Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 2 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • The Lookout - Cornwall - 932663 - photo 1
  • The Lookout - (Ref. 932663)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





The Lookout

(Ref. 932663)

Sennen, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (30)
  • clean (17)
  • bed (17)
  • table (15)
  • jason (15)
  • apartment (14)

54 Customer Reviews

  • "This was a last minute booking on a whim for a birthday."

    We love Sennen and hadn’t been there for a few years so while browsing the area online I spotted The Lookout and the view alone sold it to me immediately. The booking process couldn’t have been easier and the owner, Jason, was quick to offer us all the information and support we needed. We were in desperate need of peace and nature and this is what The Lookout provides. It’s a lovely bright and clean apartment with a view to die for. Every need and comfort is catered for and listening to the waves and the birds from a comfy bed is pure bliss. Plenty of walking starts right outside the door and on to the South West Coastal Path with nearby amenities in Sennen Cove plus lots of attractions and sights also within a short driving distance. You’re wonderfully hidden from the world at The Lookout and you can expect muddy boots, occasional narrow lanes and a beautiful, simpler way of life. Oh and there’s a wonderful Indian takeaway in Penzance that delivers (Just Eat) to the door on that night you just can’t be bothered to cook. Just perfect. We happily recommend The Lookout and we’ll definitely be back. Thank you Jason.

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7Nov 2023

  • "Though this is marketed as 4 person it is definitely on a 2 person accommodation."

    Internals require a little T L C and the externals gives room for improvement.access drive require pot hole attention/ resurfacing. Caretaker Jason and partner always helpful. The view is to die for !!!

    Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you had enjoyed the view. We often work on the country lane to reduce the pot holes and we have booked for them to be filled later this month. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen3.1Sep 2023

  • "Great holiday."

    The view from the property is second to none, Sennon Cove, Lands End. Fabulous for the firework displays every Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Property was emaculate when we arrived . Kitchen had all utensils, pots and pans , plates etc, everything you need self catering. Jason the caretaker was extremely pleasant and helpful, went above and beyond to clear some bushes at height for us which obscured our view. We mentioned the sofa bed mattress needs to be off a better quality ,this was fed back to the owner who is going to replace the full soda bed. Thank you , we had an amazing time, would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Aug 2023

  • "The windows urgently need fixing - wind and rain find their way inside."

    Cat hair isn't a pleasure for everyone and the easy chair in the lounge should either be given a thorough cleaning or be substituted. However, the caretaker was very friendly and helpful and the views are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Nicola3.1Jul 2023

  • "The property is located on single track about a mile off the A30 so pretty remote and great if you want peace and quiet."

    Ideal for Gwynver Beach with panoramic views across the Bay. Great for walkers as the S W Coastal Path and other tracks are on the Doorstep. The property itself is clean, tidy and well equipped. Good vestibule area for wet stuff. Minor gripe is the armchair is pretty uncomfortable. All in all a good stay. If you like walking, beach and surf activities you’ll be well pleased.

    Reviewed by Colin3.8Jul 2023

  • "The perfect location and views - an ideal pied-a terre for a couple."

    Thank you for this wonderful feedback, we hope to see you back at The Lookout soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0May 2023

  • "VERY difficult to confirm booking, Information states “a heater in every room."

    ” WRONG! There is no heater in the kitchen. No heater on the long corridor There is a new radiator in the bathroom, it is smaller than the old one and not really adequate.

    We're very grateful for your feedback Thomas, sorry to hear you had some difficulty with the booking process, the reservations team at Sykes are always happy to help with any booking difficulties you might have. As The Lookout is a one-bedroom first-floor apartment, we do not have heating in the kitchen and corridor, but the heating we have in the other rooms is more than suitable to heat up the entire property to keep you warm and cosy. The new towel rail we have recently installed might appear smaller than previously, but it is of the same capacity and efficiency. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas4.1Mar 2023

  • "The positive is that the view is stunning from the lounge and bedroom even on a cloudy day, also the property was clean & tidy when we arrived and the guy that we saw when we arrived was welcoming and polite."

