach on arrival and we were allowed straight in although early. Great views which is restricted but this is in the property information/photos. We loved the view as can see all across Sennen to the left, but also see the sea to the right from each room. Walk down to the beach is great to access the dog friendly beach but was a bit of a challenge coming back up for us!! Place was clean and comfy. Cleaning items available - easily found in a cupboard along with the hoover. We found the beds ok. Slightly firm but we were fine with this. Garden is separate to the property just across the drive but is secluded and also has great views across Sennen. Great to have parking on site. Would stay again. Reviewed by Michelle3.8★Jul 2022 "The house was everything it said and had all you needed, the only down side the double bed needs a new mattress that fits the bed frame it is very hard to get into and out of as the mattress is far lower than the wooden bed frame other than that you have everything you need and more Views from the lounge and kitchen of Sennen Cove are stunning ." The outside needs a little TLC a splash of paint and some weeding would tidy it up a make the place look better . We found a lovely Pub called the Logan Rock Inn about 3 miles away in Treen St Leven the food was very good and friendly staff and the Fish and Chips down in Sennen Cove (the blue lagoon )are lovely but be aware the chip shop closes very early 8 pm but open all day..So yes a really good holiday . Reviewed by Jennifer3.8★Jun 2022 "We loved staying at Brooks House." The house looked freshly renovated to us. It was very clean and inviting. The view from the living room down to the sea was fantastic. Yes there is a house in front of Brooks House, but it didn't bother us because we had a great view of the beach to see what the waves were like that day. In the house we had everything we needed, there was enough space for everyone and everyone felt comfortable. If you are not looking for something extravergantes, you are in good hands here. We would book it again. Reviewed by Michaela4.7★Jun 2022 "You definitely pay for the restricted view!" Photos and description needs updating as they do not reflect the current state of the property, The property although clean is very tired with maintenance issues throughout eg windows not opening screws falling out of chairs, shower leaking. Basic accommodation not even a welcome pack, you need to take everything with you including cleaning materials. This property is definitely not suitable for young children, elderly or disabled Really disappointed as have previously stayed in Sykes cottages at much lower rate and a much higher standard of presentation. Thank you for your feedback. We feel that the photos do clearly show that there is a property in front of ours, which is part of the view. The description and photos are clear for guests to make a decision as to whether they feel the property is suitable for them If they have young children, elderly or disabled guests. It is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay as we could have advised you were all the cleaning products are stored as we are on hand to assist any guests. The windows and the shower have been checked and found in working order however a screw in a chair had come loose but has now been tightened. Thank you again for your comments. Property Owner Reviewed by Sue2.2★May 2022 "Great location and spacious property but." ......smell in kitchen unbearable. Smell was septic tank venting straight back to property. Fixed by Jason after two days but ruined two days of holiday. Very uncomfortable bed and areas of property awaiting painting. Needs closing and basics fixing. Many thanks for your feedback. Again we do apologise for the inconvenience and we are glad that you have accepted our gesture as an apology. The mattress on the bed is fairly new but we appreciate that bed comfort is personal preference. The touch up painting over the scuff marks has now been completed. Thank you again Property Owner Reviewed by Brian2.8★Apr 2022 "The beds aren’t that comfy at all, They could all do with being replaced." it could do with a little bit of a makeover as it could be a beautiful cottage. The view is why I booked it and that didn’t disappoint Reviewed by Tonya1.9★Apr 2022 "The property exceeded our expectations." Although the property has a somewhat utilitarian feel, some adverse comments in the past had obviously been addressed. With a few extra touches the property would be excellent - it was extremely clean but a bit more attention to detail would make it feel even better - no toilet roll upstairs, one bin bag in the waste bin but no bag for recycling, no J cloth to wipe surfaces after use. Overall a very enjoyable week. Reviewed by Bryn4.1★Mar 2022 "The property looks like it’s part way through renovations." The entrance hall looks very uninviting. Although we had what we needed there were no comfortable extras. The bedding was poor quality and appeared well used. The cushions on the sofas and chairs were well used and had no stuffing. The positive is the view of Sennen Cove. Reviewed by Deborah2.8★Mar 2022 "Lovely clean property, on arrival, Very helpfull caretaker Jason." Beautiful sea views, and comfortable furniture. Bed very uncomfortable for this quality of property, we are both small,I can’t imagine how larger people find it, In need of a new thicker mattress. Would suggest leaving a few more cleaning products, and a washing up brush, to help keep property clean during stay, Great for access to the beach, which is stunning. Overall a very lovely holiday home thank you . Reviewed by Tracy4.1★Mar 2022 "Clean and had everything