    The negatives are Lounge - settee & chair uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time, the sliding patio door hard to open when first arrived thought it was going to come off the bottom runner, once opened it ran along ok but the open/close catch was hard to close/ open for one of the party. As there’s not a door to this room you couldn’t shut in the heat coming from the one small rad so felt cold all the time and didn’t make it pleasant to sit around and relax., Bedroom - uncomfortable bed, out of the 4 pillows HR only 1 had a pillow protector on ?, every time you turned not sure if it was the mattress topper but it made a ruffling sound which wasn’t good and woke the other one up. The quilt itself was thin and also was too small for the duvet cover, the duvet cover had a hole at one of the seams. The window hinge was rusty and black starting to appear. Bathroom - freezing, old discoloured rusting towel rail didnt look good but didn’t warm the room at all, the shower though the water was hot the pressure seemed minimal so the spray out wasn’t great. Couple of windows shot - whether the seals have gone, one was the big window in the kitchen and the other the small opening part in the entrance lobby. Balcony - looking tired decking & chair. Some of these are issues that wouldn’t be able to be a quick fix so do understand but just not a property we will be returning too as it just wasn’t comfortable to relax in and this is what we were looking for.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback it is always greatly appreciated. We have looked into the points you have raised and have made some improvements to the property. We cannot comment on the comfort of the sofas and the bed as this is something that is subjective and changes from person to person. We checked over the sliding patio door and the door seemed to be operating correctly but we will keep an eye on this. The property has night storage heaters that are adequate to keep the Lounge warm and cosy. We try to make the bedroom as comfy as possible, the quilt is a middle tog as the room does get quite warm but we have provided extra blankets in case they are needed. We have replaced the towel rail in the bathroom and have installed a new shower pump to ensure the bathroom stays warm and there is enough pressure in the shower. We are due to have a few of the windows replaced soon as it was highlighted that some of the seals had failed. We are always actively looking to improve the property and any and all feedback is welcomed We hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin2.8Mar 2023

  • "Loved the stay ,have booked again already ."

    Property comfortable, slightly dated ,but not an issue .Everything you need.

    I’m pleased to hear you were so comfortable with your stay at The Lookout and had everything you needed – it would be lovely to see you stay with us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anita4.1Feb 2023

  • "We have just had our sixth holiday at the Lookout."

    The location is beyond compare, we never tire of it. The property is always spotlessly clean on arrival, full credit to Jason and his team. Faults worth attending to as they detract from the enjoyment of staying there; 1/. Heated towel rail in bathroom doesn`t work. 2/. Electric shower is feeble considering the good water pressure there. 3/. Mattress is convex, tends to want to tip you off. 4/.TV controls are complicated and confusing, would benefit from simplification. Otherwise we love it and will undoubtedly return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we value all feedback as we want to ensure that we maximize our guest experience and appreciate your recommended improvements. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.4Jan 2023

  • "This cottage is in the most wonderful location and has everything you need."

    The view from the balcony is incredible. The cottage was clean and tidy but a few things are looking a little tired. The caretaker Jason was extremely helpful and nearly always on site to help. Another plus is its dog friendly.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.4Nov 2022

  • "This place is amazing, a little dated but a lovely cosy hidden gem with lovely views, in need of maintenance outside guttering and fascia boards need cleaning, along with decking and walls painting, windows wiping down and some better outside furniture but apart from those trivial remarks it’s really nice hence I’ve booked again for September 2023 so pleased I’ve found it plus Jason the caretaker a nice man always available if needed."

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2022

  • "Friendly welcome from Jason."

    Stunning views from apartment. Lots to do in area. Definitely revisit.

    Reviewed by Carryl3.8Aug 2022

  • "Lovely place, beautiful views."

    Basic but everything you need. Parking wouldn't be great if you had a large vehicle. Caretaker very helpful. Would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Jul 2022

  • "Beautiful views to the sea."

    Very clean property and a very calm area. Good bed in the masterbedroom. We have enjoy the week in this property but some things would be nice to change it. The bedsofa is for one person ok, we don't think 2 adults could sleep on it. No dishwasher in the proparty. The chairs in the livingroom are stylish but uncomfortable. There was only the bedsofa and a armchair to sit in the livingroom. Ok for us, but it is a 4 people appartement. In the livingroom at one window the rain comes in at one place. A little cubard for 3 people. We have to leave most of our clothes in the suitcase.

    Reviewed by Martina4.4Jun 2022

  • "Bed slightly uncomfortable."

    Views outstanding. Accommodation slightly further remote than we thought.

    Reviewed by David4.7Jun 2022

  • "Perfect apartment for exploring Sennan Cove area and beyond."

    The views from the apartment were amazing. The apartment itself was clean and well equipped. Great walking from the doorstep.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0May 2022

  • "A lovely apartment with stunning , beautiful views."

    A short 10 minute walk down to Gwynver beach and a short drive into Sennen itself where there is a nice pub and stunning beach with a cafe and toilets. The apartment was clean and comfortable but just a little on the small side for us ,our teenage son his brother and a dog. The sofa bed was a little squashed but apart from that we had a wonderful stay. Thank you !

    Reviewed by Louise4.1Apr 2022

  • "Very comfortable property with outstanding views."

    We were really fortunate with the weather but I think it would be a great location whatever the weather. We liked it so much we have booked to return in September

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0Mar 2022

  • "Excellent hosts ."

    The apartment was immaculately clean . The view was one to die for . Perfect for walking. Will defiantly book again .

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2022

  • "The lookout was in a lovely spot on the cliff overlooking Sennen cove, the view from the windows was wonderful."

    We stayed the worst week for weather, it being really windy and then storm Eunice paid us a visit.We lost a tile off the roof ,but Jason was brilliant and came out and had a look and put our minds at ease that we weren't going to loose the whole roof, all in all a lovely holiday, the lookout was comfortable, the bed a bit too soft but that's the only criticism.

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Feb 2022

  • "One of the most beautiful quest house in Cornwall with sea views."

    If love silence and being outside the crowds, this is place to be on holiday. We'll be back there!

    Reviewed by Iveta5.0Feb 2022

  • "Spotlessly clean on arrival, the heating was on and it was very welcoming."

    Well enough equipped for two people, nice comfy bed and a well laid out living room. The electric shower is rather feeble. The view, as ever, is the real winner; a week of that amongst today`s woes is very soothing! Brilliant walks both along the two beaches and also heading north along the coast. Our dog was in heaven, naturally enough. Lovely little place, we`ve been twice and will do so again.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Dec 2021

  • "Fantastic sunsets over Sennen Cove watched from the balcony."

    Loved walking down to Gwynver Beach for a swim, in October! Location of The Lookout is excellent. Owners have replaced the fridge with a brand new fridge and separate freezer. The internet was very good. Easy parking right outside. The property is in need of TLC. Bad stains on carpets. Lounge window has blown and is unsightly. The bed is not comfortable and mattress topper sounds like crisp packets. Left a night early.

    Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments. We can confirm that a new carpet is being fitted early December, new windows mid November and a new bed is also on order with a new mattress topper. We do hope that you stay with us again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin & Jayne3.8Oct 2021

  • "Very nice apartment in a lovely quiet area with beautiful sea views."

    Apartment was extremely clean and comfortable with excellent facilities except there were no egg cups! Parking is right outside the entrance. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Joy4.7Sep 2021

  • "The location, quietness and the views of The Lookout make it exceptional."

    We had fantastic weather snd many hours watching the amazing sunsets and sunrises on the balcony. Apartment is well equipped and with lots of space. It's in need of some repairs such as the bedroom window not opening and a misted glass panel in the lounge. The mattress also needs replacing but otherwise it's the most loveliest of locations.

    Reviewed by Jason4.4Sep 2021

  • "Apartment was spotless clean."

    View is fabulous. Caretaker Jason helpful. The only negative side is the mattress in the bedroom which is lumpy and far too soft. This has been mentioned before and really should be addressed.

    Reviewed by Johan4.1Sep 2021

  • "Some kitchen scissors would be useful."

    Not easy opening a bag of rice with a not very sharp knife! Also the loo seat didn't stay up and the bedroom door was sticking and very squeaky to open/close, waking my son in the next room at night. These small fixes would make a big difference.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Aug 2021

  • "We really enjoyed the location of the property, at the end of a private lane, fantastic views over Gwinver Beach from most of the windows, balcony, private footpath to the beach and the entrance hall was perfect to leave all the beach gear."

    The 2 things I would like to see changed is a new fridge as the one in place right now is frosting up very quickly so the freezer door doesn't close properly. The other thing is maybe have a dresser or something to hang up clothes.

    Reviewed by Anjalika4.4Jul 2021

  • "Jason and the cleaning staff need to be mentioned as they exceed all expectations."

    Amazing place amazing views

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0May 2021

  • "We had a very pleasant stay at the Look Out in Sennen."

    The flat was clean and had amazing views of Sennen Cove. Some great walks and beaches at its doorstep. The communication was seamless from start to finish. We felt well looked after. We would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Francisco4.7Apr 2021

  • "Cosy clean apartment."

    Fabulous views. Very easy access to South West Ciast Path. Would defiantly return!

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2020

  • "Been to many Sykes cottages and this had the best ever views beautiful."

    Reviewed by Adrian4.4Oct 2020

  • "What an absolutely stunning location and the views!"