we needed even survived storm Eunice !" Reviewed by Valerie3.8★Feb 2022 "Only complaint the fridge needed cleaning nnd defrosting, overall good but could do woith a bit of TLC." The fridge could do with a clean and defrosting Overall good but could do with a bit of TLC. Lovely views from the lounge and plenty of super places to visit near by. s Reviewed by June4.4★Sep 2021 "Views from house stunning however house itself in need of general updating as very tired and worn in places." Entrance area, plywood door and wall not painted, not a good first impression. Edges of carpet in hall very worn, lifted floor in bathroom, chipped laminate floor in kitchen. Bathroom door handle fitted showing big holes. Unable to close both bathroom doors. Fridge desperate for a defrost. Sykes advert stated enclosed garden. This garden is not attached to house, misleading. Left patio door in living room stiff, difficult to open. Several of these issues I questioned with Sykes after seeing recent reviews from other people. The owner assured these had been addressed. This is not the case! Very disappointed with this house. Would not recommend. Can't fault Jason the caretaker and cleaners however. Reviewed by Tracey3.1★Sep 2021 "We had a wonderful time at Brook Cottage, you can even hear the sea at high tide, which was an unexpected treat." Also the private path down to beautiful Gwenver beach was a huge bonus - it was always quieter in this crazy 2021 summer, when everyone holidayed in England (thanks to the small car park). The house was well decorated, and clean and fresh (very handy booster bathroom radiators for drying towels etc). It would be even better if there were more baking trays, enough plates for lunch and dinner, and the double mattress was renewed. Jason was always helpful and quick to answer any questions. We will definitely come and stay again. Reviewed by Andrea4.4★Aug 2021 "Loved everything but the double bed is really in need of replacement mattress" Reviewed by Hilary4.7★Jul 2021 "Brook House was lovely and clean." The beds however need changing as they were terrible. We couldn’t share the double bed because the mattress/bed was so bad that we both rolled into the middle of the bed, so I ended up sleeping downstairs in a single bed, still uncomfortable but better. Neither of us slept well the whole week. Also worth noting that the garden is not attached to the house. This isn’t made clear until you get there, so it’s not a case of letting the dog out the back door, you do have to get up and dressed and walk the short walk. The garden is lovely and secluded with a stunning view. The walk to the beach isn’t for the feint-hearted but is beautifully kept and a well placed bench to stop for a rest halfway is welcomed. Reviewed by Fiona3.8★Jun 2021 "An excellent location and view from a nice house." Overall it was as described and very nice, kitchen facilities were excellent and complete, a hair dryer is provided in the double bedroom. Some very minor niggles... Flooring downstairs in need of improvement, downstairs shower has weak pressure with no shelf to put products. Upstairs shower slow to drain. Washer-dryer has no rapid wash or dry feature. Heating system impossible to understand. Downstairs bedroom had a very poor set of drawers. Satellite map to beach impossible to follow, we were unaware of the easy path close to the house. Basins in both bathrooms had no mixer tap and extremely hot water. Although described as pet friendly it was hard to relax due to the sctrict rules on pets, with no cleaning facility for them outside or near the entrances. If driving, on the way to the property the first supermarket you encounter is Lidl, but it should be noted there are others a little closer, including a gigantic Sainsbury's with a cheap petrol station and a good Marks and Spencer. Reviewed by Robert4.4★Jun 2021 "Absolutely stunning view from the kitchen and sitting room windows, however the main windows were so salt streaked when we arrived that we could barely see out of them." Appreciate that it gets salt spray but if these windows had been cleaned before we arrived the first impression would have been so much better. Generally well equipped but Inadequate pots and pans and no roasting tray. Also most of the main plates are cracked and the cutlery was very poor. Again appreciate it is a holiday let but we usually find kitchens better equipped. The secret garden was a bit disappointing. The grass could have been cut and the deck chairs were mouldy. Reviewed by Robert3.4★May 2021 "Slightly disappointed to begin with but Brooke Cottage grew on us." Lack of flowers, pictures and welcome tray - because of CVID - left the house feeling a bit bleak but it was warm and comfortable. Jason was excellent in responding to the couple of issues we raised. , Reviewed by Stan4.1★Dec 2020 "Lovely location and view is stunning." Accommodation is well equipped, warm and comfortable if a little tired in places. The walk to Senna cove beach was a delight. Reviewed by Tim4.4★Oct 2020 "The location of the property was perfect for the area we choose to visit places in Cornwall, inside the property it had its plus and minus points- was nice and warm and lovely view and furniture was good." the bedding/bed need to be renewed as was t very clean when asked to strip the bedding at the end I then saw the cleanliness of the bedding. with a little more improvements like the flooring is warped in places. it will be a perfect place to stay and I know it’s a dog friendly property but first impressions last so I’m only saying what we felt while staying at the property. Reviewed by James2.8★Oct 2020 "Formal complaint submitted" Reviewed by