    !!!! The apartment was warm and comfortable with good quality bedding and everything you could ask for. Exceptionally clean. I can't wait to revisit.

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Oct 2020

  • "Everything really lovely."

    Just a few irritating things missing in the kitchen -scissors and a snall knife- presumably snitched by previous occupants.

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Sep 2020

  • "Lovely location for privacy, minimum noise from humans and traffic."

    The short walk down and up from the beach was well worth it as the beach was dog friendly unlike many Cornish beaches and not that may people , making it idea during COVID ( social distancing and all that ) When the local news was saying “ Cornwall was full and could not take further tourists “ Thanks to the owner for for this excellent accommodation. All five us , my wife, son of 13 , daughter of 9 and the dog had a great relaxing time.

    Reviewed by James5.0Aug 2020

  • "From the moment we arrived at the LOOKOUT we were made welcome."

    Even finding a pint of milk, pack of tea bags and a bottle of wine. The rooms are clean and large windows make them bright and welcoming. The caretakers were available all day most days which came in handy when the storm on 25.10.19 blew in . The strong winds and rain found a way in and tho there was no way they could fix the problem there and then they did supply towels to place around the patio door to soak up the water. But this small problem has not put us off considering going back in the future for a second time overall we really enjoyed the stay.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Oct 2019

  • "A great location with superb views and easy access to Gwynver beach which is dog friendly."

    The Lookout was warm and comfortable. The wide bed was not uncomfortable but needs a new mattress. The shoe rack should be placed in the entrance porch and a chest of drawers put in its place. The electric shower could do with updating. A lot of water is wasted before it runs hot. We had a problem with the balcony door which Jason the caretaker sorted out straight away. Would definitely book this apartment again and would hope the owner will take account of the points made in this feedback.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Sep 2019

  • "We really loved The Lookout, it is a lovely property in a great location."

    The views are amazing. However just a couple of things the mattress is so uncomfortable, it definitely needs replacing. The property is dated but everything works well. Perhaps a better shower would help but otherwise all was good.

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.1Aug 2019

  • "Please note the extremely low bed not good if you have back problems, mattress needs attention!"

    , carpets seen better days, very dodgy cold tap in bathroom, complicated tv workings, and the route to the beach be very aware of tough terrain!

    Reviewed by Shaun3.4Jul 2019

  • "More isolated than we expected otherwise everything god x"

    Reviewed by Glen4.7Apr 2019

  • "Perfect views and so peacful and relaxing."

    We didn't want to leave.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Mar 2019

  • "First discovered The Lookout 15/20 years ago, with the previous owner."

    Would highly recommend it, except if I do that it could make it more difficult to book there in future! Jason and the crew were most helpful. I don't mind if you only publish the above as feedback. The following points are only small, but could be helpful for future customers stays. Make another key, and let it be known it's available, especially when there are four staying. Some may want to walk, others drive elsewhere. Pans were a bit neat for four, and the frying pan has seen better days. Couldn't find a potato peeler, and the tin opener left ragged edges. It worked, but someone could get a nasty cut from it. Please don't take the last paragraph as criticism. If you're not told about them, you can't rectify things! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and as said earlier would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Indeed have already informed friends and neighbours about it. I've given permission for you to publish my feedback, but there is a caveat. I don't wish my name to be published. I'll go along with "Bill Plymouth,"at a push, but no further. Thanks. Bill

    Reviewed by Bill4.7Feb 2019

  • "Great location."

    Fabulous views

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Dec 2018

  • "Extremely nice apartment, amazing views, eating breakfast overlooking Sennen bay amazing."

    Ideal for our dogs they loved the freedom on the field behind the apartment and went mad on the beaches. Very well positioned for visits like St Ives, lovely place and the dramatic Lands end. Only small criticism could do with the bed being a bit higher and could do with a new mattress.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Nov 2018

  • "We had a great stay and would recommend to anyone."

    The place is very well maintained and Jason was very helpful. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4Oct 2018

  • "Wonderful views."

    .....& a spectacular sunset viewed from the balcony. The caretaker is friendly & helpful. We hope to visit again.

    Reviewed by Janet Lynne5.0Oct 2018

  • "The apartment had fantastic sea views and a great position for walking the coast path, which is what attracted us to it."

    However the interior furnishings left a little to be desired e.g. the dining chairs were very flimsy and too low for comfort at the table and there was no wardrobe or hanging space for clothes apart from in the hallway. There was no chest of drawers or similar, only small bedside tables. We therefore had to leave most of our clothes in suitcases for the week. The night storage heater in the bedroom did not work and that room was very chilly. The shower head height could not be adjusted as the bracket was broken. The shaver socket / light above the bathroom sink didn't work either. We also thought that the apartment was only really suitable for two people due to the lack of facilities and space but is advertised as sleeping four.

    Reviewed by Steve3.1Oct 2018

  • "We had a fabulous stay at the look out."

    We where welcomed by the caretaker Jason and shown round. It was clean and tidy and had out this world views.i highly recommend it and highly recommend Sykes cottages

    Reviewed by Jeanette5.0Sep 2018

  • "We thought the location was excellent."

    The apartment though is in some need of updating in furnishing and especially the Kitchen & Bathroom. In particular the kitchen utensils and the ceramic ware needs replacing. Personally I would replace the whole Kitchen, but maybe I am biased as I run a Kitchen refurbishment company. On the whole an excellent position but could be improved internally. Jason the caretaker was welcoming enough & very helpful but could maybe interact a little more to check everything is ok. We understand the interaction is not welcomed by some but a little is generally appreciated.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Sep 2018

  • "We have been to this group of cottages flats etc before We have had a fabulous ..."

    We have been to this group of cottages flats etc before We have had a fabulous time 100% Will be going back Very impressed with revamp

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2018

  • "I found the view fabulous, the caretaker helpful and the welcome food appreciated thank you."

    I would like to stay at another Sykes cottage in the future and am also grateful I could take the dog. I feel Sykes have cornered a niche in the market for small but cosy accommodation. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Apr 2018

  • "Excellent views would go again just right for coast path walking"

    Reviewed by Danny4.1Feb 2018

  • "Very well appointed and comfortable holiday appartment with spectacular sea views."

    Quiet peaceful location close to the beach.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jul 2017

Show more Hide all


  • All first floor
  • One double bedroom
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with sofa bed and dining area.
  • Electric storage heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Balcony with furniture
  • Maximum of two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 miles.

The property

The Lookout is a one bedroom first floor apartment with a sea view from the living room and bedroom.

There is an entrance porch which is an ideal space to store surf boards, wet suits and beach equipment.

The hallway then leads to the open plan living room which has a sofa bed and dining area as well as a balcony from which to enjoy the fresh sea air and admire the view.

The double bedroom is a wonderful place to wake up in the morning, simply pull back the curtains, lie back and enjoy the views out to sea.

The views from the kitchen offer a contrast of unspoilt countryside.

A great place to unwind at any time of year.

Note: This property can be booked with Refs 932664, 932665 and 932657, together they sleep 22.

Gwenver Beach Collection

Sennen Cove 1.7 miles. Perfect for beach and coastal holidays and short breaks, these properties are set in a stunning location with private access to Gwenver beach close to Sennen Cove, 5 miles from Lands’ End and 9 miles from the ancient market town of Penzance. As soon as you arrive down the private drive you feel immediately relaxed with amazing sea views all the way. The properties are well-equipped and two have a balcony where you can sit out with your morning cup of tea and enjoy your surroundings. The nearby beach is sandy and around 150 yards long and with some of the best surfing conditions in Cornwall it is surprising that it never gets too crowded. For those who want to relax and watch the surfing action the beach is a real suntrap located at the base of steep granite cliffs. With superb coastal walks in either direction right from the door walkers will also be in their element here. Adjoining is Sennen Cove with Whitesands beach, one of the cleanest in Europe and named in the top 20 secret beaches in the British Isles. Sennen Cove still retains much of the atmosphere of an old fishing village, with a small number of local fishing boats plying their trade from the harbour. With Sennen having a great pub, a top class restaurant, a café, fish and chip shop as well as a village shop you will have all the ingredients for a great holiday whatever time of year.

View on map

About the location


Land’s End 1 mile; St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The most westerly village in mainland Britain, Sennen has a lovely mile-long beach of pure white sand and is a very popular holiday destination. With excellent surfing conditions, the village has its own surf school – overlooked by a super-cool beach bar/restaurant with floor-to-ceiling windows which make the most of the wonderful views. Once a hub of smuggling activity, Sennen still retains many secret passages – one of which is said to lead to the covered well in the Old Success Inn. Largely unchanged over time, this lovely village has a timeless appeal and is home to a gallery, a medieval church, an Iron Age fort and a small selection of shops where you can buy beachware, gifts and souvenirs, and a range of groceries. There is also a weekly Farmers’ Market in the village Community Centre each Tuesday morning. During the summer, the beach bar becomes a hub of activity and entertainment, with live music, weekly barbecues and popular surfing competitions.