Vanessa1.3★Oct 2020 "Yes we had a great time and it was a very nice house." Maybe put some grip on the stairs so the dogs don’t slip when they got wet paws. Apart from that ideal location and nice walks down to the beach. Reviewed by Stuart5.0★Dec 2019 "The cottage was warm and cosy with beautiful views towards Sennen." Only one gripe, beware of the wooden stairs, they can be perilous if wearing socks! Other than that, it was fabulous! Reviewed by Henrietta5.0★Oct 2019 "Fabulous location above the beach" Reviewed by Claire3.8★Jun 2019 "Very nice bright property with lovely sea view." Reviewed by Juliet5.0★Jun 2019 "The house was great - stunning location and very light." It could do with a bit of refurbishment and the double bed was very uncomfortable. There were nice touches like biscuits and tea bags and milk left for us. The caretaker and cleaners were very friendly and welcoming. Reviewed by Sarah4.1★Sep 2018 "The descprition of the sea view led us to expect an uninterrupted view, and there was a very large house right in front of ours." However we did still have a good sea view to the side. Also the walk down to the beach was quite steep and difficult in places and not really safe for the very young or less able Reviewed by D4.7★Mar 2018 "Jason was very helpful and supportive." The location was good as was the cleanliness of the accommodation. Reviewed by Surinder4.2★May 2017 "Never found "the direct private access to the beach"." Access to the beach was along a private road and then a public path to the beach. Properties on the complex were all rather shabby looking from the outside and in need of some renovation. Lovely location and partial view of the sea from Brook House but view was partially blocked by a large adjoining property, which due to its shabby appearance was depressing. Directions to the property could have been more clearly expressed. Reviewed by Iris4.0★Oct 2016 "Fantastic holiday with fantastic accommodation Stunning view off the balcony , ..." Fantastic holiday with fantastic accommodation Stunning view off the balcony , Internet connection for the younger visitors all went to make a great holiday Reviewed by Rod5.0★Aug 2016 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC Shower room with shower, basin and WC Kitchen with dining area Utility Sitting room with Juliet balcony. Gas central heating Electric oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Off road parking for 1 car Lawned garden with furniture Maximum two well-behaved pets welcome Sorry, no smoking Shop and pub 2 miles. The property Arrive down a private drive with stunning sea views and enter into the porch with ample room for storing surfboards, wetsuits, beach equipment and coats and boots out of season. Go through to the hall and take a few steps down to the spacious kitchen and dining area. The twin bedroom and shower room are also on the ground floor. On the first floor are the double bedroom, the bathroom and the comfortable sitting room with Juliet balcony to appreciate the sea views. With Gwenver beach right below you will find the walk down a joy to behold with spectacular views from the cliffs, on fine, clear days you can even see the Isles of Scilly. Note: This property can be booked with Ref 932663, 932665 and 932657, together they sleep 22. Gwenver Beach Collection Sennen Cove 1.7 miles. Perfect for beach and coastal holidays and short breaks, these properties are set in a stunning location with private access to Gwenver beach close to Sennen Cove, 5 miles from Lands’ End and 9 miles from the ancient market town of Penzance. As soon as you arrive down the private drive you feel immediately relaxed with amazing sea views all the way. The properties are well-equipped and two have a balcony where you can sit out with your morning cup of tea and enjoy your surroundings. The nearby beach is sandy and around 150 yards long and with some of the best surfing conditions in Cornwall it is surprising that it never gets too crowded. For those who want to relax and watch the surfing action the beach is a real suntrap located at the base of steep granite cliffs. With superb coastal walks in either direction right from the door walkers will also be in their element here. Adjoining is Sennen Cove with Whitesands beach, one of the cleanest in Europe and named in the top 20 secret beaches in the British Isles. Sennen Cove still retains much of the atmosphere of an old fishing village, with a small number of local fishing boats plying their trade from the harbour. With Sennen having a great pub, a top class restaurant, a café, fish and chip shop as well as a village shop you will have all the ingredients for a great holiday whatever time of year. View on map About the location SENNEN COVE St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles. The small fishing village of Sennen Cove is situated close to Land’s End in Cornwall. The village has a lifeboat station, church, a couple of shops, a café plus two popular gastropubs. The town of St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and has several monument and prehistoric antiquities, including a Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. The town also has a town hall, a church, shops and pubs, and Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times. Porthcorno, which has the outdoor Minack Theatre is situated 5 miles away. The village of Mousehole is within a short drive where stargazy pie can be sampled. Also within reach is the town of Penzance, which boasts winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and a harbour, from where day trips to the Scilly Isles can be enjoyed. A lovely base for your Cornwall adventure.